User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 140

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesM
    Aug 30, 2008
    7
    This game is by no means perfect, but if you like the RPG genre and have a 360 it would be a shame for you not to own this game. Richard E doesn't seem to know what he is talking about so take his review with a grain of salt. Also I can say that this game was not made for small children as it is rated T for Teen. For those who do not know that means 13 and up basically a PG-13 This game is by no means perfect, but if you like the RPG genre and have a 360 it would be a shame for you not to own this game. Richard E doesn't seem to know what he is talking about so take his review with a grain of salt. Also I can say that this game was not made for small children as it is rated T for Teen. For those who do not know that means 13 and up basically a PG-13 rating. I quite like this game and I think other fans of J-RPGs will like it too. Expand
  2. AllistairP.
    Oct 6, 2007
    8
    I would like to say how unfairly rated this game has been rated by some, but it makes sense because I found FFXII completely overrated. This is the other side of RPGs, the colorful, happy-go-lucky side that Squaresoft used to make. This game is just a blast to play. The characters, the music, and the visuals are fantastic. I think this is the best looking game ever made, but thats just I would like to say how unfairly rated this game has been rated by some, but it makes sense because I found FFXII completely overrated. This is the other side of RPGs, the colorful, happy-go-lucky side that Squaresoft used to make. This game is just a blast to play. The characters, the music, and the visuals are fantastic. I think this is the best looking game ever made, but thats just b/c the art direction appeals to me (how could it not?). The gameplay and music both are pulled right out of old school FF and there is NOTHING wrong with that. Then there is the plot and characters which are so bad that they are awesome. It's totally in the vein of Earthbound, except not intentional. Either way, get ready to laugh and laugh. Such a funny and happy game. I mean Godawful 80s hair metal plays during boss fights? YES! You're missing out if you don't own this game. Expand
  3. Jani
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    Good game, no doubts. The story is rather nice and it gets better after the first few hours. Battle systems is turn-based but it still very good. Only problem is that Blue Dragon too easy with the normal difficulty level, I strongly advice you to download the ultra hard mod from x-box live and use the hard difficulty setting.
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    I love this Game so much, awesome story line great funny characters and cool cut scenes but there is a lot of backtracking in the game so I will give it a 8.5 out of 10.
  5. Feb 16, 2015
    9
    the return of the classic, turn based rpg. nothing new here but you'll definitely enjoy the ride it takes you on. gives this game a try if your a fan of the genre or raring to try the way games used to be played.
  6. Mal
    Mar 8, 2009
    8
    No idea where the bad reviews and hatred come from, this is a great RPG. It's heavy on the grind at times, and the 'search everything' parts are tedious, but the battle system is great and the story is fine. Don't listen to the haters, this is a must buy for RPG fans who own a 360.
  7. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    A game that the JRPGs fans worth playing.The game starts really slow and it gets interested after the first 5-6 hours.First of all the graphics are amazing,the turned based battle system is really interesting and the shadow classes are really interesting to play with,the store is really good and the only bad i can find in this game is the first hours of gameplay.Really underrated by someA game that the JRPGs fans worth playing.The game starts really slow and it gets interested after the first 5-6 hours.First of all the graphics are amazing,the turned based battle system is really interesting and the shadow classes are really interesting to play with,the store is really good and the only bad i can find in this game is the first hours of gameplay.Really underrated by some users and in my opinion this game is a 9/10 Expand
  8. TonyG.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game! The gameplay, graphics, and music are all excellent. The job system is a very clever, open-ended feature that allows you to customize your characters very well. The story is good, but not incredible. If you like RPG's, try this game. Just keep in mind that the game gets better as you go along. At first, your characters are fairly weak, but once you've mastered Brilliant game! The gameplay, graphics, and music are all excellent. The job system is a very clever, open-ended feature that allows you to customize your characters very well. The story is good, but not incredible. If you like RPG's, try this game. Just keep in mind that the game gets better as you go along. At first, your characters are fairly weak, but once you've mastered your first class (15-20 hours), the skill combos that present themselves become addictive. Not only that, but the developers continue to post new material on XBOX Marketplace for Blue Dragon, including a New Game+, items, and a multi-level randomized dungeon. Very fun game! Expand
  9. GamerG.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Best RPG of it's kind on the 360. A must have title. Nuff said.
  10. MarkM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    I was surprised this game didn
  11. JohnN.
    Jul 18, 2007
    0
    Possibly the biggest disappoint of any game release on the XBOX 360 so far. Viva Pinata shines in comparison. Dragonball Z meets Comedy Central's Drawn Together meets France 3's Code Lyoko and Aladdin. An epic RPG that does not satisfy the ears, eyes, or mind of a creative gamer.
