Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come into Mr. Torgue’s Campaign of Carnage and see if you have what it takes to become champion of this brand new storyline in Borderlands 2. Fight for the Big Loot against some of the baddest baddies in Pandora, including hordes of Biker Bandits. Also, take special quests from Tiny Tina, Moxxi and others for extra rewards. And don’t forget to bring your friends -- those higher levels get rather tough. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    92
    If you want to know what Borderlands 2 is all about, Campaign of Carnage is the perfect crash course.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Outrageous, funny, explosive: Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage shows that Gearbox Software is one of the best software houses in terms of post-release DLCs.
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    By including areas and missions outside of the tournament, this Campaign of Carnage has room to breathe and deliver a narrative that retains the twisted charm of the Borderlands franchise.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    Although a number of things could have been done to increase the fun factor of Torgue, if you're looking for more Borderlands 2, this is it, and this is what Mad Moxxi should have been.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Borderlands 2's second DLC offers a solid eight hour of entertainment filled with testosterone and crazy characters. The expansion might be slightly rushed, but is a lot of fun nonetheless.
  6. 80
    The jokes alone make flaming skags worth weathering.
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    In both the Beatdown and the various arenas, each encounter and firefight is smoothly paced and takes advantage of the game's level design. It's a shame there aren't more of both in the Campaign as a whole.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This really is the real Borderlands experience. Great voice acting, great humour, and lots and lots of loot. Much better than the Pirate DLC, this one gives you plenty of non-stop action. The main campaign lasted me around 6-7 hours, which is really worth the $10. Arena battles are really fun, and they truly put just the right amount of it - not too much, but not too little. Especially with the repeatable Tier 3 arena battles, this is a DLC I will return to for loot, XP, and the new Torgue tokens to save up for a nice legendary weapon for future Borderlands fun! Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Guns are one of the most important things at Pandora, and I've always been curious to know who's behind them. We've seen the greedy Dahl CEO, the evil Hyperion CEO and the - deceased- military Atlas CEO. But who was behind the Torgue corporation ? An enterprise known for its explosive guns ? Now we know, probably one of the funniest characters in Borderlands. This new DLC show us the story of Mr Torgue, the CEO of Torgue Corporation, a person that LOVES explosions and FAST PACED ACTION. He will create a tournament to find out who's the biggest badass of Pandora and give the new vault to the winner. This DLC is amazing, it's all about fetching new quests and pursuing new - awesome - guns. Everything here seems to be way more exciting than the last DLC, and it's as funny as only Gearbox could make it, yet I reckon that this game it's a bit short. At the end, Mr Torgue Campaign of Carnage it's like an explosion: Fast but AWESOME. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The best Borderlands DLC since Claptraps Robot Revolution. Arena battles, racing, humongous explosions, hilarious cast, great yet simple story and a **** Dinosaur truck!!! Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Mr. Torque's Campaign of Carnage was only released 1 month and 4 days after Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty. That's a relatively short time for a new DLC. Some may think its an overload of content, what with the Mechromancer, Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's, and this in a matter of a few short months, but I think it's just right. This new DLC has a story that lasted me 5 hours, there are a lot of side quests, so I'd say the grand total of time spent playing this new DLC would be about 8 hours. DLC #1 lasted me about 2 hours less, the story lasted 4 hours, but only had about 2 hours of side quests, totaling to a mere 6 hours. I love the new hub, the bizarrely named "Badass Crater of Badassitude" the franchises' favorite swear is used a lot in this DLC. The Badass Crater of Badassitude is a welcome addition. It is far more interesting than Wurmwater and Oasis. It features a race track, ramps, and a huge slaughter dome in the middle. I hate the Forge, though. I had to many bad memories there. The new characters don't give much new to offer, but recurring characters, like Moxxi, Tiny Tina, and Patricia Tannis are all very well crafted in this DLC. The basic story of Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage is that Patricia Tannis found a new vault that can be opened by "the tears of the ultimate coward". Torgue thinks that's "FREAKING AWESOME" as mister Torgue puts it. The make a tournament to find this #1 Badass. You are #50 on Pandora, but after a quick 5 waves of fighting brand new psychos, you are #5. You have to kill all 4 badasses in front of you in order: Pyro Pete, Motor Momma, Flyboy, and Piston. The Flyboy and Piston levels have an extra thing to make it harder, but I won't spoil it. The quests that you do throughout the DLC have more variety in them. For example, one of my favorite missions is the one in which Mr. Torgue says that these reviewers rated one of his favorite games with a 6. He wants you to kill them all, and while you're doing this he's sort of arguing about the score, like you would see on a video game website. The new psychos are loyal to certain Badasses, so they will fight each other, and have a variety of different looks. Let me warn you, before you try this out, train. Train like crazy. If you're doing True Vault Hunter Mode, at least. I was level 42 at one point, and I found a level 43 super badass maniac. I found these guys a lot more than you'd think. I was pleased, when I played it, that only 1 of the missions was a 5 wave round of guys. I don't enjoy slaughter domes that much. Mr. Torgues campaign of Carnage is worth the $10.00. It features 8 hours of nonsensical psycho murdering craziness. Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's booty was kind of tame and normal (for Borderlands that is) if you want more Pandora, and love craziness this is a must buy. NOTE: Every month Gearbox will release a new DLC for Borderlands 2, I have the season pass for it, o when I finish the DLC, I will release a review. Collapse
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    A pretty decent DLC with some good satirical writing. The main campaign does feel a little rushed, but a large assortment of side missions do make up for that and keep the pace interesting. Almost all of the areas feel a little under utilized. Mr. Torgue is just really funny (loud & tasteless, but that is the point of his character.) Anyone else think he should become Tiny Tina's adoptive father? Perfect father daughter team. Overall: A good DLC that could have used a bit more content, but still fun none the less. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Borderlands 2: Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage is an awesome add-on for Borderlands 2. It is a significant improvement over the Captain Scarlett add-on, and is full of great humor. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    2
    Mr Torgue's campaign of carnage is perhaps the worst DLC I have ever had the misfortune to play. It messes with the fundamentals of borderlands 2 and the result is shocking. The level design is abysmal, I often had goons popping out behind me or above me. The forge in particular was terrible with a dark color palette that made enemies difficult to see and a poor enemy placement. The side quests are just repeats of missions in the campaign which were just boring wave modes in the first place. And then for the next quest in the series you get to do it again. Fun. The humor is also sadly lacking. Mr Torgue become ridiculously annoying over the course of the campaign. According to Gearbox, a man screaming obscenities at you over and over is hilarious. The story is one that has been done a thousand times before and in fact twice before in this series. Another vault!? I almost cried. The new Torgue vending machines also take away from the original formula. Before, getting an orange-grade was a moment of jubilation because of the minuscule chance of getting one, now you have a guaranteed chance to see one in a vending machine. I thought that the point of rare guns was that they were, you know, rare. The action is constant and it feels like a chore to wade through it all with barely enough time to soak up the atmosphere. I have already uninstalled this DLC and am trying to forget it. Avoid. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews