BloodRayne: Betrayal Xbox 360

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    91
    If you're a fan of classic Castlevania games and are looking for a good (but fair) challenge, look no further than BloodRayne: Betrayal.
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Betrayal isn't for everyone, but for classic gamers looking for a hard romp, it'll prove to be a great success.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    BloodRayne: Betrayal is one of the most enjoyable platformers I've played in a long time. Even if you didn't enjoy the previous BloodRayne titles, there is a lot to like here, $15 price tag and all.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    A nice and interesting offer by WayForward, Betrayal's pure fun, as difficult as it's charming.
  5. 84
    This game allows you to mindlessly kick the crap out of things while playing as a badass vampire chick. If that sounds like something you'd like, then BloodRayne: Betrayal will not disappoint.
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    83
    I enjoyed Blood Rayne in spite of my own frustrations. In part because of its novelty, 2D games that look this good are too few and far between, and those in HD are even scarcer. However, the game goes beyond its novelty and offers a fun yet challenging set of levels.
  7. games(TM)
    Nov 16, 2011
    80
    A hellish task worth undertaking. [Issue#115, p.105]
  8. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Brilliant, bite-sized entertainment. [Dec 2011, p.101]
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    BloodRayne is already no stranger to sequels so I'm hopeful that developer WayForward might be given another chance to squish some of the frustrating bits. Don't go changing the graphics and animation! Just make the split second controls a little less poke-you-in-the-eye difficult.
  10. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    In the end, BloodRayne: Betrayal is a fun XBox Live Game that I would recommend that you download for some 2D action fun.
  11. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    It's done enough to shake a shambling wraith out of its coffin and render it an elegant, challenging treat.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Okay, this game is HARD. Super hard. But it is so from being legitimately challenging. It is so frustrating, but never insurmountable. IOkay, this game is HARD. Super hard. But it is so from being legitimately challenging. It is so frustrating, but never insurmountable. I beat this game and am proud of it. The last 3 levels are brutal, so be prepared if you try to make it to the end. The art style is fantastic, but the story is a bit nonexistent. For the sheer hardcore, quality gameplay though, I definitely recommend this to old school gamers looking for a challenge. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    5
    I like the direction they tried to take with this new iteration of BloodRayne; a hand-drawn side scrolling brawler/platformer. However, itI like the direction they tried to take with this new iteration of BloodRayne; a hand-drawn side scrolling brawler/platformer. However, it simply fails to leave a lasting impression. The hand-drawn sprites and environments are very nice and the animation is fluid, however it does lack in the variety department in both scenery and enemies. The combat is more diverse than it originally appears but due to the difficulty of some moves and the ease of killing enemies with the simpler moves, it doesn't entice you to delve too deep in the mechanics. The platforming can be very hard at times and it'll hit you early, diminishing morale just a couple levels in. I begrudgingly kept moving on in hopes of the game showing me something more, but it simply never wowed me. I hope Majesco continues with this sidescroller approach and are able to refine the established mechanics along with adding more in to provide more diverse gameplay. A better story is a must as well, since the story in this one is lacking. A good story can lead to better environments and enemies. It's easy to see how much better this game can be in future iterations, but this game as it is, is simply mediocre and felt like a chore to play. I can only recommend this if it is on sale. 5/10 Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Old school gaming at it's finest. Beautiful graphics, wonderful soundtrack (even the 8-bit one Great controls and difficulty level so hard,Old school gaming at it's finest. Beautiful graphics, wonderful soundtrack (even the 8-bit one Great controls and difficulty level so hard, i felt like i'm little kid again. In other words: awesome. Not for newbies. This game is pure GOLD to all gamers who love good challenge and old-school gameplay. Great job WayForward Full Review »