Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Help guide a couple of brothers on a fairy tale journey from Swedish film director, Josef Fares and developer Starbreeze Studios. Control both brothers at the same time as you experience co-op play in single player mode. Solve puzzles, explore varied locations and fight boss battles,Help guide a couple of brothers on a fairy tale journey from Swedish film director, Josef Fares and developer Starbreeze Studios. Control both brothers at the same time as you experience co-op play in single player mode. Solve puzzles, explore varied locations and fight boss battles, controlling one brother with each thumb stick. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    The resulting journey is so singularly devoted to creating a specific tone and atmosphere that you won't likely be able to stop thinking about it until long after you've seen it through to the end.
  2. Games Master UK
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Short but immensely satisfying, it's Ico meets Limbo in Fable's world. In a word: spellbinding. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    An an usual game, with a mature and touching plot in a fantastic and dangerous world. You'll need some time to get used to the unique double-character control system, but that's a tiny gem you shouldn't miss.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    86
    Brothers is a beautiful tale of love and loss, a great way to kick off the Summer of Arcade.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    82
    It’s a unique twin-stick adventure brimming with imagination that shows in its art and dual-action puzzles.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    An ambitious, emotionally affecting adventure that's short, but oh so sweet.
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    60
    While Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons occasionally succeeds in tugging at the heartstrings, there’s a heavy-handedness that runs through a good portion of the drama—and that’s off-putting. The unique controls take too long to get used to (considering this is only a three-hour experience), and the puzzles are simple and repetitive. The aesthetics are definitely pleasing, however.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 75
  2. Negative: 2 out of 75
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    No dialogue with a lot to say. Brothers is a single player co-op game which sounds strange but as soon as you play this game you will totallyNo dialogue with a lot to say. Brothers is a single player co-op game which sounds strange but as soon as you play this game you will totally understand. This game would have to be one of the most fantastic games of 2013. It's a short game of about three hours, but it achieves more in that time than other weak titles do in three or four times that length.

    Brothers tells a gripping story about two brothers heading out on an adventure in order to find a special medicine for their father that has mysteriously fallen ill. During this time you will see some really amazing things but not for shear action packed amazing, but more of an epic sense of awe.

    Now, this game has some puzzles in it and they are definitely not going to make you think too hard, but that's not where this game gets it's charm. The real innovation to Brothers is the single player co-op that I mentioned above. The controls of this game is like no other game I have ever played. Using one control pad, you control the older of the two brothers with the left analogue stick, and the younger with the right analogue stick simultaneously. On top of the direction, you also use the respective triggers as an action button depending on where you're brother is standing. This feature does not only make the game tricky to control, it makes it a fresh and welcome approach to controlling a game. Some parts will test your brains ability to press the right buttons at the right times and sometimes it will be so instinctual, you wonder why this sort of thing hasn't existed up until now.

    Graphically, it's no Skyrim, but, the art style that Starbreeze studios have gone for is simply stunning. I played Brothers on my PC and I have never witnessed a game that ran so well. The frame rates were steady and they images were smooth and impressive.

    Easily, Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons gets a 10 out of 10 from me. I have nothing to complain about and nothing more to ask from this game. Put simply, I have never played anything else similar to this before, and I will be sold bold in saying neither have you. If you are wondering if the $15 price point is worth it, my advice would be absolutely.

    For a small scale release, I think I would be safe in making this my game of the year for its category.

    "Brothers, the game that makes Journey a waste of time" LewkOne (Aussie Gamers)
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Wonderfully inventive game with stunning graphics and a breathtaking atmosphere. Follow the two brothers on an epic journey to find a cure forWonderfully inventive game with stunning graphics and a breathtaking atmosphere. Follow the two brothers on an epic journey to find a cure for their sick father. The game feels almost like an interactive story book and brings you back to childhood mysteries and adventures. Although quite short, this is a game that will completely overtake you for a good three/four hours and leave an imprint lasting a lot longer than that. Buy it and discover just how fantastic a video game can be! Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    awesomeeeeee story!!! adventure games had always been my first priority. animation well done! left a mark deep inside my heart. 505 gamesawesomeeeeee story!!! adventure games had always been my first priority. animation well done! left a mark deep inside my heart. 505 games developers thank you all. moving in the right direction waiting for a sequel :P Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Short, but this game is a masterpiece. Something in this game reminds me Ico. Simply wonderfull, and it makes me realize that is simple toShort, but this game is a masterpiece. Something in this game reminds me Ico. Simply wonderfull, and it makes me realize that is simple to make an epic game with good ideas, and without a huge investment. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Probably first game I ever played that made me cried and not from raging! They need to make more games that have you ready to tear up andProbably first game I ever played that made me cried and not from raging! They need to make more games that have you ready to tear up and emotionly upset you. Best game I have played in awhile and I cannot say o like the ending but it was a great game Thank you for making this game Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2015
    9
    An emotional, fairy-tale story with haunting moments that will stick with you long after the credits have rolled. It might not take long forAn emotional, fairy-tale story with haunting moments that will stick with you long after the credits have rolled. It might not take long for the credits to roll and it lacks replay value outside of getting all the achievements (an easy task), but it's worth picking up for the gorgeous world, emotional story, and unique gameplay.

    Controlling two characters can be a little awkward at times, but for the most part it's not a huge issue. The puzzles and platforming aren't difficult but are still fun. If you'r willing to put up with a slower pace than most games offer there are plenty of excellent things to behold in this game. It's one of the most memorable experiences I've had with a video game, as well as one of the most thought-provoking and genuinely mature. It's a game that knows how to involve gamers directly and make us feel. A huge achievement that most game just can't pull off.
    Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2015
    5
    Cute, but ultimately a bit pointless. For all its arty cell shading and quirky dual controls there isn't really much here to speak of. TheCute, but ultimately a bit pointless. For all its arty cell shading and quirky dual controls there isn't really much here to speak of. The story is rather redundant and the opportunity to introduce any engaging puzzles is missed. The ultimate effect is somewhat similar to watching an arty manga film whilst twiddling your thumbs. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews