Braid Xbox 360

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 435 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 435

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Blake
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    The quality of the art, atmosphere, and music amazes me. The gameplay mechanics are always unique and never repetitive. This is a truly brilliant platformer that deserves much respect and attention.
  2. RyanB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    If $5 is the premium put on a game of this caliber, why do we allow developers like EA to charge us $60 for drivel like Wall-E the video game? There may always be a place for big blockbuster games like Madden, Bioshock, and GTA, but the future of gaming will be digital distribution. If Wall-E the game is force to compete side by side in a list with games like Braid which game would YOU chose?
  3. HuZ
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    It's really a impressive game.I like the godly method of narrating
  4. JasonE
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    The is probably the most intense game I've played in recent memory. Not from the excellent puzzles but from the story with its shocking and chilling conclusion. I cried... Nuff said
  5. JoshL
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    Braid is perhaps one of the best games that I have ever played in my life. From your first death with the 'x' sign glowing furiously at you to the mind-warping finale, the game just pulls you in. With completely unique puzzles (each one and each level has a different twist), a perplexing story, and a tremendous musical score, this game should NOT be missed. If you consider games Braid is perhaps one of the best games that I have ever played in my life. From your first death with the 'x' sign glowing furiously at you to the mind-warping finale, the game just pulls you in. With completely unique puzzles (each one and each level has a different twist), a perplexing story, and a tremendous musical score, this game should NOT be missed. If you consider games to be more than mindless time wasters, then you owe it to yourself play through Braid at least once. That's all it takes, and that's all it needs to take. I'm sure you can skip a few meals at McDonald's to raise the amount of money to buy this breathtaking game. Expand
  6. RandyD
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    If you love old Mario games and new puzzle games like Portal, this is going to be one of the best games you've ever played. Not to mention that it's beautiful and has gorgeous music. The story is also good, but it's not Shakespeare like some reviewers make it out to be. It's the first Xbox game I've unlocked all the achievements for, and it wasn't easy. To If you love old Mario games and new puzzle games like Portal, this is going to be one of the best games you've ever played. Not to mention that it's beautiful and has gorgeous music. The story is also good, but it's not Shakespeare like some reviewers make it out to be. It's the first Xbox game I've unlocked all the achievements for, and it wasn't easy. To accomplish this, I had to play through around 5-10 times, so I definitely got my money's worth. Best game for me in the past few years (even better than World of Goo). Expand
  7. CheeseyHPU
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    This game is a very special masterpiece. I loved it from the very moment I started playing it. The graphics are beautiful, the music fits totally into the atmosphere of the game. The game-idea itself is awesome. Every riddle you have to solve is unique and so cleverly done. There have been so many moments where I just though, "Ingenious!" Especially the star-hunting was very nice - even This game is a very special masterpiece. I loved it from the very moment I started playing it. The graphics are beautiful, the music fits totally into the atmosphere of the game. The game-idea itself is awesome. Every riddle you have to solve is unique and so cleverly done. There have been so many moments where I just though, "Ingenious!" Especially the star-hunting was very nice - even if I woulndt have found all stars on my own. This game is a very rare piece of art and for now, it's the best game I've ever played. Thank you for creating it! You did a fantastic job!! Expand
  8. JotaBe
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    Great aesthetics and incredible puzzles. Also is an innovation.
  9. StephenR.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    I love it! Simply brilliant! Its definitely a break from the mindless first person shooter games; this game actually makes you use your brain! The music fits perfectly, the art is creative and unique, and the deep yet subtle storyline leaves everything to the imagination. While I admit that there is very little replay value, its better to have a short game rather than a game that is 10 I love it! Simply brilliant! Its definitely a break from the mindless first person shooter games; this game actually makes you use your brain! The music fits perfectly, the art is creative and unique, and the deep yet subtle storyline leaves everything to the imagination. While I admit that there is very little replay value, its better to have a short game rather than a game that is 10 times as long, but recycling puzzles and techniques; it would just hurt the game. To those of you who haven't played this yet: don't look at a walkthrough! It will ruin the gameplay, and it will impair your impression on the game. I definitely can't wait for Johnathan Blow's next work! Expand
  10. W.S.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. Very well made. The visible effort put into the aesthetics in both the animate and inanimate aspects is amazing. the only thing that reminds you of the fact that it is a game and not just art is how fun it is to play. Not to mention the compelling story and overall smooth flow of the game. It twists the platformer genre like your average junior high bully twists a This game is incredible. Very well made. The visible effort put into the aesthetics in both the animate and inanimate aspects is amazing. the only thing that reminds you of the fact that it is a game and not just art is how fun it is to play. Not to mention the compelling story and overall smooth flow of the game. It twists the platformer genre like your average junior high bully twists a pair of nipples. Expand
  11. MikelF
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Beautifull game, amazing experience. Every gamer, casual or not, should at least try it and see how videogames can achive the highest cuotes of art.
