Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the 13th hierarchical city, Kagutsuchi, the Librarium regulates the amazing power of Armagus, a fusion of magic and technology. Currently they are after a wanted criminal named Ragna The Bloodedge, also known as Death, who wants to destroy the Librarium. Due to Ragna possessing a powerful form of Armagus known as the Azure Grimoire, people far and wide are after not only his bounty, but his grimoire as well. This is where our story begins.
    BlazBlue Key Features: The first hi-res 2D fighter from the creators of the Guilty Gear series! Experience the beauty of high-resoluti on, hand-drawn sprites on 3D backgrounds, all in glorious high-definition. Online Battle Action. Get ready to take the action online and battle the best players from all over the world! Console Exclusive Modes. BlazBlue features the following console-only modes: Arcade, Vs, Practice, and a completely fleshed-out Story Mode that tells the tales of each character. Over 10 unique combatants to choose from! Choose a character that represents your own fighting style, like the lightning-fast Taokaka or the wickedly powerful Tager. Drive your way to victory! Use the unique "Drive Attacks" specific to each character to decimate your opponent. Depending on the character, control the elements like wind and ice, or even absorb the life force from your opponents. A plethora of offensive and defensive options at your disposal! Take advantage of Barriers, Counter Assaults, Rapid Cancels, and Distortion Drives to turn the tide of battle! [Akys Games]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. BlazBlue's online system puts titles like Street Fighter IV to shame, and the overall beauty of high-def 2D sprites put it at the top of the graphics department as well.
  2. The fighting system in BlazBlue is the deepest I have seen this generation, and the level of exploration that is possible within the combat is something that is rare indeed.
  3. BlazBlue is a new franchise that calls back to the cabinet. It’s what you’d expect out of, and it’s what you want in, a new 2D fighting game.
  4. Utterly mad, but with a streamlined control system steeped in reality. A brilliant fighter. [Mar 2010, p.69]
  5. Everybody who is searching for a good, quick, fast and challenging fight-game has found it here. Beside the big ones in the business like Tekken or Dead Or Alive it was time to get something new.
  6. For those who fancy something different. [Apr 2010, p.102]
  7. BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is probably a game best suited for people who have been playing fighting games for a long time, but even then, its style seems to be deliberately divisive. It's certainly worth trying out if you're a fan of the genre, but it's entirely possible that you'll find the whole thing to be a big, loud mess.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. BJK
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    I know there are a lot of fanboys out there declaring that Ken/Slow fighter is the best fighting game out there but that's simply not true. It's not a bad game per se but these terrible characters have been done to death, this game doesn't offer anything new to the market. With over 15 games, uninspiring system that favours button smashers. One will truly appreciate tactical fighting games such as Guilty Gear or Blazblue after playing Street Fighter. The netcode is obviously quite a bit worse when compared to something like Blazblue (which is still a better fighting game by far). Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    My favorite fighting game. Never get boring and lovely to play with friends. Al characters are based on metal music and the soundtrack is awesome. Every anime game lover should buy this game. Animations are perfect. But there is one thing i i disliked. There are not many characters. But a fighting game that has a nice story? Never saw it before Expand
  3. VictorU
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    As someone who plays nothing but fighting games I can honestly say that you'll only appreciate BlazBlue if you are competent in the capacity of competitive fighting games. BlazBlue gives you everything. Beautiful, crisp high definition 2D characters on top of gorgeous blended 2D/3D environments. 12 TRULY UNIQUE characters with independent fighting styles. No clones here. An excellent soundtrack inspired by the famed Daisuke Ishiwatari. Online features that should make Capcom reconsider their lack luster offering in Street Fighter IV. The only reasons to give this game anything less than the perfect rating it deserves would be personal preference or a lack of ability to see the facts. BlazBlue is the number one fighting game of 2009. Collapse
  4. MartinT
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    To be honest, this game is one of the best fighters made over the past few years. That said, I play both SF4 and SoulcaliburIV and love them both. Reading other reviews, it seems as if the people have barely spent any time playtng the game thoroughly, or are playing with extreme bias. I'm a fighting game enthusiast, so I can appreciate and fighting system if it is concrete and playable. The system within Blazblue is more complex that both SF4 and SC4, yet that doesn't mean that it is automatically a better game than either. Within Blazblue time must be spent in training mode learning the specific ins and outs of your character....at a high level mashing will only get you killed. In SF4 i noticed that one combo sequence is always applicable to at least 5 characters. I.e. the shotos.....Jump in heavy kick, crouching medium kick, projectile move of choice. Within Blazblue that cannot be done....each character is EXTREMELY different to play, and it is much more difficult to just pickup and play a character. That said, I LOOOOVE SF4. Blazblue offers a unique experience that is very complex.....it is very stylized, and if some people don't like it, its simply a personal preference. That doesn't mean the game isn't a quality fighter, because it is. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    Beautiful game, however not the best fighting game on the market. The anime characters are a bit cliché and expectable, that aside the game is enjoyable whenever you play it online or with your friends in the versus mode.

    If you are a fan of fighting games, you should consider this into your collection. If you're a casual gamer that likes anime characters in fighting games, consider BlazBlue.
    Expand
  6. AdamV.
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    Fighting games are my favorite genre, and I've played nearly all of them. This game is a blast to play, the combat is fast and each character is super unique. However, I do have a couple major gripes with this game that I haven't seen in too many other fighting games: You can combo into a throw. There's a reason that the Street Fighter series has a window where you CAN'T THROW the other player after you hit them, it's to prevent stuff like this. Yes, I know throws are pretty easy to break when you expect them, but being able to combo into one whenever you like is a bit much. Which leads to point number 2... Throws do too much damage. I'm not talking about the throw itself, I'm talking more about the guaranteed combo after the throw. Nearly every character has this, and it's a bit ridiculous. I end up burning my barrier burst right after I get thrown because I know I'm going to lose 50% of my health if I dont. Even the lighter hitting characters (Taokaka, for example) can make you HURT after a back throw. And if I get thrown by Iron Tager, I just put my controller down, because the match is basically over. 80% health gone if my barrier burst is gone. Other than that, fantastic game. Combos are fun, and not exceedingly difficult to do. Moves are flashy, backgrounds are gorgeous. Expand
  7. GregM.
    Jul 15, 2009
    0
    It's like Groove on Fight, but half as interesting, fifty times more Anime, and poor controls. Nothing like having the soundscape blaring the shrieks of 13-year old girls! As soothing as drinking a piece of barbed wire. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews