BioShock Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2292 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bio
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Intense, breathtaking, and original. If you don't like this game, take a break and detox from the Halo hype, and try again later. Ahh, isn't that better? I thought so.
  2. JakeV.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    As close to perfect as technology allows. Makes Halo III look like Wolfenstein.
  3. Chris
    Oct 8, 2007
    8
    It's a very much simplified, much easier, underwater (watered down?) version of System Shock 2. There's nothing wrong with that, but it's about time SS2 was re-released for gamers to know what a true masterpiece is like.
  4. Brandon
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just proves how well made and brilliant this peice of art that we call a game is. They just raised the bars for every game. Expand
  5. BenD.
    Aug 30, 2007
    7
    Superb graphics...and that's it. Shallow repetitive gameplay with too many pointless tasks getting in the way of the overall flow - does anyone really enjoy repeatedly hacking the machines? It's another Doom 3 - dark and dull.
  6. ToddN.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Great story, great visuals, unique gameplay. Fun and rewarding experience. A masterpiece.
  7. Andyman
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Halo, you're going about it all wrong. This is about taking your time and letting the ruined splendor of Rapture truly sink in. BioShock gets better with every passing minute and I can't wait to play through it at least a couple more times. I can't wait to see the Live Marketplace download add-ons. Expand
  8. HobagS.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    A pure masterpiece, visually stunning in every way, the most interesting game i have ever played
  9. HWNDarkside
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    I'm sorry but the best story/best graphics in the world do not compensate for another premium not offering user definable/southpaw controllers. I rushed out and bought a copy without thinking and have wasted another £40 on a game I cannot play using a control system I am comfortable with. Shame on you. File alongside Gears Of War and GRAW - and the upcoming Stranglehold.
  10. whizzm
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    dont see what all the fuss is about. i mean it is a good game, but there is no way it is one of the best games ever. i played it for about a week and got bored of it. i love fps and have been playing them for nearly 20 years and i can safely say there are better ones out there. its a game worth buying but it is very overhyped
  11. AlexanderD.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This game was simply an amazing experience to say the least. Everything about it was unique from the weapon upgrades to the underwater utopia that the game takes place in. You can hack turrets, set traps, or go in head on to fight the Big Daddy in order to collect the ADAM from the Little Sister. Watch out for those Splicers as you make your way through the city or Rapture!
  12. NickM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    This game is a masterpeice. Everything about it is fun. It graphics are amazing, its gameplay, amazing, and its storytelling, double amazing! there are no cutscenes where you cant play. it really marks that this year is the year when sick games are gunna come out. it makes up for that overrated pile of $#@! gears of war.
  13. Kevin
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    While this review is only on the Xbox Live demo, This game is flawless. The action is intense and it really is a thinking mans FPS. If you think you are Rambo this game will soon prove you wrong. Use your head stay alive and if you don't have this game you are missing out on the greatest game of 2007! Hands down Game of the Year.
  14. KyrpäK.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This is the one of the greatest game of all time. Bioshock deserver full 10 points.
  15. JeffR.
    Aug 25, 2007
    8
    The game's good, but I have to say the gameplay isn't really as compelling as we're being led to believe. It's very simple in its combat, It's easier than most FPS games, and it begins to have almost a repetitive feeling, as if you were playing the same level over and over against a different backdrop. Few games have had such well-crafted story elements, but even The game's good, but I have to say the gameplay isn't really as compelling as we're being led to believe. It's very simple in its combat, It's easier than most FPS games, and it begins to have almost a repetitive feeling, as if you were playing the same level over and over against a different backdrop. Few games have had such well-crafted story elements, but even on that subject it's not the best I've played. If i had the chance to go back and experience Max Payne 2, Half Life 2 or F.E.A.R. again for the first time rather than play bioshock, i would happily do so. That being said, it's a fun game, beautifully art directed and the story elements are solidly constructed. Expand
  16. DaPimp
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    One of the best games on 360, but 9.7 is a score too high. I absolutely loved the story and the atmosphere, both were very realistic, creepy and original, but the gameplay wasn't that fantastic. The shooting aspect of the game is fun, but doesn't quite feel like a true FPS. And even though it is true when people say it is supposed to be something more than a shooter, why are you One of the best games on 360, but 9.7 is a score too high. I absolutely loved the story and the atmosphere, both were very realistic, creepy and original, but the gameplay wasn't that fantastic. The shooting aspect of the game is fun, but doesn't quite feel like a true FPS. And even though it is true when people say it is supposed to be something more than a shooter, why are you firing your weapon 90% of the time? the plasmid system is cool, but feels limited. the customization is good for a shooter, but compared to other adventure/RPG's I've played, it is s***. honestly, it is just plasmids and tonics. Wow. The graphics were great, especially the water. I just don't see why people think it is so amazing. As a matter of fact, the whole game is amazing, except the most important part of a game, its gameplay. Everyone else like clint or Jeremy S. obviously haven;t played a true adventure or FPS like Half-Life, or Halo, wih good stories and amazing controls. This game is good, but I see no good reason to call it one of the best games ever just because you were amused by the story. yes, its great, but not fantastic. Probably the most overrated game of 2007, which is a shame, since it is quite good. Expand
  17. ChrisM.
    Aug 27, 2007
    8
    It sure is a beautiful game, no doublt about it. But I do think this game is a bit overrated. I've read every review of this game, and virtually no negative points were mentined. However, I have a few. - Combat is not very well done. Because of the unrealistic way splicers move I'm having too much difficulty hitting them with the (slow moving) plasmids - I've had it with It sure is a beautiful game, no doublt about it. But I do think this game is a bit overrated. I've read every review of this game, and virtually no negative points were mentined. However, I have a few. - Combat is not very well done. Because of the unrealistic way splicers move I'm having too much difficulty hitting them with the (slow moving) plasmids - I've had it with games that keep respawning enemies based on scripted events. Everytime you pick up an important item suddenly an enemy spawns out of nowhere...its like doom3 in that way. - fighting big daddy's isn;t a lot of fun. They are big damage spunges that simply take a lot to bring down - I'm suffering from the freeze bug on my 360 just like the gamespot reviewer. It amost ruins the game for me So well...a pretty cool adventure game with mediocre combat and superior graphics....I'd glady give it a 8.5 or so but that's it. Expand
  18. spiderpig
    Aug 27, 2007
    6
    good solid fpsactionadventure title
    not 100100 as many reviewer have given it doesnt bring anything new to the table
    feels like an updated version of system shock which i much prefer to bioshock graphics an art 1010 gameplay 55 no multiplayer hurts it bigtime in this day an age to not include any multiplayer or co-op is criminal buy on xbox 360 pc avoid at all costs
    good solid fpsactionadventure title
    not 100100 as many reviewer have given it doesnt bring anything new to the table
    feels like an updated version of system shock which i much prefer to bioshock
    graphics an art 1010 gameplay 55 no multiplayer hurts it bigtime in this day an age to not include any multiplayer or co-op is criminal
    buy on xbox 360 pc avoid at all costs securerom aint getting on my pc ty very much 2K !
