Bodycount Xbox 360

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 73
  2. Negative: 39 out of 73
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    I'll start by saying that the problem with this game is the lack of decent story. I love a good story no matter what the game is but this one just doesn't really deliver. What it DOES deliver is everything else. This game was made with a focus on just blowing stuff up and having fun and that's exactly what happens when you play it. There is a whole lot of destruction and quite a few moreI'll start by saying that the problem with this game is the lack of decent story. I love a good story no matter what the game is but this one just doesn't really deliver. What it DOES deliver is everything else. This game was made with a focus on just blowing stuff up and having fun and that's exactly what happens when you play it. There is a whole lot of destruction and quite a few more guns than I expected. The enemy AI is consistently pretty good and will give you a challenge and force you to use cover. There are only two boss fights in the game and they are both against the same enemy but the way you fight them is interesting and makes you think carefully. Furthermore, Bodycount has pretty good graphics with very nice environments. Nothing is more beautiful, however, then when you're blowing these environments up. It's a very frantic, high paced experience and to accomodate for this there are no iron-sights, but instead you zoom your viewpoint in to increase accuracy. Now the interesting thing there is that if you hold the aim button down all the way, your movement stick is used to duck and lean to use cover. If you hold it in partially, you don't get as much accuracy added to your shots but you can move while aiming. All in all, if you like explosions, fast gunplay, destructible environments down to the tiles on the walls, and more explosions, buy this game. Expand
  2. May 14, 2012
    8
    I support this game. It is fun. It needs some work though. Just wait for the price to go down and this game should be fair to get. Just wait. Then it should be worth for it.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Don't understand where all the hate is coming from - It's a decent "arcady" game game, with some interesting innovations like the lean style cover. Decent graphics.
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Classic, simple and mind-blowing is what defines Bodycount while other games of the same genre strive to become the same. it's what Duke Nukem Forever should've been, and is a great nostalgic ride to get away from other military FPSs of this era, and if you really don't get your mind into it with details and textures and whatnot, this game gives you a huge amount of **** time to spare.Classic, simple and mind-blowing is what defines Bodycount while other games of the same genre strive to become the same. it's what Duke Nukem Forever should've been, and is a great nostalgic ride to get away from other military FPSs of this era, and if you really don't get your mind into it with details and textures and whatnot, this game gives you a huge amount of **** time to spare. that's for me, i chose it to Dead Island after all. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    I do not understand how people hate this game? It is a classic. OH right I forgot, most of the reviews were made by CoD addicted kids, who think that any FPS that isn't CoD is crap.

    This game is old school styled, if you've played Black on Xbox then you will enjoy this game. The game is not supposed to be played tactically, if you do you'll hate the game. The game for me was a lot of fun,
    I do not understand how people hate this game? It is a classic. OH right I forgot, most of the reviews were made by CoD addicted kids, who think that any FPS that isn't CoD is crap.

    This game is old school styled, if you've played Black on Xbox then you will enjoy this game. The game is not supposed to be played tactically, if you do you'll hate the game. The game for me was a lot of fun, now while I do admit it needs a few tweaks here and there, the game is fairly enjoyable. All you have to do is spray bullets everywhere, which is something the modern FPS is missing.

    The graphics are okay, and the sound is awesome.

    Overall worth getting.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    "Gun porn" part 2. Bodycount is a slick hardcore/arcade fps that gears towards mindless fun of blowing the crap out of everything and everybody. The checkpoints give it that arcade feel and that's were the addiction sets in. Put this game on a harder difficulty setting and you better bet you'll get your moneys worth. Jumping into Bodycount to rip the world (and gun toting bad guys) apart"Gun porn" part 2. Bodycount is a slick hardcore/arcade fps that gears towards mindless fun of blowing the crap out of everything and everybody. The checkpoints give it that arcade feel and that's were the addiction sets in. Put this game on a harder difficulty setting and you better bet you'll get your moneys worth. Jumping into Bodycount to rip the world (and gun toting bad guys) apart feels so perfectly executed thanks to the way the guns feel. The graphics in Bodycount range from good to "whoa dog that is sick" in some areas and the sound is fantastic. Multiplayer does feel a little tacked on and the game is short on easier difficulties but I still think Bodycount deserves at least a rent and a definite buy for a game that is a lot like Black. "Gun porn 2" it is!

