Brutal Legend Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 272
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    This is probably one of the most underrated games of this generation if not gaming history. Brutal Legend brought together a kick-ass soundtrack along with some very unique and entertaining game-play.
    When you first start the game you think this is going to be your average Action-Adventure game with Jack Black and Heavy Metal. But as you get further into the game it starts to turn into an
    This is probably one of the most underrated games of this generation if not gaming history. Brutal Legend brought together a kick-ass soundtrack along with some very unique and entertaining game-play.
    When you first start the game you think this is going to be your average Action-Adventure game with Jack Black and Heavy Metal. But as you get further into the game it starts to turn into an RTS, Action-Adventure, RPG type game. Yes, this game manages to throw all of those genres into one game, and the results payed off. This game is a ton of fun especially during the Stage Battles. The side missions also offer entertainment as well as looking for secrets to unlock. All of this combined with a car that plays dozens of different Heavy Metal tracks. I actually drove around for an hour just listening to Judas Priest and Black Sabbath tracks. There is one problem though is that your character cannot jump which leads to a lot of instances where you get stuck
    The story and cut-scenes also provide an interesting and entertaining mix to the gameplay. I was glad they had the common decency to add Ozzy and Lemmy in a game that is about a Heavy Metal fantasy land. The game also tends to poke fun at Black, Hair, and Nu Metal in a very hilarious way. The game knows when to be serious and when to be funny. I also liked the main character Eddie Riggs who constantly proves that he is a true hero and refuses the spotlight even though he did all of the work. I had a gripe about the time-travel element in the story not making any sense, but for the most part the game manages to tell a good story.
    Overall, this game is a must play for those looking for a unique gaming experience and heavy metal fans.
    Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2014
    6
    I really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting greatI really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting great with special congratulations for the more than satisfactory voice work by rock stars Ozzy Osborne and Lemmy Kilmister. Jack Black really sells the story most of all with his timed delivery. So, Enjoyed the story and nostalgic music, but the fighting and battles wasn't fun. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is a truly Amazing game jack black is the man! great deep story the seriousness of it is severely underrated its a perfect game i hope they make a 2nd
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    Such a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play aSuch a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play a RTS where he cant control his units fluently? No one. Still the game has something that makes up for all the failures: The setting. Yes, I love Metal. And this game is such a great tribute to Metal, and it even does it in an intelligent way. On Top of that the Characters are the best i have seen in Games for a while. A lovely bunch of Metalheads all around. I would give this a 10 out of 10 if it was a movie, but the actual playing part sucks so hard that it gets down to 5. And much difference to a movie isnt there anyway, since the game is only about 4-5 hours long. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    A must-have for any metal fan, the best soundtrack ever for heavy music. Gameplay is fun and offers more variety than most AAA games out there. The art is incredible, even if graphics has a simple, WoW style. Humour is excellent as to expect from double fine. Jack Black, Halford, Ozzy and Lemmy are awesome on voice talent and characterisation.
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    I'd say there is only one flaw about this game...that nearly nobody knows this...Superb mix of action and real-time strategy, top notch soundtrack, exceptional screenplay, lots of fun and Jack Black as a main protagonist. For me it's definitely 10/10.
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    amazing game , if you are lokinng for good music ,humor and a great story how will make you sit down at the sofa and play till the end !!
