User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 671 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 671

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2012
    10
    I've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc isI've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc is amazing.get this game . Expand
  2. RyanS
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    This game is excellent and a blast to play co-op with friends. There is no other experience like it on any console and the gameplay will keep you riveted for hours on end. If you don't give this game a try you really are missing out on a unique experience and one of the best console games to date. I'm putting it in my Xbox all time top five games to play.
  3. MichaelW
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is not an RPG. It is comedy with a great plot watched through gun sights. While the game is big and pretty it's not interactive outside of interacting your bullets with badguys and shaping your character into a better bullet. This game is also not really for me. It is however for everyone. I don't need a lot of tutorials, I preferr more interaction with a game and I like This is not an RPG. It is comedy with a great plot watched through gun sights. While the game is big and pretty it's not interactive outside of interacting your bullets with badguys and shaping your character into a better bullet. This game is also not really for me. It is however for everyone. I don't need a lot of tutorials, I preferr more interaction with a game and I like complexity. However I realize not everyone deals with my level of obsession with gaming. Everyone however likes having fun, everyone prefers to play than to figure out how to play and people who play action games generally like action. this game is remarkably well designed to appeal to most people, it's fun, it's not hard to figure out how to do things and there's a lot of action. I continue to be astounded by how easy it is to turn on the 360, go into this game and reliably have fun playing it online or alone. Expand
  4. HagenM.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Phenomenal title. Extremely immersive, deep role playing elements, and fantastically addictive co-op. I have nothing but love for this game. However, I wish that the world was entirely open and not limited to zones, and that there was a house or a trunk to store items.
  5. ElliotI
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played this year. The only comparison to fallout is that they both take place in a wasteland type environment -- similarities stop there. This feels and plays like a shooter, with a few added skills. The shooter mechanics are fun and the coop is amazing. Fallout 3 always felt like a turn based rpg with a shooter skin over it. If you enjoyed This is one of the most fun games I've played this year. The only comparison to fallout is that they both take place in a wasteland type environment -- similarities stop there. This feels and plays like a shooter, with a few added skills. The shooter mechanics are fun and the coop is amazing. Fallout 3 always felt like a turn based rpg with a shooter skin over it. If you enjoyed Diablo 2 style looting and like shooters this is the game for you. Expand
  6. JackR
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game. I believe penny arcade said it best when they called the game a first person looter. It has many of the elements that made diablo 2 one of my all time favorite games, hunting for the next best weapon/shield. There are also multiple classes with unique features. This doesn't take away from the actual gameplay at all. The cel-shading is absolutely beautiful. There are Brilliant game. I believe penny arcade said it best when they called the game a first person looter. It has many of the elements that made diablo 2 one of my all time favorite games, hunting for the next best weapon/shield. There are also multiple classes with unique features. This doesn't take away from the actual gameplay at all. The cel-shading is absolutely beautiful. There are so many more little things i could rant about for days, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. My only real complaint would be that the skills don't really offer enough customization. even the hardest tier of skill to access doesn't change the gameplay very much. I hope to see that changed in borderlands 2, but for now, all I can say is buy this game. Expand
  7. AlexN
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Fantastic! I've played a lot of RPGs and a lot of FPSs and this one may not be the best of either, but its phenomenal fusion of the two. With tons of hilarious pop-culture references great online co-op thrown into the average gameplay as well as coveted weapon crates as rewards for exploration, Borderlands is the best gaming experience I've had this year. A great leveling system Fantastic! I've played a lot of RPGs and a lot of FPSs and this one may not be the best of either, but its phenomenal fusion of the two. With tons of hilarious pop-culture references great online co-op thrown into the average gameplay as well as coveted weapon crates as rewards for exploration, Borderlands is the best gaming experience I've had this year. A great leveling system makes the RPG aspect great combined with the FPS aspect makes a memorable fusion superior to that of Fallout 3. There are certain 'types' of quests repeated, but the experience never gets boring and keeps the player coming back for more and more. Expand
  8. AdamM.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    I really think the only people won't like it are people who take games and themselves too seriously. It's a fun and addicting game that never takes it's self too serious to keep anything fun out of it no matter how ridiculous it might be. Play it. You'll see what I mean.
  9. JimG.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Awesome multiplayer experience. Story is a lacking. But that doesn't seem to be the focal point. AI and boss battles are lacking as well. A few class skills seem to be broken at the moment, but its a multiplayer experience that should not be missed. This game is gorgeous and all about co-op fun. Please try it out.
  10. BernardR.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    This game delivers on everything it promises: millions of fantastic guns, tons of loot, lots of crazy bad guys, an interesting world filled with personality, skill trees, vehicles, and the best multiplayer experience I've had in a long time.
  11. AP
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is pretty much like playing a comic book version of Fallout with COD4 mask. Faster than FO3 and slower than COD4. It is fun to play solo and even better with a friend. I'm glad I picked it up.
  12. Lance
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    The game is everything it promised it would be. The multiplayer co-op is fabulous, the quests while simple keep you wanting more. If you're a hard core gamer, or love looting style games this is right up your alley. The game's ability to deliver simple, straight forward fun only increases the more players join together.
  13. JamesG
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    A real surprise. Graphics are brilliantly stylized. Guns are a joy to shoot, and constantly upgraded. Death animations are great.... legs and arms fly off as people explode. Reached level 11 as a soldier and am loving it so far. Have only played it single player, and I give it a solid 9. So expect my 9 to rise once ive sampled some co-op. Its got Fallout's wastelands, call of A real surprise. Graphics are brilliantly stylized. Guns are a joy to shoot, and constantly upgraded. Death animations are great.... legs and arms fly off as people explode. Reached level 11 as a soldier and am loving it so far. Have only played it single player, and I give it a solid 9. So expect my 9 to rise once ive sampled some co-op. Its got Fallout's wastelands, call of duty's shooting mechanics, and mass effects leveling and gun system. I really don't think you will be disappointed. Expand
  14. AndrewM.
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    the only problem I have with this game is that there isn't anyplace to store any items you want for the future, but don't want in you backpack. for example, after you complete a mission where you have to slay a skagzilla, u get a gun called the elephant gun that does 308 damage, has 98.5 accuracy, but only has a fire rate of .7, so I was forced to sell it to free up backpack the only problem I have with this game is that there isn't anyplace to store any items you want for the future, but don't want in you backpack. for example, after you complete a mission where you have to slay a skagzilla, u get a gun called the elephant gun that does 308 damage, has 98.5 accuracy, but only has a fire rate of .7, so I was forced to sell it to free up backpack space, when it could have proved very useful later on. Expand
  15. JesseC
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I've played just about every 360 game and this is one of the best. I just dont see how it only got a rating of 85.... The lowest "Critic" review was a 70/100 and their review sounds like they should have given it a 10/10.... "Borderline brilliant".. "Minor Flaw".... that doesnt sound like a 70/100!!! especially when the next highest score is a 79, that 70 brings it down alot. This I've played just about every 360 game and this is one of the best. I just dont see how it only got a rating of 85.... The lowest "Critic" review was a 70/100 and their review sounds like they should have given it a 10/10.... "Borderline brilliant".. "Minor Flaw".... that doesnt sound like a 70/100!!! especially when the next highest score is a 79, that 70 brings it down alot. This games overall rating should be at LEAST 90/100 so it can be up there with the other 90's like... Tom clancy's ghost recon advanced war fighter lol??? and portal? are you joking?... geometry wars? forza 2? this game is 10x better than those Expand
  16. Jason
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Great shooter gameplay, RPG elements, tons of loot all combined with online co-op make it one of the best co-op games ever made. The awesome art style is just a bonus.
