User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 249

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    This is probably one of the most underrated games of this generation if not gaming history. Brutal Legend brought together a kick-ass soundtrack along with some very unique and entertaining game-play.
    When you first start the game you think this is going to be your average Action-Adventure game with Jack Black and Heavy Metal. But as you get further into the game it starts to turn into an
    This is probably one of the most underrated games of this generation if not gaming history. Brutal Legend brought together a kick-ass soundtrack along with some very unique and entertaining game-play.
    When you first start the game you think this is going to be your average Action-Adventure game with Jack Black and Heavy Metal. But as you get further into the game it starts to turn into an RTS, Action-Adventure, RPG type game. Yes, this game manages to throw all of those genres into one game, and the results payed off. This game is a ton of fun especially during the Stage Battles. The side missions also offer entertainment as well as looking for secrets to unlock. All of this combined with a car that plays dozens of different Heavy Metal tracks. I actually drove around for an hour just listening to Judas Priest and Black Sabbath tracks. There is one problem though is that your character cannot jump which leads to a lot of instances where you get stuck
    The story and cut-scenes also provide an interesting and entertaining mix to the gameplay. I was glad they had the common decency to add Ozzy and Lemmy in a game that is about a Heavy Metal fantasy land. The game also tends to poke fun at Black, Hair, and Nu Metal in a very hilarious way. The game knows when to be serious and when to be funny. I also liked the main character Eddie Riggs who constantly proves that he is a true hero and refuses the spotlight even though he did all of the work. I had a gripe about the time-travel element in the story not making any sense, but for the most part the game manages to tell a good story.
    Overall, this game is a must play for those looking for a unique gaming experience and heavy metal fans.
    Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2014
    6
    I really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting greatI really would like to give this more, but I have to admit the combat in this game, a mixture of button mashing and tower defense, leaves a lot to be desired. The story is written very smart, humorous and somewhat engrossing. The extra love they give this game in its nostalgic look, sound, and heavy metal references didn't go unnoticed. The animation was good, the voice acting great with special congratulations for the more than satisfactory voice work by rock stars Ozzy Osborne and Lemmy Kilmister. Jack Black really sells the story most of all with his timed delivery. So, Enjoyed the story and nostalgic music, but the fighting and battles wasn't fun. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is a truly Amazing game jack black is the man! great deep story the seriousness of it is severely underrated its a perfect game i hope they make a 2nd
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    Such a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play aSuch a tragedy. I can understand all ratings between 0 and 7, but the 8-10 is just plain wrong. The game itself is bad. The Action parts are few and not outstanding, but still the best the game has to offer gamewise. The driving parts are horrible because the driving physics are the worst i have seen in ages. The strategy parts are a nice idea but the controls are Who wants to play a RTS where he cant control his units fluently? No one. Still the game has something that makes up for all the failures: The setting. Yes, I love Metal. And this game is such a great tribute to Metal, and it even does it in an intelligent way. On Top of that the Characters are the best i have seen in Games for a while. A lovely bunch of Metalheads all around. I would give this a 10 out of 10 if it was a movie, but the actual playing part sucks so hard that it gets down to 5. And much difference to a movie isnt there anyway, since the game is only about 4-5 hours long. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    A must-have for any metal fan, the best soundtrack ever for heavy music. Gameplay is fun and offers more variety than most AAA games out there. The art is incredible, even if graphics has a simple, WoW style. Humour is excellent as to expect from double fine. Jack Black, Halford, Ozzy and Lemmy are awesome on voice talent and characterisation.
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    I'd say there is only one flaw about this game...that nearly nobody knows this...Superb mix of action and real-time strategy, top notch soundtrack, exceptional screenplay, lots of fun and Jack Black as a main protagonist. For me it's definitely 10/10.
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    amazing game , if you are lokinng for good music ,humor and a great story how will make you sit down at the sofa and play till the end !!
