User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 647 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 647

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    So far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it'sSo far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it's still fun finding and using them just to try them. Can't wait for a sequel. Expand
  2. May 31, 2012
    10
    I've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc isI've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc is amazing.get this game . Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game was a blast. It was a unique experience, from the graphics, to the guns, to the world. I seriously couldn't get enough, and have actually gone back and played through it from the start again.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    One of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorousOne of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorous moments. Simply put, this game is badass. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, andThis game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, and upgrades for the weapons. This is the best role- playing game I've ever played. Haters can eat me. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It'sMy absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It's more along the lines of Halo in that regard than Rainbow Six: Vegas. You run around the environment and get missions for the area. Often they are "go kill so and so" or "turn on these generators" or "collect these parts." Generally speaking, the missions are a lot of fun, but there are a few that are frustrating. There is a HUGE variety of weapons, unfortunately most of the weapon drops will not be as good as what you already have. Still, I can't help but get a little chill of anticipation every time I check out the vending machines. I don't know what bugs people are complaining about. It's not flawless, but generally speaking, it's a well-designed and well-crafted game. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    I know this review is waaaay late but I had to give in my 2 cents on this Amazing No......Epic Game named Borderlands.this game has kept me playing through some long nights and alot of coffee and pizza.All I can say is if you love Shooters and RPG's then this game is up your ally.from beginning to end I was amazed.it's a must play for any gamer.
  8. May 7, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a fantastic game, it takes the best from games like Fallout 3, Halo, and Call of Duty, and adds in it's own unique gameplay elements and sense of humor, the graphical style is unique and fantastic, and the sound is great, and it's just so much fun to play, my only complaints are that it has some bugs, long load times, and all the quests are just fetch quests, but these flawsBorderlands is a fantastic game, it takes the best from games like Fallout 3, Halo, and Call of Duty, and adds in it's own unique gameplay elements and sense of humor, the graphical style is unique and fantastic, and the sound is great, and it's just so much fun to play, my only complaints are that it has some bugs, long load times, and all the quests are just fetch quests, but these flaws are easy to overlook because it's just so much fun, and has high replay value do too tons of side quests, and the fact that it offers a second play through that makes it more challenging next time around, and it has really fun co-op, all in all this is a game I highly recommend, and is just shy of perfection. Expand
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    This is one of those rare games that is so good that you will find yourself putting it back in your console until the sequel comes out. Literally millions of guns and fairly differentiated game play styles with the different classes and skill tree paths you can use. The cooperative play is excellent. It's a joy to play and I've gained probably 100+ hours of fun from this one game. I canThis is one of those rare games that is so good that you will find yourself putting it back in your console until the sequel comes out. Literally millions of guns and fairly differentiated game play styles with the different classes and skill tree paths you can use. The cooperative play is excellent. It's a joy to play and I've gained probably 100+ hours of fun from this one game. I can hardly wait for the sequel! Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    I keep coming back to this game and playing it again and again. When I'm not sure what I want to play and don't feel inspired, Borderlands is the one that comes to mind as the most fun. I love that it's a first person shooter rpg. Developing my character, leveling up, getting better and better guns... Awesome! The fps action is very well done. I like the cell shading and style too. II keep coming back to this game and playing it again and again. When I'm not sure what I want to play and don't feel inspired, Borderlands is the one that comes to mind as the most fun. I love that it's a first person shooter rpg. Developing my character, leveling up, getting better and better guns... Awesome! The fps action is very well done. I like the cell shading and style too. I haven't ever purchased downloadable content for a game before... that is until now. I just bought some DLC and am waiting for it to download so that I can enjoy this game even more! Expand
