User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 439

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobD.
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    Excellent game play, wonderful graphics, and tricky puzzles best sum this game up. It has a story you never know exactly what it is, but leaves you to put it together how you see fit, expanding the puzzle genre further on such an ingenious note. It only fails at lack of replay, and what some might say an unfair price. Nevertheless, it is a must-play for anyone with an open mind, and then some.
  2. JuanC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    9
    Great game that is innovative and fun! Even if it is a little overpriced, its worth it.
  3. Blake
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    The quality of the art, atmosphere, and music amazes me. The gameplay mechanics are always unique and never repetitive. This is a truly brilliant platformer that deserves much respect and attention.
  4. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    A nice pleasant game that offers something different. It is one of those games you can relax to...unless the puzzles make you start pulling your hair out. Well crafted, well made. At first some of the puzzles might seem impossible, but they can be done. The only downside is that its short in length, but I'm sure if people still play the Mario's from the SNES days today, people A nice pleasant game that offers something different. It is one of those games you can relax to...unless the puzzles make you start pulling your hair out. Well crafted, well made. At first some of the puzzles might seem impossible, but they can be done. The only downside is that its short in length, but I'm sure if people still play the Mario's from the SNES days today, people will come back to it again and again trying to get all the pieces of the jigsaw. SCORE : 90%. Expand
  5. DavidD
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing game. Well worth the $15 asking price. The story is great and the graphics are superb. The only thing bad about this game is that it ended too quickly. It reminded me of how Darwinia was an amazing game, but was also pretty short.
  6. JeffV
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Braid is an amazing puzzle platformer that delivers a great story and fun speed runs. Once the puzzles get easy the next puzzle is chaining them all together to get a fast time. Throw in mention of 'Stars' and you have a game that will take longer than everyone keeps saying it takes to complete it 100%.
  7. GabeD.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Perfect. Every puzzle is tweaked and refined to a T. Echochrome wishes it was was this good. Not to mention its rewarding. Figuring out the puzzles is the most rewarding experiences I've ever had in any game.
  8. Barry
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    Very frustrating but the feeling of solving a puzzle or an obstacle to obtain a piece is so rewarding. With patience comes satisfaction.
  9. MarkL
    Aug 10, 2008
    4
    Sadly this game just hasn't shown me whatever is getting it 10s and 100s. I've only played the demo because that should really be showing me what I can come to expect from the game so there may be some secret I'm missing out on, however, what I played was something that felt like a Freeware game of the 90s. The graphics and sound didn't leap out at me, feeling very Sadly this game just hasn't shown me whatever is getting it 10s and 100s. I've only played the demo because that should really be showing me what I can come to expect from the game so there may be some secret I'm missing out on, however, what I played was something that felt like a Freeware game of the 90s. The graphics and sound didn't leap out at me, feeling very generic and used in 100 platformers before it. The gameplay, although refreshingly simple, was again, generic gameplay that had been done 100 times before and the time mechanics, perhaps they are used in a more creative way later on, was just another 'Rewind time to avoid death' mechanic used in 100 games before it. Obviously this is another niche game that you either get or don't get and sadly, although I was curious about it since it was hyped up as something special, it fell way short of my expectations and felt like another Mario Brothers clone with rewind time. Expand
  10. MichaelB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Imagine if Super Mario Bros. had challenging puzzles, let you rewind time, and had the most mind-blowing artwork you've ever seen in a 2D side-scroller, and that's Braid. On a console flooded with beat-em-ups and shoot-em-ups, Braid is truly a breath of fresh air. In a word: brilliant.
