BioShock Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2306 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    BioShock is unlike any game I've played before. Everything from the atmospheric nature of Rapture to it's eccentric yet intriguing characters still amazes today. The concept and story is very original and deviates from most games I've encountered in recent years, the graphics and art style captivate will you endlessly, sound is mesmerising, the gameplay is innovative... what more can IBioShock is unlike any game I've played before. Everything from the atmospheric nature of Rapture to it's eccentric yet intriguing characters still amazes today. The concept and story is very original and deviates from most games I've encountered in recent years, the graphics and art style captivate will you endlessly, sound is mesmerising, the gameplay is innovative... what more can I say. BioShock is simply a masterpiece, and proudly holds that title even a decade later since it's initial release in 2007. Because of this, it has become one of my favourite games of all time. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    This game has got just the right amount of creepiness to make it scary but just the right amount of features to make it truly fun to blast through enemies, The story in this game is incredible and has you wondering right till the very end. Rapture is a one of a kind environment for a game to take place and is up there with the rest of the great videogame worlds.
  3. Apr 11, 2017
    8
    C'est le bordel à l'asile de fous et on vous envoyé nettoyer, car la merde vole très bas dans cette ville sous pression... Certes très bourrin, le Bioshock, mais du bon côté bourrin : les combats sont d'une rare férocité, une férocité que je n'avais pas vue depuis... le premier Quake ! et c'est un grand compliment. Féroce, sauvage donc mais parfois un peu confus, les armes et les pouvoirsC'est le bordel à l'asile de fous et on vous envoyé nettoyer, car la merde vole très bas dans cette ville sous pression... Certes très bourrin, le Bioshock, mais du bon côté bourrin : les combats sont d'une rare férocité, une férocité que je n'avais pas vue depuis... le premier Quake ! et c'est un grand compliment. Féroce, sauvage donc mais parfois un peu confus, les armes et les pouvoirs ne faisant pas dans la dentelle...

    Un peu de piratage de tourelles et de caméras via un mini-jeu à la con qu'on peut heureusement contourner assez vite par d'autres méthodes. A cet égard, le jeu offre toujours le choix au joueur, que ce soit dans les armes, les améliorations ou les fameux pouvoirs... on a même droit à deux fins (légèrement) différentes.

    Le jeu est toujours fluide et agréable à l'oeil, la maniabilité et l'interface sont excellentes, bref tout coule de source et tombe sous la main là où on l'attend. La carte est perfectible mais a le mérite d'être là et se révèle utile. Bien sûr, Bioshock abuse des allers et retours dans un environnement assez grand et se trâine un peu en longueur sur la fin.

    Quant à l'histoire, oui il y en a une (!), elle surprend sans faillir à certains moments-clés. Effets sonores très travaillés, doublage français irréprochable. On n'en dira pas autant de la musique absente ou dispensable ou même souvent désagréable quand elle se manifeste.

    A la fois jeu d'action et d'horreur, limite glauque et avec pas mal de cynisme, Bioshock est un choc ! pas vraiment un jeu "marrant", juste un voyage dans un tourbillon de folie !
    Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2017
    10
    The Story is one of the best ever, The gameplay is great, The Graphics are awesome. This game have it all. But we got more than just that. The world! The setting, RAPTURE!! It's why you would come to this game ever ytime. One of the Best game ever made
  5. Jan 5, 2017
    10
    BioShock, the original 2007 masterpiece by the once-great Ken Levine. Brilliant story, smooth gun-play, innovative mechanics, atmospheric setting, BioShock has everything you would want in a great game. If you haven't played this masterpiece, pick it up either on this gen, or on the remastered version that came out last year.
  6. Oct 15, 2016
    10
    El primer juego y este son muy buenos y es muy recomendable para jugar una historia buena ambientación muy bella no como gráficos de xbox one o ps4 pero es una pasada ,pero jueguen esa es mi experiencia.
  7. Sep 20, 2016
    8
    Loved the beginning and the atmosphere...
    Good level design and presentation.
    Engaging story but not so good shooter mechanics...
    I would like to get more RPG feeling
  8. Sep 14, 2016
    3
    I just hate this game. Dont know what exactly, but its not fun. Its dark, ugly and the way the story is told (by picking notes is bad. So overrated...
  9. Aug 17, 2016
    10
    I played this 9 years ago and fell in absolute love. As some one who loves philosophy, psychology, and Objectivism this game was a thrill ride. It's honestly one of those you need to play it to understand.
  10. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    The same kind of people the give this game anything below an 8 it is the type of people that has that 1% of dislike on youtube videos that everyone love and talk about!

