Bulletstorm Xbox 360

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 447
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2017
    8
    From Epic Games, and People Can Fly comes Bulletstorm, probably the most adrenaline-filled shooter of the 7th generation thus far. The graphics are solid, the gunplay is excellent, the weapons are a blast. the storyline is pretty bland, but the gameplay makes this game worth a try.
  2. Jan 2, 2017
    9
    Bulletstorm is an amazing sci-fi first-person shooter.

    The game's main selling point is the leash,which allows you to pull enemies toward you and kick them into enviromental hazards like a pond.Each one of these ''Skillshots'' has a name i.e. kick an enemy into a cactus to earn the ''Pricked'' bonus.These skillshots earn you bonus skillpoints to buy upgrades to ammo capacity,alternate
    Bulletstorm is an amazing sci-fi first-person shooter.

    The game's main selling point is the leash,which allows you to pull enemies toward you and kick them into enviromental hazards like a pond.Each one of these ''Skillshots'' has a name i.e. kick an enemy into a cactus to earn the ''Pricked'' bonus.These skillshots earn you bonus skillpoints to buy upgrades to ammo capacity,alternate fire and so on.The gunplay is also excellent.

    The graphics are great,but the framerate does run into problems.

    The story is also decent,and the game is filled with hilarious one-liners.The story does sequel-bait,and doesn't even do it well.

    The sound design and voice acting is great,though the soundtrack is mediocre.

    Overall,Bulletstorm is an intense thrill ride that is a blast from start to finish,and you are doing yourself a disservice by not playing it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    The game does have glitches, but is quite fun nevertheless. With good graphics and unique leashing abilities its a creative game. Its somewhat repetetive and the echoes are more fun than the campaign. Unfortunately i couldn't try out the multiplayer because im poor and prefer to eat well. But overall, i had alot of fun with it. Its very different from star wars battlefront. I find it to beThe game does have glitches, but is quite fun nevertheless. With good graphics and unique leashing abilities its a creative game. Its somewhat repetetive and the echoes are more fun than the campaign. Unfortunately i couldn't try out the multiplayer because im poor and prefer to eat well. But overall, i had alot of fun with it. Its very different from star wars battlefront. I find it to be a hillbily gorefest. If you like gory crazyshot games with good graphics and ok replay value this one is definetly for you. The monsters look cool and the shot combination bonuses to me are like a game of basketball with mutated gun-wielding zombies. Tony hawks pro skater with gun creativity; not as rewarding as the skateboarding franchise though. I was hoping for more skillshot variety and higher scoring head and groin shots. The leash is kinda dissapointing cause you can't quite use it like a jedi knight with fancy tactics and wild combos. I love the graphics. The guns are pretty cool. Just not enough leash power and dexterity. Sometimes i rate the game at 4.5 Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    Ураганный геймплей, крутой графон, интересный сюжет, харизматичные персонажи - у Буллетшторма почти нет минусов, People Can Fly гении! Требую Bulletstorm 2!!!!!
  5. Oct 10, 2014
    4