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. IThis is a game that is just an ode to old school rock. Anyone who lived in the late 80s to early 90s should love this game. The humor is great, the characters a great and overall gameplay is just awesome. But, if I had to be critical, I would say that the main story's pacing gets too fast once you're half way through. Almost feels like the last two acts of the game are incomplete/rushed. I actually loved the RTS segments of the game, really something different. It was just a real shame they feel a bit underdone. With some more polish and attention they could have been the star of the game, but instead come off as an interesting side activity. Jack Black was just born for this role. Perfect casting of him and Tim Curry. A real shame how little we see of the main villain in the game. Nice little plot twist with the leading lady, a shame that story wasn't given as much attention as the first act. Overall: A great, but not perfect game that tried to add something new. Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    molto molto bello con tanta avventura e azione la storia non è troppo coinvolgente per me . Una bella cosa è anche il fatto della guerra tra palchi . le missioni brevi, ma la fantasia di mostri e personaggi è molto creativa
  10. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Remélem valaki előbb-utóbb belefullad abba a pipába. Mert, hogy az minden egyes ilyen videóhoz kell az undoritó. nlykocka youtube csatorna. Egyik haverommal kezdtük el csinálni a cél ,hogy minél több feliratkozót gyűjtsünk. Természetesen ezek mellé el kezdtünk a nagyobb minecraft fanoknak videókat csinálni (de későbbiekben lesznek más gameplayek illetve fun videók is, kérdezz felelek , illetve amiket ti kértetek hogy milyen videót szeretnétek nézni akkor ,hogyha elakarjátok ütni az időt és lehet még tetszik is ! Naponta friss videók. Stb...stb..Ha meg tennéd azt ,hogy feliratkozol esetleg meg is nézed a videókat , likeolod azokat , vagy még pluszba extra ként meg is osztod őket, vagy hírdeted , az nagyon nagy segítség lenne számunkra kicsit feldobni a csatornát és elismerni ezt a munkát. Természetesen a videókon naponta 7-9 óra között dolgozunk szóval , várjuk a munka gyümölcsét :) Expand
  11. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome. The voice acting is amazing. The graphics are really good as well. The soundtrack is probably one of the best soundtracks to a game ever. The main character Eddie Riggs is voiced by Jack Black. You also have voice overs done by Lita Ford, Ozzy Osbourne, Brian Posehn, Lemmy Kilmister and Rob Halford. I always spend hours just driving around blasting Judas Priest,This game is awesome. The voice acting is amazing. The graphics are really good as well. The soundtrack is probably one of the best soundtracks to a game ever. The main character Eddie Riggs is voiced by Jack Black. You also have voice overs done by Lita Ford, Ozzy Osbourne, Brian Posehn, Lemmy Kilmister and Rob Halford. I always spend hours just driving around blasting Judas Priest, Slayer or whatever. If you are a metalhead this game is a must . Expand
  12. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Brutal Legend serves as sort of the "Jack of all trades; master of none" of video games. The game is an enjoyable and funny creation from Tim Schafer and his team at Double Fine, and it incorporates several elements from other games into a single package. The problem is that it doesn't seem like any of those elements drawn from other genres are incredibly well-refined or utilized toBrutal Legend serves as sort of the "Jack of all trades; master of none" of video games. The game is an enjoyable and funny creation from Tim Schafer and his team at Double Fine, and it incorporates several elements from other games into a single package. The problem is that it doesn't seem like any of those elements drawn from other genres are incredibly well-refined or utilized to their fullest. It's got the combat of an action game without the fluidity, elements of an RTS without the needed ability for precision and management, and a sandbox-like open world that's only full of the same three or four mission types. With all that being said the game isn't necessarily "bad," but rather too ambitious for it's own good. As unrealized as many of the game's elements are, each one is tolerable to solid at what it does. The game is also quite hilarious in it's writing and contains top notch voice talent from Jack Black and Co. to really bring the world to life. There's an inherent lack of side-mission variety (like I said before) and the game's story missions are usually placed right next to the completion area of your last objective, so it doesn't do a great job of encouraging exploration. However, if you do take the time to get out there and see a bit more of the game's world, you'll find an adequate amount of enjoyment can be pulled out of the game in the long run. Expand
  13. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    A fantastic, funny, epic game that makes the rocker in me air guitar and dig out my Dio t-shirt.. Graphics are a touch cartoony for my taste, but easily forgivable due to the originality of this game. Music of course, rocks. enviroments are varied, and the whole expeiance its very good. its cheap and eaisly better than alot of junk out there, so pick it up and write a letter to EaA fantastic, funny, epic game that makes the rocker in me air guitar and dig out my Dio t-shirt.. Graphics are a touch cartoony for my taste, but easily forgivable due to the originality of this game. Music of course, rocks. enviroments are varied, and the whole expeiance its very good. its cheap and eaisly better than alot of junk out there, so pick it up and write a letter to Ea demanding Brutal Legend 2!!!! Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    This game seems tailor-made for a very niche audience. If you like hack-and-slashing, open-world driving, RTS, metal, comedy and Jack Black I can pretty much guarantee that you will love this game, but if any of those qualities aren't your thing, then you may want to give this game second thoughts. If they are, then while maybe not game of the year material, it's definitely worth yourThis game seems tailor-made for a very niche audience. If you like hack-and-slashing, open-world driving, RTS, metal, comedy and Jack Black I can pretty much guarantee that you will love this game, but if any of those qualities aren't your thing, then you may want to give this game second thoughts. If they are, then while maybe not game of the year material, it's definitely worth your time. The only real disappointment is the length of the single-player campaign, which took me just over 6 hours to complete. 6 great hours, but still.