    Bioshock it is the definition of clever and intelligence put inside a game! The only cons I have for this incredible experience is the last boss fight, pretty lame! But only one thing would never obscure its true power!
    The same kind of people the give this game anything below an 8 it is the type of people that has that 1% of dislike on youtube videos that everyone love and talk about!

    Bioshock it is the definition of clever and intelligence put inside a game! The only cons I have for this incredible experience is the last boss fight, pretty lame! But only one thing would never obscure its true power!

    Love this game to death!
    Expand
  11. Aug 7, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After all the reviews that I have done, I had ignored the fact that I didn't review this classic gem of a game before Bioshock 2 and Infinite. Let's lay this grave to rest.

    One of the great progenitors of the Xbox 360/PS3 Era, Bioshock is a wonderful, beautiful combination of all the right elements executed perfectly: A consistently compelling story and narrative; frightening, bone chilling environments that beautify and show the collapse of society through anarchy; a myriad of well functioning weapons, mechanics, tonics, and plasmids at your disposal. While Bioshock is not without it's flaws, it's one of those game that no matter how many times you play it, you can find yourself warped into the past of Rapture and it's present state, collapsed after the dependency for Adam became too much and Andrew Ryan trying desperately to hold onto the last visages of his reign over his underwater city; the mystery behind your connection with Andrew as well as the realization of you being subliminally controlled by someone who you thought was fighting on your side; endless replay value with the plasmids of which can be used at your discretion in any matter seeing, with a number of solid combinations of gunkata to eliminate your enemies, of which are inspired and menacing in perspective.

    Not only that, this game breathes the atmosphere of Rapture so evocatively that it still resonates in my mind to this day. Occassionally I still get a hankering to play this materpeice that doesn't necessarily have all the edges roughed out, but provides so much enjoyment on your part, from the gunplay, to the scenic environment inside and through out, and the overall theme and imagery of the world.

    Let me explain some of the flaws. so it is indistinct whether which weapons have ironsights or not (something that Bioshock 2 fixed, but don't consider that as it's saving grace), as well as it being awkwardly tied to the right stick. Hacking is more tedious than difficult, resolved to a pipe swapping system (although this would make sense considering that the world of Rapture is hydro-electrically powered). As for plasmids, while all have their uses, electro bolt will be your most useful as, once again, everything is powered hydro electrically. Not only that, most security systems, such as scanner towers and turrets can be stunned with electro bolt (although I have heard word that using frost bolt can make the flow of water in the hacking pipes much slower), as well as most enemies being stunned in the process. Incinerate! will be second useful, but it gets outcasted by the fact that water practically surrounds you in everywhere that doesn't have a proper water seal on the interior, so enemies are inevitably going to seek to douse themselves out.

    One big part of the narrative that I still have a problem with is the realization that Atlas is actually Frank Fontaine in disguise; you go and confront him and it becomes essentially a big boss battle against an oversized gorilla infused with adam. It's a bit of a clunky final setup that doesn't match near the intensity of reaching Andrew, whom is menacing in his approach, is shown with the sympathy of a man who tried to build his own destiny, having to watch it all fall apart because of circumstances beyond his own control. It's one of the few times that, despite all the obstacles he laid out for me to get to this point, makes me sympathetic of his plights of success, one of the few sympathetic antagonists who doesn't do evil things to do evil things. As for Frank Fontaine, he is as atypical of a antagonist can get, so having him be the final boss inexplicably didn't make much sense as a narrative highlight. Nevertheless, it is nice to have closure with the person who made you unknowingly suited his own agenda, and not without a bit of a morality side to it. Although it is somewhat grey, it basically comes down to 'if I don't get adam, i have to kill girls to get more adam' method; as long as you look for all the secrets, you can keep being a goody good good guy. So it's the dishonored trope that you really can't play your way unless get a pang of guilt for doing so.

