User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 391 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 14, 2012
    2
    Brink is load of crap. The campaign is horrible as hell and the story sucks balls.The multiplayer is just so so i can't explan how bad it is.And the challenges are just so stupid. Campaign 3/10 Multiplayer 2/10 Challenges 2/10 Brink 2.5/10
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    4
    Brink is an "intresting" mix between awesome artstyle, bad design choices and countless technical issues. I liked the locations, background story, music, amount of various skills and character creation, but thats all about it. Lets get to the lacking aspects, which are plenty by the way. First of all, the whole reasons for the conflict seems to be forced, just for the sake of having two hostile factions fighting each other, that are reason for this game to exist. In reality they could get along very easily, but i dont want to put spoilers here so lets skip that. The leveling system is unfair, it would be ok if all it gave you was cosmetic stuff like new costumes (which it does), but it also makes your character have more abilities or stronger abilities, which gives you an advantage over players with lower level. There are f***loads of bugs, ranging from the harmless ones, like text errors or wrong messages (says you have to defend, when you really have to attack etc) to those annoying and gamebreaking, like game suddenly losing sound, crashing or you cannot see other players. The netcode is really terrible too. You will lagg even with a decent internet connection, even if you wont, the game will still run so clunky that you will feel as you did. With slow internet, forget about multiplayer, the game will be unplayable, stick to playing with bots. But dont worry, you wont loose much, because even in the multi you will meet more AI bots than real players. And the AI in this game stand for Artifical Idiocy. Its as if they was purposedly coded to be so dumb, so that you can easily tell its a bot, and not a person with a brain. Talking about stupid, lets talk about the whole S.M.A.R.T. thing, which is basically climbing and jumping over fences. Sure thats cool, because it gives you more movement freedom than most games, but you wont use it that often anyway, except to gett from spawn point to the battlefield. First of all, you almost cant do any of this stuff with heavy body (which is the most efficient in combat), second, you cant shoot when doing all those tricks, making you an easy target, and thrid, the maps are not really designed for this, as you mostly fight indoors, but even on streetfights you wont be able to climp on a building and jump over roofs (like in the trailer). Also the weapons in the game are really boring, all you have are machineguns with diffirent skin and slightly diffirent stats. There are also few otherweapon types but they seem to be significantly weaker than the machineguns, so everyone just uses machineguns (which i personally hate). Overall, Brink is a game that looks good and promising, but has so many flaws that i just can't give it anything close to a positive rating, even if i wanted to. Expand
  3. May 27, 2011
    0
    this game is a massive let down for me the minute I played it I was disappointed one of the worst games for me in 2011 and will get a place in my top 50 worst games of all time overall: LAME looked at it upon release looked and sounded lame then bought it yesterday and my gut feeling was right the game is a massive let down getting my money back asap
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    2
    Brink sounded great when it was about to be released a team based style fps with mirrors edge parkour type stuff sounded like a great and fun idea and whats really sad is they had a great idea for a game but when i started playing it first off your teammates AI and the enemy AI was HORRIBLE and the game was just boring my advise is to buy L.A noire or somthing this game is horrible stay away
  5. May 12, 2011
    3
    What a complete and under waste of money time and effort. Time and time again, we are treated to the hype and possibility of something worth the wait, and yet we are presented with this complete and utter rubbish.

    It not only doesnt move the genre forward, it allows for countless other companies to just roll out the same old crap time and time again. It is no wonder that COD and
    Battlefield rule the market when no one looks at the opporunity to create greatness, but rather just uses the wave of FPS fame to produce nothing new, unique, or adventurous.

    You have played it all before, many many many times there is nothing good about the game, and any reviews that are favourable need to splap themselves into reality and get out of the house.

