User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2071 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This only has one failing but the single player experience is so strong that a lack of multiplayer can be disregarded. Buy this game - it is the best thing since sliced bread.
  2. mikemorrison
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is truely the way video games story lines shoud be told, i read all the review before playing and all the poeple that gave this game a 8 or a 10 are correct, ive played cod4 and halo 3 and let me tell you that bioshock is the best game of 2007 and that says alot.
  3. WyattG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is NOT a perfect game, there are some small things wrong with it, but what it does have to offer is just so good that it would be cruel not to give it a 10 out of 10. It is very rare for hype in a game not to lead to disappointment, but it is even rarer for a game that was hyped as much as Bioshock to not only match the hype but indeed exceed it by delivering on the promise of Bioshock is NOT a perfect game, there are some small things wrong with it, but what it does have to offer is just so good that it would be cruel not to give it a 10 out of 10. It is very rare for hype in a game not to lead to disappointment, but it is even rarer for a game that was hyped as much as Bioshock to not only match the hype but indeed exceed it by delivering on the promise of providing a unique gaming experience that will floor you in every way possible. The central reason for why this game is so good is the story. Unlike many action games where you can skip past the story and not feel like you have missed anything, in Bioshock you will find yourself searching every last room just to make sure you don't skip any parts of the story ! The story is then backed up by a fantastic underwater setting, creepy lighting and sound effects, superb characters and voice acting, and sensational gameplay. Make sure you find room in your wallet to buy this game because you will not be disappointed in your purchase. Expand
  4. CharlesB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game, worth all the praise. GOTY material. A few VERY MINOR flaws, but the good overshadows any of them. Story, Graphics, Gameplay. all 3 are just amazing. A few posters seem to think that ammo is too hard to find. Well I"ve played he entire game with plenty of ammo, towards the end i had my pick of whatever weapon i wanted, theres always a machine to hack and purchase ammo and Fantastic game, worth all the praise. GOTY material. A few VERY MINOR flaws, but the good overshadows any of them. Story, Graphics, Gameplay. all 3 are just amazing. A few posters seem to think that ammo is too hard to find. Well I"ve played he entire game with plenty of ammo, towards the end i had my pick of whatever weapon i wanted, theres always a machine to hack and purchase ammo and supplies nearby. Either you need to work on your aim, or use plasmids more. as theres always tons of ammo to find.. infact i felt there was a bit TOO MUCH... Others complained about some plasmids being too exploitable. Yes, some are VERY powerful (electrobolt) and if you wanted, you could tear through the game using only 1 or 2 plasmids. But what fun is that? The game gives you choices.. if you want to be "cheap" and just blast through the game as easily as possible than you can. But if you wish to have a little more fun, you can use some of the less powerful plasmids and set up elaborite ways to vanquish your foes. Finally the most ridicioulous criticizem of the game, its too "scary" or "evil" or "bloody". Are you kidding me? If Violence, blood, or other adult themes are not your cup of tea, then DONT PLAY THE GAME. Go play mario or the BEE MOVIE game or something. The level with the deranged doctor has to be one of the scariest levels in any game. I was tense and anxious during the entire level, it was very eerie and disturbing. THATS WHAT I PAID FOR!! i was expecting a scary, disturbing expirence. Just like a horror movie or psych thriller. This isint candy land or bible camp. People are appaled by violence in gaming, yet its perfectly fine in movies, TV, or real life... ive seen much worse in the nightly NEWS. Heres a tip for parents... MONITER WHAT YOUR KIDS ARE DOING. be PARENTS. dont expect TV or games to replace proper parenting. The games are not to blame, YOU ARE. You should be spending time with your kids and not expecting games to do it. These games are made for adults, the gamer generation is in their 30s now, and guess what our tastes have changed. i want to be scared, suprised, and challenged by my games. There is a picture of a guy with a friggin drill for a hand on the cover, what do you expect from the game? Unless its an underwater mining simulator, then guess what, its gonna be violent! This game is a mature title for adults, dont expect HALO type juvenile fun. Its dark, atmospheric, and requires thought on a higher level. This game is a piece of art. -c Expand
  5. NelsonP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    What bugs me the most about all these negative reviews is the fact that the game is too 'evil' for them. WTF? The game is based on CHOICE! Choose to kill or choose to avoid; Choose to harvest or choose to rescue; Choose to live or choose to die. Those mutated people want to kill you for your ADAM!!! Do you have to play for awhile to know why it's so violent? Yes. Is it What bugs me the most about all these negative reviews is the fact that the game is too 'evil' for them. WTF? The game is based on CHOICE! Choose to kill or choose to avoid; Choose to harvest or choose to rescue; Choose to live or choose to die. Those mutated people want to kill you for your ADAM!!! Do you have to play for awhile to know why it's so violent? Yes. Is it really violent? Absolutely. Does it say on the back of the box where the mature rating is placed? You bet! All in all, gaming wise, this really is an achievement. Halo cannot provide a story like this!!! And the graphics are top notch, and the game play is different, which is refreshing b/c the same thing gets old so new ways to play and control your character are welcome. And come on, it is really easy to play. If you're the type of gamer that's all about the kill w/out having to question why you do it, then this is NOT the game for you. This really is a mature game b/c it makes you question even you're own nature... are you prepared to sacrifice another for your own benefit? Or are you going to save lives? Halo3 still rocks, I even own the legendary edition of the damn thing... but until I get a story like that on a Halo game, BioShock deserves the title of Game of the Year. 10/10 1 Expand
  6. JimmyJ.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    From the moment you come up for air after the plane crash, you know you're playing an unbelievable game. This game lived up to every expectation that I had for it. The one thing I would have changed is the Vita-Chamber checkpoint system, and now a recent update has addressed that. This game is genius. Sure it borrowed elements from other games, but what game doesn't these From the moment you come up for air after the plane crash, you know you're playing an unbelievable game. This game lived up to every expectation that I had for it. The one thing I would have changed is the Vita-Chamber checkpoint system, and now a recent update has addressed that. This game is genius. Sure it borrowed elements from other games, but what game doesn't these days??? Any person giving this a 0 is a complete loser and should be put to sleep. This game has so many jaw dropping moments that it'll make you happy you're a gamer. Buy it if you haven't already! Expand
  7. SeanF.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Probally better than sliced bread, this game is the best fps I have ever played. The games strays away from the all to familiar Halo 3 combat style where you get to slice through enemies like a hot knife through butter. Now i'm not going to criticize halo, it's a great franchise, but the third one left me feeling a bit empty inside. Bioshock is an amazing game, because of how Probally better than sliced bread, this game is the best fps I have ever played. The games strays away from the all to familiar Halo 3 combat style where you get to slice through enemies like a hot knife through butter. Now i'm not going to criticize halo, it's a great franchise, but the third one left me feeling a bit empty inside. Bioshock is an amazing game, because of how much strategy and complexity is involved in ever fight you get into. Not only is the gameplay some of the most fun I've had on a game since halo 1, but it also has the most well-developed plot of any game I've played in years. I reccomend that you all buy it, because you will never look back. Expand
  8. AlexP.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This is a great game. The ending is a little short, but face it this game is a overachiever. I would play this any day and dump Halo 3.