    All in all, this game will be one of the big staples of which any post-utopian nightmare environment will be lived up to, and while it isn't necessarily one of the flagship titles for the release of the 360, Bioshock will be brought down as one of the finest Xbox 360 games, hell, one of the prime games of this decade the likes of Half Life or The Last of Us.
    Expand
  12. May 24, 2016
    9
    This games environment,story and gameplay still holds up to today and still give that refreshing and original feeling. I found the most joy in the progression in the game as I upgraded my weapons and ability's. Although the game is amazing, it is not perfect with the biggest concern being the difficulty. The game is a little to easy and the only way it tries to challenge you is by throwingThis games environment,story and gameplay still holds up to today and still give that refreshing and original feeling. I found the most joy in the progression in the game as I upgraded my weapons and ability's. Although the game is amazing, it is not perfect with the biggest concern being the difficulty. The game is a little to easy and the only way it tries to challenge you is by throwing bullet sponge enemy's at you that can get annoying. Those gripes aside the game is a must play for anyone looking to play a solid fps. Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2016
    9
    cuando lo anunciaron no me llamo para nada la atencion, luego lo compre en oferta y al jugarlo me di cuenta de que graficamente no era muy bueno, pese a lo que todos decian, la fisica no es la mejor tampoco.Sin embargo es un juego simplemente genial: la historia que se desenvuelve de muchas formas dentro del juego te deja en suspenso, la manera de mejorar las armas te mantiene concentradocuando lo anunciaron no me llamo para nada la atencion, luego lo compre en oferta y al jugarlo me di cuenta de que graficamente no era muy bueno, pese a lo que todos decian, la fisica no es la mejor tampoco.Sin embargo es un juego simplemente genial: la historia que se desenvuelve de muchas formas dentro del juego te deja en suspenso, la manera de mejorar las armas te mantiene concentrado en la esttrategia; los mapas aunque a veces son pequeños, te mantienen dando vueltas y son ideales para planear como atacar de la mejor manera al enemigo; la inteligencia artificial es torpe pero adecuada, vas caminando y ves a un enemigo saqueando cadaveres, haces un ruido y se te lanzan con tubos o a disparos, es increible; la musica y audio son muy buenos; los niveles de dificultad tiene muy buen reto y el final del juego me gusto demasiado; una joya de la generacion. Recomendado al 100% y no le hace falta el multiplayer Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    BIOSHOCK is an atmospheric, creepy and awesome game with good graphics, high on originality and a great story line that gamers will surely love. One of the greatest of all time.
  15. Dec 11, 2015
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the top 5 games ever made. It's got the best style, atmosphere and story of any game every made, hands down. It's creepy but never jump scares you. It's absolutely brilliant.
  16. Nov 20, 2015
    9
    This game is a true example of how a shooter video game should be. I think it will go down as a timeless classic, rivaled only by legendary fps games like Half life 2. Super original, weird & immersive, I love this sh*t. Not a 10/10 though, as I always look for replay-ability in games as a strength, & this fails in that department.
  17. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    BioShock is a masterpiece and clearly one of my favorite video game of all time. All is perfect to me : gameplay, graphics, story, atmosphere, pace,...
  18. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    One of the deepest, richest, and most engrossing first-person experiences you will ever have. Excellence in graphics, story telling, and scoring come together to create a truly unique and terrifying world where the moral question of whether something should be done has been abandoned for the question what can be done. I struggled to even describe this game, it so exceeded myOne of the deepest, richest, and most engrossing first-person experiences you will ever have. Excellence in graphics, story telling, and scoring come together to create a truly unique and terrifying world where the moral question of whether something should be done has been abandoned for the question what can be done. I struggled to even describe this game, it so exceeded my expectations.
    Play it for yourself and see what made the first installment in this series truly the best.
    Expand
  19. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    Bioshock
    hat eine tolle Story, eine unglaubliche Atmosphäre und bietet solides Gameplay mit coolen Waffen.
    Das Setting ist sehr originell, die Charaktere einprägsam
  20. Jul 18, 2015
    7
    I've played the Bioshock series in reverse order. I started with Infinite, which I thought was an astounding game, and then Bioshock 2, which was decent, and now Bioshock. It sounds awfully weird, but I believe it's allowed me to play this Bioshock without any hype, and with realistic expectations of what a game really can be.

