User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2065 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Original and refreshing, has an amazing storyline aswell as an amazing atmosphere and setting. Enjoyable combat, maybe a little bit repetitive for some, the game paces well too.
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The most political game you will play on an Xbox, a great art direction, and simply brilliant. If you haven't played this yet its a must. Its not a game you can play for a couple of minutes then leave. Its a game that requires the user to be warped into its world
  3. May 21, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas thanWithout a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas than any novel I've ever read and its the only video game I quote in intellectual conversation regularly. What more can I say? It just has the feeling of something big for the video game industry. It reminds me of Citizen Kane in many aspects. And thats one of the highest compliments I can award. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    The shooting mechanics and controls may not be anything special, but this game has one of the most unique settings in video games. Throw in the eerie atmosphere, quirky characters and one of the most memorable plot twists in video game history, and you have what makes BioShock one of the greatest games this generation, if not of all time.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    There's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts outThere's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts out questions about the way our society functions. More than that though, the relationships you form with the little sisters once you've slayed the hulking Big Daddys, is one that brings to mind how corruption or humanity plays out. The choices you make in this game when deciding what to do with the little sisters really makes an impact on how your character has reacted to the situations that are at your disposal. So beyond artistic vision, tightly pitched and satisfying gameplay and beyond immersion, Bioshock is a game that speaks out in a way that no other videogame can even claim to approach. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various itemsI started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various items (weapons, plasmids, & tonics) to allow for some player creativity. And the story (mainly told by completing missions and finding a multitude of audio diaries) was above par for a video game plot line. The finale was a bit of a letdown, but it still didn't dispel my belief that this was a truly excellent game. Expand
  7. May 9, 2011
    10
    A really new generation game: use of the graphics in an inmersive way, great sound, great graphics and quite good playability. I really recommend it! Don't miss this jewel!!
  8. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, no other word for it, the graphics are amazing and have something I like to call style, the plot is extremely amazing and the gameplay is also extremely awesome. It covers all it's bases and is extremely creative and original. This game is a must have.
  9. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Bioshock is the most original game to come out in the past decade and is indeed a masterpiece. Not only is it the most fun I have had with a game in years, it is also one that takes storytelling in the game medium to a whole new level. It is a deep and complex journey into the player's own mind and the world of rapture that has forever changed my views of "player choice" in video games. ItBioshock is the most original game to come out in the past decade and is indeed a masterpiece. Not only is it the most fun I have had with a game in years, it is also one that takes storytelling in the game medium to a whole new level. It is a deep and complex journey into the player's own mind and the world of rapture that has forever changed my views of "player choice" in video games. It is a game deserving of mulitple playthroughs (so far I have done 8) and will be remembered years from now as the classic it is. Expand
  10. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Solid game. I liked it a lot. The unique setting and characters made it fun to play and to watch. Very close to giving it a "10", but some of the repetitiveness and pointless tasks cost it a point.
  11. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Bioshock is a fine example of the perfect FPS. Action is faced paced and balanced. The random spawn points for "splicers" mean that even if you die and have to back track a little, you never face the same enemies in the same locations twice. Oh, and I should probably mention that Bioshock has one of the greatest storylines in game history.
  12. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Probably my favorite game of all time. Story:Breathtaking. Visuals:Beautiful. Gameplay:Indescribable (even when it's just the same thing that you just did ten minutes ago). It's something that you really just have to experience for yourself. The most important thing is to not let the time period get you down. Until it was combined with this game, I hated absolutely everything about thisProbably my favorite game of all time. Story:Breathtaking. Visuals:Beautiful. Gameplay:Indescribable (even when it's just the same thing that you just did ten minutes ago). It's something that you really just have to experience for yourself. The most important thing is to not let the time period get you down. Until it was combined with this game, I hated absolutely everything about this time in American and World history, and I'm still uninterested in it now, but it is just so perfect for this game. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    This is one of those few games that comes along every once in a while that makes you question what can be done in gaming, in terms of environment, atmosphere, and writing. The combat isn't the best I have seen though, but it is competent enough to play through the game and enjoy it. It is very good looking, creepy, and the story has moments that may blow your mind. The big downside is theThis is one of those few games that comes along every once in a while that makes you question what can be done in gaming, in terms of environment, atmosphere, and writing. The combat isn't the best I have seen though, but it is competent enough to play through the game and enjoy it. It is very good looking, creepy, and the story has moments that may blow your mind. The big downside is the pacing, it doesn't get really good until the middle and the last third limps along. I'm not saying the middle is the only good part, but the middle is excellent and the rest is just really good. At least worth a rental. Expand
  14. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    Fantastic shooter, amazing story, stunning graphics, great replay value. Game of the year isn't good enough for this game it deserves GAME OF THE DECADE. If you do not enjoy this game you don't enjoy games period!