  17. KevinC
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Awesome retro cartoon-style artwork, randomly generated weaponry and well-thought out characters makes this game a good purchase and hours of fun!
  18. Matthew
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    It's that old Shadowrun game on SNES meets Metroid Prime with elements of Myst. What's not to like? While not totally original in some aspects, the art style is interesting at first but totally a gimmick to get you to keep playing. I agree with most reviewers, though. The short-comings of the game are overshadowed by the intensely addictive qualities of this game. It is wholly It's that old Shadowrun game on SNES meets Metroid Prime with elements of Myst. What's not to like? While not totally original in some aspects, the art style is interesting at first but totally a gimmick to get you to keep playing. I agree with most reviewers, though. The short-comings of the game are overshadowed by the intensely addictive qualities of this game. It is wholly satisfying to shoot acid out of a submachine gun or to turn invisible and run up to a baddie only to karate chop him in the back of the head. There's so much to like about this game. Only the most anal retentive reviewer who doesn't like fun would rate this game below 8.5 / 10. Thumbs up all the way. Expand
  19. BimmyV
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    First off, Borderlands is the first game I've seen to actually achieve the look of a 3D comic book. Unlike other games that aim for that look, Borderlands was not touted as being "comic bookie", but it does it brilliantly. The hand-drawn textures and hatched shadows are absolutely genius, so huge props to Gearbox for that alone. Now, would I have liked a tad more character First off, Borderlands is the first game I've seen to actually achieve the look of a 3D comic book. Unlike other games that aim for that look, Borderlands was not touted as being "comic bookie", but it does it brilliantly. The hand-drawn textures and hatched shadows are absolutely genius, so huge props to Gearbox for that alone. Now, would I have liked a tad more character customization? Of course, but I'm just a sucker for that kinda dress-up crap anyway. Does it detract from the game experience? No, not really. But going online and seeing other people's wacky creations is always fun, so maybe in the sequel we could get some sliders and bigger color palettes. Ok, so the characters Gearbox provided are pretty awesome, and the movie-style intro for them is sweet, but still, I like to tweak my looks, it just makes me feel that much more invested in my character. However, the ability to alter your color scheme and name whenever you want is really nifty, even if the options are limited. As for the gameplay, anyone who's familiar with COD 4 will be right at home in Pandora, because Borderlands' controls are identical. Modern Warfare completely trumps even Halo as the greatest console FPS control scheme ever, and Gearbox wisely followed suit. And the "bazillions" of guns you'll be finding for the next umpteen hours are exquisitely satisfying to fire. The tactility of the firearms combined with the excellent enemy animations make for the most exhilarating and frantic level grinding you'll ever experience. I hesitate to even call leveling in this game a "grind", since the only grinding you'll be doing is your enemies into mooshy red chunks. Mmmm. I know lots of people are comparing Borderlands to Fallout 3, but really, this is an entirely different beast. Aside from the wasteland setting (which isn't even post-apocalyptic, by the way), the two games are almost nothing alike. Ok, and there's a Vault, too, so what? The absence of any real deep or compelling narrative in Borderlands really doesn't bother me at all. The hilarious characters and Bio Shock-esque tape recorder diaries are enough to keep me interested in Gearbox's universe. And though there is little environmental or character interaction, it only serves to give the game an even more simple and streamlined feel. After all, Borderlands is not about sifting through seas of useless odds and ends, or navigating dialogue trees, or choosing between being good or evil. It's about the loot. And in the wasteland that is Pandora, Loot > All. If you like Diablo, and you like first person shooters, you will love Borderlands, because that is basically what it is. Now go buy it. And tell all your friends to buy it, so you can play together. It is that much fun. Expand
  20. DanielC
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It is as fun as any other game i have ever played. True for the co-op you have to be the same level, but you can go back to the arid badlands or whatever to level up and just have fun. The number of weapons is extraordinary and some thought definitly went into them, rarely do i find two weapons that just have different damages or fire rates. "No weapon trading among This game is amazing. It is as fun as any other game i have ever played. True for the co-op you have to be the same level, but you can go back to the arid badlands or whatever to level up and just have fun. The number of weapons is extraordinary and some thought definitly went into them, rarely do i find two weapons that just have different damages or fire rates. "No weapon trading among players" whoopdy do, you can drop a weapon, it wont hurt your soul. The gameplay is so fluent and easy to learn. It makes shooting 20 bandits in a row fun and different than your last battle. I love how they just left out armor, it makes the focus more on your weapon where it needs to be. The saving system is absent, but that is part of the game, and respawning takes NO LOADING TIME. Yeah the story is lackluster and the npc's somewhat lifeless, but the point of the game is to be a shooter with rpg elements, not an rpg with shooter elements, get over it Expand
  21. DavidH
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best multiplayer games I've ever played. It's fun on so many levels, and does so many things well that it's a difficult game experience to describe. What matters is that the gameplay is rewarding, challenging and fun as hell.
  22. PerryC
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game is great. Anyone can pick it up and have fun, pro or newbie. The graphics are great, the animations are perfect, and the game play is smooth. I'd say it will be looked back on as revolutionary in retrospect. My only gripe is the inability to trade ammo and non-scaling menus, but those are pretty easily forgivable. Ammo is plentiful enough for it to not be a very big gripe, This game is great. Anyone can pick it up and have fun, pro or newbie. The graphics are great, the animations are perfect, and the game play is smooth. I'd say it will be looked back on as revolutionary in retrospect. My only gripe is the inability to trade ammo and non-scaling menus, but those are pretty easily forgivable. Ammo is plentiful enough for it to not be a very big gripe, and you can scroll the menus pretty easily. Go pick up a copy! Expand
  23. mandudebro
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This game is addictive. Easily a 50-70 hour fun fest. The more you level up the more awesome your skills and weapons are. I thought i was wasing my time the first 2 or 3 hours, but now i'm a level 27 ( 25 hours of gameplay later ) Soldier and my one shot one kills are entertaining. Millions of guns and there's loot galore. Fun co-op. I'd give it a 10 if DLC was free or at This game is addictive. Easily a 50-70 hour fun fest. The more you level up the more awesome your skills and weapons are. I thought i was wasing my time the first 2 or 3 hours, but now i'm a level 27 ( 25 hours of gameplay later ) Soldier and my one shot one kills are entertaining. Millions of guns and there's loot galore. Fun co-op. I'd give it a 10 if DLC was free or at least cheaper. Expand
  24. ClarkG.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. Beyond all the hype and such, it's a truly FUN game, especially with friends. And it takes a fair amount of time to finish, which you don't see a lot of these days. While it has it's flaws (and what game doesn't), it was a blast, and I would recommend everyone who reads this to buy this game, right now! PS /v/, enough with the HERP DERP I really enjoyed this game. Beyond all the hype and such, it's a truly FUN game, especially with friends. And it takes a fair amount of time to finish, which you don't see a lot of these days. While it has it's flaws (and what game doesn't), it was a blast, and I would recommend everyone who reads this to buy this game, right now! PS /v/, enough with the HERP DERP VIRAL MARKETING! It's getting old. Expand
  25. DustinW
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    I hesitated to purhase this title, but after playing, I am glad I did. In a market that is full of great, but very short, games - this one delivers where others fail. Some glitches prompted me to give it a 9, but after careful conideration I think this one deserves a 10. I greatly enjoyed Fallout 3, but wanted more of a "shooter" - I am glad I found this game.
