User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 65
  2. Negative: 4 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VictorU
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    As someone who plays nothing but fighting games I can honestly say that you'll only appreciate BlazBlue if you are competent in the capacity of competitive fighting games. BlazBlue gives you everything. Beautiful, crisp high definition 2D characters on top of gorgeous blended 2D/3D environments. 12 TRULY UNIQUE characters with independent fighting styles. No clones here. An excellent As someone who plays nothing but fighting games I can honestly say that you'll only appreciate BlazBlue if you are competent in the capacity of competitive fighting games. BlazBlue gives you everything. Beautiful, crisp high definition 2D characters on top of gorgeous blended 2D/3D environments. 12 TRULY UNIQUE characters with independent fighting styles. No clones here. An excellent soundtrack inspired by the famed Daisuke Ishiwatari. Online features that should make Capcom reconsider their lack luster offering in Street Fighter IV. The only reasons to give this game anything less than the perfect rating it deserves would be personal preference or a lack of ability to see the facts. BlazBlue is the number one fighting game of 2009. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    My favorite fighting game. Never get boring and lovely to play with friends. Al characters are based on metal music and the soundtrack is awesome. Every anime game lover should buy this game. Animations are perfect. But there is one thing i i disliked. There are not many characters. But a fighting game that has a nice story? Never saw it before
  3. JasonL
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    Well according to the last two reviews, they have no idea what they're playing. Assuming that this is Soul Calibur, is only in the style of speed. Street Fighter IV is a poor fighting game in my mind, while the 3D is all nice, there's tons of model clipping with their meshes once you take a closer look. I hate Street Fighter IV's movement since you act more like wearing Well according to the last two reviews, they have no idea what they're playing. Assuming that this is Soul Calibur, is only in the style of speed. Street Fighter IV is a poor fighting game in my mind, while the 3D is all nice, there's tons of model clipping with their meshes once you take a closer look. I hate Street Fighter IV's movement since you act more like wearing lead weights on your arms and legs. Also to "Jam", doing a 2D game is more painstaking work due to artist have to DRAW each frame (and this plays at 60 Frames per a Second) for every character and background effects. Also to call Street Fighter 4, "Tactical" is a joke. I love playing Guilty Gear and as well Guilty Gear XX #Reloaded, which was my main reason to purchasing BlazBlue. While it lives up to most of my expectations, I find it feels different in how the dash (and air dash) of the characters which makes it seem slightly unfamiliar to me from moving up from Guilty Gear. The cast of BlazBlue is also more more alive than of Street Fighter more different of backgrounds and styles. Characters fight complete different depending who you choose while SFIV has at least 3 characters sharing the same moves and Ken plus Ryu are basically clones of each other. BlazBlue may have a pair that duel each other like Ken and Ryu, they are completely different pair in design style and attack style. This is more of a rant now. I strongly dislike SFIV's gameplay as it seems damage is either little or heavy and nothing in the middle with the rounds being very short. BlazBlue, the damage is all over but amounts to how much force is used and rounds last enough to actually enjoy the game without feeling ripped off. But if you're really on the borderline, fast movement + smooth movement = BlazBlue and Slow + Clunky = SFIV. But seriously play at a friends house or rent them first, unless you were fans of their older games (then you should already know). I was probably bias since I already had a strong dislike of Street Fighter from III and I was a fan of GGXX#R, just as a footnote, but I will state that I played the games (SFII, SFIII, GG series, BB, SFIV). Collapse
  4. JohnF.
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    BlazBlue delivers on the hype. The game is just flat-out fun to play, no matter what character you choose. There's lots of depth for hardcore players and only hardcore players will get really good at this game, but there's still plenty of newbie-friendly modes as well. The characters have lots of personality and the game also has a surprising amount of hilarious dialogue. BlazBlue delivers on the hype. The game is just flat-out fun to play, no matter what character you choose. There's lots of depth for hardcore players and only hardcore players will get really good at this game, but there's still plenty of newbie-friendly modes as well. The characters have lots of personality and the game also has a surprising amount of hilarious dialogue. BlazBlue is not perfect; some may find the story mode structure odd (you have to lose matches in some cases to see the whole story), while there are at least a couple characters in the game that feel a little too strong and a couple others that feel a little too weak, and that comes out in ranked matches when it seems like you're seeing the same five or six characters all the time. Overall though this is a fast-paced action-packed fighter that should make fans of the genre happy. Expand