    YOU HAVE GONE BLIND.
    Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers. Bottom line up front, this game was just poorly designed. Unless you have friends that can play it too, you're at the mercy of playing with incapable AI teammates that are more interested in capturing and re-capturing command posts versus actually completing the main objective. And I swear to crap that constantly hearing "THEY"VE CAPTURED OUR COMMAND POST" just because comparable with hearing nails on a chalk board. I made the mistake of buying this, where it will remain on my shelf after possibly playing only about 10 hours of it. This game is also the reason I joined, and will be using Metacritic from now on before I buy any more games!!! Collapse
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    First of all, whats wrong with people playing this game? I have almost 1 bad report from every top score I get playing on multiplayer ...
    The game is not bad at all, but it's not good as they wanted to sold us. Poor character creation and poor visuals on Xbox compared to PC. For the character classes the only one who really is worth is the engineer, the others are useless.
  8. May 30, 2011
    3
    I was waiting for this title for a long time, thank the good lord I didn't pre order it. When I put this game in for the first time I was impressed creating my character, the customizations, the story line, and then onto playing it....I was completely let down. Nothing about this game feels right, its slow and the physics are just not there. The graphics don't render very good or fast enough it doesn't really look all that great, but the actual game play was boring and crap. What a let down, this game looked like it had lots of potential until I actually got in there and started playing it, I can't even describe how I felt about it, I'm just happy I borrowed it from a friend and didn't buy it. I love shooters been playing them since 95' and if you a hardcore shooter fan like me, you most likely won't enjoy this garbage. I'll stick with my Battlefield. Expand
  9. Mar 16, 2014
    4
    This game had so much potential, but it was poorly executed. The textures are washed out, the gameplay is sub-par and the shooting isn't great. The A.I. is poor and the game-modes aren't intriguing enough to warrant more than one playthrough. If they end up making a sequel, I hope the ideas get executed properly.
  10. May 13, 2011
    2
    Brink is a great game until you try to play it... AI is terrible and makes offline mode little more then a good way to farm experience for your character and don't bother playing online until Bethesda/Splash Damage gets it's act together and fixes the lag. Its sad to see such a promising game crippled by terrible network support. So much potential but such terrible implementation. I regret buying this game in its current state. Expand
  11. May 14, 2011
    3
    Simply over-hyped and does not deliver the fun you'd expect. Laggy, hardware issues that make you doubt it has been tested and too focused on online modes.
  12. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    I awaited this game for a full year, since I first saw a glimpse of the game back in April of 2010. So, of course I pre-ordered the game and picked up my game at midnight. From the time I put the game in I played for a solid 6-8 hours straight. Despite the common lag and shoddy graphics. I waited for this game for a year, I wanted to enjoy it. Well, it turns out even after the patch to fix the lag and other issues, the game is still "unplayable" by my standards. Even if you get into a game with a decent connection, you are most likely playing verse a team of bots with only bots to aid you as well. THIS IS NOT A MULTIPLAYER GAME by any means. They had a great idea and somehow managed to f*%k it up big. So if I were to give them 5 stars at all, it would be for biggest failure of all time. By far the worst game I've ever played. Sadly I had to accept $10 for it from Gamestop. Thank you Bethesda for stealing my money. Expand
  13. May 15, 2011
    4
    At first it looks good, if you've seen the trailers, watched the E3 gameplay, it looks solid. It looks like a decent shooter, team based game modes look fun but working together to complete objective is necessary to finish the game. But also look i died again after my AI friend failed to protect me as i plant whatever this is on whatever that is. At the very least for the first three hours you'll find it fun and easy to complete missions and then you'll reach the final day of either the rebel faction or the security faction and the difficulty will grind up over noticably. I would have given this game an 8 or 9 if it weren't for the horrid graphics in gameplay and the retarded AI (no offence intended). I sat there watching a blur of a man trying to run through a wall when he had the something i needed planting somewhere sometime soon (3 mins to be exact) but no he couldnt move i stood there clearing out enemy after enemy as he didnt move and the timer did, so i turned off my console and i havent touched Brink since (its been about 2 days). I have no problems with the challenge system and i found it fun having to do it to unlock weaponry and not to metion how easy achievments were but the main problrms are the no lobby system and the awfull lag i had to endure even with the new virgin 50mb per sec it sucked basically and that people could join your game. Expand
  14. Oct 12, 2013
    4
    I thought that Brink would be awesome, and I would love the game, but I was wrong. It is all past now. This game is unfinished and nearly impossible, and I didn't finish, because of the game's roughness. It was difficult on some of the story missions, and the game-play was not too much to put a smile on my face. It was now all past, and was a waste of time spending money on this, and now putting shame on those who developed all these bad elements in this game. There was some great things in this game, but that didn't save Brink from falling apart. For those of you who wants to play Brink, follow my advice and look for another better shooter. Expand
  15. May 12, 2011
    4
    Simply put, this was a game that bragged it would bring back SP to FPS games, and that it would blur the line between MP and FPS. Unfortunately it was all hype! The game is unplayable in SP mode, as some tasks the AI bots should perform, simply are not done. The MP game works great with friends. The Problem is that Splash Damage, didn't really promote this as a MP game, they promoted the "Lengthy, In-Depth Single Player, and how it would Blur the lines!" Well if In-Depth SP is 4 hours long and Blurs the line because you go blind from mad frustration, then they accomplished their goals. Simply put, buy this game for its multi-player component, and stay away from its single-player component. Expand
  16. May 17, 2011
    3
    I, like many other's who have reviewed this game gave it an honest shot. Unfortunately all this game does right is initially impress us with the customized character menu - the character models look great. There is where the appeal stops for brink. My experience with the game was buggy, laggy, and helter skelter terms of what the heck was going on. Those who can forgive a game for shoddy AI, ridiculous map designs that crowds teams into hallways, can have fun enjoying this game while they can - the community will die very quickly.

    I wish people would not feel obligated to give a game an amazing score because they paid 60-70 bucks for it. This game is not good, and wouldn't even be good as an XBLA title.
    Expand
  17. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    This is a straight up multiplayer game, i'm wondering if they forgot the campaign mode or something. At first when i saw the trailer for this game I thought it was a xbox live arcade game like Monday night combat. It should have been. Its rental or a 5 dollar bin pick up if that.
  18. May 24, 2011
    4
    Clunky controls, over-hyped, boring storyline, stolen ideas, and the "S.M.A.R.T" system makes you look like a retard attempting parkour.