    Expand
  19. BarryP.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Very good graphically, gameplay is more or less the same as most decent FPS's apart from the AI being extremelly advanced. Overall though, highly overrated, probably as overrated as Gears Of War & Halo series. Graphics - 10 Gameplay - 8 Value - 8 Would have given it an 8.5 but rounded it up to a 9.
  20. HectorH.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    The game it self are virtually stunning. The water, the enemie's A.I is fantastic. Those who believe that the gore and the blood were completely unnecessary should have picked a different title because there is a big fat "M" in the cover. The team behind this deserve the fruit it bears.
  21. AndyK.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Great graphics at all, but the enemies look somehow poor,no other enemies except the splicers and the game gets boring after 2 hours gameplay.
  22. TJH
    Sep 27, 2007
    4
    I thought this game was extremely wierd and couldnt get along with it. Although i thought the visuals were very nice indeed the game was just too odd for me.
  23. JamesH.
    Sep 3, 2007
    8
    Bioshock IS well above average in all regards and there will be very few people that wont enjoy playing through this game. However, it is because Bioshock gets everything so 'nearly' perfect that one is left with a small sense of dissapointment after playing. The comparison many have made with the half life 2 experience is valid. Half Life 2 is clear GOTY material, however Bioshock IS well above average in all regards and there will be very few people that wont enjoy playing through this game. However, it is because Bioshock gets everything so 'nearly' perfect that one is left with a small sense of dissapointment after playing. The comparison many have made with the half life 2 experience is valid. Half Life 2 is clear GOTY material, however I'm not sure that Bioshock deserves this mantle. Bioshock is a highly accomplished jack of all trades... With the exception of the presentation of the narrative, it is master of none... A very solid 8. Expand
  24. AaronC
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    I've killed Nefarion, finished all the Zeldas and Metriods, finished Super Mario Bros, completed all the Rainbow Six's on realistic mode, finished countless games over and over again....SO WHY am I dying in this game?! Its completly frustrating to die over and over again, who tuned this game? The only redeeming factor this game has is the polished "next gen WET" look, which II've killed Nefarion, finished all the Zeldas and Metriods, finished Super Mario Bros, completed all the Rainbow Six's on realistic mode, finished countless games over and over again....SO WHY am I dying in this game?! Its completly frustrating to die over and over again, who tuned this game? The only redeeming factor this game has is the polished "next gen WET" look, which I guess after reading so many of the critics reviews is the new paradigm to get a 10....just make it look WET! Expand
  25. VilleH.
    Sep 9, 2007
    5
    It's an OK shooter. But in the end, the plot is preachy and overwrought with a ridiculous twist false ending, and the game mechanics quickly become stale and dull. Constant 'inventory' juggling is awkward, there are about four types of enemy in total, and unending repetition of a watered-down version of Pipe Dreams (the 'hacking' subgame) drives you up a wall. It's an OK shooter. But in the end, the plot is preachy and overwrought with a ridiculous twist false ending, and the game mechanics quickly become stale and dull. Constant 'inventory' juggling is awkward, there are about four types of enemy in total, and unending repetition of a watered-down version of Pipe Dreams (the 'hacking' subgame) drives you up a wall. It's pretty good. But it's not that great. Expand
  26. RichardW.
    Jan 13, 2008
    0
    It amounts to a technical demo of the U3 engine in essence. In gameplay, it's repetitive and easy. I don't care what anyone says, if you've played shooters before you can play this on the hardest setting with no challenge, and there's nothing unique enough to provide a motivation for moving forward. Really, plasmids are nothing new, we've seen similar things in It amounts to a technical demo of the U3 engine in essence. In gameplay, it's repetitive and easy. I don't care what anyone says, if you've played shooters before you can play this on the hardest setting with no challenge, and there's nothing unique enough to provide a motivation for moving forward. Really, plasmids are nothing new, we've seen similar things in Jedi Knight II, System Shock,etc. Graphically it's impressive. But what everyone praises it for- storytelling- it seems subpar. Am I the only person who sees the blatant Atlas Shrugged ripoff as a ripoff, not an "influence"? It isn't influenced at all by the philosophy as a few reviewers claimed, no doubt too enthralled by the bandwagon to read the book in question before jumping on it. It seemed like every reviewer had a hardon for the games-as-art idea and wanted to talk about it as much as possible instead of the lackluster gameplay, but fine, where's the meat of the plot? We have this: "Ryan believes in this thing completely, and Fontaine believes in nothing. At the end of the day, they're almost equally dangerous. [Fontaine] is a nihilist, all he cares about is himself. He has something missing in him that makes us human." I missed how this is any more interesting than the time honored concept Nintendo uses of light-world/dark-world. Expand
  27. Daniel
    Jan 16, 2008
    7
    Satisfying, but not spectacular. I'm not an experienced gamer -- I casually play the games that my brother buys for his XBox if they interest me -- but I was surprised, given the reviews, how little this wowed me. Rapture is visually spectacular, but limited; looking through windows and portholes made me want to explore this underwater world with greater variety than wandering Satisfying, but not spectacular. I'm not an experienced gamer -- I casually play the games that my brother buys for his XBox if they interest me -- but I was surprised, given the reviews, how little this wowed me. Rapture is visually spectacular, but limited; looking through windows and portholes made me want to explore this underwater world with greater variety than wandering through variations of the same darkened corridors and spooky rooms. The story is impressive, with twists that surprised me and an emotional element that moved me, but the final battle is too simple and the ending felt abrupt. (Maybe there's a better cutscene if I play on a higher difficulty?) It doesn't help that I played this after "Mass Effect"; the depth and replayability of that game put this one to shame. Expand
