Borderlands Xbox 360

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 718 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 718
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2012
    10
    I've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc isI've had this game for a long time now but never got around to review it so now I'm doing my review in 2012.Borderlands in simple words to describe it is AWESOME!!!the combat,rpg elements,graphics and multiplayer are Fantastic.I can not wait till borderlands 2 comes out in a few short months.either way if you like rpgs and shooters then you're gonna love this masterpiece.plus the dlc is amazing.get this game . Expand
  2. RyanS
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    This game is excellent and a blast to play co-op with friends. There is no other experience like it on any console and the gameplay will keep you riveted for hours on end. If you don't give this game a try you really are missing out on a unique experience and one of the best console games to date. I'm putting it in my Xbox all time top five games to play.
  3. MichaelW
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is not an RPG. It is comedy with a great plot watched through gun sights. While the game is big and pretty it's not interactive outside of interacting your bullets with badguys and shaping your character into a better bullet. This game is also not really for me. It is however for everyone. I don't need a lot of tutorials, I preferr more interaction with a game and I like This is not an RPG. It is comedy with a great plot watched through gun sights. While the game is big and pretty it's not interactive outside of interacting your bullets with badguys and shaping your character into a better bullet. This game is also not really for me. It is however for everyone. I don't need a lot of tutorials, I preferr more interaction with a game and I like complexity. However I realize not everyone deals with my level of obsession with gaming. Everyone however likes having fun, everyone prefers to play than to figure out how to play and people who play action games generally like action. this game is remarkably well designed to appeal to most people, it's fun, it's not hard to figure out how to do things and there's a lot of action. I continue to be astounded by how easy it is to turn on the 360, go into this game and reliably have fun playing it online or alone. Expand
  4. HagenM.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Phenomenal title. Extremely immersive, deep role playing elements, and fantastically addictive co-op. I have nothing but love for this game. However, I wish that the world was entirely open and not limited to zones, and that there was a house or a trunk to store items.
  5. ElliotI
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played this year. The only comparison to fallout is that they both take place in a wasteland type environment -- similarities stop there. This feels and plays like a shooter, with a few added skills. The shooter mechanics are fun and the coop is amazing. Fallout 3 always felt like a turn based rpg with a shooter skin over it. If you enjoyed This is one of the most fun games I've played this year. The only comparison to fallout is that they both take place in a wasteland type environment -- similarities stop there. This feels and plays like a shooter, with a few added skills. The shooter mechanics are fun and the coop is amazing. Fallout 3 always felt like a turn based rpg with a shooter skin over it. If you enjoyed Diablo 2 style looting and like shooters this is the game for you. Expand
  6. JackR
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game. I believe penny arcade said it best when they called the game a first person looter. It has many of the elements that made diablo 2 one of my all time favorite games, hunting for the next best weapon/shield. There are also multiple classes with unique features. This doesn't take away from the actual gameplay at all. The cel-shading is absolutely beautiful. There are Brilliant game. I believe penny arcade said it best when they called the game a first person looter. It has many of the elements that made diablo 2 one of my all time favorite games, hunting for the next best weapon/shield. There are also multiple classes with unique features. This doesn't take away from the actual gameplay at all. The cel-shading is absolutely beautiful. There are so many more little things i could rant about for days, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. My only real complaint would be that the skills don't really offer enough customization. even the hardest tier of skill to access doesn't change the gameplay very much. I hope to see that changed in borderlands 2, but for now, all I can say is buy this game. Expand
  7. AlexN
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Fantastic! I've played a lot of RPGs and a lot of FPSs and this one may not be the best of either, but its phenomenal fusion of the two. With tons of hilarious pop-culture references great online co-op thrown into the average gameplay as well as coveted weapon crates as rewards for exploration, Borderlands is the best gaming experience I've had this year. A great leveling system Fantastic! I've played a lot of RPGs and a lot of FPSs and this one may not be the best of either, but its phenomenal fusion of the two. With tons of hilarious pop-culture references great online co-op thrown into the average gameplay as well as coveted weapon crates as rewards for exploration, Borderlands is the best gaming experience I've had this year. A great leveling system makes the RPG aspect great combined with the FPS aspect makes a memorable fusion superior to that of Fallout 3. There are certain 'types' of quests repeated, but the experience never gets boring and keeps the player coming back for more and more. Expand
  8. AdamM.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    I really think the only people won't like it are people who take games and themselves too seriously. It's a fun and addicting game that never takes it's self too serious to keep anything fun out of it no matter how ridiculous it might be. Play it. You'll see what I mean.
  9. JimG.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Awesome multiplayer experience. Story is a lacking. But that doesn't seem to be the focal point. AI and boss battles are lacking as well. A few class skills seem to be broken at the moment, but its a multiplayer experience that should not be missed. This game is gorgeous and all about co-op fun. Please try it out.
  10. BernardR.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    This game delivers on everything it promises: millions of fantastic guns, tons of loot, lots of crazy bad guys, an interesting world filled with personality, skill trees, vehicles, and the best multiplayer experience I've had in a long time.
  11. AP
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is pretty much like playing a comic book version of Fallout with COD4 mask. Faster than FO3 and slower than COD4. It is fun to play solo and even better with a friend. I'm glad I picked it up.
  12. Lance
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    The game is everything it promised it would be. The multiplayer co-op is fabulous, the quests while simple keep you wanting more. If you're a hard core gamer, or love looting style games this is right up your alley. The game's ability to deliver simple, straight forward fun only increases the more players join together.
  13. JamesG
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    A real surprise. Graphics are brilliantly stylized. Guns are a joy to shoot, and constantly upgraded. Death animations are great.... legs and arms fly off as people explode. Reached level 11 as a soldier and am loving it so far. Have only played it single player, and I give it a solid 9. So expect my 9 to rise once ive sampled some co-op. Its got Fallout's wastelands, call of A real surprise. Graphics are brilliantly stylized. Guns are a joy to shoot, and constantly upgraded. Death animations are great.... legs and arms fly off as people explode. Reached level 11 as a soldier and am loving it so far. Have only played it single player, and I give it a solid 9. So expect my 9 to rise once ive sampled some co-op. Its got Fallout's wastelands, call of duty's shooting mechanics, and mass effects leveling and gun system. I really don't think you will be disappointed. Expand
  14. AndrewM.
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    the only problem I have with this game is that there isn't anyplace to store any items you want for the future, but don't want in you backpack. for example, after you complete a mission where you have to slay a skagzilla, u get a gun called the elephant gun that does 308 damage, has 98.5 accuracy, but only has a fire rate of .7, so I was forced to sell it to free up backpack the only problem I have with this game is that there isn't anyplace to store any items you want for the future, but don't want in you backpack. for example, after you complete a mission where you have to slay a skagzilla, u get a gun called the elephant gun that does 308 damage, has 98.5 accuracy, but only has a fire rate of .7, so I was forced to sell it to free up backpack space, when it could have proved very useful later on. Expand
  15. JesseC
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I've played just about every 360 game and this is one of the best. I just dont see how it only got a rating of 85.... The lowest "Critic" review was a 70/100 and their review sounds like they should have given it a 10/10.... "Borderline brilliant".. "Minor Flaw".... that doesnt sound like a 70/100!!! especially when the next highest score is a 79, that 70 brings it down alot. This I've played just about every 360 game and this is one of the best. I just dont see how it only got a rating of 85.... The lowest "Critic" review was a 70/100 and their review sounds like they should have given it a 10/10.... "Borderline brilliant".. "Minor Flaw".... that doesnt sound like a 70/100!!! especially when the next highest score is a 79, that 70 brings it down alot. This games overall rating should be at LEAST 90/100 so it can be up there with the other 90's like... Tom clancy's ghost recon advanced war fighter lol??? and portal? are you joking?... geometry wars? forza 2? this game is 10x better than those Expand
  16. Jason
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Great shooter gameplay, RPG elements, tons of loot all combined with online co-op make it one of the best co-op games ever made. The awesome art style is just a bonus.
  17. KevinC
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Awesome retro cartoon-style artwork, randomly generated weaponry and well-thought out characters makes this game a good purchase and hours of fun!