  11. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of my favourite games ever.Fun Fun Fun,the entire way.Excellent visuals and sound,the weapons are fantastic and numerous.The characters you meet,while not really fleshed out,are awesome.I would have liked CL4PTP to narrate throughout the entire game though.
    The only annoying thing about this game are the mediocre vehicles,while good for transport and a few
    This is easily one of my favourite games ever.Fun Fun Fun,the entire way.Excellent visuals and sound,the weapons are fantastic and numerous.The characters you meet,while not really fleshed out,are awesome.I would have liked CL4PTP to narrate throughout the entire game though.
    The only annoying thing about this game are the mediocre vehicles,while good for transport and a few missions,could have been much better.The only other complaint would be the Mad Moxxi DLC.Skip it if you can.
    Buy this!
    Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is pure fun. It doesn't have a particularly well-developed story (or much of a story at all) and the RPG elements aren't all that intricate, but the game is extremely well-paced and the complexity is just enough to keep the experience constantly fresh. Throughout, you will have a solid mix of easier, normal and challenging missions to embark upon. The combat elements workBorderlands is pure fun. It doesn't have a particularly well-developed story (or much of a story at all) and the RPG elements aren't all that intricate, but the game is extremely well-paced and the complexity is just enough to keep the experience constantly fresh. Throughout, you will have a solid mix of easier, normal and challenging missions to embark upon. The combat elements work exceptionally well, requiring you to effectively utilize your unique character skill, as well as find, use and master the appropriate weapon for your character build. There are a few points in the game where it seems to get a little bit ahead of the player, in terms of difficulty, but generally the experience is very well balanced. The game world, Pandora, is surprisingly humorous, in a somewhat twisted way, for such a desolate, miserable place. The game does have a few shortcomings, though. Principally, there is almost no storyline to speak of. The game all feels a little bit random, although you'll probably never really care because it's so fun to play. Also, the unique abilities of two of the characters - Lilith and Brick - are far less useful than those of Roland and Mordecai. Similarly, melee combat is not nearly as viable a combat option as it should be to make Brick a true equal to the others. Even playing as Lilith or Brick, however, is still a ton of fun. Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    "Borderlands" is indeed flawless by blending in hardcore FPS action, and gritty RPG elements, to create a gun-loaded, definitive odyssey through the harsh and strangely humorous world of Pandora, full of psychotic...well, psychos, mindless bandits, mutant plasma worms, feral skags, and legendary bosses. Literally thousands, even millions, of guns are at your disposal, along with the"Borderlands" is indeed flawless by blending in hardcore FPS action, and gritty RPG elements, to create a gun-loaded, definitive odyssey through the harsh and strangely humorous world of Pandora, full of psychotic...well, psychos, mindless bandits, mutant plasma worms, feral skags, and legendary bosses. Literally thousands, even millions, of guns are at your disposal, along with the specialties of each of the characters to choose from, ranging from a fatal bird of prey, a rage-filled knuckle barrage of fury, a supportive turret of aid and destruction, or even a stealthy, and mysterious power of seductiveness and death. Cooperative play also provides tons of fun with three other players, and with this masterpiece, you'll enjoy every bad*** moment of it. Expand
  14. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. Although fun on singleplayer, it's insanely fun on multiplayer. Playing this game with friends was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. Although the game had some bugs, that's to be expected because of the mass amount of things to do. Fun the first time around, but the replay value for me wasn't enjoyable. But the replay value isEasily one of the best games I've ever played. Although fun on singleplayer, it's insanely fun on multiplayer. Playing this game with friends was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. Although the game had some bugs, that's to be expected because of the mass amount of things to do. Fun the first time around, but the replay value for me wasn't enjoyable. But the replay value is good, I just didn't like it. Definitely a buy. Expand
  15. May 27, 2011
    10
    This could quite easily be THE greatest game i have ever played. I used to be obsessed with videogames until the next-gen consoles came out, then everything that made games fun was thrown out the window and replaced by "impressive graphics". Frankly I don't care how my game looks, if it's entertaining and incredibly fun to play. Borderlands is all of that and more!