  26. JonathonT.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing this is like fallout 3 with co-op. It is literally a dream type of game that gives adventurers the chance to be the ultimate gunslinging wasteland survivor. It doesn't take itself seriously graphically. Even so, the environments are welldone and open enough to give roaming and grinding a sense of relaxation; and to give battles a sense of epic brilliance when won.
  27. AD
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Like so many others have said, this game is just a blast to play. I also have to agree that it's a lot like the original Diablo as well, not only in the way the weapons drop with random bonuses, effects, etc, but with how the world itself works. The only thing that holds the game back to me is how lonely single player is. I went in expecting that team mates I didn't choose would Like so many others have said, this game is just a blast to play. I also have to agree that it's a lot like the original Diablo as well, not only in the way the weapons drop with random bonuses, effects, etc, but with how the world itself works. The only thing that holds the game back to me is how lonely single player is. I went in expecting that team mates I didn't choose would be controlled by AI ala Left 4 Dead, but it's only you out there. All of the character classes are capable of surviving on their own without a doubt, but with little NPC interaction, the whole place feels a bit desolate. In any case it's a refreshing break from games that take themselves way too seriously and the grim darkness of grimdark warfare that's everywhere these days. Expand
  28. TravisK
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    What an incredibly addicting game. It's a blast to play online, and I'll definitely play through it again. My only gripe, which really isn't a huge gripe, is that for a game so addicting, the experience is over really quickly. It feels like an MMO when you play online, and you kind of wish the experience was endless - but it isn't. I recommend for everyone who loves a What an incredibly addicting game. It's a blast to play online, and I'll definitely play through it again. My only gripe, which really isn't a huge gripe, is that for a game so addicting, the experience is over really quickly. It feels like an MMO when you play online, and you kind of wish the experience was endless - but it isn't. I recommend for everyone who loves a good RPG/Shooter or a good online Co-op experience! Expand
  29. ALL242
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best online, co-op games you can buy. The art direction, role playing elements, tons of weapons, constant flow, and ability to play a role playing game online is phenomenal. This is a great game, and it's worth every penny.
  30. JJJ
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    I'm not sure what drugs the "professional" reviewers were on, but this thing rocks. As someone who HATES RPG's, I am actually having a blast at the grinding, AND the missions. The humor helps too - from death spasms to the creatures expressions, to your co-op buddy saying " I'm just too good at this" after a good kill. An "84" rating does not do this game justice.
  31. JesseH
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    This game is simply brilliant. It's like Fallout 3 turned comic, with some great humor and awesome, fast-paced action wrapped up with absolutely fantastic co-op play with no limitations like spread distance between players. This game is a must-buy.
  32. JakC
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    So this is what I had to wait an extra year for ?? Well, that was a year well spent imho. Its pretty funny now remembering all the "Its just going to be a Fallout clone" talk. Because with all due respect to Fallout which was an outstanding game too, after about 10 minutes it was completely obvious to me that I'll never go back to Fallout again. This game is obviously the culmination So this is what I had to wait an extra year for ?? Well, that was a year well spent imho. Its pretty funny now remembering all the "Its just going to be a Fallout clone" talk. Because with all due respect to Fallout which was an outstanding game too, after about 10 minutes it was completely obvious to me that I'll never go back to Fallout again. This game is obviously the culmination of many games, over many years, to take so many good ideas of what worked in so many different games, and take each of those ideas to perfection like they have done here, is just almost to much to have asked for, but that is whats been done in this game. Everything thing works to perfection. From the gunplay, with the endlessly awesome supply of guns, that ALL feel different and act different, to all the enemy types, Starting with the skags, with their bloodthirsty roar, and crazy flying leaps from every angle, to the funky personalities of the human characters, to the very well done vehicular combat, to the fallout like class building and menu system. At every turn this game does what it does better. And did I mention the voice work, how totally well the whole cell shading thing works here, and just how perfectly the musical score fits the mood at every turn. I just don't know how this game could have been any better, and quite honestly I don't believe this game should have scored any lower then a 10. Its completely original and easily the best game I've EVER played !! Expand
  33. TB
    Oct 24, 2009
    8
    This game is great, but is only fun to play with friends because of the boredom the quests generate.
  34. GC
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Love this game. Reminds me of Sacred 2 from an RPG standpoint (straightforward questing w/ lots of inventory management)... it reminds me of Crackdown from the action standpoint (leveling to wipe out enemies)... the FPS aspect reminds me of Fallout 3 (lots to explore with danger around every corner). When one game genre gets old, the others keep you engrossed. I love it. And a billion Love this game. Reminds me of Sacred 2 from an RPG standpoint (straightforward questing w/ lots of inventory management)... it reminds me of Crackdown from the action standpoint (leveling to wipe out enemies)... the FPS aspect reminds me of Fallout 3 (lots to explore with danger around every corner). When one game genre gets old, the others keep you engrossed. I love it. And a billion weapons. No kidding. It's almost too much to choose from. Playing mostling solo and I'm shocked at how much fun I'm having. Have yet to try the multiplayer/online aspects. Expand
  35. killswitch1968
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    I'd give this a steaming hot 9.9 This game is simply fantastic. I wont be trading this game in - Its a keeper!
  36. SiNwYrM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    A great blend of many genres this game is both visually stunning and fun. Whether solo or with friends you can never quite put it down because you always want to run just one more mission or find that one better gun. This game will appeal to RPG aficionados, action fans and all walks of gamers in between. A must have for this holiday season and beyond!