    graphics 8.5

    sound 8.5

    story 2.5

    multiplayer 7.0

    funfactor 9.0

    TOTAL 8.0
    Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    This game is underrated and misunderstood, I'm not saying it deserves a 9 or even an 8 but at least a 7. It's great fun on a basic level and has a retro feeling to it. It reminds me of the good old fun rail shooter arcade games of the early 90 's.
  8. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Typical critics. Codemasters didn't take out and ads on their sites or magazines so reviewers didn't get their advertising dollars. They didn't give out exclusive coverage either. It's not a clone of MW so it's no good in their minds. They had zero incentive to give it a good score, so they were intentionally harsh on it.

    Bodycount is a fun game...period!
  9. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This is a shooter done right. The guns, visual effects, audio and controls feel perfectly tuned, and the game punches well above its weight. The gameplay, pacing and level design are stronger than other games in the Genre, Gun Porn sums it up well. If you like shooters, you'll finish this one.
  10. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I play a LOT of games and agree with most of the reviews here. But this game is EXCELLENT! Why the reviews are so poor I don't know why. Its addicting too. I die and it was my fault, not some sucker gimmick. The game makes you aggressively get the power-ups before they are stolen, exposing you to danger. Go forward too aggressively you die, play too slow and you don't gain power, so it'sI play a LOT of games and agree with most of the reviews here. But this game is EXCELLENT! Why the reviews are so poor I don't know why. Its addicting too. I die and it was my fault, not some sucker gimmick. The game makes you aggressively get the power-ups before they are stolen, exposing you to danger. Go forward too aggressively you die, play too slow and you don't gain power, so it's INTENSE and plays on your greed. Plus, like Bulletstorm, you gain bonuses for how creative you can kill the enemies so you have to think quickly as well. This is the first game that has cramped my hands from white-knuckling the controller. I'm playing on hard which is plenty hard for me since I die dozens upon dozens of times per level but Impossible mode is available right from the start. If your looking for a new shooter, try this as it is MUCH MUCH better than the score would lead you to believe. My "guess" about the reason why for the low score is how much the reviewer enjoyed their experience of the game rather than reviewing the quality of the game itself. I see too many low FPS scores lately that reflect the bias of the reviewers experience instead of the GAME itself. Expand
  11. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    I was really interested in Bodycount. It's made by the team who made the stellar Black and... okay well that's it, but it was enough to intrigue me in the game. ...then the game was released. And I lost all prior excitement for it. Why? ...well the plethora of 5/10 reviews didn't help. And so Bodycount was sorted into the "GET WIN FALLS INTO A BARGAIN BIN" pile of titles, joining gamesI was really interested in Bodycount. It's made by the team who made the stellar Black and... okay well that's it, but it was enough to intrigue me in the game. ...then the game was released. And I lost all prior excitement for it. Why? ...well the plethora of 5/10 reviews didn't help. And so Bodycount was sorted into the "GET WIN FALLS INTO A BARGAIN BIN" pile of titles, joining games like Legendary and Duke Nukem Forever as first-person shooters that are only worth playing if you get them for an unfathomably tiny sliver of their initial price - in my case, $15 down from $100.

    So now that Bodycount has fallen into the bargain bins, how actually is it? ...well, I was pleasantly surprised by it, so take that for what it's worth. It's far from perfect. In fact it's as close to downright dreadful as you can get without becoming Too Human. But it's kept a lot of elements from the far superior Black. Weapon models look like actual guns as apposed to shiny 3D models of guns, and shooting things is a cathartic and entertaining experience; guns go BANG! very, very loudly and things spray blood at your camera and die with predictable assurance. It even retains what Black did well, by having not only shooting guns at things fun, but shooting guns at walls, or shooting guns into the sky, or even just reloading guns; every slam of the clip into the barrel sending shockwaves up your arm and every pull of the trigger causing things to shatter and shred apart in an entertaining and energetic display of mayhem.

