Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    91
    If you're a fan of classic Castlevania games and are looking for a good (but fair) challenge, look no further than BloodRayne: Betrayal.
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Betrayal isn't for everyone, but for classic gamers looking for a hard romp, it'll prove to be a great success.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    BloodRayne: Betrayal is one of the most enjoyable platformers I've played in a long time. Even if you didn't enjoy the previous BloodRayne titles, there is a lot to like here, $15 price tag and all.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    A nice and interesting offer by WayForward, Betrayal's pure fun, as difficult as it's charming.
  5. 84
    This game allows you to mindlessly kick the crap out of things while playing as a badass vampire chick. If that sounds like something you'd like, then BloodRayne: Betrayal will not disappoint.
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    83
    I enjoyed Blood Rayne in spite of my own frustrations. In part because of its novelty, 2D games that look this good are too few and far between, and those in HD are even scarcer. However, the game goes beyond its novelty and offers a fun yet challenging set of levels.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    A hellish task worth undertaking. [Issue#115, p.105]
  8. 80
    Brilliant, bite-sized entertainment. [Dec 2011, p.101]
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    BloodRayne is already no stranger to sequels so I'm hopeful that developer WayForward might be given another chance to squish some of the frustrating bits. Don't go changing the graphics and animation! Just make the split second controls a little less poke-you-in-the-eye difficult.
  10. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    In the end, BloodRayne: Betrayal is a fun XBox Live Game that I would recommend that you download for some 2D action fun.
  11. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    It's done enough to shake a shambling wraith out of its coffin and render it an elegant, challenging treat.
  12. Oct 10, 2011
    71
    I literally had to force myself to play this game, grumbling throughout the first 2-3 stages, but eventually the Castlevania-style gameplay and unique stylized graphics overcame my shattered expectations and I started to appreciate the game for what it is – a kick-ass, old-school platformer that will deliver hours of challenging fun regardless of its title.
  13. Sep 20, 2011
    70
    Bloodrayne: Betrayal is not without its moments, and at times can be exhilarating to play, but you will struggle with some of the decisions WayForward made with how Rayne controls, and if this is your first foray into 2D gaming, it's unlikely you'll even finish Rayne's adventure.
  14. Sep 16, 2011
    70
    If BloodRayne: Betrayal gives Uwe Boll an excuse to make another movie, its appearance might not be such a good thing, But if you can get over such matters, this is a satisfying and brutal return to the old school.
  15. Sep 14, 2011
    70
    I couldn't help but find myself coming back for the gorgeous animations and characters, as well as the fast-paced combat. Yes, the game is punishing and will likely make you want to throw a controller in anger, but it is still fun.
  16. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    BloodRayne: Betrayal is a lot like how I'd imagine being a vampire would be. Initially my newfound powers would be awesome and invigorating. Eventually though, immortality would inevitably lead to weariness. Thankfully, Rayne's six hour jaunt requires less commitment than a vampire's unholy contract, and while it may not be a life-changing event, its seductive pull is worth having a taste of.
  17. 70
    Some challenges aren't planned well enough, but overall this is a good hack and slash game with some great visuals.
  18. Aug 16, 2011
    70
    I feel proud for beating BloodRayne: Betrayal, but I can't recommend it for anyone who lacks an ocean of patience. [Sept 2011, p.93]
  19. Sep 19, 2011
    68
    This game is not for everyone: while it does its best to stay in line with its predecessors, it puts the bar for newcomers quite high. It's not without faults, very frustrating and doesn't feature as much story as desireable.
  20. Sep 12, 2011
    68
    It'll make you literally scream in rage, and not for good. It isn't just a difficult game, it's a somehow broken one. Controls don't do their job on many occasions, and most of the time it plays dirty with you. Just for masochist players and fans of the saga.
  21. Nov 16, 2011
    66
    Old school 2d action platform with gorgeous graphics and some nice ideas. However, nasty level design and clunky controls make an overall frustrating experience.
  22. 65
    Betrayal's wild artistic flair alleviates some of its pain, but you'll still grind your teeth at least as often as you sink them into new flesh.
  23. Sep 29, 2011
    60
    If you are a gluten for punishment, like a challenge or have a lot of patience, then Bloodrayne Betrayal is worth picking. For the rest of us? Let Rayne and her game rest in peace…
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    Because of an imprecise control system and a level design absolutely anonymous, Bloodrayne: Betrayal is a videogame only recommended to fans of the franchise or gamers in withdrawal symptoms from action in 2D.