  37. JustinE
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is will one day be a classic! Excellent game play, intuitive gun play and a great mix of types of quests. The variety of weapons and statistical attributes is outstanding and will keep you playing the game well past the first play through. I admit when I first heard they were switching the art style mid development to cell shading I was rather scared. I don't really care This game is will one day be a classic! Excellent game play, intuitive gun play and a great mix of types of quests. The variety of weapons and statistical attributes is outstanding and will keep you playing the game well past the first play through. I admit when I first heard they were switching the art style mid development to cell shading I was rather scared. I don't really care for cell shading and doing something that major to a game right in the middle of development can and usually does spell disaster for the game because from that point on they focus too much on the artistic side and not enough on the gameplay and story. However, the cell shading looks wonderful and really helps place a unique atmosphere to the game to separate it the game graphically from other games that may be comparative to Borderlands. While the storyline is not the best I have ever seen it still delivers a solid experience although I do wish they would have added more voice acting instead of text based mission description. That would have helped the story immersion a bit more. The only other complaint I have with the game is its frame rate at times during the intense combat this game delivers. However those minor complaints aside I believe the game comes very close to perfection. Unfortunately there is not a 9.5 rating available for reviews by players so I will give it a 10. Had the story line been a bit more deeper and if they would have added voice acting and vocal descriptions to the missions rather than text I believe this game would have been a perfect 10! Expand
  38. GerryH
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Gearbox took great features from great games (regardless of genre) and fused them into an amazing experience, solo or co-op: Call of Duty: Much of the control (except going prone, BL only lets you crouch), achievements with multiple levels for increasing xp, the feeling that you "own" your loadouts. Halo: Shields, driving-style Drop-in multiplayer is much like Left 4 Dead. Comparing and Gearbox took great features from great games (regardless of genre) and fused them into an amazing experience, solo or co-op: Call of Duty: Much of the control (except going prone, BL only lets you crouch), achievements with multiple levels for increasing xp, the feeling that you "own" your loadouts. Halo: Shields, driving-style Drop-in multiplayer is much like Left 4 Dead. Comparing and collecting loot for use, sale, or to give to your buddy is a lot like Diablo. The most distinct and gratifying experience in this game is finding a rare beast of a gun and taking it with you through several levels, until it is just too weak for the newer enemies. I have never played a game where I became emotionally attached to my weapon. Great work. Expand
  39. JamminJones
    Oct 31, 2009
    8
    I am now three hours into the co-op campaign and I am pleased so far. I may be the only one in this forum to think so but the cell shaded graphics are an uninviting distraction and give the environment an elementary, comic book feel. I understand the makers wanted to differentiate themselves from Bethesda's Fallout 3 but there is no shame in borrowing the some of the strengths of I am now three hours into the co-op campaign and I am pleased so far. I may be the only one in this forum to think so but the cell shaded graphics are an uninviting distraction and give the environment an elementary, comic book feel. I understand the makers wanted to differentiate themselves from Bethesda's Fallout 3 but there is no shame in borrowing the some of the strengths of other games. All in all, this game is shaping up to be a solid title but do not delve into it expecting a great RPG experience. It also helps a lot to play with trusted friends. Expand
  40. NickP
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    FANTASTIC game. Got it in Canada for $40 after seeing a video review that looked interesting. I am not disapointed. I've been playing this game non-stop since it was released and I'm still not tired of it. YES, there are bugs right now and they're annoying bugs, but I never find the game getting old. I've put easily 30ish hours into it and I'll be playing through FANTASTIC game. Got it in Canada for $40 after seeing a video review that looked interesting. I am not disapointed. I've been playing this game non-stop since it was released and I'm still not tired of it. YES, there are bugs right now and they're annoying bugs, but I never find the game getting old. I've put easily 30ish hours into it and I'll be playing through it again with another friend once I'm done. There's something amazing about it, I liked it more than Fallout 3/Oblivion, which I just did not connect to. With Fallout/Oblivion, I think the poor character interactions are what killed my connection to the story. This story... eh, it's mostly terrible and throw-away. To me, that is the saddest part, because a great story would have made this an AMAZING, AMAZING game. Expand
  41. BX
    Nov 17, 2009
    8
    It's a very fun game, but if you're like me, you'll spend a lot of time lamenting the vast amount of untapped potential in this game. If the devs spent maybe 2-3 more months on this game, it would be epic. The game combines the best elements from a lot of games (think Diablo meets Call of Duty while doing World of Warcraft quests), but implements the borrowed elements in a It's a very fun game, but if you're like me, you'll spend a lot of time lamenting the vast amount of untapped potential in this game. If the devs spent maybe 2-3 more months on this game, it would be epic. The game combines the best elements from a lot of games (think Diablo meets Call of Duty while doing World of Warcraft quests), but implements the borrowed elements in a very shallow way. There isn't enough differentiation between the four classes, they play pretty similarly because every class can become competently proficient in every weapon class. The skill trees do not do enough to differentiate the classes from each other, or to even differentiate your build for a single class vs. a different player's build for the same class. If I'm doing my calculations correctly, by the time you reach the level cap, you'll have enough skill points to descend 2 of the 3 skill trees (compare that to World of Warcraft, where you only get enough skill points to descend one skill tree, with a few extra points to spread between the other two). The result is a lack of custimization in builds, which is disappointing. There is also a lack of variety in the quests. The quests are either collect x items, or kill x enemies. There is a lack of variety in the enemies. There is a lack of variety in the weapons and equipment. Hopefully, DLC will expand the content of this game because it is on the verge of epic. Gearbox would do well to add more skills, weapons, quest-types, enemies, and maybe even character classes. Expand
  42. JohnS
    Nov 18, 2009
    8
    I don't even like FPS but this game is fun and I forget I am playing one. Leveling up your character is kind of addicting.
  43. JohnF.
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    Borderlands falls just short of hitting a home run, but Gearbox is probably onto something here. The day may come when an MMORPG hits it big on a console, which hasn't quite happened yet. But Borderlands takes something that is very popular on consoles -- FPS play -- and combines it with two of the things that makes MMO play so addicting (loot hunting and questing with others) to Borderlands falls just short of hitting a home run, but Gearbox is probably onto something here. The day may come when an MMORPG hits it big on a console, which hasn't quite happened yet. But Borderlands takes something that is very popular on consoles -- FPS play -- and combines it with two of the things that makes MMO play so addicting (loot hunting and questing with others) to come up with a successful premise. There are a lot of possibilities in this combination that Borderlands does not quite reach, but a future sequel very well could. As it is, Borderlands is still fun to play -- a bit rough around the edges, but once you get started on a Borderlands session, it's tough to stop. Expand
  44. AndrewZ
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    The game is beautifully done. This is a unique blend of gameplay done the right way. The controls are great, the art is fantastic and the dialogue is well written. An absolute blast to play with friends. I only wished they put more emphasis on story and quest like fallout, but i'm sure that will all fit into the sequel!
  45. GuyG
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing!!! I have been looking for a game like this all my life. Co-op and split screen in the same game is something that is never done anymore. I would recommend this game to anyone who has a pulse. I am going to go play more right now.
  46. JasperW
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This was definitely a solid game. The RPG elements made it addictive and thus worth the money by a long shot. An inventive world with an incredible amount of replayability.
  47. PatrickR
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    I'm really surprised that this game is getting high marks from so many people, i see a lot of people getting this game thinking its like fallout, or even just another FPS. I Absolutely love this game. I disagree that this is like fallout at all really, other than the fact that they are both first person RPGs and both feature guns. Really this is best described as Halo (shields) + COD I'm really surprised that this game is getting high marks from so many people, i see a lot of people getting this game thinking its like fallout, or even just another FPS. I Absolutely love this game. I disagree that this is like fallout at all really, other than the fact that they are both first person RPGs and both feature guns. Really this is best described as Halo (shields) + COD (more tactical shooting) + WOW (from graphics, grinding, quest layouts/objectives to randomized weapon attributes). Honestly this is the game i've always wanted to see tried, but never thought it'd be done so well. You will spend hours simply finding the gun that fits your play style best, and loving every second of it, if that's what you are in to. Expand
  48. JamesR
    Oct 24, 2009
    8
    It's a fun game! I wish there were an option to switch to 3rd person view though (like in fallout, either 1st or 3rd person), there are some times that I prefer that view, like when I'm wandering and need to see more of what's around me. But overall, it's really fun so far!
  49. s1lverFoXiMoF
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    This game is the Game of the Year so far. Best xbox 360 game I have played since modern warfare. Do yourself a service and buy this game. Best experience you can have with 4 people over the internet right now. This hybrid game has something for everyone. Mix halo-cod4-diablo in a blender and you get borderlands except with a world bigger than that of fallout 3.
  50. JorgeC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best multipler experiences I have ever had with my brother. Its addicting and fun.
  51. NateC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Excellent shooter gameplay, fantastic rpg system, amazing art style, and great fun with friends. The only thing not to like is the story, but it's not a deal breaker. This is one of the coolest and most original games to come out in a long time. Do yourself a favor and check it out.
  52. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    I'd give this game more than an 8, but frame rate issues and confusing/lack of story bring it down in my books. Fantastic outing, bring on Borderlands 2!!
  53. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, andThis game is a perfect combination of violence, humor, adventure, and role- playing, but not the **** Fallout role- playing; bad graphics, predictable story, and customize-your-own-character feature, which never ends well. This game does include the "level- up" feature that didn't make other role- playing games, there are better rewards other than just power- ups. Like weapons, and upgrades for the weapons. This is the best role- playing game I've ever played. Haters can eat me. Expand
  54. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    an excellent game, marred by some problematic flaws.
