User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2087 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    There is nary a game as mesmerising, as emotionally powerful, or as artistically fascinating as 2007's Bioshock. From the moment the player stepped into the bathysphere and Andrew Ryan's voice came over the radio, they were plunged deep into the dark world of Rapture and the twisted tale of the city. Rapture is amazing from every angle. The art style is a stunning blend of old 50s-60s andThere is nary a game as mesmerising, as emotionally powerful, or as artistically fascinating as 2007's Bioshock. From the moment the player stepped into the bathysphere and Andrew Ryan's voice came over the radio, they were plunged deep into the dark world of Rapture and the twisted tale of the city. Rapture is amazing from every angle. The art style is a stunning blend of old 50s-60s and science fiction underwater utopia. The tainted and tattered visage it gives stirs emotions and raises hairs. Manifesting in this rusty bucket is one of the best stories told in a videogame. The characters are unendingly fascinating and the events that drive the plot powerful. Given that Bioshock is a "slow shooter", discovering hidden secrets and old memories is a chilling and exciting experience. Combat is largely frantic here; enemies will be jumping and running about, and blots of fire and ice among the usual hail of bullets will fly in all directions. It is nothing precise and clinical, but it works well given the style of the game. Perhaps the only real fault is the ending part, which was less well executed and rather scrappy. The ending itself was disappointing and only managed to raise eyebrows in cynicism. Fortunately, it only manages to be a tiny speck on an otherwise magnificent experience. A true masterpiece. Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    BIOSHOCK is an atmospheric, creepy and awesome game with good graphics, high on originality and a great story line that gamers will surely love.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    After the announcement of Bioshock:Infinite I found myself craving a return to the world o Rapture. Even compared to modern games it is epic. A classic. This game drips atmosphere, and the whole experience is memorable. If you haven't plaed this game already, buy it now. Best £5 you will spend.
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game is brilliant! In 2007 it was underrated hit!!! If you missed this game you should play it now!!! Story is awesome! Graphics are amazing! Writing this review made me wanna play it again! Just play and see it for yourself.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game does two things well. Provide a solid FPS with great gameplay mechanics and vibrant visuals, but that's the least interesting one. The thing it does REALLY well, and that one that kept me enthralled from beginning to end is that it actually tells a story. A good one two. It also shows the values of ethics and morality through references to Ayn Rands philosophy, and has a greatThis game does two things well. Provide a solid FPS with great gameplay mechanics and vibrant visuals, but that's the least interesting one. The thing it does REALLY well, and that one that kept me enthralled from beginning to end is that it actually tells a story. A good one two. It also shows the values of ethics and morality through references to Ayn Rands philosophy, and has a great atmosphere to it! Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The most fun I have had in a game in a long time period. Bio shock does it for me this is why I play games. Shot my wife who is also a player would not let me finish the game until she was watching because she wanted to see how it ended. That is one good story if the people who are just watching you play do not want you the finish this title until they are there to see the end you know itThe most fun I have had in a game in a long time period. Bio shock does it for me this is why I play games. Shot my wife who is also a player would not let me finish the game until she was watching because she wanted to see how it ended. That is one good story if the people who are just watching you play do not want you the finish this title until they are there to see the end you know it is special. The graphics a great and the game controls are awsome. Just remember once you start you won't stop until you are done. THIS IS GAMING BUY IT. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    The thing that most stands out about Bioshock, is that unlike other most other games it possesses an interesting and involving storyline and world. As a Politics student, I found the references to ideas of Ayn Rand's philosophy of a lawless, individual centric world realised here in the context of a previous period of history to be utterly captivating, and not overly ridiculous either.
    A
    The thing that most stands out about Bioshock, is that unlike other most other games it possesses an interesting and involving storyline and world. As a Politics student, I found the references to ideas of Ayn Rand's philosophy of a lawless, individual centric world realised here in the context of a previous period of history to be utterly captivating, and not overly ridiculous either.
    A world in which every crazy and often unpleasant scientific experiment is permitted, where the strong feel no compunction to take advantage of the weak. A world in which the worst essences of humans is given scope and license to be explored. All of this is what so enthralled me about Rapture.
    The game itself is not perfect. Despite the very interesting notion of plasmids (power ups in essence), it quickly becomes clear that a few will be your primary choices for the majority of the game. And despite the menace and creepiness of the game's atmosphere, this can be sadly suspended a bit at times owing to what feels like stupid, unreactive AI behaviour.
    But despite this, the world drips with character and a decaying perverse charm to such an extent that you will regularly spend time just wandering around, dreading the thud thud thud that you often hear long before you lay eyes on one of the ferocious Big Daddies.
    I couldn't recommend Bioshock more. To an FPS fan of COD leanings, this is by no means as slick or polished, nor do the controls feel as exact and sharp. But the slightly clumsy interaction felt in keeping with the ethos of this world, dilapidated and creaking as Rapture is. You never feel overpowered, you always feel as though you could be overwhelmed and are forced to think as a result.
    If nothing else, if you're looking for a sense of place in a game, if you want a game with strong philosophical and political commentary, both overt and often more subtle. Then Bioshock will be a delight to experience, rough edges permitting.
    Expand
  8. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, this game has the best narrative. The atmosphere this game creates is one that makes you feel like anything will happen. It's dark, creepy and ominous. Though I'm not very picky with graphics, playing this game 4 years after it's release had me amazed at how well the visuals had aged. This game is a masterpiece.
  9. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    One of, if not, the most unique game I have played. The story, setting, and types of characters are extremely compelling and unique, as is the visual style of the game. The game will take around 15 hours to complete, depending on what difficulty you play it on, and is definitely a game you will want to play multiple times. The thing that really makes the game stand out from any otherOne of, if not, the most unique game I have played. The story, setting, and types of characters are extremely compelling and unique, as is the visual style of the game. The game will take around 15 hours to complete, depending on what difficulty you play it on, and is definitely a game you will want to play multiple times. The thing that really makes the game stand out from any other shooter is that the setting and game play really bring you into the atmosphere. The controls feel great, and this is definitely recommended to anyone looking for a great game to spend your time on. Story-10/10
    Visuals-9/10
    Gameplay-10/10
    Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Totally origingal and amazing. Takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions, give you power unlike any other game, the many options you can get, power ups, weapons are great, the environment is just soo beautiful and brilliant. The shocks and jumpy moments keep you on your toes and the game is lon enough to keep you interested but not too long so you get bored. The storyline is one of the bestTotally origingal and amazing. Takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions, give you power unlike any other game, the many options you can get, power ups, weapons are great, the environment is just soo beautiful and brilliant. The shocks and jumpy moments keep you on your toes and the game is lon enough to keep you interested but not too long so you get bored. The storyline is one of the best i have come across and the twist at the end is just too much to put into words,. All in all i can highly recommend this game to one and all. Put down you COD or BF or Halo and get this on the go, it will test your mind, test your trigger fingers and put you in a proper story. Expand
  11. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Immersive atmosphere. Hands-down some of the best voice acting ever in a game. Interesting cast of characters. Solid graphics and sound schemes. Mysterious beginning to a story that's slowly explained to the player throughout, ending with a twist. That's Bioshock! From the player's visual perspective, this is a first-person shooter. However, I'd almost argue you need another genreImmersive atmosphere. Hands-down some of the best voice acting ever in a game. Interesting cast of characters. Solid graphics and sound schemes. Mysterious beginning to a story that's slowly explained to the player throughout, ending with a twist. That's Bioshock! From the player's visual perspective, this is a first-person shooter. However, I'd almost argue you need another genre of FPS for this type of game as it's by no means a run, shoot, and kill everything in sight type of deal. Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    When it came out, it gave me a refreshing break from online multiplayer. It definitely has the best story of any game out there. The game play is wonderful and so is the sound. If you have never played this game, PLAY IT! Bioshock Infinite should be releasing sometime this year and I cannot wait!
  13. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Best fps game I have ever played. Fantastic storyline, Amazing setting, Great graphics (For its time), Great gameplay in every way. Replay value is high. Also this game isn't boring like people say it is. Its not just a generic shooter like CoD, or Brink. I found this game fun as hell to play.
  14. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    A game with a inmersive setting, elegance and impressive art. In addition it is entertained, interesting and with many personality. The classic unforgettable one.
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. Immersive. Gripping. Just a few words to describe one of the most innovative releases in the seventh generation. Best enjoyed with a good cigar, a glass of wine, and some good old 45's spinning on the record player. A pistol in arm's reach wouldn't hurt either.
