Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 390 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’s last refuge for humanity. Brink offers a compelling mix of dynamic battlefields, extensive customization options, and an innovative control system that will keep you coming back for more. A man-made floating city called the Ark, made up of hundreds of separate floating islands, is on the brink of all-out civil war. Originally built as an experimental self-sufficient and 100% "green" habitat, the reported rapid rise of the Earth's oceans has forced the Ark to become a refuge for humanity. Crammed with the original Ark founders, their descendants, as well as tens of thousands of refugees, the Ark exists in total isolation from the rest of the world. With 25 years of social unrest, the inhabitants of the Ark have reached their breaking point. It's up to you to decide the future of the Ark and the human race. Blurring the Lines Between Offline and Online - Advance your character’s development across every gameplay mode: single player, co-op, and multiplayer. Gain experience points that you can spend on customizing and upgrading your skills and abilities, designing an entirely unique look and feel for your character. Brink uses the familiar shooter controls that you're used to, without frustrating, artificial constraints and takes advantage of a new feature: the SMART button. When you press the SMART button, the game dynamically evaluates where you’re trying to get to, and makes it happen. No need to perfectly time a jump or vault, the game knows what you want to do. Objectives, communications, mission generation, and inventory selection are all dynamically generated based on your role, your status, your location, your squad-mates, and the status of the battle in all gameplay modes. You'll always know exactly where to go, what to do when you get there, and what your reward will be for success. Brink’s proprietary technology, Virtual Texturing, breaks new ground on current-gen consoles and PCs with an even greater focus on highly detailed characters, realistic environments, lighting, effects, and atmospherics. This competitive lead on the squad-combat genre helps thrust players into the gritty reality of the Ark's epic secluded arcology. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. May 10, 2011
    88
    If you're looking for an in-depth, engaging experience that rewards practise and team work, and represents a welcome break from the stagnate place the genre has found itself, then you can do a lot worse than Brink. If you're looking for a drop-in/drop-out, ten-minutes-a-night-and-I'm-done shooter then you could do a lot better than Brink.
  2. May 10, 2011
    81
    The game is lovely to the eye because of its artistic decisions, has a gameplay that supports cooperative working, and has huge customization variety. But its lack of contents, poor performance and its online-only focus makes Brink not so great.
  3. May 10, 2011
    80
    The great unknown with Brink is whether a strong online community will form and maintain itself. And that's the crux of the matter. Blazing through the Campaign takes little time and earns a good number of achievement points but the game is lumbered with awful AI. I had limited online play with real people and found Brink to run smoothly enough but this is before a thousands of people jump on to find a game.
  4. May 18, 2011
    70
    If you have a gang of friends to play with regularily, Brink is fantastic. Proper communication makes solving the different tasks a wonder, and at times, this is one of the best games I have played in the genre. However, you never truly know what you get with Brink, due to the rubbish bots and uncertain online team composition. As a game it is simply too unpredictable.
  5. May 11, 2011
    68
    The game has left us feeling in the middle of the road, admiring certain things like weapon classes and gameplay tweaks, but dreading online lag and unfair AI. It's worth a rental to see if it's something you'd enjoy in the long-term, but don't be surprised if, like us, you're left wondering how much better it could've been.
  6. May 17, 2011
    60
    It looks unique and it has got some great ideas. It's just too short and not polished enough.
  7. May 10, 2011
    25
    Brink is unfinished. And that doesn't mean it's full of technical problems. Well, it's got those too. But mostly, it's just an unpolished, poorly executed mess of ideas.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 199
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    I love this game so far. It's NOT Call of Duty, and you have to work WITH your team in order to succeed. Once you realize that you're not going to dominate based on your K/D ratio, then you'll have a much better time accepting Brink. Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    From reading some of these other reviews it seems like they never played the game. Brink has a very distinct art style. the ark and the visuals are quite impressive. The sound is impeccable, guns have distinct feel, vibe, and sound. all of the body type (light, normal, Big) have unique play styles and weapons. the lighter the body type, the faster they more, the more places they can reach, and the less health they can have. the "SMART" system works fine and is easy to use but requires skill to run harder routes.(ex: Triple wall jump in container city) I thought the level design was super smart, short cuts can be unlocked with some classes. Completing objectives is fun. the one button method keeps annoying mini games from becoming repetitive and people speed planting bombs. The A.I is almost too good and is not the high point of the game.. The A.I. will often gun you down quicker than you can return fire. Often A.I on your team will over look objectives and A.I medics will walk over you. There is a huge difference when playing with live people. you can tell instantly. other players result in intense firefights over choke points. when playing with friends you will often yell for ammo and medics even if they are sitting in the room with you. the online connection problems are going to be patched and are a temporary problem that should not be used to judge the game. Because of the lag Splash Damage promised free dlc this summer. Overall i think Brink is a great game. if you want to try a unique FPS that forces you to work together to accomplish the impossible, Buy Brink. Viva La Revolution. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    9
    If you are purchasing this game for the singleplayer, you may want to think again. If you want a well built TEAM based multiplayer game, then this is the game for you. This is definitely not a regular shooter where you can run around like Rambo and get 50 kills in one match. Heck this game doesn't even have a K/D ratio on the scoreboard, it's all XP based.