    So what do I think? First, Bioshock is, 8 years after,
    I've played the Bioshock series in reverse order. I started with Infinite, which I thought was an astounding game, and then Bioshock 2, which was decent, and now Bioshock. It sounds awfully weird, but I believe it's allowed me to play this Bioshock without any hype, and with realistic expectations of what a game really can be.

    So what do I think? First, Bioshock is, 8 years after, still a beautiful game. It turns interesting. once you give it enough time, and you get submersised into this steampunk-style universe, and you genuinely want to keep going. But the game is not what I would call a masterpiece. It is mired in many problems. Some horrendous, and some that you can ignore.

    #1 - It is buggy - And yes, even with the updates it is still buggy. There are missions (like collecting chlorophyll) where you cannot proceed to the next level. The game just doesn't register what you've done, and you have to reset your game, go back to a previous save, or find another work around. Had this game had no bugs like this it would've been pretty good. But sadly it's still there, and this was what frustrated me the most. I wanted to throw my controller. I almost didn't continue on. A game studio like 2K G ames should have been on top of this. I am very disappointed in them. I suppose it's all in the past now.

    Boring missions - Not every mission is boring in Bioshock, obviously, but some of them are. In particular, the fetch quests were awful. If you do a fetch quest there a couple of rules. Don't make the player get several of one items. Don't make the player fetch too many items (three at most). Don't harrass the player with a constant flood of enemies, and challenges. There should be some, but not many, because a fetch quest should not be a game stopper. It shouldn't be given a lot of importance. It should be secondary.

    Repetitive - There are very few enemies in this game (in terms of variety), but they will bother the sh*t out of you. You constantly have to do the same thing over, and over again, trying to get these guys off your back. Sure, that's okay once in a while, but it gets tiresome, constantly having to shoot off the baddies. The deluge of enemies, non-stop, makes the game lose some of its charms. It's a beautiful game. Sometimes you want to just stop and look at things, but you can't really do that with enemies always following you, or popping up. The robots and cameras were annoying as hell. They put them in way too much. Security camers should have been placed sparingly, because they have an inclination to change the tone of the game, and how you play it.

    Enemy AI - These enemies are pretty dumb. They just keep attacking, and attacking. They don' t hide. They don't try to preserve their own life. They never stand still. There are no opportunities to make use of your zoom button.

    Hacking - This was a huge pain in the ass. It just sucked you out of the game, and made you pull your hair. Luckily, they did away with it in Bioshock 2.

    Somewhat Weak Story - The story wasn't that bad, but it was a little weak. There was very little depth to it. There lacked a strong motivation to carry forward, although ultimately you did carry forward, because other parts of the game made up for the story.

    Controls - As far as I know there was only once control scheme, and I didn't like the layout of the buttons. But this is not a deal breaker.

    Clunky Combat - Every time you switch weapons your character has to do a whole show of what is happening. Although it might seem realistic to do that it slows down the game. It's a pain to switch from your 'magic' to your weapons.

    Navigation - It wasn't bad, but was a little confusing. You had to constantly look at your map, which was not really my preference. That takes you out of the game. But gamers would be delighted, they fixed this in Bioshock Infinite.

    Monetary System is Confusing - Just use dollars and be done with it. Why are there so many methods of acquiring what you need?