  28. ApocalypseB.
    Mar 13, 2008
    4
    How in the world did this game get such great recognition is truly beyond me! I never played System Shock 2, but surely that must of been better than this. Why don't I like it? Because after such a good and intense start, the game grinds to a halt after two hours. The pacing then is slow/dead slow, and that what upset me. The potential for greatness is all there: Plasmids, Big How in the world did this game get such great recognition is truly beyond me! I never played System Shock 2, but surely that must of been better than this. Why don't I like it? Because after such a good and intense start, the game grinds to a halt after two hours. The pacing then is slow/dead slow, and that what upset me. The potential for greatness is all there: Plasmids, Big Daddies, Saving or harvesting the little sisters. Yet all of them have no spark to them after you experience them time and time again. The aiming system and weapons are really sub-standard, from being too simplistic as opposed to being over the top. And the damage they cause, even the buck shot, is limited. Finally the constant dark and uninspired scenery with even more uninspired enemies were the last straw. Nowadays I haven't the time to grind through games like this, I want instant pleasure or I'll more on. Not that I am not a hardcore gamer, just that I know what I want, and rapture isn't the place I want to be! Expand
  29. Feartrain
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    The most imaginative, dark and twisted piece of fantasy gaming ever! This post-apocalyptic, dystopian, semi-RPG survival-horror shooter, will trap you miles beneath the surface, giving you the sense of hopelessness and the desperation of no escape.
  30. DanielW.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Freakin' awesome game, great story, great game mechanics, there is no equal!!
  31. MattL.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This is a revolution in gaming with amazing graphics, gameplay, and storyline. Possibly every bit as good Half-Life 2 was in 2004. I only wish my friends would stop complaining about it not having online already.
  32. TomS.
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    Amazing game. I didn't want to leave the amazing world of rapture .
  33. dominikj
    Feb 9, 2009
    7
    This game has great story, great atmosphere, and cool enemies. But for guns this is not that good as they are severely underpowered and the aiming is shit. I found myself only using the wrench and telekinesis and incinerate in conclusion gameplay sucks ( at least for guns) melee and plasmids pass and are clever and its not open as some reviews say (they might as well be saying that COD 4 This game has great story, great atmosphere, and cool enemies. But for guns this is not that good as they are severely underpowered and the aiming is shit. I found myself only using the wrench and telekinesis and incinerate in conclusion gameplay sucks ( at least for guns) melee and plasmids pass and are clever and its not open as some reviews say (they might as well be saying that COD 4 is open) but everything else it did well. Expand
  34. LaurenP
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Very good!
  35. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Bioshock has to be the most immersive game ever made. Bioshock is a masterpiece of narrative story telling and graphical atmosphere. The inhabitants of Rapture are freaky but oh so real and crazy. The presentation is amongst the best on 360 let alone the PS3. There is absolutely no denying that this is visually and narritively one of the best games ever created on this generation of consoles.
  36. ChristofferBS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Plasmids, shoot electricity and fire. Make enemys, their cameras and turrents fight against eachother and many more. Plus the moral choices. Little Sisters give u adam that let u buy more plasmids and plasmid upgrades. Know u can kill them and take more adam or change them back to normal girls and get less adam. Kill a little girl for more or save her for less. I got my TV in like 2002. It is like 2 1/2 feet by 2 1/2 feet and it looks like hd on a lcd. Expand
  37. ZachU.
    Feb 3, 2010
    7
    This game was good,but it wasnt on my top ten xbox 360 games of all time!?? REALLY CRITCS!!?? After awile in the first playthrough I got bored and stopped playing it because you were doing the same things over and over.But it was a good game for me, there is no chance in hell that this is better than mass effect 2 CRITCS, plus you think the graphics are somehow better than mass effect This game was good,but it wasnt on my top ten xbox 360 games of all time!?? REALLY CRITCS!!?? After awile in the first playthrough I got bored and stopped playing it because you were doing the same things over and over.But it was a good game for me, there is no chance in hell that this is better than mass effect 2 CRITCS, plus you think the graphics are somehow better than mass effect 2,GET REAL.Plus the storyline is more interesting in my opinion, and I certainly played mass effect 1 and 2 alot more tan bioshock. Expand
  38. MikeJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Like said before, it's almost nothing compared to the old System Shock 2, but this is what gaming has become today. And for that, it's pretty good.
  39. JustinT.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    I would really say 8.5 here. The fact that there's no multiplayer is fine for a game like this, but its shortness hurts a bit. Its all about the story on this game baby. Difficulty in spades if you want it, or eternal re-spawns if you don't. Finding hiddin audio messages from the past and putting together your own past make this a kind of CSI-esque feel with a very dark premise. I would really say 8.5 here. The fact that there's no multiplayer is fine for a game like this, but its shortness hurts a bit. Its all about the story on this game baby. Difficulty in spades if you want it, or eternal re-spawns if you don't. Finding hiddin audio messages from the past and putting together your own past make this a kind of CSI-esque feel with a very dark premise. Not a lot of re-play value keeps this from being a 10, but a solid game anyone should like to play. Expand
  40. MichaelB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Puts a different twist on the also fantastic game system shock 2.
  41. IanL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    It's good, but not really great. The color palette is too dark to see many of the details, and there's no multiplayer.
  42. Teli
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Unique and exquisite. The moral choices, the atmosphere the art combined into an unforgetable experience. The were so many ocasions where I would run out of an area through an interconnecting tunnel that displays the underwater city and realise that I completely forgot that I was under water. Very engaging. A must have title.
  43. DanG.
    Nov 30, 2007
    4
    I just couldnt bring myself to finish it. It wasnt that bad, it just wasnt anything special and I had better games to play (Halo 3). Although the story was interesting and the atmosphere was incedibly deep, the gameplay was meh. Killing the splicers and Big Daddies just felt like a chore and the . I dont understand why the reviewers cant stop raving about it; its just not that special.
  44. thedude
    Oct 15, 2007
    8
    This is a hard game for me to rate, because I was actually disappointed by it when I played, but it has kind of stuck with me since then. I looked forward to this game for a year, and the presentation in the demo floored me. But with all the 100's, and hype about it being one of the greatest games of all time, I found it pretty disappointing. I felt the same way about Half Life 2, This is a hard game for me to rate, because I was actually disappointed by it when I played, but it has kind of stuck with me since then. I looked forward to this game for a year, and the presentation in the demo floored me. But with all the 100's, and hype about it being one of the greatest games of all time, I found it pretty disappointing. I felt the same way about Half Life 2, though, and I know most people loved that. Half Life 2 felt like what I would expect, with a few great moments, and a bunch of stuff that I could have done without, like having to fend off the face huggers and the mosquito flying things all the time. Likewise, Bioshock had a gripping beginning, hit its peak with the Fort Fright section(like Ravenholm in HL2), and then just kind of seemed like a standard shooter to me the rest of the way. I found only a few of the plasmids effective, so even though they had a lot you could do, it only made sense to use one or two most of the time. The story was good, but not amazing. The presentation was great, but after the first hour or two you're used to it and it just comes down to the gameplay, which was pretty standard. But I have looked back on it with a certain fondness in hindsight since I played it, so I think it was another case of too much hype inflating a very good game into a so-called "master-piece". It's worth playing, but lower your expectations before you start it so you can be pleasantly surprised instead of let down. Expand
  45. JustinB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially when you throw in all the bio upgrades such as telekinesis (mind over matter) and things like freezing, burning and sending electric shocks at your enemies. the art direction is academy award worthy,a world set in a decayed art deco city built underwater, you feel like you are playing a french sci-fi movie; mainly reminiscent of "city of the lost children". whichever way you look at this, this is sophistication in video game design. people who play games to so called "pwn-or own" or whatever might gripe about this being too dark and slow and not being online...but thats okay, i have played games with these people and frankly dont understand how they get any enjoyment out of games when they run around like roaches and shooting enemies like products rolling on a factory band, yelling and screaming through the process...living a virtual self-indulgent pre-adolescence orgasm. if you are however a grown up and intelligent gamer who despise hypes and mindless commercial traps to steal your hard earned money, Bioshock comes as a fresh option to adress your next-gen kicks and satisfy all the same...and a lot more. buy it now, you will miss out if you don't. Expand
  46. JayK.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best experiences in gaming. Expand
  47. LarsB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best game experience since resident evil 4! Excellent storytelling.
  48. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    I try to avoid superlatives in my life, and even more so in my game reviews. That being said, this game is the single best game ever made. This is true art, poetry in motion, a triumph of, and tribute to, the beginning of art in gaming. Gameplay is flawless, storyline is engaging, graphics are glorious. However, the true joy of it is in a few things you wouldn't usually look for at I try to avoid superlatives in my life, and even more so in my game reviews. That being said, this game is the single best game ever made. This is true art, poetry in motion, a triumph of, and tribute to, the beginning of art in gaming. Gameplay is flawless, storyline is engaging, graphics are glorious. However, the true joy of it is in a few things you wouldn't usually look for at all, let alone expect to change a game. First, philosophy. It truly makes the intelligent mind wonder at the possibilities of mankind, to all the little what-ifs hidden in the human psyche. It allows one a glimpse into mankind, and into our future. Second, and this is going to surprise you, sound design. The musical accompaniment adds a depth to the horror you see around you by simply ignoring it. The innocence of what you are hearing combined with the horror of what you are seeing adds a remarkable amount to the already unfathomable depth of the experience. All in all, if this isn't the perfect gaming experience, then I am left to wonder if we will ever see it. Expand
  49. Silver
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    One of the most disappointing games of the last 10 years. Poor narative, watered-down RPG elements, weak structure, simply put every aspect of Bioshock is basic and pathetic. But the real crime for us is that instead of doing what we've all been asking and make System Shock 3, Irrational Games decided to make a dumb new IP, promote it as the 'spiritual successor' to their One of the most disappointing games of the last 10 years. Poor narative, watered-down RPG elements, weak structure, simply put every aspect of Bioshock is basic and pathetic. But the real crime for us is that instead of doing what we've all been asking and make System Shock 3, Irrational Games decided to make a dumb new IP, promote it as the 'spiritual successor' to their legendary previous title and then hope no one would notice when it turned out to be THE WORST GAME EVER. To anyone who hasn't played them or was to young at the time, please don't get Bioshock, instead go out and find copies of both Deus Ex and System Shock 2. It will cost about 10 quid and will be the best 10 quid you have ever spent. Expand
  50. TrevorM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games that I have ever played. The story is immersive and has numerous twists and turns. The graphics, music and gameplay all exceptionally well done and really draw you into the story. This game rasises the bar for what a video game can be. A must have.
  51. SasukeU.
    Oct 26, 2007
    7
    It's a good game, but only if you like to spend the whole game indoors, i find Bioshock very boring, i would prefer Half-life 2 or Halo 3. However the graphics are excellent, the plot is decent, but the game is quite difficult, simplyu put don't buy this game if you just want a relaxing good fun first person shooter. I would give the graphics a 9/10 but i would only give it a It's a good game, but only if you like to spend the whole game indoors, i find Bioshock very boring, i would prefer Half-life 2 or Halo 3. However the graphics are excellent, the plot is decent, but the game is quite difficult, simplyu put don't buy this game if you just want a relaxing good fun first person shooter. I would give the graphics a 9/10 but i would only give it a 5/10 for its funess. Expand
  52. ZiftK.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is successful in presenting a tremendous amount of fun, and artistic detail. The gameplay will keep you at the edge of your seat, and the graphics will "wow" you. Although there's no multi player, the over all package of Bioshock will suffice. In short, if you don't want your average FPS, go out and get Bioshock, a sure game of the year contender.
  53. GaryR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    I was hooked on this game for weeks, but then i completed it and got all the achievments. So that was the end.. This game would eclipse halo 3 if it had a multiplayer... almost game of the year.
  54. SaulX.
    Oct 7, 2007
    8
    Great game, but no replay value once its done its done i tried going through twice but it got way to boring, the first time through , is lots of fun, I prefer halo 3 anyday since after u beat it, thats just the begining.
  55. KyleM.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    I love the fact of the game that you can get random objects and make your own ammo and other cool things out of it.
  56. NickB.
    Aug 16, 2007
    1
    The cartoony user models and the complicated and confusing gameplay makes the game way over hyped and really only a rent due to the lack of multiplayer.
  57. ShinP.
    Aug 16, 2007
    6
    It is a decent game but nothing really sticks out from the swampy FPS genre. The graphics are top notch but the game just gets boring as it goes on. Sure it has its differences from some traditional FPS but it still didnt break the mold of the FPS genre.
