Brink Xbox 360

Brink Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 404 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’sBrink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’s last refuge for humanity. Brink offers a compelling mix of dynamic battlefields, extensive customization options, and an innovative control system that will keep you coming back for more. A man-made floating city called the Ark, made up of hundreds of separate floating islands, is on the brink of all-out civil war. Originally built as an experimental self-sufficient and 100% "green" habitat, the reported rapid rise of the Earth's oceans has forced the Ark to become a refuge for humanity. Crammed with the original Ark founders, their descendants, as well as tens of thousands of refugees, the Ark exists in total isolation from the rest of the world. With 25 years of social unrest, the inhabitants of the Ark have reached their breaking point. It's up to you to decide the future of the Ark and the human race. Blurring the Lines Between Offline and Online - Advance your character’s development across every gameplay mode: single player, co-op, and multiplayer. Gain experience points that you can spend on customizing and upgrading your skills and abilities, designing an entirely unique look and feel for your character. Brink uses the familiar shooter controls that you're used to, without frustrating, artificial constraints and takes advantage of a new feature: the SMART button. When you press the SMART button, the game dynamically evaluates where you’re trying to get to, and makes it happen. No need to perfectly time a jump or vault, the game knows what you want to do. Objectives, communications, mission generation, and inventory selection are all dynamically generated based on your role, your status, your location, your squad-mates, and the status of the battle in all gameplay modes. You'll always know exactly where to go, what to do when you get there, and what your reward will be for success. Brink’s proprietary technology, Virtual Texturing, breaks new ground on current-gen consoles and PCs with an even greater focus on highly detailed characters, realistic environments, lighting, effects, and atmospherics. This competitive lead on the squad-combat genre helps thrust players into the gritty reality of the Ark's epic secluded arcology. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. May 10, 2011
    88
    If you're looking for an in-depth, engaging experience that rewards practise and team work, and represents a welcome break from the stagnate place the genre has found itself, then you can do a lot worse than Brink. If you're looking for a drop-in/drop-out, ten-minutes-a-night-and-I'm-done shooter then you could do a lot better than Brink.
  2. May 10, 2011
    81
    The game is lovely to the eye because of its artistic decisions, has a gameplay that supports cooperative working, and has huge customization variety. But its lack of contents, poor performance and its online-only focus makes Brink not so great.
  3. May 10, 2011
    80
    The great unknown with Brink is whether a strong online community will form and maintain itself. And that's the crux of the matter. Blazing through the Campaign takes little time and earns a good number of achievement points but the game is lumbered with awful AI. I had limited online play with real people and found Brink to run smoothly enough but this is before a thousands of people jump on to find a game.
  4. May 18, 2011
    70
    If you have a gang of friends to play with regularily, Brink is fantastic. Proper communication makes solving the different tasks a wonder, and at times, this is one of the best games I have played in the genre. However, you never truly know what you get with Brink, due to the rubbish bots and uncertain online team composition. As a game it is simply too unpredictable.
  5. May 11, 2011
    68
    The game has left us feeling in the middle of the road, admiring certain things like weapon classes and gameplay tweaks, but dreading online lag and unfair AI. It's worth a rental to see if it's something you'd enjoy in the long-term, but don't be surprised if, like us, you're left wondering how much better it could've been.
  6. May 17, 2011
    60
    It looks unique and it has got some great ideas. It's just too short and not polished enough.
  7. May 10, 2011
    25
    Brink is unfinished. And that doesn't mean it's full of technical problems. Well, it's got those too. But mostly, it's just an unpolished, poorly executed mess of ideas.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 203
  2. Negative: 57 out of 203
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    I love this game so far. It's NOT Call of Duty, and you have to work WITH your team in order to succeed. Once you realize that you're notI love this game so far. It's NOT Call of Duty, and you have to work WITH your team in order to succeed. Once you realize that you're not going to dominate based on your K/D ratio, then you'll have a much better time accepting Brink. Expand
  2. May 11, 2011
    10
    Game is complete **** Bots are so **** stupid that at times, you wont win a game because they keep **** up **** you are trying to do.

    Few
    Game is complete **** Bots are so **** stupid that at times, you wont win a game because they keep **** up **** you are trying to do.

