User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2072 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Original and refreshing, has an amazing storyline aswell as an amazing atmosphere and setting. Enjoyable combat, maybe a little bit repetitive for some, the game paces well too.
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The most political game you will play on an Xbox, a great art direction, and simply brilliant. If you haven't played this yet its a must. Its not a game you can play for a couple of minutes then leave. Its a game that requires the user to be warped into its world
  3. May 21, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas thanWithout a doubt my favorite game of all time. I knew it was one of the greats when I played it back in 2007 but reserved judgment for my favorite game of all time until it was a couple years old to make sure I wasn't just being blinded by the shiny new thing. Now I am certain. As much a philosophical journey as it is an entertainment ride, this does a better job at conveying its ideas than any novel I've ever read and its the only video game I quote in intellectual conversation regularly. What more can I say? It just has the feeling of something big for the video game industry. It reminds me of Citizen Kane in many aspects. And thats one of the highest compliments I can award. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    The shooting mechanics and controls may not be anything special, but this game has one of the most unique settings in video games. Throw in the eerie atmosphere, quirky characters and one of the most memorable plot twists in video game history, and you have what makes BioShock one of the greatest games this generation, if not of all time.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    There's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts outThere's no denying it- Bioshock is the best XBOX 360 game to date. The first ten minutes of the game is all you need to demonstrate how elegant and mesmerising the game really is. Rapture is a dystopian city buried beneath sea level, where psychotic denizens have run amuck. Atmosphere is what creates Bioshock, and there are many moments where Bioshock breaks the fourth wall and puts out questions about the way our society functions. More than that though, the relationships you form with the little sisters once you've slayed the hulking Big Daddys, is one that brings to mind how corruption or humanity plays out. The choices you make in this game when deciding what to do with the little sisters really makes an impact on how your character has reacted to the situations that are at your disposal. So beyond artistic vision, tightly pitched and satisfying gameplay and beyond immersion, Bioshock is a game that speaks out in a way that no other videogame can even claim to approach. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various itemsI started this game twice and couldn't really get into it. So I put it aside for about a year. Then I came back to it, and in the course of about 5 days I finished it to both game and achievement completion. I'm quite glad that I did - as BioShock turned out to be a truly fun game to play. While fairly linear there is just enough variation in the decision making tree for various items (weapons, plasmids, & tonics) to allow for some player creativity. And the story (mainly told by completing missions and finding a multitude of audio diaries) was above par for a video game plot line. The finale was a bit of a letdown, but it still didn't dispel my belief that this was a truly excellent game. Expand
  7. JustinB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially along with "future wars" on amiga back in 1990, Bioshock is the most artistically inspiring game I have ever played. half life 2 comes close but bioshock is a different animal in every aspect. the amount of freedom is mind blowing, even though it takes place indoors. The freedom to exploit those havok physics in a full and modified unreal engine such as this never gets old. especially when you throw in all the bio upgrades such as telekinesis (mind over matter) and things like freezing, burning and sending electric shocks at your enemies. the art direction is academy award worthy,a world set in a decayed art deco city built underwater, you feel like you are playing a french sci-fi movie; mainly reminiscent of "city of the lost children". whichever way you look at this, this is sophistication in video game design. people who play games to so called "pwn-or own" or whatever might gripe about this being too dark and slow and not being online...but thats okay, i have played games with these people and frankly dont understand how they get any enjoyment out of games when they run around like roaches and shooting enemies like products rolling on a factory band, yelling and screaming through the process...living a virtual self-indulgent pre-adolescence orgasm. if you are however a grown up and intelligent gamer who despise hypes and mindless commercial traps to steal your hard earned money, Bioshock comes as a fresh option to adress your next-gen kicks and satisfy all the same...and a lot more. buy it now, you will miss out if you don't. Expand
  8. May 9, 2011
    10
    A really new generation game: use of the graphics in an inmersive way, great sound, great graphics and quite good playability. I really recommend it! Don't miss this jewel!!
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, no other word for it, the graphics are amazing and have something I like to call style, the plot is extremely amazing and the gameplay is also extremely awesome. It covers all it's bases and is extremely creative and original. This game is a must have.
  10. Brandon
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just The only way to describe this game is brilliant. Simply brilliant, vibrant world that just goes so smoothly. I absolutely love the Art direction of this game along as the music and theme of this game. Above it all, it's fun to play. It's a nice mix of FPS, and RPG. I really hope people pay attention to all the reviews about this game, because nothing below a 9/10 or 90% just proves how well made and brilliant this peice of art that we call a game is. They just raised the bars for every game. Expand
  11. ToddN.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Great story, great visuals, unique gameplay. Fun and rewarding experience. A masterpiece.
  12. Andyman
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Condemned meets Doom, and better than both combined (and I absolutely love those 2 games!). Anyone who rates this game below a 9 needs to play it again on a large HDTV, in the dark, with the volume cranked. Anything less than that does a disservice to this absolutely breathtaking game. BioShock isn't a run-n-gun fragfest (although it has its moments)... if you're playing it like Halo, you're going about it all wrong. This is about taking your time and letting the ruined splendor of Rapture truly sink in. BioShock gets better with every passing minute and I can't wait to play through it at least a couple more times. I can't wait to see the Live Marketplace download add-ons. Expand
  13. HobagS.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    A pure masterpiece, visually stunning in every way, the most interesting game i have ever played
  14. AlexanderD.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This game was simply an amazing experience to say the least. Everything about it was unique from the weapon upgrades to the underwater utopia that the game takes place in. You can hack turrets, set traps, or go in head on to fight the Big Daddy in order to collect the ADAM from the Little Sister. Watch out for those Splicers as you make your way through the city or Rapture!
  15. NickM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    This game is a masterpeice. Everything about it is fun. It graphics are amazing, its gameplay, amazing, and its storytelling, double amazing! there are no cutscenes where you cant play. it really marks that this year is the year when sick games are gunna come out. it makes up for that overrated pile of $#@! gears of war.
