User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2072 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Original and refreshing, has an amazing storyline aswell as an amazing atmosphere and setting. Enjoyable combat, maybe a little bit repetitive for some, the game paces well too.
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The most political game you will play on an Xbox, a great art direction, and simply brilliant. If you haven't played this yet its a must. Its not a game you can play for a couple of minutes then leave. Its a game that requires the user to be warped into its world
  3. May 21, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas thanWithout a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas than any novel I've ever read and its the only video game I quote in intellectual conversation regularly. What more can I say? It just has the feeling of something big for the video game industry. It reminds me of Citizen Kane in many aspects. And thats one of the highest compliments I can award. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    The shooting mechanics and controls may not be anything special, but this game has one of the most unique settings in video games. Throw in the eerie atmosphere, quirky characters and one of the most memorable plot twists in video game history, and you have what makes BioShock one of the greatest games this generation, if not of all time.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    There's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts outThere's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts out questions about the way our society functions. More than that though, the relationships you form with the little sisters once you've slayed the hulking Big Daddys, is one that brings to mind how corruption or humanity plays out. The choices you make in this game when deciding what to do with the little sisters really makes an impact on how your character has reacted to the situations that are at your disposal. So beyond artistic vision, tightly pitched and satisfying gameplay and beyond immersion, Bioshock is a game that speaks out in a way that no other videogame can even claim to approach. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various itemsI started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various items (weapons, plasmids, & tonics) to allow for some player creativity. And the story (mainly told by completing missions and finding a multitude of audio diaries) was above par for a video game plot line. The finale was a bit of a letdown, but it still didn't dispel my belief that this was a truly excellent game. Expand
  7. JustinB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially when you throw in all the bio upgrades such as telekinesis (mind over matter) and things like freezing, burning and sending electric shocks at your enemies. the art direction is academy award worthy,a world set in a decayed art deco city built underwater, you feel like you are playing a french sci-fi movie; mainly reminiscent of "city of the lost children". whichever way you look at this, this is sophistication in video game design. people who play games to so called "pwn-or own" or whatever might gripe about this being too dark and slow and not being online...but thats okay, i have played games with these people and frankly dont understand how they get any enjoyment out of games when they run around like roaches and shooting enemies like products rolling on a factory band, yelling and screaming through the process...living a virtual self-indulgent pre-adolescence orgasm. if you are however a grown up and intelligent gamer who despise hypes and mindless commercial traps to steal your hard earned money, Bioshock comes as a fresh option to adress your next-gen kicks and satisfy all the same...and a lot more. buy it now, you will miss out if you don't. Expand
  8. May 9, 2011
    10
    A really new generation game: use of the graphics in an inmersive way, great sound, great graphics and quite good playability. I really recommend it! Don't miss this jewel!!
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, no other word for it, the graphics are amazing and have something I like to call style, the plot is extremely amazing and the gameplay is also extremely awesome. It covers all it's bases and is extremely creative and original. This game is a must have.
  10. Brandon
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just proves how well made and brilliant this peice of art that we call a game is. They just raised the bars for every game. Expand
  11. ToddN.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Great story, great visuals, unique gameplay. Fun and rewarding experience. A masterpiece.
  12. Andyman
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Halo, you're going about it all wrong. This is about taking your time and letting the ruined splendor of Rapture truly sink in. BioShock gets better with every passing minute and I can't wait to play through it at least a couple more times. I can't wait to see the Live Marketplace download add-ons. Expand
  13. HobagS.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    A pure masterpiece, visually stunning in every way, the most interesting game i have ever played
  14. AlexanderD.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This game was simply an amazing experience to say the least. Everything about it was unique from the weapon upgrades to the underwater utopia that the game takes place in. You can hack turrets, set traps, or go in head on to fight the Big Daddy in order to collect the ADAM from the Little Sister. Watch out for those Splicers as you make your way through the city or Rapture!
  15. NickM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    This game is a masterpeice. Everything about it is fun. It graphics are amazing, its gameplay, amazing, and its storytelling, double amazing! there are no cutscenes where you cant play. it really marks that this year is the year when sick games are gunna come out. it makes up for that overrated pile of $#@! gears of war.