  12. nicks
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    The best 5 hours i have ever spent on a game! please, people, do NOT read a walk-through for this game as you will not enjoy it and it won't justify the price tag. As for the story - i won't spoil it for you, but for those who don't get it, use your imagination and come to your own understanding of the story.
  13. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When I first downloaded Braid and started playing it, I was taken back to the NES days, and thought it was charming. Then the levels got more difficult, and the game truly presented itself. I still play this game sometimes, it's just so good and has awesome replay value. Just walk away from it for a month, then play it all over again.
  14. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Positive - Time-Splitting mechanics were unexplored at the time.
    The game is brilliant adn bueatiful.
    The characters are relatable.

    Gripes - Too expensive. (On XBLA, on STEAM it's only $6)
    Sometimes you play the same levels except with a different Time-Split mechanic.
  15. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    To review this game, I had to read other user reviews done on this site. And to be honest, I realized something: every person who gave this game a negative or even mixed review is just not getting the concept of the game or too simple to solve it's puzzles. But let me talk about the game itself. The graphics are real simple yet so beautiful. It really is a soothing game to look at. As forTo review this game, I had to read other user reviews done on this site. And to be honest, I realized something: every person who gave this game a negative or even mixed review is just not getting the concept of the game or too simple to solve it's puzzles. But let me talk about the game itself. The graphics are real simple yet so beautiful. It really is a soothing game to look at. As for the music, it makes me feel lost in the game. Famous developers now a days don't concentrate on music and forget that music is part of the whole experience (Not all though, Music in Skyrim is awesome). The music in Braid just makes me feel like I'm in a different plain all together. Honestly, even if the gameplay was crap I'd still give it a 9 just because of the music (sorry for the exaggeration). But, fortunately, the gameplay is anything BUT crap. I found some people referring to it as a Super Mario clone. That is just WRONG. Some other people say that the game lacks fun. Have fun playing Call Of Duty because this game is not for simpletons like you. I had immense fun playing this game and challenging my brain. And I will be honest. THIS GAME IS HARD. I found myself pounding my head and screaming at the screen at some points of the game where the puzzles get so crazy. But did that ever make me quit? Never. I didn't quit any Point and Click adventure in my life so I am not quiting this. The gameplay is mostly platforming and jumping on enemies. Then it introduces Time Manipulation in a brilliant way. And every world has a theme to it, like one world is all about rewinding time, the other is about stopping and forwarding...etc. The game is beautiful to say the least. As for the story, it feels more or less like a poem. It was MEANT to be misleading and hard to get. Although I still don't fully grasp the story, It still is an interesting one. But If I wanted to rate a story I would review a Point And Click adventure not Braid. Did Limbo have an amazing story? Exactly. I gave this game a 10 because it deserves it. And it is not over-rated at all. This game deserves the support of everyone and to rate it lower than a 9 is saying that you are a Call Of Duty fan. Which means: Don't rate our games you gamer wanna-bes. Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2015
    10
    This game is a wonderful and clever puzzle-solving platformer. If you're a fan of portal, buy this game, it's a treat. This game is proof positive that 2-D games do indeed have a place in modern gaming.
  17. BobD.
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    Excellent game play, wonderful graphics, and tricky puzzles best sum this game up. It has a story you never know exactly what it is, but leaves you to put it together how you see fit, expanding the puzzle genre further on such an ingenious note. It only fails at lack of replay, and what some might say an unfair price. Nevertheless, it is a must-play for anyone with an open mind, and then some.
  18. JuanC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    9
    Great game that is innovative and fun! Even if it is a little overpriced, its worth it.