    Pro's: Cell shading makes a difference for a change, involving story, decent multiplayer. intelligent ai (on the whole)
    Con's: Repetitive generic Tasks, Poor Waypoints at times etc

    but on the whole a very good game
  55. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It'sMy absolute favorite game for 360. I've played this through at least six times, in single player, 2 player split screen coop, and 4 player online coop. The game is fun, and addictive. It's a first person shooter with minimal tactics. (If I switch back to Rainbow Six: Las Vegas after a lengthy BL run, I end up getting killed over and over again because I've forgotten how use cover.) It's more along the lines of Halo in that regard than Rainbow Six: Vegas. You run around the environment and get missions for the area. Often they are "go kill so and so" or "turn on these generators" or "collect these parts." Generally speaking, the missions are a lot of fun, but there are a few that are frustrating. There is a HUGE variety of weapons, unfortunately most of the weapon drops will not be as good as what you already have. Still, I can't help but get a little chill of anticipation every time I check out the vending machines. I don't know what bugs people are complaining about. It's not flawless, but generally speaking, it's a well-designed and well-crafted game. Expand
  56. MordecaiHunter
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Borderlands retains the best elements of Fallout 3, leveling, skills, open RPG environment, and the first person shooter behavior and ridiculous weapons variety of Modern Warfare, all wrapped up in an orignal and creative style. The opportunities for developing a unique character based on the choices you make in the game are nearly infinite. I love this game, a must buy!
  57. PrestonW
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I've waited for this game for some time and all i can say is that.....It's Brilliant! The combat is addictive. I've just started playing and i wasconsidering skiping school to keep playing. I played for four hours straight and it honestly seemed like i was only playing for an hour; It's that fun. There are so many guns and soo mucg loot. The first boss fight is I've waited for this game for some time and all i can say is that.....It's Brilliant! The combat is addictive. I've just started playing and i wasconsidering skiping school to keep playing. I played for four hours straight and it honestly seemed like i was only playing for an hour; It's that fun. There are so many guns and soo mucg loot. The first boss fight is hillarious. It perplexes me that people hated it. Expand
  58. Vanimal
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    I don't give 10s lightly. I actually grade it 9.5, rounding up to 10. This game strips everything down to the basic core of gaming. All the quests are built the same, yes. But really, all game quests are just fetch quests disguised as something else. This game just doesn't try to fool you. This game is light on a fully immersive story, yes. So what. Since when have stories made I don't give 10s lightly. I actually grade it 9.5, rounding up to 10. This game strips everything down to the basic core of gaming. All the quests are built the same, yes. But really, all game quests are just fetch quests disguised as something else. This game just doesn't try to fool you. This game is light on a fully immersive story, yes. So what. Since when have stories made a game fun? A story adds to the total package, but can never change the gameplay underneath. This game is just a reason to go shoot and collect stuff while completing humorous simple quests. This game at it's core is absolutely fun and addicting. The controls are on par with COD (minus crawl), and it takes the best parts of an rpg and combines them well. I have been wondering why this game hadn't come out 10 years ago. If you want a boring, linear, scripted, and uncustomizable game, play the Halo or COD campaign. If you want to play the same multiplayer maps over and over and over again, play those same games. If you want to play a campaign or multilayer game with rewards around every corner and an unlimited amount of guns and a humorous tone with none of the unneeded crap, play this game. Expand
  59. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    So far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it'sSo far one of my favorite games for the 360. Played through the game multiple times with different characters, and this is one of the few games that my wife loves to play with me. The NPCs add to it by being absolutely hilarious, and the missions they send you on are often just as funny. Though it gets harder and harder to find the better guns and upgrades as the game progresses, it's still fun finding and using them just to try them. Can't wait for a sequel. Expand
  60. ShaneC.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    This game is incredible! If you loved Fallout 3 but hated the stilted combat, then this is the game for you. Don't hesitate-go buy this game right now!
  61. JamesL
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Brilliant. More of a shooter than a RPG. Better than Fallout 3 for my money due to better game play and less arsing about clicking through tedious dialogue scripts. Addictive and emersive.
  62. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game was a blast. It was a unique experience, from the graphics, to the guns, to the world. I seriously couldn't get enough, and have actually gone back and played through it from the start again.
  63. JoshuaF
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    I've just made it into my second playthrough with Roland (tho Soldier) and I won't likely be putting down the controller soon. What I will do is respond to various negative comments I have seen about this game: "Copy/paste of CoD4 controls" - It's a shooter. There are only so many ways to set up the controls. "no story" - Diablo 2 had no story. Look how popular that was... I've just made it into my second playthrough with Roland (tho Soldier) and I won't likely be putting down the controller soon. What I will do is respond to various negative comments I have seen about this game: "Copy/paste of CoD4 controls" - It's a shooter. There are only so many ways to set up the controls. "no story" - Diablo 2 had no story. Look how popular that was... I could go on, but it would get boring and repetitive. On the subject of Diablo 2, however, has anyone else noticed the similarities? Instead of Deckard Cain, we have Claptrap. Instead of Griswold, we have a Russian arms dealer. (ok, so that's Diablo 1...) And, if you downloaded Zombie Island, you have an NPC that went bad and has to be dealt with (Nihalathak in Diablo 2) except that Ned is TOTALLY not Zed from the main story. Back on track, get the game. When you start to get bored with it, get some friends. You'll be playing for a while. Expand
  64. LucasN
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    Borderlands is an incredible game. It delivers on all it's promises, and for the amount of hype that Pitchford and his crew tossed around, that's not only saying something, it's downright amazing. Co-op is definitely it's strong point - single player is fun, but the game really shines with friends. The story is quirky, fun, and totally not required; if you want to Borderlands is an incredible game. It delivers on all it's promises, and for the amount of hype that Pitchford and his crew tossed around, that's not only saying something, it's downright amazing. Co-op is definitely it's strong point - single player is fun, but the game really shines with friends. The story is quirky, fun, and totally not required; if you want to blast through without reading or listening to anything, the game will let you do so with no penalties whatsoever. If stories are your thing, you have to pay attention and do a little reading in quest text, but there's enough detail and humor to hold your attention. With four classes to experiment with and multiple play-throughs that reward you with better exp and loot, there is a ton of replayability in this package. If you like shooters, RPG's, and loot (or any combination of the 3 =P), do yourself a favor and pick up this game. If you're anything like me, you'll be playing it well into the new year, and enjoying every minute. Expand
  65. DM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This is what happens when you mix gun porn and WoW together! I have to say this game is beyond outstanding. It is very addictive as well. In one sitting I made it all the way to Level 15. Everyone keeps referencing Fallout 3...I honestly don't see any correlation. The games graphics are pretty amazing. I was surprised at how much they could do with cell shading and how awesome it This is what happens when you mix gun porn and WoW together! I have to say this game is beyond outstanding. It is very addictive as well. In one sitting I made it all the way to Level 15. Everyone keeps referencing Fallout 3...I honestly don't see any correlation. The games graphics are pretty amazing. I was surprised at how much they could do with cell shading and how awesome it looks. The controls also make sense and are very easy to fall right in to. Expand
  66. josem
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Borderlands is one of the best games i have played this year, even the frame rate and texture loading couldnt effect the 9 ni gave it.
  67. XpectResistance
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Wicked good FPS! Hints of Fallout3 and old skewl Diablo but is very much its own flavor. A good buy and hours of game play make it a very well rounded game. Warning! You will get hooked. Killer weapons and almost endless mods.
