User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 249

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Lance
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    The game starts out lively and fresh. The dialogue and characters are both interesting and witty. Combat is introduced as simple button smashing. At times mixing an x after a series of a. It doesn't go anywhere though. In addition there are combat mechanics such as blocking, which really do nothing other then hinder the player. During large fights the player will be juggle resource The game starts out lively and fresh. The dialogue and characters are both interesting and witty. Combat is introduced as simple button smashing. At times mixing an x after a series of a. It doesn't go anywhere though. In addition there are combat mechanics such as blocking, which really do nothing other then hinder the player. During large fights the player will be juggle resource management, strategy, build cues, army orders, music riffs (rythm game), personal combat and well most players just have too much on their mind to time blocks. Moving on the game's story progresses nicely with additional side missions available for those wishing to earn extra fire tribute, the game's currency. These side missions just like combat, they start out simply enough and never progress. And because of the ratcheting difficulty they sort of turn into a must if the player is on a harder level. Because of their repetitive nature it in essence turns into grinding/farming. The RTS elements of the game are great but with the added demands of Eddie's presence on the battle field to ensure victory, it's just another burdensome mechanic. In the end the player is left juggling grinding side missions, tracking down ball gagged dragons to earn boosts need to stay competitive, and a host of other items. Adding in the god awful, unbalanced races and it's enough for some players to walk away. On a side note, I suspect if neither Jack Black, or Time Schaffer were attached to this game, we Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2014
    6
    I really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting greatI really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting great with special congratulations for the more than satisfactory voice work by rock stars Ozzy Osborne and Lemmy Kilmister. Jack Black really sells the story most of all with his timed delivery. So, Enjoyed the story and nostalgic music, but the fighting and battles wasn't fun. Expand
  3. Tristan
    Oct 18, 2009
    3
    I'm a bit disappointed by this, mainly because I really liked Psychonauts. I found the driving parts frankly just plain irritating, the druid plow not really handling in a particularly satisfying way. This is only compounded by the fact that there are no interesting, fun or engaging distractions between missions. The melee combat was just OK. The final slap in the face is that most I'm a bit disappointed by this, mainly because I really liked Psychonauts. I found the driving parts frankly just plain irritating, the druid plow not really handling in a particularly satisfying way. This is only compounded by the fact that there are no interesting, fun or engaging distractions between missions. The melee combat was just OK. The final slap in the face is that most of the characters seemed waaaayyyy too idiotic to even be amusing. I suppose it doesn't help that I'm not really into the metal homage angle either. Collapse
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    I'd say there is only one flaw about this game...that nearly nobody knows this...Superb mix of action and real-time strategy, top notch soundtrack, exceptional screenplay, lots of fun and Jack Black as a main protagonist. For me it's definitely 10/10.
  5. ShaneC
    Oct 13, 2009
    5
    Other than the metal head window dressing, this game doesn't accomplish anything new. I would suggest that anyone interested in this title should give it a rental first. To those tempted to drop their $60 on this title, I would also suggest check out an upcoming release list and pick something with a LOT more replay value.