  58. JonH.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    This game does everthing right from the superb visuals to the rollercoaster of a story. its halo meets prey meets oblivion meets system shock2 meeets ...... its everhing a firstperson shooter should be and more.The guns are thought out and feel genuine and the relationship between the little sister and the big daddys is haunting in its innocence. there are downfalls to the game such as This game does everthing right from the superb visuals to the rollercoaster of a story. its halo meets prey meets oblivion meets system shock2 meeets ...... its everhing a firstperson shooter should be and more.The guns are thought out and feel genuine and the relationship between the little sister and the big daddys is haunting in its innocence. there are downfalls to the game such as backtracking to collect ammo or pieces of anything to make ammuntion but it makes the game last longer. overall this is going to be a bigger summer hit than that weird song about 'umbrellas.' Expand
  59. AxelD.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    I recently played the demo to this game several times.I absolutely love this game,the controlls are perfect,the game looks beautiful to say the least you can.I love just messing around with the crazies in rapture using my infero o' doom and hack every machine i can find esspecially the turret near the end...If you have the cash and even if you dont buy this game...It is no longer a choice...
  60. RichieT.
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    Terrible heap of jumbled characters with a convoluted plot.
  61. JonathanP.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game, only thing which holds it back in my opinion is the lack of multiplayer. I find it hard to give a game the full score if there is no multiplayer, especially given the current standard of games. Other than that it is a perfect game.
  62. MarcusR.
    Aug 21, 2007
    7
    Alright,I just finished Bioshock.My biggest complaint with the game is it is too easy,I literally had to stop playing at one point to raise the difficulty level.This is a big problem for me,as I thought the game would be quite challenging. Another problem I encountered was a glitch of some sort,whenever I inject a plasmid when battling more than one splicer,the game freezes for about 5 Alright,I just finished Bioshock.My biggest complaint with the game is it is too easy,I literally had to stop playing at one point to raise the difficulty level.This is a big problem for me,as I thought the game would be quite challenging. Another problem I encountered was a glitch of some sort,whenever I inject a plasmid when battling more than one splicer,the game freezes for about 5 seconds,then continues.Not a very big issue,but not a good one as well. Other than that,the game is solid,definitely a good one.The animations are good,the graphics are good(there's a widescreen issue,but it's not worth a whole paragraph),the storyline is a bit cliche,but it is rewarding. Overall,7/10,good,but not amazing. Expand
  63. SauerJass
    Aug 21, 2007
    1
    Brand new XPS laptop fully loaded... new nvidia drivers... reinstalled game twice.... stalling at second load screen. I would not recommend running to the stores to buy this game. Give this one a month to bake in the oven. Yet another disappointing box-o-bugs, even the better publisers seem to be releasing prematurely now-a-days. Unfortunately this is becoming the norm rather than theBrand new XPS laptop fully loaded... new nvidia drivers... reinstalled game twice.... stalling at second load screen. I would not recommend running to the stores to buy this game. Give this one a month to bake in the oven. Yet another disappointing box-o-bugs, even the better publisers seem to be releasing prematurely now-a-days. Unfortunately this is becoming the norm rather than the exception with PC games. The game seems provocative judging from the little I was able to play. Hopefully you'll have better luck. Expand
  64. JoelC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Its just INSANE how good this game is. It really really sucks you in, and doesn't let go. Theres so much stuff to do, this isn't your usual blast level to level. Its almost too intense, all these customizations, battles with Big Daddy's that only ultimately lead to death. Just insanity. Get this game. You will not regret it.
  65. SethH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Amazing. Spectacular. Intriguing. The superlatives could go on and on. The main point is, THIS is the reason games should be played. Intricate and unique weapon system, creepy as hell atmosphere, indescribably well-written story. It may only be single player, but to me, a great experience once or twice is better than the same experience over and over again online.
  66. Brent
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is absolutely amazing...in my opinion it is one of the best games of all time. The game is incredible in every aspect. Great graphics, gameplay, storyline, etc. This game will definitely be a contender for game of the year. If you own a 360 and are old enough, then pick this game up....you won't regret it.
  67. WaltG.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    The game is a masterpiece of design, atmosphere, and gripping storytelling. I have to say, when you see "Aesthetics are a moral imperative," written in blood in the floor of a surgery ward, I had to turn the lights back on.
  68. ChaseB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    7
    Its easily the best thing available on 360 right now (but ofcourse there realy isn't any competition when it comes to actual good titles). Its a fun game and it tells a highly entertaining story that falls just short of half life 2 proportions (though the style of story telling is suprisingly similar). The game uses great idealistic imagery and has a deffinate sense of style. It is Its easily the best thing available on 360 right now (but ofcourse there realy isn't any competition when it comes to actual good titles). Its a fun game and it tells a highly entertaining story that falls just short of half life 2 proportions (though the style of story telling is suprisingly similar). The game uses great idealistic imagery and has a deffinate sense of style. It is also a game plauged with tiny problems (makes me wonder of Microsoft paid them money to rush it like they oh so love to do). You will notice alot of spazzing corpses and items (not as bad as Perfect dark but still bad) and a good many floating bodies aswell, but these are ofcourse minor asthetic problems. As gamespot said while compelling the gameplay is basic and easily mastered and so while there are some great and thuroughly enjoyable ways of killing people, you realy hafto want to use them because its oftin easier to just shoot an enemy in the face with your pistol and kill him than to use some elaborate method that may or may not work. There are some great features like capturing enemy turrets and using them for yourself that may or may not end up being usefull depending on the situation. If the gameplay here had a little more depth I would jump at the chance to give this game a higher score, but as things are I think gameplay wise its little more than a servicable job of keeping the story (this game is all about story) going. The combat here is no halo but it does function. The reason I am stressing so much the weak gameplay dispite the great story is that its a little upsetting after all the hype for this game, and all the potential it certainly has to see it fall short because the developer didn't spend the time necisary polishing the final product. One thing I will say though is that the best part by far is the voice acting, truly some of the best in any game out there. I got it on both 360 and PC and so far just as an FYI PC is both superior visualy and in terms of gameplay (but ofcourse mouse always trumps controller). Expand
