Burnout Paradise Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 277
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CMay
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best racing games ever made, and all these low scorers are just being unfair by comparing it to a game it isn't, because their feelings were hurt. Well get over it, this game is amazing by any standard and it's only getting better as Criterion is still releasing big updates to the game a year after it was released, and will probably continue to do so for This is one of the best racing games ever made, and all these low scorers are just being unfair by comparing it to a game it isn't, because their feelings were hurt. Well get over it, this game is amazing by any standard and it's only getting better as Criterion is still releasing big updates to the game a year after it was released, and will probably continue to do so for another year or two. Some of these updates address reasonable complaints people had, while others add totally new ways to play the game. In fact, some of these low score comments will be outdated and won't apply any more as some of their disappointments get addressed over the next year. Try the demo or rent it and see how good this game is for yourself! Expand
  2. AH
    Jun 6, 2009
    8
    First off, let me say if you're going into this game thinking that it is identical to Takedown or Revenge, you're mistaken. Instead of a map that you choose your events from, now there is this NFS-esque "free roam" mode. This is both a good thing and a bad thing. For me it adds a dimension to the game - where you can explore without the arrows and the X's. But, the minimap First off, let me say if you're going into this game thinking that it is identical to Takedown or Revenge, you're mistaken. Instead of a map that you choose your events from, now there is this NFS-esque "free roam" mode. This is both a good thing and a bad thing. For me it adds a dimension to the game - where you can explore without the arrows and the X's. But, the minimap that they give you is an epic fail as it shows only about 2 feet in front of you, I find it easier to just look at the street signs in a race, which brings me to my next point. I like the free roam mode, but I wish that Criterion/EA would have given us a closed-walls race at least in events so you don't have to look at that epic-fail minimap that hurts my eyes. There is also a lot to do in this game, earn licenses, take down cars in free roam and earn their car, and a few new modes, one being Marked Man (which is awesome) and Stunt Run (which is just annoying). There is also new "car types" - Aggression (classic Burnout a la Takedown where your boost bar goes up to x3 with takedowns) Speed (Dominator style where you earn boost with near misses, etc and can chain Burnouts) Stunt (Smash into walls and billboards to build a boost bar) I didn't play the demo version and apparently I'm lucky I didn't. Also for the last note, DJ Atomika, STFU. I didn't give it a 10 because it had its flaws (even with all these patches, STILL no reset option is the biggest one), but it's addictive, much like the other Burnout games, so I'll vive this an 8. Expand
  3. StuartP.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    I always wonder after each Burnout games release, how they intend to top it and what new ideas they will introduce next. This is by far the most innovative game they have come up with. The online features alone make it a thoroughly enjoyable game. Its not just the thrill of racing that makes it good though. Nice little touches such as random rival driver statistics at the start of each I always wonder after each Burnout games release, how they intend to top it and what new ideas they will introduce next. This is by far the most innovative game they have come up with. The online features alone make it a thoroughly enjoyable game. Its not just the thrill of racing that makes it good though. Nice little touches such as random rival driver statistics at the start of each race give you an incite into how well you need to be doing and sense of satisfaction if you can beat someone who is ranked e.g 49th in the world! There is plenty to do in paradise city and even once you have managed to achieve everything there will still be more after to play around with. If you are to take this game online make sure you have a camera as collecting Mugshots of other taken down drivers can be extremely satisfying. Expand
  4. BlakeH.
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    DO NOT JUDGE THIS GAME BY THE DEMO!!!!! After playing the demo of Paradise, I was left disappointed and confused. However, my friend bought the full game and he let me borrow it, and I absolutely love it now! I still like Takedown and Revenge a little better, but there's no other racing game like this except for mabye Midnight Club.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    I love the fact that you have to take down cars in order to acquire (most ) of them. I don't mind the lack of a restart as I think that would have taken away from the experience. Great sense of speed and incredible physics.
  6. EricE.
    Jan 25, 2008
    9
    I love this game. I know many people are put off by the open-ended "menu" system, but I think it's a ton of fun to just tool around downtown.