  16. DaPimp
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    One of the best games on 360, but 9.7 is a score too high. I absolutely loved the story and the atmosphere, both were very realistic, creepy and original, but the gameplay wasn't that fantastic. The shooting aspect of the game is fun, but doesn't quite feel like a true FPS. And even though it is true when people say it is supposed to be something more than a shooter, why are you One of the best games on 360, but 9.7 is a score too high. I absolutely loved the story and the atmosphere, both were very realistic, creepy and original, but the gameplay wasn't that fantastic. The shooting aspect of the game is fun, but doesn't quite feel like a true FPS. And even though it is true when people say it is supposed to be something more than a shooter, why are you firing your weapon 90% of the time? the plasmid system is cool, but feels limited. the customization is good for a shooter, but compared to other adventure/RPG's I've played, it is s***. honestly, it is just plasmids and tonics. Wow. The graphics were great, especially the water. I just don't see why people think it is so amazing. As a matter of fact, the whole game is amazing, except the most important part of a game, its gameplay. Everyone else like clint or Jeremy S. obviously haven;t played a true adventure or FPS like Half-Life, or Halo, wih good stories and amazing controls. This game is good, but I see no good reason to call it one of the best games ever just because you were amused by the story. yes, its great, but not fantastic. Probably the most overrated game of 2007, which is a shame, since it is quite good. Expand
  17. BarryP.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Very good graphically, gameplay is more or less the same as most decent FPS's apart from the AI being extremelly advanced. Overall though, highly overrated, probably as overrated as Gears Of War & Halo series. Graphics - 10 Gameplay - 8 Value - 8 Would have given it an 8.5 but rounded it up to a 9.
  18. HectorH.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    The game it self are virtually stunning. The water, the enemie's A.I is fantastic. Those who believe that the gore and the blood were completely unnecessary should have picked a different title because there is a big fat "M" in the cover. The team behind this deserve the fruit it bears.
  19. Feartrain
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    The most imaginative, dark and twisted piece of fantasy gaming ever! This post-apocalyptic, dystopian, semi-RPG survival-horror shooter, will trap you miles beneath the surface, giving you the sense of hopelessness and the desperation of no escape.
  20. DanielW.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Freakin' awesome game, great story, great game mechanics, there is no equal!!
  21. MattL.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This is a revolution in gaming with amazing graphics, gameplay, and storyline. Possibly every bit as good Half-Life 2 was in 2004. I only wish my friends would stop complaining about it not having online already.
  22. TomS.
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    Amazing game. I didn't want to leave the amazing world of rapture .
  23. LaurenP
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Very good!
  24. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Bioshock has to be the most immersive game ever made. Bioshock is a masterpiece of narrative story telling and graphical atmosphere. The inhabitants of Rapture are freaky but oh so real and crazy. The presentation is amongst the best on 360 let alone the PS3. There is absolutely no denying that this is visually and narritively one of the best games ever created on this generation of consoles.
  25. ChristofferBS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Most people who give this game a bad score is because they did not beat it or they find it to challenging. At first the story is very basic but there are many twist that make the basics complicated. Many people compare this to HL 2. Why? there are only a couple things that are similar. Crowbar and Wrench. Deep story. that is pretty much it. I never saw Gordon Freeman use Plasmids. Plasmids, shoot electricity and fire. Make enemys, their cameras and turrents fight against eachother and many more. Plus the moral choices. Little Sisters give u adam that let u buy more plasmids and plasmid upgrades. Know u can kill them and take more adam or change them back to normal girls and get less adam. Kill a little girl for more or save her for less. I got my TV in like 2002. It is like 2 1/2 feet by 2 1/2 feet and it looks like hd on a lcd. Expand
  26. MikeJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Like said before, it's almost nothing compared to the old System Shock 2, but this is what gaming has become today. And for that, it's pretty good.
  27. MichaelB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Puts a different twist on the also fantastic game system shock 2.
  28. Teli
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Unique and exquisite. The moral choices, the atmosphere the art combined into an unforgetable experience. The were so many ocasions where I would run out of an area through an interconnecting tunnel that displays the underwater city and realise that I completely forgot that I was under water. Very engaging. A must have title.
  29. JayK.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best Easily the best game I ever played, and I've played a lot of games. Atmosphere, creativity, and gameplay are incredible. Mechanics, art, sound, levels, and immersion are incredible. The only fault I can find is that the game IS too easy, and I don't like my games hard. But if you don't save and reload too often, and if you play on hard, you are guaranteed one of the best experiences in gaming. Expand
  30. LarsB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best game experience since resident evil 4! Excellent storytelling.
  31. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    I try to avoid superlatives in my life, and even more so in my game reviews. That being said, this game is the single best game ever made. This is true art, poetry in motion, a triumph of, and tribute to, the beginning of art in gaming. Gameplay is flawless, storyline is engaging, graphics are glorious. However, the true joy of it is in a few things you wouldn't usually look for at I try to avoid superlatives in my life, and even more so in my game reviews. That being said, this game is the single best game ever made. This is true art, poetry in motion, a triumph of, and tribute to, the beginning of art in gaming. Gameplay is flawless, storyline is engaging, graphics are glorious. However, the true joy of it is in a few things you wouldn't usually look for at all, let alone expect to change a game. First, philosophy. It truly makes the intelligent mind wonder at the possibilities of mankind, to all the little what-ifs hidden in the human psyche. It allows one a glimpse into mankind, and into our future. Second, and this is going to surprise you, sound design. The musical accompaniment adds a depth to the horror you see around you by simply ignoring it. The innocence of what you are hearing combined with the horror of what you are seeing adds a remarkable amount to the already unfathomable depth of the experience. All in all, if this isn't the perfect gaming experience, then I am left to wonder if we will ever see it. Expand
  32. TrevorM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games that I have ever played. The story is immersive and has numerous twists and turns. The graphics, music and gameplay all exceptionally well done and really draw you into the story. This game rasises the bar for what a video game can be. A must have.
  33. ZiftK.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is successful in presenting a tremendous amount of fun, and artistic detail. The gameplay will keep you at the edge of your seat, and the graphics will "wow" you. Although there's no multi player, the over all package of Bioshock will suffice. In short, if you don't want your average FPS, go out and get Bioshock, a sure game of the year contender.