    Meh, another shooter trying to act special.
  19. May 18, 2011
    1
    Brink was one of the most anticipated games of the mid 2011 quarter. Trailers accented the SMART system of movement and "endless" customization. Unfortunately those are the only things this game has to show off.
    Brink takes place in (and around) the Ark. Completing a campaign level unlocks an audiodiary that can be listened to in order to learn backhistory about the Ark. On the note of the
    campaign... it hardly deserves the name. In fact, it doesn't. The "campaign" is nothing more than an offline multiplayer match with bad A.I. team mates and some of the most sophisticated A.I. for your enemies. For example, your team's medics seem to have earned there med-school degrees by watching episodes of E.R. and House. Your enemies medics appear to have not only attended John Hopkins Medical University, but seem to be trained by Navy S.E.A.L.S. as well.
    Enough about the retched excuse for an A.I... the graphics are very much like Borderlands Game of the Year . Which I, personally, loved! Their was some minor graphical glitches and some slowdown when extreme firefights happened, but nothing game breaking.
    Apparently sub-machine guns were one of the only guns developed in this Utopian society, because that's mostly what you're limited to as far as primary AND secondary weapons for a majority of your character's career.
    The "class based objectives" can be terribly difficult to complete at times. And sometimes nigh impossible if you're relying on a fellow team A.I. Alas, it seems that the only weapons and tactics training these guys got was from playing with little green army men as children.
    The online multiplayer is currently very lagged. But I expect this will be cleared up shortly.
    The SMART movement system is definitely stellar, but not "revolutionary" as I was lead to believe. As a parkourist myself, I can tell you that there is very little of that in this game. And only the Light Bodytype is capable of it.
    I would love to give this game three stars, but I cannot give a game a review on what it will or could have become, but only what it is. Overall, this game gets 1/5 stars. Avoid until a year or so later.
    Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2012
    0
    Although I appreciated the graphics and the slight innovation amongst other FPSes, this game feels like an alpha version in terms of gameplay, plot, and AI. Save your money on other games and not on this ****
  21. May 12, 2011
    0
    Garbage game. The graphics are blurry, slow loading and there are only 8 maps in total! If you are looking for a good team based game I would go with Team Fortress. Much better
  22. Jun 30, 2013
    1
    All I have to say is wow; Brink has had the honor of hitting the one of worst games I've ever played this year. It is incredibly frustrating (from a single-player point of view), in addition this game is just an incomplete mess as there are some graphic texture problems that are pretty noticeable as you go through the well designed maps. However, for all the things Brink gets right like the objective-based combat and very nice graphics and well done maps, the frustrating dumb AI ruins everything. So for me, there were times when I wanted to come back to Brink to play but was quickly deterred from playing by the horrible AI alone. So for this reason, Brink gets a 1. Expand
  23. Sep 14, 2011
    3
    After seeing the trailers and screenshots of Brink, it became one of my most anticipated games. When I played it, it quickly became my biggest gaming disappointment. Guns are so weak it feels like you're firing paper bullets. Friendly AI is atrocious yet enemy AI is ridiculously intelligent, making the single player a grind to beat, even on the easier modes. Gun attachments are unlocked through completing challenges, but thanks to horrible friendly AI these become extremely hard to achieve. However, the parkour/free-running elements work pretty well, and the action wheels work great too. But those two things are where any praise ends, and where a torrent of criticism begins. Keyword: Unfinished. Expand
  24. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Horrible game horrendously short campaign horrendous story you have to respawn ten-20 times a mission because of how quick you die just horrendous.....DO NOT BUY
  25. Jan 3, 2012
    3
    This game was a terrible disappointment all the way through. It had broken multiplayer, terrible in motion graphics, and no single player campaign even though the director of the game explicitly said in an interview that the reason it was being delayed was because they wanted to provide a deep single player experience. It had us all duped to the point that it was the number 2 seller the month it came out. It was so broken that one of the devs had to go on to youtube to try and tell users how to navigate around the fact that his multiplayer-focused game had no lobbies and no way to enter into a game with friends. This and Rage have contributed to my decision to not buy a Bethesda published game that does not have the name Fallout or Elder Scrolls in the title. Expand
  26. May 14, 2011
    3
    After playing Brink non-stop I'm starting to feel disappointed mostly on the terrible map design. The AI is like something of a joke and the overall feeling you get when playing a really good game isnâ
  27. May 10, 2011
    4
    WTF with textures in this game???
    Graphics are so lame.
    What's wrong wrong with explodes from grenades?
    it does not worth 50$ . Max 20$ in XBox LIVE.
  28. May 16, 2011
    4
    I was going to write a long involved review about Brink but read any of the sub 7/10 reviews here and they cover pretty much most of what I was going to write. Instead I'm going to point out my biggest annoyance with the game; the bot AI scales with you. Some will say "Great! It's a constant challenge!" whereas I will say that you can get to the point where you simply cannot win some of the maps. Imagine the following scenario, you play a map and completely own it, on the next map in the campaign the game will play as hard as you did on the first map but also that little bit harder. Add in problem number two with the AI which is that 99% of the time bots will complete secondary objectives over primary objectives and you're left on your own, in a team game, trying to complete primary objectives against bots that can pretty much kill you with two bullets from rediculous distances down one of the many narrow corridors that populate the maps. The game turns into a trial of teeth grinding frustration. The solution? Create a new character and play less "hard" early on. No thanks, you're getting traded in whilst I can still get some decent money back. Expand
  29. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    Being an FPS junkie Brink disappointed me. It had so many unique ideas but they poorly executed. What thing that Brink does get right is character customization. It's very extensive with plenty of options to choose from. Parkour gameplay mechanics are cool but none maps take advantage of it. The campaign can be played cooperatively online which a cool feature. There are a lot of technical issues in the game. Graphics look low-res and there is a lot of texture pop-in. Playing online is impossible due to LAG. The campaign is forgettable and theres practically no storytelling or character development. All you will get is a 10-20 second cutscene full of random people before each mission. And the game doesn't address who these people are. Missions lack variety and start feeling repetitive very quickly. I was bored after the second mission. Teammate A.I. is just terrible. They focus on anything besides the main objective. I had to do everything myself. This game is unfinished. If there is a sequel I hope Splash Damage solves these problems. This game had so much potential but couldn't live up to it. Expand
  30. Aug 11, 2013
    2
    Bethesda really surprised me by publishing this game. This game is the worst excuse of a game with the slow combat in team fortress mating with my all time favorite class shooter: battlefield. Some people say this game runs fairly well, but my experience was plain awful, campaign sucked a fatty and was repetitive to the point that I only finished as one faction. Multiplayer was a of random perks and terrible AI, I highly recommend you avoid this game. Expand
  31. Apr 3, 2014
    1
    You can really see the bias in video game reviews from actual "critics" here. This game doesn't deserve a 5/10. You won't even play that many hours. The game launched prematurely, and many core features (like online multiplayer) were so broken on launch that the entire community has abandoned it, and you will not find anyone to play with online. The matchmaking system was NOT well-thought out, forcing you to pick a mission, and then looking for people who are on the same mission is the reverse of what makes sense in online matchmaking. This is a 2011 game, but we still can't figure out how to let players pick an active server?

    Shame on Bethesda for releasing this game so early, and hyping it up with nothing short of lies.
    The gunplay is absurd. Sniper rifles are useless, because the level design is an absolutely bland jumble of hallways. Assault rifles take entire clips - or more to kill other players, and in a game with nothing but NPCs as teammates, achieving anything at all with the game's extremely limited AI is beyond difficult, and does not even approach fun.

    The story is mediocre, and has 0 depth or development. The voice acting is laughable, and would be hilarious if they had intended it as the cheesiest one-liners and goofy 'call to arms' type speeches.

    The game has a great movement system, as others have said, and that is it. Half finished, one-dimensional gameplay, poor level design, poor AI, irrelevant customization and an absent community make this game unfit even for bargain bins.

    Avoid at all costs.
    Expand
  32. cmd
    May 17, 2011
    3
    With it's totally unplayable online mode, even those populated with bots this makes it hard to justify the full price.

    If it would have been $15 and lag free it would have potential since it got some cool ideas but locking down kits for each objective was not fun in Quake Wars and its not fun now.
  33. May 14, 2011
    4
    Brink was supposed to be one the largest shooters of the year. It promised fluid fast-paced parkour, the most intelligent bots created, an extensive class system, an overly extensive customization system (combinations rank upwards into the millions), as well as great online play. Instead, it gave us a clunky parkour system that didn't want to work half the time (and most of the time all you did with it was hop over fences and slide under fences), the game was extremely slow-paced compared to the hype buildup by developers, bots are borderline retarded with teammate bots running aimlessly around maps and enemy bots just rushing objective points in endless waves, making it near impossible to get anything done, as well as an extremely poor debut for the online play with the worst lag I've seen since the times of dial-up. The only things this mess of a game actually got right were the classes and customization, and classes still fell a bit short simply because the game is so ridiculously unbalanced.

    Yes, you heard me. It's unbalanced. Why? Not because of classes, but because of the horrible map design. EVERY map consists of hallways. Nothing but hallways. In the middle of every hallway is an objective, in which both sides are consistently running towards. Now usually, this is the norm. Everyone is used to everyone running to the objective, it's the way it's meant to be played. The problem lies in the small hallways that make up the map. They leave no room for anything to be done, and when it takes an entire clip to kill a single enemy, you basically have a bunch of people just running around in circles spamming reload for forever because by the time one person is dead, another has came back, leaving objectives untouched and completely useless. Games like Call of Duty get objective-based game modes right because you can kill people faster than they can respawn. A good co-ordinated team can demolish another. This was supposed to be the plan with Brink, but instead it was just one giant stalemate.

    Single player is absolutely garbage as well, as bots just create even worse choke points with your teammate bots running aimlessly around, making some missions such as the Security #2 mission near impossible to complete.

    This game supposedly got patched, fixing lag and bots, but no-can-do, Splash Damage. You've already left me with a sour taste in my mouth, and nothing you do to try to fix this mess of a game will bring me back. If you can't ship a game relatively bug-free (or at least without bugs that aren't detrimental to gameplay such as online connection), then you don't deserve a consumers support. Especially when your entire ad campaign for the game is based around the part of the game that was so buggy it made it completely unplayable.