  5. AdamV.
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    Fighting games are my favorite genre, and I've played nearly all of them. This game is a blast to play, the combat is fast and each character is super unique. However, I do have a couple major gripes with this game that I haven't seen in too many other fighting games: You can combo into a throw. There's a reason that the Street Fighter series has a window where you Fighting games are my favorite genre, and I've played nearly all of them. This game is a blast to play, the combat is fast and each character is super unique. However, I do have a couple major gripes with this game that I haven't seen in too many other fighting games: You can combo into a throw. There's a reason that the Street Fighter series has a window where you CAN'T THROW the other player after you hit them, it's to prevent stuff like this. Yes, I know throws are pretty easy to break when you expect them, but being able to combo into one whenever you like is a bit much. Which leads to point number 2... Throws do too much damage. I'm not talking about the throw itself, I'm talking more about the guaranteed combo after the throw. Nearly every character has this, and it's a bit ridiculous. I end up burning my barrier burst right after I get thrown because I know I'm going to lose 50% of my health if I dont. Even the lighter hitting characters (Taokaka, for example) can make you HURT after a back throw. And if I get thrown by Iron Tager, I just put my controller down, because the match is basically over. 80% health gone if my barrier burst is gone. Other than that, fantastic game. Combos are fun, and not exceedingly difficult to do. Moves are flashy, backgrounds are gorgeous. Expand
  6. BJK
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    I know there are a lot of fanboys out there declaring that Ken/Slow fighter is the best fighting game out there but that's simply not true. It's not a bad game per se but these terrible characters have been done to death, this game doesn't offer anything new to the market. With over 15 games, uninspiring system that favours button smashers. One will truly appreciate I know there are a lot of fanboys out there declaring that Ken/Slow fighter is the best fighting game out there but that's simply not true. It's not a bad game per se but these terrible characters have been done to death, this game doesn't offer anything new to the market. With over 15 games, uninspiring system that favours button smashers. One will truly appreciate tactical fighting games such as Guilty Gear or Blazblue after playing Street Fighter. The netcode is obviously quite a bit worse when compared to something like Blazblue (which is still a better fighting game by far). Expand
  7. MartinT
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    To be honest, this game is one of the best fighters made over the past few years. That said, I play both SF4 and SoulcaliburIV and love them both. Reading other reviews, it seems as if the people have barely spent any time playtng the game thoroughly, or are playing with extreme bias. I'm a fighting game enthusiast, so I can appreciate and fighting system if it is concrete and To be honest, this game is one of the best fighters made over the past few years. That said, I play both SF4 and SoulcaliburIV and love them both. Reading other reviews, it seems as if the people have barely spent any time playtng the game thoroughly, or are playing with extreme bias. I'm a fighting game enthusiast, so I can appreciate and fighting system if it is concrete and playable. The system within Blazblue is more complex that both SF4 and SC4, yet that doesn't mean that it is automatically a better game than either. Within Blazblue time must be spent in training mode learning the specific ins and outs of your character....at a high level mashing will only get you killed. In SF4 i noticed that one combo sequence is always applicable to at least 5 characters. I.e. the shotos.....Jump in heavy kick, crouching medium kick, projectile move of choice. Within Blazblue that cannot be done....each character is EXTREMELY different to play, and it is much more difficult to just pickup and play a character. That said, I LOOOOVE SF4. Blazblue offers a unique experience that is very complex.....it is very stylized, and if some people don't like it, its simply a personal preference. That doesn't mean the game isn't a quality fighter, because it is. Expand
  8. CoreyG.
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    BlazBlue is awesome. I've been playing fighting games for a long time. 2D fighters are definitely my favorite, except Soul Edge and Battle Arena Toshinden hold special places for me. I am a big fan of the Guilty Gear series with the exception of Isuka, and this does those games justice. The combat system is truly deep, each character having their own unique button combos instead of BlazBlue is awesome. I've been playing fighting games for a long time. 2D fighters are definitely my favorite, except Soul Edge and Battle Arena Toshinden hold special places for me. I am a big fan of the Guilty Gear series with the exception of Isuka, and this does those games justice. The combat system is truly deep, each character having their own unique button combos instead of everyone being "slide" or "charge". I am always a fan of air combos and juggling skills that actually take talent. True this game can be played by button mashers. I played it for the first time today and I mashed for a while then, when I figured out my character (Vemillion) I started purposely doing combos and the action is nonstop and amazing. The dialogue between characters during the fights adds a great touch and makes it seem more like you are watching it than playing it. Buying it A.S.A.P! Expand
  9. JacobA
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    To everyone who's ever played a Guilty Gear game, this is for you, no matter how much you love Street Fighter 4, or Soul Calibur 4. This is a completely different game, different control scheme, just a different game all around. Yes if your a fan of fighting games you'll most likely like this game, but the anime aspect of the game does get annoying after a whiile, especially if To everyone who's ever played a Guilty Gear game, this is for you, no matter how much you love Street Fighter 4, or Soul Calibur 4. This is a completely different game, different control scheme, just a different game all around. Yes if your a fan of fighting games you'll most likely like this game, but the anime aspect of the game does get annoying after a whiile, especially if you don't watch anime much. The Sprites are drawn beautifully, and the gameplay is very smooth, only if there were more 2D fighting games that were nearly as good as this, then we'd all buy that 80$ arcade stick. Expand
  10. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    Beautiful game, however not the best fighting game on the market. The anime characters are a bit cliché and expectable, that aside the game is enjoyable whenever you play it online or with your friends in the versus mode.

    If you are a fan of fighting games, you should consider this into your collection. If you're a casual gamer that likes anime characters in fighting games,
    Beautiful game, however not the best fighting game on the market. The anime characters are a bit cliché and expectable, that aside the game is enjoyable whenever you play it online or with your friends in the versus mode.

    If you are a fan of fighting games, you should consider this into your collection. If you're a casual gamer that likes anime characters in fighting games, consider BlazBlue.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. In the hands of an expert fighter this game is stunning, but joystick jockeys who are out of shape might want to start an intense training regimen. [July 2009, p.83]
  2. Every anime-riffic charcter - from Ragna, the slightly effeminate swordsman, to Taokaka, the obligatory catgirl - is beautifully drawn and totally bizarre. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  3. 94
    This has become one of my favorite fighters of all time and the level of polish and detail this 2D wonder has is amazing. The character designs are excellent, the fighting mechanics are top-notch and there are even extra animated scenes that feature chibi (super adorable) versions of the characters talking about the BlazBlue universe.