    In a time when
    This could quite easily be THE greatest game i have ever played. I used to be obsessed with videogames until the next-gen consoles came out, then everything that made games fun was thrown out the window and replaced by "impressive graphics". Frankly I don't care how my game looks, if it's entertaining and incredibly fun to play. Borderlands is all of that and more!

    In a time when videogames cost 50-60 dollars a piece, I have a EXTREMELY HIGH priority on a games replay value. there's no way in hell that i'm going to shell out 50 bucks for a game i'm only going to play once, there's yet to be a game introduced that i'd pay that much for a one time experience.

    Not only would Borderlands be worth 50+ dollars for a one time experience, it basically prides itself on the fact that the game is so good the creators implented a "playthrough counter" which was one of the first things i noticed and immediately thought....oh this is going to be good.

    I know this review is just one giant opinion on my impression of the game, but there's literally so much about it that makes it a phenomenal game that the 5000 character max on metacritic is simply not enough space to write about all of it.

    here's the kicker:

    I bought this game at GameStop about 3 weeks ago for.....13 **** yea
    Expand
  16. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This games have really nice graphics, millions of weapon all different with elemental power and an amazing game play.But it is a little bit repetitive and enemy are not intelligent.
  17. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This game is simply awesome and a must buy for video game lovers. Its fairly long(about 35hrs),extremely fun and addicting , some very awesome weapons,and cool graphics,also it has claptraps,which are incredibly epic
  18. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very unique RPG/FPS that I really enjoyed it and had alot of fun with it, I quite like the leveling system where you choose your skills as whatever character you are and the open environments where great to, but what i think they could of improved on is better customization of the characters and not just the color of there armor and hair, but still overall a great game andBorderlands is a very unique RPG/FPS that I really enjoyed it and had alot of fun with it, I quite like the leveling system where you choose your skills as whatever character you are and the open environments where great to, but what i think they could of improved on is better customization of the characters and not just the color of there armor and hair, but still overall a great game and must buy! Expand
  19. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    99% Perfectly made. A spot on game for any player of any genre. Outstanding gameplay, beautiful landscape, the creatures and bandits are very, very well thought through, and playable space is unbeilvably massive. A must have game for gamers who like Fallout or Call of duty. The choice of weapons can be detailed right down to your favorite color, and the skill building can be tweaked to99% Perfectly made. A spot on game for any player of any genre. Outstanding gameplay, beautiful landscape, the creatures and bandits are very, very well thought through, and playable space is unbeilvably massive. A must have game for gamers who like Fallout or Call of duty. The choice of weapons can be detailed right down to your favorite color, and the skill building can be tweaked to your standards. Even the mods are fun, not those kind where people try to screw up the game on purpose but the kind where its fun to play with them on. All around, one of the first games you should have for the Xbox 360 Expand
  20. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Shooters have reached a time where they are all the same, Borderlands breaks that formula and brings a free-roam solid action-RPG game. It's just surprising the amount of guns, skills, enemies, and more you will find in Borderlands. Despite of what people say, the graphics and art-style are just epic and the sound is great also. This game is clearly an amazing game, I really was doubtingShooters have reached a time where they are all the same, Borderlands breaks that formula and brings a free-roam solid action-RPG game. It's just surprising the amount of guns, skills, enemies, and more you will find in Borderlands. Despite of what people say, the graphics and art-style are just epic and the sound is great also. This game is clearly an amazing game, I really was doubting buying it but I completely fell in love, buy it now. Expand
  21. MW3
    Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Great game but needs more Achievements and i like how you get to level up and theres alot of dogs (or whatever they are ) so you can level up thats all i gotta say
  22. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    The best game in years, me mantuvo atrapado por meses, y mas por el componente cooperativo, sumarle a eso los DLC´s el juego se extiende muchisimo, me encanto por el sentido del humor de los personajes, la traduccion al español ,los graficos (cell shading)...
  23. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Really good game, the gunplay is just as solid as what you find in call of duty, the looting is extremly addicte and the fact that you can do this with 3 buddys in a superb co-op campaign is just amazing. i dont know why i dont give this game a 10. ill give this game a 9 but its not far from a 10, play it now
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is a fantastic ride through the cut-throat planet Pandora. Whether its blowing midgets faces of with a shotgun that launches rockets, or that awesome gitty feeling of opening a weapon chest, Borderlands always keep you battling for the next great loot. First off, I love the cell-shaded art style. It fits nicely. At times, it seems wasted on some of the more barren landscapes inBorderlands is a fantastic ride through the cut-throat planet Pandora. Whether its blowing midgets faces of with a shotgun that launches rockets, or that awesome gitty feeling of opening a weapon chest, Borderlands always keep you battling for the next great loot. First off, I love the cell-shaded art style. It fits nicely. At times, it seems wasted on some of the more barren landscapes in the beginning of the game, but later on it really shines in both landscape and character design. Second, the level based RPG style works great as well. The skill trees arent too involved, though its not a deal-breaker by any means, its something I hope is fixed in future installments. The only reason, as a fan, I dont want to give it a 10, is that the story is flimsy at best; no more than an excuse to shuffle you to new locations with new enemies and bosses. All of which can be accomplished by the numerous side-quests that, at times, outshine the main story. Tack on a cop-out ending, and the narrative suffers a bit. But honestly, you didnt come to Pandora for the story, you came for the carnage, and of course the bajillions of GUNS!! ------->additionally, I would highly recommend the DLC packs. They really develope the atmosphere of Borderlands, and as with a game that consistantly brushes the hilariously outrageous, it doesnt take itself too seriously. I cannot stress enough that you must play the Dr. Zed, Mad Moxxi, or Robo-lution DLC's Expand
  25. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing! i can continuously play this game over and over and not get tired of it. would give it a 11/10! Cant wait for the second one!
  26. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    When i bought this game i didnt even know what it was about or what it gonna turn out to be,to my suprise it turned out to be kick-ass. I like rpg's even though i dont play alot of them because i rarely find one that really speaks to me like the kingdom hearts francise etc. But i love this game too. You get all of the rpg aspects you'd expect. A big ass Open World. You level up fromWhen i bought this game i didnt even know what it was about or what it gonna turn out to be,to my suprise it turned out to be kick-ass. I like rpg's even though i dont play alot of them because i rarely find one that really speaks to me like the kingdom hearts francise etc. But i love this game too. You get all of the rpg aspects you'd expect. A big ass Open World. You level up from killing enemies and completing quests and challenges. Looting,and character progession. All of this mixed with Call of Duty/Doom/Halo/f*cking awesome combat. Its so addictive like i cant even explain it. You can easily squeeze about 30 hours of the game itself but now they have the GOTY edition that includes all of the DLC so if you pay like three extra bucks you get another 30 hours of play and this game is only like twenty buck now,and the second one released a few days ago so if you got a little money burning a whole in your pocket and you want a new game look no further,you'll love this game. Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    Loot gathering fun at it's greatest. I have logged over 200 hours doing multiple characters both times through. The music, weapons, stylized graphics,and pacing make this game a 10. The very poor storyline and copious backtracking do bring this down for a 9, but it is still an absolute must play for the FPS or multiplayer lover.