  18. Matthew
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    It's that old Shadowrun game on SNES meets Metroid Prime with elements of Myst. What's not to like? While not totally original in some aspects, the art style is interesting at first but totally a gimmick to get you to keep playing. I agree with most reviewers, though. The short-comings of the game are overshadowed by the intensely addictive qualities of this game. It is wholly It's that old Shadowrun game on SNES meets Metroid Prime with elements of Myst. What's not to like? While not totally original in some aspects, the art style is interesting at first but totally a gimmick to get you to keep playing. I agree with most reviewers, though. The short-comings of the game are overshadowed by the intensely addictive qualities of this game. It is wholly satisfying to shoot acid out of a submachine gun or to turn invisible and run up to a baddie only to karate chop him in the back of the head. There's so much to like about this game. Only the most anal retentive reviewer who doesn't like fun would rate this game below 8.5 / 10. Thumbs up all the way. Expand
  19. BimmyV
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    First off, Borderlands is the first game I've seen to actually achieve the look of a 3D comic book. Unlike other games that aim for that look, Borderlands was not touted as being "comic bookie", but it does it brilliantly. The hand-drawn textures and hatched shadows are absolutely genius, so huge props to Gearbox for that alone. Now, would I have liked a tad more character First off, Borderlands is the first game I've seen to actually achieve the look of a 3D comic book. Unlike other games that aim for that look, Borderlands was not touted as being "comic bookie", but it does it brilliantly. The hand-drawn textures and hatched shadows are absolutely genius, so huge props to Gearbox for that alone. Now, would I have liked a tad more character customization? Of course, but I'm just a sucker for that kinda dress-up crap anyway. Does it detract from the game experience? No, not really. But going online and seeing other people's wacky creations is always fun, so maybe in the sequel we could get some sliders and bigger color palettes. Ok, so the characters Gearbox provided are pretty awesome, and the movie-style intro for them is sweet, but still, I like to tweak my looks, it just makes me feel that much more invested in my character. However, the ability to alter your color scheme and name whenever you want is really nifty, even if the options are limited. As for the gameplay, anyone who's familiar with COD 4 will be right at home in Pandora, because Borderlands' controls are identical. Modern Warfare completely trumps even Halo as the greatest console FPS control scheme ever, and Gearbox wisely followed suit. And the "bazillions" of guns you'll be finding for the next umpteen hours are exquisitely satisfying to fire. The tactility of the firearms combined with the excellent enemy animations make for the most exhilarating and frantic level grinding you'll ever experience. I hesitate to even call leveling in this game a "grind", since the only grinding you'll be doing is your enemies into mooshy red chunks. Mmmm. I know lots of people are comparing Borderlands to Fallout 3, but really, this is an entirely different beast. Aside from the wasteland setting (which isn't even post-apocalyptic, by the way), the two games are almost nothing alike. Ok, and there's a Vault, too, so what? The absence of any real deep or compelling narrative in Borderlands really doesn't bother me at all. The hilarious characters and Bio Shock-esque tape recorder diaries are enough to keep me interested in Gearbox's universe. And though there is little environmental or character interaction, it only serves to give the game an even more simple and streamlined feel. After all, Borderlands is not about sifting through seas of useless odds and ends, or navigating dialogue trees, or choosing between being good or evil. It's about the loot. And in the wasteland that is Pandora, Loot > All. If you like Diablo, and you like first person shooters, you will love Borderlands, because that is basically what it is. Now go buy it. And tell all your friends to buy it, so you can play together. It is that much fun. Expand
  20. DanielC
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It is as fun as any other game i have ever played. True for the co-op you have to be the same level, but you can go back to the arid badlands or whatever to level up and just have fun. The number of weapons is extraordinary and some thought definitly went into them, rarely do i find two weapons that just have different damages or fire rates. "No weapon trading among This game is amazing. It is as fun as any other game i have ever played. True for the co-op you have to be the same level, but you can go back to the arid badlands or whatever to level up and just have fun. The number of weapons is extraordinary and some thought definitly went into them, rarely do i find two weapons that just have different damages or fire rates. "No weapon trading among players" whoopdy do, you can drop a weapon, it wont hurt your soul. The gameplay is so fluent and easy to learn. It makes shooting 20 bandits in a row fun and different than your last battle. I love how they just left out armor, it makes the focus more on your weapon where it needs to be. The saving system is absent, but that is part of the game, and respawning takes NO LOADING TIME. Yeah the story is lackluster and the npc's somewhat lifeless, but the point of the game is to be a shooter with rpg elements, not an rpg with shooter elements, get over it Expand
  21. DavidH
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best multiplayer games I've ever played. It's fun on so many levels, and does so many things well that it's a difficult game experience to describe. What matters is that the gameplay is rewarding, challenging and fun as hell.