  34. GaryR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    I was hooked on this game for weeks, but then i completed it and got all the achievments. So that was the end.. This game would eclipse halo 3 if it had a multiplayer... almost game of the year.
  35. SaulX.
    Oct 7, 2007
    8
    Great game, but no replay value once its done its done i tried going through twice but it got way to boring, the first time through , is lots of fun, I prefer halo 3 anyday since after u beat it, thats just the begining.
  36. KyleM.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    I love the fact of the game that you can get random objects and make your own ammo and other cool things out of it.
  37. JonH.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    This game does everthing right from the superb visuals to the rollercoaster of a story. its halo meets prey meets oblivion meets system shock2 meeets ...... its everhing a firstperson shooter should be and more.The guns are thought out and feel genuine and the relationship between the little sister and the big daddys is haunting in its innocence. there are downfalls to the game such as This game does everthing right from the superb visuals to the rollercoaster of a story. its halo meets prey meets oblivion meets system shock2 meeets ...... its everhing a firstperson shooter should be and more.The guns are thought out and feel genuine and the relationship between the little sister and the big daddys is haunting in its innocence. there are downfalls to the game such as backtracking to collect ammo or pieces of anything to make ammuntion but it makes the game last longer. overall this is going to be a bigger summer hit than that weird song about 'umbrellas.' Expand
  38. AxelD.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    I recently played the demo to this game several times.I absolutely love this game,the controlls are perfect,the game looks beautiful to say the least you can.I love just messing around with the crazies in rapture using my infero o' doom and hack every machine i can find esspecially the turret near the end...If you have the cash and even if you dont buy this game...It is no longer a choice...
  39. JonathanP.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game, only thing which holds it back in my opinion is the lack of multiplayer. I find it hard to give a game the full score if there is no multiplayer, especially given the current standard of games. Other than that it is a perfect game.
  40. JoelC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Its just INSANE how good this game is. It really really sucks you in, and doesn't let go. Theres so much stuff to do, this isn't your usual blast level to level. Its almost too intense, all these customizations, battles with Big Daddy's that only ultimately lead to death. Just insanity. Get this game. You will not regret it.
  41. SethH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Amazing. Spectacular. Intriguing. The superlatives could go on and on. The main point is, THIS is the reason games should be played. Intricate and unique weapon system, creepy as hell atmosphere, indescribably well-written story. It may only be single player, but to me, a great experience once or twice is better than the same experience over and over again online.
  42. Brent
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is absolutely amazing...in my opinion it is one of the best games of all time. The game is incredible in every aspect. Great graphics, gameplay, storyline, etc. This game will definitely be a contender for game of the year. If you own a 360 and are old enough, then pick this game up....you won't regret it.
  43. WaltG.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    The game is a masterpiece of design, atmosphere, and gripping storytelling. I have to say, when you see "Aesthetics are a moral imperative," written in blood in the floor of a surgery ward, I had to turn the lights back on.
  44. CodyB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    PERFECTION! 20 OUT OF 10. This game was well worth the wait. When it kept getting pushed back, I thought, " it better be worth it!" It is. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics (with a few glitches here and there) are beautiful. The best part about this game is the story and the decisions to make. When they give you the decision to kill or save the little sisters, you realize just how deepPERFECTION! 20 OUT OF 10. This game was well worth the wait. When it kept getting pushed back, I thought, " it better be worth it!" It is. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics (with a few glitches here and there) are beautiful. The best part about this game is the story and the decisions to make. When they give you the decision to kill or save the little sisters, you realize just how deep this can get. I chose to save the first little sister. The cutscene is full of emotion. Try it once. It doesnt reward you as much, but just ty it. You will see what I am talking about. Its about time that there is a quality FPS on the 360. The best game so far. Expand
  45. JulianosT.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I read a review of someone who gave this game a zero. He gave it that score because of the realistic gore, what you do to the people in the game, and the fact he thought it was inappropirate for all ages. I believe that actually caring about what you do to people in a game is a mark about how good a game is. When you feel guilty about what you do to someone, even in a game, it makes you I read a review of someone who gave this game a zero. He gave it that score because of the realistic gore, what you do to the people in the game, and the fact he thought it was inappropirate for all ages. I believe that actually caring about what you do to people in a game is a mark about how good a game is. When you feel guilty about what you do to someone, even in a game, it makes you look into who you really are. Bioshock is the only game I have ever played that has made me do that. I admit that I am not very far in the game, but I am already hooked. I have never seen a game with such good water graphics before. The enemies are intelligent enough to jump into the water when they catch on fire. The gameplay is emmersive and almost magical. You really feel you are in the game. For moments I forgot that I was playing a game. When you play this game, your adrenaline starts pumping off the wall. When the ligths go out, you really are afraid. Even though you have much superior fire power and abilities, you're scared for your life. Just like in Half-Life 2, every object in the game can be interacted with. This game takes the leap from a fantasy into real life. You make the choice of whether to save children for little reward, or kill them for a huge reward. You have a choice to be good or evil. You choose how to dispatch your enemies. Hack a turret bot and have that fight them, freeze them then blow them into a thousand pieces, stun them and dispact them instandly, EVERYTHING! I have never seen this games equal. Bioshock is the game that every game to come should be judged on. If it is not as good as Bioshock, it is not worth buying. Expand
  46. AndersH.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This game, quite simply put, blows most others in its genre straight out of the water. The story is beautifully crafted, and is definitely the games most compelling aspect. Kevin Levine's BioShock is to video game evolution as Welles' Citizen Kane was to cinema's. Aside from being interactive fiction, the game play can be quite satisfying if the user is creative enough to This game, quite simply put, blows most others in its genre straight out of the water. The story is beautifully crafted, and is definitely the games most compelling aspect. Kevin Levine's BioShock is to video game evolution as Welles' Citizen Kane was to cinema's. Aside from being interactive fiction, the game play can be quite satisfying if the user is creative enough to play with all the possibilities. However, as many have said, the way it handles death makes BioShock not quite challenging enough for most shooter eficiandos - but don't let that deter you from enjoying the new generation's most compelling masterpiece. BioShock is a must play for anyone with the slightest interest in gaming. Expand
  47. TheSalt
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    Easily the best Single Player game of this genration so far...
