User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andrew
    Dec 5, 2005
    0
    ive got a copy of this on the PC and the 360 version is terrible. for a consol that is supposed to be the next gen in home entertainment this is just a rip of, yes the frame rate is smooth but it just looks so empty and bland and some of the effects like the heat haze are just embarrasing. i feel so ashamed. so far there has not been one decent game released on this hyped up consol. i ive got a copy of this on the PC and the 360 version is terrible. for a consol that is supposed to be the next gen in home entertainment this is just a rip of, yes the frame rate is smooth but it just looks so empty and bland and some of the effects like the heat haze are just embarrasing. i feel so ashamed. so far there has not been one decent game released on this hyped up consol. i will be selling my 360 on ebay in time for xmas so some mug can give me £700 for it ,at least i will be getting some enjoyment from selling it,more than ive got from its games. Expand
  2. AlexD
    May 24, 2008
    1
    Perhaps good for it's time, CoD2 is now quite a tedious, repetitive and boring experience. The visuals are no longer appealing. The sound is dated as you'd expect. The AI is terrible, especially the friendly AI. The level design is boring and bland. On the 360 this game also suffers from horrendous framerate problems, even when there is little going on. All in all, a very Perhaps good for it's time, CoD2 is now quite a tedious, repetitive and boring experience. The visuals are no longer appealing. The sound is dated as you'd expect. The AI is terrible, especially the friendly AI. The level design is boring and bland. On the 360 this game also suffers from horrendous framerate problems, even when there is little going on. All in all, a very sub-mediocre and mindless experience. Undoubtedly one of the worst shooters on 360. Expand
  3. Peter
    Nov 21, 2005
    3
    Admittedly, I played this on a 360 demobooth in Game in the UK. However, since we often buy games based on demobooth action I feel that the following points are valid. MS UK or GAME UK have made a bbig mistake demoing the 360 with this game.. the graphics are very poor. Half-Life 2 has equally good if not better graphics. For example the textures are very poor. On items like crates insteadAdmittedly, I played this on a 360 demobooth in Game in the UK. However, since we often buy games based on demobooth action I feel that the following points are valid. MS UK or GAME UK have made a bbig mistake demoing the 360 with this game.. the graphics are very poor. Half-Life 2 has equally good if not better graphics. For example the textures are very poor. On items like crates instead of being able to see contents through the wooden slats, you get annoying white lines. On the level that was on the 360 I was playing (it looked like either Italian theatre or North African Theatre of war) there was a German Horch truck. When the avatar got within 1 foot of it, it was apparent how poor the textures were with no depth or definition. Considering that Halo 1 had fantastically detailed textures this is appalling. Additionally, when your squad are running through you and through sand bags one has to question the collision detection routines. This may be acceptable to the children and simple minded customers of the PS2, but since MS target market is supposedly a higher age and mentality segment it's not accpetable. If I want this poor quality of game I'mnot about to spend a total of £320 to play something that has moved consoles backwards. MS has made a big mistake by firstly not getting production levels sorted out for the obvious Christmas rush but they have released pathetic games for pathetic people. I'm glad I forgot to put my deposit down. I'm going to wait now instead of buying before Christmas and see what the PS3 does and I can guarantee that many customers will do the same. PS I have 4 kids and 4 Xboxes, so MS have missed out big time! Expand
  4. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  5. KellyH
    Mar 12, 2009
    1
    Worst AI EVER!! Friendly AI is completely useless. Enemy AI is omniscient. So completely BS that I will never buy another game in the CoD series.
  6. PaulF.
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Call me fruity 2 this game is fantastic on the PC but this version is £30 more exspencive and is far less detailed, be warned microsoft have sold you a cheap consol knowing that you will pay an extra £20 for its games that are no more than old xbox games with new textures. i feel like a complete and utter plonka for queing up for my 360 at least i only waisted £210 on Call me fruity 2 this game is fantastic on the PC but this version is £30 more exspencive and is far less detailed, be warned microsoft have sold you a cheap consol knowing that you will pay an extra £20 for its games that are no more than old xbox games with new textures. i feel like a complete and utter plonka for queing up for my 360 at least i only waisted £210 on the damed thing. Expand
  7. Pete
    Dec 19, 2005
    2
    over priced for whats on offer, if your lucky to have a good pc then save your self $30 and get the pc version because its better in graphics sound and playability.
  8. xoboxgod
    Dec 21, 2005
    3
    just goes to show you that as there was not any other major launch title this game takes up the slack. i bet if halo 3 was the launch title then this game would have got a more relistic low score, this game is worth £24.99( same price as the PC version) not £49.99 smell the coffie people microsoft has sold you a cheap consol hoping that they can get away with chargingjust goes to show you that as there was not any other major launch title this game takes up the slack. i bet if halo 3 was the launch title then this game would have got a more relistic low score, this game is worth £24.99( same price as the PC version) not £49.99 smell the coffie people microsoft has sold you a cheap consol hoping that they can get away with charging £49.99 for all games regardless if they have put the developent in or not. Expand
  9. J.K.
    Nov 7, 2007
    1
    This game has horrible framerate, when the screen gets filled with enemies the screen becomes very jerky can't stand playing it.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. The definitive, most universally appealing WWII title ever made. It's not that the game does anything more or less than its digital brothers in arms, far from it, but instead it strips the genre down to the bare essentials and this turns it into one of the most pure shooters we've seen for some time.
  2. 100
    A freakin' work of art. It is, without a doubt, the best-looking console game to date, and the most psychotically intense World War II shooter to boot.
  3. Almost everything that makes the PC version one of the year's best shooters remains intact on the Xbox 360 version of the game, which looks just as good and actually runs smoother than all but the most beastly of gaming PCs.