  9. JoshS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    I would suggest ignoring the previously two reviews since it doesnt even seem like they played the game. They probably were not around when video games didnt have multiplayer. I dont know if they know this but Super Mario 64 and Zelda: OoT didnt have multiplayer and they are two of the highest rated games of all-time. Now, to BioShock. It is easily one of the best games that has come out I would suggest ignoring the previously two reviews since it doesnt even seem like they played the game. They probably were not around when video games didnt have multiplayer. I dont know if they know this but Super Mario 64 and Zelda: OoT didnt have multiplayer and they are two of the highest rated games of all-time. Now, to BioShock. It is easily one of the best games that has come out in the past couple of years. The environment is simply stunning and combined with the storyline makes this one of the best single player games ever. This is one of the only games I have ever payed the full retail price for and believed it was worth it. Easily GOTY for me, and I bet quite a few other people aswell. Expand
  10. JesseM.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    A scary twist of a game filled with many plot twists and great grahics the best part thought is the game play a true masterpiece that origentis from the System Shock series. All of the rooms look differnt a lot of work was put in level design. Weapons are fun but it is truly the plasmids that stand out. No other game lets you eletrcute your opponents or set them on fire. The best plasmedr A scary twist of a game filled with many plot twists and great grahics the best part thought is the game play a true masterpiece that origentis from the System Shock series. All of the rooms look differnt a lot of work was put in level design. Weapons are fun but it is truly the plasmids that stand out. No other game lets you eletrcute your opponents or set them on fire. The best plasmedr is telekesis anything is a weapon. Overall I recoment this title to any FPS fan RPG fan or Art fan. Expand
  11. TimC.
    Dec 22, 2007
    7
    I do not understand what all the fuss is about this game. I was expecting so much more from reading all these reviews. Graphics were good, story was good with excellent voice acting, but the gameplay was same ole same ole FPS. While the story and voice acting were good it was not the incredible life changing-never look at videogames the same- be all end all experience that has been I do not understand what all the fuss is about this game. I was expecting so much more from reading all these reviews. Graphics were good, story was good with excellent voice acting, but the gameplay was same ole same ole FPS. While the story and voice acting were good it was not the incredible life changing-never look at videogames the same- be all end all experience that has been described by so many reviews. Expand
  12. BillG.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    Just amazing ! I feel like l have been transported to another world and time. No other game has this feel to it. Well done ! It deserves to be 'game of the year' easily ! Others who have given it a low score just don't get it, and they never will.
  13. imnottellingyou
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    Hey, bioshock's a great game, but it can feel very linear, when you just wanna kill a bunch of weird-mutant things. There is a variety of cool things you can do such as upgrading weapons and injectiong yourself with cool powers like telekinises, the abilty to shoot fire etc. Its creepy atmosphere get quite compeling, and you can get in some pretty sticky situations... like getting Hey, bioshock's a great game, but it can feel very linear, when you just wanna kill a bunch of weird-mutant things. There is a variety of cool things you can do such as upgrading weapons and injectiong yourself with cool powers like telekinises, the abilty to shoot fire etc. Its creepy atmosphere get quite compeling, and you can get in some pretty sticky situations... like getting trapped between two security cameras with no medkits while security bots fire at you trapped in a corner surrounded by spider splicers. that would be very bad. Its fun and creepy, yet it can be a challange and factor of throwing the controller at the wall or slamming on your keyboard. Expand
  14. Warmonger
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    A marvelous art deco adventure from begining to end,Bioshock keeps you immersed "literally" and never quite lets you come up for air. It certainly beats anything else that has come out this year.....destined to become game of the year.
  15. Shaun
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Very few games have managed this level of atmosphere. The story is great and the gameplay lets you make up new and fun ways to kill enemies. Bioshock is an addictive game, and with the upcoming update on Xbox 360 allowing you to replay with new plasmids and altered difficulty settings, there is NO reason not to play this if you haven't yet.
  16. DavidL.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Great game that deserves its high score. Graphicly its amazing and the atmosphere and gameplay is top notch.
  17. JohnH.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Great storyline with amazing graphics. Challenging and fun.
  18. RyanJ.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Only an 8.9 average rating among users?! How can that be? I've tried to understand some of the negative things a few peers have said about this game, and I just don't get it. I'm a very tough critic, but this game still managed to floor me in almost every possible way. There are a few minor quibbles I won't get into because they're easily overshadowed by the Only an 8.9 average rating among users?! How can that be? I've tried to understand some of the negative things a few peers have said about this game, and I just don't get it. I'm a very tough critic, but this game still managed to floor me in almost every possible way. There are a few minor quibbles I won't get into because they're easily overshadowed by the unpredictable plot and the beautifully conceived world of Rapture. This game doesn't exactly redefine what a first-person shooter is, but it takes the innovations other games have made in recent years and takes them to an even higher standard. In the end, BioShock doesn't have much real competition in the FPS genre outside Half-Life 2. I like Halo 3, but this game easily overshadows it, at least as far as single-player experience is concerned. Expand
  19. ChrisC.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    Great game, and I'm not a shooter fan. The story and presentation style are just cool. A science fictiony twist on libertarian/objectivist philosophies to bring real interestingness and coolness to sort of a zombie-survival story formula. One question though. Why are people calling it an RPG? An FPS that happens to have a well constructed storyline does not an RPG make.
  20. Ben
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Great story, Great gameplay, Great Graphics. What more can you ask for?
  21. BrandonG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Game of the year.
  22. BuckyR.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    This game is simply awesome. It oozes style and atmosphere like no other game I have played. The game forces you to make difficult mature decisions, such as whether to save one of the Little Sisters, or put her out of her misery and harvest the precious resource Adam for yourself. You can play to suit your style, modify your weapons and go in guns blazing, hack a security console or use This game is simply awesome. It oozes style and atmosphere like no other game I have played. The game forces you to make difficult mature decisions, such as whether to save one of the Little Sisters, or put her out of her misery and harvest the precious resource Adam for yourself. You can play to suit your style, modify your weapons and go in guns blazing, hack a security console or use your stealth skills. The game is more RPG than FPS, and has many similarities to Deus Ex in the scale and freedom it offers you. Definitely going to be the Game of the Year! Expand
  23. BillD.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The storyline is incredibly solid, the graphics are immersive, and the in-game events are perfectly scripted. This game is a must have - hands down.
  24. MarkS.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    As close to Art as a game has ever come.
  25. dangcucu
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    From the DEMO i played i got caught up in the game's world. I found myself hinding as if i would get hurt in real life. i cared for the character & the situation he's in. Not like other games where you just want to run and shoot to get in the groove of things. This thing brought me into its groove.
  26. PhilipB.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game - best FPS I've ever played. The best thing to come out in this generation of gaming. Finally, the next gen has started - not when Sony said but when BioShock came out. This game is full of new ideas - amazing atmosphere and superb graphics. I can't believe anyone sane person could give this game a poor review..
  27. JoeD.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, it feels like you're watching a movie you can control, and the entire world of Rapture is so detailed and realistic, it makes you believe an underwater city could actually exist. Not to mention it throws out traditional FPS gameplay for a style that's new and innovative.
  28. LoganS.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is fun, but it's horribly overrated by the mags. Which doesn't surprise me. It deserves around a 90% or a 92% It's too short of a game for a solo-only game. System Shock 2 is better than Bioshock IMO and actually has replay.
