Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Blades of Time, players don the persona of the gorgeous gunsword-wielding treasure hunter, Ayumi. Blessed with beauty and a trigger happy finger, she's on a mission to find lost bounties in a mysterious and dangerous island. Quickly, she learns this island isn't just trees, berries and gold – but something more sinister lies beneath the surface. As the wonderment of the island becomes to reveal itself, she learns this land can gift her powers man can only dream of, but also she's not alone on this island! Thank goodness she brought her own weapons. Ayumi then proceeds to battle against menacing villains on the island by destroying them and everything in her path while looking to acquire magical powers that only the strongest warrior can possess. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    65
    Some solid combat dynamics can't make up for the fact that the plot and character development, or lack thereof, falls flat in every way.
  2. Mar 24, 2012
    60
    Blades of Time offers a good combat system and a charismatic heroine, but it's undermined by a dull story and a mediocre technical production.
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    60
    Nearly half-decent, this is let down by messy visuals and a lack of polish. [June 2012, p.78]
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    50
    Even at a budget price, I'm not sure that I'd recommend Blades of Time. It can be pretty to look at, and there are some decent concepts behind its combat system. It's also a better game than the middling experience provided by X-Blades, but not by much. As a whole, it feels like it could have used far more development time and play testing than it likely received. It's probably worth a rental if you're really curious, but I wouldn't suggest a purchase.
  5. 50
    It just isn't particularly good. [Issue#84, p.86]
  6. Apr 15, 2012
    50
    Blades of Time gives me an odd feeling. It wants to be a great game, throwing all sorts of elements at me. It's.....good, but after finishing the game, there's the sad realization that Gaijin Entertainment really couldn't do much more with it.
  7. 30
    Some of the ideas at the core of it are brilliant, but the same thing could be said of the atomic bomb. Blades of Time is slightly more pleasant than a nuclear explosion, but that doesn't make it worthy of your money or your time.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    As for me, Blades of Time is great. I've read awful reviews that said the games is X-Blades update. You guys have gone mad to mark it. There's nothing in common but the main fact main heroine is a woman. I liked chaotic beasts anyway - artists made really happy with this creatures, some of them can be found in Shumerian mithology, some look like Lovecrafts' fantasies. The plot is interesting and that time rewind feature makes the game even more misterious. So, i gonna keep on playing and will tell u later smth else - i will like or dislike Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, really, have much good points, is like a spirit sequel of X-Blades other amazing game, this game have much amazing points, the characters, the story, control, gameplay, is an amazing title, and yes better than Mass Boring 3. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Blades of Time is the spiritual sequel to the cult game xblades and provided you overlook the fact its a little rough around the edge its a excellent indie action game.

    At its core this is a Gods of War style game with a few nice addition. Most notably is the time mechanic that allows you to rewind time and thereby be in 2 places at once to solve puzzles. Its a nice mechanic that works well.

    The game as a whole is a little on the glitchy side but in my playthrough there was nothing game breaking just the odd clipping and animation error.

    graphics are good if not amazing and everything plays nicely. One thing I would say is the enemies do not react to you attacks enough so it seems like you are not really damaging them until they finally explode.

