Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    90
    It's actually very good. [Issue#80, p.103]
  2. Dec 17, 2011
    83
    Still works for us! [Jan 2012, p.89]
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    BurgerTime World Tour is an incredible revamp of the original's gameplay. It takes everything good about it and improves upon it, while adding a lot of gameplay variety and a very replayable multi-player game. Anyone who liked the original should get this, and even those like myself who were frustrated by it should try it out because it's a lot more forgiving than the first, while also giving you the option to make it harder if you find it to be too easy. There's a lot of fun to be had here, and for $10, it's an easy recommendation to buy ASAP.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    If you're looking for something with a light sense of humor that's kid and family friendly and inexpensive, this might be the title for you. But for those searching for a deeper experience in their downloadable games or a nostalgic trip to the past, BurgerTime World Tour might not cut the mustard.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    67
    BurgerTime: World Tour is certainly better than you might expect, even if it fails in several unfortunate ways. Poor presentation and collision detection aside, MonkeyPaw Games has a solid effort that does a good job at making this thirty year old game relevant for the 21st century.
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    65
    Yet another proof that classic formulas never die, and nostalgic gamers will remember with a smile those old, hard-as-hell, arcade machines. An old-school title which provides great fun despite its limitations.
  7. Jan 4, 2012
    65
    So it's frustratingly difficult, then - frustrating not just because it makes it hard to progress, but because it makes it hard to love; an emotion that the game otherwise does fairly well to engender. The presentation - aside from the narrative, which is horrible - is charming, poppy, and fun. You want it to be good, and it mostly is - if you can handle the annoyance factor.
  8. 60
    Nicely filling, but could do with some relish. [Dec 2011, p.103]
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    60
    Burgertime World Tour is not a very bad game but it is really only for you if you're in for the nostalgia of having been able to play the original Burgertime in arcades or even on an NES at home. I personally am a huge fan when it comes to games being re-released that I remember loving as a kid but this game fell short of my expectations.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    60
    It is a shame as it is a very well done remake, it is just that the mechanic is now 30 years old and it does show it's age and no amount of sprucing up can change that fact.
  11. Nov 3, 2011
    60
    If you can accept that BurgerTime: World Tour is something fairly different from the arcade classic you may remember, there's a good chance you'll find some enjoyment in it. Like your average fast food hamburger, it's insubstantial, but so is its $10 price point. It's a solid multiplayer snack, if not a proper meal.
  12. Nov 23, 2011
    59
    It's kind of fun for a quick game, but considering how quickly BurgerTime: World Tour turns boring, your 800 MSP may still be better spent elsewhere.
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    55
    An average remake from Frozen Codebase, with tons of problems and frustrating boss fights. The original game maybe deserved better.
  14. Nov 2, 2011
    55
    Simplicity is its strong suit, but that doesn't benefit BurgerTime World Tour very much. It's a modernization of gaming's roots that doesn't embrace anything games have done better since.
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    50
    An '80s arcade classic is reinvented as a not-too-successful 3D platformer in BurgerTime: World Tour.
  16. Dec 5, 2011
    45
    BurgerTime World Tour is a pretty poor remake of the original. A lot has changed, making this remake way too complicated. BurgerTime World Tour is a great example of why a lot of old games don't need a remake.
  17. Nov 9, 2011
    45
    The game is muddy, even when the camera is pulled back. You'll also want to turn the audio down, as the music is repetitive. The sound effects are useless in terms of player feedback as you'll never know if you crush an enemy below you unless you actually see it. It would be nice if the game rewarded defeating an enemy with some kind of flourish.
  18. 45
    The fast-paced simplicity of such a goofy goal made BurgerTime a hit in 1982's arcades, but World Tour tosses in fresh ingredients with little consideration for the damage they do to gameplay. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    40
    An old arcade classic has been ground to mince meat. Avoid!
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    40
    An over-complicated take on a classic recipe.
  21. Dec 1, 2011
    30
    Much like a classic hamburger, the original BurgerTime's all right for what it is and there's little necessity for improvement. It can still be improved upon, but not without first undermining its simplicity and turning it into something else.
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    30
    Like the best burgers, the best arcade games are simple, allowing us to enjoy the important flavours. BurgerTime World Tour is like a child sticking everything they can find between two halves of a bun, and then gorging on the resulting mess until they puke. Bon appetit.
  23. There was no need to reheat this, and no need for you to suffer it. [Feb 2012, p.111]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I was very happy with my purchase. BurgerTime was a big part of my gaming lifestyle as I kid and it's really refreshing to have the series come back. The new enemies and re-done gameplay is refreshing as it seems like everything was improved from the ground up. Now I have a game that I can finally use to feed my late night hunger as well! Full Review »
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    The fact that this game exists is enough for many retro gamers to get excited. BurgerTime is a fond memory of mine and a piece of my childhood. I love how the new version revisits the classic and does above and beyond what I expected. Multiplayer is fun and these burgers are huge! Just wish more people could buy the game so I have more competition when playing online! Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Thereâ