Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 383 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’s last refuge for humanity. Brink offers a compelling mix of dynamic battlefields, extensive customization options, and an innovative control system that will keep you coming back for more. A man-made floating city called the Ark, made up of hundreds of separate floating islands, is on the brink of all-out civil war. Originally built as an experimental self-sufficient and 100% "green" habitat, the reported rapid rise of the Earth's oceans has forced the Ark to become a refuge for humanity. Crammed with the original Ark founders, their descendants, as well as tens of thousands of refugees, the Ark exists in total isolation from the rest of the world. With 25 years of social unrest, the inhabitants of the Ark have reached their breaking point. It's up to you to decide the future of the Ark and the human race. Blurring the Lines Between Offline and Online - Advance your character’s development across every gameplay mode: single player, co-op, and multiplayer. Gain experience points that you can spend on customizing and upgrading your skills and abilities, designing an entirely unique look and feel for your character. Brink uses the familiar shooter controls that you're used to, without frustrating, artificial constraints and takes advantage of a new feature: the SMART button. When you press the SMART button, the game dynamically evaluates where you’re trying to get to, and makes it happen. No need to perfectly time a jump or vault, the game knows what you want to do. Objectives, communications, mission generation, and inventory selection are all dynamically generated based on your role, your status, your location, your squad-mates, and the status of the battle in all gameplay modes. You'll always know exactly where to go, what to do when you get there, and what your reward will be for success. Brink’s proprietary technology, Virtual Texturing, breaks new ground on current-gen consoles and PCs with an even greater focus on highly detailed characters, realistic environments, lighting, effects, and atmospherics. This competitive lead on the squad-combat genre helps thrust players into the gritty reality of the Ark's epic secluded arcology. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. May 10, 2011
    88
    If you're looking for an in-depth, engaging experience that rewards practise and team work, and represents a welcome break from the stagnate place the genre has found itself, then you can do a lot worse than Brink. If you're looking for a drop-in/drop-out, ten-minutes-a-night-and-I'm-done shooter then you could do a lot better than Brink.
  2. May 10, 2011
    81
    The game is lovely to the eye because of its artistic decisions, has a gameplay that supports cooperative working, and has huge customization variety. But its lack of contents, poor performance and its online-only focus makes Brink not so great.
  3. May 10, 2011
    80
    The great unknown with Brink is whether a strong online community will form and maintain itself. And that's the crux of the matter. Blazing through the Campaign takes little time and earns a good number of achievement points but the game is lumbered with awful AI. I had limited online play with real people and found Brink to run smoothly enough but this is before a thousands of people jump on to find a game.
  4. May 18, 2011
    70
    If you have a gang of friends to play with regularily, Brink is fantastic. Proper communication makes solving the different tasks a wonder, and at times, this is one of the best games I have played in the genre. However, you never truly know what you get with Brink, due to the rubbish bots and uncertain online team composition. As a game it is simply too unpredictable.
  5. May 11, 2011
    68
    The game has left us feeling in the middle of the road, admiring certain things like weapon classes and gameplay tweaks, but dreading online lag and unfair AI. It's worth a rental to see if it's something you'd enjoy in the long-term, but don't be surprised if, like us, you're left wondering how much better it could've been.
  6. May 17, 2011
    60
    It looks unique and it has got some great ideas. It's just too short and not polished enough.
  7. May 10, 2011
    25
    Brink is unfinished. And that doesn't mean it's full of technical problems. Well, it's got those too. But mostly, it's just an unpolished, poorly executed mess of ideas.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 196
  2. Negative: 57 out of 196
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    I love this game so far. It's NOT Call of Duty, and you have to work WITH your team in order to succeed. Once you realize that you're not going to dominate based on your K/D ratio, then you'll have a much better time accepting Brink. Expand
  2. May 18, 2011
    10
    Brink is a game that many may put on the back burner because it is not another Call of Duty carbon copy, but what it is is an engaging first person shooter that does lack in a story, but many people I know do not even play the story mode in these types of games opting instead to go straight for the multiplayer. If you want to play a game with great story, but no on-line play go play L.A. Noire, but if you want to play a futuristic FPS in the vein of Battlefied then hop on Brink and enjoy the ride. Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    9
    This new title is like a FPS on crack. It is refreshing to see a new twist come to this form of game play. It's a team based, fast paced, testicles to the wall shooter. If your looking for a great new shooter game. This is it. If your a COD fan. Don't even bother. There's way to much teamwork involved so you'd probably get bored since this game forces you to be a tactical team player. It makes me sick that IGN has rated this a 6.0 when it certainly deserves better than that. Sure Brink has had a few problems at launch but what game out there hasn't? If you love FPS's then you should give this one a chance. Don't expect COD or BFBC2. Think outside the box. Don't just go on gamer site reviews out there. You will miss out on a very good game. Expand
  4. May 16, 2011
    7
    Brink is enjoyable, but I wish I payed twenty less dollars for it. It feels like a $40 title. There's a lack of polish that strikes me as odd considering all the videos for the game hinted at much more than what is delivered. There's only a handful of maps, but thankfully due to the objective-based gameplay they have a lot of replay value without getting stale (especially if you switch sides.) The whole "blends single player and multiplayer" thing they touted? It's crap. It means bots fill in the slots when you don't play multiplayer. There is an abhorrent lack of story, too. The little clips that play before rounds in the campaign make little to no sense, and even if you bother to go through the dossier to listen to unlocked audioclips, there's nothing compelling about what's going on in the least.