    All in all its a fun action game that may be a little bit too much for a full price game but if you can pick it up in a bargain bin or second hand (which probably is already an option) its a fun title to waste a weekend on.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    The game isn't perfect, by any means, but it's still a good game. For those complaining about story, I didn't think it was as bad as 90% of shooters that get 90+ metascore for being boring and repetitive, "go here, shoot this, retrieve info, go there, shoot that retrieve suspect, blah blah blah....". The combat is awesome, the graphics aren't "super sweet so real you can't tell if it is real or not its sooooo realistic", and personally, I like it that way. If I want reality, I turn off the video games. I enjoy the more fantastical environments, everything being so realistic all the time in today's gen of gaming has made it pretty mundane, as far as I'm concerned. Also, I suppose I can say it reminds me of the PS2 days, where I also thought most AA games were better than most AAA games. They're more inventive, as opposed to big budget games that are basically copy, paste, and slightly edited versions of the previous game. I would say this game is a meeting of Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider. If you enjoy either of those games, or the action genre in general, check this game out. Don't listen to the reviewers who can't wait to put this game down so they can pick up the new yearly release of CoD, Assassins creed, and now what looks like it's going to be Gears (sadly they jumped on the kill the franchise wagon). I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    6
    I purchased this game from mythical land of Amazon. It arrived at my door in a legendary short amount of time. It was, as if, a fairy came along and left the gift at my doorway. An ominous brown truck drove away as I picked it up. The must be the agents of Konami. They are always watching. Only watching. As I picked up this package, I felt it's power teeming through the beige, bubble-wrap envelope. I was hesitant to open the package and release it's power. I felt like a precocious Pandora opening the jar for the first time. I stared at the package for hours until finally I summoned all the willpower I had to pry the gem open. Upon opening, banshees screamed and the envelope vibrated. It was too late! I could not re-seal the package. It was unleashed unto the world. I looked inside and the damned left only a curious box behind. I cautiously picked up the box and read it's caution, "Blades of Time". Since the evil was abound, I tore through the invisible cloak that sheathed the box. A sticker held the box closed tightly. Was this a warning to turn back? I ignored the warning because the sticker hinted that it had passed some wizardry called "Quality Assurance". I broke the seal! Inside was a disc and a booklet of secrets.

    I took the disc to my hungry X-Box 360 machination. It had been weeks since it has been fed. I initially fed it the secret book, but it spit it out. I fed it the disc and it was sated. The television came to life! I ran in fear because it began quarrelling with me. It asked me for "a save device". It was the Devil's trick. I knew it, at once. After regaining my composure, I punched a bunch of buttons and started this game. I will outmaneuver the Devil and place the evil back in the package. It wasn't what the world wanted, but it's what the world needed.

    An enchanting, nubile woman appeared. I was apprehensive because this obviously Caucasian woman was named "Ayumi". Haha! Another of the Devil's trick! I will not be deterred. The Devil introduced me to a number of his powers and told me to "use them". I will not fooled, Devil!!! I strictly used the Japasian's gun and hid behind pillars. When the Devil sent his lieutenant's after me, I quickly dispatched him. Every few minutes, his Captains would appear. They were slightly more difficult than the lietenants. Finally, the Devil and I faced off. I know what you're saying, "Mr. Panda, if you're writing this, you MUST have won!" I tell you this, young virgin, no one won. The Devil changed me and I changed the Devil. Our game was over. Please do NOT tell anyone of this devil's incarnation. The Devil was abated this fine weekend but those damnable brown trucks are watching. They are waiting. To unleash the Devil upon each and every one of you. 6/10

    God has sent me a message and has told me that you may fight this Devil from something he called the "Bargain Bin". This covenant is between you and God. You may obey or you may ignore. Each soul is his own.
    Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    6
    Blades of Time is an overall good game, it's very minus could be only the lack of pumped graphics which instead is now and then slightly outdated, apart from that is really fun to play and this is what I search in a game, have fun, for this only reason I'd really like to give this title a 10 'cuz it deserves any less by my point of view, I play mainly to have fun, not to see only boring stunning graphics...
    ...but I forgot one thing a friend pointed me out, this game has no option to invert y-axis, if you are not used to direct control on the y-axis JUST AVOID, strictly for this reason, that's a lack of basics, I find myself in the need to lower the score to a 6 due to inverted y-axis users are the majority out there and they cannot appreciate it as I did.
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    this game is glitchy, has buggy combat, very poor voice acting, hard to follow story, mediocre graphics . the 40 dollar ticket price at release should be a dead giveaway that this is a bad game. if your getting a game at random, don't get this one, save your money... MegWhiteley wouldn't know a good game if it smacked them in the face, because mass effect 3 is amazing... Expand

See all 12 User Reviews