    Also the final boss is way too easy when you figure it out.
  28. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    The game is a different spin on the post apocalyptic world schematic. owever, it manages to create it's own mythos and fully developed niche environment.
    It's an open world with 4 different classes to choose from. All with their own different skill sets and special abilities. Each character has 3 different skill sets to build upon (and can even mix and match) to suit the main playstyles.
    The game is a different spin on the post apocalyptic world schematic. owever, it manages to create it's own mythos and fully developed niche environment.
    It's an open world with 4 different classes to choose from. All with their own different skill sets and special abilities. Each character has 3 different skill sets to build upon (and can even mix and match) to suit the main playstyles. Very long game with well made expanded content that gives alot for the money as well. Lots of side quests and a well made main quest chain. Tons and tons and TONS of different weapons. Vehilce traveling is fun as hell too and the game is challenging for sure.
    The only slight drawback may be that the graphics have a unique style. They may not be for everyone.
    Expand
  29. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I have never put more hours into a game or have been more addicted to one (150+ hours). I have no idea why I found it so absurdly addicting. I hadn't even played co-op which is the game's crown jewel. The DLC for it was awesome and extended the life of the game by a large margin. My favorite game this gen and looking at the cover, I would have never thought.

    Also, I loved the ending. It
    I have never put more hours into a game or have been more addicted to one (150+ hours). I have no idea why I found it so absurdly addicting. I hadn't even played co-op which is the game's crown jewel. The DLC for it was awesome and extended the life of the game by a large margin. My favorite game this gen and looking at the cover, I would have never thought.