    Bulletstorm's enormous hype and talk somewhat sets high hopes for new players. Although 30 minutes in you soon discover a below average shooter filled with try hard comedy and shocking voice acting. After struggling to complete this game, frustrated with dumb A.I and repetitive game play I was happy to hear the sequel was cancelled for everybody's sack. But I must give the game points forBulletstorm's enormous hype and talk somewhat sets high hopes for new players. Although 30 minutes in you soon discover a below average shooter filled with try hard comedy and shocking voice acting. After struggling to complete this game, frustrated with dumb A.I and repetitive game play I was happy to hear the sequel was cancelled for everybody's sack. But I must give the game points for its excellent weapons and fast pace take on the already full FPS genre. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Bulletstorm was a shockingly enjoyable and fun game.. When the game was initially released I had not much interest in giving it a shot, which after now playing it I very much regret. Its has a very unique and fun type of game-play that keeps you wanting to blow up; dismember and kick or throw your enemies into whatever the incredible environments have to offer you to use as a form ofBulletstorm was a shockingly enjoyable and fun game.. When the game was initially released I had not much interest in giving it a shot, which after now playing it I very much regret. Its has a very unique and fun type of game-play that keeps you wanting to blow up; dismember and kick or throw your enemies into whatever the incredible environments have to offer you to use as a form of gorgeous and gruesome impalement... Lots O' Fun here!! Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    This is a good game. I think on the same level as Halo -- but different. Sure, the story isn't as good, but it's a lot of fun. It's pure action. If you like shooters, and mayhem, this is for you.
  8. May 12, 2014
    9
    bulletstorm is a very good game, it's only a bit underrated. the gameplay is fun and fluent. the humor is funny but sometimes a little bit forced. the action is over the top and there are a lot of ways to kill your enemies, although some of them are just too hard to accomplish. the story is good but not that special, and the ending might be a bit disapointing. i am hoping for a sequel,bulletstorm is a very good game, it's only a bit underrated. the gameplay is fun and fluent. the humor is funny but sometimes a little bit forced. the action is over the top and there are a lot of ways to kill your enemies, although some of them are just too hard to accomplish. the story is good but not that special, and the ending might be a bit disapointing. i am hoping for a sequel, because bulletstorm is still after 3 years worth your time and money Expand
  9. May 3, 2014
    10
    After playing and loving Gears Of War, i bought Bulletstorm. This game offers some nice fresh mechanics like kicking an enemy on to a cactus or blowing his brains out!!! I am reviewing this game in 2014, so the graphics are ok. the storyline was fairly decent, as well. The chain gun is insanely awesome, as it can obliterate anyone in your path! Before i played Bulletstorm, i was thinkingAfter playing and loving Gears Of War, i bought Bulletstorm. This game offers some nice fresh mechanics like kicking an enemy on to a cactus or blowing his brains out!!! I am reviewing this game in 2014, so the graphics are ok. the storyline was fairly decent, as well. The chain gun is insanely awesome, as it can obliterate anyone in your path! Before i played Bulletstorm, i was thinking about a game which lets you control your sniper bullets. Bulletstorm lets you do this!!!! Everything that i want in a game is here: a great shooting mechanic, crazy gun stunts, and insane enemies. I won't be reviewing multiplayer, as i don't have Xbox Live. And this 10/10 game cost me only £2.50! After buying an Xbox 360 in Christmas 2013, i have started to love Epic Games. I can't really think of any bad things to say about Bulletstorm, so that's my review. In short: GO BUY BULLETSTORM! Expand
  10. May 1, 2014
    8
    This game is ridiculously fun. Holy mother of God is it a blast. This may be the best first person shooter I've played on my Xbox 360. It's seriously that good. I love Epic Games, and this game just made my love for them grow deeper.