  7. TimothyM
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    I love how the majority of complaints have to do with not being locked into a track for every race. God forbid you spend some time driving around learning the shortcuts and good ways to get from point A to point B. Moreover, it's been said that using the minimap to navigate is much too hard. Just like to point out that the street signs at the top of the screen (as well as your I love how the majority of complaints have to do with not being locked into a track for every race. God forbid you spend some time driving around learning the shortcuts and good ways to get from point A to point B. Moreover, it's been said that using the minimap to navigate is much too hard. Just like to point out that the street signs at the top of the screen (as well as your car's turn signal) tell you when a turn is coming up. The game is fantastic, but it definitely has a learning curve to overcome. Expand
  8. HeathH.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    I can't give it a ten because I don't believe in perfect game ratings..... As with all the other Burnout titles, I was quickly addicted to Paradise. The improvements over Burnout Revenge are amazing. Criterion has managed to practically eliminate load times, for one. After the first couple hours of playing, I realized I never got a minute to wolf down munchies, and this includes I can't give it a ten because I don't believe in perfect game ratings..... As with all the other Burnout titles, I was quickly addicted to Paradise. The improvements over Burnout Revenge are amazing. Criterion has managed to practically eliminate load times, for one. After the first couple hours of playing, I realized I never got a minute to wolf down munchies, and this includes online play. Revenge load times were decent, but Paradise is a MAJOR improvement. The way the online play is so seamlessly integrated into the main game is a welcome addition as well. Press right on the D-pad, and your racing with your buddies or any of the thousands of people flocking to Xbox Live. Even without jumping online with it, there's 300 things to do. Online, there is like 1000 things to do. After putting in the neighborhood of 400 hours into Revenge (online and off), I must admit this title scares me just a little; I'm afraid I may never see the sun again. Thank you Criterion. It was worth the aggravation of you putting us Burnout fans off for months and months to fine tune this already classic game. I am a cheap and easily disappointed consumer; This game is the first I've had the gall to slap down sixty dollars for. I do not regret it for a second. Expand
  9. JamesP.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    Burnout Paradise is quite different from past Burnout games, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes very enjoyable, and it is hard to imagine going back to closed tracks.
  10. MrGGreen
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    I can understand the poor comments on here as I myself bought this game hoping for more Burnout revenge or takedown which I loved. I was so annoyed that it wasn't that I quickly put it away for 6 months. But after taking it out again and learning the new ways to play the game has become very addictive. The online play was awsome and I had great fun never having to click through I can understand the poor comments on here as I myself bought this game hoping for more Burnout revenge or takedown which I loved. I was so annoyed that it wasn't that I quickly put it away for 6 months. But after taking it out again and learning the new ways to play the game has become very addictive. The online play was awsome and I had great fun never having to click through menus. I still prefer the revenge edition but this was a massive leap forward in many ways. More of a car racing game for open world gamers. PS I totally agree about the map being useless (way too small and dark to use in a race) - how about the option of a bigger directional arrow like in NFS titles to make it more accessible for all. Accidentally wandered online and had a great time trying to right off other peoples cars to a soundtrack of classical tunes!. Overall a really great game if you put 3 or 4 hours into it before deciding). The next installment of burnout or BLUR game should be awsome. Expand
  11. RobH.
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    The new open world design is worth the price of admission. While startling at first (to this Burnout veteran), the non-menu driven free roam structure quickly draws you in. The game is not perfect, (as pointed out by many other reviewers) but will provide many exhilarating hours of gameplay on a cold winter's night. Criterion has done it again!
  12. D.S.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    Burnout is one of the best driving games I have played in my life. The graphics are wonderful, even though I think the physics could have been fleshed out more, the sound and soundtrack is wonderful, the premise is awesome, and the control and sens of speed are great. It makes me wonder how need for speed prostreet or Carbon came from the same company that made burnout. To me EA needs to Burnout is one of the best driving games I have played in my life. The graphics are wonderful, even though I think the physics could have been fleshed out more, the sound and soundtrack is wonderful, the premise is awesome, and the control and sens of speed are great. It makes me wonder how need for speed prostreet or Carbon came from the same company that made burnout. To me EA needs to let Criterion work on Need for Speed as well, may be it will bring it back to its roots. Expand
  13. Steve
    Feb 5, 2008
    8
    I wonder what people were thinking when they heard that the next Burnout would be open world. Did they expect that it would be just like Burnout Revenge in an open world? Because it is. The demo doesn't do it justice, and aside from getting the option to restart burning routes or stunt runs I don't see a point in restarting races or marked man or road rage since those events are I wonder what people were thinking when they heard that the next Burnout would be open world. Did they expect that it would be just like Burnout Revenge in an open world? Because it is. The demo doesn't do it justice, and aside from getting the option to restart burning routes or stunt runs I don't see a point in restarting races or marked man or road rage since those events are at every other corner. The game was developed to make you explore the world. A major fault is that this game is no longer fun in local multiplayer since there is no local multiplayer. That's truly a shame. Expand
  14. RandyG.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    A 7.1 so far? you have to be kidding. If you played just the demo, you're missing out. This game is great online, smooth as butter.
