User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 671 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 671

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    This game is worth checking out when on sale, but gets surprisingly boring after a while.

    PROS
    -The best graphics
    -So much to do
    -So many guns
    -Fun unrealistic abilities
    -Funny story

    CONS
    -Boring from time to time
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    A mediocre game. At first the experience is a bit new and seems fun, but the game quickly drags on. The original campaign is very short and anti-climatic. The online co-op is a joke, riddled with shameless cheaters and bugs that still exist from release. Instead of fixing the bugs, Gearbox decided it was a better idea to release 4 DLC add-ons. I only paid 10 bucks for the game and all theA mediocre game. At first the experience is a bit new and seems fun, but the game quickly drags on. The original campaign is very short and anti-climatic. The online co-op is a joke, riddled with shameless cheaters and bugs that still exist from release. Instead of fixing the bugs, Gearbox decided it was a better idea to release 4 DLC add-ons. I only paid 10 bucks for the game and all the DLC and I still feel cheated. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    This game plays like a buggy and empty world of warcraft with guns. There is no
  4. ChrisS
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    I have only played this game through 1 time with 1 friend (2 people playing) and I gotta say it is pretty underwhelming. The idea is there, SOME guns are cool (the fact that their are "bazillions" of them is lame considering many are the same), but I never really felt involved in any way. Its just "go here, do this go back, repeat and none of it is particularly fun. Bottom Line: Fun if I have only played this game through 1 time with 1 friend (2 people playing) and I gotta say it is pretty underwhelming. The idea is there, SOME guns are cool (the fact that their are "bazillions" of them is lame considering many are the same), but I never really felt involved in any way. Its just "go here, do this go back, repeat and none of it is particularly fun. Bottom Line: Fun if you have friends to play with and dont mind doing mindless (and imo pointless) quests killing things and backtracking. If you want substance from a game, look elsewhere. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is an extremely fun and interesting, new experience... for a few hours. I've had friends that have played it until they've maxed out their levels, and I don't honestly understand how that's possible. It's another game where the first play through can actually be quite amusing and contain things that no one else has had the mind to create yet, but at a certain point, youBorderlands is an extremely fun and interesting, new experience... for a few hours. I've had friends that have played it until they've maxed out their levels, and I don't honestly understand how that's possible. It's another game where the first play through can actually be quite amusing and contain things that no one else has had the mind to create yet, but at a certain point, you realize that you just wanna put the controller down. It's also far from lag-free, and unless you're willing to shell out the money for the many DLC's, I'd suggest a rental. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    5
    I was very disappointed when i first played this and I got my game of the year addition and sold it 2 days later. This has to be the most difficult game i have played in my life, the only way to acually win is to have a mod. The game design is good and looks like a cartoon (which isnt bad) crap load of guns, cool upgrade system but overall if there is another one im not gonna waste moreI was very disappointed when i first played this and I got my game of the year addition and sold it 2 days later. This has to be the most difficult game i have played in my life, the only way to acually win is to have a mod. The game design is good and looks like a cartoon (which isnt bad) crap load of guns, cool upgrade system but overall if there is another one im not gonna waste more money unless they make the AI less difficult. Expand
  7. DH.
    Oct 29, 2009
    5
    While not a bad game, it gets boring as all you are doing are basic "go get this item" or "go kill this number of bad guys/monsters" for the bulk of the game. The result of many of those quests is simply a boss battle and then you repeat. Like some others have said, I would not compare this to Fallout 3 or Oblivion because the world is simply not there. It is not "open world" in my While not a bad game, it gets boring as all you are doing are basic "go get this item" or "go kill this number of bad guys/monsters" for the bulk of the game. The result of many of those quests is simply a boss battle and then you repeat. Like some others have said, I would not compare this to Fallout 3 or Oblivion because the world is simply not there. It is not "open world" in my opinion, but a series of small maps that you will travel to. You don't really get involved in any kind of story or atmosphere and there are no NPC's to interact with to make the game feel alive. There is no real atmosphere to the game either like there was with Fallout 3 or Oblivion. The game is also somewhat frustratingly difficult in the beginning if you are playing solo and at times, I almost stopped playing due to the initial difficulty. The enemy respawn system is also annoying when you are lower level because you will often find yourself out of ammo and low on health just to have to face the same enemies you killed a minute ago. The zenith of this game is co-op play and unfortunately for me, I can't play too much online. If you can readily get online to play with friends, it is a much more enjoyable game. If you are playing it solo (like I am), it's a very basic FPS game that gets overly repetitive (again the "quests" - go here, get that, kill him, etc.). It also begins to get a bit easy once you level up and having to endlessly fight lower level bandits over and over again (that you've already killed 5 times) gets old and detracts from the game. Expand
  8. DerekM
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    The gameplay was pretty fun overall,except some repeativeness. All you had to do was aim and pull the trigger. Also aiming down the sights for most weapons was terrible. Other than some bad voice acting,a dull story, short game, and a disapointing ending, the game was pretty good. The bad ending gave players the "Aww damn, I did allt hat for nothing?" feeling. Has some room for The gameplay was pretty fun overall,except some repeativeness. All you had to do was aim and pull the trigger. Also aiming down the sights for most weapons was terrible. Other than some bad voice acting,a dull story, short game, and a disapointing ending, the game was pretty good. The bad ending gave players the "Aww damn, I did allt hat for nothing?" feeling. Has some room for improvement but overall it's a fine game that most games would like to play through. Expand
  9. Les
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    For single player the difficulty is often frustratingly high and respawned enemies (including bosses) make it worse - Lost Cave anyone. I'm all for respawning, so you don't constantly traipse through large, empty landscapes, but lets be reasonable. There is no expansive open feel, as with Fallout 3, and the failure to have any sort of interaction with NCPs means there is For single player the difficulty is often frustratingly high and respawned enemies (including bosses) make it worse - Lost Cave anyone. I'm all for respawning, so you don't constantly traipse through large, empty landscapes, but lets be reasonable. There is no expansive open feel, as with Fallout 3, and the failure to have any sort of interaction with NCPs means there is absolutely no emotional content to make you feel more immersed in the story (very old fashioned in that respect. Think of Doom etc when you just killed hordes of enemies until you worked through the level). With F3 you had the father/daughter relationship as well as the moral decisions and, even better, with Mass Effect you developed personal realtionships with your crew. On a postitive, driving is easy and intuitative (unlike say Drake's fortune where it's a chore), the weapons are mostly fun, though in single player you are forced to rely heavily on sniping as rushing in with machine guns and shotguns will get you killed faster than roadrunner delivers pizzas. Graphically the cell shading is lush and the soundtrack great. All in all this is a good shooter that will fill the time before Bioshock 2 and Mass Effect 2 come out in 2010 Expand
  10. MrC
    Oct 21, 2009
    7
    Awesome art, the world wasn't logistically created, so it felt more like an arena. Wish I could customize my avatar beyond colors, UI was difficult to read. Where are all the people, even for a desolate game, pockets of humanity always exist. Lost of run and gun, not so much strategy or rpg elements.
  11. AdamB.
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    For a game that prides itself on its multiplayer, the matchmaking is slow and buggy, and it's difficult to find players matching your level. Games and duels are incredibly mismatched if players have different levels. Powerful enemies sometimes spawn-camp, creating situations where you cannot move from a single spot, as you die over and over. Weapons and enemies are largely similar For a game that prides itself on its multiplayer, the matchmaking is slow and buggy, and it's difficult to find players matching your level. Games and duels are incredibly mismatched if players have different levels. Powerful enemies sometimes spawn-camp, creating situations where you cannot move from a single spot, as you die over and over. Weapons and enemies are largely similar and there's no real character customization. Most of the environments are linear and bland, and cutscenes cannot be skipped. On the plus side, vehicles and special attacks are fun, the controls are responsive, and the graphics and sound are unique. Borderlands is a solid rental, but after a few months the initial hype will die down as hardcore players realize (and become disappointed in) the game's numerous shortcomings. Borderlands is a game in the style of Diablo or Phantasy Star Online, but with none of the charm. Expand