    I give this game 2 points for classes, 1 point for customization (simply because you can't choose what to unlock but things just randomly unlock without saying when they WILL unlock.. you need better organization, guys) and 1 point simply because I did like how the guns handled. If you are really looking towards buying this game, I suggest a rental first or at least wait for a price drop. You don't need to pay full retail price for something that feels like it was coded by complete amateurs.
    Expand
  34. May 10, 2011
    3
    I wanted this game to be good. Honestly, I did. I bought it today, thinking that it'd be an epic class-based shooter with polished graphics, Mirror's Edge movement, decent if not good networking, and fun, original missions. All you get is clunky, inconsistent cannon fodder that tries so hard to be playable. The AI is reminiscent of...well, just about every game with horrible AI ever made. Teammates that are supposed to be obligated to a certain task rarely ever perform said task (except, THANKFULLY, for Medics, cause you'll need those if you try anything but Normal mode). The objectives are rarely even made obvious as to what to do, and yet you somehow accomplish them anyways. Online networking is godawful, and it literally makes the game unplayable if you have even a halfway-bad connection to the host. Trust me when I say that I really wanted to enjoy this game. I played it for hours and begged it to be better than what i was seeing, but I simply couldn't accept it. I'm returning this game as soon as I can, and pray that a further attempt at anything like this is even decent. Sorry. Expand
  35. May 20, 2011
    4
    Overview. This game went back today. I won't be pre ordering a Bethesda product again. I will also from now on be ignoring any reviewer who rated this game over 6 nevermind a corrupt 9. I have no affiliations with the , I'm just an avid gamer whose been taken as a mug. Multiplayer 1. As my wife pointed out to me the graphics are poor and everything looks slighlty blurry. 2. The lag is unbelievable and so frustrating.
    3. Weapons are dull.
    4. Why did they even bother with single player.
    5. Pathetic
    Expand
  36. May 24, 2011
    1
    Come on brothers, lets do this! First thing I do as a XP addict is watch the tutorial that tells me to hold tab to see and choose objectives.
    I start the campaign and immediately I get all confused about wtf to do. I hold tab.....i see no objectives. i hold tab again. no objectives instead I see a nice scoreboard. WTF do i want a scoreboard for in SINGLEPLAYER???? i don't care about the
    bots stats!!!!! I do care about the new SMART system though. Good idea if your maps where up4 the challenge. And omg the goddamn medics running around throwing syringes everwhere geezeez I just emptied 2 full mags in his head and all it takes for him to ress is 2 secs? srsly I have now uninstalled and when this is done im returning this piece of donkey **** they chose to call a game :) have nice day- witcher2 plz dont suck this bad!!! plz Expand
  37. May 30, 2011
    0
    Please avoid this game at all cost. The marketing was great. The videos look awesome. Once you play the game you will wish you held out for some awesome arcade title. The whole point of this game was Multilayer. Everything was focused around it. There are no dedicated servers guys. This means if you try to connect to some random game ( No match making either) you will be plagued with a red connection and unable to play. If you want to play with friends you have to first create a match and then invite them. The only way this game works is if you have 15 friends in your current city with the same ISP thats not DSL bought the game also. Often you will go to join an online game and it will be FILLED with bots. No live people. I tried so hard. I wait a week and try again. Still the same garbage. I am trading it in for Hunted. I am scared i even bought that game now because they have the same developers. Bethesda you should have just stuck with Fallout. Bring me dedicated servers and match making and I will pick it up. I would be a great game with these two small thats that belong in a game that you market for online multilayer . Expand
  38. May 26, 2012
    2
    I pre ordered Brink after seeing numerous gameplay footage and developer videos, I believed that Brink would be a fresh take on the FPS genre, but sadly that all changed when it was released.

    I'll start with the campaign, without going into much detail there are two warring factions on a floating city called "The Ark" one side fights for freedom, the other, order. Players are free to
    choose which faction and switch campaigns at their leisure. Sadly the campaign itself is boring and repetitive and does nothing to draw a player into it's world

    The gameplay is also boring, the SMART system, which allows players to cross all types of terrain does not work as well as it should and truth be told, it is not really needed in a FPS.
    The multiplayer, is the exact same as the campaign, about 5 missions but with other human players unfortunatley the multi player features dreadful that often makes the game unplayable and extremely frustrating.

    One of the best features about Brink is the weapon & character customisation, it allows players to truly make their character their own through 6 attachment types (under-barrels etc.) for weapons and different clothing styles. One major problem with this is that there is no option to have a female character and there is not one single female character in the whole game!

    During my time with Brink I found it very frustrating to play as I constantly was killed and none of the AI characters would revive me, on that subject the AI is awful, I think that Timesplitters FP on the original Xbox had better AI. Because of the AI the game was very difficult to play, trying to complete objectives by yourself that should require several more characters.

    To put it bluntly the graphics are very very poor, I have seen better graphics on the original xbox.