    Conclusion: Worth playing, but there are some drawbacks. The worst is the bugs in game. The sequels are better.
    Expand
  21. Jul 8, 2015
    9
    Bioshock is a well written game with amazing game play. I loved every minute of this game. I liked the art deco visuals. I almost gave this game a 10 but due to sometimes repetitive game play and unsatisfactory conclusion. By the end of the game I was completely sick of fighting splicer after splicer and the often annoying pipe puzzles. The ending was also highly disappointing with manyBioshock is a well written game with amazing game play. I loved every minute of this game. I liked the art deco visuals. I almost gave this game a 10 but due to sometimes repetitive game play and unsatisfactory conclusion. By the end of the game I was completely sick of fighting splicer after splicer and the often annoying pipe puzzles. The ending was also highly disappointing with many holes left in the story. But I loved everything else in the game. I loved how the story was told through the games many audio logs. I also enjoyed the games plot twist a lot which this game is famous for. It really was a close call on this game but I had no choice but to give it a 9 instead of a 10 because of the lack luster ending and poorly and sometimes repetitive game play. Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    Without a doubt, Rapture has to be the most interesting locations in all of video game history. Its atmosphere is creepy, the locations are delightfully claustrophobic, and the enemies are interesting. The combat is not completely fluid, but the overall feel of the combat leaves little to be desired. The story (excluding the ending) is enthralling and I was, excuse the pun, completelyWithout a doubt, Rapture has to be the most interesting locations in all of video game history. Its atmosphere is creepy, the locations are delightfully claustrophobic, and the enemies are interesting. The combat is not completely fluid, but the overall feel of the combat leaves little to be desired. The story (excluding the ending) is enthralling and I was, excuse the pun, completely enraptured to continue through the story. Some of the locations are a bit repetitive and the puzzles seem obtuse and out of place, but Bioshock is a wonderful addition to the FPS genre. Expand
  23. May 22, 2015
    9
    Welcome to Rapture! Bioshock is an inventive first-person shooter that takes you down into the underwater city of Rapture, a dystopia where everyone has gone insane. You’ll fight through plenty of its residents to uncover the mysteries behind it, using a variety of firearms (pistol, crossbow, etc.) as well as special powers called plasmids. These powers, which you gain by altering your DNAWelcome to Rapture! Bioshock is an inventive first-person shooter that takes you down into the underwater city of Rapture, a dystopia where everyone has gone insane. You’ll fight through plenty of its residents to uncover the mysteries behind it, using a variety of firearms (pistol, crossbow, etc.) as well as special powers called plasmids. These powers, which you gain by altering your DNA through injections, range from shooting fire to sending an unfriendly swarm of hornets out of your arm to attack your enemies. The most formidable of foes are the Big Daddies. Big Daddies are hulking, metallic creatures who protect the Little Sisters, young girls who have been possessed by a parasite. You can either free the girls of the parasites or harvest them for double the points towards upgrading abilities (upfront) after you’ve taken the Big Daddy out. It's not exactly perfect, though; animations can get very choppy and the gameplay can feel repetitive (especially the hacking minigame). Overall, Bioshock is an insane, truly unique, and highly atmospheric thrill ride that you should play if you haven't already (it's still great even in 2015). Expand
  24. May 1, 2015
    10
    It's not just a simple game, but an unquestionable work of art. .
  25. Apr 18, 2015
    9
    an amazing FPS. is a refreshing experience from the standar FPS. the gun play and the powers are well implemeted and very well balanced. the combat is fluid. The story is amazing and very well supported with lore that you can find in voice notes arround the game. lots of secrets and different ways to end the game.
  26. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    Amazing story, amazing combat, perfect setting.

    If you're ever arguing whether or not video games are art, this is a possible game to point to in favor of video games being art.
  27. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Feels like a 10/10 fiction,horror,action movie than a real game . But this is a game,so how well does it fair with the sequel and infinite? To be fair,this has to be the best game in the franchise,let's face it . Because it really is,because this game started it all and never was surpassed by any of it's sequels,only equalled.

    A must have game if you can handle the intense tension in
    Feels like a 10/10 fiction,horror,action movie than a real game . But this is a game,so how well does it fair with the sequel and infinite? To be fair,this has to be the best game in the franchise,let's face it . Because it really is,because this game started it all and never was surpassed by any of it's sequels,only equalled.

