Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. 45
    Gearheads might keep coming back for the toys and outfits, but everyone else will run like hell. [Aug 2011, p.77]
  2. May 23, 2011
    45
    Unforgivable mistakes leave Brink sitting alone in the corner crying, thinking about where it all went wrong.
  3. May 27, 2011
    40
    Brink is an unfinished online game that tries to play like every other modern First Person Shooter, but fails in almost every aspect. The maps (which are also used for the campaign) are terrible and the re-spawning system is ruining the flow. Texture pop-up, animation glitches and the worst bot A.I. will make you "log off" permanently from its online co-op action.
  4. May 18, 2011
    40
    On the brink of greatness, Brink employs objective-based matches to churn out a dull, frustrating time.
  5. May 10, 2011
    40
    The structure of the game is decent, but it's brought down by issues both large and small. The largest one is a simple lack of content. With eight maps, a lackluster arsenal, and a campaign mode that is, by default, populated with terrible AI-controlled bots, Brink just doesn't have enough going for it to justify a full-price purchase.
  6. May 10, 2011
    40
    Brink's artistically compelling soldiers can sail effortlessly over obstacles, landing acrobatic maneuvers never before seen in the genre with effortless poise -- unfortunately, just about everything else lands flat on its face.
  7. May 10, 2011
    25
    Brink is unfinished. And that doesn't mean it's full of technical problems. Well, it's got those too. But mostly, it's just an unpolished, poorly executed mess of ideas.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 196
  2. Negative: 57 out of 196
  1. May 10, 2011
    8
    I am giving Brink an 8.5 which I had to round so I figured I would round DOWN, to an 8 to be a little more realistic. First of all let me say, this is not your typical FPS game, if you try to play Brink like you play Halo/COD/Battlefield/Etc this game will punish you beyond words. I personally believe a lot of the negative reviews have to do with two things, #1 a supposed string of bad code(That I didn't notice in my copy that causes awful lag/slowdown/graphical distortion/etc.) and #2 You can not go into Brink with the FPS mindset of old.... If you listened to any of the developer videos they said over and over, they key to Brink is to MOVE, more than you SHOOT. I had to constantly remind myself of this as I was playing the challenges with a friend online (Which ran pretty flawlessly for us...) I found myself annoyed at first, then I found myself understanding this wasn't typical FPS fanfare, then adapting and enjoying the HELL out of this game. I believe people will have a hard time letting go of the comfort of traditional FPS, and that is fine with me, keep playing Halo/COD and the other dime a dozen FPS games out there, leave Brink to the people who appreciate something different. If you were interested in this game at ALL, ignore the reviews, go to the official site, watch the videos, give it a rent, or go out and buy it, but I promise you this is an experience of something that is slightly similar, but at the same time completely new, and it honestly has made the tired and worn out genre of FPS fun and exciting to me again, and for that I am grateful... Thank you Splash Damage! 360 GT-Waynetech B76 Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    9
    Brink is a solid mix of TF2 and Killzone and with it, it's something to enjoy. The game already has been patched on 360 which also voids some of the reviews, since many of the review complain about game problems that have been fixed. Story wise, their isn't much there and it's not something you will get focused on. But when we live in the COD generation where a lot of people jump right into multiplayer and skip the single player all together, you'll find little to complain about.

    The menu system is well designed and customizing your characters is a rewarding experience. Once you unlock a lot of different outfits you'll find yourself just sitting in the character room trying to make your own perfect unique guy. The computer AI isn't amazing, but it's not the worse out there. The main flaw is that since this game is based on objectives, it can be a pain to get the computer to do something. You might end up with a team of 5 medics when you just need an engineer to crack a safe. This can be frustrating as you might have to switch over and just do it yourself. The core of this game though is multiplayer and thats where it's the most fun. While I only managed to get online with a handful of people, it defiantly changes the game up a lot more . Each class also ends up with a more unique role during a multiplayer session too, in a nut shell this game is just dying for competitive gaming. Their are some downsides I have found to Brink. First off, the level cap is 20 which can be achieved very easily. So far I am about 8 hours in and I've just dinged 10. Maxing out a level in a couple of days can lead to a disappointment, this game definitely needs a higher cap. The other thing that might get some people is theirs only a handful of levels in the game. While each level is pretty fun and has different ways to approach objectives, their is a point where they could get tiresome. Luckily, with the introduction of the SMART system, the gameplay in Brink is so fast paced that you rarely feel like the game is repetitive or boring. Something is always happening and someone is always shooting. The last two things that bother me aren't too big but for some people could potentially be a turn off. When a match finishes, theirs no actual way to see how many kills/deaths you had in that match. Also, their is no option for subtitles in the game which is slightly annoying for those who want to turn down the AI voice volume as they do talk A LOT during rounds. Overall, I feel Brink is a new and fresh game in the FPS market and is definitely something worth trying for those that get bored of the typical FPS stereotype of COD and Battlefield. But I will say this, Brink is a love or hate game. You're going to play it with a big smile on your face the whole time or you're going to take it right back. Myself, I have been smiling the whole time and can't wait to get back into the Ark world.
    Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2011
    3
    I wanted this game to be good. Honestly, I did. I bought it today, thinking that it'd be an epic class-based shooter with polished graphics, Mirror's Edge movement, decent if not good networking, and fun, original missions. All you get is clunky, inconsistent cannon fodder that tries so hard to be playable. The AI is reminiscent of...well, just about every game with horrible AI ever made. Teammates that are supposed to be obligated to a certain task rarely ever perform said task (except, THANKFULLY, for Medics, cause you'll need those if you try anything but Normal mode). The objectives are rarely even made obvious as to what to do, and yet you somehow accomplish them anyways. Online networking is godawful, and it literally makes the game unplayable if you have even a halfway-bad connection to the host. Trust me when I say that I really wanted to enjoy this game. I played it for hours and begged it to be better than what i was seeing, but I simply couldn't accept it. I'm returning this game as soon as I can, and pray that a further attempt at anything like this is even decent. Sorry. Full Review »