    Overall as you may have guessed I do not like Brink it's a mess and something that no one should have the dis-pleasure of playing.
    Expand
  39. May 20, 2011
    0
    You have no idea how much I wanted this game to be good. Unfortunately, it's not. I implore you to do yourself a favour stay away from this mess. Everything in this this game is broken - from the disappointment of the visuals to the shooting/running mechanics. The concept may have sounded neat on paper, but the final result is not a good game. It's short, it's shallow, it's not fun, it's full of unnerving glitches. And the stupidity of the AI - oh, don't even get me started. Bottom line - save your money. Expand
  40. May 10, 2011
    0
    Greatest disappointment of the year. I will not bias this review by stating how bad its graphics are; graphics do not make a game, even if they do look this bad. The game, in itself, is not that great. It's done poorly in both critic and user reviews for a reason; it's generic, boring, and took a great jump in the air but didn't land it. The game had a great hype built up for it, but it appears as if Brink had not survived it's initial fanbase. It lacked in everything it promised. It will, without a doubt, die out in about a month. Do not purchase this game unless you plan on playing singleplayer for 45 minutes then never playing a game. The download and loading overall will take longer than how many hours you will not rack up playing this game, so you're only wasting both your time and money. Expand
  41. May 10, 2011
    2
    Que vous comptiez jouer à ce jeu en multi ou en solo, il faut savoir que BRINK ne tient absolument pas ses promesses. Graphiquement (sur 360), le jeu est immonde, le screen présent dans le test concernant le retard d'affichage des textures est représentatif de ce que vous serez amené à supporter tout au long de vos parties (c'est bien la première fois que je vois un jeu aussi mal optimisé, c'est du grand n'importe quoi). Même en étant installé sur le DD, le jeu reste laid, achetez le donc sur PC, si vraiment vous voulez vous y mettre. Le gameplay, déjà pas bien brillant, est complètement plombé par l'ia ennemie, pitoyable (aucune réaction, les bots sont tous plus débiles les uns des autres), lors de ma première partie, j'ai du enchainer une vingtaine de frags sans mourir une seule fois, navrant... Si l'on rajoute à ça des maps trop restreintes, pas forcément bien construites, un manque flagrant de contenu ou un teamplay inutile, on obtient là une énorme déception. Expand
  42. May 11, 2011
    1
    What a terrible game. It looks and feels old. Seems like they just took bits from other games to make Brink. CoD:MW + TF2 = Brink. The multiplayer experience is useless and dumb.
  43. May 10, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brink is a horrible team based game for the PC. The game uses the same type of player hosted servers found on consoles. All other players will be confounded by horrible lag. Players are not allowed to pick a server and is only allowed a basic search by game types. SMART system will work best for the host player and the controls are designed best for game-pad controllers such as the 360 controller. The story is non-existent. It exists largely in disembodied voice-overs during a loading screen. The cut-scenes does not impart story but a misguided attempt to rally the player to fight. The story mode is can only possibly be done in multi-player. Single player is horrible waste of time against superhuman bots. The only pro is that the art is beautiful. The music is interesting but not memorable. Gameplay bugs
    .... every class is given a power called a buff. These buffs can either revive players, drop turrets, give ammo, give health, camo the player, etc. The buffs can only be activated by pressing and holding a particular button suited only for that role. It is extremely difficult to deploy buffs properly in a fire fight. .... bots... if the game does not have enough players, the game drops in extremely accurate bots. These bots will be accurate at ranges that the player will not have access to for a particular weapon. ...lag... the lag will ultimately be the reason why the players will not increase the difficulty in certain game type modes. Only by increasing the difficulty after beating the prior one will the player receive rewards by weapons and buffs. You can not pick a server with a low ping to guarantee that you will drop out of the game therefore you will play many matches of the same difficulty hoping in vain to actually complete the game mode.
    Expand
  44. May 11, 2011
    0
    I gave this game a fair shake, but was extremely underwhelmed in all areas. The gameplay just is not satisfying in any fashion. Most conflicts are completely one sided, with the guarding team being at an enormous advantage and the capturing team facing nothing but constant respawns and aggravation. The pace of the fights is far too fast, the parkour is a gimmick at best, and the only real reason to choose any class either than engineer or medic is to complete class-specific objectives. The AI players are also terrible - AI on your team seem incapable of even attempting to complete an objective, and will generally take the longest way to any objective, if they even decide to help with the main objective at all (many times they leave you out to dry while they complete pointless objectives at the cost of precious time). Enemy AI fire laser-accurately and are alerted simply by you running (even if they cannot see you). Apparently the sound of footsteps is loud enough to be heard over gunfire. The graphics, character customization, art direction, and sound are awesome. But realistically all this means nothing if the gameplay is poor. It's like going to an opera, and when asked for your thoughts on it you say "well the band was good and the costumes were pretty", which doesn't mean it was a good opera. Notice I haven't said anything about the storyline? Well, that pretty much sums up the story of Brink. I have played many games that were frustrating or had low production values, but there was always a payoff or some fun to be found. This is not so with Brink. Even in matches full of human players where my side won and I was the MVP with most exp, kills, and the "best engineer" title, I did not have any fun. The game is an monolith of tedium and frustration built on the charred and spoiled remains of a few promising ideas. Even though the graphics, sound, and character customization are great, the actual game is a chore. That said, I am giving it a 0/10 because it is not fun at all. Expand
  45. May 11, 2011
    4
    To be honest this was a game I had my eye out for. I had watched all da trailers and check'd out all the articles about the game before the release. But Brink simply falls short of being a great FPS. If Brink would of had a more detail and compelling storyline rather than 45 sec cut scenes, and then throwing you into the action, then the campaign would've been decent. I know Brink creators wanted to try something different to weave away from other FPS. If it aint broke don't try to fix it. I really like to play FPS for the great long lasting multiplayer action. Brink doesn't have any multiplayer based options(NO Team Deathmatch, NO Capture Da Flag, Nada!!) One word to sum up Brink...WEAK Expand
  46. May 11, 2011
    1
    Bethesda,
    Are you guys proud to be selling this game for sixty bucks? Can you honestly tell me that "Brink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience" with a straight face? To say that this game contains anything remotely approaching playable single-player is an utter fabrication, as this portion of the game is simply
