User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    The First great Shooter for the Xbox 360? You bet your whole 120 million dollar mansion it is. Not only that, but out of all the games in the Call Of Duty Franchise, this is the best. No, that's underestimating it. It is the ULTIMATE Call Of Duty Game to have. It is Infinity Ward's Masterpiece. Call of Duty 2, best played on the 360, is a testament to the modern day First Person Shooter.The First great Shooter for the Xbox 360? You bet your whole 120 million dollar mansion it is. Not only that, but out of all the games in the Call Of Duty Franchise, this is the best. No, that's underestimating it. It is the ULTIMATE Call Of Duty Game to have. It is Infinity Ward's Masterpiece. Call of Duty 2, best played on the 360, is a testament to the modern day First Person Shooter. Unlike the original Call Of Duty, Call Of Duty 2 takes us to places in the war more epic and diverse than the Original. Normandy, the greatest and most gruesome battle of the War, is portrayed in CoD2. North Africa is portrayed in CoD2. Moscow is portrayed in CoD2. Stalingrad is portrayed in CoD2. It is an amazing experience. Not only that, but multiplayer is kick-ass awesome aswell. Very rrare in the Call Of Duty series a GREAT CAMPAIGN and GREAT MULTIPLAYER. Only two other in the Call Of Duty titles achieve this. Well done, Infinity Ward! Expand
  2. BlakeG.
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    The best World War II game for console by far. I have played a lot of games since COD2 and none have even come close. Nothing was as fun as online play! Always has been, always will be, the BEST Xbox 360 game I have ever played
  3. EmoryD
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    This was a great game, in my opinion i think it was better than call of duty 3. I say it has descent graphics for Xbox360. It is also pretty challenging on veteran.(well duh!!!) Good FPS game i recommend all fans of shooter games gets themselves a copy!
  4. OliverH
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    Quite possibly the best WW2 game of all time. it excels in every way in the single player, but a lack of online player support lets it down and it just falls short of the 10 mark from me. Go online today and you will still find a few players on there. Graphically this game is ace, it has stood the test of time well and is still a visual treat in my opinion. A must buy!
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    For a FPS that was made in 2005 this holds up extremely well, the campaign is epic and one of the best in the series, and the graphics look great for a game that came out in 2005, and the sound design is still top notch and fantastic, and if you've played a recent Call of Duty game you'll have no problem playing this as the controls are identical, the only thing different from this andFor a FPS that was made in 2005 this holds up extremely well, the campaign is epic and one of the best in the series, and the graphics look great for a game that came out in 2005, and the sound design is still top notch and fantastic, and if you've played a recent Call of Duty game you'll have no problem playing this as the controls are identical, the only thing different from this and newer Call of Duty games is that there isn't a sprint option and there isn't a knife but you do have a riffle butt so melee attacks aren't a one hit kill, and you will still be able to find a multiplayer match every now and then, and the multiplayer is still fun but flawed, I like the fact that you can change classes in the middle of a match which is cool, but the fact that you can change teams in the middle of a match so if your team is losing you can just jump on the others is a huge flaw, but obviously you'll just play a newer Call of Duty for your multiplayer fix, but it's still cool to play a match or two just to see how far it's come from then, the best part about this is the fantastic campaign which is action packed and will keep you coming back, honestly I have to say I loved this and that it's the best World War 2 FPS I've ever played, and this is a must play for Call of Duty, World War 2, or FPS fans, or just people who like to play fantastic games, I highly recommend. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite shooter ever. Great play and feel. Perfects controls. Completely balanced. Good graphics for it's time. THIS is the game that started the COD franchise. Single player was definitely fun and made me feel like I was in a war. It was excitement and full of emotion. Multiplayer was the best multiplayer experience I've ever had on a game. No BS perks and killstreaks like theThis is my favorite shooter ever. Great play and feel. Perfects controls. Completely balanced. Good graphics for it's time. THIS is the game that started the COD franchise. Single player was definitely fun and made me feel like I was in a war. It was excitement and full of emotion. Multiplayer was the best multiplayer experience I've ever had on a game. No BS perks and killstreaks like the newer CODs. Just a man and his gun. (And a grenade or launcher or to). Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    For a game that is like six years old, this i what is Call of Duty in one hundred percent . Adrenaline and non stop action is what you expect. The single player is enough to satisfy every one, in fact even better than all the short campaigns of the latest entries. Have a problem with Multiplayer? don't complain because is as addictive as ever.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The second greatest COD ever made the story was good the guns were good the maps were fun it was a great game but there was no sprinting and the game gets a tad clunky at times