  16. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Bioshock is refreshing and original, even years past it's release. The atmosphere is creepy, but utilizes actual eerie moments than jump scares. The only complaint is that near the end of the game it opts to fall into samey corridor shooting, and sacrifices it's atmosphere for action, but this is a small flaw in what is otherwise a perfect game. A must-have for any shooter, puzzle, or horror fan.
  17. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Overall good game. Worth the ten bucks i paid for it, for sure. It could use some better detail but has an amazing storyline. The style to the game is so different that its hard not to like it. Gonna pick up the second one later today.
  18. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Bioshock has everything a game needs so far. A brilliant and intense story, an amazing athmosphere and a fresh and uncommon settting. Not to forget the technique, that was top notch at the moment, when it has been released.
  19. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Games produced by 2K are well known for delivering a haunting, intense and immersive atmosphere. "The Darkness" gave us a compelling character caught up in a war against himself and "Borderlands" put us in the seat of a post apocalyptic world where survival was the only priority. Despite having a different developer, The "Fallout" series was renowned for perfecting the "dead world" concept, but Bioshock requires no atomic bombs or weapons of mass destruction to offer such a depressing, haunting and immersive story. Welcome to rapture, a city at the very bottom of the Atlantic ocean. A plane crash in the game's beginning sees you seek this city for refuge, but refuge is the last thing you could ever hope to find. The city of Rapture has recently been completely devoured by its very own creator, Andrew Ryan. He has single-handedly torn the fine fabrics of civilisation and turned the citizens of this once great city against themselves. The question that constantly comes to your head whilst playing the game is "Why am I down here and what use am I in all of this?". It's quite simple really. Atlas, a man who's identification is never completely found out, has contacted you through a radio system and is basically telling you what to do in order to save his family and leave Rapture, but the task isn't quite that simple. Bioshock is not what most people would expect this "shooter" to be. Yes, it is a shooter, but heavy RPG elements, such as creating and collecting different types of gadgets from all sorts of places, strengthen the games concept and make it much more compelling from every point of view. The enemies are where the game really gets interesting. The main foes that you'll encounter are demon-like "Splicers". These creatures are the previous tenants of the city and have been transformed by some sort of substance which is unknown. Apart from these are the famed "Big Daddies", monstrous warriors whose sole task is to protect "Little Sisters". Little sisters are demonic little girls who may sound innocent, but will call for their big daddy's protection at first glance. If you manage to defeat one of these beasts, then you'll have either the choice of saving or "harvesting" the Little Sister. Harvesting will give you a large amount of ADAM, a genetic substance which can be used to buy upgrades at different outlets. Exploring the dark and gloomy world of Bioshock will suck you in and leave make you compelled to continue the epic journey at any available moment. The setting has been pulled off with the utmost perfection and the mood and atmosphere is executed with precision. Every vending, upgrade and enhancement machine is a stunning addition to the sea-water-soaked and rotting hell hole that is Rapture. The game can most certainly make you feel depressed at times, which is as much good as it is bad. Thankfully, the story develops into a more frantic and in-depth plot, so that the depressing times are perfectly balanced with the lighter sequences. This makes for a flurry of mixed emotions during play time. The vast depths of the sea would seem like a you could only be in one type of setting: dark, gloomy, hopeless and eerily creepy. This is true in some cases. The levels are always very dark and glum, but compensation for this came out of the dozens of variations of settings that are present in the game. A giant freezer, a decrepit theatre and hotel complex, a geothermal power plant and even a forest are just some of the settings that this game will deliver to the player. It's no lie, this game is full of twists. The main plot spirals into different disturbing and frantic scenarios and over time, the true enemy reveals itself. The story mode is also much more than adequate for a first person shooter. The only bad thing about this game is the lack of multiplayer. It would be a very nice concept to see players go at each other in a team deathmatch style mode or even team up for campaign co-op, because the game is just so amazing that its unlikely that finishing the campaign will satisfy your lust for the secrets of Rapture. This is definitely a recommendation for 2K's next game in the series. In summary, you'd be absolutely mad to miss one second of this game. The price of this game is getting lower and it is arguably the best game going for its price. Don't think that Bioshock isn't taking itself seriously, and forget all the criticism that you may have heard, this game is a must have and should be owned by any fan of the formula that makes games as good as this one. Expand
  20. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    One of my favourate games of the last ten years, and proof that you can make a fps with brains and a decent story line, rather than a series of flashblacks like so many games have been doing recently, COD and Battlefield 3 i'm looking at you. As with so many games the only downfall of this game is the rather lame final boss battle with Frank Fontane, but makes up for it with the franklyOne of my favourate games of the last ten years, and proof that you can make a fps with brains and a decent story line, rather than a series of flashblacks like so many games have been doing recently, COD and Battlefield 3 i'm looking at you. As with so many games the only downfall of this game is the rather lame final boss battle with Frank Fontane, but makes up for it with the frankly brillant final plot twists. "Would you kindly" buy this games, you won't regret it, at all. Expand
  21. May 12, 2012
    9
    BIOSHOCK is an artistic, breathtaking, frightening and highly original game that is ahead of it's time in both storyline and visuals. BIOSHOCK sets a high mark for video games.
  22. May 10, 2013
    8
    The game is original but also a little bit overrated. Definitely not a 10 for me. I think everything in this game including story, combat, sound, graphic are all near flawless in its own way, but the game never really caught my breath.
  23. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    amazing visuals a great atomosphere and a deep story with lots of twists, this is a must buy for any console its so cheap now as well. looking forward to infinte if its half as good as this
  24. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    It has been 10 years since Irrational Games has delved into the first-person survival horror genre, and this time it nailed it. The franchise redefined the genre, and has created one of the most memorable games of the twenty first century to date, winning multiple GOTY awards and selling nearly a half of a million copies the first month it was released.
    From a gameplay prospective, the
    It has been 10 years since Irrational Games has delved into the first-person survival horror genre, and this time it nailed it. The franchise redefined the genre, and has created one of the most memorable games of the twenty first century to date, winning multiple GOTY awards and selling nearly a half of a million copies the first month it was released.
    From a gameplay prospective, the game utilized the option of creativity. It isn't anything like other first-person shooters due to the use of plasmids and its effect on the environment. Plasmids are the central part of the game and can be used to set people ablaze, shock a puddle of water, control machinery, and much more. There is also a decent amount of weapons to use such as the classic shotgun, to the monkey wrench. The combinations that can be made during encounters are massive, ensuring to keep a person's hands glued to the controller.
    What possibly makes the game is the presentation of it all. From square one, the player is thrown into a strange world in turmoil, and has no clue what to expect. The only guidance they have is an ambiguous man, and the map laid out before you. This creates the survival element of the game, and combined with the fear of deranged psychos and a Big Daddy coming around the corner makes its genre.
    The plot is pretty good, with a few twists, but the world itself is what can drive a person through the game if a person finds the gameplay to be lacking. I found myself wanting to know more about what had happened and how things are the way they are by listening to recordings found throughout the game and learning of the stories of certain opponents. Surprisingly its soundtrack is also strong. Winning multiple awards, its music added that extra touch of suspense.
    This game deserves its awards, and it deserves recognition. If you are a gamer, chances are you have played this game, and there is no way you haven't at least heard of it. The only issues that anyone might have for the game is that when the credits roll.
    Expand
  25. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    Seven years after release and this game is still awesome. I am a next gen owner, and they had this game for five bucks so I got it. Graphically it's a little older, but this game is awesome fun. If u loved bioshock infinite, you will love this too. Even played out of order, the story is still good. Would have given a ten if it wasn't slightly outdated graphically but for 2007 , was topSeven years after release and this game is still awesome. I am a next gen owner, and they had this game for five bucks so I got it. Graphically it's a little older, but this game is awesome fun. If u loved bioshock infinite, you will love this too. Even played out of order, the story is still good. Would have given a ten if it wasn't slightly outdated graphically but for 2007 , was top of line I'm sure Expand
  26. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    One of the best game I've ever played. It has very fun gameplay, a creepy atmosphere, good controls and good characters. The only down side is that you don't learn much about the person you play as but apart from that the game is excellent.
  27. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    I think this game is very fun and has a very unique felling to it i really enjoyed the story and the mechanics the graphics were good and the voice acting to there was really nothing bad about it but nothing is perfect so i give it this score.
  28. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    coming back after so long, this game still looks good, its opening scene would have to be the most epic opening of any game ever, this game is Great!, stylish and storytelling simple Classic "Mr Bubbles"
  29. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    Imagine System Shock 2, underwater! This game takes RPG to a new level, completely. Bioshock not only redefined RPG FPS but also took horror to new psychological fronts. Be prepared to soil your very finest undies as you battle your way through an underwater Utopia fighting mutated humans doped up on superhuman powers. Oh and don't forget the crazed plastic surgeon!