    I have been gaming for 25 years and can look back to games that broke new benchmarks of excellence.
    Space Invaders, Pacman, Asteroids, Donkey Kong, Track N Field, Star Wars, Dragons Lair, Ghost N Goblins, Guantlet, Archon, BardsTale, Elite, Pirates, Super Punch Out, Ultima, Speed Ball, NBA Jam, Super Mario Brothers,
    Easily the best Single Player game of this genration so far...
    I have been gaming for 25 years and can look back to games that broke new benchmarks of excellence.
    Space Invaders, Pacman, Asteroids, Donkey Kong, Track N Field, Star Wars, Dragons Lair, Ghost N Goblins, Guantlet, Archon, BardsTale, Elite, Pirates, Super Punch Out, Ultima, Speed Ball, NBA Jam, Super Mario Brothers, Tetris, Test Drive, Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter, Sonic, Legend of Zelda, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing, DOOM, Myst, Sega Rally Championship, SimCity, Sonic the Hedgehog, , MechWarrior, Civilisation, Command & Conquer, Quake, Diablo, Age of Empires, Golden Eye, Castlevania, Worms, NBA Live, Tekken, Tony Hawk, Tomb Raider, Resident Evil, Final Fantasy, Colony Wars, Grand Turismo, Shane Warne Cricket, SoulBlade, MetalGearSolid,WarCraft, StarCraft,OddWorld, Need for Speed, Colin McCrae, Driver, Baldurs Gate,Pro Evolution Soccer, Medal of Honour, Music 2000, MS Flight Simulator, Counter Strike, Halo, Madden, GTA, Splinter Cell, Morrowind, Prince of Persia, Devil May Cry, SSx, KOTOR, Battlefield, Fight Night, , Ninja Gaiden, Forza, SingStar, Half Life, World of War Craft, , Oblivion, Gears of War, Rainbow 6 Vegas, Guitar Hero...

    ...and now BioShock!
    Expand
  48. johnathansiders
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    This game is great. the big daddy fights are amazing you get to fight these guys and if your lucky enough to beat them you got to make a choice to harvest or save the little sisters and what ever pick changes the outlook on the game and the story and plot twist in this game are incredible throw in weapon upgrades crazy super powers and crazy boss fights and sander cohen and i was amazedThis game is great. the big daddy fights are amazing you get to fight these guys and if your lucky enough to beat them you got to make a choice to harvest or save the little sisters and what ever pick changes the outlook on the game and the story and plot twist in this game are incredible throw in weapon upgrades crazy super powers and crazy boss fights and sander cohen and i was amazed start to finish and when i finished i started a new game. just amazing ! Collapse
  49. KDep
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. I've played through about half of the retail game so far and I've never been more impressed with graphics, gameplay, strategy, AI and storyline - never mind all in ONE game. This game is an absolute must-own. It doesn't really matter if you're a huge FPS fan or not - this game is an experience. People will be re-playing and Easily one of the best games ever made. I've played through about half of the retail game so far and I've never been more impressed with graphics, gameplay, strategy, AI and storyline - never mind all in ONE game. This game is an absolute must-own. It doesn't really matter if you're a huge FPS fan or not - this game is an experience. People will be re-playing and arguing about the deeper plot concepts for years to come. Expand
  50. PaulS.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    Game was amazing and very scary. However as I get closer to the ending the suspensful moments feel less and less and more and more like a typical shooter. Playing it on the Xbxo 360 but I still had some texture loading issues where the game was having trouble keeping up loading the textures but it only takes a few seconds for it to catch up. Overall its a great game I haven't beaten Game was amazing and very scary. However as I get closer to the ending the suspensful moments feel less and less and more and more like a typical shooter. Playing it on the Xbxo 360 but I still had some texture loading issues where the game was having trouble keeping up loading the textures but it only takes a few seconds for it to catch up. Overall its a great game I haven't beaten it yet but right now its slowly moving towards regualr shooter rather then scary survivor horror that it was in the beginning but it still has its moments. Expand
  51. NathanK.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Seriously, this game shows a level of care, attention, and quality that surpasses pretty much everything else on the market. This the definitive next gen FPS game for the 360, and all games that come here after should be judged by this standard. Just say no to stale, unimaginative FPS's, and say YES to Bioshock.
  52. JuddHall
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    I was lucky enough to pick this game up last Wednesday due to some friendly game store employees. The hype is well justified in this instance. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are spot on. It is a linear adventure, but rarely feels like it's linear.
    It does give you a lot of help if you are stuck mid-game with hints along the way that you can easily access.
    I thought
    I was lucky enough to pick this game up last Wednesday due to some friendly game store employees. The hype is well justified in this instance. The graphics are fantastic, the controls are spot on. It is a linear adventure, but rarely feels like it's linear.
    It does give you a lot of help if you are stuck mid-game with hints along the way that you can easily access.
    I thought that the achievements were alarmingly easy to get.
    Good game though.
    Expand
  53. RobC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    9
    It makes me laugh when ppl say its not as good as halo. Halo is halo and if you want halo, get halo!! Bioshock is one of those games that stands alone, with beautiful graphics and great movement. I have several FPS' and this one is supreme. But it if you are open minded about games.
