Blur Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 167
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2016
    8
    Controls nicely. Tracks so far seem like they are nice. I like the fusion of Realistic vehicles, with the Mario Kart style power ups. Really enjoyable, well worth the pick up. I surprised I haven't seen a sequel.
  2. Feb 17, 2016
    8
    Lets not beat around the bush, this is Mario Kart infused with GT/Need for Speed. Does that take away from it? HELL NO!! This is an excellent arcade-style racing title. One of the best on Xbox 360. At game nights we always bash out a couple of laps on this bad boy.

    A refreshing step away from racing-sims.
  3. Dec 31, 2015
    9
    I have been a fan of the Mario Kart series since I was a kid, first playing Mario Kart 64 in '96. Despite saying that about possibly the biggest arcade racer in gaming, I've got to say that Blur tops them all. There are so many cars to choose from, great tracks to blaze through, and so many memories of power up carnage after these 5 years since its release. There are a few little bugs hereI have been a fan of the Mario Kart series since I was a kid, first playing Mario Kart 64 in '96. Despite saying that about possibly the biggest arcade racer in gaming, I've got to say that Blur tops them all. There are so many cars to choose from, great tracks to blaze through, and so many memories of power up carnage after these 5 years since its release. There are a few little bugs here and there, but most of them have little to no effect on the enjoyment of the game. The single player is pretty lackluster: short, on the easy side, and nothing that makes you want to return to it. The multiplayer is where Blur really shines. Racing against 19 other players, all using versatile power ups (not to mention "mods" that alter the way your car and power ups interact with other players), can be a chaotic and hilarious, yet intense and skill-testing experience. Bizarre Creations had something fantastic here. We can only hope that someone else will continue where they left off. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2015
    9
    I went into Blur with only mild expectations but was pleasantly surprised at just how freaking fun it was. The driving feels great, with its only blemish being a fairly weak drift system. The power-ups are simple yet each have multiple uses; the shock wave for instance can either push other racers away from you, or (if carefully timed) stop an enemy shunt from hitting you. The onlineI went into Blur with only mild expectations but was pleasantly surprised at just how freaking fun it was. The driving feels great, with its only blemish being a fairly weak drift system. The power-ups are simple yet each have multiple uses; the shock wave for instance can either push other racers away from you, or (if carefully timed) stop an enemy shunt from hitting you. The online multiplayer was where the chaotic arcade racing really shined, with up to 19 other racers fighting for that precious top 3 finish. This may sound blasphemous, but Blur was better in some ways than even the king of arcade racing, Mario Kart. Definitely a game I always thought was always significantly underrated. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    This game is the BEST game on Xbox 360.Everything it has is perfect except a quite weak car list.Also,you won't get much out of online multiplayer but it has 4-player split-screen,a must buy for everyone
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    If all you expect from a racing game is pure fun, Blur's arcade gameplay and destruction is enough to satisfy your cravings. It's not the deepest of racers, but there is nothing better on the console if you are after quick and intense races that will keep you on the edge of your seat to the last second of each lap.

    Blur borrows from arcade weapon base racers from the past but does it
    If all you expect from a racing game is pure fun, Blur's arcade gameplay and destruction is enough to satisfy your cravings. It's not the deepest of racers, but there is nothing better on the console if you are after quick and intense races that will keep you on the edge of your seat to the last second of each lap.

    Blur borrows from arcade weapon base racers from the past but does it with not only a beautiful visual style but adds extra elements to make every move count. From switching between collected weapons on the fly, to storing up 3 of the same item to really put a hurt on your opponents at the right time to secure your victory, Blur really takes a formula that has worked for decades and turns it up to 11.
    Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Any game that has you saying 'just one more race' and then realising that daylight is coming out of the curtains after a long night playing has to be given a good score. Online is highly addictive, and while it may be a small population, every player is friendly and competitive in all the right amounts. Dive in to a game that deserved better, but even without the tragic history aspect itsAny game that has you saying 'just one more race' and then realising that daylight is coming out of the curtains after a long night playing has to be given a good score. Online is highly addictive, and while it may be a small population, every player is friendly and competitive in all the right amounts. Dive in to a game that deserved better, but even without the tragic history aspect its a fast paced, action packed racer that has little for simulation fans, but anyone after pure fun will find it here. Well worth a purchase. Expand
  8. May 23, 2012
    9
    Blur is a really cool game, i will descirbe it as Mario Kart for the mature audience. Good graphics, great sound and funny gameplay rounds up the whole package. Blur is simple but awesome at the same time, a truly great arcade-racer. if you liked Mario Kart you will love Blur!
  9. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Blur is the ultimate arcade racing game. Everyone loves Mario Kart unless you find it too childish, well Blur is the answer to that. It takes the same gameplay as Mario Kart and implements it into real life and real cars. The online mayhem is spectacular and will last you for a long time to come. The single player is sparse yet fun to play regardless. The graphics are some of the best thisBlur is the ultimate arcade racing game. Everyone loves Mario Kart unless you find it too childish, well Blur is the answer to that. It takes the same gameplay as Mario Kart and implements it into real life and real cars. The online mayhem is spectacular and will last you for a long time to come. The single player is sparse yet fun to play regardless. The graphics are some of the best this generation, slick and shiny. Blur wont get old anytime soon garunteed. Expand
  10. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, have much interesting elements, and is fresh, finally a new IP, that is funny and interesting. I think that Blur is one of the most better games of the genre.
  11. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Blur is one of those games that you can't believe no is talking about. Blur is an arcade racing game made my the same team who made Project Gotham Racing. It's essentially Mario Kart for hardcore racing fans. The game features numerous power ups that help you during races. The fact that this game is incredibly cheap makes you want to go out and buy this game. it's a simple but fun arcadeBlur is one of those games that you can't believe no is talking about. Blur is an arcade racing game made my the same team who made Project Gotham Racing. It's essentially Mario Kart for hardcore racing fans. The game features numerous power ups that help you during races. The fact that this game is incredibly cheap makes you want to go out and buy this game. it's a simple but fun arcade racing game. BUY IT!!! Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Very fun (and underrated) arcade racing game. The matchmaking is very smooth, online is quite consistant with the exception of minor lag which you experience at the beginning of most races. It's a shame this game didn't get the community it deserved...
  13. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    This game went criminally unoticed. A spectacular action racer where those unscripted "wow" moments never stop coming. Great campaign and multiplayer brilliance. Buy it!
  14. May 10, 2011
    6
    Blur is a fun game, which unfortunately has not gained the attention it probably deserves. There is plenty of race tracks, game modes for multiplayer and there's more to each race than just coming 1st; you can gain fans by completing challenges throughout the race, such as driving through golden gates in order and completing fan demands, such as getting a clean boost. It appears to be veryBlur is a fun game, which unfortunately has not gained the attention it probably deserves. There is plenty of race tracks, game modes for multiplayer and there's more to each race than just coming 1st; you can gain fans by completing challenges throughout the race, such as driving through golden gates in order and completing fan demands, such as getting a clean boost. It appears to be very balanced, unlike Mario Kart, from which it draws inevitable comparisons with the items you can collect, the items are not randomised, so if you're low in the ranks, getting a boost or shunt is far better than getting a mine. I've played split-screen and the races are usually very tight, even with easy computer opponents. There's plenty to do, alone or online, and there's a good range of real cars with different handling. The graphics are not stunning, but the speed and effects on each course make up for this. Overall, Blur is a solid, fun racer and I can definitely recommend it. 3/5. Expand
  15. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    I love arcade racing games, and I'm always looking for something to hold me over until the next Burnout is released. Blur is hands-down my favorites racer from 2010. Weapon power-ups are fun and balanced, visuals are slick, race types are varied, and the pace of vehicle unlocks is decent. This was released around the same time as Split/Second and draws lots of comparisons. I like 'emI love arcade racing games, and I'm always looking for something to hold me over until the next Burnout is released. Blur is hands-down my favorites racer from 2010. Weapon power-ups are fun and balanced, visuals are slick, race types are varied, and the pace of vehicle unlocks is decent. This was released around the same time as Split/Second and draws lots of comparisons. I like 'em both, but I give Blur the edge. Expand
  16. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Simply (one of) the best online multiplayer racing games. The power-ups are nicely balanced. Being able to keep 3 power-ups and use them forwards/backwards with often different characteristics ensures that you always have to choose wisely. Doing this whilst in the middle of a pack and following the track makes for an exhiliarating experience. No race is the same, and almost every race hasSimply (one of) the best online multiplayer racing games. The power-ups are nicely balanced. Being able to keep 3 power-ups and use them forwards/backwards with often different characteristics ensures that you always have to choose wisely. Doing this whilst in the middle of a pack and following the track makes for an exhiliarating experience. No race is the same, and almost every race has great moments, even if you end up last. Splitscreen is great for local play too, but the (important) rearview mirror is absent then.