    The thing that makes Bulletstorm so great is that practically every firefight takes place during a huge set piece, be it a building falling down with you
    This game is ridiculously fun. Holy mother of God is it a blast. This may be the best first person shooter I've played on my Xbox 360. It's seriously that good. I love Epic Games, and this game just made my love for them grow deeper.

    The thing that makes Bulletstorm so great is that practically every firefight takes place during a huge set piece, be it a building falling down with you inside, to being trapped in a museum with a huge monster wreaking havoc, there is no part of this game that is boring.

    Seriously. I was awestruck when I saw what was happening on screen. When one set piece ends, another one is set to begin in less than 10 minutes. Every firefight in this game is equal to the climax of other lesser shooters. And the climax to this game is pretty darn good to boot.

    This game is ridiculous, mindless, macho fun. I love it. It gets an 8 out of 10 for some glitches and a little too short for my tastes. But my God, even though it's on the short side, it had enough action to fill 10 games. What a hell of a ride!
    Expand
  11. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Bulletstorm is (to me at least) another missed opportunity; akin to Brink but with more successes than failures. It is made by the developers of Gears of War, and features similar controls, visual style and gameplay. Being the creators of Unreal Engine, Epic Games have made one of the best looking games on 7th-generation consoles and been able to make it run smoothly and look stunning. TheBulletstorm is (to me at least) another missed opportunity; akin to Brink but with more successes than failures. It is made by the developers of Gears of War, and features similar controls, visual style and gameplay. Being the creators of Unreal Engine, Epic Games have made one of the best looking games on 7th-generation consoles and been able to make it run smoothly and look stunning. The PC system requirements are also very low for a game that looks this vibrant, so credit goes to the flawless optimisation. The same could be said for the controls and gunplay. It's brutal, satisfying and fluent. Great button layout and has got the hip fire and ADS absolutely perfect for all weapons. The game is very easy and simple to pick up and play. Of course, what sets this game apart is its focus on creative kills and using stylish methods to kill your enemies. Furthermore, given the related Duty Calls parody game, one would expect that Bulletstorm would be a revolutionary shooter, bringing a new approach to the tried-and-tested saturation of shooters. However, that's where the good points end, because Bulletstorm fails to deliver and it is very disappointing. First of all, the campaign is horrendous. Not only does it have the most cliché story, characters and level design, but it actually takes itself seriously rather than trying to parody other generic shooters! Luckily however, there is Echoes mode, which allows you to jump straight into the action going for high scores on short levels. Each level adds more weapons, more creative environments, get longer, more enemies etc. so you start out with a basic toolset and work your way up. Unfortunately, the developers seem to have misunderstood the definition of "creativity". Instead of rewarding you for chaining lots of different moves together, there are no combos at all in this game. You cannot juggle enemies because the leash only keeps them up in the air for a few seconds, and the game doesn't encourage innovative combinations. Rather, it rewards simple, dumb and obviously basic attacks such as kicking enemies into prickle bushes and blowing up explosive barrels. The tools are definitely there, but the scoring system is completely broken in terms of rewarding style and creativity. In summary, Bulletstorm is a misleading game and a missed opportunity and being a fresh take on shooters. It nails the technical stuff, but fails to deliver on its promise of style. It doesn't parody other shooters, doesn't have any humour and is therefore a generic shooter with nothing more to show than a measly grapple hook. Expand
  12. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I recently picked up this game because it had a huge pricedrop, and I decided to give this game a chance. With the expectations of a no-brain shooter withouth any emotion etc. I started up the game. The first hour of the story mode is a emotional action-packed hour. After that the unique killing mechanics come into play, and all the emotional parts are getting swept aside. The story modeI recently picked up this game because it had a huge pricedrop, and I decided to give this game a chance. With the expectations of a no-brain shooter withouth any emotion etc. I started up the game. The first hour of the story mode is a emotional action-packed hour. After that the unique killing mechanics come into play, and all the emotional parts are getting swept aside. The story mode also is rather short, but absolutely mental when it comes to action.

    The multiplayer was pretty awesome in my opinion. I've played it for a few hours with my friends, and for me, it really introduced something new to the multiplayer of FPS. The multiplayer is Co-op based, but there always is a lot of competition because you want to be that guy that makes the most points every round. It keeps the games competitive while it is co-op. I'd recommend to play this mode with at least one friend though, because it will be a lot easier to make it through the rounds and make some epic combos happen.