  54. IanC.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I'm a REALLY fussy gamer. There's not much I like these days, it all feels like the same old same old. Every now and again something I really like catches my attention, and then I play it for years. I love my games though, and try new stuff all the time. I'm just disappointed a lot. What I like isn't often running with the popular opinion either. I just like it. I like I'm a REALLY fussy gamer. There's not much I like these days, it all feels like the same old same old. Every now and again something I really like catches my attention, and then I play it for years. I love my games though, and try new stuff all the time. I'm just disappointed a lot. What I like isn't often running with the popular opinion either. I just like it. I like Tony Hawks games. I love Battlefield. I adore Guitar Hero. I enjoy Rainbow Six. And that's my game collection. I got back from holiday on Sunday after two weeks in the Polish wilderness, game free. Browsing the local store, I see Bioshock. I'm a big fan of Jean Pierre Jeunet films and straight away the screenshots on the box catch my eye. 1950s, art deco surroundings, deep story, murky colours, looks and sounds good. So I buy, I go home, and I start to play. And I can't believe what I'm seeing, or hearing, or doing. I LOVE this game. It's by far and away the most impressive title I've had my hands on for years and years, and I mean in terms of the impact it's had on me. The visuals are eye-popping, the sound is incredible, the story is engaging, the gameplay is fun and interesting, and just the plain old exploration of a new world has captured my heart. I simply can't recommend this enough to anyone who likes video games. It's fabulous. Expand
  55. JordanL.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    "Bioshock" is beautifully crafted both visually and narratively. Ease of gameplay, a compelling story and amazing environments make this a "must own" title.
  56. BuddyR.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It seems like a first person shooter that you've done before, which in fact, i've done almost all this stuff before. But it's the atmosphere, setting, music, lighting, characters, spectacular voice acting, level of interaction with the environment, and mystery that make this an incredible experience that must be played.
  57. DylanNelson
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game a ten... wait, it isn't even out yet. How can there possibly be this many user reviews, when none of them have played it? Oh well. I personally have been following this game since '06 and I will most likely (99% sure) agree with OXM UK and the PCG review that are currently out. Go Bioshock!
  58. TonyB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    The tried and tested fps gets absolutely polished. A storyline which is engaging with nice plot twists and 30's graphics and music which give a brilliant atmosphere. The big daddies are fantastic "Get up Mr Bubbles", -make your choice save or harvest the little girls. One irritation -the game did "Hang" several times and my 360 and needed restarting. Make sure you save alot if this The tried and tested fps gets absolutely polished. A storyline which is engaging with nice plot twists and 30's graphics and music which give a brilliant atmosphere. The big daddies are fantastic "Get up Mr Bubbles", -make your choice save or harvest the little girls. One irritation -the game did "Hang" several times and my 360 and needed restarting. Make sure you save alot if this happens to you. Expand
  59. RobertN.
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    I think this game is overrated - like Halo. I thought The Darkness and Prey were just as good and as original as this, but they didn't get nearly as high ratings. The graphics, sound, and story are all first-rate, but I thought the action was often claustrophobic. If you like highting hordes of enemies off at close range, you'll love it. I, myself, prefer to think about strategy I think this game is overrated - like Halo. I thought The Darkness and Prey were just as good and as original as this, but they didn't get nearly as high ratings. The graphics, sound, and story are all first-rate, but I thought the action was often claustrophobic. If you like highting hordes of enemies off at close range, you'll love it. I, myself, prefer to think about strategy before I go in all-guns-blazing, and this game doesn't allow the time for this. Also - I find the big Daddies are extremely difficult to kill. There's also never enough ammunition, and you find yourself constantly having to shoot up to rejuvenate or loading your guns to shoot. Having to do this really takes you out of the moment. The graphics are good, but I found them to be similar to those of Prey and The Darkness. I think the only reason this is getting such rave reviews is the amount of hype it got before it was released. All in all, a great and memorable game, but I'm not letting the hype blind me to the flaws I saw in it. Expand
  60. JonM.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    If you think too hard about it, limited enemies, linear story, constant hacking and photographing then maybe you could knock down a few points. Look it as a whole and its clearly the best FPS experience, easily more enjoyable than the likes of Half Life and Halo.
  61. JamesP.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is a game that only comes around once in a long while. This game is a sure contender for the game of the year title and would certainly win if not for another first person heavy weight just on the horizon. The contols are flawless and the interface a joy to behold. The story is deep with enough for both the casual and hardcore gamers alike. The only drawback is the lack of Bioshock is a game that only comes around once in a long while. This game is a sure contender for the game of the year title and would certainly win if not for another first person heavy weight just on the horizon. The contols are flawless and the interface a joy to behold. The story is deep with enough for both the casual and hardcore gamers alike. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer. The idea of playing a BIG DADDY against other players is a dream we could only hope for in a possilble sequel. Fantastic game, this is our first true glimps into the NEXT-GEN of gaming. May it carry on as strong from here on out. Expand
  62. JoeM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    An incredibly atmospheric game, with a perfect sense of pace.
  63. BruzzleElzzurb
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Best Games of All time. 1. Zelda: Ocarina of Time 2. Bioshock And for all those prudes who think the repetitative mutilation of genetically inferior sub-humans is a moral outrage, welcome to the twenty-first century.
  64. AndreT.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Bioshock is a very good game. Nice graphics all the way around, from characters to surroundings. An amazing sound production that establish an eerie atmosphere. The gameplay is well executed, and I sure love the hacking part. The difficulty on default is quite high after a while. The story is well done to keep you attached to the action. The best game since Half Life 2.
  65. FerandoG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Best single player game since resident evil 4. If multiplayer satisfies you get gow or halo 3 but if you want a good old fashioned single player game with an awesome story and what not then you will agree this is the best game on the 360.
  66. DAX
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Great game. The best FPS so far on the 360. Terrible ending. But no other game can match the speed or orginallity of Bioshock except maybe Halo!
  67. JimB.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome, beautiful game. If only there was a multiplayer mode.., then my friends wouldn't have to sit there and just watch me play ;-)
  68. LukeV.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    This game is a great game its story is fun its gameplay is awsome the graphics are superb the level design is just freakin insane. i just cant believe that this game is so good. i just loved the little sisters in the game and the 'quests' it sends you on, the AI is spectacular and overall its just the greatest game of 2007.
  69. AlexR.
    Jan 11, 2008
    9
    Amazing game. I truly feel as if the developers put their heart and sould into this title. The only reason why I gave it a 9 because it drags a little in the middle, but if you can push through you will recieve one of the most rewarding final few hours in gaming. Do not listen to the reviewers who give it a 0 or 1.. I mean, they are talking about the brilliance of Doom 3....come on.
