Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    92
    If you want to know what Borderlands 2 is all about, Campaign of Carnage is the perfect crash course.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    By including areas and missions outside of the tournament, this Campaign of Carnage has room to breathe and deliver a narrative that retains the twisted charm of the Borderlands franchise.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Outrageous, funny, explosive: Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage shows that Gearbox Software is one of the best software houses in terms of post-release DLCs.
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    Lean, crafted, memorable, enriching and funny, the Campaign of Carnage is yet more evidence that nobody does post-release game expansion better than the Borderlands team. Essential.
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    It's a little disappointing that, like the last DLC, this one doesn't raise the level cap for players, but if you enjoyed Borderlands 2 and you're looking for more of it, it's a great pickup.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Borderlands 2's second DLC offers a solid eight hour of entertainment filled with testosterone and crazy characters. The expansion might be slightly rushed, but is a lot of fun nonetheless.
  7. 80
    The jokes alone make flaming skags worth weathering.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    Although a number of things could have been done to increase the fun factor of Torgue, if you're looking for more Borderlands 2, this is it, and this is what Mad Moxxi should have been.
  9. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Another meaty chunk of downloadable content for Borderlands 2, with a great mix of play styles and some wonderfully OTT quests and characters.
  10. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    In both the Beatdown and the various arenas, each encounter and firefight is smoothly paced and takes advantage of the game's level design. It's a shame there aren't more of both in the Campaign as a whole.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Guns are one of the most important things at Pandora, and I've always been curious to know who's behind them. We've seen the greedy Dahl CEO,Guns are one of the most important things at Pandora, and I've always been curious to know who's behind them. We've seen the greedy Dahl CEO, the evil Hyperion CEO and the - deceased- military Atlas CEO. But who was behind the Torgue corporation ? An enterprise known for its explosive guns ? Now we know, probably one of the funniest characters in Borderlands. This new DLC show us the story of Mr Torgue, the CEO of Torgue Corporation, a person that LOVES explosions and FAST PACED ACTION. He will create a tournament to find out who's the biggest badass of Pandora and give the new vault to the winner. This DLC is amazing, it's all about fetching new quests and pursuing new - awesome - guns. Everything here seems to be way more exciting than the last DLC, and it's as funny as only Gearbox could make it, yet I reckon that this game it's a bit short. At the end, Mr Torgue Campaign of Carnage it's like an explosion: Fast but AWESOME. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    2
    Mr Torgue's campaign of carnage is perhaps the worst DLC I have ever had the misfortune to play. It messes with the fundamentals ofMr Torgue's campaign of carnage is perhaps the worst DLC I have ever had the misfortune to play. It messes with the fundamentals of borderlands 2 and the result is shocking. The level design is abysmal, I often had goons popping out behind me or above me. The forge in particular was terrible with a dark color palette that made enemies difficult to see and a poor enemy placement. The side quests are just repeats of missions in the campaign which were just boring wave modes in the first place. And then for the next quest in the series you get to do it again. Fun. The humor is also sadly lacking. Mr Torgue become ridiculously annoying over the course of the campaign. According to Gearbox, a man screaming obscenities at you over and over is hilarious. The story is one that has been done a thousand times before and in fact twice before in this series. Another vault!? I almost cried. The new Torgue vending machines also take away from the original formula. Before, getting an orange-grade was a moment of jubilation because of the minuscule chance of getting one, now you have a guaranteed chance to see one in a vending machine. I thought that the point of rare guns was that they were, you know, rare. The action is constant and it feels like a chore to wade through it all with barely enough time to soak up the atmosphere. I have already uninstalled this DLC and am trying to forget it. Avoid. Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This really is the real Borderlands experience. Great voice acting, great humour, and lots and lots of loot. Much better than the Pirate DLC,This really is the real Borderlands experience. Great voice acting, great humour, and lots and lots of loot. Much better than the Pirate DLC, this one gives you plenty of non-stop action. The main campaign lasted me around 6-7 hours, which is really worth the $10. Arena battles are really fun, and they truly put just the right amount of it - not too much, but not too little. Especially with the repeatable Tier 3 arena battles, this is a DLC I will return to for loot, XP, and the new Torgue tokens to save up for a nice legendary weapon for future Borderlands fun! Full Review »