Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    100
    The controls are tight, the levels are fun to look at, and the music will have you sucked into the Runner world in no time.
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    95
    With solid controls, simple gameplay, and somewhat catchy music, this is a great addition to your gaming library whether you’re a fan of the series or if this is your first outing.
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    A frantic and highly satisfying mix of rhythm and platform game: an advised buy for sure.
  4. 90
    It’s pure arcade fun, and easily the best game to hit XBLA so far this year.
  5. 90
    The best Bit.Trip game so far and one of the best ever blends of retro and modern aesthetics, in terms of both presentation and gameplay.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Occasionally, I found myself in a bit of a trance. I saw the enemies and walls coming at me, only to be easily slid past as my fingers played in perfect time, my tapping toe keeping the beat of the song. I had gotten good enough to essentially sight-read levels.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    88
    Gaijin Games shows how much they have learned about balancing the learning curve and the difficulty of the game to make a demanding but fair game. Superb use of sound and a nice amount of nicely designed levels compose a great package.
  8. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    A delight to play, despite the fact that it openly revels in your failure. [Issue#97, p.70]
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    80
    A successful rhythm game, that successfully blends the typical dynamics of the platform.
  10. 80
    Temporary frustrations aside, Runner2 is a simple, lovely jog to the right that slowly builds into a manageably hectic rightward run. The easy difficulty might speed your passage through the world, but it's less fun. So don't rob yourself of a new and entirely needless motor skill. Put it on Rather Hard, and stick at it until the skills lodge in your fingers. It's worth it.
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    It is a game heavily invested in gaming’s history and nature in its debts to retro graphics styles and the platform genre but also one which combines them with the medium’s new direction in its use of the auto-scrolling form.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    If not for the challenge, buy this game for the music, the visuals, and the narration by Super Mario himself. They kept this sequel challenging for those returning to the series and have made life easier by adding checkpoints for those looking for a more casual experience. Though you will find yourself repeating levels to unlock new characters, items, etc. you'll also find that each visit to an old level is just as rewarding and thrilling as it was the first time through. Bravo Runner 2, bravo. Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    The music aspect of the game is overrated. Really, soundtrack was much better on the first Bit.Trip games when you really felt you were Making the songs. That said, I like the new graphic style and scoring system and the game can keep you on the sofa for a couple hours. But after that, gameplay has too many imputs that it's hard to remember all the combinations unless you're a OCD, that almost kills any replayability because you have to learn all over again. Full Review »
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Runner 2 accomplishes everything it sets out to do in SPADES. I was a big fan of the original bit.trip games, especially Beat and Runner, so I was really excited to see the early screenshots of this game. It obviously looks different than the original's 8-bit retro style, but the core mechanics remain. The greatest draw of Runner 2 is the "trance" you have to slide into in order to play it... it demands that your full attention so that you can kick, jump, slide, etc on time. The music is awesome, and it responds to you as you progress. For 15 bucks you can't beat this. It sucks you in and makes you forget about how crappy your life really is. Full Review »