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. IThis is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. I actually loved the RTS segments of the game, really something different. It was just a real shame they feel a bit underdone. With some more polish and attention they could have been the star of the game, but instead come off as an interesting side activity. Jack Black was just born for this role. Perfect casting of him and Tim Curry. A real shame how little we see of the main villain in the game. Nice little plot twist with the leading lady, a shame that story wasn't given as much attention as the first act. Overall: A great, but not perfect game that tried to add something new. Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    molto molto bello con tanta avventura e azione la storia non è troppo coinvolgente per me . Una bella cosa è anche il fatto della guerra tra palchi . le missioni brevi, ma la fantasia di mostri e personaggi è molto creativa
  10. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Remélem valaki előbb-utóbb belefullad abba a pipába. Mert, hogy az minden egyes ilyen videóhoz kell az undoritó. nlykocka youtube csatorna. Egyik haverommal kezdtük el csinálni a cél ,hogy minél több feliratkozót gyűjtsünk. Természetesen ezek mellé el kezdtünk a nagyobb minecraft fanoknak videókat csinálni (de későbbiekben lesznek más gameplayek illetve fun videók is, kérdezz felelek , illetve amiket ti kértetek hogy milyen videót szeretnétek nézni akkor ,hogyha elakarjátok ütni az időt és lehet még tetszik is ! Naponta friss videók. Stb...stb..Ha meg tennéd azt ,hogy feliratkozol esetleg meg is nézed a videókat , likeolod azokat , vagy még pluszba extra ként meg is osztod őket, vagy hírdeted , az nagyon nagy segítség lenne számunkra kicsit feldobni a csatornát és elismerni ezt a munkát. Természetesen a videókon naponta 7-9 óra között dolgozunk szóval , várjuk a munka gyümölcsét :) Expand
  11. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome. The voice acting is amazing. The graphics are really good as well. The soundtrack is probably one of the best soundtracks to a game ever. The main character Eddie Riggs is voiced by Jack Black. You also have voice overs done by Lita Ford, Ozzy Osbourne, Brian Posehn, Lemmy Kilmister and Rob Halford. I always spend hours just driving around blasting Judas Priest,This game is awesome. The voice acting is amazing. The graphics are really good as well. The soundtrack is probably one of the best soundtracks to a game ever. The main character Eddie Riggs is voiced by Jack Black. You also have voice overs done by Lita Ford, Ozzy Osbourne, Brian Posehn, Lemmy Kilmister and Rob Halford. I always spend hours just driving around blasting Judas Priest, Slayer or whatever. If you are a metalhead this game is a must . Expand
  12. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Brutal Legend serves as sort of the "Jack of all trades; master of none" of video games. The game is an enjoyable and funny creation from Tim Schafer and his team at Double Fine, and it incorporates several elements from other games into a single package. The problem is that it doesn't seem like any of those elements drawn from other genres are incredibly well-refined or utilized toBrutal Legend serves as sort of the "Jack of all trades; master of none" of video games. The game is an enjoyable and funny creation from Tim Schafer and his team at Double Fine, and it incorporates several elements from other games into a single package. The problem is that it doesn't seem like any of those elements drawn from other genres are incredibly well-refined or utilized to their fullest. It's got the combat of an action game without the fluidity, elements of an RTS without the needed ability for precision and management, and a sandbox-like open world that's only full of the same three or four mission types. With all that being said the game isn't necessarily "bad," but rather too ambitious for it's own good. As unrealized as many of the game's elements are, each one is tolerable to solid at what it does. The game is also quite hilarious in it's writing and contains top notch voice talent from Jack Black and Co. to really bring the world to life. There's an inherent lack of side-mission variety (like I said before) and the game's story missions are usually placed right next to the completion area of your last objective, so it doesn't do a great job of encouraging exploration. However, if you do take the time to get out there and see a bit more of the game's world, you'll find an adequate amount of enjoyment can be pulled out of the game in the long run. Expand
  13. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    A fantastic, funny, epic game that makes the rocker in me air guitar and dig out my Dio t-shirt.. Graphics are a touch cartoony for my taste, but easily forgivable due to the originality of this game. Music of course, rocks. enviroments are varied, and the whole expeiance its very good. its cheap and eaisly better than alot of junk out there, so pick it up and write a letter to EaA fantastic, funny, epic game that makes the rocker in me air guitar and dig out my Dio t-shirt.. Graphics are a touch cartoony for my taste, but easily forgivable due to the originality of this game. Music of course, rocks. enviroments are varied, and the whole expeiance its very good. its cheap and eaisly better than alot of junk out there, so pick it up and write a letter to Ea demanding Brutal Legend 2!!!! Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    This game seems tailor-made for a very niche audience. If you like hack-and-slashing, open-world driving, RTS, metal, comedy and Jack Black I can pretty much guarantee that you will love this game, but if any of those qualities aren't your thing, then you may want to give this game second thoughts. If they are, then while maybe not game of the year material, it's definitely worth yourThis game seems tailor-made for a very niche audience. If you like hack-and-slashing, open-world driving, RTS, metal, comedy and Jack Black I can pretty much guarantee that you will love this game, but if any of those qualities aren't your thing, then you may want to give this game second thoughts. If they are, then while maybe not game of the year material, it's definitely worth your time. The only real disappointment is the length of the single-player campaign, which took me just over 6 hours to complete. 6 great hours, but still.