  22. PerryC
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game is great. Anyone can pick it up and have fun, pro or newbie. The graphics are great, the animations are perfect, and the game play is smooth. I'd say it will be looked back on as revolutionary in retrospect. My only gripe is the inability to trade ammo and non-scaling menus, but those are pretty easily forgivable. Ammo is plentiful enough for it to not be a very big gripe, This game is great. Anyone can pick it up and have fun, pro or newbie. The graphics are great, the animations are perfect, and the game play is smooth. I'd say it will be looked back on as revolutionary in retrospect. My only gripe is the inability to trade ammo and non-scaling menus, but those are pretty easily forgivable. Ammo is plentiful enough for it to not be a very big gripe, and you can scroll the menus pretty easily. Go pick up a copy! Expand
  23. mandudebro
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This game is addictive. Easily a 50-70 hour fun fest. The more you level up the more awesome your skills and weapons are. I thought i was wasing my time the first 2 or 3 hours, but now i'm a level 27 ( 25 hours of gameplay later ) Soldier and my one shot one kills are entertaining. Millions of guns and there's loot galore. Fun co-op. I'd give it a 10 if DLC was free or at This game is addictive. Easily a 50-70 hour fun fest. The more you level up the more awesome your skills and weapons are. I thought i was wasing my time the first 2 or 3 hours, but now i'm a level 27 ( 25 hours of gameplay later ) Soldier and my one shot one kills are entertaining. Millions of guns and there's loot galore. Fun co-op. I'd give it a 10 if DLC was free or at least cheaper. Expand
  24. ClarkG.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. Beyond all the hype and such, it's a truly FUN game, especially with friends. And it takes a fair amount of time to finish, which you don't see a lot of these days. While it has it's flaws (and what game doesn't), it was a blast, and I would recommend everyone who reads this to buy this game, right now! PS /v/, enough with the HERP DERP I really enjoyed this game. Beyond all the hype and such, it's a truly FUN game, especially with friends. And it takes a fair amount of time to finish, which you don't see a lot of these days. While it has it's flaws (and what game doesn't), it was a blast, and I would recommend everyone who reads this to buy this game, right now! PS /v/, enough with the HERP DERP VIRAL MARKETING! It's getting old. Expand
  25. DustinW
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    I hesitated to purhase this title, but after playing, I am glad I did. In a market that is full of great, but very short, games - this one delivers where others fail. Some glitches prompted me to give it a 9, but after careful conideration I think this one deserves a 10. I greatly enjoyed Fallout 3, but wanted more of a "shooter" - I am glad I found this game.
  26. JonathonT.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing this is like fallout 3 with co-op. It is literally a dream type of game that gives adventurers the chance to be the ultimate gunslinging wasteland survivor. It doesn't take itself seriously graphically. Even so, the environments are welldone and open enough to give roaming and grinding a sense of relaxation; and to give battles a sense of epic brilliance when won.
  27. AD
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Like so many others have said, this game is just a blast to play. I also have to agree that it's a lot like the original Diablo as well, not only in the way the weapons drop with random bonuses, effects, etc, but with how the world itself works. The only thing that holds the game back to me is how lonely single player is. I went in expecting that team mates I didn't choose would Like so many others have said, this game is just a blast to play. I also have to agree that it's a lot like the original Diablo as well, not only in the way the weapons drop with random bonuses, effects, etc, but with how the world itself works. The only thing that holds the game back to me is how lonely single player is. I went in expecting that team mates I didn't choose would be controlled by AI ala Left 4 Dead, but it's only you out there. All of the character classes are capable of surviving on their own without a doubt, but with little NPC interaction, the whole place feels a bit desolate. In any case it's a refreshing break from games that take themselves way too seriously and the grim darkness of grimdark warfare that's everywhere these days. Expand
  28. TravisK
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    What an incredibly addicting game. It's a blast to play online, and I'll definitely play through it again. My only gripe, which really isn't a huge gripe, is that for a game so addicting, the experience is over really quickly. It feels like an MMO when you play online, and you kind of wish the experience was endless - but it isn't. I recommend for everyone who loves a What an incredibly addicting game. It's a blast to play online, and I'll definitely play through it again. My only gripe, which really isn't a huge gripe, is that for a game so addicting, the experience is over really quickly. It feels like an MMO when you play online, and you kind of wish the experience was endless - but it isn't. I recommend for everyone who loves a good RPG/Shooter or a good online Co-op experience! Expand
  29. ALL242
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is definitely one of the best online, co-op games you can buy. The art direction, role playing elements, tons of weapons, constant flow, and ability to play a role playing game online is phenomenal. This is a great game, and it's worth every penny.
  30. JJJ
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    I'm not sure what drugs the "professional" reviewers were on, but this thing rocks. As someone who HATES RPG's, I am actually having a blast at the grinding, AND the missions. The humor helps too - from death spasms to the creatures expressions, to your co-op buddy saying " I'm just too good at this" after a good kill. An "84" rating does not do this game justice.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 87
    In short, Borderlands is a top-quality shooter and grind-fest.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    90
    A furiously successful RPG and FPS combination that doesn't fall short on either front. [Issue#52, p.86]
  3. When a game has such vicious combat, an intriguing skill system, and full co-op capability, a mediocre story can be overlooked. Borderlands is a necessity for any fan of the FPS and RPG genres, or just down-right looting fun.