  12. Apr 25, 2012
    6
    A classic RPG in the style of the major Final Fantasies, albeit with a dramatically toned-down-for-children story with equally childlike characters and scenarios. The environments and music are bland but the leveling and battle systems are satisfying (if a little stale).
  13. Jan
    May 3, 2008
    3
    This game is difficult to rate because it was clearly made for small children. Anyways it somehow is a 360 core gamer game and me who got bored so: The first boss in this game is generally threated as the hardest enemy you will find during the storyline. I agree on this and sadly have to add the fact that i didn't even have to use one single heal spell, smart strategy or item during This game is difficult to rate because it was clearly made for small children. Anyways it somehow is a 360 core gamer game and me who got bored so: The first boss in this game is generally threated as the hardest enemy you will find during the storyline. I agree on this and sadly have to add the fact that i didn't even have to use one single heal spell, smart strategy or item during this fight. This beeing said, imagine this game only getting even easier during progress. So you make your way through the embarrassing storyline, dealing with the embarrassing char design and storytelling, hoping that the game gets better until it is over. Waste of time, about 150 Gamerscore, a negative review at metascore, one more Blue Dragon on ebay and thats about it. 3 out of 10 from me. Expand
  14. RobertD.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    If you like rpg than you will love this. No question.
  15. AndesT.
    Aug 30, 2007
    5
    I think EuroGamer summed this up the best. The game isn't terrible, but it can't really compare to some of the other RPGs being released. It doesn't compare to the work that the developers had done in earlier games... needless to say it was a let down. X360 doesn't need this, they needed a Final Fantasy 13 killer.
  16. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    So I want to say from the bottom of my heart I love anime. Its great and its one of my favorite forms of animation.I hate this game because of two reasons; First reason: It was way to LLLLLLLLOOOOOONNNNNGGGG, when I played this 15 years old I didn't want a really long drawn out game i wanted a nice clean turn base game with very little cut scenes but what i got was a game that felt it wasSo I want to say from the bottom of my heart I love anime. Its great and its one of my favorite forms of animation.I hate this game because of two reasons; First reason: It was way to LLLLLLLLOOOOOONNNNNGGGG, when I played this 15 years old I didn't want a really long drawn out game i wanted a nice clean turn base game with very little cut scenes but what i got was a game that felt it was ok to have one cut scene be five minutes long and that did that for every cut scene in the game! Nope i can't do that i want to play a game if i wanted alot of dialog I would watch the show.

    Second reason: I hated the story, I know that I bought the game and hey if i bought it its cause i know a little bit about the show, well guess what that was the first time i have ever hear of any of those characters and you know what i hated all of them except that little dancing pikachu guy Marumaro and even he got really annoying. I only bought the game for three bucks, man i can't believe i wasted three bucks on that game. The game had some good parts to tho, the world the characters were in looked like Dragonball, and the art work for all the characters was really good. But a really bad story, and bizarre events that happened for no reason what so ever( the dance after you save pikachu's village) was what killed it. I recommend that you play a good RPG like Final Fantasy and stay clear of this horrible game.
    Expand
  17. RichardE.
    Aug 15, 2008
    0
    This game is just incredibly boring. I don't know how it has got such good reviews, it's as if people are afraid they're insulting the mighty fighting fantasy or something. I thought someone had to give this game a bad review. I would give it an average score for being an average game but in this particular case I think we have to factor in how much of a let down this game This game is just incredibly boring. I don't know how it has got such good reviews, it's as if people are afraid they're insulting the mighty fighting fantasy or something. I thought someone had to give this game a bad review. I would give it an average score for being an average game but in this particular case I think we have to factor in how much of a let down this game is and not be afraid to give it an unfairly low score. Collapse
  18. May 6, 2011
    4
    Poor rpg game. Failed on all areas. Childish game, childish characters. Poor cheap and badly designed. No decent storyline and poor upgrade system. Would not recommend this game.
  19. BrianE.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    This is my 2nd favorite J-RPG of all time (DQ8 is number 1) and this amazing game is great from start to finish. Well worth playing for any RPG fan or those who want to get into RPGs
  20. GregLFW
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    Outstanding game with a compelling plot and fantastic production values.