    This game definitely is worth giving a try and is a lot of fun to play, especially with a bunch of friends!
    Expand
  13. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way Bulletstorm fits together results in something cool and memorable. Multiplayer failings notwithstanding, Bulletstorm shines as a single-player shooter. Despite its crass humor and wang-flinging bravado, it's got some real character and heart to it. Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    While I see the potential this game has, I just found it boring. It's just another generic FPS that is trying too hard to be different to the point that you stop caring. The creative ways to kill approach is a good idea, but the novelty does wear off after a few hours. In fact it gets downright tedious, especially for completionists like myself. The story is bland. The characters areWhile I see the potential this game has, I just found it boring. It's just another generic FPS that is trying too hard to be different to the point that you stop caring. The creative ways to kill approach is a good idea, but the novelty does wear off after a few hours. In fact it gets downright tedious, especially for completionists like myself. The story is bland. The characters are nicely designed but rather flat and one dimensional aside from Trishka Novak, but I think that is perhaps because of Jennifer Hale, I really love her. xoxo Another good point about the game are the visuals. The game is beautiful and the character and enemy designs are fantastically detailed. Overall: Bulletstorm could have been so much better with a bit more time and effort, not trying to follow the norm. A real pity it turned out this way. Expand
  15. DME
    Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Apart from some bad dialogue and unfitting drama, Bulletstorm is a great deal of fun. It's very unique and just a blast to play, all due to some very intelligent design decisions. For one, you can reload while you attack or run, which keeps an empty clip from stopping the action. You also have a variety of quirky weapons, similar to weapons found in the Ratchet-&-Clank series. TheApart from some bad dialogue and unfitting drama, Bulletstorm is a great deal of fun. It's very unique and just a blast to play, all due to some very intelligent design decisions. For one, you can reload while you attack or run, which keeps an empty clip from stopping the action. You also have a variety of quirky weapons, similar to weapons found in the Ratchet-&-Clank series. The arcade points you get are used as currency rather than just "score" to be posted on leaderboards. The campaign is varied, environments are interesting, and the game also throws some cool boss battles into the mix, too. Due to the arcade nature of the game, the campaign also has a good amount of replay value. I can see myself going back to play it a second or third time, increasing the difficulty level. Anyway, Bulletstorm won't teach you anything worthwhile and you aren't going to be a smarter individual for playing it, but it sure as hell is FUN. Expand
  16. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    After a dull opening twenty minutes, most of which is filled with cut-scenes explaining the frankly unnecessary ‘plot’, BulletStorm kicks into first gear and remains there for virtually the entire playing time as the creators put the fun back into the FPS genre.

    Having crashed onto an unknown planet the player finds that a once seemingly normal settlement has been taken over by a bunch
    After a dull opening twenty minutes, most of which is filled with cut-scenes explaining the frankly unnecessary ‘plot’, BulletStorm kicks into first gear and remains there for virtually the entire playing time as the creators put the fun back into the FPS genre.

    Having crashed onto an unknown planet the player finds that a once seemingly normal settlement has been taken over by a bunch of crazed psychopaths. As expected all manner of guns are available to dispatch your foes but the biggest aspect that separates BulletStorm from many of the more generic shooters is the energy leash, a sort of electronic whip that you can flick out a considerable distance and grab hold of bad guys with. They are then set hurtling towards you in slow motion allowing you time to put a few bullets in them if you wish. Alternatively, and more interestingly, you can manoeuvre them towards any number of death dealing implements such as explosive barrels, electric gates or even a cactus or two. The game actively encourages you to experiment with different methods of killing in the form of challenges called ‘skillshots’, each of which awards you experience to spend upgrading weapons etc. Although the gameplay doesn’t really evolve from start to finish trying to find new ways to defeat your enemies never gets old.

    In terms of multiplayer there isn’t really much to recommend. There is a four-player Horde co-op mode called Anarchy that’s as boring as Horde mode always is and that’s about it. Those interested in high school leaderboards can replay unlocked stages in a score attack mode named Echoes but this only really offers a short term distraction. Since BulletStorms gameplay doesn’t really lend itself to deathmatches or anything of that ilk it’s not really much of a loss though. It may not reinvent the wheel but I find it hard to believe that anyone who enjoys First Person Shooters could fail to enjoy BulletStorm.
    Expand
  17. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    I gave this game a 10/10 for two reasons. One, it's far and away more original and satisfying than anything the folks at Treyarch and/or Infinity Ward, et. al. can come up with. And second, I had to do something to combat the overabundance of negative reviews on this site by armchair developers who think just because they have an XBOX 360 that automatically makes them an authority on allI gave this game a 10/10 for two reasons. One, it's far and away more original and satisfying than anything the folks at Treyarch and/or Infinity Ward, et. al. can come up with. And second, I had to do something to combat the overabundance of negative reviews on this site by armchair developers who think just because they have an XBOX 360 that automatically makes them an authority on all things video game related. If you haven't played Bulletstorm yet do yourself a favor and do so immediately. It's well worth your time. Oh, and and don't pay attention to the mouth breathers. It's people like them that are ruining this business by perpetuating games like Black Ops 2 and similar mindless Expand
  18. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    If you are looking for a serious, tactical, realistic military simulation...this isn't it. However, this game is brilliant mainly because it isn't all the fore mentioned things. Not just that it isn't, but it goes overboard in celebrating that it isn't. The skill shots are a great feature to a genre that has over the years become rather formulaic in nature. Bulletstorm breaks the moldIf you are looking for a serious, tactical, realistic military simulation...this isn't it. However, this game is brilliant mainly because it isn't all the fore mentioned things. Not just that it isn't, but it goes overboard in celebrating that it isn't. The skill shots are a great feature to a genre that has over the years become rather formulaic in nature. Bulletstorm breaks the mold with a sledge hammer, then shoots it and finally blows it up. If you enjoy fast paced, crazy mayhem filled shooters, this game is for you. If you want to spend you time counting your bullets and working on coordinated attacks with a team of equally serious sims, go play Arma Expand
  19. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    I've played a lot of first person shooters (own just about every one of them). To me, this game was a new treat to play and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it has the following combinations of other first person shooters:

