• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 41
  2. Negative: 36 out of 41
  1. The lack of stage types and offline multiplayer hinder the game's longevity a bit, but overall, Act: Zero plays well, the new FPB mode is fun, and the Standard mode still offers classic Bomberman fun. [JPN Import]
  2. Could do with a few more options, but otherwise quite good. [Nov 2006, p.84]
  3. It trades off tried-and-true design decisions for things that would have made great bonuses in a better-made title.
  4. As the saying goes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." And the classic Bomberman was definitely not broken.
  5. Bomberman Act: Zero has cleverly tricked me into thinking it was a full fledged triple-A title with its price tag of $50, but after playing the game for five minutes I realized that this game is more like something you would pay 400 Microsoft Points for to download off of the Xbox Live Arcade.
  6. Had it been released as a slimmed-down Xbox Live Arcade title, Bomberman Act: Zero would be a surefire hit, right up there with Zuma in terms of addictive, stage-based gameplay. But instead, Bomberman Act: Zero is a $49.99 standalone title that you simply shouldn’t buy.
  7. A proper next-gen update to the classic franchise is something I'd love to see, but with its myriad of flaws and questionable change in style, this game simply doesn't cut the mustard.
  8. Remove the generic Matrix-inspired graphics and story, and it's online Bomberman with a new camera angle and less depth. We'd rather play ports of the original on TI-89 calculators.
  9. We're hoping the online component's as good as we think it'll be, because between the ugly new look and the lack of any offline multiplayer, there's nothing here for offline gamers. [Issue 12, p.96]
  10. We never thought the day would come where we'd so dislike a Bomberman game, but by being needlessly lacking in the most crucial areas, Act Zero is impossible to love. [Sept 2006, p.78]
  11. Single-player won't occupy you for long -- the daft AI and total lack of variety will see to that. Live play will keep you smiling for a little while, but the sad truth is that Act Zero is totally inadequate. Treat it like it's one of the bombs getting flung around the map and run the other way.
  12. 40
    Even if you're a diehard fan of the series, there is absolutely nothing to love about Act Zero.
  13. Bomberman Act: Zero is a perfect example of what happens when game developers have good intentions, but bad ideas.
  14. 35
    The worst game on the Xbox 360, this game is to be avoided at all costs.
  15. A cold, heartless, and completely uninventive action-puzzle nightmare that we could barely recommend if it were available for free on Xbox Live Arcade.
  16. There are only two reasons to purchase Bomberman: Atrocity…err Act Zero. Firstly, if you know enough people who will buy and play this game online, as it is already difficult to find opponents. And secondly, if you need to add the achievements to your Gamer Score.
  17. It’s a souring of Bomberman’s classic formula, and it hasn’t been compensated for with any new thinking, leaving older editions to continue reigning supreme. [Nov 2006, p.91]
  18. Multi-player over Xbox Live … is the only reason anyone should consider investing in Bomberman Act:Zero. [Oct 2006, p.132]
  19. 30
    An unqualified failure. While the old-school Bombermans -- specifically Super Bomberman and Saturn Bomberman -- had their fair share of weaknesses, flaws, and were indeed getting old, this new mess isn't the answer.
  20. This game has no variety and is just boring to play.
  21. This game has less to see than most budget titles I’ve seen, and it still carries a top shelf price tag.
  22. There's really only one way to sum it all up. This game just sucks. [Sept. 2006, p.97]
  23. An amazingly limited game - so basic that you can't quite believe it's not free on Xbox Live Arcade. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  24. 30
    Act Zero isn't a bad core game, fundamentally. But the overhaul is terrible, the gameplay is dated, the features are few and you can't play against people you're sitting next to. This makes every other version of Bomberman better than this one, and Act Zero a candidate for worst Xbox 360 game ever.
  25. Act Zero takes the Bomberman series to a new low with paper-thin gameplay, ugly visuals, and an overall lack of effort.
  26. Somewhere in the desert, next to that landfill full of ET Atari 2600 game cartridges there is a growing pile of Bomberman: Act Zero…exactly where it belongs.
  27. The game play was weak, the graphics weak, and the audio even worse. I was fed up and bored with this game after just a mere six minutes of playtime.
  28. Sorry, B-Man, you went from hero to a big zero. [Sept. 2006, p.97]
  29. 26
    Probably the worst Bomberman game to ever be unleashed upon the public. Just about everything you ever liked about the franchise has been destroyed and little good has been created.
  30. Hands down this has to be the worst game I have seen on any Xbox system.
  31. While the Internet play is the frenzied, chaotic fun you've come to expect from a "Bomberman" title (though it has some loading issues), you're completely unable to blow up buddies sitting on the couch next to you.
  32. Bomberman: Act Zero is like new Coke.. sure it has the name, but it just doesn't taste as good as the original.
  33. If you ever think about picking this game up, put it down and slap yourself for thinking such a thought. Run far, far away from Bomberman Act: Zero.
  34. Bomberman: Act Zero is Hudson Soft’s attempt to try something new and having it blow up in its face as if the company just laid down a bomb and became trapped in between boxes.
  35. It makes a catalogue of glaring errors that any fan can instantly recognise, and become infuriated by, and is massively out done by every other Bomberman game in existence. [Issue #16, p.71]
  36. There is simply monotony, pain, and a deep feeling of loss.
  37. Hudson Soft needed to add offline multiplayer, more customization, and beef up Act: Zero altogether. It feels incomplete and empty.
  38. 20
    This one is too vacant, tries too hard to be cool, and fails to be compelling in either single- or multiplayer.
  39. The graphics are bland, the gameplay stunted, and the multiplayer limited to online only. Throw in a useless first-person bombing mode that isn't even first-person and you've got a game that's simply a bomb. No, not the bomb, just a bomb.
  40. It offers nothing but frustration and disappointment. The gameplay is shallow and won’t hold your interest or keep you entertained for more than a few minutes.
  41. For this pile of crap with a multitude of problems, no variety and fewer options than virtually every Bomberman game released since the 16-bit era, do you know what the asking price is? Oh, no, this isn’t some bargain bin title – they’re charging a full $50 for this sick, anorexic puppy. Do I even need to go on?
User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    2
    As a game and system collector I never wanted to buy this game. I went to a used games store and I saw the game for 50 cents.lol. That is the only time I have ever seen a game priced so low at this place. You only have 1 life and no save points and there are 99 levels (I think) So I wanted to see how far I could get, after retrying countless times, I finally started getting the hang of it.. Most of the time the AI will blow itself up. After getting to level 52 I messed up and I died. There is nothing more frustrating than dieing that far in the game. You will then get a "you lose" (or something like that) robotic voice and it sends you back to the main menu. When did Bomberman turn into a BDSM look a like game? They should of just called this game BDSM robots because this game sure does like to torture you. They tried to take a more mature route with this game and it wasn't a good idea at all. Even if you didhave save points in this game it doesn't save it. The camera doesn't work either when you are in that First person perspective mode. The game should of never been created, but I'm still glade that I bought it for 50 cents and this will go into my vault of one of the worse games to ever be created along with superman 64,Bubsy 3d and Action 52 ( I don't have Action 52) but played the rom. Full Review »
  2. TomasB
    Oct 13, 2009
    3
    They...raped Bomberman. Why did they rape bomberman. Potentially one of the best platformers of all time... raped. He is no longer a totally awesome little guy with a cool sword and kickass, unrealistic bombs. He is a extreme guy with chains who kills just about anything that moves, and even so... He got raped, by his own creators. Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Bomberman Act Zero is wholly a Pure Unoriginal,uninspired,boring,ugly,and yet,the most horrible Bomberman Title Ever,Seriously.Why? THIS IS NOT A BOMBERMAN THAT I KNOW!!!! Full Review »