  12. JimmyB.
    Oct 28, 2009
    5
    The only thing cool about this game is the cell shading. and thats not even a big deal anymore. it is so repetitive. every enemy looks the same. every gun, is virtually the same. to have a 40 minute shootout, where you will be killed over and over, just isn't any fun. head shots rarely matter if at all. i played this game for at least six hours straight and felt like i completely The only thing cool about this game is the cell shading. and thats not even a big deal anymore. it is so repetitive. every enemy looks the same. every gun, is virtually the same. to have a 40 minute shootout, where you will be killed over and over, just isn't any fun. head shots rarely matter if at all. i played this game for at least six hours straight and felt like i completely wasted my time. sure i leveled up, but so what. thats exactly what it feels like after every mission is completed, SO WHAT!! the co-op is only worth playing if the people you play with are the exact same level you are, and haven't done any missions you haven't done. if not, the enemies will totally overwhelm you or you'll wind up doing the same missions over again and again. the enemies re-spawn every time you walk past where you just killed them. which will be a lot since you always have to backtrack. i think this game SUCKS!!!! a lot of horse crap in a pretty bag. there is NO WAY this game even comes close to fallout. trust me, i have nothing to gain from telling you to play it or not to play it. don't buy it. rent it first. i don't think i'll even put it back in the console. FAIL!! Expand
  13. JamesF
    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    I was very disappointed. Co-op is good, but this games is FULL of bugs! Co-op causes even more bugs. RPG, with no roll playing, no RPG style choices, but lots of guns and equipment to trade and fiddle with. Its the worst of MMORPG thrown into a 4 player MORPG. Cars limited. NPC limited, Cut scenes limited, ending BAD.
  14. DanielS
    Oct 31, 2009
    7
    It seems that the developers lost interest as the game went on. The first area is good; it's large and there is allot to do. By the time you have finished there you will know the area inside out and feel slightly sad to leave. However, this NEVER happens again. Each progressive area gets shorter and shorter, until you barely even look at the scenery on your way to kill/collect the It seems that the developers lost interest as the game went on. The first area is good; it's large and there is allot to do. By the time you have finished there you will know the area inside out and feel slightly sad to leave. However, this NEVER happens again. Each progressive area gets shorter and shorter, until you barely even look at the scenery on your way to kill/collect the next thing. This all builds up to the ending. Ooooh the ending. It's like they left the intern in charge of that bit and he hadn't bothered reading the story up until that point and just decided he liked squid. Of course, it is still a good game, strangely enough. The gun play is fun, the co-op is wonderful. It's just that the good bits are so good that the bad bits are unforgivable. Expand
  15. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    Was it "OK?" Yes. Was it "good?" Maybe. Was it as good as the magazine reviewers said? Absolutely not. This game might have several hundred thousand weapons, but that's been done before, I can think of Diablo II right off the bat. Mildly creative, but heavily lacking, with little replay value and a poor online component. Funny at times, downright annoying at others, I give this game aWas it "OK?" Yes. Was it "good?" Maybe. Was it as good as the magazine reviewers said? Absolutely not. This game might have several hundred thousand weapons, but that's been done before, I can think of Diablo II right off the bat. Mildly creative, but heavily lacking, with little replay value and a poor online component. Funny at times, downright annoying at others, I give this game a solid 5 out of 10. Expand
  16. SFN
    Jan 9, 2011
    7
    the first few missions of this game were extremely boring and it was just repetitive combat over and over again but after awhile the game became so much fun that i found myself playing it for 4-5 hrs. a day, the graphics to me coud've beeen alittle better and the storyline was confusing but all and all this game to me was one of the best games of 2009 and it should be given more credit
  17. Oct 24, 2012
    6
    Been a long time since I played this and never got a chance to do a review. I hate the art stlye in this game, I find it's horrible. Others may like it. Although I did not like this game what so ever and Borderlands 2 aswell. I wont give it a low score just because of that because I do believe that there is fun to be had in this game for most people, but it definatly isn't my cup of tea.
  18. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    Story: 3
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 3
    Multiplayer: 6
    Technical: 5
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 6
    Re-Playability Value: 7
    Fun Factor: 6