  6. AdamD.
    Oct 15, 2009
    5
    A real bitter disappointment after the brilliance of Psychonauts. Suffers from a severe lack of cohesion in it's ideas. As an homage to metal I'm sure it is unsurpassed but as an interactive experience it is severely flawed. Combat is loose and unsatisfying, you act as merely a modifier to the mess of an RTS component which serves as the meat of the dish. Clunky and convoluted, A real bitter disappointment after the brilliance of Psychonauts. Suffers from a severe lack of cohesion in it's ideas. As an homage to metal I'm sure it is unsurpassed but as an interactive experience it is severely flawed. Combat is loose and unsatisfying, you act as merely a modifier to the mess of an RTS component which serves as the meat of the dish. Clunky and convoluted, this is what the single player game is preparing you for, but what early previews did not. The metacritic score is sorely unbalanced as I feel this game has been getting high scores due to the 'underdog' nature of this game. In this case, I feel it deservedly retains that underdog moniker. Tim Schafer and his team are undoubtedly talented and really shine when it comes to scripts, however Tim's background in point and click experiences have not prepared him for branching out into more tactile experiences. Games need to have interesting and satisfying mechanics and controls for ideas to hand off of, not often does it work in reverse. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. IThis is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. I actually loved the RTS segments of the game, really something different. It was just a real shame they feel a bit underdone. With some more polish and attention they could have been the star of the game, but instead come off as an interesting side activity. Jack Black was just born for this role. Perfect casting of him and Tim Curry. A real shame how little we see of the main villain in the game. Nice little plot twist with the leading lady, a shame that story wasn't given as much attention as the first act. Overall: A great, but not perfect game that tried to add something new. Expand
  8. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    Such a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play aSuch a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play a RTS where he cant control his units fluently? No one. Still the game has something that makes up for all the failures: The setting. Yes, I love Metal. And this game is such a great tribute to Metal, and it even does it in an intelligent way. On Top of that the Characters are the best i have seen in Games for a while. A lovely bunch of Metalheads all around. I would give this a 10 out of 10 if it was a movie, but the actual playing part sucks so hard that it gets down to 5. And much difference to a movie isnt there anyway, since the game is only about 4-5 hours long. Expand
  9. gamer
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    For me, any game under 7 is a zero since i won't play it for long so why should it matter? anyways, the game is an utter disappointment. i've played 4 hrs of it. i can't say there is anything great about this. the soundtrack is good but who cares? it is basically real songs that you can find anywhere. the humor while being great at first, gets old REALLY fast. the quests For me, any game under 7 is a zero since i won't play it for long so why should it matter? anyways, the game is an utter disappointment. i've played 4 hrs of it. i can't say there is anything great about this. the soundtrack is good but who cares? it is basically real songs that you can find anywhere. the humor while being great at first, gets old REALLY fast. the quests are utterly simple, i can't help but feel that this game was made for casual gamers. the combat is idiotic, the entire time i wasn't even sure that i could die at all. the world is almost empty, it feels like theres nothing to explore(it seems full but they're just fillers). raising the garages are stupid too. this game lets you find metal ruins and raise them, it lets you go inside and buy upgrades. at first i thought there would be many ruins, but it turns out it's basically the same thing everywhere. i was shocked the first time i entered my second garage and realized its the same thing. i did not advance far enough to see real rts but from what i've seen, it looks like they were trying to create Overlord but failed miserably. Overlord wasn't great to begin with. last but not least, this is a small bit but it bugged me to no end; the car automatically brakes when you get go of the gas. no game i've ever played does that, the car always drifts when you let go. it was just such a weird feeling i couldn't shake it. tl;dr boring as hell hack and slash game. difficulty and depth was made for casual gamers ie those who play web games in their free time. hack and slash is a very difficult genre to make a good game out of, one of the only few good ones was god of war. brutal legends is recommended for those who don't play games often but enjoy metal music and themes. Expand
  10. Kaz
    Oct 13, 2009
    3
    The game was really short and the side quests were quite repetitive. While some of the gameplay aspects were interesting, they were not very developed and some (like the RTS stuff) do not seem to fit in. Overall I would say it was quite disappointing considering the amount of hype it was given.
  11. CodyB.
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Its too bad that a game is nearly ruined by horrible glitchy gameplay mechanics. I only give it points for story, music, and voice acting. Other than that, I had a headache after playing it each night. So frustrating and unpolished. I hope they do a sequel and polish it up.