    Serious Sam 3 (for the insane # and variety of bad guys which constantly rush at you.) Bioshock (for the well thought out use of the "left hand" as a unique weapon
    I've played a lot of first person shooters (own just about every one of them). To me, this game was a new treat to play and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it has the following combinations of other first person shooters:

    Serious Sam 3 (for the insane # and variety of bad guys which constantly rush at you.)
    Bioshock (for the well thought out use of the "left hand" as a unique weapon and 'ugly' bad guys)
    Sniper (for the really cool sniper shots you can make, controlling the bullet all the way to the target - note: kudos for an AI which will try and dodge the bullet making it a nice challenge even on easy mode.)
    Singularity (for the 'specific' spots on certain enemies that you need to shoot)
    Half-Life (for the 'tiny' bit of puzzle solving you need to do on some levels)

    There's a unique challenge on setting up which weapons you should use for the next rush of bad guys. If you liked Serious Sam 3 and the other games mentioned above, I think you'll find this game a nice blend of new challenges. I especially like the part where you "kick" a bad guy into spikes or off cliffs (which give you more points to buy better weapons/ammo.) I haven't completed the game yet (been playing it for about a week now) but every time I think I've reached the final stage, it keeps going and going throwing more bad guys with new ways they need to be killed or how I need to strategically kill them. It isn't an epic game I'd put into the same level as something like Half-Life or the Call of Duty type games but it's one of the few games I think I may enjoy replaying again once I'm done just to see if I can do it on a more difficult level. Well worth the $ of the game in my opinion.
    Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    I was extremely underwhelmed by this game. After seeing it on so many of GAF's top 10 lists for 2011 GOTY's voting thread I really thought I was in for something cool. I'll start with what I liked first. The variety in weapons was actually pretty neat but I found half of them to be absolutely pointless. I really only used the pistol and the rifle and if I ran out of ammo I used whateverI was extremely underwhelmed by this game. After seeing it on so many of GAF's top 10 lists for 2011 GOTY's voting thread I really thought I was in for something cool. I'll start with what I liked first. The variety in weapons was actually pretty neat but I found half of them to be absolutely pointless. I really only used the pistol and the rifle and if I ran out of ammo I used whatever else was equipped. The point system for kills was entertaining but considering I was forced to kill 90% of the enemies the same way it seemed like a BS extra. The variety in AI was actually pretty good and I liked that I was fighting various factions and that there was interesting relationships that surrounded each of them. The level design wasn't all that bad either even if you were forced down corridors and limited to not be able to jump on things. The kicking and leashing mechanisms were cool but after a while I found them to be rather boring. I recall the graphics being praised by other but I did find myself feeling any sort of connection with them. The visuals were not as crisp as I had expected but I attribute that to the fact that it was on a 360 (which is where a majority of my gaming is done) and not a PC which I believe is the fan base from which most of the praise was coming from. The art style was certainly different but again it did not do much for me. The story line was unique and something I have never really experienced before so I appreciated the fresh take but at the time I found it to be devalued through the stupid interactions between characters. I know this was the intended direction and I'm sure there is an audience that really enjoys this but I felt it detracted from the game. I finished the game on hard and don't really plan on picking it back up for a replay or additional content/multiplayer. Interesting and unique feel, but just not for me. Expand
  21. Aug 23, 2012
    2
    This is one boring and repetitive game. BS starts off absolutely superbly with an action packed, testosterone fueled intro that leads you to believe you're gonna be in for one hell of a ride, but you are quickly bought back down to earth when you try to get your teeth into some real action. You see, for all the scenic grandeur, epicn-ess and trashy marine-talk that the game offers theThis is one boring and repetitive game. BS starts off absolutely superbly with an action packed, testosterone fueled intro that leads you to believe you're gonna be in for one hell of a ride, but you are quickly bought back down to earth when you try to get your teeth into some real action. You see, for all the scenic grandeur, epicn-ess and trashy marine-talk that the game offers