    Score: 5.8/10 = D+
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Probably one of the most unique games you will ever play. Borderlands has that creativity to it that you know will keep you coming back for more, However - an uneven difficulty, poor and repetitive mission objectives, countless back tracking, and a poor multiplayer ruin the overall value. Its enjoyable but not as good as it could have been.
  21. Jul 7, 2013
    6
    A strangely addictive first person shooter that gets a lot right, but a lot wrong. The diverse wide spectrum of guns in this game is mind boggling, and the looting that can be done is extensive and very fun, but as far as story goes, only a few wacky characters stand in the way of this being one of the most mundane stories to trudge through in gaming. I found it hard to keep going in theA strangely addictive first person shooter that gets a lot right, but a lot wrong. The diverse wide spectrum of guns in this game is mind boggling, and the looting that can be done is extensive and very fun, but as far as story goes, only a few wacky characters stand in the way of this being one of the most mundane stories to trudge through in gaming. I found it hard to keep going in the game, and in my opinion, the combat isn't all that so it doesn't grip you that much. However, its worth a buy simply for the fun that can be had with your friends online. Expand
  22. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    Playing as a hybrid between an RPG and a First Person Shooter Borderlands, much like the Left 4 Dead games, only really comes to life when played on XBox Live with Friends.

    If you've ever play an MMORPG such as World of Warcraft you will be familiar with the games structure. Missions are given out by computer controlled characters, once completed you return to that character to receive
    Playing as a hybrid between an RPG and a First Person Shooter Borderlands, much like the Left 4 Dead games, only really comes to life when played on XBox Live with Friends.

    If you've ever play an MMORPG such as World of Warcraft you will be familiar with the games structure. Missions are given out by computer controlled characters, once completed you return to that character to receive experience with which to level up your character as you see fit (improve the power of your weapons, increase the amount of life you have etc) and sometimes receive an extra reward. Unlike any MMORPG however the first person shooter element means that there is actually some level of skill to the combat, although you will not be able to defeat certain enemies until you reach the required level. In this respect the game is very helpful as it will always suggest a recommended level for each mission.

    The game allows you to choose from four different classes, each with their own special abilities, as well as featuring a huge range of weapons with which to survive the wastelands. Your ability with each weapon type increases as you use them allowing each you to customise your character as you wish. The only criticism that can be levelled at the game is the lack of variety as the game progresses. Running in excess of twenty hours my interest did begin to wane before the final few missions. If you are looking for a single-player FPS there are far better alternatives available, if on the other hand you are looking for a multiplayer experience with a far amount of depth then for under twenty quid Borderlands could be the game for you.
    Expand
  23. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    Borderlands is definitely a first person shooter with RPG elements. It is focused on the massive amount of guns, powers, and enemies you can fight. While it does have a lack of captivating events in the main story, the DLC and side quests make up for that in some ways. This is a game for those who like a lot of guns, not for those who like a lot of storyline.
  24. Aug 5, 2013
    5
    This game could've been so much more, but as a solo player the game was fairly boring,with the exception of a couple boss fights, and the story was just god awful.....so much wasted potential.
  25. Sep 22, 2012
    5
    I reviewed this game too harshly last time I gave it a 0! Because of a stupid glitch at the beginning that caused me to lose my level. So I tried again and this score is more honest. It's boring. Its glitchy, it really is samey! It's fun for the 4 person co-op but when I'm playing by myself I can't really be bothered! It's just like Borderlands!
  26. Jul 13, 2012
    7
    I give this a 7 because it is far from perfect. Online co-op is miserable unless you're playing with 3 other people you know you can trust, as most random players run around with "modded" items that make them invincible, kill everything in 1-shot, and just ruin the game in general. Some of these random players also glitch your characters. I found myself learning all of this the hardI give this a 7 because it is far from perfect. Online co-op is miserable unless you're playing with 3 other people you know you can trust, as most random players run around with "modded" items that make them invincible, kill everything in 1-shot, and just ruin the game in general. Some of these random players also glitch your characters. I found myself learning all of this the hard way, and had to delete my first character at level 26 because of a glitch that put one of the first quests back into my checklist, unfinished, without any way of completing it. Another con is that the game is very grindy, usually sending the same enemies at you in droves. Skags, raiders, midgets, spiderants and the occasional rakk will be the only noteworthy foes you face for the first 8 hours of the game. The variation is paltry. Final con is that the ENTIRE game is set in a brown wasteland that gets incredibly boring to look at rather quickly.

    All of this being said, the pros far outweigh the cons. The gameplay/gunplay is solid, and the looting and constant improving is incredibly addicting as you're constantly finding new guns that are slightly better than the ones you have and toying with those weapons and their wide variety of attributes. The graphic style is perfect for this game, and the audio, including the voice acting, is very satisfying in both humor and vulgarity.

    Overall, this game accomplishes its top 3 goals of gunplay, looting and humor very well. The online component, occasional feeling of grinding, and the drab landscape are detractors, but very minor. This is a buy if you like RPG-FPS hybrids, and if you're a fan of the Diablo games, especially now since it's been out for a few years.
    Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Borderlands has a lovely art direction and a solid FPS focus. That's it. Tales of RPG elements are complete lies, the story is nonexistent, the mission structure is repetitive as are the character diversification. Multiplayer is useless as all players need to be off the same levels to play together. Of course you can play online with people who are the same level, but multiplayer reallyBorderlands has a lovely art direction and a solid FPS focus. That's it. Tales of RPG elements are complete lies, the story is nonexistent, the mission structure is repetitive as are the character diversification. Multiplayer is useless as all players need to be off the same levels to play together. Of course you can play online with people who are the same level, but multiplayer really only comes together playing with people you are farmilar with, and the chances of you and a friend picking this up at the same time are slim unless you were waiting for it in anticipation.
    Borderlands does some things right, but a lot of things wrong.
    Expand
  28. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    Its an original and insanely addictive shooter game. However it features a lot of flaws - An insanely long and boring campaign. Pathetic multiplayer. No replay value. Takes too long to get anything decent (weapons) in the game. Also there are more then a few annoying glitches. Its a fun but flawed shooter.
  29. Jun 22, 2013
    6
    Borderlands is a different kind of FPS known as a RPS (Role-Playing Shooter). I can definitely understand the merit of such a game and it had a very solid base in XP, leveling up and such. Personally I didn't enjoy this game, possibly due to the fact that I'm not really good at gaming, but I can totally understand the love of the gameplay style and the overall presentation-based flair.
  30. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Though story and character are definitely sacrificed in favor of savory visuals and gameplay, the latter elements bolster "Borderlands" to a fairly enjoyable level.
  31. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Awesome game. Story might be a bit short, a few bugs here and there, but overall I had a blast. From an artsy-fartsy standpoint, it's fresh! Neat sense of humor, likable characters, staggering customization if that's something important to you. You might not love it as much as some others, but I don't think you'd lose much either if you decide to give it a go.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 87
    In short, Borderlands is a top-quality shooter and grind-fest.
  2. A furiously successful RPG and FPS combination that doesn't fall short on either front. [Issue#52, p.86]
  3. When a game has such vicious combat, an intriguing skill system, and full co-op capability, a mediocre story can be overlooked. Borderlands is a necessity for any fan of the FPS and RPG genres, or just down-right looting fun.