  12. ChuckD
    Dec 19, 2009
    7
    game starts out strong, good graphics and soundtrack but it tries to be too many things at once. when you start having to manage your fan troops and do all this battlefield stuff, it lost me. i liked the humor and exploration/upgrading aspects as well as how they made metal music and it's culture integrated into the game in nice ways. but it got tedious and kind of boring after about game starts out strong, good graphics and soundtrack but it tries to be too many things at once. when you start having to manage your fan troops and do all this battlefield stuff, it lost me. i liked the humor and exploration/upgrading aspects as well as how they made metal music and it's culture integrated into the game in nice ways. but it got tedious and kind of boring after about 3-4 hours of gameplay. definitely try before you buy. Expand
  13. Gary
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    Everything about this game is awesome... except the gameplay. The soundtrack, voice acting, writing, environment, and art direction are original and very well done. However, the gameplay, while starting out as a fun hack-and-slash, ends up turning into this terrible RTS/hack-and-slash hybrid and the gamelplay turns into a nice blend of boring mixed with frustration. Real time strategy Everything about this game is awesome... except the gameplay. The soundtrack, voice acting, writing, environment, and art direction are original and very well done. However, the gameplay, while starting out as a fun hack-and-slash, ends up turning into this terrible RTS/hack-and-slash hybrid and the gamelplay turns into a nice blend of boring mixed with frustration. Real time strategy games do not work on consoles. Period. I wish this game was better but the good aspects of the game make up for the bad aspects just barely enough for me to keep playing it. Expand
  14. StevenA.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is spectacular. Graphics and animations are colorful and intertaining, the mix of gameplay types really builds variety, the voice acting is execellent and the heavy metal music and quality is top-notch. Being unable to jump in a game like Brutal Legend takes time getting used to and the story mode is shorter than expected to be. Still, it's an excellent package and the best This game is spectacular. Graphics and animations are colorful and intertaining, the mix of gameplay types really builds variety, the voice acting is execellent and the heavy metal music and quality is top-notch. Being unable to jump in a game like Brutal Legend takes time getting used to and the story mode is shorter than expected to be. Still, it's an excellent package and the best choice for an adventure game for the Xbox 360 or the PS3. Expand
  15. MickD.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, believe the hype. Uncharted who? Double Fine and EA have done it again. I want them to have my babies and I can't even make babies. This game is so hot it makes me sweat pumpkin pie milkshake juice all over my neckbeard. So to all my homies out there, buy Brutal Legend or else you must hate America.
  16. ConnorV
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    I am not one to rate games usually, but this one I made an exception, why, because it is an incredible game with an incredible story. It's multiplayer is also very entertaining. I would probally give it a 9.7 normally, because there are a few bumps in it, but it controls well, is fun, looks good, and is difficult enough for hardcore gamers. Only other real comment to make, is that if I am not one to rate games usually, but this one I made an exception, why, because it is an incredible game with an incredible story. It's multiplayer is also very entertaining. I would probally give it a 9.7 normally, because there are a few bumps in it, but it controls well, is fun, looks good, and is difficult enough for hardcore gamers. Only other real comment to make, is that if you do not play games a lot, keep the difficulty low, it is HARD. Expand
  17. TylerM
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game that will, like Schafers previous title, be lost because of poor reviews. The game is far from perfect, but in a world dominated by sequels and generic titles, any thing this creative should be recognized as such. Schafer is an artist, he has proved this time and time again. he is not the best game designer but his games have more than enough character to redeem This is an amazing game that will, like Schafers previous title, be lost because of poor reviews. The game is far from perfect, but in a world dominated by sequels and generic titles, any thing this creative should be recognized as such. Schafer is an artist, he has proved this time and time again. he is not the best game designer but his games have more than enough character to redeem any flaws in game design. if you look at the full review from any of the scores above you'll see they all say how fun the game is, then they tear it down. personally i would prefer a fun game over a perfect game. Expand
  18. HartenB
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    As a massive heavy metal fan, this was an easy pick. But some sluggishness in the combat and misplaced puzzles broke the heavy metal reverie. HOWEVER. The story and environment make up for it in spades, with an engrossing world and clearly well designed concept and characters, Brutal Legend secures its place in the tome of metal mythology as one of the first games to capture the essence of Metal.