    If you're still unsure I'd recommend looking up Jack Black's Brutal Thoughts series on YouTube. If you like those, you have no excuse to not get this game.
    Expand
  15. GusClass
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    Double Fine made one of the best games of 2009 with a great variety of gameplay, a creative plot, and tons of fun! It's rare that you see a game with this much innovation and unique gameplay. This game is not a blockbuster because it doesn't have the cookie cutter plot and effects of the generic hit, but this is definitely is going to be a cult classic, sleeper hit just as Double Fine made one of the best games of 2009 with a great variety of gameplay, a creative plot, and tons of fun! It's rare that you see a game with this much innovation and unique gameplay. This game is not a blockbuster because it doesn't have the cookie cutter plot and effects of the generic hit, but this is definitely is going to be a cult classic, sleeper hit just as Psychonauts was. If you liked Psychonauts, this is right up your alley. Expand
  16. Gary
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    Everything about this game is awesome... except the gameplay. The soundtrack, voice acting, writing, environment, and art direction are original and very well done. However, the gameplay, while starting out as a fun hack-and-slash, ends up turning into this terrible RTS/hack-and-slash hybrid and the gamelplay turns into a nice blend of boring mixed with frustration. Real time strategy Everything about this game is awesome... except the gameplay. The soundtrack, voice acting, writing, environment, and art direction are original and very well done. However, the gameplay, while starting out as a fun hack-and-slash, ends up turning into this terrible RTS/hack-and-slash hybrid and the gamelplay turns into a nice blend of boring mixed with frustration. Real time strategy games do not work on consoles. Period. I wish this game was better but the good aspects of the game make up for the bad aspects just barely enough for me to keep playing it. Expand
  17. ColinJ
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Intresting game with great mechnics and missions. The exploration is fun and great for people who like metal. This is one of if not the best Tim Schafer game.
  18. ChuckD
    Dec 19, 2009
    7
    game starts out strong, good graphics and soundtrack but it tries to be too many things at once. when you start having to manage your fan troops and do all this battlefield stuff, it lost me. i liked the humor and exploration/upgrading aspects as well as how they made metal music and it's culture integrated into the game in nice ways. but it got tedious and kind of boring after about game starts out strong, good graphics and soundtrack but it tries to be too many things at once. when you start having to manage your fan troops and do all this battlefield stuff, it lost me. i liked the humor and exploration/upgrading aspects as well as how they made metal music and it's culture integrated into the game in nice ways. but it got tedious and kind of boring after about 3-4 hours of gameplay. definitely try before you buy. Expand
  19. yomama
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I had high expectations but heard that it was no Modern Warfare 2. Given that I started playing almost expecting the worst. This was probably the funnest game I've played in a while. The story is top notch and the voice acting just adds to it. The game play doesn't bring anything new to the table but that means they didn't mess it up by trying to do something the game I had high expectations but heard that it was no Modern Warfare 2. Given that I started playing almost expecting the worst. This was probably the funnest game I've played in a while. The story is top notch and the voice acting just adds to it. The game play doesn't bring anything new to the table but that means they didn't mess it up by trying to do something the game wasn't going to do well. All I could think of after finishing the game is when it Brutal Legend 2 going to be coming out? Expand
  20. YannEA
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    The most fun and unique experience on my 360 in a long time. Sure, there are some minor issues here and there, but like any great guitar solo a couple of notes out of tune will not ruin an otherwise original and fun time. My rating?...BUY IT NOW
  21. ArbiterXXL
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    This is really one of the best metal based games ever. I'd give it a 9 for all the gameplay it took me about 43 hours for 100% completion its just a good game for metal heads like me
  22. CodyB.
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    Its too bad that a game is nearly ruined by horrible glitchy gameplay mechanics. I only give it points for story, music, and voice acting. Other than that, I had a headache after playing it each night. So frustrating and unpolished. I hope they do a sequel and polish it up.
  23. JamesF.
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    If you love metal, you will love this game. If you don't like metal (or don't care about it), you will find this game average. I LOVE METAL and Ozzy, so I gave it a 10.
  24. JamesK
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, loved every minute and I'm not even a big metal fan, the world is mind bogglingly awesome, buy it, play it, love it. The only thing that holds this back from a 10 is the repetitive quest structure, could of done with better quest design.
  25. jeromed.
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Despite obvious fault, this game success where it matters. Cool design, humor, design, OST, METAL! Basically, it's a game you fall in love with after the first 30 minutes. Sure, it might lacks a bit in gameplay, but it still deserve more attention than every other games this month.
  26. JeremyM
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    great story, keeps me and the wife entertained for hours. yes it could have been longer, but the story is of such good quality that you won't notice. Side missions are a bonus. is it a GTA game, no, is it an RTS, no, is it a hack n slash, not likely. Its a mix of all these. I feel it does them all justice. The RTS stuff is cool, however you get the most out of it when you send eddie great story, keeps me and the wife entertained for hours. yes it could have been longer, but the story is of such good quality that you won't notice. Side missions are a bonus. is it a GTA game, no, is it an RTS, no, is it a hack n slash, not likely. Its a mix of all these. I feel it does them all justice. The RTS stuff is cool, however you get the most out of it when you send eddie in there to fight to. You cant just manage your units to take care of things for you, its cause they arent the smartest monsters in the land. I mean they attack, but they only do what you tell them... As long as you are there battling it out with them, you will have a blast. 9 out of ten because I wanted deathmatch too!!1 but whatever. Expand
  27. DevinH
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    I have to start this review letting the reader know something
  28. killswitch1968
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an Brutal Legend is one of the few games where presentation and storytelling make up for the deficiencies in gameplay. It is essentially a hybrid games, with elements of an RTS (like in an older game, Sacrifice), 3rd person action-adventure, and driving/racing components. None of them stand out and all have weaknesses. The sum of the parts is still inadequate. What it does have is an engrossing tale with characters that are likable, and top of the line voice acting. Jack Black does a fantastic job. The hilarious dialogue and spoofs carry the game's first half, and by then you are genuinally interested in the characters and plot in the second half. There are numerous different environments that aren't simply repeated tilesets. The artwork is amazing. I would have liked to see the ridable animals better implemented, but really, this is a terrific game that while could have been better, stands on its own just fine. 10/10 for story and presentation. Expand
  29. JimmyB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than This is the most fun I've had in a video game in a very, very long time. The open world is great - there's tons to explore and having an awesome rig pumping out metal music GTA-style makes it all the better. The RTS component wasn't GREAT, but as Schafer himself said, approaching it as an adventure game with gigantic, customizeable squads makes it far more enjoyable than playing as though it were a highly-micromanaged strategy game. I had much more fun playing on the field assisting my army than controlling them from above and this, I believe, is how the game was intended to be enjoyed! Expand
  30. AnthoyH
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game, despite its short length. I knew the strategy element was going to be present in the game, which is actually why I like it so much. I love RTS games, and this system of gameplay resembles it, but is different enough to feel fresh and works on the console. The world of Brual Legend and the characters that inhabit it are polished and fleshed out. Great game, This is an amazing game, despite its short length. I knew the strategy element was going to be present in the game, which is actually why I like it so much. I love RTS games, and this system of gameplay resembles it, but is different enough to feel fresh and works on the console. The world of Brual Legend and the characters that inhabit it are polished and fleshed out. Great game, I'm loving the multiplayer. Expand
  31. JosephM
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    Really solid and fun game! There is nothing new here game play wise however it is an interesting mix of classic game play elements in a new backdrop. The game appears simple for the first 3-6hours of play as they slowly ramp you up on your abilities. Once you start into your first couple RTS battles you begin to see what the long tutorial was for. Some people might not like the slow ramp Really solid and fun game! There is nothing new here game play wise however it is an interesting mix of classic game play elements in a new backdrop. The game appears simple for the first 3-6hours of play as they slowly ramp you up on your abilities. Once you start into your first couple RTS battles you begin to see what the long tutorial was for. Some people might not like the slow ramp up, others may feel like the game changed on them when the RTS elements are added. Others will like it a lot. Overall I think it is a good package with a1/2 way decent story and fairly solid game play. Remember, you won't see anything earth-shattering or new here but it is a fun game nonetheless. Expand
