Braid Xbox 360

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 436

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2015
    0
    Los superdotados intelectuales deberían meterse a científicos y arreglarnos la vida a todos, en lugar de ponerse a diseñar videojuegos y perpetrar mamonadas como esta. Es un juego seguramente IMPOSIBLE para la mayoría de los mortales. Algunos puzles son difíciles de hacer incluso mirando la solución en internet. Y para colmo es uno de los juegos indies más cortos. Algo no cuadra: o casiLos superdotados intelectuales deberían meterse a científicos y arreglarnos la vida a todos, en lugar de ponerse a diseñar videojuegos y perpetrar mamonadas como esta. Es un juego seguramente IMPOSIBLE para la mayoría de los mortales. Algunos puzles son difíciles de hacer incluso mirando la solución en internet. Y para colmo es uno de los juegos indies más cortos. Algo no cuadra: o casi todos los que hacen críticas de juegos en la prensa son inteligentísimos (ja) o había alguien muy interesado en vendernos la burra. Por mí, Jonathan Blowjo... puede meterse The Witness por donde le quepa. Y no, no soy un tonto amante del gatillo fácil ni un superdotado, pero por lo menos, me acabo sin problemas y sin guías juegos como Limbo o Shadow of the Colossus. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    Puzzles on a vertical difficulty slope and gimmicks that are not explained nor fleshed out in any detail make this game a pile of over-hyped, over-priced, over-flogged nonsense.
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    This game is nothing but a repetitive borefest with a time travelling gimmick. The level design is extremely generic, especially for a platformer. Plus, there is absolutely no replay value. You have to 100% the game just to get to the last "world", which is actually just a cutscene. I don't know why most people think that it is one of the greatest indy games of all time, when it isThis game is nothing but a repetitive borefest with a time travelling gimmick. The level design is extremely generic, especially for a platformer. Plus, there is absolutely no replay value. You have to 100% the game just to get to the last "world", which is actually just a cutscene. I don't know why most people think that it is one of the greatest indy games of all time, when it is actually one of the worst. Expand
  4. AdamDrew
    Nov 16, 2009
    3
    While Braid plays with interesting concepts, making time an unreliable force, it ultimately suffers from some rather nasty design flaws that shock me for having gone unmentioned in the major reviews. Braid does something no game should do. The game will introduce gameplay elements that are without precedent in the entire game up to that point and will not inform (or even hint to you) that While Braid plays with interesting concepts, making time an unreliable force, it ultimately suffers from some rather nasty design flaws that shock me for having gone unmentioned in the major reviews. Braid does something no game should do. The game will introduce gameplay elements that are without precedent in the entire game up to that point and will not inform (or even hint to you) that a new element is there. For example, there is a part where a certain object appears unreachable. It turns out the way to solve it is to use another object in the game as a platform to jump on. The problem is, you have never used this sort of object as a platform in the game thus far, you never do it again, and the game never tells you that you can, it doesn't even subtly hint. I had to go to FAQ to find out. Had I spent hours messing with the game I never would have figured it out. A game should never introduce a 1-off exception to a game's rule-set like this. It is not something the vast majority of people would ever figure out because it contradict their entire experience up to that point. I would liken it to Mario needing to jump on a spiked enemy in only 1 place in only 1 level in the entire game. The game designers breaking their own rules is not innovative, it is bad design. The game also introduces a new game mechanic every world, but never explains these mechanics. The player is often left unsure of how the rules work or are applied from world to world. All-in-all Braid is interesting but deeply flawed. The reviewers would have done well to look past the game's indie glow and look at it critically. Braid is often frustrating, not enjoyable, and disappointing. Expand