  19. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    A nice pleasant game that offers something different. It is one of those games you can relax to...unless the puzzles make you start pulling your hair out. Well crafted, well made. At first some of the puzzles might seem impossible, but they can be done. The only downside is that its short in length, but I'm sure if people still play the Mario's from the SNES days today, people A nice pleasant game that offers something different. It is one of those games you can relax to...unless the puzzles make you start pulling your hair out. Well crafted, well made. At first some of the puzzles might seem impossible, but they can be done. The only downside is that its short in length, but I'm sure if people still play the Mario's from the SNES days today, people will come back to it again and again trying to get all the pieces of the jigsaw. SCORE : 90%. Expand
  20. DavidD
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing game. Well worth the $15 asking price. The story is great and the graphics are superb. The only thing bad about this game is that it ended too quickly. It reminded me of how Darwinia was an amazing game, but was also pretty short.
  21. JeffV
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Braid is an amazing puzzle platformer that delivers a great story and fun speed runs. Once the puzzles get easy the next puzzle is chaining them all together to get a fast time. Throw in mention of 'Stars' and you have a game that will take longer than everyone keeps saying it takes to complete it 100%.
  22. GabeD.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Perfect. Every puzzle is tweaked and refined to a T. Echochrome wishes it was was this good. Not to mention its rewarding. Figuring out the puzzles is the most rewarding experiences I've ever had in any game.
  23. Barry
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    Very frustrating but the feeling of solving a puzzle or an obstacle to obtain a piece is so rewarding. With patience comes satisfaction.
  24. MichaelB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Imagine if Super Mario Bros. had challenging puzzles, let you rewind time, and had the most mind-blowing artwork you've ever seen in a 2D side-scroller, and that's Braid. On a console flooded with beat-em-ups and shoot-em-ups, Braid is truly a breath of fresh air. In a word: brilliant.
  25. MarkG
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    I'm guessing Zev F didn't play too many games in the 'early to mid 80's' if he thinks their graphics were on a par with braid. This game isn't an issue of mere 'technical graphics' excellence though, save that for more vulgar titles that are forced to use such superfluous tactics to shock the player in to a state of fleeting appreciation. Braid is a I'm guessing Zev F didn't play too many games in the 'early to mid 80's' if he thinks their graphics were on a par with braid. This game isn't an issue of mere 'technical graphics' excellence though, save that for more vulgar titles that are forced to use such superfluous tactics to shock the player in to a state of fleeting appreciation. Braid is a work of art that does as much for the name of videogames as Ico did. Expand
  26. JasonM.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    To Zev: I can tell just by the way you write. You are a fps fanboy. I guarantee that 95% of your games are shooters, and please learn to spell. To JW: You only played the demo? Please play full games before reviewing them. To Mark L: You too need to play the full game before reviewing it. The only gripes I have about the game: 1. Although the story can be interpreted as masterful, there To Zev: I can tell just by the way you write. You are a fps fanboy. I guarantee that 95% of your games are shooters, and please learn to spell. To JW: You only played the demo? Please play full games before reviewing them. To Mark L: You too need to play the full game before reviewing it. The only gripes I have about the game: 1. Although the story can be interpreted as masterful, there is not enough details to portray the story this way to everyone. 2. The game is very short. I completed my first run through in about 6 hours. 3. Achievements were too easy to get. I enjoy having games that have challenging achievements. This was not the case as every achievement (except speed run) was completing a world. Other then that the game looks great, sounds awesome, and has innovative fun gameplay. Expand
  27. JonG.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game. One of the best in a long time.
  28. JamesB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Braid is a strange one, a magical and oddly compelling tale, of Love, time and a Princess told through the medium of Super Mario style platforming by way of Blinx style time manipulation.
  29. MorganP.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    I could rant forever on why this game is amazing, but honestly, this is all you need to know: You must play this game.
  30. ShawnL
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Braid is a very fun and innovative game that is only hampered by its extreme difficulty.
  31. EndymionU.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Beautiful music and backgrounds make this game fun to watch. The control of time is used justly throughout the game to progress gameplay difficulty. The game is able to keep your attention from start to end, even if you can't solve one of the puzzles by yourself. However, the storyline fails to pull together in a way that satisfy. Unlike some movies that share a common disjointed, Beautiful music and backgrounds make this game fun to watch. The control of time is used justly throughout the game to progress gameplay difficulty. The game is able to keep your attention from start to end, even if you can't solve one of the puzzles by yourself. However, the storyline fails to pull together in a way that satisfy. Unlike some movies that share a common disjointed, confused jumble of ideas, there is no point in the game when it all makes sense, even after one researches the possible interpretations of the game. To me, it fails to be truly poetic in the sense that at no point does it all make sense (see the history of Catholic dogma). However, still great. Expand
  32. HagenMcmenemy
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    This game is nothing short of a masterpiece. The puzzles will make you think extremely hard about how to solve them when the answer was so cleverly disguised, but they are so simple. Braid will make you think in new ways, and I dare say, make you a little brighter. The music is very pleasing to the ear and the graphics are just short of a musuem masterpiece. Braid innovates the entireThis game is nothing short of a masterpiece. The puzzles will make you think extremely hard about how to solve them when the answer was so cleverly disguised, but they are so simple. Braid will make you think in new ways, and I dare say, make you a little brighter. The music is very pleasing to the ear and the graphics are just short of a musuem masterpiece. Braid innovates the entire puzzle and platform gaming genre all within the confines of a 2-d game. also, for the people who nay say about the price, you can't put a price on innovation. Expand
  33. MartinH.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Quite the most unique game I've played in over 30 years of gaming. Beautiful to look at, haunting to listen to and rewarding to play, Braid delights on many levels but crucially never frustrates. A classic I'll return to for years to come.
  34. DeddyS.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Great game!
  35. WesleyS.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is simply superb, from the minute I started it up I could tell I was going to enjoy the game. First and foremost this game is unique, each puzzle is different from the last, and different from the next. The developer didn't recycle puzzles through the levels which is nice. The visuals on the game are wonderful as well, they have a rather whimsical look to them which ads to This game is simply superb, from the minute I started it up I could tell I was going to enjoy the game. First and foremost this game is unique, each puzzle is different from the last, and different from the next. The developer didn't recycle puzzles through the levels which is nice. The visuals on the game are wonderful as well, they have a rather whimsical look to them which ads to the somewhat fairy tale theme the game has going on. The music in the game is also wonderful as well, it is so good in fact it prompted me to purchase the songs from the game. (Go to the developers website, he has a link to where they can be purchased) To summarize; If you like unique platformer games with a good sense of style that takes a fair bit of brain power to solve, then you definitely want to purchase this game. I can honestly say that this is my favorite Xbox Live Arcade game so far. The only complaint I can find is that the game is to short. It took me about 3 hours to beat, which really isn't bad for an Xbox Live Arcade game. But when you have a game this good you want it to go on forever. So in short, buy this game. Now. Seriously stop reading this, get on your Xbox, and buy it. Expand
  36. KevinT.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Braid is a game that accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do without any superfluous material. Short and sweet.
  37. RobertS.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    By far indefinitely worth the extra $5- this game far exceeds most full priced 360 games. Absolutely beautiful!
  38. JasonW.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Well worth the price.
  39. MarkW.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    I don't give games a 10 and here I am giving this game a 10, I simply can't fault it. In this instance the smart people aren't the people that conquer the game but the people that made it...... pure genius........ pure class. Mark L and others don't be babies and vote for games that you don't have the courage to play. The demo shows you nothing.
  40. DanielR.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Fantastic: deep, simple, constantly changing rules, innovative and beautifully moving - what more could a game provide?
  41. PhilC
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Excellent game that provokes you to think in new ways, both in terms of logic and problem-solving, but also about relationships and memory. Incidentally, Microsoft's mini-review of the game posted here on Metacritic completely misses the point, as if it's the game's time mechanics that make it interesting. It's the implementation, and their relationship to the plot, Excellent game that provokes you to think in new ways, both in terms of logic and problem-solving, but also about relationships and memory. Incidentally, Microsoft's mini-review of the game posted here on Metacritic completely misses the point, as if it's the game's time mechanics that make it interesting. It's the implementation, and their relationship to the plot, that make it so exciting and intriguing to play through. Expand
  42. Hannah
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    This game was great; some of the puzzles were really hard and make you think. I'm hoping for a longer sequel, price be damned.
  43. PeteO.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    It's quite remarkable how unique this game is, best game i've played in a long time.
  44. EduardoB.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    Braid is an amazing achievement. Simply put, you won't see any other game like this for a long time. Please, support it by purchasing the full game on XBLA. It's game like this that make gaming good, fun, innovative, and a true art form. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
  45. JustinC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    The bittersweet ending left me going back for with nothing to find. The game is nearly traumatic and just enough challenge to keep it from over the top frustration. I love it.
  46. SteveC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This will destroy both your concept of time & your opinion of just what a platform game can be.
  47. MattS.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I haven't been intrigued by a game this much since Portal.
  48. RolandDeschain
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    What Ryan B. said.
  49. JohnnyR.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    An Unforgettable experience. Amazing what emotion a little unknown 2d platformer can generate.
  50. JS
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    Braid is one of the finest games I have played all year. Much like portal last year, braid is a game that can be completed by the average gamer in about 6 hours. The story in braid is intentionally vague to leave people talking about the games impressive climax for a long time. The puzzles in braid are a real challenge, and require some serious thought on the part of the player. To Braid is one of the finest games I have played all year. Much like portal last year, braid is a game that can be completed by the average gamer in about 6 hours. The story in braid is intentionally vague to leave people talking about the games impressive climax for a long time. The puzzles in braid are a real challenge, and require some serious thought on the part of the player. To describe any of the puzzles would be spoiling most of the fun of the game which is solving the devilishly clever puzzles. The presentation for the game is amazing as well. Beautifully rendered artwork, amazing sound design, and an extremely simple to navigate overworld. Even after you have collected all the puzzle pieces there is still more to complete. 8 stars are hidden throughout the games 6 worlds, and finding these stars without the aide of a guide would probably take forever. Finding all 8 stars nets you an alternate ending and a slightly tweaked opening screen. Also after you complete the game the first time a speedrun mode unlocks. Overall braid is easily one of the best games I have played all year, and much like portal last year, seemed to almost come out of nowhere for me. I can easily recommend this tittle to any one interested in videogames. Expand
  51. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    A great platformer with a cinematic, nostalgic atmosphere. One of the best games of 2008 without question.
  52. peters
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    The most satisfying puzzle game and most well written and storied game of the past 10 years. There is no game on any current generation console that can match the intricacies, plot, or innovation of Braid.
  53. michaelk
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    music is enchanting, game-play entertaining but also satisfying on a higher level. When you consider that this will cost you less than £12 you'd be a fool not to buy it.
  54. andrewW
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    This game is original and solid in all aspects. It makes you think outside the box. It separates the morons like adam drew from humans who don't have to be hand fed.
  55. MatthewCullen
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    There are only a few games that speak for the people playing the game. Braid is one of them.
    I would never think that I would say this about a platformer - but this game requires personal depth on behalf of the player.
    This game deserves a perfect score. It's a perfect game. It's beyond, far far far far far, FAR, beyond, a masterpiece.
  56. HagenM
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Braid... Braid... Braid... Never before have I been taken by such surprise by a game. I had never even heard of this game until the wonderfully fateful day I saw it on the marketplace. Braid is one of, if not the most beautifully crafted game of all time. Never before have we seen such backdrops, characters, and music blown into one nirvana. The story is ahead of almost all other games as Braid... Braid... Braid... Never before have I been taken by such surprise by a game. I had never even heard of this game until the wonderfully fateful day I saw it on the marketplace. Braid is one of, if not the most beautifully crafted game of all time. Never before have we seen such backdrops, characters, and music blown into one nirvana. The story is ahead of almost all other games as no other game that I can think of has left such a masterfully written story that has no definate meaning or answer. True talent comes from letting your audience interpeeret the ending. The puzzles are simple yet they will make you think in ways you probably haven't before. You'll always end up saying "Wow! How did I not see that!" and the end of the game is something you must experience. when everything comes together, Braid is one of the best games of all time and certainly the best game on the Xbox LIVE Arcade. Braid is worth fifteen dollars. Braid is worth sixty dollars. Braid is worth one-hundred dollars. You owe it to yourself to buy Braid. Play Braid and experience nirvana. Expand
  57. PaulW.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Simply. Amazing.
  58. Nick
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    An inspired narrative intertwined with unusual and innovative game design. Plus, it's the best looking game of all time. Perfection.
