User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 405

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Blake
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    The quality of the art, atmosphere, and music amazes me. The gameplay mechanics are always unique and never repetitive. This is a truly brilliant platformer that deserves much respect and attention.
  2. RyanB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    If $5 is the premium put on a game of this caliber, why do we allow developers like EA to charge us $60 for drivel like Wall-E the video game? There may always be a place for big blockbuster games like Madden, Bioshock, and GTA, but the future of gaming will be digital distribution. If Wall-E the game is force to compete side by side in a list with games like Braid which game would YOU chose?
  3. HuZ
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    It's really a impressive game.I like the godly method of narrating
  4. JasonE
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    The is probably the most intense game I've played in recent memory. Not from the excellent puzzles but from the story with its shocking and chilling conclusion. I cried... Nuff said
  5. JoshL
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    Braid is perhaps one of the best games that I have ever played in my life. From your first death with the 'x' sign glowing furiously at you to the mind-warping finale, the game just pulls you in. With completely unique puzzles (each one and each level has a different twist), a perplexing story, and a tremendous musical score, this game should NOT be missed. If you consider games Braid is perhaps one of the best games that I have ever played in my life. From your first death with the 'x' sign glowing furiously at you to the mind-warping finale, the game just pulls you in. With completely unique puzzles (each one and each level has a different twist), a perplexing story, and a tremendous musical score, this game should NOT be missed. If you consider games to be more than mindless time wasters, then you owe it to yourself play through Braid at least once. That's all it takes, and that's all it needs to take. I'm sure you can skip a few meals at McDonald's to raise the amount of money to buy this breathtaking game. Expand
  6. RandyD
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    If you love old Mario games and new puzzle games like Portal, this is going to be one of the best games you've ever played. Not to mention that it's beautiful and has gorgeous music. The story is also good, but it's not Shakespeare like some reviewers make it out to be. It's the first Xbox game I've unlocked all the achievements for, and it wasn't easy. To If you love old Mario games and new puzzle games like Portal, this is going to be one of the best games you've ever played. Not to mention that it's beautiful and has gorgeous music. The story is also good, but it's not Shakespeare like some reviewers make it out to be. It's the first Xbox game I've unlocked all the achievements for, and it wasn't easy. To accomplish this, I had to play through around 5-10 times, so I definitely got my money's worth. Best game for me in the past few years (even better than World of Goo). Expand
  7. CheeseyHPU
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    This game is a very special masterpiece. I loved it from the very moment I started playing it. The graphics are beautiful, the music fits totally into the atmosphere of the game. The game-idea itself is awesome. Every riddle you have to solve is unique and so cleverly done. There have been so many moments where I just though, "Ingenious!" Especially the star-hunting was very nice - even This game is a very special masterpiece. I loved it from the very moment I started playing it. The graphics are beautiful, the music fits totally into the atmosphere of the game. The game-idea itself is awesome. Every riddle you have to solve is unique and so cleverly done. There have been so many moments where I just though, "Ingenious!" Especially the star-hunting was very nice - even if I woulndt have found all stars on my own. This game is a very rare piece of art and for now, it's the best game I've ever played. Thank you for creating it! You did a fantastic job!! Expand
  8. JotaBe
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    Great aesthetics and incredible puzzles. Also is an innovation.
  9. StephenR.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    I love it! Simply brilliant! Its definitely a break from the mindless first person shooter games; this game actually makes you use your brain! The music fits perfectly, the art is creative and unique, and the deep yet subtle storyline leaves everything to the imagination. While I admit that there is very little replay value, its better to have a short game rather than a game that is 10 I love it! Simply brilliant! Its definitely a break from the mindless first person shooter games; this game actually makes you use your brain! The music fits perfectly, the art is creative and unique, and the deep yet subtle storyline leaves everything to the imagination. While I admit that there is very little replay value, its better to have a short game rather than a game that is 10 times as long, but recycling puzzles and techniques; it would just hurt the game. To those of you who haven't played this yet: don't look at a walkthrough! It will ruin the gameplay, and it will impair your impression on the game. I definitely can't wait for Johnathan Blow's next work! Expand
  10. W.S.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. Very well made. The visible effort put into the aesthetics in both the animate and inanimate aspects is amazing. the only thing that reminds you of the fact that it is a game and not just art is how fun it is to play. Not to mention the compelling story and overall smooth flow of the game. It twists the platformer genre like your average junior high bully twists a This game is incredible. Very well made. The visible effort put into the aesthetics in both the animate and inanimate aspects is amazing. the only thing that reminds you of the fact that it is a game and not just art is how fun it is to play. Not to mention the compelling story and overall smooth flow of the game. It twists the platformer genre like your average junior high bully twists a pair of nipples. Expand
  11. MikelF
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Beautifull game, amazing experience. Every gamer, casual or not, should at least try it and see how videogames can achive the highest cuotes of art.
  12. nicks
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    The best 5 hours i have ever spent on a game! please, people, do NOT read a walk-through for this game as you will not enjoy it and it won't justify the price tag. As for the story - i won't spoil it for you, but for those who don't get it, use your imagination and come to your own understanding of the story.
  13. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When I first downloaded Braid and started playing it, I was taken back to the NES days, and thought it was charming. Then the levels got more difficult, and the game truly presented itself. I still play this game sometimes, it's just so good and has awesome replay value. Just walk away from it for a month, then play it all over again.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Sep 2, 2008
    4
    What starts out as "New" or "innovative" quickly becomes stale and mundane. Toss in a too high price tag and a little too much hype and this one just doesn't pan out.
  15. ApocalypseBrown
    Sep 23, 2008
    5
    The term over-rated is what Braid falls into comfortably. Don't get me wrong, there is a deep and sensual feeling about it, but Mario Galaxy is more instantly playable and gratifying. And as for the in-game music, drowning cats spring to mind. The premise is smart, and I did like the rewind time aspect ala Prince of Persia, but it becomes too repetitive and frustrating very quickly. The term over-rated is what Braid falls into comfortably. Don't get me wrong, there is a deep and sensual feeling about it, but Mario Galaxy is more instantly playable and gratifying. And as for the in-game music, drowning cats spring to mind. The premise is smart, and I did like the rewind time aspect ala Prince of Persia, but it becomes too repetitive and frustrating very quickly. The last insult is 1200 points to buy it off marketplace, RIP OFF! 800 would just about been acceptable, but whoever set that price hopefully has been slapped repeatedly with a wet fish! Expand
  16. MarkL
    Aug 10, 2008
    4
    Sadly this game just hasn't shown me whatever is getting it 10s and 100s. I've only played the demo because that should really be showing me what I can come to expect from the game so there may be some secret I'm missing out on, however, what I played was something that felt like a Freeware game of the 90s. The graphics and sound didn't leap out at me, feeling very Sadly this game just hasn't shown me whatever is getting it 10s and 100s. I've only played the demo because that should really be showing me what I can come to expect from the game so there may be some secret I'm missing out on, however, what I played was something that felt like a Freeware game of the 90s. The graphics and sound didn't leap out at me, feeling very generic and used in 100 platformers before it. The gameplay, although refreshingly simple, was again, generic gameplay that had been done 100 times before and the time mechanics, perhaps they are used in a more creative way later on, was just another 'Rewind time to avoid death' mechanic used in 100 games before it. Obviously this is another niche game that you either get or don't get and sadly, although I was curious about it since it was hyped up as something special, it fell way short of my expectations and felt like another Mario Brothers clone with rewind time. Collapse