    Also, I loved the ending. It was such a slap in the face. Definitely Borderland's style.
    Expand
  30. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Borderlands remains one of the few FPS to throw a massive variety of interesting enemies at you that all suit the world they live in. You'll be fighting large flying reptilian bats, burrowing insects, mutated wild dogs, a variety of crazy bandits, long legged war of the worlds style creatures, and mad mini robots to name just a few off the top of my head. You also get big awesome bossBorderlands remains one of the few FPS to throw a massive variety of interesting enemies at you that all suit the world they live in. You'll be fighting large flying reptilian bats, burrowing insects, mutated wild dogs, a variety of crazy bandits, long legged war of the worlds style creatures, and mad mini robots to name just a few off the top of my head. You also get big awesome boss fights providing you with ample opportunity to use different tactics to overcome them either by yourself or with a party of friends. The world of Pandora is a sparsely populated wasteland but still has interesting geography features and you'll be visiting a variety of locations from junkyards, to military installations, to wide open sandscapes requiring buggy style vehicles with weapons to negotiate their girth. Borderlands deserves all the praise it gets for its unique and witty take on a post apocalyptic world with massive depth and an awesome level of RPG style character customisation not seen in usual FPS fare. Unique. Expand
  31. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    This game is witty and addictive. I have been known to be glued to this game until the early hours. The combat and levelling system is great and the quests themselves are good too, although some of them can feel a little bit same-y. The first few missions are a little tedious too, but after that the game is well worth sinking your teeth into. Truly one of my favourite games.
  32. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    To me, Borderlands was an insanely fun RPG that managed to hold my attention all the way through to the end, with interesting settings, weapons and characters. The cartoon-like graphic style is not for everyone, but I personally liked it. It made the game seem vibrant and colourful, a stark contrast to many other recent shooters. As an RPG it is fantastic. There are only 4 characters, butTo me, Borderlands was an insanely fun RPG that managed to hold my attention all the way through to the end, with interesting settings, weapons and characters. The cartoon-like graphic style is not for everyone, but I personally liked it. It made the game seem vibrant and colourful, a stark contrast to many other recent shooters. As an RPG it is fantastic. There are only 4 characters, but each can be played in a variety of different ways, meaning multiple playthroughs are possible. There are so many customisation options, from abilities to guns to armour that the game can feel overwhelming, but once you get into it you will love fiddling with items to get the best stats. As an FPS it is pretty fun; the controls are maybe not as tight as other titles but it is solid and never feels difficult or frustrating to play. It must be noted that this game is much better played in co-op with friends as this will make the experience even more enjoyable. The only downsides are a few bugs and glitches here and there (most of the ones I encountered were minor but I know others who weren't so lucky), and some repetitive and grind-y quests that can be tedious. Otherwise, Borderlands is great fun and I would highly recommend it. Expand
  33. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Borderlands is a great game, a fun shoot-em-up style with cool funky graphics and a good comedy ring to it, it is definitely more fun to play with your friends, trade weapons and help eachother out with the many quests.
  34. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    The poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because itThe poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because it suits his class etc. but we both found it incredibly fun witty and also the DLC was great and added more to a already great game. You can probably buy for like a fiver now so I would 100% recommend buying before the release of Borderlands 2 in a couple weeks. I rate it a 9 because minor bugs in the game not because of gameplay. And also the characters are great even if the story is a little lacking. Cheers. Expand
  35. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is the the ultimate four-player Role-Playing Shooter loot fest. Combining invention and evolution, Borderlands features characters, skills, environments, enemies, weapons and equipment, which come together to one of the best games I have played in a while.

    Let's start out with the story. The story is is one of the worst stories I've ever seen. Luckily, Borderlands doesn't
    Borderlands is the the ultimate four-player Role-Playing Shooter loot fest. Combining invention and evolution, Borderlands features characters, skills, environments, enemies, weapons and equipment, which come together to one of the best games I have played in a while.

    Let's start out with the story. The story is is one of the worst stories I've ever seen. Luckily, Borderlands doesn't need a story to be awesome.
    The story is this: you heard stories of The Vault, which has infinite power, weapons, and wealth. You decide that you'd like to be a Vault Hunter, someone who searches for the vault. No other information is given, except they do tell you that the Vault was made by aliens. Borderlands does a superb job with the side-quests. The missions are hilarious, usually. The silliness of the missions is presented in a way that most people didn't notice, which is a shame. In one of the side- missions that Crazy Earl (a NPC in th game) gives you, you must find his friend, a level 20 Skag that is tiny and wears a spiky collar. The missions get repetitive after a while, and their is a seamlessly endless amount of loading screens. But I guess it can be hard to keep the formula fresh after +30 hours.