  59. TomF.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Better than Portal. Clever, engaging, innovative. It truly is art.
  60. MatthewM.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    It's time to show the big budget shooters that old school 2D platformers are why games are so popular today.
  61. JohnF.
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    Decent game that is worth supporting but gets frustrating later on. If you don't enjoy staring at puzzles for an hour and feeling stupid because you can't figure it out, only to figure it out and then start feeling stupid all over again on the next puzzle, you might want to stay away. Otherwise you will enjoy this game.
  62. CarloZ.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This is one of the answers to the old questions whether games can be pieces of art. (Spoiler: they can be.) Incredible game.
  63. JokerS.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Simply fantastic. Excellent spin on the classic platformer with the added twist of time-bending puzzles. Very cool to play through as it forces you to think in new and creative ways. The sparse and intriguing storyline add to it's mysterious and creative charm and to top it off, the use of the visuals and soundtrack are fantastic. Amidst all the discussion about "Is it really worth Simply fantastic. Excellent spin on the classic platformer with the added twist of time-bending puzzles. Very cool to play through as it forces you to think in new and creative ways. The sparse and intriguing storyline add to it's mysterious and creative charm and to top it off, the use of the visuals and soundtrack are fantastic. Amidst all the discussion about "Is it really worth 1200msp?", I dare you to try the demo and not only decide that it is, but also that Braid is easily one of the best and most important XBLA games to date. Expand
  64. MikeF.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    The best XBLA game I have ever played... one of the best most thoughtful endings ever in a video game.
  65. DrewM.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Wonderful game - terribly frustrating puzzles that are oh-so-rewarding when you figure them out.
  66. DylanH.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    I will never look at a game the same way I do after playing this. The puzzles are very clever and stunning. I have just beaten the game and i am amazed. A MUST own for all puzzle solving fans !
  67. SturgisG.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    This game is bloody brilliant.
  68. KevinR.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    This game is epic!
  69. hanenss.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome Game! Innovation, great level design. A must-have!
  70. JesseM.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing puzzle platformer game with just amazing graphics.
  71. TimT.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    For a medium like Gaming, Braid is a strange one. Perhaps the first of it's kind and the first game to be truly considered "Art" amongst nearly all that play it. All of these 10s must prove something to you. I've never seen user comments so decidedly one-sided. There are usually 9s in there, people who consider the game great, but not perfect. If there is such a game that For a medium like Gaming, Braid is a strange one. Perhaps the first of it's kind and the first game to be truly considered "Art" amongst nearly all that play it. All of these 10s must prove something to you. I've never seen user comments so decidedly one-sided. There are usually 9s in there, people who consider the game great, but not perfect. If there is such a game that deserves the "10" rating, it's Braid. It's difficult to stop thinking about it after you stop playing it, not in terms of strategy, but it terms of meaning. The story will leave you deep in thought and appreciation for the creators of this fine work, like true art should. Expand
  72. JodyS.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Beautiful graphics and mind blowing gameplay. After playing this game for a while it takes a bit for my brain to adjust to thinking in normal linear time again.
  73. EricH.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Hands down one of the better games in recent memory.
  74. TonyP
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    I've played a lot of games over XBLA and PSN and this is for sure my favorite game of all! Beautiful graphics in art presentation, a great and intriguing story and amazing time manipulation gameplay make this game easily worth $15!
  75. ZacP.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Absolutely wonderful. The score, the visuals, the story - it's well worth the play. It's one of the most beautiful games I've ever played.
  76. PaulB.
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    Probably the most grown up video game ever made; Braid settles the "games as art" dispute in a few hours of puzzling which take you on a journey through a stunning 2D audiovisual experience. However what makes this game so special is that all this is undercut with a heartbreaking yet inspiring story of that search for The Princess. Mario as a melancholy tale concerning the human Probably the most grown up video game ever made; Braid settles the "games as art" dispute in a few hours of puzzling which take you on a journey through a stunning 2D audiovisual experience. However what makes this game so special is that all this is undercut with a heartbreaking yet inspiring story of that search for The Princess. Mario as a melancholy tale concerning the human condition? Genius. Expand
  77. AndrewK.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    A beautiful and entertaining game that is well worth the 1200 points it asks for. The depth and subtleties of the storyline will keep me intrigued for years.