    Few maps and game modes make it boring fast. Customization is nothing special. Every gun has the same few things which you wont use as they make the gun worse. The parkour is just stupid. If you want to go up a wall, just take the stupid stair as it is faster. They could just have put stairs where you want to jump up. Dont forget the stupid SMART system that does not know what the **** you want to do, expect to move over objects you dont want to,
    Expand
  3. May 10, 2011
    8
    I am giving Brink an 8.5 which I had to round so I figured I would round DOWN, to an 8 to be a little more realistic. First of all let me say,I am giving Brink an 8.5 which I had to round so I figured I would round DOWN, to an 8 to be a little more realistic. First of all let me say, this is not your typical FPS game, if you try to play Brink like you play Halo/COD/Battlefield/Etc this game will punish you beyond words. I personally believe a lot of the negative reviews have to do with two things, #1 a supposed string of bad code(That I didn't notice in my copy that causes awful lag/slowdown/graphical distortion/etc.) and #2 You can not go into Brink with the FPS mindset of old.... If you listened to any of the developer videos they said over and over, they key to Brink is to MOVE, more than you SHOOT. I had to constantly remind myself of this as I was playing the challenges with a friend online (Which ran pretty flawlessly for us...) I found myself annoyed at first, then I found myself understanding this wasn't typical FPS fanfare, then adapting and enjoying the HELL out of this game. I believe people will have a hard time letting go of the comfort of traditional FPS, and that is fine with me, keep playing Halo/COD and the other dime a dozen FPS games out there, leave Brink to the people who appreciate something different. If you were interested in this game at ALL, ignore the reviews, go to the official site, watch the videos, give it a rent, or go out and buy it, but I promise you this is an experience of something that is slightly similar, but at the same time completely new, and it honestly has made the tired and worn out genre of FPS fun and exciting to me again, and for that I am grateful... Thank you Splash Damage! 360 GT-Waynetech B76 Expand
  4. NJR
    May 10, 2011
    6
    Big disappointment. The campaign is awful, no real story and is stupidly boring, in-game graphics are very shoddy, AI are mediocre. You canBig disappointment. The campaign is awful, no real story and is stupidly boring, in-game graphics are very shoddy, AI are mediocre. You can max out your character within a day or two, there are not enough maps and it is just generally way too repetitive. On the plus side though the movement system is a very nice touch, very smooth and easy to get used too and also I enjoyed playing a FPS that actually tried to be different to CoD or Halo. Could have been a good game, won't be playing this one for much longer. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2016
    5
    Mediocre at best game, with constant bugs and pop in graphics. Also has a very stale story that you cant really engage in. The gameplay isMediocre at best game, with constant bugs and pop in graphics. Also has a very stale story that you cant really engage in. The gameplay is pretty good though Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    4
    Brink is an "intresting" mix between awesome artstyle, bad design choices and countless technical issues. I liked the locations, backgroundBrink is an "intresting" mix between awesome artstyle, bad design choices and countless technical issues. I liked the locations, background story, music, amount of various skills and character creation, but thats all about it. Lets get to the lacking aspects, which are plenty by the way. First of all, the whole reasons for the conflict seems to be forced, just for the sake of having two hostile factions fighting each other, that are reason for this game to exist. In reality they could get along very easily, but i dont want to put spoilers here so lets skip that. The leveling system is unfair, it would be ok if all it gave you was cosmetic stuff like new costumes (which it does), but it also makes your character have more abilities or stronger abilities, which gives you an advantage over players with lower level. There are f***loads of bugs, ranging from the harmless ones, like text errors or wrong messages (says you have to defend, when you really have to attack etc) to those annoying and gamebreaking, like game suddenly losing sound, crashing or you cannot see other players. The netcode is really terrible too. You will lagg even with a decent internet connection, even if you wont, the game will still run so clunky that you will feel as you did. With slow internet, forget about multiplayer, the game will be unplayable, stick to playing with bots. But dont worry, you wont loose much, because even in the multi you will meet more AI bots than real players. And the AI in this game stand for Artifical Idiocy. Its as if they was purposedly coded to be so dumb, so that you can easily tell its a bot, and not a person with a brain. Talking about stupid, lets talk about the whole S.M.A.R.T. thing, which is basically climbing and jumping over fences. Sure thats cool, because it gives you more movement freedom than most games, but you wont use it that often anyway, except to gett from spawn point to the battlefield. First of all, you almost cant do any of this stuff with heavy body (which is the most efficient in combat), second, you cant shoot when doing all those tricks, making you an easy target, and thrid, the maps are not really designed for this, as you mostly fight indoors, but even on streetfights you wont be able to climp on a building and jump over roofs (like in the trailer). Also the weapons in the game are really boring, all you have are machineguns with diffirent skin and slightly diffirent stats. There are also few otherweapon types but they seem to be significantly weaker than the machineguns, so everyone just uses machineguns (which i personally hate). Overall, Brink is a game that looks good and promising, but has so many flaws that i just can't give it anything close to a positive rating, even if i wanted to. Expand
  7. May 15, 2011
    0
    I was so looking forward to this game, what with the quality video and magazine reviews, so i rushed out first thing friday morning andI was so looking forward to this game, what with the quality video and magazine reviews, so i rushed out first thing friday morning and snapped this game up even paying extra for the special edition. And what a complete waste of my money, it looked nothing like the video and graphically its like a game from the old xbox, very clunky and the AI must be one of the worst i have ever come across in all my years of gaming. And the game itself becomes very repetitive and boring very quickly, do not buy this pile of rubbish and first thing monday morning this game is going back. Expand

See all 203 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.