Borderlands Xbox 360

Borderlands Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 725 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the first title in an all-new sci-fi action franchise, Borderlands combines the best elements of Gearbox Software's first-person action titles with player customization and vehicular combat. Borderlands features a unique content generation system allowing for near-endless variety inAs the first title in an all-new sci-fi action franchise, Borderlands combines the best elements of Gearbox Software's first-person action titles with player customization and vehicular combat. Borderlands features a unique content generation system allowing for near-endless variety in missions, environments, enemies, weapons, item drops and character customization. Borderlands is a cooperative experience, allowing for multiple players to share the same game experience simultaneously online. Players can freely join or leave each other’s games at anytime, or choose to play in the full single-player mode. Borderlands features life-like character animations, impressive real-time physics, and customizable vehicles. More details to follow. [2K Games/Gearbox Software] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Borderlands is a excellent title, which is a must have for fans of both FPS and RPG games.
  2. 90
    This game has single-handedly stolen my soul since it arrived at my doorstep and I find myself needing to level up once a night, much like my wife and her World of Warcraft addiction.
  3. Overall, the game is worth the money for all those gamers who enjoy playing with a small group of friends or love looting. Still the game has various noticeable flaws which can have you caught in some pretty weird and awkward situations.
  4. Overlook-able faults aside, Gearbox has delivered one of meatiest, most wholly satisfying hybrids yet.
  5. Borderlands is a successful experiment, managing to introduce some fresh elements in the quite static FPS landscape. The gameplay mechanics and its original graphics make it fresh and entertaining, suitable both for FPS fans and the people who loves Diablo-style RPGs. If you're willing to play it cooperatively with (up to four) your friends, Borderlands will shine in its best shape.
  6. Much more than the sum of its parts, but unfortunately said parts are only an okay FPS and an okay RPG, both fairly no-frills and functional. It's a roast dinner without gravy followed by an apple pie without custard. Nothing's wrong, but you can't shake the nagging feeling that something's missing. Borderlands is a good time, but it should have been a great time.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    Alluringly lurid, but ultimately disposable. [Dec 2009, p.92]

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 172
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I have never put more hours into a game or have been more addicted to one (150+ hours). I have no idea why I found it so absurdly addicting. II have never put more hours into a game or have been more addicted to one (150+ hours). I have no idea why I found it so absurdly addicting. I hadn't even played co-op which is the game's crown jewel. The DLC for it was awesome and extended the life of the game by a large margin. My favorite game this gen and looking at the cover, I would have never thought.

    Also, I loved the ending. It was such a slap in the face. Definitely Borderland's style.
    Expand
  2. JorgeC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best multipler experiences I have ever had with my brother. Its addicting and fun.
  3. MordecaiHunter
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Borderlands retains the best elements of Fallout 3, leveling, skills, open RPG environment, and the first person shooter behavior and Borderlands retains the best elements of Fallout 3, leveling, skills, open RPG environment, and the first person shooter behavior and ridiculous weapons variety of Modern Warfare, all wrapped up in an orignal and creative style. The opportunities for developing a unique character based on the choices you make in the game are nearly infinite. I love this game, a must buy! Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Borderlands remains one of the few FPS to throw a massive variety of interesting enemies at you that all suit the world they live in. You'llBorderlands remains one of the few FPS to throw a massive variety of interesting enemies at you that all suit the world they live in. You'll be fighting large flying reptilian bats, burrowing insects, mutated wild dogs, a variety of crazy bandits, long legged war of the worlds style creatures, and mad mini robots to name just a few off the top of my head. You also get big awesome boss fights providing you with ample opportunity to use different tactics to overcome them either by yourself or with a party of friends. The world of Pandora is a sparsely populated wasteland but still has interesting geography features and you'll be visiting a variety of locations from junkyards, to military installations, to wide open sandscapes requiring buggy style vehicles with weapons to negotiate their girth. Borderlands deserves all the praise it gets for its unique and witty take on a post apocalyptic world with massive depth and an awesome level of RPG style character customisation not seen in usual FPS fare. Unique. Expand
  5. JamminJones
    Oct 31, 2009
    8
    I am now three hours into the co-op campaign and I am pleased so far. I may be the only one in this forum to think so but the cell shaded I am now three hours into the co-op campaign and I am pleased so far. I may be the only one in this forum to think so but the cell shaded graphics are an uninviting distraction and give the environment an elementary, comic book feel. I understand the makers wanted to differentiate themselves from Bethesda's Fallout 3 but there is no shame in borrowing the some of the strengths of other games. All in all, this game is shaping up to be a solid title but do not delve into it expecting a great RPG experience. It also helps a lot to play with trusted friends. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2017
    7
    It's pretty hard to retroactively review a game that already has a superior sequel. But, in all honesty, it doesn't hurt!

    When I first
    It's pretty hard to retroactively review a game that already has a superior sequel. But, in all honesty, it doesn't hurt!

    When I first played this, I fell in love with dusty western setting, first hearing Cage the Elephant's "No rest for the Wicked" and blasting away at enemies at a distance and in frantic close quarters.

    But Borderlands has its moments of boredom, like when you doing the damn fetch quests. Honestly, we can do without em' at this point. It's kind of like getting a doughnut at the shop. Some places just fill them up with jelly, custard or pudding; then there are the ones that AWFUL white sugar filling!!
    Seriously!!! WHO LIKES THAT SH*T!! But you know, you're going to eating around it! (Sorry, had to do that) THAT is what it feels like to do fetch quests.

    Ultimately, Borderlands is a great game that suffers it's points of boredom and truly lacks a good story. (FYI, there barely is one) I recommend you play with friends, as the experience can get boring for some.
    Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    An awful sad, boring to the teeth game. Even worst than the ridiculous first installment, this train wreck of a game is dull, predictable andAn awful sad, boring to the teeth game. Even worst than the ridiculous first installment, this train wreck of a game is dull, predictable and generic to the extreme. Same old same old mediocre FPS game disguised as a very bad written RPG. Avoid at all costs. Expand

See all 172 User Reviews