    But then comes everything surrounding the gunplay, and it all falls unfortunately flat. The story, for example, is admirable as in it knows its place - as in, stay in the corner and don't move - but it's also trying too hard, weirdly, so you end up with an experience that's akin to trying to decypher a 50,000 page novel by only reading the chapter headings. It's confusing. I mean, cutscenes wouldn't have gone amiss. They could have stolen the Black idea of just filming post-mission briefings, eh? Hell, they could have given the protagonist a voice, and have him ask questions about stuff the player might not understand; at least then it'd feel like the developers were actually trying.

    Hand in hand with the story is the setting. At first I was glad because it looked like it was taking the Black route of dilapidated war-torn cities, but then it decided it was going to be a sci-fi game too, and threw out of place (yet actually rather pretty) cyberpunk structures at you. Worse than that is the futuristic HUD elements. I would have appreciated if it had let you turn off the ammo and powerup notifications off - which essentially highlight every dollop of collectible atoms that fall from enemies and objects - but it doesn't give that option, so after every gunfight it looks like someone left smarties all over the floor. The controls are also a bit gunk, but they're not that bad because Black controlled pretty awfully, too. Essentially, Bodycount is a game that evokes a much better game and is worth playing for those bits alone. There's quite a lot to like if you look for it, but if you don't you'll be faced with a confusing and nigh on unplayable game with excellent gunplay and very little else. As I mentioned, it has fallen into bargain bins, so you can likely give it a shot if you like console first-person shooters and be able to justify the expense. Just don't be surprised if you reach the end and feel the compulsion to return it immediately.
    Expand
  12. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This is my first review on here and I was drawn to do this one after seeing other negative reviews. I had read a lot of low scores for this game and that put me off buying it for a long time. But eventually I did and I am glad I did and wish I bought it sooner. So my overall message is DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE. If you want a game with a story, this ain't it, if you want a shooter where youThis is my first review on here and I was drawn to do this one after seeing other negative reviews. I had read a lot of low scores for this game and that put me off buying it for a long time. But eventually I did and I am glad I did and wish I bought it sooner. So my overall message is DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE. If you want a game with a story, this ain't it, if you want a shooter where you get your hand held right down a linear corridor, this ain't it, if you want a game to play online, although you technically can, this ain't really it. What this is is a fun, high octane, old school style FPS that will get your heart pumping and your hands sweating as you take on the warring factions, and the Target, in an environment you can literally shred to pieces.

    Finally, and I mean finally, an FPS that leaves the battleground looking like it's been a battleground. It's the Stranglehold of the FPS genre, and it does what Bad Company and company failed to despite the hype, and that is real time unscripted, unprebaked environmental destruction.

    That's the main thing and what I love about it and I applaud Codemasters for finally giving me what I have wanted ever since I got a 360.

    It is a decent looking game but no Crysis 2 visually, it has great gun sound effects, and the AI is pretty good. Wide open environs, plenty of different routes from A to B, and no load times between dying and restarting at the last checkpoint.