  15. RavenWolfx
    Jan 29, 2008
    8
    I've had some great fun with this game. The races are fun, road rage is great, and the online challenges with up to 7 other players is awesome. There are some pretty annoying flaws, though. The retry for a race is annoying, as well as not being able to abandon the race in the middle. I have accidently launched a race/roadrage/etc that I have already completed and I'm forced to I've had some great fun with this game. The races are fun, road rage is great, and the online challenges with up to 7 other players is awesome. There are some pretty annoying flaws, though. The retry for a race is annoying, as well as not being able to abandon the race in the middle. I have accidently launched a race/roadrage/etc that I have already completed and I'm forced to complete the damn thing again. The sense of speed isn't very good until you start getting some decent cars, but then it gets immensely better. I would recommend renting the game first (as I recommend with all games, even though I myself don't follow that advice most of the time). Collapse
  16. ApocalypseB.
    Feb 22, 2008
    8
    Good game but not a great one, quite simply put. For the first time on Burnout, I prefer to play offline than on, as online gets really boring very quickly as you have to complete stupid mini games rather than going straight into Road rage or a race. And I am no a great fan of the open world either, as finding races and events are fine but the choice of what you do is taken out of your Good game but not a great one, quite simply put. For the first time on Burnout, I prefer to play offline than on, as online gets really boring very quickly as you have to complete stupid mini games rather than going straight into Road rage or a race. And I am no a great fan of the open world either, as finding races and events are fine but the choice of what you do is taken out of your hands almost completely. And Crash mode and the very annoying DJ whatever are crap! But there are more positives than negatives here, much more, but having gone through most of the series in a set way I guess I wasn't ready for change. In time though, I reckon will be! For now I will continue to burn offline, thats where Burnout lives strong for me! Expand
  17. ChrisC.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    If you look through these user scores - and all of the forum posts - you'll find that the low scores come from folks that wanted yet another iteration of the same game they've played 4 times before. Well, I'm happy to say that Criterion didn't give them what they wanted. Instead, they gave us one of the best gaming values on the planet next to N+ (400 levels for $10 - If you look through these user scores - and all of the forum posts - you'll find that the low scores come from folks that wanted yet another iteration of the same game they've played 4 times before. Well, I'm happy to say that Criterion didn't give them what they wanted. Instead, they gave us one of the best gaming values on the planet next to N+ (400 levels for $10 - come on... that's bang for the buck!). Here's why: 1) There is over 200 miles of road to be had... from the very start. Hidden throughout are Billboards to drive through, fences to smash, and Super Jumps to hit. Finding all of these is no easy task, so they reward you with pimpy wheels for finding all of each set. 2) The online racing and co-op challenges make for great times. 3) There are cool little places hidden around the game world like an abandoned airport that is reminiscent of a skatepark. 4) When you get bored with something, there is always something else to do. Tired of racing? Get an SUV and do Road Rage or Marked Man. Tired of those? Look for some billboards/smashes/Super Jumps. Tired of those? Try setting the fastest time on a particular street and have your friends' times auto-streamed for comparison. Tired of that? Geez... you're picky, but there's still Showtime - which warrants it's own bullet. 5) Showtime: Now here's a matter of great consternation. Remember Crash mode? Well, it's gone. Get over it. Now imagine that you can trigger your own crash mode at any time during nearly any event - online or off. While is loses the puzzle element that was great about Crach mode, what you gain is the same thing that Criterion has given you everywhere else in this title: FREEDOM! 5) Speaking of which, this open world model allows you to do whatever events you want in whatever order you want. No more getting stuck because you have to re-race the same event over and over to eek out enough points to open the next tier of events. It's all available to you from the start. 6) Most importantly, they have dedicated the next year to constantly improve Burnout Paradise! There are new game modes coming online, an entire new Island, and a host of other goodies that they are going for absolutely free. Hopefully the reasons are apparent why you need to at lest rent this game to give it a shot. The demo on XBL/PSN doesn't do it justice. Expand
  18. JJ
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    I just bought the game about 6 months ago, and it worth every penny. The fact that the game is free roaming is a great feature added to the series. You have many options on the game such as get a license each license brings new perks cars Game Achievements. They also various offline and online events such as racing, marked man, road rage and stun run (not my favoruite) also online they I just bought the game about 6 months ago, and it worth every penny. The fact that the game is free roaming is a great feature added to the series. You have many options on the game such as get a license each license brings new perks cars Game Achievements. They also various offline and online events such as racing, marked man, road rage and stun run (not my favoruite) also online they are various events for 2-8 players. You can restart these events by pressing D on your directional pad (not that hard guys) also they is extra content on DLC such as Boost Special Cars Hot Rod Extreme & Hawker Mech, Legendary Cars P12 Speciall 88 (The Delorean from Back to the Furture) Carson Nighthawk the New Nightrider and General Lee Hunter Calavary Bootlegger, Hunter Matthan Ghost Busters Echo1, Toys, Cops & Robbers and my all time favourite BSI Big Surf Island. Expand