  69. CodyB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    PERFECTION! 20 OUT OF 10. This game was well worth the wait. When it kept getting pushed back, I thought, " it better be worth it!" It is. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics (with a few glitches here and there) are beautiful. The best part about this game is the story and the decisions to make. When they give you the decision to kill or save the little sisters, you realize just how deepPERFECTION! 20 OUT OF 10. This game was well worth the wait. When it kept getting pushed back, I thought, " it better be worth it!" It is. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics (with a few glitches here and there) are beautiful. The best part about this game is the story and the decisions to make. When they give you the decision to kill or save the little sisters, you realize just how deep this can get. I chose to save the first little sister. The cutscene is full of emotion. Try it once. It doesnt reward you as much, but just ty it. You will see what I am talking about. Its about time that there is a quality FPS on the 360. The best game so far. Expand
  70. JulianosT.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I read a review of someone who gave this game a zero. He gave it that score because of the realistic gore, what you do to the people in the game, and the fact he thought it was inappropirate for all ages. I believe that actually caring about what you do to people in a game is a mark about how good a game is. When you feel guilty about what you do to someone, even in a game, it makes you I read a review of someone who gave this game a zero. He gave it that score because of the realistic gore, what you do to the people in the game, and the fact he thought it was inappropirate for all ages. I believe that actually caring about what you do to people in a game is a mark about how good a game is. When you feel guilty about what you do to someone, even in a game, it makes you look into who you really are. Bioshock is the only game I have ever played that has made me do that. I admit that I am not very far in the game, but I am already hooked. I have never seen a game with such good water graphics before. The enemies are intelligent enough to jump into the water when they catch on fire. The gameplay is emmersive and almost magical. You really feel you are in the game. For moments I forgot that I was playing a game. When you play this game, your adrenaline starts pumping off the wall. When the ligths go out, you really are afraid. Even though you have much superior fire power and abilities, you're scared for your life. Just like in Half-Life 2, every object in the game can be interacted with. This game takes the leap from a fantasy into real life. You make the choice of whether to save children for little reward, or kill them for a huge reward. You have a choice to be good or evil. You choose how to dispatch your enemies. Hack a turret bot and have that fight them, freeze them then blow them into a thousand pieces, stun them and dispact them instandly, EVERYTHING! I have never seen this games equal. Bioshock is the game that every game to come should be judged on. If it is not as good as Bioshock, it is not worth buying. Expand
  71. AndersH.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This game, quite simply put, blows most others in its genre straight out of the water. The story is beautifully crafted, and is definitely the games most compelling aspect. Kevin Levine's BioShock is to video game evolution as Welles' Citizen Kane was to cinema's. Aside from being interactive fiction, the game play can be quite satisfying if the user is creative enough to This game, quite simply put, blows most others in its genre straight out of the water. The story is beautifully crafted, and is definitely the games most compelling aspect. Kevin Levine's BioShock is to video game evolution as Welles' Citizen Kane was to cinema's. Aside from being interactive fiction, the game play can be quite satisfying if the user is creative enough to play with all the possibilities. However, as many have said, the way it handles death makes BioShock not quite challenging enough for most shooter eficiandos - but don't let that deter you from enjoying the new generation's most compelling masterpiece. BioShock is a must play for anyone with the slightest interest in gaming. Expand
  72. TheSalt
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    Easily the best Single Player game of this genration so far...
    I have been gaming for 25 years and can look back to games that broke new benchmarks of excellence.
    Space Invaders, Pacman, Asteroids, Donkey Kong, Track N Field, Star Wars, Dragons Lair, Ghost N Goblins, Guantlet, Archon, BardsTale, Elite, Pirates, Super Punch Out, Ultima, Speed Ball, NBA Jam, Super Mario Brothers,
    Easily the best Single Player game of this genration so far...
    I have been gaming for 25 years and can look back to games that broke new benchmarks of excellence.
    Space Invaders, Pacman, Asteroids, Donkey Kong, Track N Field, Star Wars, Dragons Lair, Ghost N Goblins, Guantlet, Archon, BardsTale, Elite, Pirates, Super Punch Out, Ultima, Speed Ball, NBA Jam, Super Mario Brothers, Tetris, Test Drive, Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter, Sonic, Legend of Zelda, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing, DOOM, Myst, Sega Rally Championship, SimCity, Sonic the Hedgehog, , MechWarrior, Civilisation, Command & Conquer, Quake, Diablo, Age of Empires, Golden Eye, Castlevania, Worms, NBA Live, Tekken, Tony Hawk, Tomb Raider, Resident Evil, Final Fantasy, Colony Wars, Grand Turismo, Shane Warne Cricket, SoulBlade, MetalGearSolid,WarCraft, StarCraft,OddWorld, Need for Speed, Colin McCrae, Driver, Baldurs Gate,Pro Evolution Soccer, Medal of Honour, Music 2000, MS Flight Simulator, Counter Strike, Halo, Madden, GTA, Splinter Cell, Morrowind, Prince of Persia, Devil May Cry, SSx, KOTOR, Battlefield, Fight Night, , Ninja Gaiden, Forza, SingStar, Half Life, World of War Craft, , Oblivion, Gears of War, Rainbow 6 Vegas, Guitar Hero...

    ...and now BioShock!
    Expand
  73. RayH.
    Aug 20, 2007
    3
    Great graphics, implausible storyline...Hard to play (difficulty wise).. The reviewers may be enamored with this title, but if the first thing I do upon entering a strange facility I know nothing about, and I find a hypo needle on the ground...well, I would just shove this needle into my arm? Uh..realism...NOT! And the difficulty ramps up...casual players need not apply!
  74. johnathansiders
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    This game is great. the big daddy fights are amazing you get to fight these guys and if your lucky enough to beat them you got to make a choice to harvest or save the little sisters and what ever pick changes the outlook on the game and the story and plot twist in this game are incredible throw in weapon upgrades crazy super powers and crazy boss fights and sander cohen and i was amazedThis game is great. the big daddy fights are amazing you get to fight these guys and if your lucky enough to beat them you got to make a choice to harvest or save the little sisters and what ever pick changes the outlook on the game and the story and plot twist in this game are incredible throw in weapon upgrades crazy super powers and crazy boss fights and sander cohen and i was amazed start to finish and when i finished i started a new game. just amazing ! Expand
  75. Liam
    Aug 26, 2007
    6
    Firstly, dont believe all the hype this game is getting. Yeah sure its got a high average meta score, and raving reviews from most game magazines, but seriously...
    With my favourite games been half-life (both 1 and 2) i was sure i was going to enjoy bioshock. I did for the most part, but its simply more of the same. The graphics i grant are good but nothing breathtaking, the story at
    Firstly, dont believe all the hype this game is getting. Yeah sure its got a high average meta score, and raving reviews from most game magazines, but seriously...
    With my favourite games been half-life (both 1 and 2) i was sure i was going to enjoy bioshock. I did for the most part, but its simply more of the same. The graphics i grant are good but nothing breathtaking, the story at times can get a little predictable and for me the gameplay was lacking that real substance. I have given it a lower score of 6 mainly because i dont believe the game deserves the major reviews its been getting. Realisticley the game deserves an 8.8 - 9.0 (or 85-90 using the meta score)
    Expand
  76. KDep
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. I've played through about half of the retail game so far and I've never been more impressed with graphics, gameplay, strategy, AI and storyline - never mind all in ONE game. This game is an absolute must-own. It doesn't really matter if you're a huge FPS fan or not - this game is an experience. People will be re-playing and Easily one of the best games ever made. I've played through about half of the retail game so far and I've never been more impressed with graphics, gameplay, strategy, AI and storyline - never mind all in ONE game. This game is an absolute must-own. It doesn't really matter if you're a huge FPS fan or not - this game is an experience. People will be re-playing and arguing about the deeper plot concepts for years to come. Expand
  77. PaulS.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    Game was amazing and very scary. However as I get closer to the ending the suspensful moments feel less and less and more and more like a typical shooter. Playing it on the Xbxo 360 but I still had some texture loading issues where the game was having trouble keeping up loading the textures but it only takes a few seconds for it to catch up. Overall its a great game I haven't beaten Game was amazing and very scary. However as I get closer to the ending the suspensful moments feel less and less and more and more like a typical shooter. Playing it on the Xbxo 360 but I still had some texture loading issues where the game was having trouble keeping up loading the textures but it only takes a few seconds for it to catch up. Overall its a great game I haven't beaten it yet but right now its slowly moving towards regualr shooter rather then scary survivor horror that it was in the beginning but it still has its moments. Expand
  78. NathanK.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Seriously, this game shows a level of care, attention, and quality that surpasses pretty much everything else on the market. This the definitive next gen FPS game for the 360, and all games that come here after should be judged by this standard. Just say no to stale, unimaginative FPS's, and say YES to Bioshock.
  79. JuddHall
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    I was lucky enough to pick this game up last Wednesday due to some friendly game store employees. The hype is well justified in this instance. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are spot on. It is a linear adventure, but rarely feels like it's linear.
    It does give you a lot of help if you are stuck mid-game with hints along the way that you can easily access.
    I thought
    I was lucky enough to pick this game up last Wednesday due to some friendly game store employees. The hype is well justified in this instance. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are spot on. It is a linear adventure, but rarely feels like it's linear.
    It does give you a lot of help if you are stuck mid-game with hints along the way that you can easily access.
    I thought that the achievements were alarmingly easy to get.
    Good game though.
    Expand
  80. RobC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    9
    It makes me laugh when ppl say its not as good as halo. Halo is halo and if you want halo, get halo!! Bioshock is one of those games that stands alone, with beautiful graphics and great movement. I have several FPS' and this one is supreme. But it if you are open minded about games.
  81. IanC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I'm a REALLY fussy gamer. There's not much I like these days, it all feels like the same old same old. Every now and again something I really like catches my attention, and then I play it for years. I love my games though, and try new stuff all the time. I'm just disappointed a lot. What I like isn't often running with the popular opinion either. I just like it. I like I'm a REALLY fussy gamer. There's not much I like these days, it all feels like the same old same old. Every now and again something I really like catches my attention, and then I play it for years. I love my games though, and try new stuff all the time. I'm just disappointed a lot. What I like isn't often running with the popular opinion either. I just like it. I like Tony Hawks games. I love Battlefield. I adore Guitar Hero. I enjoy Rainbow Six. And that's my game collection. I got back from holiday on Sunday after two weeks in the Polish wilderness, game free. Browsing the local store, I see Bioshock. I'm a big fan of Jean Pierre Jeunet films and straight away the screenshots on the box catch my eye. 1950s, art deco surroundings, deep story, murky colours, looks and sounds good. So I buy, I go home, and I start to play. And I can't believe what I'm seeing, or hearing, or doing. I LOVE this game. It's by far and away the most impressive title I've had my hands on for years and years, and I mean in terms of the impact it's had on me. The visuals are eye-popping, the sound is incredible, the story is engaging, the gameplay is fun and interesting, and just the plain old exploration of a new world has captured my heart. I simply can't recommend this enough to anyone who likes video games. It's fabulous. Expand
  82. JordanL.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    "Bioshock" is beautifully crafted both visually and narratively. Ease of gameplay, a compelling story and amazing environments make this a "must own" title.
  83. BuddyR.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It seems like a first person shooter that you've done before, which in fact, i've done almost all this stuff before. But it's the atmosphere, setting, music, lighting, characters, spectacular voice acting, level of interaction with the environment, and mystery that make this an incredible experience that must be played.
  84. AlexB.
    Aug 30, 2007
    3
    It has graphics. When you shoot someone they scream bloody murder like you're actually killing a real person. I found it a little too dark, too "evil" to play. What the hell is with the 7 year old little girls drinking and throwing up blood, that is just sick. This game would probably be fun if i could get past so much evil in it.
  85. DylanNelson
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game a ten... wait, it isn't even out yet. How can there possibly be this many user reviews, when none of them have played it? Oh well. I personally have been following this game since '06 and I will most likely (99% sure) agree with OXM UK and the PCG review that are currently out. Go Bioshock!
  86. TonyB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    The tried and tested fps gets absolutely polished. A storyline which is engaging with nice plot twists and 30's graphics and music which give a brilliant atmosphere. The big daddies are fantastic "Get up Mr Bubbles", -make your choice save or harvest the little girls. One irritation -the game did "Hang" several times and my 360 and needed restarting. Make sure you save alot if this The tried and tested fps gets absolutely polished. A storyline which is engaging with nice plot twists and 30's graphics and music which give a brilliant atmosphere. The big daddies are fantastic "Get up Mr Bubbles", -make your choice save or harvest the little girls. One irritation -the game did "Hang" several times and my 360 and needed restarting. Make sure you save alot if this happens to you. Expand