  11. MarkG
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    I'm guessing Zev F didn't play too many games in the 'early to mid 80's' if he thinks their graphics were on a par with braid. This game isn't an issue of mere 'technical graphics' excellence though, save that for more vulgar titles that are forced to use such superfluous tactics to shock the player in to a state of fleeting appreciation. Braid is a I'm guessing Zev F didn't play too many games in the 'early to mid 80's' if he thinks their graphics were on a par with braid. This game isn't an issue of mere 'technical graphics' excellence though, save that for more vulgar titles that are forced to use such superfluous tactics to shock the player in to a state of fleeting appreciation. Braid is a work of art that does as much for the name of videogames as Ico did. Expand
  12. JasonM.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    To Zev: I can tell just by the way you write. You are a fps fanboy. I guarantee that 95% of your games are shooters, and please learn to spell. To JW: You only played the demo? Please play full games before reviewing them. To Mark L: You too need to play the full game before reviewing it. The only gripes I have about the game: 1. Although the story can be interpreted as masterful, there To Zev: I can tell just by the way you write. You are a fps fanboy. I guarantee that 95% of your games are shooters, and please learn to spell. To JW: You only played the demo? Please play full games before reviewing them. To Mark L: You too need to play the full game before reviewing it. The only gripes I have about the game: 1. Although the story can be interpreted as masterful, there is not enough details to portray the story this way to everyone. 2. The game is very short. I completed my first run through in about 6 hours. 3. Achievements were too easy to get. I enjoy having games that have challenging achievements. This was not the case as every achievement (except speed run) was completing a world. Other then that the game looks great, sounds awesome, and has innovative fun gameplay. Expand
  13. JonG.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game. One of the best in a long time.
  14. JamesB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Braid is a strange one, a magical and oddly compelling tale, of Love, time and a Princess told through the medium of Super Mario style platforming by way of Blinx style time manipulation.
  15. MorganP.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    I could rant forever on why this game is amazing, but honestly, this is all you need to know: You must play this game.
  16. ShawnL
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Braid is a very fun and innovative game that is only hampered by its extreme difficulty.
  17. EndymionU.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Beautiful music and backgrounds make this game fun to watch. The control of time is used justly throughout the game to progress gameplay difficulty. The game is able to keep your attention from start to end, even if you can't solve one of the puzzles by yourself. However, the storyline fails to pull together in a way that satisfy. Unlike some movies that share a common disjointed, Beautiful music and backgrounds make this game fun to watch. The control of time is used justly throughout the game to progress gameplay difficulty. The game is able to keep your attention from start to end, even if you can't solve one of the puzzles by yourself. However, the storyline fails to pull together in a way that satisfy. Unlike some movies that share a common disjointed, confused jumble of ideas, there is no point in the game when it all makes sense, even after one researches the possible interpretations of the game. To me, it fails to be truly poetic in the sense that at no point does it all make sense (see the history of Catholic dogma). However, still great. Expand
  18. HagenMcmenemy
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    This game is nothing short of a masterpiece. The puzzles will make you think extremely hard about how to solve them when the answer was so cleverly disguised, but they are so simple. Braid will make you think in new ways, and I dare say, make you a little brighter. The music is very pleasing to the ear and the graphics are just short of a musuem masterpiece. Braid innovates the entireThis game is nothing short of a masterpiece. The puzzles will make you think extremely hard about how to solve them when the answer was so cleverly disguised, but they are so simple. Braid will make you think in new ways, and I dare say, make you a little brighter. The music is very pleasing to the ear and the graphics are just short of a musuem masterpiece. Braid innovates the entire puzzle and platform gaming genre all within the confines of a 2-d game. also, for the people who nay say about the price, you can't put a price on innovation. Expand
  19. MartinH.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Quite the most unique game I've played in over 30 years of gaming. Beautiful to look at, haunting to listen to and rewarding to play, Braid delights on many levels but crucially never frustrates. A classic I'll return to for years to come.
  20. DeddyS.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Great game!
  21. WesleyS.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is simply superb, from the minute I started it up I could tell I was going to enjoy the game. First and foremost this game is unique, each puzzle is different from the last, and different from the next. The developer didn't recycle puzzles through the levels which is nice. The visuals on the game are wonderful as well, they have a rather whimsical look to them which ads to This game is simply superb, from the minute I started it up I could tell I was going to enjoy the game. First and foremost this game is unique, each puzzle is different from the last, and different from the next. The developer didn't recycle puzzles through the levels which is nice. The visuals on the game are wonderful as well, they have a rather whimsical look to them which ads to the somewhat fairy tale theme the game has going on. The music in the game is also wonderful as well, it is so good in fact it prompted me to purchase the songs from the game. (Go to the developers website, he has a link to where they can be purchased) To summarize; If you like unique platformer games with a good sense of style that takes a fair bit of brain power to solve, then you definitely want to purchase this game. I can honestly say that this is my favorite Xbox Live Arcade game so far. The only complaint I can find is that the game is to short. It took me about 3 hours to beat, which really isn't bad for an Xbox Live Arcade game. But when you have a game this good you want it to go on forever. So in short, buy this game. Now. Seriously stop reading this, get on your Xbox, and buy it. Expand
  22. KevinT.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Braid is a game that accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do without any superfluous material. Short and sweet.
  23. RobertS.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    By far indefinitely worth the extra $5- this game far exceeds most full priced 360 games. Absolutely beautiful!
  24. JasonW.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Well worth the price.
  25. MarkW.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    I don't give games a 10 and here I am giving this game a 10, I simply can't fault it. In this instance the smart people aren't the people that conquer the game but the people that made it...... pure genius........ pure class. Mark L and others don't be babies and vote for games that you don't have the courage to play. The demo shows you nothing.
  26. DanielR.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Fantastic: deep, simple, constantly changing rules, innovative and beautifully moving - what more could a game provide?
  27. PhilC
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Excellent game that provokes you to think in new ways, both in terms of logic and problem-solving, but also about relationships and memory. Incidentally, Microsoft's mini-review of the game posted here on Metacritic completely misses the point, as if it's the game's time mechanics that make it interesting. It's the implementation, and their relationship to the plot, Excellent game that provokes you to think in new ways, both in terms of logic and problem-solving, but also about relationships and memory. Incidentally, Microsoft's mini-review of the game posted here on Metacritic completely misses the point, as if it's the game's time mechanics that make it interesting. It's the implementation, and their relationship to the plot, that make it so exciting and intriguing to play through. Expand
  28. ZevF.
    Aug 19, 2008
    4
    Evil, ambiguous (not in a good way) and depressing story. Early to mid 1980s gameplay and graphics. The music was good though, unless you are Chinese or German (no oompa loompa, caterwauling here, thank God). Levels are not lateral thinking masterpieces but, 'tweaky' repetitive grunt work. The reason it has got 10/10s across the board is unfoundered, just like gorje bush's Evil, ambiguous (not in a good way) and depressing story. Early to mid 1980s gameplay and graphics. The music was good though, unless you are Chinese or German (no oompa loompa, caterwauling here, thank God). Levels are not lateral thinking masterpieces but, 'tweaky' repetitive grunt work. The reason it has got 10/10s across the board is unfoundered, just like gorje bush's inception. Don't believe the hype and don't spend your hard earned money on it. BRAID IS COMPLETELY OVERRATED CRAP THAT YOU CAN HONESTLY DO WITHOUT. Expand
  29. Hannah
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    This game was great; some of the puzzles were really hard and make you think. I'm hoping for a longer sequel, price be damned.
  30. PeteO.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    It's quite remarkable how unique this game is, best game i've played in a long time.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 88
    Imaginative, innovative, and engrossing, Braid is a spectacular achievement. If only the experience lasted a little longer and there weren't as many puzzles with singular solutions.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    80
    You can't put a price on innovation. [Issue#34, p.116]
  3. 100
    Braid is beautiful, entertaining and inspiring. It stretches both intellect and emotion, and these elements dovetail beautifully rather than chaffing against each other. Still wondering if games can be art? Here's your answer.