  17. ZevF.
    Aug 19, 2008
    4
    Evil, ambiguous (not in a good way) and depressing story. Early to mid 1980s gameplay and graphics. The music was good though, unless you are Chinese or German (no oompa loompa, caterwauling here, thank God). Levels are not lateral thinking masterpieces but, 'tweaky' repetitive grunt work. The reason it has got 10/10s across the board is unfoundered, just like gorje bush's Evil, ambiguous (not in a good way) and depressing story. Early to mid 1980s gameplay and graphics. The music was good though, unless you are Chinese or German (no oompa loompa, caterwauling here, thank God). Levels are not lateral thinking masterpieces but, 'tweaky' repetitive grunt work. The reason it has got 10/10s across the board is unfoundered, just like gorje bush's inception. Don't believe the hype and don't spend your hard earned money on it. BRAID IS COMPLETELY OVERRATED CRAP THAT YOU CAN HONESTLY DO WITHOUT. Expand
  18. PrimusM.a
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    While the actual gameplay held my interest for perhaps two hours, most of the gameplay is derivative and tedious. The narrative, on the other hand, is not particularly compelling despite obvious effort to make it unique and different. I don't buy into the "art" of the experience, since it was like reading teen angst poetry. You may enjoy it more than I did if you like puzzle While the actual gameplay held my interest for perhaps two hours, most of the gameplay is derivative and tedious. The narrative, on the other hand, is not particularly compelling despite obvious effort to make it unique and different. I don't buy into the "art" of the experience, since it was like reading teen angst poetry. You may enjoy it more than I did if you like puzzle platformers, which I don't care for. Expand
  19. DylanR.
    Nov 12, 2008
    4
    I really do not think Braid deserves much review wise, while it is a very pretty game visually, the game itself holds no replay value what so ever. If you have beaten Braid once, you have beaten it 1000 times. While you can go through the speed runs afterward, it really is not far off the beaten path of just playing the game normally, just more aggravating. I do not think braid deserves I really do not think Braid deserves much review wise, while it is a very pretty game visually, the game itself holds no replay value what so ever. If you have beaten Braid once, you have beaten it 1000 times. While you can go through the speed runs afterward, it really is not far off the beaten path of just playing the game normally, just more aggravating. I do not think braid deserves anything more than I gave it, and most certainly I do not think Braid should cost so much on the XBL arcade. There are very few games I would pay $15 Dollars to play through once. Expand
  20. RedI.
    Aug 24, 2008
    0
    I would have given it a 2 if it wasn't so over hyped... the music is great, but it is a really slow and boring game that recycles the Mario formula (I actually got mad when I got to the part where a dinosaur apeared from out of a castle and said "I'm sorry but the princess is in another castle"... I laughed, but as well I felt insulted) to the point it feels .
  21. JimB.
    Aug 6, 2008
    5
    Pretty good but ultimately kind of unfulfilling. I got to the end and will never look at it again.
  22. MH.
    Sep 11, 2008
    2
    I don't get it. I could only play this game for 15 minutes before I determined it was a total boring waste of time. I wouldn't call it innovative.
  23. JW.
    Aug 11, 2008
    3
    Only played the demo. Did not hold my interest enough to spend $15.
  24. MitchellM
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Despite the reviews, this game is a piece of trash. I'm sorry but there's nothing to do. It's utter bullshit...and overpriced.
  25. AdamDrew
    Nov 16, 2009
    3
    While Braid plays with interesting concepts, making time an unreliable force, it ultimately suffers from some rather nasty design flaws that shock me for having gone unmentioned in the major reviews. Braid does something no game should do. The game will introduce gameplay elements that are without precedent in the entire game up to that point and will not inform (or even hint to you) that While Braid plays with interesting concepts, making time an unreliable force, it ultimately suffers from some rather nasty design flaws that shock me for having gone unmentioned in the major reviews. Braid does something no game should do. The game will introduce gameplay elements that are without precedent in the entire game up to that point and will not inform (or even hint to you) that a new element is there. For example, there is a part where a certain object appears unreachable. It turns out the way to solve it is to use another object in the game as a platform to jump on. The problem is, you have never used this sort of object as a platform in the game thus far, you never do it again, and the game never tells you that you can, it doesn't even subtly hint. I had to go to FAQ to find out. Had I spent hours messing with the game I never would have figured it out. A game should never introduce a 1-off exception to a game's rule-set like this. It is not something the vast majority of people would ever figure out because it contradict their entire experience up to that point. I would liken it to Mario needing to jump on a spiked enemy in only 1 place in only 1 level in the entire game. The game designers breaking their own rules is not innovative, it is bad design. The game also introduces a new game mechanic every world, but never explains these mechanics. The player is often left unsure of how the rules work or are applied from world to world. All-in-all Braid is interesting but deeply flawed. The reviewers would have done well to look past the game's indie glow and look at it critically. Braid is often frustrating, not enjoyable, and disappointing. Expand
  26. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    Puzzles on a vertical difficulty slope and gimmicks that are not explained nor fleshed out in any detail make this game a pile of over-hyped, over-priced, over-flogged nonsense.