    If you're still unsure I'd recommend looking up Jack Black's Brutal Thoughts series on YouTube. If you like those, you have no excuse to not get this game.
    Expand
  15. GusClass
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    Double Fine made one of the best games of 2009 with a great variety of gameplay, a creative plot, and tons of fun! It's rare that you see a game with this much innovation and unique gameplay. This game is not a blockbuster because it doesn't have the cookie cutter plot and effects of the generic hit, but this is definitely is going to be a cult classic, sleeper hit just as Double Fine made one of the best games of 2009 with a great variety of gameplay, a creative plot, and tons of fun! It's rare that you see a game with this much innovation and unique gameplay. This game is not a blockbuster because it doesn't have the cookie cutter plot and effects of the generic hit, but this is definitely is going to be a cult classic, sleeper hit just as Psychonauts was. If you liked Psychonauts, this is right up your alley. Expand
  16. Gary
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    Everything about this game is awesome... except the gameplay. The soundtrack, voice acting, writing, environment, and art direction are original and very well done. However, the gameplay, while starting out as a fun hack-and-slash, ends up turning into this terrible RTS/hack-and-slash hybrid and the gamelplay turns into a nice blend of boring mixed with frustration. Real time strategy Everything about this game is awesome... except the gameplay. The soundtrack, voice acting, writing, environment, and art direction are original and very well done. However, the gameplay, while starting out as a fun hack-and-slash, ends up turning into this terrible RTS/hack-and-slash hybrid and the gamelplay turns into a nice blend of boring mixed with frustration. Real time strategy games do not work on consoles. Period. I wish this game was better but the good aspects of the game make up for the bad aspects just barely enough for me to keep playing it. Expand
  17. ColinJ
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Intresting game with great mechnics and missions. The exploration is fun and great for people who like metal. This is one of if not the best Tim Schafer game.
  18. ChuckD
    Dec 19, 2009
    7
    game starts out strong, good graphics and soundtrack but it tries to be too many things at once. when you start having to manage your fan troops and do all this battlefield stuff, it lost me. i liked the humor and exploration/upgrading aspects as well as how they made metal music and it's culture integrated into the game in nice ways. but it got tedious and kind of boring after about game starts out strong, good graphics and soundtrack but it tries to be too many things at once. when you start having to manage your fan troops and do all this battlefield stuff, it lost me. i liked the humor and exploration/upgrading aspects as well as how they made metal music and it's culture integrated into the game in nice ways. but it got tedious and kind of boring after about 3-4 hours of gameplay. definitely try before you buy. Expand
  19. yomama
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I had high expectations but heard that it was no Modern Warfare 2. Given that I started playing almost expecting the worst. This was probably the funnest game I've played in a while. The story is top notch and the voice acting just adds to it. The game play doesn't bring anything new to the table but that means they didn't mess it up by trying to do something the game I had high expectations but heard that it was no Modern Warfare 2. Given that I started playing almost expecting the worst. This was probably the funnest game I've played in a while. The story is top notch and the voice acting just adds to it. The game play doesn't bring anything new to the table but that means they didn't mess it up by trying to do something the game wasn't going to do well. All I could think of after finishing the game is when it Brutal Legend 2 going to be coming out? Expand
  20. YannEA
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    The most fun and unique experience on my 360 in a long time. Sure, there are some minor issues here and there, but like any great guitar solo a couple of notes out of tune will not ruin an otherwise original and fun time. My rating?...BUY IT NOW
  21. ArbiterXXL
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    This is really one of the best metal based games ever. I'd give it a 9 for all the gameplay it took me about 43 hours for 100% completion its just a good game for metal heads like me