  21. MLGDFER
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    I'm an avid Bioshock/Halo 3/COD4/FPS gamer. I wanted to try something new so I downloaded this game's demo. It was terrible. But I decided to give it another try when it went on sale in Circuit City. And boy am I glad that I did. I've had it for several days now and blue dragon has exceeded most of my expectations. The graphics are simple yet beautiful. The music is so I'm an avid Bioshock/Halo 3/COD4/FPS gamer. I wanted to try something new so I downloaded this game's demo. It was terrible. But I decided to give it another try when it went on sale in Circuit City. And boy am I glad that I did. I've had it for several days now and blue dragon has exceeded most of my expectations. The graphics are simple yet beautiful. The music is so appropriate and also brilliant (actually it's composed by a a so called legendary musician of our time, Uematsu). Finally the gameplay itself and storyline has kept me wanting to keep playing and find out what happens next. I haven't really seen any game like this before for the 360, so I recommend getting it. It's a classic. Expand
  22. DavidJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    I don't even usually play JRPGS, but this one is refreshingly simple and enjoyable. If you think complicated stories with political intrigue and angst are the only good stories, then leave it be, but if you can enjoy a tale about a few everyday kids fighting a great evil that harkens back to why Star Wars is so narratively satisfying, then sign yourself up right now
  23. DaveW.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    Blue Dragon is without a doubt the best looking Japanese RPG to date. Not only that, but the gameplay is incredibly solid. It solves most of the problems that most JRPGs have with turn based battle systems, eliminating random encounters without sacrificing the pool of enemies to fight on the map, and allowing the player to never be in a situation of being slowed down by having to fight Blue Dragon is without a doubt the best looking Japanese RPG to date. Not only that, but the gameplay is incredibly solid. It solves most of the problems that most JRPGs have with turn based battle systems, eliminating random encounters without sacrificing the pool of enemies to fight on the map, and allowing the player to never be in a situation of being slowed down by having to fight weak enemies. The environments, contrary to what you may read elsewhere, are not bland or empty. Anyone with such an opinion clearly spends to much time playing corridor shooters. Instead, Blue Dragon has rich and detailed environments for an RPG. There is a lot of variety, and a lot of atmosphere to boot. The story isn't some serious epic, but it's not meant to be. It's light hearted, simple and simple - but not overly so. Oldskool JRPGers will feel right at home with it. There's also a lot of humour, criticisms of the dialogue are misplaced as the game certainly pokes fun at itself on many occasions. What I'm saying is, it knows what it's about even if reviewers at some larger publications and sites fail to. The musical score is on par with all of Uematsu's previous work. There's a lot of variety, and it never gets old. The boss battle music is light hearted and funny, clearly poking fun at Uematsu's own rock adaptations of his own work. It's a shame to see that places like IGN, 1UP, and EGM scored the game so low - maybe if they went in not expecting a Final Fantasy clone there would be higher scores at the bigger sites/publications. Shame. Expand
  24. JoshT.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Awesome game...yea...it may not add anything new...but it creates a great feeling of nostalgia.
  25. BarryP.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Very decent RPG. A benchmark for all the RPG's to surely appear on the Xbox 360.
  26. MarcJ.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Rather than an revolution in RPGs, this game is an evolution of classic RPGs on to the next generation video game platform. Captivating storyline and solid gameplay, this is must have for any real Japanese RPG fan.
  27. JoshG.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    One of the most underrated games I've seen in a while. Its magical, and perfect.
  28. SteveM.
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    The game is refreshing and new, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I agree with Dave W.; You gotta stop expecting a Final Fantasy look-alike and open yourself to a blank palette. Expect nothing you're familiar with, and then go in and see what yo ufind.
  29. RichH.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    The problem with this game, and all JRPGS is that they can never quite match the sheer joy of the PSX Squaresoft Era. The only mistakes they made were Chocobo Racing and that there fighting game - everything else being either brilliant or fun. The FEEL of Final Fantasies of this time period was magical, the lack of vocal interpretation of the characters allowing the player to actually The problem with this game, and all JRPGS is that they can never quite match the sheer joy of the PSX Squaresoft Era. The only mistakes they made were Chocobo Racing and that there fighting game - everything else being either brilliant or fun. The FEEL of Final Fantasies of this time period was magical, the lack of vocal interpretation of the characters allowing the player to actually engage with the stories within their own imagination. the games were longer, the world maps allowed you to actually explore and the turn based game play was so well perfected that trying to improve on it seemed a waste of time that could be spent on storyline. Expand
  30. BillS.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Fantastic old school RPG for the next generation!
  31. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    My Favorite RPG, user friendly controls, great graphics and storyline make this game fun to play.....I'm even playing it a second time through waiting on the 2nd one to come out. Would recommend this to everyone and anyone that like chill RPG games!!!
  32. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best JRPGS I ever played. Up there with the best final fantasy games! The graphics and cutscenes were phenemonal! This game was a lot of fun to play! The major publication reviews dont do this game justice at all. The game is very long though. That can be a good or bad thing depending on how much spare time you have.
  33. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I played this game so much when i was ten and I still love it while not perfect and certainly hard in some areas (don't get me started on the end of disk two) a perfectly fun enjoyable rpg
  34. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    An amazingly great game with many likable characters, a great battle system (that many games have come to ripoff), graphics that started a hole trend of anime styled RPG's, and a great storyline.