  15. BoG
    Nov 8, 2010
    10
    There are those games that you know are nowhere near perfect, but you still love. There are games that are mechanically seamless, but fail to strike an emotional chord with you. And then there are those games that hit the mark on both counts. Bioshock is one of those, and it has carved out a place in this gamer's heart occupied by very few other games. I could talk about it all day, butThere are those games that you know are nowhere near perfect, but you still love. There are games that are mechanically seamless, but fail to strike an emotional chord with you. And then there are those games that hit the mark on both counts. Bioshock is one of those, and it has carved out a place in this gamer's heart occupied by very few other games. I could talk about it all day, but the bottom line is that for most people, this will be one of the best games you've every played. Buy it and enjoy. Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is honestly my favorite game of all time. i can't believe how amazing this game is. it is like a movie in a game. from the story to the game play to the amazing graphics Bioshock is a definite game to buy. people may say that the scenery is repetitive,but it is only a small problem it doesnt matter. i did not notice it as i played. it is a whole new gaming experience. so many newThis is honestly my favorite game of all time. i can't believe how amazing this game is. it is like a movie in a game. from the story to the game play to the amazing graphics Bioshock is a definite game to buy. people may say that the scenery is repetitive,but it is only a small problem it doesnt matter. i did not notice it as i played. it is a whole new gaming experience. so many new concepts and gives the player a choice between good and evil. with a unexpected twist at the end. Bio shock amazed me to the point were i could not stop blaying 12 hours straight. i recomend this to all gamers. Expand
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I went into this game without too much in the way of expectations. I was immediately drawn into the story, scenery, and game play. I was sad when I reached the end, because I wanted to keep going with this game, it was brilliant.
  18. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is a game I found hard to review, part of me wanted to give it a perfect 10, but I couldn't bring myself to do it because there is one part in the game where for a little while your bored, granted it does get fun again shortly after that, but it still hinders the experience, the game immediately sucks you into it's creepy yet wonderful world, the graphics are unique and remind meBioshock is a game I found hard to review, part of me wanted to give it a perfect 10, but I couldn't bring myself to do it because there is one part in the game where for a little while your bored, granted it does get fun again shortly after that, but it still hinders the experience, the game immediately sucks you into it's creepy yet wonderful world, the graphics are unique and remind me a little of Fable just because there different from what others are doing, the sound is almost always perfect though there are times where you'll hear people screaming and talking at the same time which makes it disorienting at times, and the controls are great, granted it doesn't do anything new as far as gameplay than your basic FPS, but it does what most other games can't, it makes you feel, this is a truly unique game just shy of perfection, a must buy. Expand
  19. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    being a fan of Ayn Rand and her writing, I loved this game from start to finish and still play it.

    listening for the "enemies" you are about to face and their rantings became a game in itself with me.

    I still play it.
  20. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Utterly brilliant. This is hands down the best videogame of all time. The only games that even come close to it are Half -Life 2 and Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Gameplay, atmosphere, graphics, story, originality, controls. BioShock has them all. A true masterpiece, worthy of only a 10 out of 10.
  21. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I believe this to be the finest video game ever made.Easily the best story,audio and setting in gaming.
    The visuals are excellent, as well as the environments and enemies.Weapons,upgades,tonics and plasmids are all fantastic.
    But it's the narrative that stands far above any other game.As you move through Rapture piecing together its fall and your role in it through the radio and audio diaries,you are drawn into the world of Rapture itself,the characters and enemies that populate it ,until it all clicks together in the best **** in gaming history.
    Enough talk,would you kindly buy this now.
    Expand
  22. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    An incredibly atmospheric that shows more creativity and life that any other modern first person shooter. The world of Rapture is fully fleshed out and strangely believable with a cast of interesting and fantastically warped characters. Plasmids add a new dimension to gameplay and are used cleverly throughout. A masterpiece
  23. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    The absolute perfect video game experience - I cannot find a single flaw in the entire package. Bioshock rivals only the best intellectual movies with its tremendous storytelling.