  25. Sep 9, 2011
    55
    Finicky controls taint the exciting combat in BloodRayne: Betrayal, creating an uneven and frustrating adventure.
  26. Unfairly difficult platforming lumbered with controls that aren't up to task. Fight against both for a rewarding experience, or climb back into your coffin.
  27. Sep 22, 2011
    50
    So yeah, it's only for people who are really, really (repeat for a while) really into their tough platformers or those who love Rayne's exploits so much, they can't live without experiencing this.
  28. Sep 20, 2011
    50
    BloodRayne: Betrayal is on the line of a game I'd recommend and a game I wouldn't recommend. The visuals are wonderful and genuinely a pleasure to look at. But the gameplay is hindered entirely by overly difficult platforming and atrocious controls.
  29. Sep 16, 2011
    50
    Again, I realize that some people will absolutely love the challenge that BloodRayne: Betrayal brings. It has an old school Castelvania flavor to it and the ability to search for powerups as well as the exhilaration one feels when making it out of a massive battle alive will no doubt thrill some of the hardcore among us.
  30. Sep 12, 2011
    50
    Never has so promising a game been ruined by such a perversely high difficultly level, which is a crying shame given the gorgeous 2D art.
  31. Sep 9, 2011
    50
    No amount of zen can keep a player from dying so many times and feeling so helpless that they punch through a poster for a band they actually like. If you appreciate an abusive relationship however, this is the way to go.
  32. Sep 7, 2011
    50
    If you absolutely love to be beaten into submission by a game, perhaps BB will serve as your cruel mistress, but you will have to wrestle with the controls. Anyone looking for simply some 2D action to pass the time should stay the heck away, unless you think you have a secret masochist inside.
  33. Sep 28, 2011
    45
    If BloodRayne: Betrayal works at all it's in starts and stops. Honing in on one thing at a time, like the animation, one can arguably find areas that are enjoyable. A platforming section here or there may be fun to play through once. The part where Rayne runs the gauntlet of enemies just before the castle crumbles under her feet can provide hack and slash relief with excessive (in a good way) blood and dismemberment. Put it all together, however, any fun to be had gets lost in a vortex of suck.
  34. Sep 13, 2011
    40
    Bloodrayne: Betrayal is a frustrating mess of a game that shows a lot of promise in parts, but never actually delivers.
  35. Oct 2, 2011
    30
    With shoddy production values and multiple lapses in judgment with regard to the game's overall design, BloodRayne: Betrayal feels like an amateurish, half-baked XBLI title that should be begging for a buck instead of the ready-for-prime-time XBLA title it's pretending to be. No thanks.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    5
    I like the direction they tried to take with this new iteration of BloodRayne; a hand-drawn side scrolling brawler/platformer. However, it simply fails to leave a lasting impression. The hand-drawn sprites and environments are very nice and the animation is fluid, however it does lack in the variety department in both scenery and enemies. The combat is more diverse than it originally appears but due to the difficulty of some moves and the ease of killing enemies with the simpler moves, it doesn't entice you to delve too deep in the mechanics. The platforming can be very hard at times and it'll hit you early, diminishing morale just a couple levels in. I begrudgingly kept moving on in hopes of the game showing me something more, but it simply never wowed me. I hope Majesco continues with this sidescroller approach and are able to refine the established mechanics along with adding more in to provide more diverse gameplay. A better story is a must as well, since the story in this one is lacking. A good story can lead to better environments and enemies. It's easy to see how much better this game can be in future iterations, but this game as it is, is simply mediocre and felt like a chore to play. I can only recommend this if it is on sale. 5/10 Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Old school gaming at it's finest. Beautiful graphics, wonderful soundtrack (even the 8-bit one Great controls and difficulty level so hard, i felt like i'm little kid again. In other words: awesome. Not for newbies. This game is pure GOLD to all gamers who love good challenge and old-school gameplay. Great job WayForward Full Review »
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Okay, this game is HARD. Super hard. But it is so from being legitimately challenging. It is so frustrating, but never insurmountable. I beat this game and am proud of it. The last 3 levels are brutal, so be prepared if you try to make it to the end. The art style is fantastic, but the story is a bit nonexistent. For the sheer hardcore, quality gameplay though, I definitely recommend this to old school gamers looking for a challenge. Full Review »