  68. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    One of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorousOne of the most addicting and thoroughly enjoyable RPGs available. Honestly, I'm having a hell of a time playing this game, more so than Fallout 3. The interaction with NPCs would be the game's biggest flaw, but everything else is brilliant. Questing is always entertaining and the game easily touts gaming's biggest roster of weaponry. Borderlands is a sleek game sporting some very humorous moments. Simply put, this game is badass. Expand
  69. JarredB
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Id say to be exact i'd give this game a 9.7 i have never played a game so much for so long. The beginning of the game felt a little drab with a lame story but the more i went on the more that i cared about my character. I first beat it with about 20 hours of gameplay which i thought was very solid not bad. the whole way through i played single player just because i thought it would Id say to be exact i'd give this game a 9.7 i have never played a game so much for so long. The beginning of the game felt a little drab with a lame story but the more i went on the more that i cared about my character. I first beat it with about 20 hours of gameplay which i thought was very solid not bad. the whole way through i played single player just because i thought it would be better to beat it alone then to play it co-op. But when i beat it i put it back on the shelf for a day and thought i wouldnt go through again for who knows how many weeks. But i still had this urge to play it so the next day i picked it up and started playing co-op and now leveling up has become an addiction just needing to get to level 50 with my siren and im already thinking about beating it with a new character. this is easily a game with a lot of replay ability. ill compare it to fallout a bit because everyone does. Yes its an open world yes there are quest but i dont see that being very related to fallout the quest all felt completely different and leveling up means so much more in Borderlands, New gear you can equip new abilities and overall just being stronger. I beat fallout put in my 30 hours and havnt touched it since broken steel. I was considering getting the game of the year edition just to have all of the DLC but then i got borderlands and i havn't even thought about that recently. I had minor glitches were i had to either let myself die because i got stuck some where or a very VERY minor frame rate issue here or there when there was too much going on on the screen.This was more of my input on the game and less of a review my review would be a sentence long. This game is freaking awesome and i cant get enough go out buy it now play it with your friends you wont regret it. Expand
  70. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This is one fun, addictive game, to say the least. The art style is great, and the sense of humor adds a nice personality to the game that is lacking in so many others similar to Borderlands. The combination of elements from FPS games, action RPGS, and games like Fallout 3 all add up to a fun experience, even if the game is affected by a lot of minor flaws (they are all easily overlookableThis is one fun, addictive game, to say the least. The art style is great, and the sense of humor adds a nice personality to the game that is lacking in so many others similar to Borderlands. The combination of elements from FPS games, action RPGS, and games like Fallout 3 all add up to a fun experience, even if the game is affected by a lot of minor flaws (they are all easily overlookable through the fun that is to be had though). This is truly fun multiplayer, but unfortunately the single player experience can be a little bit lacking, as the missions, dialogue, and driving combat are often obviously geared towards a team and not a sole vigilante. Setting this fact aside, if you have friends to play with, this is a great way to kill lots and lots of hours. Expand
  71. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    I purchased this game via XBL marketplace and so far I'm really enjoying it. It uses a unique form of art style that makes the game look very interesting to look at and overall stylish in an otherwise boring and bland enviroment. The combat is well designed and the core mechanics have been really well thought of. My only problem is that when starting a co-op your buddy starts off at lv1I purchased this game via XBL marketplace and so far I'm really enjoying it. It uses a unique form of art style that makes the game look very interesting to look at and overall stylish in an otherwise boring and bland enviroment. The combat is well designed and the core mechanics have been really well thought of. My only problem is that when starting a co-op your buddy starts off at lv1 unless you have another character you've played. this makes the co-op experience very infuriating in that your lv1 buddy is getting wrecked by a bunch of lv20 enemies. Expand
  72. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    The poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because itThe poor reviews for this game by users is a disgrace.. People saying the AI is to hard? Are you serious? If its to hard you go back and level up, it's a RPG game for Christ sake. Or if you still find it to hard then just turn down the difficulty. I personally thought this game was amazing, I played it with my brother ho is 21 and we'd get into arguments about swapping guns because it suits his class etc. but we both found it incredibly fun witty and also the DLC was great and added more to a already great game. You can probably buy for like a fiver now so I would 100% recommend buying before the release of Borderlands 2 in a couple weeks. I rate it a 9 because minor bugs in the game not because of gameplay. And also the characters are great even if the story is a little lacking. Cheers. Expand
  73. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is great. Really great. But it contains bullet sponges. Lots of them. These enemies soak up a lot of bullets, even if your using a ROCKET LAUNCHER. But that's fine, because it's a first person loot 'em up, and that's how they should work....right? Right. Borderlands does also feature more weapons than any other game ever, but that's not what keeps you playing. Apart from itBorderlands is great. Really great. But it contains bullet sponges. Lots of them. These enemies soak up a lot of bullets, even if your using a ROCKET LAUNCHER. But that's fine, because it's a first person loot 'em up, and that's how they should work....right? Right. Borderlands does also feature more weapons than any other game ever, but that's not what keeps you playing. Apart from it being nectar to loot 'em up fans, the world is engaging and brilliantly created, and the cel-shaded styling is used to great effect. The constant tease of a new, more badass weapon (or grenade, or power up, or shield) is incentive enough to stay with Borderlands, which is all it ever needed to do anyway. Expand
  74. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    I know this review is waaaay late but I had to give in my 2 cents on this Amazing No......Epic Game named Borderlands.this game has kept me playing through some long nights and alot of coffee and pizza.All I can say is if you love Shooters and RPG's then this game is up your ally.from beginning to end I was amazed.it's a must play for any gamer.
  75. May 7, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a fantastic game, it takes the best from games like Fallout 3, Halo, and Call of Duty, and adds in it's own unique gameplay elements and sense of humor, the graphical style is unique and fantastic, and the sound is great, and it's just so much fun to play, my only complaints are that it has some bugs, long load times, and all the quests are just fetch quests, but these flawsBorderlands is a fantastic game, it takes the best from games like Fallout 3, Halo, and Call of Duty, and adds in it's own unique gameplay elements and sense of humor, the graphical style is unique and fantastic, and the sound is great, and it's just so much fun to play, my only complaints are that it has some bugs, long load times, and all the quests are just fetch quests, but these flaws are easy to overlook because it's just so much fun, and has high replay value do too tons of side quests, and the fact that it offers a second play through that makes it more challenging next time around, and it has really fun co-op, all in all this is a game I highly recommend, and is just shy of perfection. Expand
  76. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    This is one of those rare games that is so good that you will find yourself putting it back in your console until the sequel comes out. Literally millions of guns and fairly differentiated game play styles with the different classes and skill tree paths you can use. The cooperative play is excellent. It's a joy to play and I've gained probably 100+ hours of fun from this one game. I canThis is one of those rare games that is so good that you will find yourself putting it back in your console until the sequel comes out. Literally millions of guns and fairly differentiated game play styles with the different classes and skill tree paths you can use. The cooperative play is excellent. It's a joy to play and I've gained probably 100+ hours of fun from this one game. I can hardly wait for the sequel! Expand
  77. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    I keep coming back to this game and playing it again and again. When I'm not sure what I want to play and don't feel inspired, Borderlands is the one that comes to mind as the most fun. I love that it's a first person shooter rpg. Developing my character, leveling up, getting better and better guns... Awesome! The fps action is very well done. I like the cell shading and style too. II keep coming back to this game and playing it again and again. When I'm not sure what I want to play and don't feel inspired, Borderlands is the one that comes to mind as the most fun. I love that it's a first person shooter rpg. Developing my character, leveling up, getting better and better guns... Awesome! The fps action is very well done. I like the cell shading and style too. I haven't ever purchased downloadable content for a game before... that is until now. I just bought some DLC and am waiting for it to download so that I can enjoy this game even more! Expand
  78. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of my favourite games ever.Fun Fun Fun,the entire way.Excellent visuals and sound,the weapons are fantastic and numerous.The characters you meet,while not really fleshed out,are awesome.I would have liked CL4PTP to narrate throughout the entire game though.
    The only annoying thing about this game are the mediocre vehicles,while good for transport and a few
    This is easily one of my favourite games ever.Fun Fun Fun,the entire way.Excellent visuals and sound,the weapons are fantastic and numerous.The characters you meet,while not really fleshed out,are awesome.I would have liked CL4PTP to narrate throughout the entire game though.
    The only annoying thing about this game are the mediocre vehicles,while good for transport and a few missions,could have been much better.The only other complaint would be the Mad Moxxi DLC.Skip it if you can.
    Buy this!
    Expand
  79. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is pure fun. It doesn't have a particularly well-developed story (or much of a story at all) and the RPG elements aren't all that intricate, but the game is extremely well-paced and the complexity is just enough to keep the experience constantly fresh. Throughout, you will have a solid mix of easier, normal and challenging missions to embark upon. The combat elements workBorderlands is pure fun. It doesn't have a particularly well-developed story (or much of a story at all) and the RPG elements aren't all that intricate, but the game is extremely well-paced and the complexity is just enough to keep the experience constantly fresh. Throughout, you will have a solid mix of easier, normal and challenging missions to embark upon. The combat elements work exceptionally well, requiring you to effectively utilize your unique character skill, as well as find, use and master the appropriate weapon for your character build. There are a few points in the game where it seems to get a little bit ahead of the player, in terms of difficulty, but generally the experience is very well balanced. The game world, Pandora, is surprisingly humorous, in a somewhat twisted way, for such a desolate, miserable place. The game does have a few shortcomings, though. Principally, there is almost no storyline to speak of. The game all feels a little bit random, although you'll probably never really care because it's so fun to play. Also, the unique abilities of two of the characters - Lilith and Brick - are far less useful than those of Roland and Mordecai. Similarly, melee combat is not nearly as viable a combat option as it should be to make Brick a true equal to the others. Even playing as Lilith or Brick, however, is still a ton of fun. Expand
  80. May 8, 2011
    8
    Borderlands brilliantly blends FPS and RPG elements with neither side feeling underdeveloped. The story is swiftly dispensed with but this game is not about a compelling narrative. Its about lots of loot and plenty of grinding. Borderlands really shines when played with friends where items and experience are shared, emphasising teamwork and co-operation. Given the sheer number of weapons,Borderlands brilliantly blends FPS and RPG elements with neither side feeling underdeveloped. The story is swiftly dispensed with but this game is not about a compelling narrative. Its about lots of loot and plenty of grinding. Borderlands really shines when played with friends where items and experience are shared, emphasising teamwork and co-operation. Given the sheer number of weapons, its an achievement that each one feels unique meaning that each player will have their own favorite gun. Environments do become quite dull and repetitive as do the missions. There is also a disappointing lack of customization available for vehicles, surprising considering how customizable characters are. This game won't appeal to every gamer but if you and some pals want an entertaining co-op game, look no further than Borderlands. Expand
  81. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    It's a good game and all but the ending really was SOOOO BAD. What the hell? How could you end something so horribly? What is wrong with 2K Games? Anyway, I really enjoyed it otherwise.
  82. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    "Borderlands" is indeed flawless by blending in hardcore FPS action, and gritty RPG elements, to create a gun-loaded, definitive odyssey through the harsh and strangely humorous world of Pandora, full of psychotic...well, psychos, mindless bandits, mutant plasma worms, feral skags, and legendary bosses. Literally thousands, even millions, of guns are at your disposal, along with the"Borderlands" is indeed flawless by blending in hardcore FPS action, and gritty RPG elements, to create a gun-loaded, definitive odyssey through the harsh and strangely humorous world of Pandora, full of psychotic...well, psychos, mindless bandits, mutant plasma worms, feral skags, and legendary bosses. Literally thousands, even millions, of guns are at your disposal, along with the specialties of each of the characters to choose from, ranging from a fatal bird of prey, a rage-filled knuckle barrage of fury, a supportive turret of aid and destruction, or even a stealthy, and mysterious power of seductiveness and death. Cooperative play also provides tons of fun with three other players, and with this masterpiece, you'll enjoy every bad*** moment of it. Expand
  83. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. Although fun on singleplayer, it's insanely fun on multiplayer. Playing this game with friends was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. Although the game had some bugs, that's to be expected because of the mass amount of things to do. Fun the first time around, but the replay value for me wasn't enjoyable. But the replay value isEasily one of the best games I've ever played. Although fun on singleplayer, it's insanely fun on multiplayer. Playing this game with friends was one of the best gaming experiences I ever had. Although the game had some bugs, that's to be expected because of the mass amount of things to do. Fun the first time around, but the replay value for me wasn't enjoyable. But the replay value is good, I just didn't like it. Definitely a buy. Expand
  84. May 27, 2011
    10
    This could quite easily be THE greatest game i have ever played. I used to be obsessed with videogames until the next-gen consoles came out, then everything that made games fun was thrown out the window and replaced by "impressive graphics". Frankly I don't care how my game looks, if it's entertaining and incredibly fun to play. Borderlands is all of that and more!

    In a time when
    This could quite easily be THE greatest game i have ever played. I used to be obsessed with videogames until the next-gen consoles came out, then everything that made games fun was thrown out the window and replaced by "impressive graphics". Frankly I don't care how my game looks, if it's entertaining and incredibly fun to play. Borderlands is all of that and more!

    In a time when videogames cost 50-60 dollars a piece, I have a EXTREMELY HIGH priority on a games replay value. there's no way in hell that i'm going to shell out 50 bucks for a game i'm only going to play once, there's yet to be a game introduced that i'd pay that much for a one time experience.

    Not only would Borderlands be worth 50+ dollars for a one time experience, it basically prides itself on the fact that the game is so good the creators implented a "playthrough counter" which was one of the first things i noticed and immediately thought....oh this is going to be good.

    I know this review is just one giant opinion on my impression of the game, but there's literally so much about it that makes it a phenomenal game that the 5000 character max on metacritic is simply not enough space to write about all of it.

    here's the kicker:

    I bought this game at GameStop about 3 weeks ago for.....13 **** yea
    Expand
  85. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This games have really nice graphics, millions of weapon all different with elemental power and an amazing game play.But it is a little bit repetitive and enemy are not intelligent.
  86. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    Borderlands so far has been an interesting RPG with many, many, fun guns. There are countless amount of guns, and each one are really fun to shoot. Definitely a game you should get.