  87. RobertN.
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    I think this game is overrated - like Halo. I thought The Darkness and Prey were just as good and as original as this, but they didn't get nearly as high ratings. The graphics, sound, and story are all first-rate, but I thought the action was often claustrophobic. If you like highting hordes of enemies off at close range, you'll love it. I, myself, prefer to think about strategy I think this game is overrated - like Halo. I thought The Darkness and Prey were just as good and as original as this, but they didn't get nearly as high ratings. The graphics, sound, and story are all first-rate, but I thought the action was often claustrophobic. If you like highting hordes of enemies off at close range, you'll love it. I, myself, prefer to think about strategy before I go in all-guns-blazing, and this game doesn't allow the time for this. Also - I find the big Daddies are extremely difficult to kill. There's also never enough ammunition, and you find yourself constantly having to shoot up to rejuvenate or loading your guns to shoot. Having to do this really takes you out of the moment. The graphics are good, but I found them to be similar to those of Prey and The Darkness. I think the only reason this is getting such rave reviews is the amount of hype it got before it was released. All in all, a great and memorable game, but I'm not letting the hype blind me to the flaws I saw in it. Expand
  88. PaulM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    This game starts brilliantly! The atmosphere and visuals are impressive and the gameplay is good. Unforunately the beginning of the game is the best part about it. The more you play, the more repetative it gets. Shoot this, hack that, go here, go there... it gets very old, very quickly. Your human enemies are very limited (4 variations i think) and then you get 2 variations of the big This game starts brilliantly! The atmosphere and visuals are impressive and the gameplay is good. Unforunately the beginning of the game is the best part about it. The more you play, the more repetative it gets. Shoot this, hack that, go here, go there... it gets very old, very quickly. Your human enemies are very limited (4 variations i think) and then you get 2 variations of the big daddies. Once you work out a tactic for them (which wont take long) the gameplay is boring! I found this frustating as the game started so well. Even the environments later in the game don't have anywhere near the imagination of the earlier stages. Still a solid title but it has to many flaws to be a real classic in my eyes. Disappointing! Expand
  89. SteveM.
    Sep 13, 2007
    7
    Good effort but not the awesome experience every reviewer is claiming and definitely not a patch on System Shock! Very imaginative interior design but maiming splicers quickly gets dull. The game does start very well but quickly becomes quite ho-hum in terms of gameplay and puzzles. Plasmids are not innovative - they're just weapons!! Narrative techniques are ok but we saw all of Good effort but not the awesome experience every reviewer is claiming and definitely not a patch on System Shock! Very imaginative interior design but maiming splicers quickly gets dull. The game does start very well but quickly becomes quite ho-hum in terms of gameplay and puzzles. Plasmids are not innovative - they're just weapons!! Narrative techniques are ok but we saw all of this in HL years ago. To quote Public Enemy - Don't Believe the Hype. Expand
  90. JonM.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    If you think too hard about it, limited enemies, linear story, constant hacking and photographing then maybe you could knock down a few points. Look it as a whole and its clearly the best FPS experience, easily more enjoyable than the likes of Half Life and Halo.
  91. JamesP.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is a game that only comes around once in a long while. This game is a sure contender for the game of the year title and would certainly win if not for another first person heavy weight just on the horizon. The contols are flawless and the interface a joy to behold. The story is deep with enough for both the casual and hardcore gamers alike. The only drawback is the lack of Bioshock is a game that only comes around once in a long while. This game is a sure contender for the game of the year title and would certainly win if not for another first person heavy weight just on the horizon. The contols are flawless and the interface a joy to behold. The story is deep with enough for both the casual and hardcore gamers alike. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer. The idea of playing a BIG DADDY against other players is a dream we could only hope for in a possilble sequel. Fantastic game, this is our first true glimps into the NEXT-GEN of gaming. May it carry on as strong from here on out. Expand
  92. JoeM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    An incredibly atmospheric game, with a perfect sense of pace.
  93. RicardoC.
    Sep 2, 2007
    7
    Not so hot as they say. Story is a kind of a LSD bad trip. The places are extremely annoying and have repetitive compositions. Not scary at all. Predictive actions. DOOM 3 graphics and textures abuse from bump mapping and loss detail when you came near. The avatar's hand is extremely artificial and removes immersion form the game. A nice game for a weekend, but overhyped at it most. Not so hot as they say. Story is a kind of a LSD bad trip. The places are extremely annoying and have repetitive compositions. Not scary at all. Predictive actions. DOOM 3 graphics and textures abuse from bump mapping and loss detail when you came near. The avatar's hand is extremely artificial and removes immersion form the game. A nice game for a weekend, but overhyped at it most. Definetly a videogame game on a PC. Shoot, shoot, shoot, kill, kill, kill, blood, blood, blood, adam. Shoot, shoot, shoot, kill, kill, kill, blood, blood, blood, more adam. Expand
  94. MattR.
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    Impressive visuals and a pretty good storyline, but the gameplay is repeditive, linear, and just pretty boring. At times, even with brightness at or above the recommended level, you just can't see anything. It hasn't done anything other games haven't. Although it is pretty satisfying to smack enemies with the wrench. 3 for the graphics and voices, -7 for the gameplay and sounds.
  95. BruzzleElzzurb
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Best Games of All time. 1. Zelda: Ocarina of Time 2. Bioshock And for all those prudes who think the repetitative mutilation of genetically inferior sub-humans is a moral outrage, welcome to the twenty-first century.
  96. AndreT.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is a very good game. Nice graphics all the way around, from characters to surroundings. An amazing sound production that establish an eerie atmosphere. The gameplay is well executed, and I sure love the hacking part. The difficulty on default is quite high after a while. The story is well done to keep you attached to the action. The best game since Half Life 2.
  97. FerandoG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Best single player game since resident evil 4. If multiplayer satisfies you get gow or halo 3 but if you want a good old fashioned single player game with an awesome story and what not then you will agree this is the best game on the 360.
  98. VC
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    This game is way overhyped. Too linear and too easy. Pretty, but not especially fun.
  99. DAX
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Great game. The best FPS so far on the 360. Terrible ending. But no other game can match the speed or orginallity of Bioshock except maybe Halo!
  100. TopherG.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    No doubt the graphics and music are stunning. The story, while predictable, is one of the best in video games right now as well. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not as diverse as the artwork or atmosphere. Due to a limited amount of enemies, puzzles involving your abilities, the game's linear level progression and the monotony of the hacking system, the game becomes repetitive very No doubt the graphics and music are stunning. The story, while predictable, is one of the best in video games right now as well. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not as diverse as the artwork or atmosphere. Due to a limited amount of enemies, puzzles involving your abilities, the game's linear level progression and the monotony of the hacking system, the game becomes repetitive very quickly. Additionally, this game is very easy, even on the hardest difficulty, due to you respawning with no reprocussions. Several times you can just fight off enemies with your wrench because when you die everything stays the same. This game's only true boss battle (the end boss) was such a let down. He was so uninspired and easy, just a real let down. More boss battles that were immersive (and if you die you have to start over with the boss at full health) could have made this game great. A decent installment, however, this may be the most overrated game of all time. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.