  19. JunnyC.
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    This game is the fire! I am an avid racing fan, especially of driving simulators, but my taste buds were stimulated by the "other" end of racing, i.e. haulin a** through a city w/ full traffic. I've heard complaints of the Crash mode being eliminated...keep the Crash mode and give me the Showtime mode. It's the same concept just with open ended routes of distruction. Get some!
  20. JobAdkins
    Dec 29, 2008
    8
    Great game and good concept but I don't think that the burnout series should of been changed to an open world.It gets very frustrating especially not being able to restart a race immediately.We'll see where they go from here,hopefully they will learn from reviewers and peoples opinion to perfect a package that is mind blowing and solid in every way.
  21. RobJ.
    Feb 5, 2008
    8
    This review refers to the off-line part of the game, and is based on roughly six hours of playing. The free-roaming is a nice addition that works well. It is surprisingly rewarding just to drive around and discover shortcuts, new jumps, or just blast through the traffic. Overall it's a very polished experience, with a fitting soundtrack, and a good feel to the racing. I think car This review refers to the off-line part of the game, and is based on roughly six hours of playing. The free-roaming is a nice addition that works well. It is surprisingly rewarding just to drive around and discover shortcuts, new jumps, or just blast through the traffic. Overall it's a very polished experience, with a fitting soundtrack, and a good feel to the racing. I think car handling has been improved over previous installments. It's still very much an arcade racer, but the walls and traffic are less forgiving, and it's not as insanely fast as Revenge. I agree with others that the lack of a restart option in the events becomes annoying. Personally I enjoy trying to perfect a particular event through multiple tries and persistence. In this case, you have to drive back to the starting location every time. I also kind of miss the "medal system" in Revenge, which added an extra incentive and a feeling of accomplishments, although the system was sometimes very unbalanced. My biggest grudge, however, is the absence of a multiplayer crash mode. The crash party was a superb off-line event with a group of friends, and with an immediate appeal even to non-gamers. It would have been possible to incorporate something similar, starting at either side of a street, and keeping tabs on rounds and player performance in various game modes. Moreover, crashing is decidedly worse this time around. The endless bouncing around in a single try feels weird, and is so much worse than the timed one-hit (+an explosion or two) in Revenge. In other words, the distinguishing hallmark of this series, the excellent crashing, takes a backseat this time. This while nearly every other aspect of the game has been improved. A final objection is the continuing trend of not supporting offline multiplayer. Off-line, this game is strictly single-player, no split-screen, no taking turns etc. Still, overall it is an excellent game, and a reinvention of the series. Sadly, if you want a good crash experience, get Revenge. Expand
  22. JerryG.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Brilliant game in every respect - and BRAVE and INNOVATIVE of the developers to NOT have a 'Restart' button!! It means every race really MATTERS. Plus it relieves you of that 100% completion obsession - forces you to play more organically.