  87. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This game is simply awesome and a must buy for video game lovers. Its fairly long(about 35hrs),extremely fun and addicting , some very awesome weapons,and cool graphics,also it has claptraps,which are incredibly epic
  88. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    A fantastic game, for real. I had more fun with this than the first. The two games are very similar but I feel this one just improves on every part of the old game to make it a bit better. The villain is fantastic, and you'll love to hate him, and the story is a million times better. But it also suffers from the same problem I had with the first; the story missions are always a few levelsA fantastic game, for real. I had more fun with this than the first. The two games are very similar but I feel this one just improves on every part of the old game to make it a bit better. The villain is fantastic, and you'll love to hate him, and the story is a million times better. But it also suffers from the same problem I had with the first; the story missions are always a few levels apart, which is fine, but I often found myself only doing side-quests to get to the next story mission, not because it was fun, so it failed to have enough awesome story in a short enough time to keep me engaged enough to finish it, they just kind of put the exciting things on hold until my level was high enough and if I hadn't been playing with a friend I doubt I would have even got as far as I did. Expand
  89. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Borderlands is a very unique RPG/FPS that I really enjoyed it and had alot of fun with it, I quite like the leveling system where you choose your skills as whatever character you are and the open environments where great to, but what i think they could of improved on is better customization of the characters and not just the color of there armor and hair, but still overall a great game andBorderlands is a very unique RPG/FPS that I really enjoyed it and had alot of fun with it, I quite like the leveling system where you choose your skills as whatever character you are and the open environments where great to, but what i think they could of improved on is better customization of the characters and not just the color of there armor and hair, but still overall a great game and must buy! Expand
  90. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    99% Perfectly made. A spot on game for any player of any genre. Outstanding gameplay, beautiful landscape, the creatures and bandits are very, very well thought through, and playable space is unbeilvably massive. A must have game for gamers who like Fallout or Call of duty. The choice of weapons can be detailed right down to your favorite color, and the skill building can be tweaked to99% Perfectly made. A spot on game for any player of any genre. Outstanding gameplay, beautiful landscape, the creatures and bandits are very, very well thought through, and playable space is unbeilvably massive. A must have game for gamers who like Fallout or Call of duty. The choice of weapons can be detailed right down to your favorite color, and the skill building can be tweaked to your standards. Even the mods are fun, not those kind where people try to screw up the game on purpose but the kind where its fun to play with them on. All around, one of the first games you should have for the Xbox 360 Expand
  91. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Shooters have reached a time where they are all the same, Borderlands breaks that formula and brings a free-roam solid action-RPG game. It's just surprising the amount of guns, skills, enemies, and more you will find in Borderlands. Despite of what people say, the graphics and art-style are just epic and the sound is great also. This game is clearly an amazing game, I really was doubtingShooters have reached a time where they are all the same, Borderlands breaks that formula and brings a free-roam solid action-RPG game. It's just surprising the amount of guns, skills, enemies, and more you will find in Borderlands. Despite of what people say, the graphics and art-style are just epic and the sound is great also. This game is clearly an amazing game, I really was doubting buying it but I completely fell in love, buy it now. Expand
  92. MW3
    Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Great game but needs more Achievements and i like how you get to level up and theres alot of dogs (or whatever they are ) so you can level up thats all i gotta say
  93. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    The best game in years, me mantuvo atrapado por meses, y mas por el componente cooperativo, sumarle a eso los DLC´s el juego se extiende muchisimo, me encanto por el sentido del humor de los personajes, la traduccion al español ,los graficos (cell shading)...
  94. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Really good game, the gunplay is just as solid as what you find in call of duty, the looting is extremly addicte and the fact that you can do this with 3 buddys in a superb co-op campaign is just amazing. i dont know why i dont give this game a 10. ill give this game a 9 but its not far from a 10, play it now
  95. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Borderlands is a fantastic ride through the cut-throat planet Pandora. Whether its blowing midgets faces of with a shotgun that launches rockets, or that awesome gitty feeling of opening a weapon chest, Borderlands always keep you battling for the next great loot. First off, I love the cell-shaded art style. It fits nicely. At times, it seems wasted on some of the more barren landscapes inBorderlands is a fantastic ride through the cut-throat planet Pandora. Whether its blowing midgets faces of with a shotgun that launches rockets, or that awesome gitty feeling of opening a weapon chest, Borderlands always keep you battling for the next great loot. First off, I love the cell-shaded art style. It fits nicely. At times, it seems wasted on some of the more barren landscapes in the beginning of the game, but later on it really shines in both landscape and character design. Second, the level based RPG style works great as well. The skill trees arent too involved, though its not a deal-breaker by any means, its something I hope is fixed in future installments. The only reason, as a fan, I dont want to give it a 10, is that the story is flimsy at best; no more than an excuse to shuffle you to new locations with new enemies and bosses. All of which can be accomplished by the numerous side-quests that, at times, outshine the main story. Tack on a cop-out ending, and the narrative suffers a bit. But honestly, you didnt come to Pandora for the story, you came for the carnage, and of course the bajillions of GUNS!! ------->additionally, I would highly recommend the DLC packs. They really develope the atmosphere of Borderlands, and as with a game that consistantly brushes the hilariously outrageous, it doesnt take itself too seriously. I cannot stress enough that you must play the Dr. Zed, Mad Moxxi, or Robo-lution DLC's Expand
  96. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing! i can continuously play this game over and over and not get tired of it. would give it a 11/10! Cant wait for the second one!
  97. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    When i bought this game i didnt even know what it was about or what it gonna turn out to be,to my suprise it turned out to be kick-ass. I like rpg's even though i dont play alot of them because i rarely find one that really speaks to me like the kingdom hearts francise etc. But i love this game too. You get all of the rpg aspects you'd expect. A big ass Open World. You level up fromWhen i bought this game i didnt even know what it was about or what it gonna turn out to be,to my suprise it turned out to be kick-ass. I like rpg's even though i dont play alot of them because i rarely find one that really speaks to me like the kingdom hearts francise etc. But i love this game too. You get all of the rpg aspects you'd expect. A big ass Open World. You level up from killing enemies and completing quests and challenges. Looting,and character progession. All of this mixed with Call of Duty/Doom/Halo/f*cking awesome combat. Its so addictive like i cant even explain it. You can easily squeeze about 30 hours of the game itself but now they have the GOTY edition that includes all of the DLC so if you pay like three extra bucks you get another 30 hours of play and this game is only like twenty buck now,and the second one released a few days ago so if you got a little money burning a whole in your pocket and you want a new game look no further,you'll love this game. Expand
  98. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    This game is just great, first person shooter meets rpg and works much better then I thought it would. And borderlands 2 is coming out and it will be better then ever. Borderlands 8.7/10
  99. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    Loot gathering fun at it's greatest. I have logged over 200 hours doing multiple characters both times through. The music, weapons, stylized graphics,and pacing make this game a 10. The very poor storyline and copious backtracking do bring this down for a 9, but it is still an absolute must play for the FPS or multiplayer lover.

    Also the final boss is way too easy when you figure it out.
  100. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    The game is a different spin on the post apocalyptic world schematic. owever, it manages to create it's own mythos and fully developed niche environment.
    It's an open world with 4 different classes to choose from. All with their own different skill sets and special abilities. Each character has 3 different skill sets to build upon (and can even mix and match) to suit the main playstyles.
    The game is a different spin on the post apocalyptic world schematic. owever, it manages to create it's own mythos and fully developed niche environment.
    It's an open world with 4 different classes to choose from. All with their own different skill sets and special abilities. Each character has 3 different skill sets to build upon (and can even mix and match) to suit the main playstyles. Very long game with well made expanded content that gives alot for the money as well. Lots of side quests and a well made main quest chain. Tons and tons and TONS of different weapons. Vehilce traveling is fun as hell too and the game is challenging for sure.
    The only slight drawback may be that the graphics have a unique style. They may not be for everyone.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 87
    In short, Borderlands is a top-quality shooter and grind-fest.
  2. A furiously successful RPG and FPS combination that doesn't fall short on either front. [Issue#52, p.86]
  3. When a game has such vicious combat, an intriguing skill system, and full co-op capability, a mediocre story can be overlooked. Borderlands is a necessity for any fan of the FPS and RPG genres, or just down-right looting fun.