  78. DaveH
    Aug 29, 2008
    9
    Some of the puzzles seem down right impossible at first but have such clever and elegant solutions. They will leave you with a great sense of accomplishment when you finally do solve them. Also the ending level is a treat.
  79. Nico
    Aug 6, 2008
    9
    Amazing... imaginative. Starts out real slow, but once you learn the mechanics of the world it is so satisfying to play. Lining up levels, moving things, changing time just to have an enemy fall so you can get a puzzle piece... brilliant.
  80. GregS.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    This game is probably one of the best games I've ever played. I can't think of anything bad to say about it.
  81. BrianJ.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This is a phenomenal achievement for XBLA. The explanation for Braid's industry-wide praise can be summed up in one word: Finesse The gameplay is simple and undiluted. The appearance is truly gorgeous; It makes Nintendo's latest catalogue of classics look like an archive of fluff. The score is delightful, light, and unintrusive. Braid effortlessly provides the most clever and This is a phenomenal achievement for XBLA. The explanation for Braid's industry-wide praise can be summed up in one word: Finesse The gameplay is simple and undiluted. The appearance is truly gorgeous; It makes Nintendo's latest catalogue of classics look like an archive of fluff. The score is delightful, light, and unintrusive. Braid effortlessly provides the most clever and imaginative experience available on any platform, at any price. Like Portal, it is a pity it was over so quickly. Expand
  82. DemianH.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    From the moment the title screen appeared, it was clear that this was going to be a special moment in my gaming memories.Pricey, but worth every XBL point!
  83. CharlesS.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Braid is like a dream; it plays, looks and sounds like no other game you have played before. It's a unique and masterful piece of art worth of its price.
  84. GeoffK.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Braid is the "Super Mario" killer! This game will sell Xbox 360s and I predict that it will be the #1 top game of the year. Look out Wii fans -- this cutesy platformer will make your system obsolete. Can't wait to see what Sony will do to top this "Mario/Sonic/Ratchet" killer app!!!
  85. JeffS.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    Look I don't buy many arcade games especially over the 400 point tag. I realize this game is 15 and if you are smart the puzzles won't take you long but that is what this game is about the puzzles. I loved it and I will be working on the speed run now.
  86. SR.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    This is the best platformer/puzzler I have ever played - its storyline is deep, ambiguous, and modern, its game play is refreshing and polished, its visuals are beautiful, and its score is truly sublime. This game changed the way I look at games. I cannot stress how happy I am to see modernist/post-modernist style storyline in games. The game is made more intimate for each individual This is the best platformer/puzzler I have ever played - its storyline is deep, ambiguous, and modern, its game play is refreshing and polished, its visuals are beautiful, and its score is truly sublime. This game changed the way I look at games. I cannot stress how happy I am to see modernist/post-modernist style storyline in games. The game is made more intimate for each individual player, as no two people will gain the exact same meaning from it. The hype around this game is completely justified. Play it now. Expand
  87. CarlosB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    How this game uses the time manipulation not only for wonderful game mechanics but also for storytelling is something absolutely incredible. Hardly an end scene have make me feel this way ever.
  88. BenP.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Braid is one of the best games I have ever played, and certainly the best Arcade game out there right now. Buy it right now, even if you don't play it, because Jonathan Blow deserves it and the rest of the industry needs to take notice that this kind of stuff works.
  89. BenoitT.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    The future is bright for independent games and digitally distributed games. Borrowing from a legacy of legendary classics to make something totally new and groundbreaking. It establishes a much needed precedent for a medium victim of an identity crisis: it makes you think. Unlike you may think it is not the puzzles that will leave a lasting impression on you but the game's story The future is bright for independent games and digitally distributed games. Borrowing from a legacy of legendary classics to make something totally new and groundbreaking. It establishes a much needed precedent for a medium victim of an identity crisis: it makes you think. Unlike you may think it is not the puzzles that will leave a lasting impression on you but the game's story which may or may not be just about a man trying to save a princess. It is up to you to find out. Braid is an instant classic. Expand
  90. RichardS.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing in so many ways that it brings the medium of video games to another level.
  91. RobbieS.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    I love this game. As soon as anyone would walk into the house they would ask what I was playing. Within seconds they were into the game trying to figure out the puzzles the small painterly character was to get through. The art is so beautiful and the storyline thought provoking and subtle. You have got to play this game.
  92. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Bent my brain even more than Portal. Extremely polished and clever. The prose is kitchy on its own, but the ending sequence actually sells it, amazingly.
  93. EricS
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    The best game on XBLA, one of the best I've ever played, and all for 15 dollars. I can say without hyperbole that there isn't one aspect of this game that isn't superior.
  94. ss
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    As a up coming game developer, seeing Braid in action was amazing. brill design, art and clever puzzles and was brill from start to the end, the best and unquie game of the yr, i wish more game could be this thought provoking. This game is art and anyone that is the slightest interested im games must experience this game, u owe it to urself, if anyone says otherwise has soemthing wrong with them.
  95. JayC
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Haven't had this much fun on the xbox 360 (especially a game only on it, at least for a while) in a long time.
  96. PierceA
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Braid's mechanics are fun, and each one ties in to the story in a subtle way that helps to pull the narrative along while telling 2 stories at once. The time manipulation mechanics force you to think in new ways that haven't been explored in any other game I've played. While the main story is revealed through progression through the game, the second is revealed through Braid's mechanics are fun, and each one ties in to the story in a subtle way that helps to pull the narrative along while telling 2 stories at once. The time manipulation mechanics force you to think in new ways that haven't been explored in any other game I've played. While the main story is revealed through progression through the game, the second is revealed through subtle hints throughout the game. To fully understand & appreciate Braid, you'll have to collect the hidden Stars that lead you to the and alternate ending. This is what made the game a 10/10 for me. Though many people will find obtaining them tedious (and if you're like me, you may have even passed through the game once, without ever realizing that there were stars to be collected). The way that it brings the full story into scope, in addition to the challenge they offer in trying to find & get all 8 makes Braid something totally unlike any other game, and well worth my $15. Expand
  97. NickH
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Game of the decade! And to all those who say once you have completed it once thats it to the game...Try to actually understand the story (which is most of the game, not the puzzles) Iv'e completed it over 12 times now and i am still finding out new things about the game.
  98. RandyMoorhead
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    In a world of video game monsters such as Gears of War 2, Fallout 3, and Call of Duty, it's easy to overlook the arcade game, Braid. Yet, in my opinion, Braid trumps them all in terms of raw emotional power, graphical beauty, and simplicity of gameplay. Truly, Braid is a reminder of why I hold fast to the claim that video games ARE art. It's also the first time, ever, that aIn a world of video game monsters such as Gears of War 2, Fallout 3, and Call of Duty, it's easy to overlook the arcade game, Braid. Yet, in my opinion, Braid trumps them all in terms of raw emotional power, graphical beauty, and simplicity of gameplay. Truly, Braid is a reminder of why I hold fast to the claim that video games ARE art. It's also the first time, ever, that a video game has actually brought a tear to my eye. Expand
  99. Tjthegamer
    Dec 22, 2008
    8
    Braid certainly is fun, however certain puzzles will just aggravate you (*cough World 4 *cough). My real problem with the game is that you don't need to do any puzzles to get to the next world (other than the 2 boss fights). Braid's biggest strengh is the intensity of the puzzles (Some are extremly hard but leads to those "Eueka" moments) but for them to be an optional part of Braid certainly is fun, however certain puzzles will just aggravate you (*cough World 4 *cough). My real problem with the game is that you don't need to do any puzzles to get to the next world (other than the 2 boss fights). Braid's biggest strengh is the intensity of the puzzles (Some are extremly hard but leads to those "Eueka" moments) but for them to be an optional part of Braid is like saying "Halo 3, shooting enemies optional". The only other problem with Braid is the price. 1200 microsoft points is a little too much for such a short game (800 is a more resonable price). If you're looking for the god of all brain teasers, Braid is right up you're ally. Expand
  100. anonymous
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    A speck of gold in the sewer that is the video game industry.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 88
    Imaginative, innovative, and engrossing, Braid is a spectacular achievement. If only the experience lasted a little longer and there weren't as many puzzles with singular solutions.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    80
    You can't put a price on innovation. [Issue#34, p.116]
  3. 100
    Braid is beautiful, entertaining and inspiring. It stretches both intellect and emotion, and these elements dovetail beautifully rather than chaffing against each other. Still wondering if games can be art? Here's your answer.