    Enough about the story. Let's get to what everyone is waiting for... the gameplay. Borderlands has somewhere around 18,000,000 guns (at least Gearbox said so), each gun is different, which allows for creativity. You can have a shotgun that shoots rockets (if you're lucky enough to find one). The amount of awesomeness that can unfold is amazing.
    Borderlands is fast-paced action that almost never gets old. As I said earlier, their are to many loading screens, althought that is a minor complaint. The menus are clunky and meant for single player only. Coop is a blast, although thir us only enough loot for one person.

    The RPG part of this game, is disappointing. Their are four characters to choose from, Brick, the Berserker, Mordecai, the Hunter, Roland, the Soldier, and Maya, the Siren. All of them are exactly how they sound, well except the Siren, of course. Each of them have underwhelming skills that aren't exciting. The only character that is if different is the Siren, which does magic type stuff.

    The graphics aren't terrible, just they aren't very good, either. The landscape gets boring very quickly, it would help if the environment was different every once and a while.

    Borderlands has its notable flaws, but in the end, it's worth the investment.
    Expand
  36. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    No story to speak of, but the action is awesome and the variation of guns is stagering, Each kill or chest holds the hope of a better gun or artifact. The multiplayer is also great finishing a quest in your friends game completes it in yours as well. The car is nothing special just a good way to get around so don't expect any great vehicular battles but as I said the solo or team combat isNo story to speak of, but the action is awesome and the variation of guns is stagering, Each kill or chest holds the hope of a better gun or artifact. The multiplayer is also great finishing a quest in your friends game completes it in yours as well. The car is nothing special just a good way to get around so don't expect any great vehicular battles but as I said the solo or team combat is just too good to miss. I recommend choosing the soldier if you are unsure tossing out a turret to distract and pick off enemies while you finish off the rest is great. The upgrade system is fun but not super deep, although I was always super excited to spend my upgrade point each time I levelled up. Expand
  37. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Borderlands é um ótimo game,uma mistura boa de FPS e RPG,o único contra é o fato da ambientação ser repetitiva,mas mesmo assim,quem procura um game de tiro frenético,borderlands é a melhor opção.
  38. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Borderlands is an original, open world first person shooter that includes some elements from modern MMORPG games, such as the quest, loot and leveling system. It has a unique, hand drawn graphics style, which I think looks nice, and adds to the originality if the game. The game takes place on the planet of Pandora. Legend has it that somewhere amongst this dangerous wasteland, lies aBorderlands is an original, open world first person shooter that includes some elements from modern MMORPG games, such as the quest, loot and leveling system. It has a unique, hand drawn graphics style, which I think looks nice, and adds to the originality if the game. The game takes place on the planet of Pandora. Legend has it that somewhere amongst this dangerous wasteland, lies a hidden alien vault, containing countless treasures. You play as one of four ‘vault hunters’, each with their own skill set and perks. Your goal is to find this Vault on the harsh planet of Pandora, and whatever treasures lie within. Many enemies and loot lies along the way. The game features many interesting and funny characters throughout the story line, resulting in some great dialogue.

    Many of the games concepts are based on those found in modern MMORPGs. Throughout Pandora, rewarding chests, enemies and quests will yield loot; this can consist of weapons, shields, class mods, grenade mods, and relics. The game’s random weapon generator ensures that there is actually well over a million different weapons in the game, all with varying statistics. Players can receive quests from different characters and bounty boards throughout the game. You can take on many quests at once, from many different zones within Pandora, and you can then choose which quest to take on next, based on the location, objective and rewards. As players gain experience from defeating enemies and completing quests, they will level up. As players level up, new quests and weapons will become available. Another important feature of Borderlands is the skill system; each of the four player classes has three unique skill trees in which they can choose to specialize in, plus a unique ability available to that class. The player gains one skill point per level, and can choose to allocate this point how they please within the desired skill tree. Players should try to allocate their points to different skills based on their desired play style.