  16. DaPimp
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    One of the best games on 360, but 9.7 is a score too high. I absolutely loved the story and the atmosphere, both were very realistic, creepy and original, but the gameplay wasn't that fantastic. The shooting aspect of the game is fun, but doesn't quite feel like a true FPS. And even though it is true when people say it is supposed to be something more than a shooter, why are you One of the best games on 360, but 9.7 is a score too high. I absolutely loved the story and the atmosphere, both were very realistic, creepy and original, but the gameplay wasn't that fantastic. The shooting aspect of the game is fun, but doesn't quite feel like a true FPS. And even though it is true when people say it is supposed to be something more than a shooter, why are you firing your weapon 90% of the time? the plasmid system is cool, but feels limited. the customization is good for a shooter, but compared to other adventure/RPG's I've played, it is s***. honestly, it is just plasmids and tonics. Wow. The graphics were great, especially the water. I just don't see why people think it is so amazing. As a matter of fact, the whole game is amazing, except the most important part of a game, its gameplay. Everyone else like clint or Jeremy S. obviously haven;t played a true adventure or FPS like Half-Life, or Halo, wih good stories and amazing controls. This game is good, but I see no good reason to call it one of the best games ever just because you were amused by the story. yes, its great, but not fantastic. Probably the most overrated game of 2007, which is a shame, since it is quite good. Expand
  17. BarryP.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Very good graphically, gameplay is more or less the same as most decent FPS's apart from the AI being extremelly advanced. Overall though, highly overrated, probably as overrated as Gears Of War & Halo series. Graphics - 10 Gameplay - 8 Value - 8 Would have given it an 8.5 but rounded it up to a 9.
  18. HectorH.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    The game it self are virtually stunning. The water, the enemie's A.I is fantastic. Those who believe that the gore and the blood were completely unnecessary should have picked a different title because there is a big fat "M" in the cover. The team behind this deserve the fruit it bears.
  19. Feartrain
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    The most imaginative, dark and twisted piece of fantasy gaming ever! This post-apocalyptic, dystopian, semi-RPG survival-horror shooter, will trap you miles beneath the surface, giving you the sense of hopelessness and the desperation of no escape.
  20. DanielW.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Freakin' awesome game, great story, great game mechanics, there is no equal!!
  21. MattL.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This is a revolution in gaming with amazing graphics, gameplay, and storyline. Possibly every bit as good Half-Life 2 was in 2004. I only wish my friends would stop complaining about it not having online already.
  22. TomS.
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    Amazing game. I didn't want to leave the amazing world of rapture .
  23. LaurenP
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Very good!
  24. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Bioshock has to be the most immersive game ever made. Bioshock is a masterpiece of narrative story telling and graphical atmosphere. The inhabitants of Rapture are freaky but oh so real and crazy. The presentation is amongst the best on 360 let alone the PS3. There is absolutely no denying that this is visually and narritively one of the best games ever created on this generation of consoles.
  25. ChristofferBS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Plasmids, shoot electricity and fire. Make enemys, their cameras and turrents fight against eachother and many more. Plus the moral choices. Little Sisters give u adam that let u buy more plasmids and plasmid upgrades. Know u can kill them and take more adam or change them back to normal girls and get less adam. Kill a little girl for more or save her for less. I got my TV in like 2002. It is like 2 1/2 feet by 2 1/2 feet and it looks like hd on a lcd. Expand
  26. MikeJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Like said before, it's almost nothing compared to the old System Shock 2, but this is what gaming has become today. And for that, it's pretty good.
  27. MichaelB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Puts a different twist on the also fantastic game system shock 2.
  28. Teli
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Unique and exquisite. The moral choices, the atmosphere the art combined into an unforgetable experience. The were so many ocasions where I would run out of an area through an interconnecting tunnel that displays the underwater city and realise that I completely forgot that I was under water. Very engaging. A must have title.
  29. JayK.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best experiences in gaming. Expand
  30. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Bioshock certainly isn't a terrible game by any means, I played it all the way through to the finish and certainly had some fun in the process, however two fundemental design choices kill any real excitement that the game has to offer - Firstly you can only carry a certain amount of ammo - now this wouldn't be so bad but you can go from full to empty in no time at all, which doesn't addBioshock certainly isn't a terrible game by any means, I played it all the way through to the finish and certainly had some fun in the process, however two fundemental design choices kill any real excitement that the game has to offer - Firstly you can only carry a certain amount of ammo - now this wouldn't be so bad but you can go from full to empty in no time at all, which doesn't add anything to the tension, it just means that you spend ages searching every nook and cranny for additional ammo, which you then despense with in seconds again, on so on, and so on; it really does turn sections of the game into nothing but a chore. Secondly, if you die you just re-spawn a few steps away, there's no real bad side to dying in the game and once you realise this the whole excercise feels pointless. There's a few nice bits in there, but it's just a very average shooter for me that won't live very long in the memory. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.