    However, as
    Imagine System Shock 2, underwater! This game takes RPG to a new level, completely. Bioshock not only redefined RPG FPS but also took horror to new psychological fronts. Be prepared to soil your very finest undies as you battle your way through an underwater Utopia fighting mutated humans doped up on superhuman powers. Oh and don't forget the crazed plastic surgeon!

    However, as entertaining as this game is, it falls victim to pretty mediocre ending(s) and an insanely difficult ending boss battle. Nevertheless, it is a must buy game for fans of horror and sci fi alike. 9/10
    Expand
  30. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    This game will go down in history as one of the best games ever made. The atmosphere with it's blend of old and imagined new, Deformed monstrous enemies and scenic areas filled with retro looking neon signs and advertisements perfectly blended with period correct music and an engaging and well written story all blend together to make this game a must have for anyone with half a brain andThis game will go down in history as one of the best games ever made. The atmosphere with it's blend of old and imagined new, Deformed monstrous enemies and scenic areas filled with retro looking neon signs and advertisements perfectly blended with period correct music and an engaging and well written story all blend together to make this game a must have for anyone with half a brain and good taste. 10000/10 Expand
  31. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    BioShock, one of the highest rated games. Almost every big gaming site praised everything about it. BioShock is the best game of all time in my opinion. Now, let's start the review...

    Pros and Cons: Pros: 1. Amazing story, some of the best in any game ever. 2. Good graphics for 2007 when it was released. 3. Good gameplay. 4. Great characters. 5. Interesting concepts, the
    BioShock, one of the highest rated games. Almost every big gaming site praised everything about it. BioShock is the best game of all time in my opinion. Now, let's start the review...

    Pros and Cons:
    Pros:
    1. Amazing story, some of the best in any game ever.
    2. Good graphics for 2007 when it was released.
    3. Good gameplay.
    4. Great characters.
    5. Interesting concepts, the whole underwater city idea is very cool to learn about.
    6. Original collectibles.
    7. Fantastic soundtrack.
    8. Quality level design, each one is very different from the last.
    9. The plasmids spice up the game, you can really change your play style in the blink of an eye.
    10. Easy achievement list, not to hard to complete and it encourages you to really explore Rapture.
    11. The atmosphere is fantastic, it feels like anything could happen at any moment. Believe me, there are very unexpected events within.
    12. Many different enemies to deal with, Splicers are constantly changing and the Big Daddies vary.

    Cons:
    1. A few cases of texture pop-in at the start of some levels after playing for a few hours.
    2. The last boss fight wasn't as good as I expected but it was still fun.
    3. It ends.

    BioShock is set in an underwater dystopia, plagued by genetically altered human beings known as "Splicers". You play as Jack, a man who was on a plane that crashed into the Atlantic Ocean, you soon find your way into a lighthouse which then leads you to the introduction of combat and Splicers.

    BioShock is a very original interesting game, there are many many collectibles, but unlike most games these collectibles are actually useful, they provide back story for a lot of what has happened in Rapture, and they help develop the personalities of the main characters. The game makes you excited whenever you find one of them as you never can know what it may contain.

    The story in the game is some of the best ever! There are multiple endings based on some of your decisions you make with the citizens of Rapture and the characters are all very interesting. The game itself is VERY immersive, beware if you start playing this game on a school/work night. I picked this up at around 4:00 in the afternoon and started playing it when I got home. I didn't realize it was almost 5:00 in morning by the time I finished it. I literally sat through a 10-14 hour game in one sitting. This game makes you want to know what happens next, not to mention the gameplay is good.

    Another cool feature the game offers is the use of plasmids, plasmids are unique abilities like fire, ice, and electricity that you shoot from your left hand. These plasmids come in many forms and there are tons you can do with them, they really keep the gameplay fresh and new every level as you get new upgrades and entirely new plasmids at a good pace. The shooting is standard for a First Person Shooter, which is a good thing, as it works well. The controls are good, they take a little getting used to if you play other big shooters such as Halo.