    A must have game if you can handle the intense tension in your balls!
    Expand
  28. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    BioShock, one of the highest rated games. Almost every big gaming site praised everything about it. BioShock is the best game of all time in my opinion. Now, let's start the review...

    Pros and Cons: Pros: 1. Amazing story, some of the best in any game ever. 2. Good graphics for 2007 when it was released. 3. Good gameplay. 4. Great characters. 5. Interesting concepts, the
    BioShock, one of the highest rated games. Almost every big gaming site praised everything about it. BioShock is the best game of all time in my opinion. Now, let's start the review...

    Pros and Cons:
    Pros:
    1. Amazing story, some of the best in any game ever.
    2. Good graphics for 2007 when it was released.
    3. Good gameplay.
    4. Great characters.
    5. Interesting concepts, the whole underwater city idea is very cool to learn about.
    6. Original collectibles.
    7. Fantastic soundtrack.
    8. Quality level design, each one is very different from the last.
    9. The plasmids spice up the game, you can really change your play style in the blink of an eye.
    10. Easy achievement list, not to hard to complete and it encourages you to really explore Rapture.
    11. The atmosphere is fantastic, it feels like anything could happen at any moment. Believe me, there are very unexpected events within.
    12. Many different enemies to deal with, Splicers are constantly changing and the Big Daddies vary.

    Cons:
    1. A few cases of texture pop-in at the start of some levels after playing for a few hours.
    2. The last boss fight wasn't as good as I expected but it was still fun.
    3. It ends.

    BioShock is set in an underwater dystopia, plagued by genetically altered human beings known as "Splicers". You play as Jack, a man who was on a plane that crashed into the Atlantic Ocean, you soon find your way into a lighthouse which then leads you to the introduction of combat and Splicers.

    BioShock is a very original interesting game, there are many many collectibles, but unlike most games these collectibles are actually useful, they provide back story for a lot of what has happened in Rapture, and they help develop the personalities of the main characters. The game makes you excited whenever you find one of them as you never can know what it may contain.

    The story in the game is some of the best ever! There are multiple endings based on some of your decisions you make with the citizens of Rapture and the characters are all very interesting. The game itself is VERY immersive, beware if you start playing this game on a school/work night. I picked this up at around 4:00 in the afternoon and started playing it when I got home. I didn't realize it was almost 5:00 in morning by the time I finished it. I literally sat through a 10-14 hour game in one sitting. This game makes you want to know what happens next, not to mention the gameplay is good.

    Another cool feature the game offers is the use of plasmids, plasmids are unique abilities like fire, ice, and electricity that you shoot from your left hand. These plasmids come in many forms and there are tons you can do with them, they really keep the gameplay fresh and new every level as you get new upgrades and entirely new plasmids at a good pace. The shooting is standard for a First Person Shooter, which is a good thing, as it works well. The controls are good, they take a little getting used to if you play other big shooters such as Halo.

    If you haven't played this game yet, even though it's about seven years old, it is still fantastic. I play it from time to time just to look at the fantastic design and to experience the story again. This game is nearly perfect, it is probably as close to perfect as any gamer will ever see. So there it is, you need to buy/rent this game just to experience the story, it will be hard to forget this incredible journey even if you tried. It's only around $5-$10, a steal for such a perfect game.
    Expand
  29. Jan 27, 2015
    10
    Well........................................................................................................................................................ This is the greatest game i have ever played
  30. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    This game will go down in history as one of the best games ever made. The atmosphere with it's blend of old and imagined new, Deformed monstrous enemies and scenic areas filled with retro looking neon signs and advertisements perfectly blended with period correct music and an engaging and well written story all blend together to make this game a must have for anyone with half a brain andThis game will go down in history as one of the best games ever made. The atmosphere with it's blend of old and imagined new, Deformed monstrous enemies and scenic areas filled with retro looking neon signs and advertisements perfectly blended with period correct music and an engaging and well written story all blend together to make this game a must have for anyone with half a brain and good taste. 10000/10 Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.