    Forget about Revolt or Mario Kart, this is the real thing!
    Expand
  17. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    Blur is probably the finest racing game I've played all year. It might be intimidating to newcomers in the genre but pass that and this is one of the most addictive racing games ever. Of course you'll be attacking adversaries from front and back with several unique weapons designed to rid the landscape of cars in your wake. The career is demanding but is strewn with awesome event types,Blur is probably the finest racing game I've played all year. It might be intimidating to newcomers in the genre but pass that and this is one of the most addictive racing games ever. Of course you'll be attacking adversaries from front and back with several unique weapons designed to rid the landscape of cars in your wake. The career is demanding but is strewn with awesome event types, though they're not as inventive as Split/Second's. Packed races are an awful lot of fun and are extremely hectic and multiplayer is immense. if you had to choose from either this or Split/Second, go with Blur, there is so much more here and it's fantastic and addictive to boot. Expand
  18. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    I am surprised that this game hasn't become more popular. It's one of the most hassle-free, fun and uncompromising games on all platforms and it's surprisingly satisfying, well executed, and engaging without ever becoming cumbersome. Blur is a tribute to simplicity, but of the fun kind, and nowadays I consider that an achievement and a refreshing change from overproduction,I am surprised that this game hasn't become more popular. It's one of the most hassle-free, fun and uncompromising games on all platforms and it's surprisingly satisfying, well executed, and engaging without ever becoming cumbersome. Blur is a tribute to simplicity, but of the fun kind, and nowadays I consider that an achievement and a refreshing change from overproduction, over-complication, and excessive options. This is just pure arcade racing fun. Exhilarating. Expand
  19. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Blur is definitely one of the most fun racing games I have ever played.Its like a cross between Mario kart and need for speed underground.The career mode isn't very gripping,its when you start playing multiplayer that the fun really starts.20 player online is very cahotic. and unless you manage to pull away from the pack early on you probably wont stay in first place for long.It can beBlur is definitely one of the most fun racing games I have ever played.Its like a cross between Mario kart and need for speed underground.The career mode isn't very gripping,its when you start playing multiplayer that the fun really starts.20 player online is very cahotic. and unless you manage to pull away from the pack early on you probably wont stay in first place for long.It can be very frustrating at times especially when you are constantly bombarded with weapons.But despite its flaws I would recommend Blur to anyone remotely interested in racers. Expand
  20. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This game is amazing, have much interesting elements, and is fresh, finally a new IP, that is funny and interesting. I think that Blur is one of the most better games of the genre.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. 70
    Blur isn't the addictive, competitive online game that people wanted it to be. Rather, Blur is a pallete-cleansing game, the type of experience you pop in for a few minutes with your friends when you're looking for a break between sessions of a game you really like marathoning.
  2. Bizarre Creations has managed to combine two polar opposite takes on the racing genre, sim versus kart, into a winning combination that leaves me wandering why no one else had done it before.
  3. Handling, progress and rewards are as mature as you would anticipate from a developer that now has six similar arcade racers under its belt.