    broken. As someone who doesn't buy games for multiplayer only I feel absolutely cheated at having rushed out today and handed over my hard-earned cash for this unfinished mess of a game. Everybody that works in your marketing department may pat themselves heartily on the back, well done to them. But I will not forget this day anytime soon, grrrrr!!!! Expand
  47. May 12, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First I'd like to say I greatly enjoy the "co-op" mechanic of Brink, You can't just go "lone wolf" it in most instances you really need to buff, heal, and stick with a group of team mates to really make things work. I prefer the tactical shooter over any other and by far. Sadly I must give Brink a negative rating simply based on lag issues. Every other game I play on xbox has no lag issues my network is the best I can afford because the one thing that KILLS games for me is lag. Sadly this one is full of it. If they manage to fix the lag, which makes the game entirely unplayable 9 times out of 10 during multiplayer, which is MOST the game, I could give it a 6 at best. Lots of fun ideas, the SMART makes getting around easier than any other game (assuming your not having a massive lagfest), which is AMAZING imo, sadly the maps aren't really big enough to thoroughy enjoy it. The classes and abilities are entertianing though making Soldiers/Operatives a little more useful couldn't hurt, may also be people haven't really gotten use to that sort of class yet. I ran with a medic and pretty much stick with it throughout the game. Buffing/healing can be rather annoying when you have more than 1 person in front of you, making most intense firefights turn out rather poorly. Again, if lag is an issue (and it almost always is) this task is near impossible. ALL my buffs cannot affect me, which is harsh, I would kill for a little Adrenaline boost in order to get my team back on their feet and gladly die soon after etc. Customization is another high point in the game, though in all honestly its not as vast as I'd hoped. They could definitely use more attachments for your wpns, but still its good fun to mess around with. The way they did the weapons and how you unlock them was interesting to say the least. You can get all of them unlocked within about an hour of picking up the game which leaves you with the task of finding out which ones suits you without a "compare" button. The weapons themselves are quite entertaining, though it puzzles me the lack of rocket launchers they have. My only gripe (as with most shooters) is that sniper rifles don't do nearly the damage they should do. That, combined with the lack of high ground or any good sniping positions makes them a rather useless wpn. Clothing is purely cosmetic, and you get a decent amount of options to make your "yours". These are the items that take the longest to unlock, done so by leveling up. The "campaign" is really just the 8 maps/missions you can play online with voice over during the loading screens. You get to play those 8 maps on both sides (yay) making a wopping 16 different missions, if you can really call them that. Really one side is attacking and one side is defending is all. Playing solo is difficult as AI bots that are the enemy are TERRIBLY accurate, hitting you regardless of you jumpin, sliding, ducking or anything else for that matter. Your team mates AI sucks as they will often charge off alone to try and accomplish tasks that are either pointless or not acheivable by ones self. It would be nice to have some "control" over your AI team mates, or at least which objective they should focus on. Graphically the game WOULD be nice but it does this annoying "re-rendering" thing every time you respawn or progress through a level. Leaves most textures looking blurring and lame in comparison to what they actually should be.
    All in all the game is quite entertaining though the lack of decent campaign reminds me greatly of S8. Maps should be bigger and have more of them. Lag should be fixed. Then you'd have a solid 8, heck just fixing the lag would put the game in the "positive" range. Add some more wpns/attachments/clothing, or even armor to the game and get that score even higher. I'll still be trying to play it as the days roll on, I like its gameplay I just can't stand the lag.
    Expand
  48. May 14, 2011
    1
    Brink is graphically poor, showing the aging nature of the XBOX, along with a total failure to realise the games fantastic concept. With game play dragged kicking and screaming back to life from the Quake era, and general costing of GRAY everywhere, Brink looks and plays like the implementation of a marketing mans dream. Great concept, good PR, nice out of game visuals and brilliant character customisation are all pointless as the in game graphics are poor, the game play turgid, and the multiplayer experienced riddled with lag and bugs. Endless corridors remind me of gaming times long past, and a period I did not want to revisit. After the visceral meat of Gears changed FPS forever this is a throwback to times long gone, and not an experience I wanted to revisit. The game is yet another Homefront. All marketing, no gameplay. Gaming disappointment of the year. How can they have got it so wrong! Expand
  49. May 14, 2011
    4
    Where is the story? The demo had way more story then this. Why are they still releasing games that are bad? S.M.A.R.T. is Lacking Control. Why is everybody dieing the same!?!? When you have a game that has people getting shot to death "a lot" you should make it look GOOD!!! When a game goes and tries to change the way we play FPS things that aren't changed should stay tha same or be better then the known and loved COD, Halo & BC. Anything less is a Fat waist of money and time. Can't believe I waited almost a year for this half done toilet bomb...Oh ya and the online sucks....... This was me playng this game.......... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxioGMFRGeA&feature=related Expand
  50. May 15, 2011
    0
    I was so looking forward to this game, what with the quality video and magazine reviews, so i rushed out first thing friday morning and snapped this game up even paying extra for the special edition. And what a complete waste of my money, it looked nothing like the video and graphically its like a game from the old xbox, very clunky and the AI must be one of the worst i have ever come across in all my years of gaming. And the game itself becomes very repetitive and boring very quickly, do not buy this pile of rubbish and first thing monday morning this game is going back. Expand
  51. May 31, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm giving it a 2. I beat the game in 2 days. Unlocked every weapon, attachment, and beat every mission, all offline. The plot has 2 sides, each give just enough of a cutscene to start the next mission, but no background, no story, no depth. It doesn't tell why you have to set off a missile, or raid slums for a vaccine. The real meat of that comes from the audio logs you unlock, and even they don't tell much. The gameplay is a standard shooter. Play CoD MW2 and it's the same thing. 3 body types determine what weapons you can use. You CAN customize what attachments go on which weapons, kind of like Army of 2, but the overall impact is tiny. Most often, a game has 2 sides. 1 attacking and 1 defending. Defending is easy, just camp and shoot. Attacking feels like slogging through concrete for 10 minutes. The missions are timed, you get more time for finishing main objectives, turning a ten-minute uphill brawl into a thirty minute massacre. The game is built for online play, which I do not have. I suppose it might be easier, but honestly, it's just another shooter.