  32. IanC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I've never been a big metal fan, but all you need to thoroughly enjoy this game is a willingness to buy into the whole concept of epicness. I was somewhat put off by the first RTS battle, since it seemed to lack depth and control, but the missing pieces were soon revealed and it all came together nicely. The overall gamplay was very refreshing, in that it was something that I had I've never been a big metal fan, but all you need to thoroughly enjoy this game is a willingness to buy into the whole concept of epicness. I was somewhat put off by the first RTS battle, since it seemed to lack depth and control, but the missing pieces were soon revealed and it all came together nicely. The overall gamplay was very refreshing, in that it was something that I had never experienced or expected to experience. It wasn't as simply funny as previous Shaffer games, but this suits the overall tone as his talents are instead directed towards creating an "Epic" narrative, which is in turn hilarious in the moments that you stop to actually consider the context of what you are doing. The upgrade system was extremely well balanced, in that I never had so much "currency" that I lost the desire to seach for more, and yet if I put my mind to it I was always able to splurge for something that I just had to have. To sum it all up, I don't remember the last time that I've played a game that made me smile so much. Expand
  33. JimboH
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Imagine, if you will, that you are a professor grading short stories, and one student turns in the most amazing story you have read. However, it's missing things like decent punctuation, correct spelling, and has coffee stains all over it. This pretty much describes Brutal Legend. The game itself is impressive in many respects, but it has visible and basic flaws which you just cannot Imagine, if you will, that you are a professor grading short stories, and one student turns in the most amazing story you have read. However, it's missing things like decent punctuation, correct spelling, and has coffee stains all over it. This pretty much describes Brutal Legend. The game itself is impressive in many respects, but it has visible and basic flaws which you just cannot give a perfect score as a result of. Many of these defects are things like sound for unique dialogue which you could accidentally interrupt, repetitive dialogue, idle animations which are too "loopy", and other things that seem to give the game the feel that it has a lack of polish. Nevertheless, the central story is great and at times funny, and really defines what kind of transformation game story-telling should take now that everyone has "been there and done that" in terms of gameplay. Speaking of gameplay, this is not likely something you've played before. The entire campaign is there to teach you battle mode, and actually feels a like it ends a little abruptly. I beat it after 4 days, playing 2 - 5 hours a day (about 14 hours of gameplay) on the brutal difficulty. This doesn't count the amount of time you could spend driving around looking for all the hidden goodies on the landscape. It's not a real time strategy game by the way. Rather, it fits into the Real Time Action Strategy genre, originally defined by the game BattleZone (1998). After a few online games, I can say that the design so far has held up, there aren't any obvious imbalances between the 3 factions (which are actually pretty unique). Unfortunately, all strategy games have required patching, and patching on a console has always been very flaky and limited, so we will see how long this goes before some cheese shows up that ruins the game. The good news is so far, a lot of the online components, at least for 1v1s, work well. For some reason your basic controls (such as pulling up and selecting something from a menu) are affected by lag, but I've had decent success even with "yellow" lag games. There are times when your character wont respond that I'm sure will get frustrating time and time again, but either I've never been host, or the host advantage in the game is actually fair and lags both the clients and the host in a fair way. One drawback is that getting together a team (which seems like it would be the most fun) requires inviting people, and there is no auto-match element to get put on a random team like halo or gears. Overall, the RTAS element is pretty fun though, and its a shame that this will undoubtingly be the most misunderstood aspect of the game despite how careful the campaign is to the introduce you to its elements. Overall, this game is best fit as a renter. Its unique gameplay definitely wont appease everyone, but in the process of renting the game you need to give it a chance to fully understand it (i.e. more than 4 hours). The campaign is enjoyable but beatable in a week, and you might not enjoy the multiplayer aspect enough to merit owning the game. Expand
  34. Lance
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    The game starts out lively and fresh. The dialogue and characters are both interesting and witty. Combat is introduced as simple button smashing. At times mixing an x after a series of a. It doesn't go anywhere though. In addition there are combat mechanics such as blocking, which really do nothing other then hinder the player. During large fights the player will be juggle resource The game starts out lively and fresh. The dialogue and characters are both interesting and witty. Combat is introduced as simple button smashing. At times mixing an x after a series of a. It doesn't go anywhere though. In addition there are combat mechanics such as blocking, which really do nothing other then hinder the player. During large fights the player will be juggle resource management, strategy, build cues, army orders, music riffs (rythm game), personal combat and well most players just have too much on their mind to time blocks. Moving on the game's story progresses nicely with additional side missions available for those wishing to earn extra fire tribute, the game's currency. These side missions just like combat, they start out simply enough and never progress. And because of the ratcheting difficulty they sort of turn into a must if the player is on a harder level. Because of their repetitive nature it in essence turns into grinding/farming. The RTS elements of the game are great but with the added demands of Eddie's presence on the battle field to ensure victory, it's just another burdensome mechanic. In the end the player is left juggling grinding side missions, tracking down ball gagged dragons to earn boosts need to stay competitive, and a host of other items. Adding in the god awful, unbalanced races and it's enough for some players to walk away. On a side note, I suspect if neither Jack Black, or Time Schaffer were attached to this game, we Collapse
  35. jasongarnham
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    one of the best games ive played this year good graphics great music good blend of rts and 3rd person adventure no it wont be liked if you hate heavy metal if you do do then a treat is in store most fun ive had in ages most of all this game is fun!