  29. SteveD.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Seriously head and shoulders above pretty much everything else. I agree with the gamespot review in that the combat is not particularly challenging, but then this is not what it's about. It's about finding as many different unique combinations to dispatch your foe. It plays out as a kind of arcadey Deus Ex. One of the best games ever made in my opinion. Not necessarily Seriously head and shoulders above pretty much everything else. I agree with the gamespot review in that the combat is not particularly challenging, but then this is not what it's about. It's about finding as many different unique combinations to dispatch your foe. It plays out as a kind of arcadey Deus Ex. One of the best games ever made in my opinion. Not necessarily revolutionary, but every aspect is so polished they must have bought out Mr Sheen. Special mention must go to the sound design. With a decent surround sound setup, you'll be using your ears as much as your eyes to get your bearings and plan how to tackle what's around the next corner. Expand
  30. ChieN.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    You've never played a game quite like 'BioShock'. When PC Gamer said that Doom 3 was a 'masterpiece of the art form', they didn't realize that Doom 3 would be nothing for the art form. BioShock is the first true 'masterpiece of the art form' as it engulfs you, mesmerizes you, and shocks you till the end. And then when you play through, it truly WILL You've never played a game quite like 'BioShock'. When PC Gamer said that Doom 3 was a 'masterpiece of the art form', they didn't realize that Doom 3 would be nothing for the art form. BioShock is the first true 'masterpiece of the art form' as it engulfs you, mesmerizes you, and shocks you till the end. And then when you play through, it truly WILL be different. BioShock lives up to ALL the hype. If a game ever deserved a perfect score, it would be BioShock. 10+ hours to defeat it, 10+ more to go through it again, and it's not feeling stale at all. Expand
  31. ArtDang
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    Playing the demo was awesome, now getting the game a couple days early was great!... Overall the game was amazing, enviorment, music, abilities, etc... youve read the boards. Although I am really happy w/ my purchase, i was kind of disappointed in certain areas of the game... but I wont say anything, not to ruin it for others. But if you ask me I give the game a 8.5 - 9.0..
  32. BellinoP.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    This is a rare Gem. It is what I have been waiting for all my life. From the graphics to the story, from beginning to the end. This is one of the best games I have ever played Hand Down.
  33. GuusB.
    Aug 21, 2007
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game, but being the critic that i am it could've been better. The weird checkpoint system takes away too much of the atmosphere in my opinion, also the lack of a multiplayer is a missed oppertunity. Don't get me wrong though, this is a truly fantastic game!
  34. RonD.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    In a word... WOW.. this game is amazing, the atmosphere, the graphics, the gameplay.. it is the best game I have the pleasure of playing in 20 years of gaming... Half-Life 2, Halo, and MGS series are all amazing, along with Zelda. This game just oozes quality, the sound effects are off the chart, the AI is very well done, the way the game makes the experience real (limited weapons, In a word... WOW.. this game is amazing, the atmosphere, the graphics, the gameplay.. it is the best game I have the pleasure of playing in 20 years of gaming... Half-Life 2, Halo, and MGS series are all amazing, along with Zelda. This game just oozes quality, the sound effects are off the chart, the AI is very well done, the way the game makes the experience real (limited weapons, limited ammo, etc is perfect... just like it should be... I mean, where in the world do you unlimited everything... this game nails it, and every playthrough is different, Rapture is ALIVE and you will agree once you go there, you won't want to leave. Expand
  35. KarlG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is an amazing game. Amazing graphics, great voice acting and an incredible story make it one of the best games around. I honestly can
  36. StrifeStar
    Aug 20, 2007
    8
    This is an 8 in my books. Everything was done well, but nothing was done perfectly. 360 syndrome, if you will. Not to mention the inability of dying affecting your progress. I don't need the game to fight my battles for me.
  37. PeterH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    The most innovative and genereally DIFFERENT game brought out in years. It isn't just a shooter, it isn't just survival horror, it isn't just an adventure game, its all of those and more. Bioshock is like being in an incredibly detailed novel, something by Neal Stephenson or William Gibson. But it's more than that too. Bioshock will (hopefully) change the way games are made.
  38. ChrisOsgood
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    There may be a few tenths of a point you can take away from this game, but from the very beginning you can tell that there is something inherantly great about the structure of this title. There is obviously too much that went into this game for the development studio to not receive full credit for their amazing work. If a title is a must have, it's a 10. This one must be experiencedThere may be a few tenths of a point you can take away from this game, but from the very beginning you can tell that there is something inherantly great about the structure of this title. There is obviously too much that went into this game for the development studio to not receive full credit for their amazing work. If a title is a must have, it's a 10. This one must be experienced by all x360 owners and PC gamers. Expand
  39. MattB.
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    This game is beautifully done, period. As was said in another review its downfall is its no-skill-required gameplay, but the storyline and gameplay keep you enthralled nonetheless. One of the best games I have played in a long time.
  40. TylerG.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    After games like Gears Of War, I didn't think I could ever be blown away. Then I put in the heavily hyped Bioshock. And was blown away once more. But be warned, this isn't your Halo run n' gun shoot em' up. This game is deeply involved on all aspects. I don't know what genre to place this game is, because it's too broad for just one. If you have just enough After games like Gears Of War, I didn't think I could ever be blown away. Then I put in the heavily hyped Bioshock. And was blown away once more. But be warned, this isn't your Halo run n' gun shoot em' up. This game is deeply involved on all aspects. I don't know what genre to place this game is, because it's too broad for just one. If you have just enough money to buy a game this summer, or this year, buy Bioshock, it's a safe purchase. Expand
  41. PaulC.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    What can I say that hasn't already been said. One of the BEST games I have ever played and I have played thousands of games over the past 35 years. Seriously, this is the reason you bought a XBOX 360 in the first place.
  42. MatthewC.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    This is my personal favorite game of all time.
  43. JohnN.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I love it. Playing now. The creepy ballroom dancing music reminds me of The Shining. Love the exploration and story. A must own. Right up there with Gears of War, F.E.A.R., and Lost Planet as the best of 360.
  44. Steve-O
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    This IS the most amazing game I have played on the 360 and is set to be one of the all time greatest games ever played! The exerience is more thrilling than the first time I played Resident Evil about ten years ago. It is even more exiting than that, but that is all I can compare it to. The game is so nerve wracking, spooky, fun, clever, twisted, and just plain awsome to play. I had to This IS the most amazing game I have played on the 360 and is set to be one of the all time greatest games ever played! The exerience is more thrilling than the first time I played Resident Evil about ten years ago. It is even more exiting than that, but that is all I can compare it to. The game is so nerve wracking, spooky, fun, clever, twisted, and just plain awsome to play. I had to tear my self away from it last night. Bioshock is a true example of a marqee game that must be played. This title has GOTY written all over it. If you have been on the fence about buying it...you're crazy..go get a copy NOW and prepare to experience Rapture. Expand
  45. DanielP.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Incredible!
  46. AtlasisFontaineF.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This game is mind blowing. Its like a mad circus. Never boring. High replay value (playing through everytime is different). READ THIS: IF you look at the reviews, only FANBOYS give it a low score and this is obvious because its a "1" or "0". Hardly any game deserves that. So the rest is perfect scores nothing in between. That should tell you something. If not, your not smart enough to This game is mind blowing. Its like a mad circus. Never boring. High replay value (playing through everytime is different). READ THIS: IF you look at the reviews, only FANBOYS give it a low score and this is obvious because its a "1" or "0". Hardly any game deserves that. So the rest is perfect scores nothing in between. That should tell you something. If not, your not smart enough to play this game as its for older smarter folks. Expand
  47. MattW.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    In my 23 years of life, and thousands of games, this is the best.