  70. MattA.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Awsome...awsome game. One of the most engaging experiences with the first person shooter. It doesn't reinvent the genre...however...it nearly perfects it, and every detail seemed to be addressed with a stellar production value. The music...atmosphere, and graphics may be one of the best out there. Highly recommended for those looking for a beautiful and engaging experience.
  71. AlbertN.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    I think that this is one of the best games ever to be made and is very scary but at the same time fun.
  72. NigelT.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    This game is spectacular. The entire idea, control, atmoshpere, graphics, story, gameplay, is just something you see many games being able to do all of these things well at the same time. Most times its a game of give and take when it comes to all of these elements, but this game does it all well with great balance. If this isn't in your collection, I feel sorry for you. Really, the This game is spectacular. The entire idea, control, atmoshpere, graphics, story, gameplay, is just something you see many games being able to do all of these things well at the same time. Most times its a game of give and take when it comes to all of these elements, but this game does it all well with great balance. If this isn't in your collection, I feel sorry for you. Really, the only problem I can find is that the deaths of the enemys can be a little choppy and repeatative. I was just surprised because every other aspect of the game is of such a high caliber. As for some of the earlier posts. One person compaired it with the System Shock games. This is a System Shock game! Its been developed by the same people, and is openly noted as the successor to System Shock 2. Then for the Doom 3 comparison. If anything the makers of Doom 3 owe thanks to the Bioshock, since they also made System Shock 1/2 they have been in the full 3-D FPS Horro game way before Doom 3 came along, and now that I think of it I can definatly see how Doom 3 has pulled many influences from the System Shock series. You're welcome. Expand
  73. ChrisT.
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    I loved this game. Who can't help but get deeply immersed in the beautifully torturous world of rapture.
  74. WilliamT.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    A hot bath starts out as scalding to some people. They might try and wait for the water to cool to fully experience it. Others may hop right in. At first the water burns, but they persist. Soon the water becomes natural to them and the "Scalding water" before becomes pleasant. That's what stepping into BioShock is like. The story starts out confusing. You feel that you're A hot bath starts out as scalding to some people. They might try and wait for the water to cool to fully experience it. Others may hop right in. At first the water burns, but they persist. Soon the water becomes natural to them and the "Scalding water" before becomes pleasant. That's what stepping into BioShock is like. The story starts out confusing. You feel that you're missing out on many plot twists and that the game has been rushed. Those who stop playing an hour in will get up and leave. But those who keep going will be rewarded. Soon the plot makes sense, the weapons become not as powerful and you find yourself making frightfully hard decisions. I won't say any more as doing so would spoil the experience. BioShock will take time to adjust to the temperature. But when it does, oh, how glorious it is to dive in. A must own for any FPS shooter fan looking for the same action that they have played over and over in so many other games and people who want a new experience. BioShock caters for both. Expand
  75. MarkD.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    When reading through all these user reviews, one can easily tell the age of the reviewer in question, or the style of game the person likes to play. To put it simply: This game is not, in any way, like any FPS or RPG or action game you've ever played. It's a .... mature game, full of themes and concepts that, quite frankly, are more easily understood if one has more life When reading through all these user reviews, one can easily tell the age of the reviewer in question, or the style of game the person likes to play. To put it simply: This game is not, in any way, like any FPS or RPG or action game you've ever played. It's a .... mature game, full of themes and concepts that, quite frankly, are more easily understood if one has more life experience. This is not an insult in anyway -- it's just that this game is so remarkably different. It's not for those who want huge explosions and tons of different enemies to kill. Those are fine things in a game (I enjoy them also), but that's not this game's purpose. This game's goal is to immerse you into a new, yet familiar world ... one that's been ravaged not by aliens or invaders but by our own hubris ... and that allows a person to play the game the way they want. As another reviewer pointed out, it's only linear if you allow it to be ... it's only repetitive if you go in playing it like every other game you've played. It's not -- in terms of graphics (stunning), music (best I've ever heard), voice acting (award-worthy), and story (incredibly thought provoking), it's unlike anything ever made. I've never been so wowed by a game since Grand Theft Auto III, and while it's not everyone's style, I'd have to say it'll be a long time before I'm wowed again. Expand
  76. BrandonG.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Game of the year.
  77. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Bioshock is the most original game to come out in the past decade and is indeed a masterpiece. Not only is it the most fun I have had with a game in years, it is also one that takes storytelling in the game medium to a whole new level. It is a deep and complex journey into the player's own mind and the world of rapture that has forever changed my views of "player choice" in video games. ItBioshock is the most original game to come out in the past decade and is indeed a masterpiece. Not only is it the most fun I have had with a game in years, it is also one that takes storytelling in the game medium to a whole new level. It is a deep and complex journey into the player's own mind and the world of rapture that has forever changed my views of "player choice" in video games. It is a game deserving of mulitple playthroughs (so far I have done 8) and will be remembered years from now as the classic it is. Expand
  78. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Solid game. I liked it a lot. The unique setting and characters made it fun to play and to watch. Very close to giving it a "10", but some of the repetitiveness and pointless tasks cost it a point.
  79. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Bioshock is a fine example of the perfect FPS. Action is faced paced and balanced. The random spawn points for "splicers" mean that even if you die and have to back track a little, you never face the same enemies in the same locations twice. Oh, and I should probably mention that Bioshock has one of the greatest storylines in game history.