    If you haven't played this game yet, even though it's about seven years old, it is still fantastic. I play it from time to time just to look at the fantastic design and to experience the story again. This game is nearly perfect, it is probably as close to perfect as any gamer will ever see. So there it is, you need to buy/rent this game just to experience the story, it will be hard to forget this incredible journey even if you tried. It's only around $5-$10, a steal for such a perfect game.
    Expand
  32. Bio
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Intense, breathtaking, and original. If you don't like this game, take a break and detox from the Halo hype, and try again later. Ahh, isn't that better? I thought so.
  33. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Damn, if only you could rate w/ decimals! This game is almost perfect, a game to be remembered for all eternity, rather than Bioshock 2- 5/10, damn! The storyline; Outstanding, yes, the plane crash is a little lazy, but once you enter the bathysphere, you're entering a world beyond your dreams, the mystery of who you are and who is really to trust, leaves you at the end of your game chair.Damn, if only you could rate w/ decimals! This game is almost perfect, a game to be remembered for all eternity, rather than Bioshock 2- 5/10, damn! The storyline; Outstanding, yes, the plane crash is a little lazy, but once you enter the bathysphere, you're entering a world beyond your dreams, the mystery of who you are and who is really to trust, leaves you at the end of your game chair. The perfect combination of horror, violence, and mystery makes this game deserve all ratings between 9 and 10. Why not 10? Well, I'm hurt to say this, but some of the graphics aren't the best, like when you kill a splicer and they, sort of do that twitch on their way to the floor, and how the graphics and subtitles are supposed to meet with the sound, that isn't the best, nor the worst. In all other categories of what makes a game, a game, 10/10. Expand
  34. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. It was touted as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, and while it never quite achieved that, it did manage to become a fantastic game in its own right. I have to say Irrational Games have become my favourite developer due to the care and attention they put into their games. Every moment in BioShock has been polished to a high sheen, the graphicsOne of the best games of all time. It was touted as the spiritual successor to System Shock 2, and while it never quite achieved that, it did manage to become a fantastic game in its own right. I have to say Irrational Games have become my favourite developer due to the care and attention they put into their games. Every moment in BioShock has been polished to a high sheen, the graphics are awesome, the style is unique, the game-play is extremely well balanced and paced between shooting, narrative and other activities like exploration and growing your character. The A.I is some of the best I have ever seen. But most importantly of all for me, is the way you can play the game however you want to. If you like to get in people faces with the shotgun and melee weapon you can do that, or you can stick with rapid fire weapons and high explosives, set traps, go stealthy, use the myriad of plasmids etc. Its just a fantastic and game and so spooky to boot. Without a doubt it is one of my favourite all time video games. If you like intelligent shooters then this is a must play video game. Expand
  35. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Well. Bioshock is the one game that pushes the others out of the way and declares "Look at me, I'm only storyline." Damn straight. Bioshock is that rare game that you play and go "That was AMAZING." And then the game company's milk the series dry. Hopefully it will not end like Halo.
  36. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    The originality in the game is truly spectacular. The plot written remarkably well, as it makes the character feel the exact emotions the character should be feeling. Also the way villainy and the antagonist was perceived as, made the game very compelling and truly unique in it's time. It's graphics are good, and they add well to the atmosphere, it also adds well to the plot, making youThe originality in the game is truly spectacular. The plot written remarkably well, as it makes the character feel the exact emotions the character should be feeling. Also the way villainy and the antagonist was perceived as, made the game very compelling and truly unique in it's time. It's graphics are good, and they add well to the atmosphere, it also adds well to the plot, making you understand how bad things actually are. The game relies heavily on emotional fear, rather than jump scares, which succeeds in actually giving the player a scare. It also makes the player wonder, how evil and maniac like a human can become. However, there are some down sides, the RPG part of the game is put simply horrible, you pretty much know what your choices will lead to, and compared to the rest of the game, it does not really leave much of an impact. The gameplay could be a tad smoother, but it does not in anyway change the experience. The major reason this game is not getting anything higher, is the endings, after an emotional roller-coaster, and a generally fun awesome experience, the ending seems a but flat and does not live up to the actual plot of the game at all... I does not give the nice heart warming ending that a good person should feel, nor the sinister and twisted ending a bad player should feel. It just falls short compared to the rest of the game. Expand
  37. Kevin
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    While this review is only on the Xbox Live demo, This game is flawless. The action is intense and it really is a thinking mans FPS. If you think you are Rambo this game will soon prove you wrong. Use your head stay alive and if you don't have this game you are missing out on the greatest game of 2007! Hands down Game of the Year.
  38. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game for those looking for a more ethical and idealistic challenge, This game has so many different intensity levels, for example walking around in awe at the architecture to fighting a Big Daddy, this game has it all!
  39. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Very good game. The story is clever and unique, and the gameplay is "riveting", so to speak. While I am not typically into straight-up shooters, this game keeps you on your toes the entire time, and you never get bored. I found it odd that some reviewers found this game to be too hard... it isn't really that hard at all, and you can easily beat the entire game without dying.
  40. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This game is definitely THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED Everything about it is perfect or near perfect . I can't stress enough how good this game is!
  41. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    I imagine it's the CoD and Halo fans that give this game a bad review. I'm currently on my 7th(yes, 7th) playthrough of this game, and it's still breathtaking. The story isn't new now that I've experienced it but the experience of playing this is unlike anything I've ever played before. Neither Call of Duty, Halo, or any other first person shooter, including Half Life 2, can match up toI imagine it's the CoD and Halo fans that give this game a bad review. I'm currently on my 7th(yes, 7th) playthrough of this game, and it's still breathtaking. The story isn't new now that I've experienced it but the experience of playing this is unlike anything I've ever played before. Neither Call of Duty, Halo, or any other first person shooter, including Half Life 2, can match up to the power this game exudes. If you haven't played this, shame on you. Go get it now. It's readily available and quite cheap nowadays. Perfect 10/10 Expand
  42. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    A highly original title. "Bioshock" brings us a new world, with rememberable sights, characters, music, moments, and true beauty. There is no site quite like the beautiful, dead city of "Rapture".
  43. JakeV.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    As close to perfect as technology allows. Makes Halo III look like Wolfenstein.
  44. HWNDarkside
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    I'm sorry but the best story/best graphics in the world do not compensate for another premium not offering user definable/southpaw controllers. I rushed out and bought a copy without thinking and have wasted another £40 on a game I cannot play using a control system I am comfortable with. Shame on you. File alongside Gears Of War and GRAW - and the upcoming Stranglehold.
  45. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    in my opinion anyone who gives this game a score lower than a 10 is a dumb ass. this game raises the bar for every game that has ever existed. seriously how can you play this game and not fall in love with the beautiful graphics, killer story line, and the biggest twist in history at the end? HM? HM??!!
    I thought so
    YOU CANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  46. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Not as big a fan of gaming as some friends of mine, I still love the escapism and design of a good video game. So it reeaaally takes something pretty special to catch my attention. Enter 'BioShock'. With a highly detailed, 1950's art deco design, and a movie like immersive quality, this is one rare and beautiful piece of design, with influences of 'Lost' & 'The Shining' to name a few.Not as big a fan of gaming as some friends of mine, I still love the escapism and design of a good video game. So it reeaaally takes something pretty special to catch my attention. Enter 'BioShock'. With a highly detailed, 1950's art deco design, and a movie like immersive quality, this is one rare and beautiful piece of design, with influences of 'Lost' & 'The Shining' to name a few.