    The SMART system is ok. You can climb things really well, but you have to sacrifice your awareness of surroundings to aim where you want to go. A Heavy moves slowest, cant sprint much, and can't climb higher than his waist. A Light has the highest mobility, it's how the game is meant to be played. The problem is very little health, a pistol can kill you in three shots. And they can only use SMGs and pistols. (very little firepower). The game is about tactics. Send heavys to tank and support, mediums to complete main objectives (they are the bulk of the army b/c they can use most weapons and still have decent mobility), and lights to flank and pepper the enemy, using their skills to aid of harass. Customization is extremely good. There's a lot of ways to make your guy trulys unique. However, there are no girls in the game at all. The only mention of a girl was a faceless founder in the audio logs, no actual character model. Neither side is really likeable, both seem to be basically thugs. The Resistance has more personality in their clothes, but they're extremist thugs. The Security is smarter, and their cause is just. In conclusion, do not go out and buy this game. It is not worth the money. Rent it first, and wait until it's in the bargain bin, or buy it used for less than $20. For a game from a brand new company, its not bad. But games are expensive, and I'm not spending my money for anything less than the best.
    Expand
  52. Jun 2, 2011
    3
    This game was horrible traded it in the day after I bought it for LA Noire and more money to put down of Gears 3. I personally like my single player a multi-player modes kept separate and was annoyed that the single player version of the game was like the multiplayer but your team mates were AI rather real people what a let down. While I like the games concept it should been made multiplayer game only not bothered with the single player experience. Bethesda is known for great games too like Fallout 3 and the Elder Scrolls series what the hell happened with Brink Expand
  53. Jul 13, 2011
    1
    It's quite a depressing feeling when you discover that you've dished out £45 for something you only want to play once.
    I was really looking forward to this game, the ideas of free-running and shooting seemed to be a match made in heaven. Sadly it wasn't. The enemy A.I. Is stupid, the graphics were mediocre and the gameplay was repetitive and dull.
    There was no real feeling of
    shooting when I fired my rifle, the weapon seemed ineffective and limp as the enemy in front of me slightly wriggled while I emptied an entire magazine into his cliched urban soldier body. After all, who can't take 46 rounds to the chest from an assault rifle whilst hacking a computer?
    I have spoken to numerous friends about this game (who have also fallen foul to Brink's over confident advertising campaign), the outcome was one of anger and a an increasing lack of faith in modern computer gaming development. I'm off to sell my copy on a well know auction site now. It'll go for a cheap price but I still beg you, don't buy it from me or anywhere else.
    Expand
  54. Jul 4, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Bottom line up front, this game was just poorly designed. Unless you have friends that can play it too, you're at the mercy of playing with incapable AI teammates that are more interested in capturing and re-capturing command posts versus actually completing the main objective. And I swear to crap that constantly hearing "THEY"VE CAPTURED OUR COMMAND POST" just because comparable with hearing nails on a chalk board. I made the mistake of buying this, where it will remain on my shelf after possibly playing only about 10 hours of it. This game is also the reason I joined, and will be using Metacritic from now on before I buy any more games!!! Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    70
    Brink can be awesome and annoying, euphoric and inexplicable, all in the same breath. Unfortunately, fist pumps are followed by fits of controller throwing all too regularly to make this one score much higher.
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    70
    Interesting but unpolished, ambitious but too weak to lift the weight of these ambitions. What bothered me most was that the brilliant idea of bringing other players into your single player mode was not realized properly. [June 2011, p.80]
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    It offers a new angle on the genre and one that will excite fans. [Issue#73, p.84]