  22. CodyB.
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Its too bad that a game is nearly ruined by horrible glitchy gameplay mechanics. I only give it points for story, music, and voice acting. Other than that, I had a headache after playing it each night. So frustrating and unpolished. I hope they do a sequel and polish it up.
  23. JamesF.
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    If you love metal, you will love this game. If you don't like metal (or don't care about it), you will find this game average. I LOVE METAL and Ozzy, so I gave it a 10.
  24. JamesK
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, loved every minute and I'm not even a big metal fan, the world is mind bogglingly awesome, buy it, play it, love it. The only thing that holds this back from a 10 is the repetitive quest structure, could of done with better quest design.
  25. jeromed.
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Despite obvious fault, this game success where it matters. Cool design, humor, design, OST, METAL! Basically, it's a game you fall in love with after the first 30 minutes. Sure, it might lacks a bit in gameplay, but it still deserve more attention than every other games this month.
  26. JeremyM
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    great story, keeps me and the wife entertained for hours. yes it could have been longer, but the story is of such good quality that you won't notice. Side missions are a bonus. is it a GTA game, no, is it an RTS, no, is it a hack n slash, not likely. Its a mix of all these. I feel it does them all justice. The RTS stuff is cool, however you get the most out of it when you send eddie great story, keeps me and the wife entertained for hours. yes it could have been longer, but the story is of such good quality that you won't notice. Side missions are a bonus. is it a GTA game, no, is it an RTS, no, is it a hack n slash, not likely. Its a mix of all these. I feel it does them all justice. The RTS stuff is cool, however you get the most out of it when you send eddie in there to fight to. You cant just manage your units to take care of things for you, its cause they arent the smartest monsters in the land. I mean they attack, but they only do what you tell them... As long as you are there battling it out with them, you will have a blast. 9 out of ten because I wanted deathmatch too!!1 but whatever. Expand
  27. DevinH
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    I have to start this review letting the reader know something
  28. killswitch1968
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an engrossing tale with characters that are likable, and top of the line voice acting. Jack Black does a fantastic job. The hilarious dialogue and spoofs carry the game's first half, and by then you are genuinally interested in the characters and plot in the second half. There are numerous different environments that aren't simply repeated tilesets. The artwork is amazing. I would have liked to see the ridable animals better implemented, but really, this is a terrific game that while could have been better, stands on its own just fine. 10/10 for story and presentation. Expand
  29. JimmyB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than playing as though it were a highly-micromanaged strategy game. I had much more fun playing on the field assisting my army than controlling them from above and this, I believe, is how the game was intended to be enjoyed! Expand
  30. AnthoyH
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game, despite its short length. I knew the strategy element was going to be present in the game, which is actually why I like it so much. I love RTS games, and this system of gameplay resembles it, but is different enough to feel fresh and works on the console. The world of Brual Legend and the characters that inhabit it are polished and fleshed out. Great game, This is an amazing game, despite its short length. I knew the strategy element was going to be present in the game, which is actually why I like it so much. I love RTS games, and this system of gameplay resembles it, but is different enough to feel fresh and works on the console. The world of Brual Legend and the characters that inhabit it are polished and fleshed out. Great game, I'm loving the multiplayer. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.