  48. MickeyR.
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    This game is well-conceived and well-designed--it oozes quality in a way that few others do, and it has more atmosphere than any other I've seen. From a gameplay standpoint, it reminds me strongly of Deus Ex (the original). But as a complete experience I find it a bit lacking, as gameplay is quite retsrictive and there's no multiplayer. Avery good game, but I think it gets extra This game is well-conceived and well-designed--it oozes quality in a way that few others do, and it has more atmosphere than any other I've seen. From a gameplay standpoint, it reminds me strongly of Deus Ex (the original). But as a complete experience I find it a bit lacking, as gameplay is quite retsrictive and there's no multiplayer. Avery good game, but I think it gets extra points in the 360 release because there are relatively few other excellent games on this platform. Expand
  49. AnonymousMC
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    The story and the setting are some of the best in any game I have ever played. It is like playing a character in a book sort of, except most the information you find is through audio diaries detailing the life and downfall of rapture as it happened.

    For people who are claiming that the gameplay is lacking or that combat it repetetive it is all your fault. The games combat is mostly
    The story and the setting are some of the best in any game I have ever played. It is like playing a character in a book sort of, except most the information you find is through audio diaries detailing the life and downfall of rapture as it happened.

    For people who are claiming that the gameplay is lacking or that combat it repetetive it is all your fault. The games combat is mostly limited to your creativity in how you want to take out enemies, sure you can run in there with a wrench, get a few kills and then respawn at a vita chamber the whole game but why? The games combat is incredibly fun if you mix it up as much as possible.
    Expand
  50. DrewM.
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    This game absolutely blew me away. The attention to detail is amazing, the a.i. is good, (but not to the point where they can see you coming a mile away with their back turned,) and the gameplay is just plain fun with the plasmids. The respawn aspect could have been handled differently, but its a small price to pay for the top-notch story and atmosphere.
  51. KenW.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    I'm really enjoying this game. I've not finished it yet, but even as I'm progressing this time through I'm thinking about what I'll do the next time. There's nothing I can say about the atmosphere or mood that hasn't already been said, I suppose. There have been plenty of times I've stopped playing and gasped at the visuals or the perversity of a I'm really enjoying this game. I've not finished it yet, but even as I'm progressing this time through I'm thinking about what I'll do the next time. There's nothing I can say about the atmosphere or mood that hasn't already been said, I suppose. There have been plenty of times I've stopped playing and gasped at the visuals or the perversity of a concept. I've felt as involved in this game at points as I did the first time through Halo (when I stifled a cough so as not to alert a Hunter to my presence) and Half-Life 2 with its excellent atmospheric radio chirping and footfalls. Those games rate up high for me and this one belongs with them for the same reasons: innovative, deeply involving, and fascinating to explore. The only gripe I have with Bioshock (so far) is the way I can hear characters talking/walking through closed doors, alternate hallways or separate rooms (ex. the Big Daddy stomping and the Little Sister singing in the underwater corridor across from the Medical Wing, even though it's got thick glass, pressurized air and 20 ft. of deep ocean water between them.). I understand that it helps us know what's coming, but I think that it'd be even more "realistic" to have voices and sounds muted unless they are in the same room/hallway. How hard that would be to do, I don't know. Whatever. I'm digging this game deeply. I hope the experience intensifies, as I'm expecting. Expand
  52. BradyS.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    For once, a game lives up to the immense hype surrounding its release. It's been a while since I've played until succumbing to a migraine brought on by staring at a television screen too long, but the extended play sessions with Bioshock are worth the pain. The aesthetic qualities go far beyond just, "ooh...look at the pretty shiny textures" or "hey, that was a cool guitar For once, a game lives up to the immense hype surrounding its release. It's been a while since I've played until succumbing to a migraine brought on by staring at a television screen too long, but the extended play sessions with Bioshock are worth the pain. The aesthetic qualities go far beyond just, "ooh...look at the pretty shiny textures" or "hey, that was a cool guitar riff." This is one of the first games since the original Metroid Prime that feels completely organic in its level structure. No two rooms are the same, and random fires and piles of debris seem to scattered at every turn. The audio is fantastic as well, with samples taken from old big band and jazz songs that have been appropriately distorted and scratched to match the crumbling world around them. The enemies are hideous, nimble freaks who run away from you, sidestep your aim, or jump to ceilings before dropping down again to pummel you. They scream, they laugh, and talk to themselves like they still long for purpose. The weapons and genetic powers can be constantly upgraded and swapped out, and there wasn't a single one that I didn't use at least once. Of course, everyone will find their favorite (the insect swarm is wickedly amusing), but everything here is balanced and well thought-out. And the Big Daddies - Holy Crap. Wait until you fight one. Disregard comments of it being too easy (you can never really die) or repetitive (if you use the same weapon over and over, it can be). This is one of those rare games that gives you lots of "moments," and lets you, the player, decide how you'll take them on. Will you burn your enemy alive? Will you lead him into a trap? Or will you just fill his face full of lead? The choice is yours. Bioshock is the closest to gaming perfection I've seen, ever. Period. Buy it. Expand
  53. modifiedbear
    Aug 26, 2007
    7
    If this game didn't have such a brilliant art style and great graphics to match, then this game would have a metacrtic score in the 70s. Another factor in the hype surrounding Bioshock is that this is one of the first AAA titles to be released before the fall rush. One of the biggest problems I have with Bioshock is that it is just too easy because you see no death penalty until the If this game didn't have such a brilliant art style and great graphics to match, then this game would have a metacrtic score in the 70s. Another factor in the hype surrounding Bioshock is that this is one of the first AAA titles to be released before the fall rush. One of the biggest problems I have with Bioshock is that it is just too easy because you see no death penalty until the final battle. You also collect small items through out the game in order to "invent" ammo and tools. The problem is you really aren't inventing anything. You're just getting the necessary amount of items for the objects you want. The most annoying thing during the game is the hacking mini-game you play when you manually hack an object. The alternatives to manual hacking are using an auto-hack tool or paying. There are so many different things to hack though that you'll end up doing a lot of it manually. The AI does do some smart things like seek water when on fire or find a health station when injured severly. Overall the game can be enjoyable because of the various tools at your disposal that let you play the way you see fit. I just wish it had put up more of a challenge. Expand
  54. SamuelSifter
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    A very fun and exciting game. It sucked me in from the start. Not only are the graphics and audio great (while still managing to run well on even older computers), the story is one of the best stories I have any seen in a game, book, or movie!

    The best game since Quake II!

    10/10
  55. JamieC.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. It's a game that the 360 has been longing for for a while and it's long development time has really, really payed off. The sense of scale, atmosphere and thought gone into it shine throughout and graphically it looks beautiful. The choices you need to make like weapon upgrading and power enhances need thought and can't be foolishly chosen as it might This game is awesome. It's a game that the 360 has been longing for for a while and it's long development time has really, really payed off. The sense of scale, atmosphere and thought gone into it shine throughout and graphically it looks beautiful. The choices you need to make like weapon upgrading and power enhances need thought and can't be foolishly chosen as it might cost you. You need to think your steps, you need to act on the go, you need to make the right decisions within battles and above all, Big Daddies rock. Get it hands down but if you're unsure, at least rent it please. Expand
  56. DesperateOne
    Aug 27, 2007
    8
    BioShock is a compelling title with much to like. The atmosphere as a whole is incredible and very deep- you'd be hard pressed not to be drawn in by the combination of storyline and graphics. Game play, in particular the FPS aspects, will certainly be a disappointment for fans of Halo, Rainbow Six and their ilk as the weapons and damage they cause leave much to be desired- especially BioShock is a compelling title with much to like. The atmosphere as a whole is incredible and very deep- you'd be hard pressed not to be drawn in by the combination of storyline and graphics. Game play, in particular the FPS aspects, will certainly be a disappointment for fans of Halo, Rainbow Six and their ilk as the weapons and damage they cause leave much to be desired- especially later in the game. To be fair though, the combat is not the main focus of BioShock. The storyline is so compelling that the combat serves as just a added piece of the puzzle-another feature that helps to immerse you in the world of Rapture. That said, there is a great deal of pleasure to be achieved from your battles and some very interesting and mischievous ways to kill your enemies. From electrocutions to swarms of bees to chemical fires, what you lack in "damage satisfaction" is more than made up for by the gameplay's creativity. If you go into BioShock expecting Halo style battles you will be disappointed. If your seeking an engrossing thriller that just happens to have a decent combat system than you should certainly check this game out. I completed the game receiving the "Tyrant" ending and will now go back and do it all again to see what happens if I let a few of these "little ones" live.. Expand
  57. GregM
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Comes in a very close second to Half-Life 2 for that rare immersive quality that makes gamers love games. Find it repetitive? Don't use the same weapon. Find it too easy? Don't respawn--reload after you die. Think outside the box (sorry for the cliche) because this game deserves it, and the developers obviously did. It is lovely and horrible, and you should buy it.
  58. AlanM.
    Aug 27, 2007
    8
    I've just finished the main story element of Bioshock (although I'm convinced that there are alternate endings and I haven't got all the achievements). There is no denying the fact that this is an excellently crafted game, the Graphics, Sound, Storyline are all excellent however in my opinion it isn't perfect (what I mean is that it doesn't justify a 100% score). I've just finished the main story element of Bioshock (although I'm convinced that there are alternate endings and I haven't got all the achievements). There is no denying the fact that this is an excellently crafted game, the Graphics, Sound, Storyline are all excellent however in my opinion it isn't perfect (what I mean is that it doesn't justify a 100% score). The issues: (These have to be considered in relation to the whole package, which is well worth a purchase). 1. Gunplay / Combat - feels wooly and innacurate, it becomes slightly better halfway through with the crossbow (Half-life 2 style scope), but generally I found it most satisfying thumping enemies with a wrench. 2. The weapon upgrades seem far more limited than the promotional material suggested (capacity / damage multiplyers) 3. Some weapons feel pretty pointless (Chemical thrower & Crossbow) 4. Game length - being a UK resident I got the game on Friday morning and played reletively frequently untill finishing it on Monday afternoon - lets say 15 - 20 hrs (tops). 5. Being told just before the boss fight that no more saves would be available - so I can't explore Rapture after defeating X? (perhaps this opens up if you are a better player / on harder difficulty?) I got the impression that it were short and sweet, and that it were an RPG instead of FPS 2.0. I'd compare it with a shorter version of Deus Ex, with much better graphics, sound and art-style. So what's good about it? I cannot rememer playing a game that has made me save and stop playing because I feel uncomfortable with the moral position I am placed in. I've been quite happy in other games to thrash the enemies to bits, but in Bioshock you begin to understand why they are, and later on you may end up even worse than them. I'd recommend anyone to buy Bioshock, but would urge some restraint in its reviews. It is an excellent piece of software... but personally it becomes problematic when I compare it to a title like Oblivion. Expand
  59. Scott
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    This game is amazing. The story is one of a kind and held me right up to the end. Worthy of any movie plot. But in the end, I was left wanting more, and it seemed a little short.
    But I guess that's the sign of a great game...there's never enough!!!
  60. TedroRedro
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    An amazing experience from beginning to end. If there are complaints, it's from the hacking and the "vending machine" stuff. It makes sense, but it can take away from the action. Picking up every piece of ammo can also be distracting. The widescreen has issues, but nothing a patch can't resolve at least partially. The lack of multiplayer does not hurt, but it could have been An amazing experience from beginning to end. If there are complaints, it's from the hacking and the "vending machine" stuff. It makes sense, but it can take away from the action. Picking up every piece of ammo can also be distracting. The widescreen has issues, but nothing a patch can't resolve at least partially. The lack of multiplayer does not hurt, but it could have been pretty cool with the plasmid system. With all that being said...I have no doubt that Bioshocks campaign will be more submersive than Halo 3's campaign, but Halo's co-op and online will trump it in terms of replay value. With CoD4, Halo3, and Orange Box right around the corner, it's good to be a 360 shooter fan. But who knows if they can even get close to the immersive atmosphere of Bioshock. Now, go get stepped on by a big daddy! Expand
  61. BeauM.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    It is a truly captivating and phenomenal game. The combat system is so weak though. The plasmids and tonics are brilliant and make the game very fun. The lack of difficulty and imagination from the mobs however is disappointing. Would love to see this game run with a better AI engine and it would be a true masterpiece. Still, this is by far the BEST game I've played since Halo 2.
  62. HuxleyH.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    Let's preface this by saying that all the hype about Bioshock's narrative is deserved; it's been a long time since I've seen a story this good, and I don't just mean in videogames. It is excellently told, compelling, and very, very close to flawless. Sadly, the gameplay does not in my opinion warrant the scores the game has been getting. That side of things feels Let's preface this by saying that all the hype about Bioshock's narrative is deserved; it's been a long time since I've seen a story this good, and I don't just mean in videogames. It is excellently told, compelling, and very, very close to flawless. Sadly, the gameplay does not in my opinion warrant the scores the game has been getting. That side of things feels fairly generic and sometimes even disappointing, with the much-lauded plasmids really not adding much to the affair. There is little to criticize on that front, but there is little to praise greatly either. Make no mistake: this game is both important and worth getting. But I don't agree with the reviews which consider the gameplay as big a deal as the story, in this case. Expand
  63. JonnyP.
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    8.7 actually. It is a breathtaking game both in sound and environment, but the core mechanics are tired and repetitive. The plasmid mechanic is really cool but never really make you feel powerful. The combat feels unrewarding. The story however is fantastic for a video game. It's not quite the end all be all people make it out to be (especially if you are familiar with the literary 8.7 actually. It is a breathtaking game both in sound and environment, but the core mechanics are tired and repetitive. The plasmid mechanic is really cool but never really make you feel powerful. The combat feels unrewarding. The story however is fantastic for a video game. It's not quite the end all be all people make it out to be (especially if you are familiar with the literary allutions, i.e. Atlas Shrugged), but for a fps it does the job nicely. Bioshock is definitely worth checking out but is in my opinion not the best game ever. Collapse
  64. JasonR.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    There's not much for me to say other than this game is exceptionally well done. With gorgeous graphics, haunting sounds, and beautiful music, this game has one of the most immersive environments I have ever played through. Tight controls and a surprising story come together to make this game one of the best games on the 360. Do not miss this game.
  65. NikolaiB.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Wonderful game filled with great moments that you can talk about with other players (like a classic film). Enjoyed every minute (even the really scary bits).
  66. TS
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Many people claim this isn't the best game ever, or that the lack of different enemy types ruins it, I think it made the designers think. Level design, atmosphere, sound, music, voice acting, and the design of those enemies within the game were top notch. The plot twisting story line will hook you like a trout if you want it to. No, this is not system shock 2. It is its own story and Many people claim this isn't the best game ever, or that the lack of different enemy types ruins it, I think it made the designers think. Level design, atmosphere, sound, music, voice acting, and the design of those enemies within the game were top notch. The plot twisting story line will hook you like a trout if you want it to. No, this is not system shock 2. It is its own story and if you let yourself be brought into it you are in for the ride of your life. Note: If you could care less about story, level design, sound, etc. This game isn't for you... you should also consider therapy. Expand
  67. AllistairP.
    Sep 2, 2007
    8
    First off, the demo and the hype built around this game isn't going to meet your expectations. The game is NO WHERE NEAR as a full on rollercoaster as the demo is, which is sad. This isn't the next step in shooters, just a really well done one that explores old design ides with perfect design. Its basically Metroid Prime exploration, System Shock RPG and horror elemtns, and some First off, the demo and the hype built around this game isn't going to meet your expectations. The game is NO WHERE NEAR as a full on rollercoaster as the demo is, which is sad. This isn't the next step in shooters, just a really well done one that explores old design ides with perfect design. Its basically Metroid Prime exploration, System Shock RPG and horror elemtns, and some Half Life ambience and cinematic touches. Don't expect to be blown away by this game, but you will be satsified with your purchase. I don't buy too many single player games and not regret it, so this is saying something. A solid if familiar game that will go down as one of 2007s best. Just don't expect a tour-de-force along the lines of God of War 2. Expand
  68. BryanS.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    What a bittersweet experience. Before saying anything else, Bioshock is one of the best games I have played in years. This game is truly a seemless synthesis of unparalleled narrative, impeccable artistry, and innovative gameplay. However, despite its beauty and merit, it is deeply flawed. First, the death-and-revitalization system ends up being nothing more than tedious and unrewarding. What a bittersweet experience. Before saying anything else, Bioshock is one of the best games I have played in years. This game is truly a seemless synthesis of unparalleled narrative, impeccable artistry, and innovative gameplay. However, despite its beauty and merit, it is deeply flawed. First, the death-and-revitalization system ends up being nothing more than tedious and unrewarding. Experimenting with plasmid-based combat is fun to be sure, but not at all necessary or, at times, even practical. Even on the hardest difficulty setting, you can beat the game using only a handful of plasmids. Nevertheless, the game's imperfections collectively amount to nothing more than the equivalent of an ugly mole on the right ankle of Marilyn Monroe. This is an essential experience. Expand
  69. Blah
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    Great game, plot, atmosphere, and AI.
  70. AndyM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. The integration of the plasmids is a blast. And the AI's are some of the best I've ever seen. Buy it, you'll be rewarded with an unbelievable game that will definetley go head to head with halo 3 for game of the year.
  71. M-DUB
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    I consider myself a very harsh critic of games, (just couldn't get into halo.) but this is one of the few games that is every bit as good as the reviews indicate. It's relatively long, extremely engaging, and just a blast to play. Unlike Halo, this game makes you think about your choices, and forces you to deal with situations in multiple ways. I could go on and on but I'll I consider myself a very harsh critic of games, (just couldn't get into halo.) but this is one of the few games that is every bit as good as the reviews indicate. It's relatively long, extremely engaging, and just a blast to play. Unlike Halo, this game makes you think about your choices, and forces you to deal with situations in multiple ways. I could go on and on but I'll end by saying that this game is absolutely Fantastic!! Mental issues apply to you if you do not love this game. Expand
  72. JohnK.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite video games of all time!!! The awesome graphics make exploring the creepy decaying underwater city a complete blast. The gameplay is right on par with Halo (which is quite a compliment), and it is really fun trying out new weapons and plasmids! This game really allows a player to find their own unique way to solve a particular situation and beat a particular This is one of my favorite video games of all time!!! The awesome graphics make exploring the creepy decaying underwater city a complete blast. The gameplay is right on par with Halo (which is quite a compliment), and it is really fun trying out new weapons and plasmids! This game really allows a player to find their own unique way to solve a particular situation and beat a particular enemy. I even love the hacking mini-game, so that makes the game even more enjoyable (because you can hack TONS of things throughout the game-- don't have to, but it helps and it is fun!). And this is one of the rare games where the consequences of your choices directly affect the ending of the game-- which will probably make most people play through at least 2 times to see both endings. Bottom line, this game is not to be missed. I can hardly wait for BioShock 2, which I hope will add multiplayer. Wouldn't it be great to play as a Big Daddy vs. maybe 9 other players??? Lots of possibilities for the future, but don't miss the present because it is a truly immersive (or should that be SUB-mersive???) game that you won't be able to quit until you finish it-- probably twice!!! Expand
  73. MattBlake
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    One of the finest FPSs of all time, without a doubt. This game succeeds most notably in generating an entirely convincing and immersive atmosphere, and sticking with you mentally long after finishing it. It will make you think. It has strong emotional content (perhaps the strongest ever in a videogame) and an incredible musical score, bolstered by beautiful graphics and infallible artOne of the finest FPSs of all time, without a doubt. This game succeeds most notably in generating an entirely convincing and immersive atmosphere, and sticking with you mentally long after finishing it. It will make you think. It has strong emotional content (perhaps the strongest ever in a videogame) and an incredible musical score, bolstered by beautiful graphics and infallible art direction. The gameplay has its minor flaws, and the ending is very disappointing (easy and abrupt), but don't let any such things deter you from playing this game. If you're a serious gamer, this is not to be missed. Expand
  74. RyanN.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    The most innovative game I have ever played. Great use of the old instructional videos with a really creepy twist. Great game top to bottom.