  35. JasonL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    8
    I was down on this game when the 360 demo came, so if you were like me and you tried the demo you owe the game another try. It's a fun game it's not going to blow you away with the story and at times I just wish the characers would stop talking all together. But The game play adds a nice spin on an old favorite, I think it's great that you can choose to avoid crappy enemies I was down on this game when the 360 demo came, so if you were like me and you tried the demo you owe the game another try. It's a fun game it's not going to blow you away with the story and at times I just wish the characers would stop talking all together. But The game play adds a nice spin on an old favorite, I think it's great that you can choose to avoid crappy enemies or you can group them all together for one large encounter and the class system seems to have succeded where other games have not. If you are a fan of the old school turn based RPG you owe it to yourself to check this one out. Expand
  36. Aaace5
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    I lost respect for reviewers like EGM years ago, because they give the worst reviews! A weak game they will love... And a decent game that's misunderstood they will hate, because they don't know how to judge something for what it is... and just choose to judge it against something else! If you aren't sure about this game, just play the demo on LIVE and make your choice from there!
  37. AndreT.
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    I completed the game. This RPG is a fun game. Nice story, a strong battle system, good music. The game is aimed to children, but can be played by everyone. It's an easy game but the boss are challenging at time. There is a lot of secrets and items to find, especielly late in the game, when you get the flying vehicule. On the weak side, the class system is useless and makes everything I completed the game. This RPG is a fun game. Nice story, a strong battle system, good music. The game is aimed to children, but can be played by everyone. It's an easy game but the boss are challenging at time. There is a lot of secrets and items to find, especielly late in the game, when you get the flying vehicule. On the weak side, the class system is useless and makes everything way too easy and bland to some point. By the end you get too much more money, and no real items to match it. In conclusion, don't miss out on Blue Dragon because of it's look, or easiness. It's a very good RPG, made by a pro in the matter, and it shows. Expand
  38. AnthB.
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Bland story that doesnt develop until late in the game. In the meantime listen to some of the most annoying characters ever seen in a video game. "I wont give up", lame the first time you hear it...painful the 20th. Marumaro is the Jar-Jar Binks of video games. From a gameplay point of view I love it. Big fans of turn-based JRPG's will enjoy it. Game would be a solid 9 if not for the Bland story that doesnt develop until late in the game. In the meantime listen to some of the most annoying characters ever seen in a video game. "I wont give up", lame the first time you hear it...painful the 20th. Marumaro is the Jar-Jar Binks of video games. From a gameplay point of view I love it. Big fans of turn-based JRPG's will enjoy it. Game would be a solid 9 if not for the story/characters. Expand
  39. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    a pretty decent RPG that feels alot and looks alot like dragon ball z . probubly because the guy who wrote it did DBZ as well . the voice acting is kind of pitaful . the story is ok nothing much special but its just intresting enough to keep you moving along . the graphics are ok nothing special . the combat with the shadows is kind of neat . the game is fairly long around 40 hours or so .a pretty decent RPG that feels alot and looks alot like dragon ball z . probubly because the guy who wrote it did DBZ as well . the voice acting is kind of pitaful . the story is ok nothing much special but its just intresting enough to keep you moving along . the graphics are ok nothing special . the combat with the shadows is kind of neat . the game is fairly long around 40 hours or so . theres some extra stuff to do at the end if you want to put another 50+ hours of leveling to kill some hardcore bosses. over all its worth playing if you like JRPG's just nothing very special. Expand
  40. May 2, 2013
    7
    i may not be a major rpg fan, but i have to admit, the game isn't as good as final fantasy 3 or chrono trigger on the super nintendo, but it is still pretty damn good
  41. May 29, 2013
    8
    For JRPG's this is a very good game. It stands out of the crowd and is unique for what it is. Have to take points off it for being extremely childish and a somewhat silly storyline, but it's enjoyable and I really do love this game.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Blue Dragon finds the perfect balance between linearity and excessive freedom - it doesn't embarrass you by holding your hand, and yet it doesn't just leave you alone crying in the supermarket. Hironobu Sakaguchi (the FF creator and Blue Dragon mastermind) is as good a parent as Shigeru Miyamoto.
  2. Where so many RPGs deliver dry experiences that adhere too closely to traditional type, Mistwalker delivers an RPG that pushes the genre in all the right directions. With supreme technical qualities and gameplay to match, it’s little wonder that Blue Dragon has revived the 360 in Japan. [JPN Import]
  3. Blue Dragon's light-hearted charm and role-playing goodness fills a lacking aspect of the Xbox 360's lineup. [JPN Import]