  24. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oh boy, this game was simply wonderful... i love fps and bioshock managed to mix the shooting with a great plot and a submarine city filled with mysteries... just loved it! there were parts that were really intense, like when the main character finally met ryan, i don't think i will forget that anytime soon Expand
  25. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect mix between adventure, shooting, with also few RPG elements; add in a great setting, a good storyline with a great twist, with just a bit of exploration too, and we get THE single best shooter of this generation. It is the game that improves almost everything that games like Half Life, Doom and Deus Ex did, but also gives its own signrature. It's not easy to tell what's wrongThe perfect mix between adventure, shooting, with also few RPG elements; add in a great setting, a good storyline with a great twist, with just a bit of exploration too, and we get THE single best shooter of this generation. It is the game that improves almost everything that games like Half Life, Doom and Deus Ex did, but also gives its own signrature. It's not easy to tell what's wrong here, because the flaws, if there are, are very few. Probably the lack of multiplayer, which "maybe" could have add more time into the game, but the game can last almost 20 hours if played with calm and by exploring properly every level, so I'm rather glad they didn't add it. Maybe the character could have used more screentime but instead we mostly see his hands and almost no dialogue from him (if there was any). Maybe we could have use a few more enemies, since you'll often fight one type and the others are usually used for special occasions. But even then, they hardly felt repetitive, and they could give you a challenge. The weapons aren't "that" many and you might use only a few during the game. But on the other hand, they are upgradeable and well balanced between them, and I enjoyed varying my arsenal. I remember also that a lot of the powers (both plasmids and tonics) weren't so useful, not because they were bad, but because you could use only a limited amount of them and youcouldn't predict which one to use in a certain moment (like the "big dady hypnotism" plasmid. For tonics, it depended too much on the situation and gamestyle, and eventually limiting the choices on tonics you need more). On the other hand, we get the evolution of the Gravity Gun from Half life: Telekinesis. And with that power alone, you have yourself a very strong weapon that consumes no ammo (since you can even use the corpses against them, and the cost in ADAM is really minimum, if non-existant). As you noticed, I am trying to find some big flaws, but if anything I'm just showing nitpicks. Probably there are some big problems in the game, but I cannot find anything but small issues, because the game does almost everything right. It has even variation, something that modern shooters don't even attempt to give us, and the graphics are both colorful but also very spooky, with a great "retro" theme for the pictures and images. There's almost nothing going wrong in this game but I don't believe in the perfect game, but in either case this is the shooter you must play in order to see what this generation was capable of with these new consoles. It's what all FPS should do in this generation. And that is "improving". Expand
  26. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    I just have three words, Story, BAD-ASS (compound words count as 1), Abilities. From the get go this game had my attention and didn't drop it. I liked all the narrative, from the treasure hunt finds to the subtle clues as to the depth of Rapture. This game broke so many barriers on so many fronts and yet I'm going to have to ding it for its controls. It's a compelling piece of artI just have three words, Story, BAD-ASS (compound words count as 1), Abilities. From the get go this game had my attention and didn't drop it. I liked all the narrative, from the treasure hunt finds to the subtle clues as to the depth of Rapture. This game broke so many barriers on so many fronts and yet I'm going to have to ding it for its controls. It's a compelling piece of art shrink wrapped in a clunky interface. Expand
  27. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    A disturbingly intelligent game which is a gem in a sea of uninspired shooters. Bioshock overwhelms the likes of Halo, Call of Duty and their various clones with its sheer mental concepts. It is not just a point and shoot game like others, it is a fully made movie in which you get an active part instead of watching. While you do shoot a lot of people, most likely it is the characters andA disturbingly intelligent game which is a gem in a sea of uninspired shooters. Bioshock overwhelms the likes of Halo, Call of Duty and their various clones with its sheer mental concepts. It is not just a point and shoot game like others, it is a fully made movie in which you get an active part instead of watching. While you do shoot a lot of people, most likely it is the characters and not the weapons you will be remembering when you are done. The lack of a multiplayer was a bit of a put down, but not as much as what a horrible multiplayer would have been. Expand
  28. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is a good game but it does have flaw. I was also really hoping that they did more with the water coming into Rapture, but I guess Bioshock 2 made up for that.
  29. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the few games I hold up as art. Deep atmosphere a complex intriguing story-line, tense combat(which I admit can be a bit dull and repetitive on an easy difficulty), and a plot twist on par with Psycho and The Sixth Sense. This isn't like another game, the characters and plot elements actually symbolize things, and has messages that have commentate on issues in the modern world,like how Atlas/Fontaine symbolizes a politician, or adam symbolizes money. Expand
  30. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    The originality in the game is truly spectacular. The plot written remarkably well, as it makes the character feel the exact emotions the character should be feeling. Also the way villainy and the antagonist was perceived as, made the game very compelling and truly unique in it's time. It's graphics are good, and they add well to the atmosphere, it also adds well to the plot, making youThe originality in the game is truly spectacular. The plot written remarkably well, as it makes the character feel the exact emotions the character should be feeling. Also the way villainy and the antagonist was perceived as, made the game very compelling and truly unique in it's time. It's graphics are good, and they add well to the atmosphere, it also adds well to the plot, making you understand how bad things actually are. The game relies heavily on emotional fear, rather than jump scares, which succeeds in actually giving the player a scare. It also makes the player wonder, how evil and maniac like a human can become. However, there are some down sides, the RPG part of the game is put simply horrible, you pretty much know what your choices will lead to, and compared to the rest of the game, it does not really leave much of an impact. The gameplay could be a tad smoother, but it does not in anyway change the experience. The major reason this game is not getting anything higher, is the endings, after an emotional roller-coaster, and a generally fun awesome experience, the ending seems a but flat and does not live up to the actual plot of the game at all... I does not give the nice heart warming ending that a good person should feel, nor the sinister and twisted ending a bad player should feel. It just falls short compared to the rest of the game. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.