the gameplay itself is very dull and very gimmicky. For the brief moments where combat plays like a real shooter it can get very exciting, but these moments make up 1% of the game with a stupid slow-mo "bulletkick" and the "creativity of you kills" being a tiresome gimmick which the whole game is based around and which just bogs it down. The mechanics work well enough, but there were just so many moments in the game where I though "I wish I could just cut through the BS and enjoy the game". Enemy AI is dire and, as with so many other games, you can hide away whilst your team-mate goes and kills everyone for you. Throw a mish-mashed, bloated, & poor plot into the bag and you've a game to definitely avoid. As gimmicky as games get and very, very poor for it. Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2012
    6
    This game is somewhat bizarre for me. For the first 30 minutes or so, it's all very fresh as the game teaches you how to play and how to use the tethers, kicks, and slides to dispatch enemies. But soon after that I found myself getting bored, feeling like I was just grinding with the same handful of tactics. The immense list of combos the game wants you to pull of is nice for variation,This game is somewhat bizarre for me. For the first 30 minutes or so, it's all very fresh as the game teaches you how to play and how to use the tethers, kicks, and slides to dispatch enemies. But soon after that I found myself getting bored, feeling like I was just grinding with the same handful of tactics. The immense list of combos the game wants you to pull of is nice for variation, but not very practical, so I didn't bother consulting it every other kill to pick a combo to go for next since it was killing the flow and pace of the game. I keep putting it down after about an hour at a time, getting incredible tired of how repetitive and linear the gameplay is, but when I come back to it a few hours later, it feels incredibly fresh for about 10 minutes before the staleness creeps back in. Rinse and repeat. Not a bad game by any stretch, but still one that could have been much better. It would have been nice to see some of the time and effort put into these different kill combos reallocated to make the game less linear, less grindy, and maybe take away some of the clunkiness of movement. Having your slide get interrupted by a single brick can be annoying, as can getting tripped up while rounding corners. Expand
  23. May 27, 2012
    6
    I was looking forward to this game, but it wasn't that good.
  24. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    Bulletstorm is a very good game. It will keep you entertaned for hours on end. The campaign was very good and the best thing about it. Multiplayer was good but needs a bit more to it but very fun with friend. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Bulletstorm 8.4/10
  25. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them.Few games are able to deliver an immersive, action-packed and original game concept and still be an excellent experience. Bulletstorm is one of the small selection of games that has managed to pull this off with flying colours. Make no mistake, first person shooters are rapidly reaching their use-by date and it takes a fresh and original concept to make gamers still want to enjoy them. Bulletstorm does this not by its spectacular graphic or sound design, but by the ability to make a serious game but at the same time, let the player have a ridiculous amount of fun in its world. You play as Grayson Hunt, the leader of a disbanded squad that has crash landed on a foreign planet. You've set yourself the task of killing the ignorant man who used you and your team to murder civilians. You'll have to fight a wide range of enemies through a constantly collapsing world in order to reach him. But don't worry, you'll get plenty of weapons to help you do just that. Though the weapons are far fetched, the amount of fun that they can bring far exceeds that of a current-time based firearm. There is something for everybody, including an accurate assault rifle, a quad-barrelled shotgun and even a remote controlled sniper rifle. There is also your leash, which will instantly become your best friend as its power to devastatingly melee enemies in slow motion possesses you. Combining the power of the leash, melee and weapons is the key to success and is where there is the most fun to be had. The sequences in the middle section of the game can get slightly repetitive but the gameplay quickly regains interest and leads up to a breathtaking climax. Whilst delivering big with fun and action, the storyline is memorable and has a very serious element to it. Aside from the hilarious quotes and humorous, colourful atmosphere, the story of the game remains strong and the acting from each of the characters is to be commended. It is difficult to pull off so much diversity in the average game these days, but Bulletstorm is none of the sort. As if the very lengthy single-player campaign wasn't enough, there is plenty to do elsewhere. There is a very robust "Echoes" challenge mode as well as a well-structured and addictive multiplayer mode. Also, with downloadable content on the way, you'll surely get your money's worth out of this game. Bulletstorm is destined for multiple sequels and serves as a reminder that Epic Games is one of the most powerful, ambitious and successful game developers around today. Expand
  26. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    I was not at all impressed with it. There was practically no storyline, the characters did not interest me in the least, and I simply did not find the "humor" in it to be funny, at all. The skillshot system is an interesting concept, but I think it could have been done a whole lot better. If you are looking for something different with a bit of innovation, you may want to give it a rental,I was not at all impressed with it. There was practically no storyline, the characters did not interest me in the least, and I simply did not find the "humor" in it to be funny, at all. The skillshot system is an interesting concept, but I think it could have been done a whole lot better. If you are looking for something different with a bit of innovation, you may want to give it a rental, but do not go into the game with high hopes. I personally think that you are better off with just about any other first-person shooter on the market right now. Expand
  27. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    I loved this game, fast paced action, silly over-the-top action and one liners. the campaign itself is great and its really fun to pull of some stunning skillshots. the echo mode is also very entertaining, solid 8/10
  28. Jan 18, 2012
    1
    Thank God EB Games lets you return the games you dislike for a full refund and Thank God again that this game didn't profit so there's no sequel because I was massively disappointed in this game, I was staring blank at the screen the whole time, didn't even chuckle and I don't ever want to see this god awful game again and I'm so glad the sequel will never see light of day.
  29. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Dick **** I loved this game the moment I started playing the demo. The campaign turned out to have a decent engaging story, which surprised me a bit, and was worth the full play-through only to get a cliffhanger. The thing that kept me coming back for more was the Echoes mode. I just loved finding more creative ways to kill. Anyone who said this game has no re-playability just isn'tDick **** I loved this game the moment I started playing the demo. The campaign turned out to have a decent engaging story, which surprised me a bit, and was worth the full play-through only to get a cliffhanger. The thing that kept me coming back for more was the Echoes mode. I just loved finding more creative ways to kill. Anyone who said this game has no re-playability just isn't creative. I'd usually find myself laughing my ass off after finding another fantastic way to kill someone. Shooting someone in the balls then kicking their head in for a Mercy kill? Hell yeah! Thumping a group of enemies into the air and launch one into another with a charged Penetrator for Wing Man? Count me in! This game simply brings a whole new meaning to doing it "for teh lulz". The only draw back was the lack of a real multiplayer experience. All we got was the Anarchy co-op mode. Would have been more fun to team-kill other players instead of A.I. Missed opportunity, IMO. Great graphics, great voice acting, great gameplay, awesome dialog, and the ability to control a mechazoid named Wally P. Tallylicker. What's not to love?! Expand
  30. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Bulletstorm was the most underrated game of 2011. Many slated the game as a disappointment but I loved it. The graphics were great and fully took advantage of the Unreal Engine 3 (3.5 according to some sources) and adds colors that you don
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    Not a bad game, but also not a great one that misses the mark on a few levels, most notably the dialog for this gamer. I am sure there's a target market out there who eats this type of language up, and will be mimicking what they hear for a while, but sadly I am not this market.
  2. May 24, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm is not only offering a lot of enemies to shoot. We did not expect such good character development and such an entertaining story.
  3. May 10, 2011
    84
    I guess the question really comes down to whether Bulletstorm is worth your hard-earned gaming dollar. If you're a single-player campaign person, there is a fun and engaging story to be found. If you're into the multiplayer scene, I'd highly recommend getting the full version (you may want to calculate your new cost vs. used cost + 800 points). It is definately worth playing ... the question you need to answer for yourself is whether it's worth owning.