  27. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Positive - Time-Splitting mechanics were unexplored at the time.
    The game is brilliant adn bueatiful.
    The characters are relatable.

    Gripes - Too expensive. (On XBLA, on STEAM it's only $6)
    Sometimes you play the same levels except with a different Time-Split mechanic.
  28. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    This game is nothing but a repetitive borefest with a time travelling gimmick. The level design is extremely generic, especially for a platformer. Plus, there is absolutely no replay value. You have to 100% the game just to get to the last "world", which is actually just a cutscene. I don't know why most people think that it is one of the greatest indy games of all time, when it isThis game is nothing but a repetitive borefest with a time travelling gimmick. The level design is extremely generic, especially for a platformer. Plus, there is absolutely no replay value. You have to 100% the game just to get to the last "world", which is actually just a cutscene. I don't know why most people think that it is one of the greatest indy games of all time, when it is actually one of the worst. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    To review this game, I had to read other user reviews done on this site. And to be honest, I realized something: every person who gave this game a negative or even mixed review is just not getting the concept of the game or too simple to solve it's puzzles. But let me talk about the game itself. The graphics are real simple yet so beautiful. It really is a soothing game to look at. As forTo review this game, I had to read other user reviews done on this site. And to be honest, I realized something: every person who gave this game a negative or even mixed review is just not getting the concept of the game or too simple to solve it's puzzles. But let me talk about the game itself. The graphics are real simple yet so beautiful. It really is a soothing game to look at. As for the music, it makes me feel lost in the game. Famous developers now a days don't concentrate on music and forget that music is part of the whole experience (Not all though, Music in Skyrim is awesome). The music in Braid just makes me feel like I'm in a different plain all together. Honestly, even if the gameplay was crap I'd still give it a 9 just because of the music (sorry for the exaggeration). But, fortunately, the gameplay is anything BUT crap. I found some people referring to it as a Super Mario clone. That is just WRONG. Some other people say that the game lacks fun. Have fun playing Call Of Duty because this game is not for simpletons like you. I had immense fun playing this game and challenging my brain. And I will be honest. THIS GAME IS HARD. I found myself pounding my head and screaming at the screen at some points of the game where the puzzles get so crazy. But did that ever make me quit? Never. I didn't quit any Point and Click adventure in my life so I am not quiting this. The gameplay is mostly platforming and jumping on enemies. Then it introduces Time Manipulation in a brilliant way. And every world has a theme to it, like one world is all about rewinding time, the other is about stopping and forwarding...etc. The game is beautiful to say the least. As for the story, it feels more or less like a poem. It was MEANT to be misleading and hard to get. Although I still don't fully grasp the story, It still is an interesting one. But If I wanted to rate a story I would review a Point And Click adventure not Braid. Did Limbo have an amazing story? Exactly. I gave this game a 10 because it deserves it. And it is not over-rated at all. This game deserves the support of everyone and to rate it lower than a 9 is saying that you are a Call Of Duty fan. Which means: Don't rate our games you gamer wanna-bes. Expand
  30. Jan 15, 2015
    5
    Neither a good platform game nor a good puzzle game. Don't get me wrong it has its moments but compared to the rather large number of 10/10 reviews here, I genuinely wondered if I was playing the same game.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 88
    Imaginative, innovative, and engrossing, Braid is a spectacular achievement. If only the experience lasted a little longer and there weren't as many puzzles with singular solutions.
  2. You can't put a price on innovation. [Issue#34, p.116]
  3. 100
    Braid is beautiful, entertaining and inspiring. It stretches both intellect and emotion, and these elements dovetail beautifully rather than chaffing against each other. Still wondering if games can be art? Here's your answer.