Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Captain Scarlett and her Pirate's Booty, up to four players cooperatively enter the hostile sand dunes and wastelands of Pirate Bay in search of ancient treasures. The add-on content campaign features new characters, including the eccentric and eager Shade; locations such as the town ofIn Captain Scarlett and her Pirate's Booty, up to four players cooperatively enter the hostile sand dunes and wastelands of Pirate Bay in search of ancient treasures. The add-on content campaign features new characters, including the eccentric and eager Shade; locations such as the town of Oasis; enemies including the Sand Pirates and Anchormen; and special weapons and loot that make it a must-play experience. No trip to Pandora is complete without a stop in Pirate Bay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    Captain Scarlett and her Pirate's Booty is what downloadable content ought to be: expansive and apart. It's instantly recognisable, but it experiments with many of the gameplay mechanics players are familiar with. It introduces carefully conceived and thoroughly realised new non-player characters, and provides an encapsulated encounter that any fan of Borderlands 2 would do very well to consider.
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    This is a vast, generous offering: a true expansion from a developer that obviously cares deeply about its creation, rather than a corporate cash-grab mandated by the boardroom. More please.
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    85
    In all, it's a solid start to what is to be a promising roll out of Borderlands 2 DLC and it's an especially manageable adventure if you're level 15 or higher in your current playthrough (not counting raid bosses).
  4. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    A textbook example of worthwhile downloadable content, with action that's just as good as the main game but different enough that it feels like a unique experience.
  5. Oct 26, 2012
    80
    Another juicy chunk of action, with a new cast of iconic characters, lots of new missions and even more loot-zilla. Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty needs yor help: what're you waiting for, Vault Hunter?
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty is an affirming example of the right time, the right place and, crucially, the right content.
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty delivers mild-mannered humor and a satisfying adventure for you to shoot and loot your way through.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Compared to the DLC's from Borderands 1, this particular DLC is a fine improvement from not only the improvements over the gripes fromCompared to the DLC's from Borderands 1, this particular DLC is a fine improvement from not only the improvements over the gripes from Borderlands 1 but also the gripes of it's DLC's. Particularly, my biggest complaint with the BL1 dlc's is that they only had 1 FAST TRAVEL SYSTEM in the DLC, so you were forced to keep backtracking from where you started off, especially with the Armory of General Knoxx. Also, a smaller complaint I had with these particular BL1 DLC's is that each DLC either focused on All Vehicle travel or all Foot Travel, which is a pain considering that a lot of the DLC's from BL1 were also a development test to bring out BL2 with that kind of innovation. Thankfully, this first BL2 DLC suffers from neither of those issues. Now there are multiple Fast Travel Networks in this DLC (so far), so you won't have to backtrack, A New Vehicle (which in a way is pretty decent once you get used to it) and most importantly, this DLC balances both Vehicle and On-Foot Combat spetacularly. Also, I enjoy the new familiar and added enemies in this DLC, as well as the fact that they have been completely re-skinned and voiced over to represent the whole idea of "Pirate's Booty". The new guns also stack up to the whole pirate mythology, with 'Cursed" guns (although I didn't tend to notice these negatives as much), and overall this DLC altogether has a lot more effort put into the content that they give. Although, the story aspect for me is kind of a return from the BL1 DLC content, but the dialogue is still funny and a riot to listen to. Fortunately, this DLC doesn't suffer too hard from the spontaneous dialogue leakage that either interrupts or overlaps other ECHO logs you were currently listening to. I would wholeheartedly suggest not only getting this DLC but the season pack, as I can tell this attention to detail by Gearbox will keep coming with later DLC's. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    A very nice add-on, plus, with lines that cracked me up - I really enjoyed this DLC; however, the story felt a bit short and was somewhat easyA very nice add-on, plus, with lines that cracked me up - I really enjoyed this DLC; however, the story felt a bit short and was somewhat easy to complete. A definite purchase for fans of Borderlands 2 Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    Borderlands 2 is an amazing game, this DLC not so much. The story is a story that's been recycled almost as much as zombies have been. YouBorderlands 2 is an amazing game, this DLC not so much. The story is a story that's been recycled almost as much as zombies have been. You hear about a treasure, join forces, get stabbed in the back, fight massive monster, get loot. That's it. It takes 5 to 7 hours to complete. I should also say that the amount of loot you get is rather disappointing, after all that you've done to get it. The side quests are a reprint of the missions from the actual game, just now they have a pirate feel to them. The main hubs, Wurmwater and Oasis are so identical that I forget which I am in after a while. Now that I have all of the bad stuff detailed, I can say that this DLC is hilarious and well written, too. Shade lives in a dead town in which he took some corpses, attached a tape to each of them, and talks to them. Like they're real people. It's creepy, weird, and funny, all at the same time. I like how Scarlett keeps reminding me that she will stab me in the back, it makes me never feel safe. The Sandskiff is a cool vehicle, just not a good one. It goes, at normal speed about as fast as you can walk. The first DLC to Borderlands 2 isn't a must buy, but it does have more Pandora, which is a very good thing. NOTE: I have the Season Pass to Borderlands 2. Shortly after I complete every DLC, I will post a review for it. Check back every month for more reviews! Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    excellent DLC, definitely worth 800 MSP, amazing new landscapes, weapons and 6 hours worth of Story gameplay, and over 5 hours of sideexcellent DLC, definitely worth 800 MSP, amazing new landscapes, weapons and 6 hours worth of Story gameplay, and over 5 hours of side missions. The same humor, new vehicle, excellent. My quarrel: the side quests are all extremely repetitive (fetching mainly). Either way, I'd say: get this one, Mechromancer? not so much Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    A bit bland, but good none the less. A few more interactive NPCs would have been nice. I found Shade annoying and was glad when his missionsA bit bland, but good none the less. A few more interactive NPCs would have been nice. I found Shade annoying and was glad when his missions were done with. I was never fond of Hunter S. Thompson, so a parody of him wasn't appealing either. Captain Scarlett on the other hand is really good and I loved her character. If ..... sorry when, they make a Borderlands 3 I hope the keep her as a main NPC like they did with Moxxi in this game. Overall a decent DLC that does not lack in content, but could have used a bit more substance. Collapse
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlet and Her Pirate's Booty is fun add-on for the already great Borderlands 2. However, compared to the overallBorderlands 2: Captain Scarlet and Her Pirate's Booty is fun add-on for the already great Borderlands 2. However, compared to the overall game, this expansion feels weak with enemy variety and a dissatisfying ending. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are things that make Borderlands 2 one of the best RPG/FPS titles of today, and that's clever writing and pure trolling. This expansion, in comparison, is literally BORING. I doesn't matter if you play 4 player co-op, the travel to one place to another is the most tedious and lackluster experience of all time.

    Recycled enemies that have next to no variation, some are even cheaper than they needed to be. Missions are not funny, The whole concept of "pirates" is wasted, your vehicle is barely controllable and in general, it adds very little to the whole vault hunting experience, in this case, replaced with the thematic of having to find a bad-ass treasure.

    Having next to 0 NPC's in all the sectors that you can explore, and the few that are there that deliver very few funny lines, are not enough to compensate for the 6-10 hours of gameplay (depending if you do missions other than the story mode), in which at least one third will be spent on going to one place to another, and one hour in the final boss which is one of the lamest there can be in this game. In the end, you feel like very little was accomplished other than getting above-average equipment, and a couple of bad-ass levels.

    Over-all, it's not the ultimate challenge experience for hardcore players. It's more like an excuse to keep playing the game and keep getting new exiting guns. But when it comes to what's the taste the game leaves at the end of the original story mode, the characters, the looting, the NPC's, the clever writing, everything that made your experience not a boring and mind-less farming, it's not found here.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews