User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 273
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrentYoung
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    entertaining, but nowhere near a 10. Has many flaws, but most of them can be overlooked due to the enganging story and fun characters. Alot of people give it a high score simply due to the creator, however the game is good, just not one that's gona elevate him to the level he desires.
  2. Kaz
    Oct 13, 2009
    3
    The game was really short and the side quests were quite repetitive. While some of the gameplay aspects were interesting, they were not very developed and some (like the RTS stuff) do not seem to fit in. Overall I would say it was quite disappointing considering the amount of hype it was given.
  3. GEOFFREYD.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Absolutely awesome. the game just screams rock and roll. the graphics are great, the music fitting (love rock of ages), and Jack Black makes you want to keep going just to hear his next one-liners. Definite must buy. Keep up the awesome work Tim!
  4. [Anonymous]
    Oct 14, 2009
    7
    This game has a great soundtrack, mostly great voice acting, good graphics and good writing. However, there's not much game to the game itself. The fighting doesn't feel that satisfying as enemies later in the game take countless slashes to kill, even with multiple upgrades and combos. The driving doesn't feel right and the many obstacles often get you stuck which gets This game has a great soundtrack, mostly great voice acting, good graphics and good writing. However, there's not much game to the game itself. The fighting doesn't feel that satisfying as enemies later in the game take countless slashes to kill, even with multiple upgrades and combos. The driving doesn't feel right and the many obstacles often get you stuck which gets frustrating after a while. The RTS part that dominates every key battle is not very well designed. You don't have a map so it's hard to spot enemies or even your own troops. You're usually left disoriented and overwhelmed. After a while you get used to it but it still stays the same tedious task. Order units, guide them somewhere, fight forever or simply use a Solo such as the Facemelter (which does look pretty awesome) to kill your foes quickly. This whole setting had much more potential. Unfortunately all we have here is a game that can be enjoyed if you're willing to tolerate its obvious and at times very frustrating design flaws. The side quests are forgettable so all that's left is a very short ride (6-8 hours max) and the feeling that they didn't even get close to the potential this game had. Too bad. Enjoy the soundtrack, though! Expand
  5. onionringzombie
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    Overall a great game from start to finish. A few minor bugs are present, but it isn't enough to take away from the experience. The RTS mechanics can be a bit wacky to get used to, but after a few tries it starts to make sense. The voice actors deliver a very memorable performace as well, and the script left me laughing uncontrollably at times. While it may not win game of the year, Overall a great game from start to finish. A few minor bugs are present, but it isn't enough to take away from the experience. The RTS mechanics can be a bit wacky to get used to, but after a few tries it starts to make sense. The voice actors deliver a very memorable performace as well, and the script left me laughing uncontrollably at times. While it may not win game of the year, Brutal Legend is worth checking out. Expand
  6. Tristan
    Oct 18, 2009
    3
    I'm a bit disappointed by this, mainly because I really liked Psychonauts. I found the driving parts frankly just plain irritating, the druid plow not really handling in a particularly satisfying way. This is only compounded by the fact that there are no interesting, fun or engaging distractions between missions. The melee combat was just OK. The final slap in the face is that most I'm a bit disappointed by this, mainly because I really liked Psychonauts. I found the driving parts frankly just plain irritating, the druid plow not really handling in a particularly satisfying way. This is only compounded by the fact that there are no interesting, fun or engaging distractions between missions. The melee combat was just OK. The final slap in the face is that most of the characters seemed waaaayyyy too idiotic to even be amusing. I suppose it doesn't help that I'm not really into the metal homage angle either. Expand
  7. JimmyB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than playing as though it were a highly-micromanaged strategy game. I had much more fun playing on the field assisting my army than controlling them from above and this, I believe, is how the game was intended to be enjoyed! Expand
  8. IanC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I've never been a big metal fan, but all you need to thoroughly enjoy this game is a willingness to buy into the whole concept of epicness. I was somewhat put off by the first RTS battle, since it seemed to lack depth and control, but the missing pieces were soon revealed and it all came together nicely. The overall gamplay was very refreshing, in that it was something that I had I've never been a big metal fan, but all you need to thoroughly enjoy this game is a willingness to buy into the whole concept of epicness. I was somewhat put off by the first RTS battle, since it seemed to lack depth and control, but the missing pieces were soon revealed and it all came together nicely. The overall gamplay was very refreshing, in that it was something that I had never experienced or expected to experience. It wasn't as simply funny as previous Shaffer games, but this suits the overall tone as his talents are instead directed towards creating an "Epic" narrative, which is in turn hilarious in the moments that you stop to actually consider the context of what you are doing. The upgrade system was extremely well balanced, in that I never had so much "currency" that I lost the desire to seach for more, and yet if I put my mind to it I was always able to splurge for something that I just had to have. To sum it all up, I don't remember the last time that I've played a game that made me smile so much. Expand
  9. DevinH
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    I have to start this review letting the reader know something
  10. YannEA
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    The most fun and unique experience on my 360 in a long time. Sure, there are some minor issues here and there, but like any great guitar solo a couple of notes out of tune will not ruin an otherwise original and fun time. My rating?...BUY IT NOW
  11. MickD.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, believe the hype. Uncharted who? Double Fine and EA have done it again. I want them to have my babies and I can't even make babies. This game is so hot it makes me sweat pumpkin pie milkshake juice all over my neckbeard. So to all my homies out there, buy Brutal Legend or else you must hate America.
  12. ConnorV
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    I am not one to rate games usually, but this one I made an exception, why, because it is an incredible game with an incredible story. It's multiplayer is also very entertaining. I would probally give it a 9.7 normally, because there are a few bumps in it, but it controls well, is fun, looks good, and is difficult enough for hardcore gamers. Only other real comment to make, is that if I am not one to rate games usually, but this one I made an exception, why, because it is an incredible game with an incredible story. It's multiplayer is also very entertaining. I would probally give it a 9.7 normally, because there are a few bumps in it, but it controls well, is fun, looks good, and is difficult enough for hardcore gamers. Only other real comment to make, is that if you do not play games a lot, keep the difficulty low, it is HARD. Expand
  13. ShaneC
    Oct 13, 2009
    5
    Other than the metal head window dressing, this game doesn't accomplish anything new. I would suggest that anyone interested in this title should give it a rental first. To those tempted to drop their $60 on this title, I would also suggest check out an upcoming release list and pick something with a LOT more replay value.
  14. HartenB
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    As a massive heavy metal fan, this was an easy pick. But some sluggishness in the combat and misplaced puzzles broke the heavy metal reverie. HOWEVER. The story and environment make up for it in spades, with an engrossing world and clearly well designed concept and characters, Brutal Legend secures its place in the tome of metal mythology as one of the first games to capture the essence of Metal.
  15. StevenA.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is spectacular. Graphics and animations are colorful and intertaining, the mix of gameplay types really builds variety, the voice acting is execellent and the heavy metal music and quality is top-notch. Being unable to jump in a game like Brutal Legend takes time getting used to and the story mode is shorter than expected to be. Still, it's an excellent package and the best This game is spectacular. Graphics and animations are colorful and intertaining, the mix of gameplay types really builds variety, the voice acting is execellent and the heavy metal music and quality is top-notch. Being unable to jump in a game like Brutal Legend takes time getting used to and the story mode is shorter than expected to be. Still, it's an excellent package and the best choice for an adventure game for the Xbox 360 or the PS3. Expand
  16. Russ
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    It's bloody, it's violent, and it ROCKS! Tim Schafer creates another masterpiece. You've got guys like Jack Black, Rob Halford, and Ozzy @#$%ing Osbourne as voice actors. It gets a little repetitive, but Brutal Legend has solid combat, lots to do, and is @#$ing funny! FACEMELTAAAAAAA!!!!!!!
  17. steveb.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. Tim Schauffer, Jack Black and heavy metal. If you don't like those three things then don't bother with it. But if you do then your in for a wicked ride.
  18. ArjanS.
    Oct 14, 2009
    6
    I didn't like the way it turned into a RTS game (I hate all things C&C-ish). I bought this because it's a Tim Schaeffer game and I love the man but this is too much of the same thing. I also think Jack Black is good in this game (because the Jack Blackness is minimal) but it could have been soo much better.
  19. KP
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    It's this simple. If you grew up with metal pumping through your veins, this is a must play. It's all about the whole experience with this game. Getting to go to some of your favorite rock icons for help is so cool. And just beating on some hairband "posers" in pink is worth it alone. For those non metal fans, the game play is average at best, so I'd probably skip it. If I It's this simple. If you grew up with metal pumping through your veins, this is a must play. It's all about the whole experience with this game. Getting to go to some of your favorite rock icons for help is so cool. And just beating on some hairband "posers" in pink is worth it alone. For those non metal fans, the game play is average at best, so I'd probably skip it. If I wasn't a metal fan I'd give the game a 7. But I am, so it gets a 9. Expand
  20. ColinC
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Very fun game. I'd recommend you play on the hardest difficulty level though. It's not crazy hard, but it will give you enough of a challenge to make you feel you earned your victory. Special call-out to the level design. If you want to find all those hidden dragon statues, you really have to go off the beaten path.
  21. jasongarnham
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    one of the best games ive played this year good graphics great music good blend of rts and 3rd person adventure no it wont be liked if you hate heavy metal if you do do then a treat is in store most fun ive had in ages most of all this game is fun!
  22. JimboH
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Imagine, if you will, that you are a professor grading short stories, and one student turns in the most amazing story you have read. However, it's missing things like decent punctuation, correct spelling, and has coffee stains all over it. This pretty much describes Brutal Legend. The game itself is impressive in many respects, but it has visible and basic flaws which you just cannot Imagine, if you will, that you are a professor grading short stories, and one student turns in the most amazing story you have read. However, it's missing things like decent punctuation, correct spelling, and has coffee stains all over it. This pretty much describes Brutal Legend. The game itself is impressive in many respects, but it has visible and basic flaws which you just cannot give a perfect score as a result of. Many of these defects are things like sound for unique dialogue which you could accidentally interrupt, repetitive dialogue, idle animations which are too "loopy", and other things that seem to give the game the feel that it has a lack of polish. Nevertheless, the central story is great and at times funny, and really defines what kind of transformation game story-telling should take now that everyone has "been there and done that" in terms of gameplay. Speaking of gameplay, this is not likely something you've played before. The entire campaign is there to teach you battle mode, and actually feels a like it ends a little abruptly. I beat it after 4 days, playing 2 - 5 hours a day (about 14 hours of gameplay) on the brutal difficulty. This doesn't count the amount of time you could spend driving around looking for all the hidden goodies on the landscape. It's not a real time strategy game by the way. Rather, it fits into the Real Time Action Strategy genre, originally defined by the game BattleZone (1998). After a few online games, I can say that the design so far has held up, there aren't any obvious imbalances between the 3 factions (which are actually pretty unique). Unfortunately, all strategy games have required patching, and patching on a console has always been very flaky and limited, so we will see how long this goes before some cheese shows up that ruins the game. The good news is so far, a lot of the online components, at least for 1v1s, work well. For some reason your basic controls (such as pulling up and selecting something from a menu) are affected by lag, but I've had decent success even with "yellow" lag games. There are times when your character wont respond that I'm sure will get frustrating time and time again, but either I've never been host, or the host advantage in the game is actually fair and lags both the clients and the host in a fair way. One drawback is that getting together a team (which seems like it would be the most fun) requires inviting people, and there is no auto-match element to get put on a random team like halo or gears. Overall, the RTAS element is pretty fun though, and its a shame that this will undoubtingly be the most misunderstood aspect of the game despite how careful the campaign is to the introduce you to its elements. Overall, this game is best fit as a renter. Its unique gameplay definitely wont appease everyone, but in the process of renting the game you need to give it a chance to fully understand it (i.e. more than 4 hours). The campaign is enjoyable but beatable in a week, and you might not enjoy the multiplayer aspect enough to merit owning the game. Expand
  23. ArbiterXXL
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    This is really one of the best metal based games ever. I'd give it a 9 for all the gameplay it took me about 43 hours for 100% completion its just a good game for metal heads like me
  24. JosephM
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    Really solid and fun game! There is nothing new here game play wise however it is an interesting mix of classic game play elements in a new backdrop. The game appears simple for the first 3-6hours of play as they slowly ramp you up on your abilities. Once you start into your first couple RTS battles you begin to see what the long tutorial was for. Some people might not like the slow ramp Really solid and fun game! There is nothing new here game play wise however it is an interesting mix of classic game play elements in a new backdrop. The game appears simple for the first 3-6hours of play as they slowly ramp you up on your abilities. Once you start into your first couple RTS battles you begin to see what the long tutorial was for. Some people might not like the slow ramp up, others may feel like the game changed on them when the RTS elements are added. Others will like it a lot. Overall I think it is a good package with a1/2 way decent story and fairly solid game play. Remember, you won't see anything earth-shattering or new here but it is a fun game nonetheless. Expand
  25. ColinJ
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Intresting game with great mechnics and missions. The exploration is fun and great for people who like metal. This is one of if not the best Tim Schafer game.
  26. jeromed.
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Despite obvious fault, this game success where it matters. Cool design, humor, design, OST, METAL! Basically, it's a game you fall in love with after the first 30 minutes. Sure, it might lacks a bit in gameplay, but it still deserve more attention than every other games this month.
  27. yomama
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I had high expectations but heard that it was no Modern Warfare 2. Given that I started playing almost expecting the worst. This was probably the funnest game I've played in a while. The story is top notch and the voice acting just adds to it. The game play doesn't bring anything new to the table but that means they didn't mess it up by trying to do something the game I had high expectations but heard that it was no Modern Warfare 2. Given that I started playing almost expecting the worst. This was probably the funnest game I've played in a while. The story is top notch and the voice acting just adds to it. The game play doesn't bring anything new to the table but that means they didn't mess it up by trying to do something the game wasn't going to do well. All I could think of after finishing the game is when it Brutal Legend 2 going to be coming out? Expand
  28. TylerM
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game that will, like Schafers previous title, be lost because of poor reviews. The game is far from perfect, but in a world dominated by sequels and generic titles, any thing this creative should be recognized as such. Schafer is an artist, he has proved this time and time again. he is not the best game designer but his games have more than enough character to redeem This is an amazing game that will, like Schafers previous title, be lost because of poor reviews. The game is far from perfect, but in a world dominated by sequels and generic titles, any thing this creative should be recognized as such. Schafer is an artist, he has proved this time and time again. he is not the best game designer but his games have more than enough character to redeem any flaws in game design. if you look at the full review from any of the scores above you'll see they all say how fun the game is, then they tear it down. personally i would prefer a fun game over a perfect game. Expand
  29. JayD
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    My only gripe is that there are not as many progression choices as I would have liked. I wanted to be a straight up metal wizard or something but oh well. Still an awesome game.
  30. DennisS.
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    It's not perfect. But the story, characters, the world, the design is brilliant and most of the gameplay is fun like hell. Regarding the length, why does it matter? If I had a good time with it - it's worth the money. At least in my book.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.