  36. VictoriaB
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    This game brings back amazing songs and puts them into a game that is so much fun. Its great to see different characters who are amazing musicians. Its funny and I what you can do in the game makes it amazing.
  37. Tristan
    Oct 18, 2009
    3
    I'm a bit disappointed by this, mainly because I really liked Psychonauts. I found the driving parts frankly just plain irritating, the druid plow not really handling in a particularly satisfying way. This is only compounded by the fact that there are no interesting, fun or engaging distractions between missions. The melee combat was just OK. The final slap in the face is that most I'm a bit disappointed by this, mainly because I really liked Psychonauts. I found the driving parts frankly just plain irritating, the druid plow not really handling in a particularly satisfying way. This is only compounded by the fact that there are no interesting, fun or engaging distractions between missions. The melee combat was just OK. The final slap in the face is that most of the characters seemed waaaayyyy too idiotic to even be amusing. I suppose it doesn't help that I'm not really into the metal homage angle either. Expand
  38. Garethw
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Finally a game that made me laugh as much as a good tv/movie comedy. Been a long time coming. To the reviews saying the gameplay is weak i disagree - its better than other recent hackers (fable 2 springs to mind) plus has fun vehicle and multiplayer elements. Game of the year for me so far.
  39. onionringzombie
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    Overall a great game from start to finish. A few minor bugs are present, but it isn't enough to take away from the experience. The RTS mechanics can be a bit wacky to get used to, but after a few tries it starts to make sense. The voice actors deliver a very memorable performace as well, and the script left me laughing uncontrollably at times. While it may not win game of the year, Overall a great game from start to finish. A few minor bugs are present, but it isn't enough to take away from the experience. The RTS mechanics can be a bit wacky to get used to, but after a few tries it starts to make sense. The voice actors deliver a very memorable performace as well, and the script left me laughing uncontrollably at times. While it may not win game of the year, Brutal Legend is worth checking out. Expand
  40. gamer
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    For me, any game under 7 is a zero since i won't play it for long so why should it matter? anyways, the game is an utter disappointment. i've played 4 hrs of it. i can't say there is anything great about this. the soundtrack is good but who cares? it is basically real songs that you can find anywhere. the humor while being great at first, gets old REALLY fast. the quests For me, any game under 7 is a zero since i won't play it for long so why should it matter? anyways, the game is an utter disappointment. i've played 4 hrs of it. i can't say there is anything great about this. the soundtrack is good but who cares? it is basically real songs that you can find anywhere. the humor while being great at first, gets old REALLY fast. the quests are utterly simple, i can't help but feel that this game was made for casual gamers. the combat is idiotic, the entire time i wasn't even sure that i could die at all. the world is almost empty, it feels like theres nothing to explore(it seems full but they're just fillers). raising the garages are stupid too. this game lets you find metal ruins and raise them, it lets you go inside and buy upgrades. at first i thought there would be many ruins, but it turns out it's basically the same thing everywhere. i was shocked the first time i entered my second garage and realized its the same thing. i did not advance far enough to see real rts but from what i've seen, it looks like they were trying to create Overlord but failed miserably. Overlord wasn't great to begin with. last but not least, this is a small bit but it bugged me to no end; the car automatically brakes when you get go of the gas. no game i've ever played does that, the car always drifts when you let go. it was just such a weird feeling i couldn't shake it. tl;dr boring as hell hack and slash game. difficulty and depth was made for casual gamers ie those who play web games in their free time. hack and slash is a very difficult genre to make a good game out of, one of the only few good ones was god of war. brutal legends is recommended for those who don't play games often but enjoy metal music and themes. Expand
  41. ColinC
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Very fun game. I'd recommend you play on the hardest difficulty level though. It's not crazy hard, but it will give you enough of a challenge to make you feel you earned your victory. Special call-out to the level design. If you want to find all those hidden dragon statues, you really have to go off the beaten path.
