BioShock Xbox 360

BioShock Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 Xbox 360 Game of the Year] Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend[Metacritic's 2007 Xbox 360 Game of the Year] Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no more. Now the city is littered with corpses, wildly powerful guardians roam the corridors as little girls loot the dead, and genetically mutated citizens ambush you at every turn. Take control of your world by hacking mechanical devices, commandeering security turrets and crafting unique items critical to your very survival. Upgrade your weapons with ionic gels, explosives and toxins to customize them to the enemy and environment. Genetically modify your body through dozens of Plasmid Stations scattered throughout the city, empowering you with fantastic and often grotesque abilities. Explore a living world powered by Ecological A.I., where the inhabitants have interesting and consequential relationships with one another that impact your gameplay experience. Experience truly next generation graphics that vividly illustrate the forlorn art deco city, highlighted by the most detailed and realistic water effects ever developed in a video game. Make meaningful choices and mature decisions, ultimately culminating in the grand question: do you exploit the innocent survivors of Rapture...or save them? [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 100
    Enthralling from beginning to end, and the fact that it deserves its place alongside some of the greatest games ever made is achievement enough.
  2. 100
    While Bioshock doesn't necessarily do anything remarkably new once looked at from afar, what it does achieve is a literal masterpiece of all the elements presented. Most shocking of all is the deep customizable weapon system which gives it an almost RPG feel.
  3. 100
    The first-person shooter's great looking, has an engrossing storyline, a perfect balance of action and exploration and a totally customizable combat system that can be described as nothing less than video game rapture.
  4. 97
    There is art here, despite what many would say isn't possible with games, from Roger Ebert to game designers like Hideo Kojima...BioShock stands as a monolithic example of the convergence of entertaining gameplay and an irresistibly sinister, engrossing storyline that encompasses a host of multifaceted characters. This is an essential gaming experience.
  5. The atmosphere is second to none, the action frantic and fun, and the ease of access means you can play the game however you want without being punished for it.
  6. Bioshock leaves you to figure things out for yourself. It's a gruelling game of resource management, and as the ammunition dries up, you end up having to improvise. And more often than not, Bioshock will reward you heavily for thinking outside the box.
  7. Edge Magazine
    80
    If only the mechanics matched the atmosphere. If only Rapture was a less linear world to move through. If only BioShock was the wholly brilliant experience you know, from your moments within it, it could have been.[Oct 2007, p.88]

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 591
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Original and refreshing, has an amazing storyline aswell as an amazing atmosphere and setting. Enjoyable combat, maybe a little bit repetitiveOriginal and refreshing, has an amazing storyline aswell as an amazing atmosphere and setting. Enjoyable combat, maybe a little bit repetitive for some, the game paces well too. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This is perhaps my favorite game of all time. Now in no way is this game flawless. However, I personally believe that the vast amount ofThis is perhaps my favorite game of all time. Now in no way is this game flawless. However, I personally believe that the vast amount of excellent components in this goes completely overshadow the flaws it has.

    First and foremost, the atmosphere and setting. Rapture is one of the, if not the most unique setting ever introduced in games. You can play the entire gam multiple times and always feel a sense of awe an curiosity about the city. The dark, creepy and mysterious atmosphere created by Irrational Games is also perfect. This makes the game consistently tense and truly makes it feel like you exist in a city under the sea that has gone to hell. It's also worth noting that the sound and music add a sense of time to this game, which truly makes it feel like the 1950s.

    The story is also nearly unmatched in video games. It has a remarkable way of telling so tires through the audio logs, and the entire backstory of the city is something worth learning. Even will all of the sci-fi put into the story, the history of the city is completely believable. Perhaps most notably is the incredible twist in the story. While I won't mention what it is, it's a game changer that really tops of this masterpiece. This was hugely unexpected, and carried out with perfection.

    The last aspect, which many consider to be a weakness, is the gameplay. This is definitely he area that has the most room for improvement. However, the gameplay was still fun, and didn't mimic the gameplay of other first person shooters. This definitely gave Bioshock a unique feel to it. Overall, by itself hat gameplay may have felt a tad repetitive. However, the incredible story and atmosphere made this obsolete as I never had to push myself to continue in the slightest. In fact I had to push myself to stop so I could get some sleep.

    Overall, this game is truly a masterpiece, that will represent this generation of games in the future. It stands as one of the most unique and atmospheric story-driven game that should be played by all people. This is truly an amazing game that will forever be remembered and deserves to be played by all gamer... and non gamers.
    Expand
  3. JeremyS.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Shockingly good. Breathtaking graphics. Unparalleled customization and freedom in a fps. And best of all more creepily realistic atmosphere Shockingly good. Breathtaking graphics. Unparalleled customization and freedom in a fps. And best of all more creepily realistic atmosphere than you can shake a stick at. Expand
  4. AlbertN.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    I think that this is one of the best games ever to be made and is very scary but at the same time fun.
  5. JonathanP.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game, only thing which holds it back in my opinion is the lack of multiplayer. I find it hard to give a game the full score if Fantastic game, only thing which holds it back in my opinion is the lack of multiplayer. I find it hard to give a game the full score if there is no multiplayer, especially given the current standard of games. Other than that it is a perfect game. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Overall good game. Worth the ten bucks i paid for it, for sure. It could use some better detail but has an amazing storyline. The style to theOverall good game. Worth the ten bucks i paid for it, for sure. It could use some better detail but has an amazing storyline. The style to the game is so different that its hard not to like it. Gonna pick up the second one later today. Expand
  7. SaudAlmoayed
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    Actually, i prefer super mario than this fucking stupid ugly game.. its much fanfooneeta
    it must be Chekidom and WeeWeePoM like the HuN HuN
    Actually, i prefer super mario than this fucking stupid ugly game.. its much fanfooneeta
    it must be Chekidom and WeeWeePoM like the HuN HuN PeeP PeeP.. but most of all and as DJ Meeki says: sex is so good!
    anyway am leaving now i have 2 shave my big hairy Ass..!
    and for my fans, I love u all and thanks for everything...
    and if Zaina is reading this.. (i really wanna fuck u baby..!! can we do it in Mambo Cafe next time)

    see u all after BIOSHOCK 2's Review
    bye bye bye
    Expand

See all 591 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.