  9. JeffB.
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    I was pretty amazed at the grahpics and was equally impressed with the game play. I am very pleased with this game and definatly feel that it is a must have title for the XBOX 360.
  10. RobertS.
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    I waited in a 5 hour line at 3 in the morning to purchase the 360, why? Simply so I could play call of duty 2. I have not been disapointed either. This is by far my favorite FPS. Before this game I played Rainbow Six 3 and Halo 2 just like every other FPS gamer and was satisfied. The single player in this game tops both of them by a mile in my opinion. The only thing keeping me from I waited in a 5 hour line at 3 in the morning to purchase the 360, why? Simply so I could play call of duty 2. I have not been disapointed either. This is by far my favorite FPS. Before this game I played Rainbow Six 3 and Halo 2 just like every other FPS gamer and was satisfied. The single player in this game tops both of them by a mile in my opinion. The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the lag on multiplayer. Expand
  11. DavidW.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    An amazing World War 2 game with so much care and detail. This is a must buy in my books!
  12. SamL.
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    The first time I came muzzle to muzzle with a german soldier, I literally ducked when he shot. This game is intense and immersive. Things can get out of control quickly. Especially in the russian campaign when you have to fend off 4 waves of german infantry from a window. The sound is fantastic, even though I do not use surround. I imagine it must be great with it. Online play is a major The first time I came muzzle to muzzle with a german soldier, I literally ducked when he shot. This game is intense and immersive. Things can get out of control quickly. Especially in the russian campaign when you have to fend off 4 waves of german infantry from a window. The sound is fantastic, even though I do not use surround. I imagine it must be great with it. Online play is a major plus. It is just as fun as Halo 2. The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the aiming system. It needs some work. Bottom line: If you have a 360, you need to have this game. Period. Expand
  13. Shane
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    lets get one thing straight i have this on my pc with a pentium 3.2 and 1 gig of ram and a ati 256 video card and this game on the 360 plays smoother and looks just as good and if you have a hd tv it is outstanding. the game play is linear but never gets old liike other games like this and dont listen to anybody that says the ai is horrible they are smarter then most first person lets get one thing straight i have this on my pc with a pentium 3.2 and 1 gig of ram and a ati 256 video card and this game on the 360 plays smoother and looks just as good and if you have a hd tv it is outstanding. the game play is linear but never gets old liike other games like this and dont listen to anybody that says the ai is horrible they are smarter then most first person shooters. anybody that gives this game below a 8 is jealous bevcause they dont have a 360 or they just love pc gaming this is a must buy. Expand
  14. MiguelG.
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    I find odd, how can someone give a 2 to a game like this... man your credibility just went down. Anyway, the game's great, it's really the first real "next-gen" game (much better than PDZ). This is a console game, not a PC game, and in my point of view there are numerous vantages that justify the price, the one I love best is: "just insert the DVD, sit back on the sofa, and I find odd, how can someone give a 2 to a game like this... man your credibility just went down. Anyway, the game's great, it's really the first real "next-gen" game (much better than PDZ). This is a console game, not a PC game, and in my point of view there are numerous vantages that justify the price, the one I love best is: "just insert the DVD, sit back on the sofa, and watch the huge screen, and listen to those woderfull 5.1 soundsystem, and do not worry, you're playing the full experience, don't need to go look for that - other - videoboard, or whatever"!. Why 9 and not 10 ? could/should be longer. Expand
  15. Ron
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    This game is game is GREAT!!! Graphics and Gameplay are Excellent! This is a must buy game. Don't rent it! It is one of those games that you will play once, and go back to play it again!