    So, if you want a fun game to play with friends then I would highly suggest Brink. It must be somewhat addicting, because I am currently at work thinking about what class I want to play and what guns I want to use the next time I get to play XD
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2011
    7
    Brink is enjoyable, but I wish I payed twenty less dollars for it. It feels like a $40 title. There's a lack of polish that strikes me as odd considering all the videos for the game hinted at much more than what is delivered. There's only a handful of maps, but thankfully due to the objective-based gameplay they have a lot of replay value without getting stale (especially if you switch sides.) The whole "blends single player and multiplayer" thing they touted? It's crap. It means bots fill in the slots when you don't play multiplayer. There is an abhorrent lack of story, too. The little clips that play before rounds in the campaign make little to no sense, and even if you bother to go through the dossier to listen to unlocked audioclips, there's nothing compelling about what's going on in the least.

    Where the game shines is in the teamplay aspect. As aiming is really a secondary skill for this title compared to other FPS games, controlling chokepoints and utilizing your class to it's fullest is how you get the most out of playing. There's no kill/death ratio which I absolutely love, because there's no smack-talking from childish clowns on the other team.

    There are some balance issues. For one, the "stealth" class is awful. Soldiers resupply ammo, medics revive people, engineers buff gun damage and armor, and the other class (I honestly forget what it's called because I refuse to play it) provides no tactical use to a team. Other than when they are required to hack spots, they serve no team utility.

    Each gun handles pretty much entirely the same. Almost all of them have similar stats across the boards, anyway. AR guns all handle the exact same with slightly differing clip sizes, all the SMGs handle the same as every other SMG, etc. Handguns are worthless because while the game claims that it ups your melee damage by giving you a knife, melee is 1,000,000% useless.

    The game really, really, really needs some sort of reason to aim. As long as I'm remotely shooting at the enemy, I score hits and spray til people drop. I tend to get a lot more kills since switching to a mini-gun as a result, as ironsighting hinders your ability to drop enemies rather than help. Headshots don't kill immediately either, so no reason to aim at anything other than the midsection of baddies.

    I love the graphics. The "S.M.A.R.T." system to run freely and leap over obstacles is fairly cool. It doesn't feel any different than hitting the action button on obstacles you can climb in other shooters, though, so I don't get what the big deal is. Sound could use a little tweaking as I feel overwhelmed with loudness jumping behind one of the MGs and it's too difficult to tell what guns enemies are using.

    I think there's a potential for franchise development so I'm giving it a 7 rather than a 6, purely for breaking the mold and daring to be different. It's a mediocre game that still offers a lot of replayability at best and an unpolished lackluster title at worst.
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2011
    5
    Brink was suppose to be a fps revolution, too bad it turned out to be mediocre product (at least on xbox) with more annoyances than you can imagine.Muddy, washed out, low resolution textures that constantly load here and there, unfriendly confusing GUI, unlocks for weapons that can be only obtained by playing single player challenges and extremely clunky non responsive controls that makes you feel like ur character has bunch of bricks in his pants ...throw in so called single player and you end up with a $60 game that forces you to ask yourself " what the **** did I just bought !" There are some cool aspects like classes and team objective gameplay but at the end its just not enough (at least for me) and only way I could recommend this title is to wait for a bargain bin price Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    4
    Clunky controls, over-hyped, boring storyline, stolen ideas, and the "S.M.A.R.T" system makes you look like a retard attempting parkour.

    Meh,
    another shooter trying to act special. Expand
  7. May 15, 2011
    0
    I was so looking forward to this game, what with the quality video and magazine reviews, so i rushed out first thing friday morning and snapped this game up even paying extra for the special edition. And what a complete waste of my money, it looked nothing like the video and graphically its like a game from the old xbox, very clunky and the AI must be one of the worst i have ever come across in all my years of gaming. And the game itself becomes very repetitive and boring very quickly, do not buy this pile of rubbish and first thing monday morning this game is going back. Expand

See all 199 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.