  23. SteveT.
    Mar 4, 2008
    8
    The game is fun but has some major issues, the fun parts are really fun but if your not winning it gets frustrating no restart race after losing sucks.....you have to drive all the way back to the start to restart...the MAP is also a huge FAILURE, normally when racing the little arrow representing your car points upward on your screen and north is shown rotating around the map, but The game is fun but has some major issues, the fun parts are really fun but if your not winning it gets frustrating no restart race after losing sucks.....you have to drive all the way back to the start to restart...the MAP is also a huge FAILURE, normally when racing the little arrow representing your car points upward on your screen and north is shown rotating around the map, but instead your arrow roams aimlessly and the blinking steet signs that tell you to turn are often very wrong........besides these 2 major problems this game is awesome online and off both, have 300 + races, 70+ some cars and tons of fun to be had....some of the first cars suck....excellent FUN Expand
  24. M.I.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    This game is addictive, I don't understand what people are moaning about.
  25. Willie
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    Great game! Fun online, It will take months to complete. Only complaint is that is too easy to crash.
  26. StefB.
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    Very good online mode...Very good offline. I like it, don't listen to the negative critic!
  27. CRick
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Fun Fun Fun game. I ran out of things to do so I wish it was a bit longer, but A blast to play on and off-line.
  28. REAPER33
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Perfect intense flawless racing action! Game add-ons are worth every MS point!! if you don't own this BurnOut title you are missing out big time!!!
  29. DonG.
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    Amazing game the good outweigh the bad 9 to 1. Hence the 9 rating.
  30. DjFIL
    Jan 25, 2008
    9
    This game is awesome. smooth online intergration is really nice. i only have one main complaint, you can't abort/cancel events. i don't care that i can't restart it (as criterion said, they didn't want any load screens)... but i'd like to beable to abort a run.
  31. PhillipN.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    One of the best in the series for sure.
  32. ZacC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME! I think it is more fun than halo and call of duty! No lie. The crashes are so realistic and when you crash, its not disappointing because your car goes flying. When you takedown another car, they can sometimes take out others cars which is the coolest thing ever to watch. The billboards, smashes, and superjumps are so much fun to hit. BUY THIS GAME! IT IS AMAZING I LOVE THIS GAME! I think it is more fun than halo and call of duty! No lie. The crashes are so realistic and when you crash, its not disappointing because your car goes flying. When you takedown another car, they can sometimes take out others cars which is the coolest thing ever to watch. The billboards, smashes, and superjumps are so much fun to hit. BUY THIS GAME! IT IS AMAZING DON'T LISTEN TO ANYTHING UNDER AN 8 FOR THIS GAME! Expand
  33. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    This game is frustrating!All the other burnout games from the first one were incredible.Especially Burnout 3 and burnout revenge.I still will give this game a high score cause it is great but ea needs to fix the wrongs in this game.I still play burnout revenge because that game is a true example of perfection.I have to say that I like midnight club:Los Angeles better by a little bit.I giveThis game is frustrating!All the other burnout games from the first one were incredible.Especially Burnout 3 and burnout revenge.I still will give this game a high score cause it is great but ea needs to fix the wrongs in this game.I still play burnout revenge because that game is a true example of perfection.I have to say that I like midnight club:Los Angeles better by a little bit.I give this game an 8. Expand
  34. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Oh my word, this is a frightfully exciting game, isn't it, chaps? I say. I'm afraid to say that being a distinguished gentleman in the twilight years of his life, and dare I say it, "born with a silver spoon in his mouth", I had yet to encounter one of these new fangled "xbox 360" devices, but I was cajoled into having a "go" by my great-grandson and I'll say it was jolly good funOh my word, this is a frightfully exciting game, isn't it, chaps? I say. I'm afraid to say that being a distinguished gentleman in the twilight years of his life, and dare I say it, "born with a silver spoon in his mouth", I had yet to encounter one of these new fangled "xbox 360" devices, but I was cajoled into having a "go" by my great-grandson and I'll say it was jolly good fun indeed! Unfortunately the opportunity for learning to drive an automobile never presented itself to me in life, as I've always enjoyed the benefit of having a chauffeur, so it took an awfully long time to become acquainted with the steering wheel "controller", but gosh the automobiles in this game do travel at some fair speed, I should hasten to add! If I were to be so rude as to fault the game at all, I should point out that it did not appear to feature the Rolls Royce Silver Shadow, as I would very much have liked to see how the game designers would have portrayed the automobile that ferries me around in real life. However that is a triviality that barely warrants a mention. This game appears to be sterling stuff, and well deserved of the 10 that I have thus awarded to it. Good night. Expand
  35. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    This is a Good game with lots of adrenalin but It is don't have story and And I can't customize the cars BUT this is a very good game with a little miss.