    Where the game shines is in the teamplay aspect. As aiming is really a secondary skill for this title compared to other FPS games, controlling chokepoints and utilizing your class to it's fullest is how you get the most out of playing. There's no kill/death ratio which I absolutely love, because there's no smack-talking from childish clowns on the other team.

    There are some balance issues. For one, the "stealth" class is awful. Soldiers resupply ammo, medics revive people, engineers buff gun damage and armor, and the other class (I honestly forget what it's called because I refuse to play it) provides no tactical use to a team. Other than when they are required to hack spots, they serve no team utility.

    Each gun handles pretty much entirely the same. Almost all of them have similar stats across the boards, anyway. AR guns all handle the exact same with slightly differing clip sizes, all the SMGs handle the same as every other SMG, etc. Handguns are worthless because while the game claims that it ups your melee damage by giving you a knife, melee is 1,000,000% useless.

    The game really, really, really needs some sort of reason to aim. As long as I'm remotely shooting at the enemy, I score hits and spray til people drop. I tend to get a lot more kills since switching to a mini-gun as a result, as ironsighting hinders your ability to drop enemies rather than help. Headshots don't kill immediately either, so no reason to aim at anything other than the midsection of baddies.

    I love the graphics. The "S.M.A.R.T." system to run freely and leap over obstacles is fairly cool. It doesn't feel any different than hitting the action button on obstacles you can climb in other shooters, though, so I don't get what the big deal is. Sound could use a little tweaking as I feel overwhelmed with loudness jumping behind one of the MGs and it's too difficult to tell what guns enemies are using.

    I think there's a potential for franchise development so I'm giving it a 7 rather than a 6, purely for breaking the mold and daring to be different. It's a mediocre game that still offers a lot of replayability at best and an unpolished lackluster title at worst.
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2011
    5
    Funnily enough I quite liked Brink. I bought the game without much prior knowledge or hype and was pleasantly surprised. The character customization is great. The game objectives give you something to actually play for, and the level design is rather good for the most part. So why have only given Brink a 5? Player base. I've purchased the game a mere 2 weeks (if that) after release and there is NO-ONE playing. Or at least not in my area of the world (Australia/New Zealand). Playing against bots just doesn't have the same appeal. The game is pretty much dead, and so soon after release is disappointing. This game could have been good, but I cannot recommend it to anyone as it is no longer played. Now I have to try and sell. Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    4
    Clunky controls, over-hyped, boring storyline, stolen ideas, and the "S.M.A.R.T" system makes you look like a retard attempting parkour.

    Meh,
    another shooter trying to act special. Expand
  7. May 15, 2011
    0
    I was so looking forward to this game, what with the quality video and magazine reviews, so i rushed out first thing friday morning and snapped this game up even paying extra for the special edition. And what a complete waste of my money, it looked nothing like the video and graphically its like a game from the old xbox, very clunky and the AI must be one of the worst i have ever come across in all my years of gaming. And the game itself becomes very repetitive and boring very quickly, do not buy this pile of rubbish and first thing monday morning this game is going back. Collapse

See all 196 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.