  5. DylanR.
    Nov 12, 2008
    4
    I really do not think Braid deserves much review wise, while it is a very pretty game visually, the game itself holds no replay value what so ever. If you have beaten Braid once, you have beaten it 1000 times. While you can go through the speed runs afterward, it really is not far off the beaten path of just playing the game normally, just more aggravating. I do not think braid deserves I really do not think Braid deserves much review wise, while it is a very pretty game visually, the game itself holds no replay value what so ever. If you have beaten Braid once, you have beaten it 1000 times. While you can go through the speed runs afterward, it really is not far off the beaten path of just playing the game normally, just more aggravating. I do not think braid deserves anything more than I gave it, and most certainly I do not think Braid should cost so much on the XBL arcade. There are very few games I would pay $15 Dollars to play through once. Expand
  6. MH.
    Sep 11, 2008
    2
    I don't get it. I could only play this game for 15 minutes before I determined it was a total boring waste of time. I wouldn't call it innovative.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Sep 2, 2008
    4
    What starts out as "New" or "innovative" quickly becomes stale and mundane. Toss in a too high price tag and a little too much hype and this one just doesn't pan out.
  8. RedI.
    Aug 24, 2008
    0
    I would have given it a 2 if it wasn't so over hyped... the music is great, but it is a really slow and boring game that recycles the Mario formula (I actually got mad when I got to the part where a dinosaur apeared from out of a castle and said "I'm sorry but the princess is in another castle"... I laughed, but as well I felt insulted) to the point it feels .
  9. ZevF.
    Aug 19, 2008
    4
    Evil, ambiguous (not in a good way) and depressing story. Early to mid 1980s gameplay and graphics. The music was good though, unless you are Chinese or German (no oompa loompa, caterwauling here, thank God). Levels are not lateral thinking masterpieces but, 'tweaky' repetitive grunt work. The reason it has got 10/10s across the board is unfoundered, just like gorje bush's Evil, ambiguous (not in a good way) and depressing story. Early to mid 1980s gameplay and graphics. The music was good though, unless you are Chinese or German (no oompa loompa, caterwauling here, thank God). Levels are not lateral thinking masterpieces but, 'tweaky' repetitive grunt work. The reason it has got 10/10s across the board is unfoundered, just like gorje bush's inception. Don't believe the hype and don't spend your hard earned money on it. BRAID IS COMPLETELY OVERRATED CRAP THAT YOU CAN HONESTLY DO WITHOUT. Expand
  10. MitchellM
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Despite the reviews, this game is a piece of trash. I'm sorry but there's nothing to do. It's utter bullshit...and overpriced.
  11. JW.
    Aug 11, 2008
    3
    Only played the demo. Did not hold my interest enough to spend $15.
  12. MarkL
    Aug 10, 2008
    4
    Sadly this game just hasn't shown me whatever is getting it 10s and 100s. I've only played the demo because that should really be showing me what I can come to expect from the game so there may be some secret I'm missing out on, however, what I played was something that felt like a Freeware game of the 90s. The graphics and sound didn't leap out at me, feeling very Sadly this game just hasn't shown me whatever is getting it 10s and 100s. I've only played the demo because that should really be showing me what I can come to expect from the game so there may be some secret I'm missing out on, however, what I played was something that felt like a Freeware game of the 90s. The graphics and sound didn't leap out at me, feeling very generic and used in 100 platformers before it. The gameplay, although refreshingly simple, was again, generic gameplay that had been done 100 times before and the time mechanics, perhaps they are used in a more creative way later on, was just another 'Rewind time to avoid death' mechanic used in 100 games before it. Obviously this is another niche game that you either get or don't get and sadly, although I was curious about it since it was hyped up as something special, it fell way short of my expectations and felt like another Mario Brothers clone with rewind time. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 88
    Imaginative, innovative, and engrossing, Braid is a spectacular achievement. If only the experience lasted a little longer and there weren't as many puzzles with singular solutions.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    80
    You can't put a price on innovation. [Issue#34, p.116]
  3. 100
    Braid is beautiful, entertaining and inspiring. It stretches both intellect and emotion, and these elements dovetail beautifully rather than chaffing against each other. Still wondering if games can be art? Here's your answer.