  36. JonathanS.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    This game rocks. Sure it's a little different than the prior version, but overall very good worthwhile game. I will spend lot of time playing this game.
  37. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Criterion Games are back with another installment of the Burnout series, and it is certainly the best title yet. With gorgeous graphics and many new features, Burnout Paradise offers an incredible amount of replay value and will keep you entertained for many an hour. Whether you aim to complete all 350 online challenges, free-roam with your friends, enter ranked and player matches via XboxCriterion Games are back with another installment of the Burnout series, and it is certainly the best title yet. With gorgeous graphics and many new features, Burnout Paradise offers an incredible amount of replay value and will keep you entertained for many an hour. Whether you aim to complete all 350 online challenges, free-roam with your friends, enter ranked and player matches via Xbox Live, or just try and conquer hundreds of single player events and gain your coveted Burnout licence is up to you; but whatever you decide, I am sure you will have fun doing it. The game Expand
  38. May 9, 2011
    8
    As a Burnout game, I WAS mildly disappointed with the lack of an explicit crash mode with the chained explosion effect of the previous games, overall, it's a gorgeous, well-designed, and fun game. Just taking a drive through the miles of the city's open roads is a nice experience, and the cars perform (and deform) as they should. Showtime can't completely fill Crash's shoes, but it does aAs a Burnout game, I WAS mildly disappointed with the lack of an explicit crash mode with the chained explosion effect of the previous games, overall, it's a gorgeous, well-designed, and fun game. Just taking a drive through the miles of the city's open roads is a nice experience, and the cars perform (and deform) as they should. Showtime can't completely fill Crash's shoes, but it does a damn good job trying, and online is a completely engrossing experience that can hook you for days. Overall, a spectacular game that Criterion should be proud of and maintain. Oh, hey, look, I'm not getting paid off by the company! I actually just like this game! Expand
  39. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    It reminds me a bit of GTA except you don't have to bother feeding yourself or hopping from vehicle to vehicle on foot. Now you can just do the rooftop shuffle from the safety of your car! With dozens of fun little stunt spots, plenty of raced out toys to drive, hundreds of shortcuts & jumps, a time trial on every road, and a healthy variety of events (race & other)..there is enough toIt reminds me a bit of GTA except you don't have to bother feeding yourself or hopping from vehicle to vehicle on foot. Now you can just do the rooftop shuffle from the safety of your car! With dozens of fun little stunt spots, plenty of raced out toys to drive, hundreds of shortcuts & jumps, a time trial on every road, and a healthy variety of events (race & other)..there is enough to keep even the shortest of attention spans occupied. Plus, with an open map and no defined circuits, you're left planning your own race routes and improvising the path along the way...pure genius! Expand
  40. Dec 18, 2015
    10
    I really, really love this game and was kind of disappointed when it ended. Even after having spent dozen of hours in it + the DLC. It's just a very memorable experience imo. The location (Paradise City) paired with the excellent soundtrack lead to a very carefree and happy atmosphere. The cars look and sound are very cool and get incredibly fast endgame. There's a lot to do in the openI really, really love this game and was kind of disappointed when it ended. Even after having spent dozen of hours in it + the DLC. It's just a very memorable experience imo. The location (Paradise City) paired with the excellent soundtrack lead to a very carefree and happy atmosphere. The cars look and sound are very cool and get incredibly fast endgame. There's a lot to do in the open world besides the challenges (which offer racing or stunt rides i.e.), just like exploring and looking for various collectibles and big stunt ramps which will grant you unlockables.

    Overall it's just a really great experience and I can recommend playing this game up to this day. The graphics are still more than fine.
    Expand
  41. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    The best arcade racing game of all times. If only you could re-start races when you fail them it would be just perfect!

    Visually it's stunning. It's still better than many next-gen games graphically. Destructions are amazing. Handling is quite tight and there's lots of variety, both visually and in the handling to fit anyone's tastes.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    85
    With its new and open structure, it can be a shock at the beginning. But the gameplay is as addictive as ever and with its vertiginous speed, excellent framerate and, mainly, the new online multiplayer, the new Burnout is still a great game for any arcade racing fan. [Jan 2008]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    As someone who's closely followed Criterion's racing series for the last seven years, it warms my heart to see it evolve into something as innovative, satisfying, and polished as Paradise. [Feb 2008, p.74]
  3. What's here is nothing short of amazing, but I can't help but wonder what could have been. [Feb 2008, p.94]