  42. BrentYoung
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    entertaining, but nowhere near a 10. Has many flaws, but most of them can be overlooked due to the enganging story and fun characters. Alot of people give it a high score simply due to the creator, however the game is good, just not one that's gona elevate him to the level he desires.
  43. AnonymousMC
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This is a game that deserves to be played. It's the lovechild of Sacrifice, Zelda, and a Panther That Shoots Laser Beams. It's a genre that's come along maybe 4 times in gaming history, and this game does it better than the rest. Give it a try and you will not be disappointed.
  44. AdamD.
    Oct 15, 2009
    5
    A real bitter disappointment after the brilliance of Psychonauts. Suffers from a severe lack of cohesion in it's ideas. As an homage to metal I'm sure it is unsurpassed but as an interactive experience it is severely flawed. Combat is loose and unsatisfying, you act as merely a modifier to the mess of an RTS component which serves as the meat of the dish. Clunky and convoluted, A real bitter disappointment after the brilliance of Psychonauts. Suffers from a severe lack of cohesion in it's ideas. As an homage to metal I'm sure it is unsurpassed but as an interactive experience it is severely flawed. Combat is loose and unsatisfying, you act as merely a modifier to the mess of an RTS component which serves as the meat of the dish. Clunky and convoluted, this is what the single player game is preparing you for, but what early previews did not. The metacritic score is sorely unbalanced as I feel this game has been getting high scores due to the 'underdog' nature of this game. In this case, I feel it deservedly retains that underdog moniker. Tim Schafer and his team are undoubtedly talented and really shine when it comes to scripts, however Tim's background in point and click experiences have not prepared him for branching out into more tactile experiences. Games need to have interesting and satisfying mechanics and controls for ideas to hand off of, not often does it work in reverse. Expand
  45. DennisS.
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    It's not perfect. But the story, characters, the world, the design is brilliant and most of the gameplay is fun like hell. Regarding the length, why does it matter? If I had a good time with it - it's worth the money. At least in my book.
  46. KP
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    It's this simple. If you grew up with metal pumping through your veins, this is a must play. It's all about the whole experience with this game. Getting to go to some of your favorite rock icons for help is so cool. And just beating on some hairband "posers" in pink is worth it alone. For those non metal fans, the game play is average at best, so I'd probably skip it. If I It's this simple. If you grew up with metal pumping through your veins, this is a must play. It's all about the whole experience with this game. Getting to go to some of your favorite rock icons for help is so cool. And just beating on some hairband "posers" in pink is worth it alone. For those non metal fans, the game play is average at best, so I'd probably skip it. If I wasn't a metal fan I'd give the game a 7. But I am, so it gets a 9. Expand
  47. [Anonymous]
    Oct 14, 2009
    7
    This game has a great soundtrack, mostly great voice acting, good graphics and good writing. However, there's not much game to the game itself. The fighting doesn't feel that satisfying as enemies later in the game take countless slashes to kill, even with multiple upgrades and combos. The driving doesn't feel right and the many obstacles often get you stuck which gets This game has a great soundtrack, mostly great voice acting, good graphics and good writing. However, there's not much game to the game itself. The fighting doesn't feel that satisfying as enemies later in the game take countless slashes to kill, even with multiple upgrades and combos. The driving doesn't feel right and the many obstacles often get you stuck which gets frustrating after a while. The RTS part that dominates every key battle is not very well designed. You don't have a map so it's hard to spot enemies or even your own troops. You're usually left disoriented and overwhelmed. After a while you get used to it but it still stays the same tedious task. Order units, guide them somewhere, fight forever or simply use a Solo such as the Facemelter (which does look pretty awesome) to kill your foes quickly. This whole setting had much more potential. Unfortunately all we have here is a game that can be enjoyed if you're willing to tolerate its obvious and at times very frustrating design flaws. The side quests are forgettable so all that's left is a very short ride (6-8 hours max) and the feeling that they didn't even get close to the potential this game had. Too bad. Enjoy the soundtrack, though! Expand
  48. ArjanS.
    Oct 14, 2009
    6
    I didn't like the way it turned into a RTS game (I hate all things C&C-ish). I bought this because it's a Tim Schaeffer game and I love the man but this is too much of the same thing. I also think Jack Black is good in this game (because the Jack Blackness is minimal) but it could have been soo much better.