  75. DevinH.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    Almost every review that I have seen about Bioshock is complaining about a bizarre game feature that I also do not like. There is absolutely no penalty if you die since the game transports back to where everyone left off before you died except for your sudden health increase. Barring games that are horrible overall, this decision is the worst intentional game design that I have ever seen Almost every review that I have seen about Bioshock is complaining about a bizarre game feature that I also do not like. There is absolutely no penalty if you die since the game transports back to where everyone left off before you died except for your sudden health increase. Barring games that are horrible overall, this decision is the worst intentional game design that I have ever seen in a video game (even more so than the frustrating save system in Dead Rising.) Why the developers did not simply make a newcomer difficulty level for gamers who needed this much assistance is anyone's guess. Oh well. Fortunately, I am still enjoying Bioshock a lot because I just reload my save when I die. If you are using the warping system, than take 3 points off my score. The big daddies are truly the star of the show and are more fun to encounter than most bosses in other games while the other bots are interesting diversions. There are also Splicers you deal with that typically surprise you to help you forget that there are only 5 or 6 different types. The research camera also contributes to the awesome gameplay and is much more enjoyable to use in Bioshock than in Dead Rising. The graphics as a whole package make Bioshock the best looking one overall on the 360 (Gears of War still has better textures though). The sound is very realistic and hearing the great 3D sound coming from your speakers (even they're not from an expensive 3D surround sound system) makes you nervously look everywhere to try and find the hidden splicer making all that racket before he/she pops up right in front of your face. I have heard that there is a great story behind this game and I believe it from the little bits I have heard. Unfortunately, when I pick up a diary and play, it I am also in the middle of a fight. By then, I am obviously more concerned about dispatching the enemies rather than listening to the soft-spoken recorded voices. It is probably a good idea to wait until there are no enemies around you before you listen to the tapes. Bioshock is definitely not the game-defining classic that Super Mario 64 was. In my opinion Super Mario 64 is the only 3D game that truly deserves a 10 out of 10. However, if you play Bioshock without using the cheap warping system, you are in for a very special experience. Expand
  76. JonD.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    Amazing graphics, easily the best ive ever seen on an HDTV. Story was good, Sound was amazing gameplay was amazing although a bit too easy because of the respawn. Ending was decent, ive only seen one and theres 2 or 3 i believe. Last boss battle was nothing special, i beat it on my first try and i almost could never beat a big daddy on my first try and there were a lot more of those Amazing graphics, easily the best ive ever seen on an HDTV. Story was good, Sound was amazing gameplay was amazing although a bit too easy because of the respawn. Ending was decent, ive only seen one and theres 2 or 3 i believe. Last boss battle was nothing special, i beat it on my first try and i almost could never beat a big daddy on my first try and there were a lot more of those throughout the game. Shows potential of the perfect game but in the end was a great game that couldve been the best. Expand
  77. VechaK.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Wish it was longer...ended abruptly but if you explore every nook and cranny then you can understand the majority of the story. Hopefully they will make another "shock" game with just as much creativity in the story!
  78. Sambo
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    The modern age of gaming now represents the early stages of Hollywood. Designers getting name for themselves, famous voice actors, and games being turned into feature length films. As with the movies, art films are made. These films only appeal to a certain audience. I give Bioshock 10 not because I am that certain audience (and believe me, I am) but for what it aimed to do, it does, and The modern age of gaming now represents the early stages of Hollywood. Designers getting name for themselves, famous voice actors, and games being turned into feature length films. As with the movies, art films are made. These films only appeal to a certain audience. I give Bioshock 10 not because I am that certain audience (and believe me, I am) but for what it aimed to do, it does, and it does it VERY well. Most games cannot accomplish such (Lookin' at you, Halo 3). Expand
  79. BenI.
    Nov 5, 2008
    8
    When you first play the game, it seems amazing because its scary and keeps you on the edge of your seat. But after about the third lvl,when you get to the tree part, the whole game just seems like a choir. The background story is very good and the grahics are amazing but after a while the game just gets boring. In my opinion it is a good game but does not deserve the aclaim it is getting. When you first play the game, it seems amazing because its scary and keeps you on the edge of your seat. But after about the third lvl,when you get to the tree part, the whole game just seems like a choir. The background story is very good and the grahics are amazing but after a while the game just gets boring. In my opinion it is a good game but does not deserve the aclaim it is getting. I also think it has no replay value because once I beat it, i was completely bored of it and ive never really played it again. Expand
  80. BobT.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to these morons giving this a 0 or 1, when it comes to single-player gaming experiences, Bioshock is as close to perfection as any game has ever come. An incredibly polished game with a very mature (certainly not for kids or anyone who wants there shooters as mindless as possible) yet amazing story and in my opinion the most immersive world ever created in a video game. Don't listen to these morons giving this a 0 or 1, when it comes to single-player gaming experiences, Bioshock is as close to perfection as any game has ever come. An incredibly polished game with a very mature (certainly not for kids or anyone who wants there shooters as mindless as possible) yet amazing story and in my opinion the most immersive world ever created in a video game. I've played a lot of games, and I can count on one hand how many I would call masterpieces, but Bioshock reaches that level. Expand
  81. David
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    Unparallelled in atmosphere, visual and audio design, this is a near-perfect example of using setting and scenery to tell a story. Gameplay-wise it's a reasonably conventional action-RPG with some interesting twists (evoking strong, positive memories of Deus Ex), but it's the superlative style that lifts BioShock well above the norm.
  82. PaulW.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    There are relatively few games (3D ones anyway- 2D games should be judged separately) that have proved as brilliant as Bioshock. Two of them are Gamecube games- the Resident Evil remake and Metroid Prime. Bioshock shares some similarities, a main one being that in those 3 games you piece together a lot of the story from objects left behind- notebooks and diaries. In each case, you are There are relatively few games (3D ones anyway- 2D games should be judged separately) that have proved as brilliant as Bioshock. Two of them are Gamecube games- the Resident Evil remake and Metroid Prime. Bioshock shares some similarities, a main one being that in those 3 games you piece together a lot of the story from objects left behind- notebooks and diaries. In each case, you are essentially entering an intriguing environment ruined by monsters of sorts in some way. Combine that with great set pieces and Bioshock lives up to the mystery that it promised. Even if you're not a FPS fan (and I'm not that much) this game, which is sometimes a bit like being in an interactive ghost train, will make you love just being in its dark hallways and rooms looking out on the depths of the ocean. There's a great bit where you see a Big Daddy slowly walking on the seabed outside. A brilliant aspect of this game to me is not whether to harvest or save (an easy decision for the moral) but the way that a Big Daddy is all or nothing- either a protector who bears you no harm or a fierce opponent. It is content to wear some of its influences very easily on its sleeve (the wrench is very Expand
  83. GabrielR.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    The most fun I ever had in a first person shooter ...it is beautiful to look at and the story rolls with the play so well you do not even notice the plot turns and twists you will encounter...only grip is as others have said is not being to explore the city better.
  84. Stuart
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    I love this game. It has a great storyline and a one of a kind atmosphere. It immersed me in it from start to finish. Highly Recommended.