  80. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Probably my favorite game of all time. Story:Breathtaking. Visuals:Beautiful. Gameplay:Indescribable (even when it's just the same thing that you just did ten minutes ago). It's something that you really just have to experience for yourself. The most important thing is to not let the time period get you down. Until it was combined with this game, I hated absolutely everything about thisProbably my favorite game of all time. Story:Breathtaking. Visuals:Beautiful. Gameplay:Indescribable (even when it's just the same thing that you just did ten minutes ago). It's something that you really just have to experience for yourself. The most important thing is to not let the time period get you down. Until it was combined with this game, I hated absolutely everything about this time in American and World history, and I'm still uninterested in it now, but it is just so perfect for this game. Expand
  81. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    This is one of those few games that comes along every once in a while that makes you question what can be done in gaming, in terms of environment, atmosphere, and writing. The combat isn't the best I have seen though, but it is competent enough to play through the game and enjoy it. It is very good looking, creepy, and the story has moments that may blow your mind. The big downside is theThis is one of those few games that comes along every once in a while that makes you question what can be done in gaming, in terms of environment, atmosphere, and writing. The combat isn't the best I have seen though, but it is competent enough to play through the game and enjoy it. It is very good looking, creepy, and the story has moments that may blow your mind. The big downside is the pacing, it doesn't get really good until the middle and the last third limps along. I'm not saying the middle is the only good part, but the middle is excellent and the rest is just really good. At least worth a rental. Expand
  82. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    Fantastic shooter, amazing story, stunning graphics, great replay value. Game of the year isn't good enough for this game it deserves GAME OF THE DECADE. If you do not enjoy this game you don't enjoy games period!
  83. BoG
    Nov 8, 2010
    10
    There are those games that you know are nowhere near perfect, but you still love. There are games that are mechanically seamless, but fail to strike an emotional chord with you. And then there are those games that hit the mark on both counts. Bioshock is one of those, and it has carved out a place in this gamer's heart occupied by very few other games. I could talk about it all day, butThere are those games that you know are nowhere near perfect, but you still love. There are games that are mechanically seamless, but fail to strike an emotional chord with you. And then there are those games that hit the mark on both counts. Bioshock is one of those, and it has carved out a place in this gamer's heart occupied by very few other games. I could talk about it all day, but the bottom line is that for most people, this will be one of the best games you've every played. Buy it and enjoy. Expand
  84. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is honestly my favorite game of all time. i can't believe how amazing this game is. it is like a movie in a game. from the story to the game play to the amazing graphics Bioshock is a definite game to buy. people may say that the scenery is repetitive,but it is only a small problem it doesnt matter. i did not notice it as i played. it is a whole new gaming experience. so many newThis is honestly my favorite game of all time. i can't believe how amazing this game is. it is like a movie in a game. from the story to the game play to the amazing graphics Bioshock is a definite game to buy. people may say that the scenery is repetitive,but it is only a small problem it doesnt matter. i did not notice it as i played. it is a whole new gaming experience. so many new concepts and gives the player a choice between good and evil. with a unexpected twist at the end. Bio shock amazed me to the point were i could not stop blaying 12 hours straight. i recomend this to all gamers. Expand
  85. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I went into this game without too much in the way of expectations. I was immediately drawn into the story, scenery, and game play. I was sad when I reached the end, because I wanted to keep going with this game, it was brilliant.
  86. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Bioshock is a game I found hard to review, part of me wanted to give it a perfect 10, but I couldn't bring myself to do it because there is one part in the game where for a little while your bored, granted it does get fun again shortly after that, but it still hinders the experience, the game immediately sucks you into it's creepy yet wonderful world, the graphics are unique and remind meBioshock is a game I found hard to review, part of me wanted to give it a perfect 10, but I couldn't bring myself to do it because there is one part in the game where for a little while your bored, granted it does get fun again shortly after that, but it still hinders the experience, the game immediately sucks you into it's creepy yet wonderful world, the graphics are unique and remind me a little of Fable just because there different from what others are doing, the sound is almost always perfect though there are times where you'll hear people screaming and talking at the same time which makes it disorienting at times, and the controls are great, granted it doesn't do anything new as far as gameplay than your basic FPS, but it does what most other games can't, it makes you feel, this is a truly unique game just shy of perfection, a must buy. Expand
  87. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    being a fan of Ayn Rand and her writing, I loved this game from start to finish and still play it.

    listening for the "enemies" you are about to face and their rantings became a game in itself with me.

    I still play it.
  88. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Utterly brilliant. This is hands down the best videogame of all time. The only games that even come close to it are Half -Life 2 and Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Gameplay, atmosphere, graphics, story, originality, controls. BioShock has them all. A true masterpiece, worthy of only a 10 out of 10.
  89. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I believe this to be the finest video game ever made.Easily the best story,audio and setting in gaming.
    The visuals are excellent, as well as the environments and enemies.Weapons,upgades,tonics and plasmids are all fantastic.
    But it's the narrative that stands far above any other game.As you move through Rapture piecing together its fall and your role in it through the radio and audio diaries,you are drawn into the world of Rapture itself,the characters and enemies that populate it ,until it all clicks together in the best **** in gaming history.
    Enough talk,would you kindly buy this now.
    Expand
  90. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    An incredibly atmospheric that shows more creativity and life that any other modern first person shooter. The world of Rapture is fully fleshed out and strangely believable with a cast of interesting and fantastically warped characters. Plasmids add a new dimension to gameplay and are used cleverly throughout. A masterpiece
  91. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    The absolute perfect video game experience - I cannot find a single flaw in the entire package. Bioshock rivals only the best intellectual movies with its tremendous storytelling.