    But the overall maker or breaker in a saturated field of genre, is do you love carnage or pretty graphics and nice stories. If you prefer carnage you should pick this game up. You can literally shoot the plaster off the walls, smash plenty of glass windows, including shooting out the frame, bricks, and make pretty much holes in everything, and there are plenty of explosive containers scattered around for your pleasure.. To me this quality of destruction has been a missing quality even in the famous named games who claim to do it, Bodycount finally gets it right. Real time destruction is finally here.
    Expand
  13. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    I hated the demo, thought it was lame with no focus. Now that I've finished the game, I'm so glad I was so so wrong. If you like the game Black on original xbox and ps2, you'll love this game. It reminds me of what got me into games in the first place. I didn't need some multi-teir story and twists; I just needed some awesome guns, graphics, and plenty of destruction and killing ofI hated the demo, thought it was lame with no focus. Now that I've finished the game, I'm so glad I was so so wrong. If you like the game Black on original xbox and ps2, you'll love this game. It reminds me of what got me into games in the first place. I didn't need some multi-teir story and twists; I just needed some awesome guns, graphics, and plenty of destruction and killing of formidable foes. The graphics are pretty varied with some third world settings and some sci-fi futuristic environments. Character models are good, but repeated in every enemy in a certain area which feels dated. Destruction feels as good as ever with sparks, splinters and fire exploding from everywhere you fire a bullet at. With so much destruction at your fingertips it would've been nice if there were more choices for environmental kills and if every enemy didn't need 100 bullets in them to put down. I do need to say that this is a very hard game on everything but the easy difficulty level and even then it shouldn't be taken lightly. Sound is good, but there are a few times when over syncing and unbalancing became an issue. I'm deeply saddened that this dev team is out of the picture, because a polished sequel could've been truly something spectacular. As it stands, this is a must rent and a definite bargain bin buy. This game is much better than people give it credit for. Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2015
    9
    Review Name: Let the bodies hit the floor - Bodycount is a very good game, this in fact be extremely fun for both of you play alone, Multiplayer and Coop. The game has a very good difficulty, that is, it is difficult. The only problem is the game's plot, which is cool, but it's bad. The game itself brings very good and fun times. the gameplay for the first time playing, is confusing, butReview Name: Let the bodies hit the floor - Bodycount is a very good game, this in fact be extremely fun for both of you play alone, Multiplayer and Coop. The game has a very good difficulty, that is, it is difficult. The only problem is the game's plot, which is cool, but it's bad. The game itself brings very good and fun times. the gameplay for the first time playing, is confusing, but after accustomed to the gameplay, will find it a very good gameplay, with a great movimentation, that is, it is not slow, nor too fast, it is both fast and average, and in some degree to be comfortable. The graphics are not bad, but are not too good as well. but are really nice and cool graphics yet. The online mode is extremely fun, and the soundtrack is good, but could have been more, another problem of the soundtrack is that it isn't engaging enough or highly engaging to the frantic combat of the game. Not to mention it is quite hectic. The game brings a delicious, wonderful and laregely detailed scenery destruction to behold. We have a large gorgeous gun arsenal to check out too, and its not just a simple gun arsenal, its a gigantic gun arsenal and its a lovely gun arsenal. The sound effects are simply amazing, and they are really good to hear, very detailed, specially the gun sound effects, ohh wow. The AI is usually bad but can be intelligent at times, like running and trying to hide to reload. Still, the AI is usually bad, but its still a good AI. something i gotta mention is.... EXPLOSIONS! HOW AIN'T THIS MADE BY MICHAEL BAY? now going back to normal, everything that was needed in Bodycount to make it a near-perfect or a masterpiece game was a better AI, a longer campaign, a soundtrack that was highly engaging to the frantic combat (even though the soundtrack is already good), and a good plot. And not just a good plot, i wanted a great plot, and an at least 13 hours long campaign, still, Bodycount is still a very good game.

    Pros:
    + Extremely Fun
    + Hardcore
    + Great Movimentation
    + Online mode and Coop, both Excellent and Fun
    + Nice, Cool Graphics
    + The Soundtrack is Cool, but it is not highly engaging to the insanely frantic combat of the game
    + Cool Plot (but bad, included in cons)
    + Insanely Frantic
    + Largely Detailed Scenario Destruction
    + Large Gun Arsenal
    + Amazing Sound Effects
    + Good AI (but sadly, usually bad, incluided in cons)
    + EXPLOSIONS!

    Cons:
    - A Bad Plot
    - Short (Between 6 or 7 hours of campaign mode)
    - AI is usually bad

    After all, Bodycount is one of the most fun games that are out there these days, one of the best the fun factor and great difficulty, which means the game is quite difficult. Final note: 9.8/10 - Bodycount is Completly Worth Playing, and also Highly Recommended Playing.
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 61
  2. Negative: 19 out of 61
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    37
    Niggly, thoroughly uninspired, and lacking variety, Bodycount is destined to sink without trace in 360's deep pool of generic shooters. [Dec 2011, p.100]
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    55
    Bodycount could have been so much more than the generic FPS that it's turned out to be. It has its moments, but they're too few and far between in a game that's plagued with imperfections and glaring flaws. Bodycount is not a completely terrible game by any means, it just feels dated and doesn't measure up to the high standards set by most of today's shooters. It's Shoddycount.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Bodycount is a bad game. A very bad game. It's overly simple, the setting is dry, and the controls don't even work all that well. There is quite literally nothing good about it.