    Hyped for months, and deservedly so, it's already been recommended to me several times, and the demo only appeared this week alone. Great design, with a pretty gripping story too. Get some wallpapers and other items, as well as a flavour of the 50's style in this posts title. Try it if you can, the price of admission alone, is worth every penny, if even for just the 20 odd minutes worth of movie like introduction alone. You'll be shocked how good this is...
    Expand
  47. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = If half-life 2 didn't exist than this would be the best First Person Shooter ever made. This game is truly jaw dropping in every way. Contender for best atmosphere in a game EVER as well.
  48. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    BioShock is a very important game,has great story,great visuals and fun gameplay.BioShock is a first-person shooter set in the fantastically unsettling city of Rapture,a metropolis built under the sea by the megalomaniacal Andrew Ryan.The story is one of the reasons that makes the game so awesome (I've never seen such an original story) .This game is definitely one of the best I've everBioShock is a very important game,has great story,great visuals and fun gameplay.BioShock is a first-person shooter set in the fantastically unsettling city of Rapture,a metropolis built under the sea by the megalomaniacal Andrew Ryan.The story is one of the reasons that makes the game so awesome (I've never seen such an original story) .This game is definitely one of the best I've ever played!!!!! Expand
  49. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Smart, Atmospheric, Instantly recognisable, Iconic, just some of the words I'd use to describe this game, the story is actually for me, the best part of the game, it has a mature theme througout and it draws you in and throws in twists and rhetoric questions that question the very nature of gaming. The gameplay is a mix of First person shooter with a few RPG style elements in the powersSmart, Atmospheric, Instantly recognisable, Iconic, just some of the words I'd use to describe this game, the story is actually for me, the best part of the game, it has a mature theme througout and it draws you in and throws in twists and rhetoric questions that question the very nature of gaming. The gameplay is a mix of First person shooter with a few RPG style elements in the powers you can access and upgrade. Bioshock is a great game with a great story that really involves the gamer, Highly recommended. Expand
  50. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Burger island FTW! It's so good! This game sucks! What a twisted intelligent masterpiece! This game is confusing! I am lost, I need help! What level am I on? This game is just wierd!
  51. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Most likely the greatest video game of all time, (why would it have a higher rating than every game except GTA IV on here). Only Ken Levine could make a game based off of Ayn Rand's philosophy of Objectivism and make it work. The game tells a wonderful and compelling story filled with horror, action, philosophy, morality, romance, revenge, and redemption. Hands down my favorite game of allMost likely the greatest video game of all time, (why would it have a higher rating than every game except GTA IV on here). Only Ken Levine could make a game based off of Ayn Rand's philosophy of Objectivism and make it work. The game tells a wonderful and compelling story filled with horror, action, philosophy, morality, romance, revenge, and redemption. Hands down my favorite game of all time. The atmosphere of the game is just beautiful, just beautiful and wonderful. Rapture is seriously one of the scariest damn places on the planet. Just walking around a corner is horrifying. The graphics were spectacular. The best of its time, at the time of its release, and still quite wonderful today. BioShock is truly the PERFECT game. "It was not impossible to build Rapture under the sea, it was impossible to build it anywhere else." -Andrew Ryan- Expand
  52. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is what I would call a masterpiece. The world created here is unlike anything else, the amount of detail put into the story, characters, and environment is simply outstanding. The gameplay is extremely immersive and can constantly be switched up to be new and refreshing. A must have and play for any true gamer.
  53. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Second favorite game behind gears 2 and 3. Phenomenal story. It is like a movie that really pulls the gamer in and is so much fun but at the same time eerie and dark.10/10.
  54. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Simply, amazing. This game was what made me a gamer. The action, the game play, the presentation and the story! All were so good. This game still stands proud today as one of the best ever campaign games to appear on the Xbox 360.
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of the decade. It makes Halo 2 look amateur. This is coming from someone who went through 8 discs of Halo 2 because I played them all dry. BioShock changed the gaming landscape forever, and developers took notice. This game is perfect in all ways. One moment in particular will be talked about for years to come. If you haven't played this game yet, you are killingThe greatest game of the decade. It makes Halo 2 look amateur. This is coming from someone who went through 8 discs of Halo 2 because I played them all dry. BioShock changed the gaming landscape forever, and developers took notice. This game is perfect in all ways. One moment in particular will be talked about for years to come. If you haven't played this game yet, you are killing yourself. Whether you like shooters or not, the game needs to be played by all. Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Most unique and innovative game of this generation. . You have to play this game at least one time through. Visuals are stunning, atmosphere is eerie to say the least, the sound effects and lighting are amazing.
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Okay, This game is amazing. It hasw the best gameplay and storyline ever. It is very original in a good way and beating deformed psychos never gets old. I love the plasmids that allow you to light guys on fire and other stuff. Gret game.
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game cannot even begin to be considered a game. This is more of a journey. A journey into the depths of a corrupt underwater city, where life once flourished, yet now is controlled by its own utter destruction. The workings of this game are phenomenal, the environment, extraordinary. What makes this game what it truly is, is the sense of sheer terror you get from defeating any enemy,This game cannot even begin to be considered a game. This is more of a journey. A journey into the depths of a corrupt underwater city, where life once flourished, yet now is controlled by its own utter destruction. The workings of this game are phenomenal, the environment, extraordinary. What makes this game what it truly is, is the sense of sheer terror you get from defeating any enemy, whether it is a splicer or any in-game boss. The thrill you get from defeating a Big Daddy is like no other. The studio behind the game has never created anything more artistically incredible, nor anything as devastatingly pure as this. The conservation of ammo is a necessity, and every element leaves you feeling completely accomplished. Even putting the game into your console is enough to spark a gigantic sensation of pride. No matter how long this game has been out, the quality will never decrease, nor will the perfection it has created ever begin to age. I hope my review leads to the playing of this game for many generations, or assists others to appreciate the game for what it is. Thank you. Expand
  59. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    The minute I put this in and my character was just thrown into this crazy world I knew I would love the hell out of this game. It's unlike any game you will play and has one of the best atmospheres ever in my opinion. The little sisters are crazy creepy!
  60. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    a good shooter game that was abit over hyped . i liked the funky graphics sytle they did for this game . the story is intresting and keeps you motivated to want to know what will happen next with a good plot twist . every one calling this game open ended is exagerating ALOT! there is no open endedness to this game you are stuck on a path killing things and thats about it . when i thinka good shooter game that was abit over hyped . i liked the funky graphics sytle they did for this game . the story is intresting and keeps you motivated to want to know what will happen next with a good plot twist . every one calling this game open ended is exagerating ALOT! there is no open endedness to this game you are stuck on a path killing things and thats about it . when i think open ended i think morrowind , oblivion , or fallout 3 ... not this game. the wepons selection is pretty much the same old stuff nothing new . you can make different types of ammo which is cool and upgrade your guns . the powers are a mixed bag some are useful most are crap . which is where this game fails abit the powers are really most usful when playing on casual if you play on mediem or higher they are kinda usless a few will have there uses but guns will work better . which make this a typical shooting game but still a good one . this game will take you 8 hours to complete which makes me wished i just rented it instead of buy it . because after i beat it i had no disire to want to play it again . going good or evil was really no point as it really didnt have much effect out side of you get more adam or less and a differnt ending.this game getting GOTY ... i just dont see why. Expand
  61. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    Bioshock certainly isn't a terrible game by any means, I played it all the way through to the finish and certainly had some fun in the process, however two fundemental design choices kill any real excitement that the game has to offer - Firstly you can only carry a certain amount of ammo - now this wouldn't be so bad but you can go from full to empty in no time at all, which doesn't addBioshock certainly isn't a terrible game by any means, I played it all the way through to the finish and certainly had some fun in the process, however two fundemental design choices kill any real excitement that the game has to offer - Firstly you can only carry a certain amount of ammo - now this wouldn't be so bad but you can go from full to empty in no time at all, which doesn't add anything to the tension, it just means that you spend ages searching every nook and cranny for additional ammo, which you then despense with in seconds again, on so on, and so on; it really does turn sections of the game into nothing but a chore. Secondly, if you die you just re-spawn a few steps away, there's no real bad side to dying in the game and once you realise this the whole excercise feels pointless. There's a few nice bits in there, but it's just a very average shooter for me that won't live very long in the memory. Expand
  62. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    My personal favorite game of all time, trumping even Super Mario 64. This game was unique in it's day and is still much more unique than most games out there. It revolutionized the concept of FPS as well as Survival horror. It kept me on the edge of my seat constantly, and will always hold a place in my heart!
  63. whizzm
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    dont see what all the fuss is about. i mean it is a good game, but there is no way it is one of the best games ever. i played it for about a week and got bored of it. i love fps and have been playing them for nearly 20 years and i can safely say there are better ones out there. its a game worth buying but it is very overhyped
  64. DanielB
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    I can tell from the majority of other reviews that this game ranks highly on other people's list. Let me be clear, in no way do I feel this is a bad game. On the other hand I do not see how it achieved such a loyal fan base, insistent on giving it a ten out of ten. I rented the game due to a personal doctrine of only renting games that are single player only. Soon after, I found my I can tell from the majority of other reviews that this game ranks highly on other people's list. Let me be clear, in no way do I feel this is a bad game. On the other hand I do not see how it achieved such a loyal fan base, insistent on giving it a ten out of ten. I rented the game due to a personal doctrine of only renting games that are single player only. Soon after, I found my rental period expired and I had only played approximately a fifth of the game. It frankly did not appeal to me as much as thought it would. The graphics and the art direction were good. The story is at best a weak tribute, or at worst a rip off, of Ayn Rand's book "Atlas Shrugged". The game play is a repetitive mashing of FPS elements with "cabinet-opening", tied together with hacking minigames and collecting recording of various charters to move the story along. The game is a high note in art direction and fidelity, but falls flat in game play and story telling. Expand
  65. JamminJ
    Oct 31, 2009
    6
    This game was not my cup of tea. I bought it used and traded back in after the first play through, which took 2 days. The environment, which is touted more than anything else, can be summed up as such: Gotham City under water. I will not likely play the sequel but I can understand how others really enjoyed the game.
  66. Oct 14, 2012
    2
    The good: Good graphics. Water looks great and the Unreal engine is really good.

    The bad: This game is drivel. It's a zombie shooter where enemies have no sense of self-preservation and require no skill to kill. They range from tedious to highly armoured which means if you don't have any ammo, expect to have to respawn over and over again to kill them. They also reappear, so if
    The good: Good graphics. Water looks great and the Unreal engine is really good.

    The bad:

    This game is drivel. It's a zombie shooter where enemies have no sense of self-preservation and require no skill to kill. They range from tedious to highly armoured which means if you don't have any ammo, expect to have to respawn over and over again to kill them. They also reappear, so if you've cleared a room. leave and re-enter, half the time new enemies come back.

    The map is difficult to use. Why isn't my head the tip of the arrow on the map? As a result, navigation is confusing and almost impossible. The game's too complicated. Not content with one monetary system, they've introduced a second. Also, all of the different tonics, potions and lotions are just too much. I lose track of which category of power-ups are useful and which ones I don't care about. I keep getting mixed up between physical and combat tonics, and keep buying more slots for the wrong one. It's just really annoying.

    It's just totally repetitive. I am SO BORED of playing the rubbish little pipeline game to hack robots, security cameras, etc. I'm SO BORED of killing the same zombies over and again, and hunting for objects. I'm just bored of the entire game.

    The story is pointless and the main character just accepts everything unquestioningly (who is Atlas and why is my character doing what he says?). Apparently this'll all be explained in the end with a great twist, but I probably won't bother ever completing this game so won't see it. I'm SO bored of this game after playing it for 9 hours (and not enjoying it for that time, waiting until I have a glimmer of fun) that I think I'll just cheat my way through the rest of it. The part where I actually start liking this game doesn't appear to be happening any time soon, and apparently I'm 1/3 of the way through.

    Ever heard that you need 3 things to make you feel good: Mastery, autonomy and purpose? This game gives you autonomy. I'm currently boring my way through having to collect 21 little potions. Pointless repetition combined with only half knowing where to go (for once the little arrow at the top has stopped giving me directions).

    The story is TOO SLOW so I feel like there's NO PURPOSE. It's not mysterious it's just slow.

    And I can keep on dying and respawning as much as I like which means that my choices have NO CONSEQUENCES and are completely meaningless. I can shoot Big Daddies from my respawn point (because if you run out of money and decent weapons you can barely kill them). The other enemies are basically zombies that run at you mindlessly. No tactics at all. So there's no need to master anything in this game. It's just a tedious walk through the levels.

    I am completely baffled why this game has scored so highly. I'm only glad I bought it 5 years after its release instead of paying full price for it.

