Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1420 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form a powerful bond -- one which lets Booker enhance his own abilities with her world-altering control over the environment. As a team, they fight from high-speed Sky-Lines, in the streets and houses of Columbia, on giant Zeppelins and in the clouds, while simultaneously learning to harness an growing arsenal of weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Infinite is more than a new setting, story, and characters; those elements are seamlessly integrated with complex themes, a mysterious plot, and entertaining combat to create an amazing experience from beginning to end. Familiar threads run through it – a lighthouse, a strange city, a charismatic antagonist – but they are homages to the past rather than attempts to recycle it. The core of Infinite is unlike anything else on land, sea, or air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    A game you can lose yourself in for hours, only looking away to wonder where the time has gone. It is one of this generations great games, as simple as that.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is an excellent game and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Once you finish the game it will make you play the original BioShock all over again, which is truly saying something about this release.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    94
    A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay. It trips over itself in a couple of spots, but not in any way that should keep you from embracing it with your utmost enthusiasm.
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    91
    It’s a well-crafted experience that’s certainly more than the sum of its parts, even if those parts are by and large pretty damn good. It’s a satisfying and intriguing experience from top to bottom, and something that’s well worth checking out.
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Elizabeth is easily one of the best characters to come out of gaming this generation, and Irrational Games, and her actress(es) did an excellent job bringing her to the small screen.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    Bioshock Infinite attempts an Uncharted style relationship between two characters. It doesn’t work as well as it needs to. Booker DeWitt, ably if not unremarkably acted by Troy Baker, would be a fine figure in a novel or a movie. But in a game driven by his relationship with Elizabeth, Bioshock Infinite snags on the issue of a third-person protagonist in a first-person game. What does Booker look like? How does he feel? How is he reacting to what Elizabeth tells him? What does he do when I press X to “comfort Elizabeth”? Is there any subtext when he makes a choice? How do they look at each other? An actor’s face belongs here. There isn’t one.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 395
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the game delivered deep in something sadly missing from many games today atmosphere. Bioshock 2 I also enjoyed in 2010, with the way that it opened up more, and gave a spin on events in Rapture of its own accord, but it never stunned like the original. After seeing the first trailers for Bioshock Infinite 2 years ago, I was hoping for something that would deliver in all key areas of a great game i was not disappointed!! Presentation is generally excellent for the 360, the loads being minimal and fairly fast. The graphics are beautiful in the way that they are executed and the imagination behind them, and if there is the occasional pop-in of objects or textures, and an odd moment of frame rate stutter, it never affects the gameplay. Sound design is on another level though, completely the voice actors do a sterling job, the sound effects are eerie in their delivery, and coupled with the amazing soundtrack which at times evokes memories of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, amongst other things. The soundtrack is a loud, cluttered and often blustering bundle of objects that does what its supposed to it fills in the spaces that the graphics depend on to deliver the whole 'feel' so to speak. And so to the gameplay, which is where I have to state that this latest entry in the Bioshock series truly is the best so far. There are a handful of neat gimmicks put into the game at key points (the skyhooks, the tears in time), which when coupled with some familiar aspects (the vigors you may have seen before, and the weaponry), makes for some compulsive First-Person shooter gameplay however, the final ingredient, the one that makes this game truly great, and probably one of this years' best (and probably the decades I'm going to state right now!!) is the plot thundering through on some riffs from Alan Moore (think sparks of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Watchmen), and some very clear influences from Terry Gilliam (Brazil, 12 Monkeys), and many more I could mention, the whole thing moves from scene to scene, and never ever detaches the player from the game I've said this before, but if this were a book (the whole thing certainly feels like a graphic novel) you'd be up until 4 in the morning reading it!! The last time I played a game that truly made me want to get to the end, to see the whole thing, and know what was going on so much, was either Shadow of the Colossus or Half Life 2, so I think you can understand how highly I rate this game. i could write more, but alas, I'm on my second playthrough of the cursed game you see, and I want to get back to it, so I'll finish with this it is the best single-player campaign game I have played in years, it threatens to overflow with the wealth of ideas bursting forth, and even if you don't think you'll enjoy it, you have to give it at least a try. One utterly superb game. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    it was hard to decide to give it 10 or a 9, when i think back im glad i gave it a 10. but anyway. its a game that is close to perfection if there is such a thing. the story and characters are the strongest i have seen in a long time. i highly recommend playing on hard mode for a challenge because lesser difficulty's you can walk through it with no need to change play style..hard is different you will need to mix up ability's and guns. but still all you really need is a few upgraded guns and you will be fine.. but all the positives and negatives have already been said by other reviewers. just enjoy one of best ride's you will take this year. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    When I fist played Bioshock back in 2007, I honestly belived it was the best game ever made. What Infinite does to surpass its predecessor is include a story and setting that is so breathtaking you have to be simply inhuman not to appreciate it. This game is beautiful, this game is disturbing, this game is mind blowing, this game is blissful, this game is panic inducing, this game.. is the best game ever made.
    If you believe this game has "poor shooting" or "is too long" you are missing the point. This game is basically a novel in it's structure, I have played through it twice now, each playthough a massively different experience, yet it is the same game, no NG+ here. What other game has ever accomplished that? Nothing. Even the main menu has details that you see through new eyes upon completion. This game pushes boundaries in terms of what a "video game" IS; therefore, it gets a perfect 10. If you play games solely for gameplay, I can see why this may be a grind to get through, but honestly, you're playing the game not as it is intended. Pick this up if you enjoy NARRATIVE, because there is simply (at this point in time (yes "The Last Of Us" is out)) NO BETTER NARRATIVE IN VIDEO GAME EXISTANCE. you are a fool if you cannot see this.
    Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Simply amazing game, everything about it is just so polished and refined. only complaint is the some of the gun battles in the middle feel a bit forced, overall though a fantastic experience. Expand
  5. May 15, 2014
    9
    One of the best games of 2013.
    Original, refreshing. Lots of variety in terms of shooting.
    so fun to sneak around and look for guns,
    plasmids and stuff
    high rated for a reason
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    Empezando a jugarlo, hasta el momento es un juego muy bello e imaginativo, pero siento ke le falta mucho de lo siniestro de las anteriores entregas, parece por momentos a nivel shooter una especie de bulletstorm clone, y el eve se gasta de boleto sobre todo al princiopio del juego, flojera de ke haya poco dinero y todo caro... la solución? Ponte a revisar hasta el último cajón de los muebles de este enorme mundo por unas moneditas, este juego le perdono todo esto por ser parte de una de las sagas mas legendarias en el mundo de los juegos aparte de la estupenda dirección artistica que se trae. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    Esta avaliação contém spoilers, clique em expandir-se para ver. Sim, temos que, o conteúdo artístico bom. Mas em que ponto Bioshock se tornar um atirador sólida? Este jogo necessário muito pouco foco nas habilidades de vigor, e praticamente rapidamente transformou em um run-e-gun com algum conteúdo, tais como voar através de trilhos e quais não. As habilidades de vigor não eram tão útil quanto Bioshocks anteriores, ea personalização de armas foi sem imaginação na melhor das hipóteses. Quanto ao enredo, whoooo menino. Os desenvolvedores decidiram fazer a abordagem de "Inception", que, basicamente, apenas ficava mudando o que estava acontecendo por meio do uso de "lágrimas". Eu gosto de dispositivos do lote que são imaginativos e se prestam a jogos? Sim. Eu gosto de jogos que têm dispositivos de enredo pretensiosos que insistem em si mesmos para fazer um final completamente inócuo? Inferno para o não! Expand

See all 395 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.