  19. KP
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    It's this simple. If you grew up with metal pumping through your veins, this is a must play. It's all about the whole experience with this game. Getting to go to some of your favorite rock icons for help is so cool. And just beating on some hairband "posers" in pink is worth it alone. For those non metal fans, the game play is average at best, so I'd probably skip it. If I It's this simple. If you grew up with metal pumping through your veins, this is a must play. It's all about the whole experience with this game. Getting to go to some of your favorite rock icons for help is so cool. And just beating on some hairband "posers" in pink is worth it alone. For those non metal fans, the game play is average at best, so I'd probably skip it. If I wasn't a metal fan I'd give the game a 7. But I am, so it gets a 9. Expand
  20. ColinC
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Very fun game. I'd recommend you play on the hardest difficulty level though. It's not crazy hard, but it will give you enough of a challenge to make you feel you earned your victory. Special call-out to the level design. If you want to find all those hidden dragon statues, you really have to go off the beaten path.
  21. onionringzombie
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    Overall a great game from start to finish. A few minor bugs are present, but it isn't enough to take away from the experience. The RTS mechanics can be a bit wacky to get used to, but after a few tries it starts to make sense. The voice actors deliver a very memorable performace as well, and the script left me laughing uncontrollably at times. While it may not win game of the year, Overall a great game from start to finish. A few minor bugs are present, but it isn't enough to take away from the experience. The RTS mechanics can be a bit wacky to get used to, but after a few tries it starts to make sense. The voice actors deliver a very memorable performace as well, and the script left me laughing uncontrollably at times. While it may not win game of the year, Brutal Legend is worth checking out. Expand
  22. Garethw
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Finally a game that made me laugh as much as a good tv/movie comedy. Been a long time coming. To the reviews saying the gameplay is weak i disagree - its better than other recent hackers (fable 2 springs to mind) plus has fun vehicle and multiplayer elements. Game of the year for me so far.
  23. jasongarnham
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    one of the best games ive played this year good graphics great music good blend of rts and 3rd person adventure no it wont be liked if you hate heavy metal if you do do then a treat is in store most fun ive had in ages most of all this game is fun!
  24. JimboH
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Imagine, if you will, that you are a professor grading short stories, and one student turns in the most amazing story you have read. However, it's missing things like decent punctuation, correct spelling, and has coffee stains all over it. This pretty much describes Brutal Legend. The game itself is impressive in many respects, but it has visible and basic flaws which you just cannot Imagine, if you will, that you are a professor grading short stories, and one student turns in the most amazing story you have read. However, it's missing things like decent punctuation, correct spelling, and has coffee stains all over it. This pretty much describes Brutal Legend. The game itself is impressive in many respects, but it has visible and basic flaws which you just cannot give a perfect score as a result of. Many of these defects are things like sound for unique dialogue which you could accidentally interrupt, repetitive dialogue, idle animations which are too "loopy", and other things that seem to give the game the feel that it has a lack of polish. Nevertheless, the central story is great and at times funny, and really defines what kind of transformation game story-telling should take now that everyone has "been there and done that" in terms of gameplay. Speaking of gameplay, this is not likely something you've played before. The entire campaign is there to teach you battle mode, and actually feels a like it ends a little abruptly. I beat it after 4 days, playing 2 - 5 hours a day (about 14 hours of gameplay) on the brutal difficulty. This doesn't count the amount of time you could spend driving around looking for all the hidden goodies on the landscape. It's not a real time strategy game by the way. Rather, it fits into the Real Time Action Strategy genre, originally defined by the game BattleZone (1998). After a few online games, I can say that the design so far has held up, there aren't any obvious imbalances between the 3 factions (which are actually pretty unique). Unfortunately, all strategy games have required patching, and patching on a console has always been very flaky and limited, so we will see how long this goes before some cheese shows up that ruins the game. The good news is so far, a lot of the online components, at least for 1v1s, work well. For some reason your basic controls (such as pulling up and selecting something from a menu) are affected by lag, but I've had decent success even with "yellow" lag games. There are times when your character wont respond that I'm sure will get frustrating time and time again, but either I've never