    So in short if you like games like Batman where you enjoy having to outsmart your enemies (ones with a sense of self-preservation) and enjoy variety while making meaningful choices that have actual consequences, you probably won't enjoy this game. But for some reason 1,305 people rated it highly...
    Expand
  67. CitizenWolf
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    This game bored the pants off me. I really don't see what all the hype was about. So it was set underwater. So what. The only aspect that amused me were the accents. They reminded me of home. Other than that I thought it was dull.
  68. MarkS
    Oct 17, 2007
    3
    Certainly not worth the scores it has received. The graphics and storytelling are about all that's good - or rather, medicre - in this water-clogged interactive story. Gameplay (shoot once, run out of ammo, then pull out the wrench) and fun (have I been here yet? Where am I? What am I doing? Is that thing good or bad? This is boring.. ) were clearly sacraficed in place of graphics.
  69. AndyK.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Great graphics at all, but the enemies look somehow poor,no other enemies except the splicers and the game gets boring after 2 hours gameplay.
  70. VilleH.
    Sep 9, 2007
    5
    It's an OK shooter. But in the end, the plot is preachy and overwrought with a ridiculous twist false ending, and the game mechanics quickly become stale and dull. Constant 'inventory' juggling is awkward, there are about four types of enemy in total, and unending repetition of a watered-down version of Pipe Dreams (the 'hacking' subgame) drives you up a wall. It's an OK shooter. But in the end, the plot is preachy and overwrought with a ridiculous twist false ending, and the game mechanics quickly become stale and dull. Constant 'inventory' juggling is awkward, there are about four types of enemy in total, and unending repetition of a watered-down version of Pipe Dreams (the 'hacking' subgame) drives you up a wall. It's pretty good. But it's not that great. Expand
  71. Aug 1, 2011
    4
    Over hyped, this game is not good. Vast ammo games are a buzz kill. I want to be able to make it through a level with enough ammo in my gun, and not have to beat someone with a wrench. Stupid idea, non modern old fashion games don't cut it for me. Yes if we look at the story it is clean and the graphics are nice, but that doesn't dismiss the fact that there is no appeal to this game.Over hyped, this game is not good. Vast ammo games are a buzz kill. I want to be able to make it through a level with enough ammo in my gun, and not have to beat someone with a wrench. Stupid idea, non modern old fashion games don't cut it for me. Yes if we look at the story it is clean and the graphics are nice, but that doesn't dismiss the fact that there is no appeal to this game. Nothing really attracted me to is and it has 0 replay value something that even people who like this can not deny. Expand
  72. RichardW.
    Jan 13, 2008
    0
    It amounts to a technical demo of the U3 engine in essence. In gameplay, it's repetitive and easy. I don't care what anyone says, if you've played shooters before you can play this on the hardest setting with no challenge, and there's nothing unique enough to provide a motivation for moving forward. Really, plasmids are nothing new, we've seen similar things in It amounts to a technical demo of the U3 engine in essence. In gameplay, it's repetitive and easy. I don't care what anyone says, if you've played shooters before you can play this on the hardest setting with no challenge, and there's nothing unique enough to provide a motivation for moving forward. Really, plasmids are nothing new, we've seen similar things in Jedi Knight II, System Shock,etc. Graphically it's impressive. But what everyone praises it for- storytelling- it seems subpar. Am I the only person who sees the blatant Atlas Shrugged ripoff as a ripoff, not an "influence"? It isn't influenced at all by the philosophy as a few reviewers claimed, no doubt too enthralled by the bandwagon to read the book in question before jumping on it. It seemed like every reviewer had a hardon for the games-as-art idea and wanted to talk about it as much as possible instead of the lackluster gameplay, but fine, where's the meat of the plot? We have this: "Ryan believes in this thing completely, and Fontaine believes in nothing. At the end of the day, they're almost equally dangerous. [Fontaine] is a nihilist, all he cares about is himself. He has something missing in him that makes us human." I missed how this is any more interesting than the time honored concept Nintendo uses of light-world/dark-world. Expand
  73. DanG.
    Nov 30, 2007
    4
    I just couldnt bring myself to finish it. It wasnt that bad, it just wasnt anything special and I had better games to play (Halo 3). Although the story was interesting and the atmosphere was incedibly deep, the gameplay was meh. Killing the splicers and Big Daddies just felt like a chore and the . I dont understand why the reviewers cant stop raving about it; its just not that special.
  74. BillyE.
    Oct 1, 2007
    2
    Bioshock has a lot of potential. Starting off with the good, the storyline is one of the best ever, and the audio tapes are a very nice touch. THE BAD. As promised, there are many ways of killing your enemies. Unfortunately, the game's difficulty is too easy. The developer told people that ammo would be scarce and it ISN'T. A brief search through the trash cans and tables of Bioshock has a lot of potential. Starting off with the good, the storyline is one of the best ever, and the audio tapes are a very nice touch. THE BAD. As promised, there are many ways of killing your enemies. Unfortunately, the game's difficulty is too easy. The developer told people that ammo would be scarce and it ISN'T. A brief search through the trash cans and tables of rapture will yield more than enough ammo. Also, the one-two punch introduced in the beginning of the game (shock+wrench) is useful throughout the entire game. Why use telekinesis on your enemies when you can just shock and whack them. Why use advanced tactics when you can just shock and whack your way to victory. Hacking? Its useful but too easy. Big daddys can be taken down by using a shotgun with electric bullets. Simple. Bioshock has many innovative features but it does not PROVIDE enough circumstances of which they can be utilized. Translation: Its too easy Expand
  75. BenE.
    Aug 22, 2007
    0
    Sick & Twisted: Your Brain Feeding on BioShock So my son figures he's doing me a favor by picking me up (via his unknowing mom) a copy of this new "thinking-person's FPS." Now, I'm no prude: I'm always up for either Halo title--or even Gears or Resistance. But I've tried to draw the line at: "No humans shooting other (even enemy) humans, and no gory-level, *red* Sick & Twisted: Your Brain Feeding on BioShock So my son figures he's doing me a favor by picking me up (via his unknowing mom) a copy of this new "thinking-person's FPS." Now, I'm no prude: I'm always up for either Halo title--or even Gears or Resistance. But I've tried to draw the line at: "No humans shooting other (even enemy) humans, and no gory-level, *red* human blood-letting. I go right over to my (adult) gaming friend's house to try it out with him. Boy was I shocked to see in just the first two chapters, how sharply Take-Two has veered into Sickville. You play as a (mutated) human, slaying other mutated humans, mostly women (even grandmothers). In the film noire style of the game, you can't even see much that the women are mutated. And worse than the prolific, red blood & gore: these women mutants have somehow retained perfect, female voices. Honestly, if you close your eyes while someone plays the game, you would have to believe this is a domestic violence against women training program--what, with all their screaming as you kill them. In one scene, you come around a corner, and there's a lady leaning over a baby carriage with her back to you. Your aiming reticle glows red, so she's got to be taken out. But I'm the only one in the room that hesitated at the idea of preemptively shooting her in the back. What does that say about my friends? Best case: they're better able to separate reality from fantasy, I guess. Sure, it's rated M for mature, but how many teens (or younger) are going to get a good look at this game? And is there really any excuse for us adults filling our brains with something this morbid? I also don't enjoy slasher movies like I used to--but this game is much worse: you are first-person training yourself to be a slasher. I must be too old. Or, maybe I've just reached an understanding that other, less corrupted parents did earlier in the reality gaming evolution: there's just no limit to how sick and twisted "mainstream" video games will get if people don't stop desensitizing themselves with current titles. This game's going back to the store tomorrow. Seems like Take-Two used the shock value strategy again with this title to stave-off their falling stock price. It should have been given the AO rating too, for thematic violence and gore. Fatally flawed: 0 out of 10. Expand
  76. TraceA.
    Aug 28, 2007
    3
    This game is tremendously over-rated. What were the reviews smoking? All you do is search and collect.
  77. TJH
    Sep 27, 2007
    4
    I thought this game was extremely wierd and couldnt get along with it. Although i thought the visuals were very nice indeed the game was just too odd for me.
  78. Chris
    Oct 8, 2007
    8
    It's a very much simplified, much easier, underwater (watered down?) version of System Shock 2. There's nothing wrong with that, but it's about time SS2 was re-released for gamers to know what a true masterpiece is like.
  79. BenD.
    Aug 30, 2007
    7
    Superb graphics...and that's it. Shallow repetitive gameplay with too many pointless tasks getting in the way of the overall flow - does anyone really enjoy repeatedly hacking the machines? It's another Doom 3 - dark and dull.
  80. JeffR.
    Aug 25, 2007
    8
    The game's good, but I have to say the gameplay isn't really as compelling as we're being led to believe. It's very simple in its combat, It's easier than most FPS games, and it begins to have almost a repetitive feeling, as if you were playing the same level over and over against a different backdrop. Few games have had such well-crafted story elements, but even The game's good, but I have to say the gameplay isn't really as compelling as we're being led to believe. It's very simple in its combat, It's easier than most FPS games, and it begins to have almost a repetitive feeling, as if you were playing the same level over and over against a different backdrop. Few games have had such well-crafted story elements, but even on that subject it's not the best I've played. If i had the chance to go back and experience Max Payne 2, Half Life 2 or F.E.A.R. again for the first time rather than play bioshock, i would happily do so. That being said, it's a fun game, beautifully art directed and the story elements are solidly constructed. Expand
  81. ChrisM.
    Aug 27, 2007
    8
    It sure is a beautiful game, no doublt about it. But I do think this game is a bit overrated. I've read every review of this game, and virtually no negative points were mentined. However, I have a few. - Combat is not very well done. Because of the unrealistic way splicers move I'm having too much difficulty hitting them with the (slow moving) plasmids - I've had it with It sure is a beautiful game, no doublt about it. But I do think this game is a bit overrated. I've read every review of this game, and virtually no negative points were mentined. However, I have a few. - Combat is not very well done. Because of the unrealistic way splicers move I'm having too much difficulty hitting them with the (slow moving) plasmids - I've had it with games that keep respawning enemies based on scripted events. Everytime you pick up an important item suddenly an enemy spawns out of nowhere...its like doom3 in that way. - fighting big daddy's isn;t a lot of fun. They are big damage spunges that simply take a lot to bring down - I'm suffering from the freeze bug on my 360 just like the gamespot reviewer. It amost ruins the game for me So well...a pretty cool adventure game with mediocre combat and superior graphics....I'd glady give it a 8.5 or so but that's it. Expand
  82. spiderpig
    Aug 27, 2007
    6
    good solid fpsactionadventure title
    not 100100 as many reviewer have given it doesnt bring anything new to the table
    feels like an updated version of system shock which i much prefer to bioshock graphics an art 1010 gameplay 55 no multiplayer hurts it bigtime in this day an age to not include any multiplayer or co-op is criminal buy on xbox 360 pc avoid at all costs
    good solid fpsactionadventure title
    not 100100 as many reviewer have given it doesnt bring anything new to the table
    feels like an updated version of system shock which i much prefer to bioshock
    graphics an art 1010 gameplay 55 no multiplayer hurts it bigtime in this day an age to not include any multiplayer or co-op is criminal
    buy on xbox 360 pc avoid at all costs securerom aint getting on my pc ty very much 2K !
    Expand
  83. JamesH.
    Sep 3, 2007
    8
    Bioshock IS well above average in all regards and there will be very few people that wont enjoy playing through this game. However, it is because Bioshock gets everything so 'nearly' perfect that one is left with a small sense of dissapointment after playing. The comparison many have made with the half life 2 experience is valid. Half Life 2 is clear GOTY material, however Bioshock IS well above average in all regards and there will be very few people that wont enjoy playing through this game. However, it is because Bioshock gets everything so 'nearly' perfect that one is left with a small sense of dissapointment after playing. The comparison many have made with the half life 2 experience is valid. Half Life 2 is clear GOTY material, however I'm not sure that Bioshock deserves this mantle. Bioshock is a highly accomplished jack of all trades... With the exception of the presentation of the narrative, it is master of none... A very solid 8. Expand
  84. AaronC
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    I've killed Nefarion, finished all the Zeldas and Metriods, finished Super Mario Bros, completed all the Rainbow Six's on realistic mode, finished countless games over and over again....SO WHY am I dying in this game?! Its completly frustrating to die over and over again, who tuned this game? The only redeeming factor this game has is the polished "next gen WET" look, which II've killed Nefarion, finished all the Zeldas and Metriods, finished Super Mario Bros, completed all the Rainbow Six's on realistic mode, finished countless games over and over again....SO WHY am I dying in this game?! Its completly frustrating to die over and over again, who tuned this game? The only redeeming factor this game has is the polished "next gen WET" look, which I guess after reading so many of the critics reviews is the new paradigm to get a 10....just make it look WET! Expand
  85. Daniel
    Jan 16, 2008
    7
    Satisfying, but not spectacular. I'm not an experienced gamer -- I casually play the games that my brother buys for his XBox if they interest me -- but I was surprised, given the reviews, how little this wowed me. Rapture is visually spectacular, but limited; looking through windows and portholes made me want to explore this underwater world with greater variety than wandering Satisfying, but not spectacular. I'm not an experienced gamer -- I casually play the games that my brother buys for his XBox if they interest me -- but I was surprised, given the reviews, how little this wowed me. Rapture is visually spectacular, but limited; looking through windows and portholes made me want to explore this underwater world with greater variety than wandering through variations of the same darkened corridors and spooky rooms. The story is impressive, with twists that surprised me and an emotional element that moved me, but the final battle is too simple and the ending felt abrupt. (Maybe there's a better cutscene if I play on a higher difficulty?) It doesn't help that I played this after "Mass Effect"; the depth and replayability of that game put this one to shame. Expand
  86. ApocalypseB.
    Mar 13, 2008
    4
    How in the world did this game get such great recognition is truly beyond me! I never played System Shock 2, but surely that must of been better than this. Why don't I like it? Because after such a good and intense start, the game grinds to a halt after two hours. The pacing then is slow/dead slow, and that what upset me. The potential for greatness is all there: Plasmids, Big How in the world did this game get such great recognition is truly beyond me! I never played System Shock 2, but surely that must of been better than this. Why don't I like it? Because after such a good and intense start, the game grinds to a halt after two hours. The pacing then is slow/dead slow, and that what upset me. The potential for greatness is all there: Plasmids, Big Daddies, Saving or harvesting the little sisters. Yet all of them have no spark to them after you experience them time and time again. The aiming system and weapons are really sub-standard, from being too simplistic as opposed to being over the top. And the damage they cause, even the buck shot, is limited. Finally the constant dark and uninspired scenery with even more uninspired enemies were the last straw. Nowadays I haven't the time to grind through games like this, I want instant pleasure or I'll more on. Not that I am not a hardcore gamer, just that I know what I want, and rapture isn't the place I want to be! Expand
  87. dominikj
    Feb 9, 2009
    7
    This game has great story, great atmosphere, and cool enemies. But for guns this is not that good as they are severely underpowered and the aiming is shit. I found myself only using the wrench and telekinesis and incinerate in conclusion gameplay sucks ( at least for guns) melee and plasmids pass and are clever and its not open as some reviews say (they might as well be saying that COD 4 This game has great story, great atmosphere, and cool enemies. But for guns this is not that good as they are severely underpowered and the aiming is shit. I found myself only using the wrench and telekinesis and incinerate in conclusion gameplay sucks ( at least for guns) melee and plasmids pass and are clever and its not open as some reviews say (they might as well be saying that COD 4 is open) but everything else it did well. Collapse
  88. ZachU.
    Feb 3, 2010
    7
    This game was good,but it wasnt on my top ten xbox 360 games of all time!?? REALLY CRITCS!!?? After awile in the first playthrough I got bored and stopped playing it because you were doing the same things over and over.But it was a good game for me, there is no chance in hell that this is better than mass effect 2 CRITCS, plus you think the graphics are somehow better than mass effect This game was good,but it wasnt on my top ten xbox 360 games of all time!?? REALLY CRITCS!!?? After awile in the first playthrough I got bored and stopped playing it because you were doing the same things over and over.But it was a good game for me, there is no chance in hell that this is better than mass effect 2 CRITCS, plus you think the graphics are somehow better than mass effect 2,GET REAL.Plus the storyline is more interesting in my opinion, and I certainly played mass effect 1 and 2 alot more tan bioshock. Expand
  89. JustinT.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    I would really say 8.5 here. The fact that there's no multiplayer is fine for a game like this, but its shortness hurts a bit. Its all about the story on this game baby. Difficulty in spades if you want it, or eternal re-spawns if you don't. Finding hiddin audio messages from the past and putting together your own past make this a kind of CSI-esque feel with a very dark premise. I would really say 8.5 here. The fact that there's no multiplayer is fine for a game like this, but its shortness hurts a bit. Its all about the story on this game baby. Difficulty in spades if you want it, or eternal re-spawns if you don't. Finding hiddin audio messages from the past and putting together your own past make this a kind of CSI-esque feel with a very dark premise. Not a lot of re-play value keeps this from being a 10, but a solid game anyone should like to play. Expand
