BlackSite: Area 51 Xbox 360

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 65
  2. Negative: 18 out of 65
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. G.S.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Sometimes you just want an arcade shooter, lots of enemies to kill with beautiful backgrounds.
  2. SeimanM.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    It's a perfect game! The combine of a good atmosphere with powerful action is brilliant!
  3. MW
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    This is a fun game to play...definitely not the best, but far from the worst...worth the purchase.
  4. Andro
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    After recently finishing off Halo 3, Bioshock, and COD 4, I jumped right into Area 51. While clearly not up to the high standards of the other FPS, Area 51 is a solid title with good graphics, storyline, and sound. I am enjoying this game far more than I expected! I have not attempted the multiplayer mode yet, so I will not comment. I am also playing Timeshift right now, and Area 51 is After recently finishing off Halo 3, Bioshock, and COD 4, I jumped right into Area 51. While clearly not up to the high standards of the other FPS, Area 51 is a solid title with good graphics, storyline, and sound. I am enjoying this game far more than I expected! I have not attempted the multiplayer mode yet, so I will not comment. I am also playing Timeshift right now, and Area 51 is the better shooter. Give it a try, until Mass Effect is out! Expand
  5. SamC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    Great soundtrack and weapons. Wish Coop hadn't been dropped.
  6. PamelaH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    8
    The most underrated game on 360! Awesome graphics and non-stop fun.
  7. MichaelR.
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    I'm having a lot of fun playing this game.
  8. CHUDSTFU
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    Really good game and I dislike FPS I'M more a RPG FAN!
  9. AndrewS
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    Blacksite, was beyond beleif when it came to suspense, but then lead to a horribly short uninteresting ending! Although the alien design was great the AI'S strategy was pointless
  10. MeharG.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    A intriguing story line, with plot twisits and all. The graphic's are good, and the political commentary is something everyone could have a laugh at. I higly recommend you pick this game up.
  11. JohnD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    I couldn't believe some of the environments that I was playing in! I think the octopus dogs are some of the most unforgettable enemies I've come across in a long time. Many Holy S&#* moments. The story is solid, I can't believe some of the things that come out of these guys mouths. The squad could be better, but hey that's what Blacksite 2 will be for right? Definitely I couldn't believe some of the environments that I was playing in! I think the octopus dogs are some of the most unforgettable enemies I've come across in a long time. Many Holy S&#* moments. The story is solid, I can't believe some of the things that come out of these guys mouths. The squad could be better, but hey that's what Blacksite 2 will be for right? Definitely surpassed all the demos. Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Over all BlackSite tries to slip itself into a niche squarely between the two benchmarks of FPS gaming, Call of Duty 4 and HALO 3. It unfortunately doesn't succeed in making that niche, in fact trying to make itself a little of one and the other it fails doing anything profound.
  2. 20
    Instead of creating the game they promised themselves in the design documents, the end result is a spaceship sized wreck of catastrophic proportions and with very little redeeming qualities to prevent it from being placed at the very bottom of the bargain bin where it belongs.
  3. The graphics for the game are simply stunning. Normally, Midway games have pretty average graphics, but the graphics in BlackSite are very crisp and detailed.