  49. HartenB
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    As a massive heavy metal fan, this was an easy pick. But some sluggishness in the combat and misplaced puzzles broke the heavy metal reverie. HOWEVER. The story and environment make up for it in spades, with an engrossing world and clearly well designed concept and characters, Brutal Legend secures its place in the tome of metal mythology as one of the first games to capture the essence of Metal.
  50. ShaneC
    Oct 13, 2009
    5
    Other than the metal head window dressing, this game doesn't accomplish anything new. I would suggest that anyone interested in this title should give it a rental first. To those tempted to drop their $60 on this title, I would also suggest check out an upcoming release list and pick something with a LOT more replay value.
  51. JayD
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    My only gripe is that there are not as many progression choices as I would have liked. I wanted to be a straight up metal wizard or something but oh well. Still an awesome game.
  52. Kaz
    Oct 13, 2009
    3
    The game was really short and the side quests were quite repetitive. While some of the gameplay aspects were interesting, they were not very developed and some (like the RTS stuff) do not seem to fit in. Overall I would say it was quite disappointing considering the amount of hype it was given.
  53. TylerM
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game that will, like Schafers previous title, be lost because of poor reviews. The game is far from perfect, but in a world dominated by sequels and generic titles, any thing this creative should be recognized as such. Schafer is an artist, he has proved this time and time again. he is not the best game designer but his games have more than enough character to redeem This is an amazing game that will, like Schafers previous title, be lost because of poor reviews. The game is far from perfect, but in a world dominated by sequels and generic titles, any thing this creative should be recognized as such. Schafer is an artist, he has proved this time and time again. he is not the best game designer but his games have more than enough character to redeem any flaws in game design. if you look at the full review from any of the scores above you'll see they all say how fun the game is, then they tear it down. personally i would prefer a fun game over a perfect game. Expand
  54. ConnorV
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    I am not one to rate games usually, but this one I made an exception, why, because it is an incredible game with an incredible story. It's multiplayer is also very entertaining. I would probally give it a 9.7 normally, because there are a few bumps in it, but it controls well, is fun, looks good, and is difficult enough for hardcore gamers. Only other real comment to make, is that if I am not one to rate games usually, but this one I made an exception, why, because it is an incredible game with an incredible story. It's multiplayer is also very entertaining. I would probally give it a 9.7 normally, because there are a few bumps in it, but it controls well, is fun, looks good, and is difficult enough for hardcore gamers. Only other real comment to make, is that if you do not play games a lot, keep the difficulty low, it is HARD. Expand
  55. MickD.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, believe the hype. Uncharted who? Double Fine and EA have done it again. I want them to have my babies and I can't even make babies. This game is so hot it makes me sweat pumpkin pie milkshake juice all over my neckbeard. So to all my homies out there, buy Brutal Legend or else you must hate America.
  56. GEOFFREYD.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Absolutely awesome. the game just screams rock and roll. the graphics are great, the music fitting (love rock of ages), and Jack Black makes you want to keep going just to hear his next one-liners. Definite must buy. Keep up the awesome work Tim!
  57. steveb.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. Tim Schauffer, Jack Black and heavy metal. If you don't like those three things then don't bother with it. But if you do then your in for a wicked ride.
  58. Russ
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    It's bloody, it's violent, and it ROCKS! Tim Schafer creates another masterpiece. You've got guys like Jack Black, Rob Halford, and Ozzy @#$%ing Osbourne as voice actors. It gets a little repetitive, but Brutal Legend has solid combat, lots to do, and is @#$ing funny! FACEMELTAAAAAAA!!!!!!!
  59. StevenA.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This game is spectacular. Graphics and animations are colorful and intertaining, the mix of gameplay types really builds variety, the voice acting is execellent and the heavy metal music and quality is top-notch. Being unable to jump in a game like Brutal Legend takes time getting used to and the story mode is shorter than expected to be. Still, it's an excellent package and the best This game is spectacular. Graphics and animations are colorful and intertaining, the mix of gameplay types really builds variety, the voice acting is execellent and the heavy metal music and quality is top-notch. Being unable to jump in a game like Brutal Legend takes time getting used to and the story mode is shorter than expected to be. Still, it's an excellent package and the best choice for an adventure game for the Xbox 360 or the PS3. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.