Breach Xbox 360

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    50
    Breach isn't terrible, but I don't see anything here that hasn't already be done better by another game, resulting in an instant recipe for mediocrity.
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    60
    Overall, Breach had a lot promise but technical shortcomings ruin the experience.
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    74
    You fight for a bit, die, respawn somewhere on the back end of the map, and then spend a few minutes racing back across the map only to die again.Rinse, repeat, and eventually you'll earn enough experience points to purchase perks to upgrade your skills and status. Even for 800 points, there are better titles out there to spend your money on.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    60
    Breach is an average FPS, carboncopying tens of previously released games without adding nothing personal or new. FPS fans may want to give it a try.
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    73
    For the price it's not bad for being a multiplayer-only title, it's just that nothing about Breach is particularly noteworthy.
  6. Feb 7, 2011
    60
    If you are looking for a new multiplayer shooter to pass the time until a triple A release comes out and have the points to spare than Breach may be for you. For everyone else try the 30 minute trial first.
  7. Feb 2, 2011
    50
    There's nothing particularly interesting about what Breach has to offer, and while it's map design and play types are competent, the actual gameplay involved isn't that hot.
  8. Feb 2, 2011
    58
    Breach has some great moments, but it suffers from too many noticeable flaws.
  9. Feb 1, 2011
    70
    It doesn't make as much of an impact as Atomic expected, but if you're stuck on a budget and can't afford one of the more popular $60 games right now, this is a certainly adequate substitute for $15.
  10. Jan 31, 2011
    50
    Breach suffers from being bland. There is no visual style, it sounds dull, and without hardcore mode turned on the level design is uninspired and weapons lack impact.
  11. Jan 31, 2011
    60
    Breach delivers some excitement, but its generic online first-person shooter action and a number of performance issues prevent it from standing out from the crowd.
  12. Jan 31, 2011
    68
    Breach does it's best to climb a hill already filled with solid online FPS titles, and even without being the king of the mountain, Breach has its moments that can match up with some of the bests.
  13. Jan 31, 2011
    50
    A decent attempt at a free FPS, but bad net structure and bland levels and weaponry makes Breach easy to forget.
  14. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    There's a workmanlike shooter dug in behind the bugs and blandness, but why bother unearthing it, when you could be playing Shadow Complex or Costume Quest? Best avoided.
  15. Jan 28, 2011
    55
    It may be "just a $15 downloadable game", but there's no other way to say it: Breach is a mess. The game's foundations have something to build upon (and mostly to learn from), but those who've been waiting for the next best FPS on XBLA might have to stick with Battlefield 1943 or Monday Night Combat for a while.
  16. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    If you love multiplayer FPS, you'll surely find in Breach a lot of pros: frenetic gameplay, stunning physics and environmental interaction and, last but not least, a perfect skill system for the player. It will never be remembered as the most innovative FPS in Xbox Live, but it accomplishes its job well, and that's enough.
  17. Jan 27, 2011
    65
    An accomplishment for a downloadable title and absolutely worth a look, but don't be surprised if you find yourself pining for Nuketown or Arica Harbour before long.
  18. Jan 27, 2011
    60
    For the price it's not bad for being a multiplayer-only title, it's just that nothing about Breach is particularly noteworthy.
  19. Jan 27, 2011
    55
    Although Breach sounds like an incredibly exciting game on paper, its execution comes up short. The online-only content is very limited, and the action pales in comparison to pretty anything Infinity Ward has ever created. With so many superior alternatives, this kind of lackluster experience has no place in the modern market.
  20. Jan 27, 2011
    70
    This is a really good multiplayer game, with few but interesting maps, and a good number of different gameplay modes. But it is also a limited game, like a small Battlefield, and doesn't have much new features.
  21. Jan 26, 2011
    70
    As it stands, military enthusiasts or die-hard shooter fans looking to grind for a new set of unlockables may find something to like. Those willing to put in the time will find some very enjoyable weapons and gadgets waiting for them.
  22. Jan 26, 2011
    50
    Drop in a handful of bugs (including one proper braincooker, whereby the game refused to let my character pick up an explosive charge required to destroy an objective until I appeased it by flinging myself off a cliff), and you've got something I can't imagine someone choosing to play over any of this generation's excellent shooters. The bar's too high and it's still rising, way above Breach's reach.
  23. Jan 26, 2011
    60
    Sub par to moderately effective visuals and sound could wind up being a strong deterrent to players wanting to check out "Breach." Those who do and want a cooperative, tactical first person shooter, will find their efforts rewarded.
  24. Jan 26, 2011
    50
    If you feel you've conquered the multiplayer battlefields and adhered to the call of duty for the umpteenth time, then perhaps Breach may be of interest to you, in short, controlled bursts.
  25. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Mar 14, 2011
    70
    Looks generic, but plays fresh. [Apr 2011, p.109]
  26. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 3, 2011
    70
    Perfectly competent from a mechanical point of view, yet somewhat lacking in appeal over the long term. [Issue#69, p.101]
  27. Edge Magazine
    Feb 26, 2011
    50
    Not sensing the damage you're imparting and receiving makes skirmishes seem arbitrary (you'll rely on the HUD reporting your XP wins to know you've taken out enemies at long range), while explosions - in a game based on destruction - pack no punch. [Mar 2011, p.97]
  28. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    When the playability distractions are absent from Breach, though, it is a relatively good, albeit barebones, Call of Duty online military shooter substitute.
  29. Feb 18, 2011
    50
    Breach will test your patience, but gamers who need a respite from other shooters will find a reliably enjoyable experience.
  30. Feb 15, 2011
    50
    Breach simply doesn't match up to what is on offer in the videogame market today.
  31. 60
    A decent online shooter that mainly reuses ideas you've already seen elsewhere. The controls are spot on, and the enviromental destruction is impressive. However, it suffers greatly from lag problems, and host migration isn't handled very gracefully. It's very cheap, though, and gets enough things right that it's worth checking out. But you can skip it if you already have a stack of Battlefields and Calls of Duty on your shelf.
  32. Feb 9, 2011
    60
    Breach isn't a complete disaster. Despite many flaws and limits, many of them linked to the netcode, it reaches a narrow sufficiency thanks to a good character growth system and a gameplay that does not forget the standards of this genre.
  33. Feb 8, 2011
    60
    Bug and glitches completely spoil what could've been a decent shooter.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. May 6, 2011
    9
    First thoughts when I first started playing this game were "This is going to take a while to level up with all this lag and lack of players",First thoughts when I first started playing this game were "This is going to take a while to level up with all this lag and lack of players", but once you get into to the game and start unlocking perks and weapons, running around a map with a light machine gun shooting out the supports of a building and watching as the player below gets crushed becomes really amusing. Personally I enjoy this game more than Black Ops and Reach because there are less kids screaming at you for not doing it right or whatever it is they do, "because they're awesome" xD. Download the hour trial and give it a go. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    When I picked up this game i thought wow this is bad, however after i played for a few more hours found it to be enjoyable. There are plentyWhen I picked up this game i thought wow this is bad, however after i played for a few more hours found it to be enjoyable. There are plenty and unlocks in the game which makes processing through the game a lot more interesting and rewarding. But! the game does have some connection issues and also some bugs but overall for the price I thought the game was ok. Full Review »
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    2
    I was hoping for an arcade Battlefield 3 and well, I didn't get it.
    The visuals I will let slide due to the fact it's an arcade game and
    I was hoping for an arcade Battlefield 3 and well, I didn't get it.
    The visuals I will let slide due to the fact it's an arcade game and cannot compete with retail games but when they said it had destructible environments I was hoping for a bit more then I got. The guns 's do look pretty good but the shooting is a whole other story. Don't get me started on the bad matchmaking, the game needed a lot more development time and to be honest a better developer. The game could have been a good FPS but poor controls and the simple fact it brought nothing new to the table stop it from even leaving the starting line.
    Full Review »