  85. MacW.
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    This game wasn't all I thought it would be cracked up to be absolutely everything about this game was great except one aspect that I wasn't fond of, the gameplay I found it frustrating that no encounter is a the same twice in fact they may be completely different so the strategy you had though of will fall through immediately other than that if you can put that aside then This game wasn't all I thought it would be cracked up to be absolutely everything about this game was great except one aspect that I wasn't fond of, the gameplay I found it frustrating that no encounter is a the same twice in fact they may be completely different so the strategy you had though of will fall through immediately other than that if you can put that aside then it's a solid fun title with an awesome story. Expand
  86. JackO.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece of both gameplay and artwork; Not innovative, because I'm afraid, - to the shame of the games industry - everything this game does, and does so well, was already done by the same core team in 1999, in the equally wonderous System Shock 2. The gameplay, like System Shock's, may be soon forgotten, eclipsed by simpler and less challenging titles like the franchises of A masterpiece of both gameplay and artwork; Not innovative, because I'm afraid, - to the shame of the games industry - everything this game does, and does so well, was already done by the same core team in 1999, in the equally wonderous System Shock 2. The gameplay, like System Shock's, may be soon forgotten, eclipsed by simpler and less challenging titles like the franchises of Halo and Half-Life, just as it's predecessor was overshadowed by peers like Unreal and the original Half-Life in the late nineties. The Art, however, will not be forgotten. To it's detriment, Bioshock promises a great deal, and sacrifices it's best elements in favor of a linear story path, tempting the player with views of a vast city and it's surrounding ocean but never letting him or her out of tight boundaries. Beautifully detailed, but small environments. In addition, one area it is truly defeated in by it's own predecessor is that of -fear-.. While evoking an equal sense of ruin, mystery and decay, inviting the player to envision the chaos that must have consumed his environment before his arrival, System Shock 2 achieved true horror by providing a far weaker and more desperate player character, limiting health and ammunition to a far harsher degree. Bioshock attempts this, but has clearly fallen foul of distrustful producers and publishers, softening it's edges until the plasmids make you an invulnerable superhero and the instant-effect health kits seem infinite. For an experienced gamer in the genres of realistic shooting, Bioshock may seem all too easy, breaking some of that beautiful illusion. Nonetheless.. I loved it, and I'm confident you will too. Give this game loud volume, closed curtains, and every ounce of your attention; if any game is worth it, Bioshock is. Expand
  87. AndrewR.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    I am Andrew Ryan, and I am here to ask you a question. Is a man entitled to the sweat on his brow? Not after he's played this! This game is incredible! When I first heard of the game I thought it would be okay, but not great. A rfiend of mine eventually bought it and I decided to play through it. It was blown away! The graphics and art in this game are incredible. All the 50s style I am Andrew Ryan, and I am here to ask you a question. Is a man entitled to the sweat on his brow? Not after he's played this! This game is incredible! When I first heard of the game I thought it would be okay, but not great. A rfiend of mine eventually bought it and I decided to play through it. It was blown away! The graphics and art in this game are incredible. All the 50s style advertisements and the lounge music and marble sculptures just make you feel right there. The game gives you a very confined, trapped feeling because Rapture city is completely under water, yet the environment is so huge. The AI in this game is also really good. If you beat the crap out of someone, they will run or try to kill you with all their force. Also I really enjoy all the stuff you can do. Setting traps, hacking turrets, stealing ammo from machines, it's just great. I really hope they make a sequel to it (using the bad ending of course!). You have to get this game if you have access to a 360. It's just too friggin' good. Expand
  88. AnonymousMC
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    I'll be honest, when I read most of the reviews, I figured this game would be your average shooter. I was completely wrong...I never expected to get drawn in as tight as I have...this definitely ranks up in my top 5 games of all time. Simply amazing and refreshing.
  89. JeffB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    After not doing much gaming for the better part of a decade, I bought an Xbox 360 in large part because I wanted to play this game(all the reviews I read sounded amazing). I was not disappointed at all - my only complaint was all the sleep I lost staying up to 5AM playing! Great story, beautiful visuals and it really swept you up in the action. Couldn't get enough of freezing the bad After not doing much gaming for the better part of a decade, I bought an Xbox 360 in large part because I wanted to play this game(all the reviews I read sounded amazing). I was not disappointed at all - my only complaint was all the sleep I lost staying up to 5AM playing! Great story, beautiful visuals and it really swept you up in the action. Couldn't get enough of freezing the bad guys and hitting them with the wrench! I've since played several more great games(Assassin's Creed, Oblivion, Halo 1 & 2) and would like to thank Bioshock for bringing me back to the gaming fold! Expand
  90. SchimmiSchimmicocoapuff
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Beautiful game, not only visually but immersfully, and the story line is beyond beautiful, it is magnificent!
  91. KevinN.
    Mar 7, 2008
    9
    Simply amazing game which only lacks replay value and a ending that could of done better, but it has a great storyline and graphics, Plus if your a sadistic creep you get to kill Little Sisters for precious adam. (But I'd advise you go to a mental hospital first).
  92. Symbolia
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    Somehow I think reviewers are blinded by its uniqueness. Of course that is a good thing, especially I love the '50s atmosphere. Shooting itself doesn't match those of Halo and Gears Of War. The main disappointment was that your character learns to do everything in just one play through.
  93. DylanS
    May 4, 2008
    9
    BioShock has tooken a 'what-if' situation, and presented it realistically if this did happen. No exaggerating anything - just a leveled down fair set of imagination, and still with the highly-possible science and technology still within reach! It definately has what it takes to take on Halo and other First Person Shooters to claim the crown. However, BioShocks has 1 very BioShock has tooken a 'what-if' situation, and presented it realistically if this did happen. No exaggerating anything - just a leveled down fair set of imagination, and still with the highly-possible science and technology still within reach! It definately has what it takes to take on Halo and other First Person Shooters to claim the crown. However, BioShocks has 1 very disappointing flaw... It only includes story mode ; and is single player only. However, I can understand this - as you are the only person in an army of 1 without any aid except later on in the game ; So it's nearly impossible to think of a creative and reasonable opportunity to add a possible other character[s] that could get involved in multi-player mode. However, there's no exceptions - so I'm forced to give it a 9/10. Expand
  94. JRMethod
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Easily the greatest FPS game I have played in a loooong time, if not the best I've ever played. Intriguing story, character design, gameplay,and even replayablity, which is impressive for a linear FPS. Simply put, Bioshock is awesome and if you haven't played it from start to finish, you're really missing out.
  95. BillA.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Finally, a game that truly satisfies. Bioshock is a masterpiece. I can ramble on about how this game is a work of art. But I wont. Words cannot do justice. do yourself a favor, buy the game.
  96. AnonymousMC
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    The game itself was great, with easy controls, haunting music, and graphics that properly displayed the atmosphere. Moving beyond that, the obvious undertones of Ayn Rand boost it above other games. Rapture's president's name, Andrew Ryan, is a partial anagram of Ayn Rand and Atlas is a feferance to Atlas Shrugged. It really is masterpiece.
  97. knessl.
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    Ok i gave it a ten and you guys know why I'm just confused that (Anonymous) wrote1 then 0 then 10 ? what did you rent it play first part get bored . then rent again kill first guy in game then game crash. then you buy game beat it and love it wtf.....! anyways just wanted to know by the way awesome game.
  98. MiguelR.
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    Bioshock is my favorite game of all time. Do not hesitate to buy it. The storyline is amazing and the graphics are top notch. Even better than Half-Life 2.
  99. AdamD.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    first things first. no single game will give your console a RRoD, just to clear that up. now, this ame is absolutely amazing, i played it at release, forgot about it, and picked it up again yesterday and i can't put it down, the art, the graphics (don't need mega-texturing to look great, and have UNIQUE style. second, the control transition to a controller is fluent andfirst things first. no single game will give your console a RRoD, just to clear that up. now, this ame is absolutely amazing, i played it at release, forgot about it, and picked it up again yesterday and i can't put it down, the art, the graphics (don't need mega-texturing to look great, and have UNIQUE style. second, the control transition to a controller is fluent and intuitive, and the way the game plays out (by not being able to rely on a gun most of the time) is what really separates it from other shooters. also, HALO is an almost direct clone of unreal tournament, so get a clue kids. Expand
  100. FelixS
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    An intelligent, different FPS, that is so much better than Halo, due to its interesting storyline and unique art direction.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.