  16. CiaranG.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    Fantastic stuff. The campaign modes are amazing and thrilling. The graphics and general presentation are top-notch. The campaign mode couldn't be any better, if you ask me. There's just the right amount of everything. Some parts are easy enough but fun enough not to get you annoyed and other parts are challenging but not as hard as to frustrate you. Online play is also Fantastic stuff. The campaign modes are amazing and thrilling. The graphics and general presentation are top-notch. The campaign mode couldn't be any better, if you ask me. There's just the right amount of everything. Some parts are easy enough but fun enough not to get you annoyed and other parts are challenging but not as hard as to frustrate you. Online play is also brilliant. One of my favourite games for online play. Sometimes you'll experience lag or the game will end all of a sudden but it hasn't ruined much of the experience at all. I haven't tried the new patch that fixes this but it will make things all the better! Expand
  17. Balthamos
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    If you enjoyed the original CoD series, then you will be happy with this latest installment. The gameplay is solid and the single player will keep you busy for a while. However, I am disappointed with multiplayer aspect. It is based more on a strategy and is completely different from the PC version. The battles usually are small and there is a limit of only 8 people per game. I loved the If you enjoyed the original CoD series, then you will be happy with this latest installment. The gameplay is solid and the single player will keep you busy for a while. However, I am disappointed with multiplayer aspect. It is based more on a strategy and is completely different from the PC version. The battles usually are small and there is a limit of only 8 people per game. I loved the multiplayer in the PC version, but this one just doesn't step up to par. Expand
  18. Eric
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    This game is awesome. With all the terrible WWII games clogging the pipes in gaming, this game is definitely a must-buy. The graphics are amazing, (look at the smoke in the screenshots) and if played on the right difficulty, the AI is incredibly smart (on both the axis and allies sides). An intense and challenging game. The only problem is that the online multiplayer play is alright, just This game is awesome. With all the terrible WWII games clogging the pipes in gaming, this game is definitely a must-buy. The graphics are amazing, (look at the smoke in the screenshots) and if played on the right difficulty, the AI is incredibly smart (on both the axis and allies sides). An intense and challenging game. The only problem is that the online multiplayer play is alright, just not amazing like the single-player campaign. Expand
  19. MichaelR.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Its the greatest war game ever made.The graphics and the AI were great.The game is intense from start to finish.Its very difficult and very fun to play in Hard mode.The level design have great details.
  20. bryanMccann
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    this was a pritty good game for one of the first games to come out on the 360. its controls are great and graphics not that bad even without hd. but then came that crap of a game Call of duty 3 I would not even recomend even righting it. i hope 4 is way better then 3 it looks like it will.
  21. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Good game. New games simply leave it in the dust however. But, this will remain an Xbox/ps3 classic for years to come.
  22. PekkaK.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best FPS on X360. Still, 2008, it remains to be the best. Even Call of Duty 4 doesn't match its greatness. Multiplayer sucks though, 8 players per match is not enough.
  23. agsg
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    wow awesome
  24. CathalH.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    This is hands down the best world war 2 shooter ever! Xbox 360 is made better by having this gem on lauch. Buy this game!
  25. JaredM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome!
  26. WillT.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Wow! Is this the greatest World War 2 shooter ever? Without a doubt! Buy it. Play it. Love it.
  27. DariusT.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This is the most realistic game ever.
  28. DustinP.
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Call of Duty 2 is one of the best and realistic war games of all time!
  29. RyanG.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Extremely good graphics. Portrays WWII perfectly. Very exciting to play. Online play is unbeatable.
  30. JoeC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Very immersive, amazing graphics, timeless story line, incredible online play, stole me away from the PC Version of the same game.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. The definitive, most universally appealing WWII title ever made. It's not that the game does anything more or less than its digital brothers in arms, far from it, but instead it strips the genre down to the bare essentials and this turns it into one of the most pure shooters we've seen for some time.
  2. 100
    A freakin' work of art. It is, without a doubt, the best-looking console game to date, and the most psychotically intense World War II shooter to boot.
  3. Almost everything that makes the PC version one of the year's best shooters remains intact on the Xbox 360 version of the game, which looks just as good and actually runs smoother than all but the most beastly of gaming PCs.