  90. IanL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    It's good, but not really great. The color palette is too dark to see many of the details, and there's no multiplayer.
  91. thedude
    Oct 15, 2007
    8
    This is a hard game for me to rate, because I was actually disappointed by it when I played, but it has kind of stuck with me since then. I looked forward to this game for a year, and the presentation in the demo floored me. But with all the 100's, and hype about it being one of the greatest games of all time, I found it pretty disappointing. I felt the same way about Half Life 2, This is a hard game for me to rate, because I was actually disappointed by it when I played, but it has kind of stuck with me since then. I looked forward to this game for a year, and the presentation in the demo floored me. But with all the 100's, and hype about it being one of the greatest games of all time, I found it pretty disappointing. I felt the same way about Half Life 2, though, and I know most people loved that. Half Life 2 felt like what I would expect, with a few great moments, and a bunch of stuff that I could have done without, like having to fend off the face huggers and the mosquito flying things all the time. Likewise, Bioshock had a gripping beginning, hit its peak with the Fort Fright section(like Ravenholm in HL2), and then just kind of seemed like a standard shooter to me the rest of the way. I found only a few of the plasmids effective, so even though they had a lot you could do, it only made sense to use one or two most of the time. The story was good, but not amazing. The presentation was great, but after the first hour or two you're used to it and it just comes down to the gameplay, which was pretty standard. But I have looked back on it with a certain fondness in hindsight since I played it, so I think it was another case of too much hype inflating a very good game into a so-called "master-piece". It's worth playing, but lower your expectations before you start it so you can be pleasantly surprised instead of let down. Expand
  92. Silver
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    One of the most disappointing games of the last 10 years. Poor narative, watered-down RPG elements, weak structure, simply put every aspect of Bioshock is basic and pathetic. But the real crime for us is that instead of doing what we've all been asking and make System Shock 3, Irrational Games decided to make a dumb new IP, promote it as the 'spiritual successor' to their One of the most disappointing games of the last 10 years. Poor narative, watered-down RPG elements, weak structure, simply put every aspect of Bioshock is basic and pathetic. But the real crime for us is that instead of doing what we've all been asking and make System Shock 3, Irrational Games decided to make a dumb new IP, promote it as the 'spiritual successor' to their legendary previous title and then hope no one would notice when it turned out to be THE WORST GAME EVER. To anyone who hasn't played them or was to young at the time, please don't get Bioshock, instead go out and find copies of both Deus Ex and System Shock 2. It will cost about 10 quid and will be the best 10 quid you have ever spent. Expand
  93. SasukeU.
    Oct 26, 2007
    7
    It's a good game, but only if you like to spend the whole game indoors, i find Bioshock very boring, i would prefer Half-life 2 or Halo 3. However the graphics are excellent, the plot is decent, but the game is quite difficult, simplyu put don't buy this game if you just want a relaxing good fun first person shooter. I would give the graphics a 9/10 but i would only give it a It's a good game, but only if you like to spend the whole game indoors, i find Bioshock very boring, i would prefer Half-life 2 or Halo 3. However the graphics are excellent, the plot is decent, but the game is quite difficult, simplyu put don't buy this game if you just want a relaxing good fun first person shooter. I would give the graphics a 9/10 but i would only give it a 5/10 for its funess. Expand
  94. NickB.
    Aug 16, 2007
    1
    The cartoony user models and the complicated and confusing gameplay makes the game way over hyped and really only a rent due to the lack of multiplayer.
  95. ShinP.
    Aug 16, 2007
    6
    It is a decent game but nothing really sticks out from the swampy FPS genre. The graphics are top notch but the game just gets boring as it goes on. Sure it has its differences from some traditional FPS but it still didnt break the mold of the FPS genre.
  96. RichieT.
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    Terrible heap of jumbled characters with a convoluted plot.
  97. MarcusR.
    Aug 21, 2007
    7
    Alright,I just finished Bioshock.My biggest complaint with the game is it is too easy,I literally had to stop playing at one point to raise the difficulty level.This is a big problem for me,as I thought the game would be quite challenging. Another problem I encountered was a glitch of some sort,whenever I inject a plasmid when battling more than one splicer,the game freezes for about 5 Alright,I just finished Bioshock.My biggest complaint with the game is it is too easy,I literally had to stop playing at one point to raise the difficulty level.This is a big problem for me,as I thought the game would be quite challenging. Another problem I encountered was a glitch of some sort,whenever I inject a plasmid when battling more than one splicer,the game freezes for about 5 seconds,then continues.Not a very big issue,but not a good one as well. Other than that,the game is solid,definitely a good one.The animations are good,the graphics are good(there's a widescreen issue,but it's not worth a whole paragraph),the storyline is a bit cliche,but it is rewarding. Overall,7/10,good,but not amazing. Expand
  98. SauerJass
    Aug 21, 2007
    1
    Brand new XPS laptop fully loaded... new nvidia drivers... reinstalled game twice.... stalling at second load screen. I would not recommend running to the stores to buy this game. Give this one a month to bake in the oven. Yet another disappointing box-o-bugs, even the better publisers seem to be releasing prematurely now-a-days. Unfortunately this is becoming the norm rather than theBrand new XPS laptop fully loaded... new nvidia drivers... reinstalled game twice.... stalling at second load screen. I would not recommend running to the stores to buy this game. Give this one a month to bake in the oven. Yet another disappointing box-o-bugs, even the better publisers seem to be releasing prematurely now-a-days. Unfortunately this is becoming the norm rather than the exception with PC games. The game seems provocative judging from the little I was able to play. Hopefully you'll have better luck. Expand
  99. ChaseB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    7
    Its easily the best thing available on 360 right now (but ofcourse there realy isn't any competition when it comes to actual good titles). Its a fun game and it tells a highly entertaining story that falls just short of half life 2 proportions (though the style of story telling is suprisingly similar). The game uses great idealistic imagery and has a deffinate sense of style. It is Its easily the best thing available on 360 right now (but ofcourse there realy isn't any competition when it comes to actual good titles). Its a fun game and it tells a highly entertaining story that falls just short of half life 2 proportions (though the style of story telling is suprisingly similar). The game uses great idealistic imagery and has a deffinate sense of style. It is also a game plauged with tiny problems (makes me wonder of Microsoft paid them money to rush it like they oh so love to do). You will notice alot of spazzing corpses and items (not as bad as Perfect dark but still bad) and a good many floating bodies aswell, but these are ofcourse minor asthetic problems. As gamespot said while compelling the gameplay is basic and easily mastered and so while there are some great and thuroughly enjoyable ways of killing people, you realy hafto want to use them because its oftin easier to just shoot an enemy in the face with your pistol and kill him than to use some elaborate method that may or may not work. There are some great features like capturing enemy turrets and using them for yourself that may or may not end up being usefull depending on the situation. If the gameplay here had a little more depth I would jump at the chance to give this game a higher score, but as things are I think gameplay wise its little more than a servicable job of keeping the story (this game is all about story) going. The combat here is no halo but it does function. The reason I am stressing so much the weak gameplay dispite the great story is that its a little upsetting after all the hype for this game, and all the potential it certainly has to see it fall short because the developer didn't spend the time necisary polishing the final product. One thing I will say though is that the best part by far is the voice acting, truly some of the best in any game out there. I got it on both 360 and PC and so far just as an FYI PC is both superior visualy and in terms of gameplay (but ofcourse mouse always trumps controller). Expand
  100. RayH.
    Aug 20, 2007
    3
    Great graphics, implausible storyline...Hard to play (difficulty wise).. The reviewers may be enamored with this title, but if the first thing I do upon entering a strange facility I know nothing about, and I find a hypo needle on the ground...well, I would just shove this needle into my arm? Uh..realism...NOT! And the difficulty ramps up...casual players need not apply!
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.