  92. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oh boy, this game was simply wonderful... i love fps and bioshock managed to mix the shooting with a great plot and a submarine city filled with mysteries... just loved it! there were parts that were really intense, like when the main character finally met ryan, i don't think i will forget that anytime soon Expand
  93. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect mix between adventure, shooting, with also few RPG elements; add in a great setting, a good storyline with a great twist, with just a bit of exploration too, and we get THE single best shooter of this generation. It is the game that improves almost everything that games like Half Life, Doom and Deus Ex did, but also gives its own signrature. It's not easy to tell what's wrongThe perfect mix between adventure, shooting, with also few RPG elements; add in a great setting, a good storyline with a great twist, with just a bit of exploration too, and we get THE single best shooter of this generation. It is the game that improves almost everything that games like Half Life, Doom and Deus Ex did, but also gives its own signrature. It's not easy to tell what's wrong here, because the flaws, if there are, are very few. Probably the lack of multiplayer, which "maybe" could have add more time into the game, but the game can last almost 20 hours if played with calm and by exploring properly every level, so I'm rather glad they didn't add it. Maybe the character could have used more screentime but instead we mostly see his hands and almost no dialogue from him (if there was any). Maybe we could have use a few more enemies, since you'll often fight one type and the others are usually used for special occasions. But even then, they hardly felt repetitive, and they could give you a challenge. The weapons aren't "that" many and you might use only a few during the game. But on the other hand, they are upgradeable and well balanced between them, and I enjoyed varying my arsenal. I remember also that a lot of the powers (both plasmids and tonics) weren't so useful, not because they were bad, but because you could use only a limited amount of them and youcouldn't predict which one to use in a certain moment (like the "big dady hypnotism" plasmid. For tonics, it depended too much on the situation and gamestyle, and eventually limiting the choices on tonics you need more). On the other hand, we get the evolution of the Gravity Gun from Half life: Telekinesis. And with that power alone, you have yourself a very strong weapon that consumes no ammo (since you can even use the corpses against them, and the cost in ADAM is really minimum, if non-existant). As you noticed, I am trying to find some big flaws, but if anything I'm just showing nitpicks. Probably there are some big problems in the game, but I cannot find anything but small issues, because the game does almost everything right. It has even variation, something that modern shooters don't even attempt to give us, and the graphics are both colorful but also very spooky, with a great "retro" theme for the pictures and images. There's almost nothing going wrong in this game but I don't believe in the perfect game, but in either case this is the shooter you must play in order to see what this generation was capable of with these new consoles. It's what all FPS should do in this generation. And that is "improving". Expand
  94. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    I just have three words, Story, BAD-ASS (compound words count as 1), Abilities. From the get go this game had my attention and didn't drop it. I liked all the narrative, from the treasure hunt finds to the subtle clues as to the depth of Rapture. This game broke so many barriers on so many fronts and yet I'm going to have to ding it for its controls. It's a compelling piece of artI just have three words, Story, BAD-ASS (compound words count as 1), Abilities. From the get go this game had my attention and didn't drop it. I liked all the narrative, from the treasure hunt finds to the subtle clues as to the depth of Rapture. This game broke so many barriers on so many fronts and yet I'm going to have to ding it for its controls. It's a compelling piece of art shrink wrapped in a clunky interface. Expand
  95. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    A disturbingly intelligent game which is a gem in a sea of uninspired shooters. Bioshock overwhelms the likes of Halo, Call of Duty and their various clones with its sheer mental concepts. It is not just a point and shoot game like others, it is a fully made movie in which you get an active part instead of watching. While you do shoot a lot of people, most likely it is the characters andA disturbingly intelligent game which is a gem in a sea of uninspired shooters. Bioshock overwhelms the likes of Halo, Call of Duty and their various clones with its sheer mental concepts. It is not just a point and shoot game like others, it is a fully made movie in which you get an active part instead of watching. While you do shoot a lot of people, most likely it is the characters and not the weapons you will be remembering when you are done. The lack of a multiplayer was a bit of a put down, but not as much as what a horrible multiplayer would have been. Expand
  96. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is a good game but it does have flaw. I was also really hoping that they did more with the water coming into Rapture, but I guess Bioshock 2 made up for that.
  97. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the few games I hold up as art. Deep atmosphere a complex intriguing story-line, tense combat(which I admit can be a bit dull and repetitive on an easy difficulty), and a plot twist on par with Psycho and The Sixth Sense. This isn't like another game, the characters and plot elements actually symbolize things, and has messages that have commentate on issues in the modern world,like how Atlas/Fontaine symbolizes a politician, or adam symbolizes money. Expand
  98. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Original and makes you think. Great art and graphics, great combat and great story. Makes the other FPS's be ashamed of theirselves. Only small bad thing is it's not that long, I beated it in 8 hours. But the rest - flawless. I love it. Altough I only played this, I'm gonna buy Bioshock 2 and Infinite is one of my most antecipated games for 2012. I would give this 9,5 but as MetacriticOriginal and makes you think. Great art and graphics, great combat and great story. Makes the other FPS's be ashamed of theirselves. Only small bad thing is it's not that long, I beated it in 8 hours. But the rest - flawless. I love it. Altough I only played this, I'm gonna buy Bioshock 2 and Infinite is one of my most antecipated games for 2012. I would give this 9,5 but as Metacritic doesn't have 0,5 marks I'll give it a 10. Shame on you, CoD. Expand
  99. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is an amazing game that will immersify you into the experience and not let you go till the end. The city of Rapture is beautiful with so much detail and so much to do that you will be constantly distracted. The graphics are great and the dialogue is just amazing too. The playability is great too as you get plasmids and being able to upgrade yourself is fun as you become king ofBioshock is an amazing game that will immersify you into the experience and not let you go till the end. The city of Rapture is beautiful with so much detail and so much to do that you will be constantly distracted. The graphics are great and the dialogue is just amazing too. The playability is great too as you get plasmids and being able to upgrade yourself is fun as you become king of the city, it's awesome. The plot is well-made and the twists are wow-inducing as well. Bioshock holds the tense atmosphere very well and delivers some high-octane scares. The big daddy enemies are the toughest in gaming history and you will feel thrilled fighting one. There is so much to do and so little that is wrong maybe except for a few graphics problem and some nitpicky yet very minor control issues but they don't damage the experience at all. Overall, Bioshock is a great and immersifying game that is fun to play and will stay in your mind as one of the greatest games ever. Breakdown for "Bioshock": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 9.6, Sound: 10, Playability: 9.8, Lasting Appeal: 9.5, Verdict: 9.7 out of 10, "Amazing". Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. In a nutshell, beyond any shadow of doubt, BioShock is an excellent single-player shooter experience. The undeniable quality of this title and its emphasis on true and not pseudo-mature storytelling and character development make it a must-have for every self-respecting gamer.
  2. Its weak link is its unsatisfying no-skill-required combat, which might aim this one just over the head of the average Halo fan. But if you want to get a little fancy, there's a lot of fun to be had with some of the game's more indirect fighting methods. It builds an amazing atmosphere by using terrific graphics and sound to set a creepy mood. But BioShock's real strengths are as a compelling work of interactive fiction, and as a unique ride through a warped world with some great payoff built into its mysterious plot. If that description has you even the least bit interested, you won't be disappointed one bit.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.