been host, or the host advantage in the game is actually fair and lags both the clients and the host in a fair way. One drawback is that getting together a team (which seems like it would be the most fun) requires inviting people, and there is no auto-match element to get put on a random team like halo or gears. Overall, the RTAS element is pretty fun though, and its a shame that this will undoubtingly be the most misunderstood aspect of the game despite how careful the campaign is to the introduce you to its elements. Overall, this game is best fit as a renter. Its unique gameplay definitely wont appease everyone, but in the process of renting the game you need to give it a chance to fully understand it (i.e. more than 4 hours). The campaign is enjoyable but beatable in a week, and you might not enjoy the multiplayer aspect enough to merit owning the game. Expand
  25. IanC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I've never been a big metal fan, but all you need to thoroughly enjoy this game is a willingness to buy into the whole concept of epicness. I was somewhat put off by the first RTS battle, since it seemed to lack depth and control, but the missing pieces were soon revealed and it all came together nicely. The overall gamplay was very refreshing, in that it was something that I had I've never been a big metal fan, but all you need to thoroughly enjoy this game is a willingness to buy into the whole concept of epicness. I was somewhat put off by the first RTS battle, since it seemed to lack depth and control, but the missing pieces were soon revealed and it all came together nicely. The overall gamplay was very refreshing, in that it was something that I had never experienced or expected to experience. It wasn't as simply funny as previous Shaffer games, but this suits the overall tone as his talents are instead directed towards creating an "Epic" narrative, which is in turn hilarious in the moments that you stop to actually consider the context of what you are doing. The upgrade system was extremely well balanced, in that I never had so much "currency" that I lost the desire to seach for more, and yet if I put my mind to it I was always able to splurge for something that I just had to have. To sum it all up, I don't remember the last time that I've played a game that made me smile so much. Expand
  26. JosephM
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    Really solid and fun game! There is nothing new here game play wise however it is an interesting mix of classic game play elements in a new backdrop. The game appears simple for the first 3-6hours of play as they slowly ramp you up on your abilities. Once you start into your first couple RTS battles you begin to see what the long tutorial was for. Some people might not like the slow ramp Really solid and fun game! There is nothing new here game play wise however it is an interesting mix of classic game play elements in a new backdrop. The game appears simple for the first 3-6hours of play as they slowly ramp you up on your abilities. Once you start into your first couple RTS battles you begin to see what the long tutorial was for. Some people might not like the slow ramp up, others may feel like the game changed on them when the RTS elements are added. Others will like it a lot. Overall I think it is a good package with a1/2 way decent story and fairly solid game play. Remember, you won't see anything earth-shattering or new here but it is a fun game nonetheless. Expand
  27. AnthoyH
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game, despite its short length. I knew the strategy element was going to be present in the game, which is actually why I like it so much. I love RTS games, and this system of gameplay resembles it, but is different enough to feel fresh and works on the console. The world of Brual Legend and the characters that inhabit it are polished and fleshed out. Great game, This is an amazing game, despite its short length. I knew the strategy element was going to be present in the game, which is actually why I like it so much. I love RTS games, and this system of gameplay resembles it, but is different enough to feel fresh and works on the console. The world of Brual Legend and the characters that inhabit it are polished and fleshed out. Great game, I'm loving the multiplayer. Expand
  28. JimmyB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than playing as though it were a highly-micromanaged strategy game. I had much more fun playing on the field assisting my army than controlling them from above and this, I believe, is how the game was intended to be enjoyed! Expand
  29. killswitch1968
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an engrossing tale with characters that are likable, and top of the line voice acting. Jack Black does a fantastic job. The hilarious dialogue and spoofs carry the game's first half, and by then you are genuinally interested in the characters and plot in the second half. There are numerous different environments that aren't simply repeated tilesets. The artwork is amazing. I would have liked to see the ridable animals better implemented, but really, this is a terrific game that while could have been better, stands on its own just fine. 10/10 for story and presentation. Expand
  30. DevinH
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    I have to start this review letting the reader know something
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.