    Borderlands is not only incredibly fun and addictive to play by yourself, but you can also play cooperatively with other players, either split screen or over the internet. Exploring the world of Pandora, collecting loot with 3 other players is a whole new experience. You can choose to stick closely together to assist each other in combat against a great number of enemies, or you can choose to split up and tackle separate quests at the same time, while remaining together in the same world. The more players in the game, the harder the enemies are to face, and the more loot you shall receive. Each of the four classes in the game are balanced well and can each contribute to the combat in their own way.

    Borderlands is not without its flaws, otherwise it would have received a ten out of ten rating; the same brown, dusty wasteland environment can get boring after spending so long traveling the wastes. The enemies can also become repetitive toward the end of the game, once you have faced each type of opponent countless times. Despite the story being gripping, I never really found myself truly hooked to the story.

    The game may have an 18 certificate, but I believe most 15 year olds, and even mature 13 year olds would be able to play through Borderland without any trouble. Profanity is rare, and the violence is more ‘cartoony’ than anything else. Players must think about which skills to specialize in, and compare the stats of weapons, it is not just a simple action-shooter about shooting people.

    Overall I think Borderlands is truly a great game. I found myself hooked at different points throughout the game; I enjoyed getting progressively more powerful as I collected new weapons and developed my characters skills to fit my play style well. I would give this game a nine out of ten.
    Expand
  39. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Borderlands was a wonderful surprise when I bought it...the cel-shaded graphics were appealing to the eye, gunplay was awesome, the mix of RPG and FPS worked perfectly together, colourful environments, characters and villains, and also I had such a blast playing this with my friends, if your going to okay this game, play it with friends. Also some really good DLC aswell...my only gripesBorderlands was a wonderful surprise when I bought it...the cel-shaded graphics were appealing to the eye, gunplay was awesome, the mix of RPG and FPS worked perfectly together, colourful environments, characters and villains, and also I had such a blast playing this with my friends, if your going to okay this game, play it with friends. Also some really good DLC aswell...my only gripes with it is that I feel the game didnt really focus on the story all to much and the ending was a massive anti-climax...but if you are fan of RPG, FPS or Co-Op games, then this is the game for you Expand
  40. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    fps rpg great game. But hackers and save problems. were i couldnt play thourgh 2nd time it killed xp for me but is still a great game. cool art style. CLAPTRAP!
  41. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    I would give this game an 88 but I must round up. Initially, I thought of it as a tongue in cheek Fallout 3 game, which made me dislike it. However, after playing through it, I loved it. There is great replay value in this game because you can go with different skill trees for all four characters. The world is immense and there is tons of loot to be had. If you like FPS with RPGI would give this game an 88 but I must round up. Initially, I thought of it as a tongue in cheek Fallout 3 game, which made me dislike it. However, after playing through it, I loved it. There is great replay value in this game because you can go with different skill trees for all four characters. The world is immense and there is tons of loot to be had. If you like FPS with RPG elements that is geared towards collecting loot, you will thoroughly enjoy this game. It is also one of the most charming games to come out in a very long time. The characters will have you laughing out loud all throughout the game. I actually like Borderlands more than Borderlands 2 because the assault rifles are so much better and the sniping isn't so wobbly. In all, this game is well worth buying. Expand
  42. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    The first RPS (Role Playing Shooter), and a giant success. Borderlands has a unique and gorgeous artistic style, tons and tons of loot, and it's insanely addicting and rewarding especially with friends. The story is weak but in a game like this it doesn't matter too much.

    Borderlands gets a 9.1/10
  43. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    It reminds me of why I love games in the first place. It shows that sandboxes aren't limited to shocking games like GTA, but can be decent, entertaining games on their own merit. Guns,loot, and a hilarious cast and comic art style make this entertaining to no limit.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 87
    In short, Borderlands is a top-quality shooter and grind-fest.
  2. A furiously successful RPG and FPS combination that doesn't fall short on either front. [Issue#52, p.86]
  3. When a game has such vicious combat, an intriguing skill system, and full co-op capability, a mediocre story can be overlooked. Borderlands is a necessity for any fan of the FPS and RPG genres, or just down-right looting fun.