User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    The First great Shooter for the Xbox 360? You bet your whole 120 million dollar mansion it is. Not only that, but out of all the games in the Call Of Duty Franchise, this is the best. No, that's underestimating it. It is the ULTIMATE Call Of Duty Game to have. It is Infinity Ward's Masterpiece. Call of Duty 2, best played on the 360, is a testament to the modern day First Person Shooter.The First great Shooter for the Xbox 360? You bet your whole 120 million dollar mansion it is. Not only that, but out of all the games in the Call Of Duty Franchise, this is the best. No, that's underestimating it. It is the ULTIMATE Call Of Duty Game to have. It is Infinity Ward's Masterpiece. Call of Duty 2, best played on the 360, is a testament to the modern day First Person Shooter. Unlike the original Call Of Duty, Call Of Duty 2 takes us to places in the war more epic and diverse than the Original. Normandy, the greatest and most gruesome battle of the War, is portrayed in CoD2. North Africa is portrayed in CoD2. Moscow is portrayed in CoD2. Stalingrad is portrayed in CoD2. It is an amazing experience. Not only that, but multiplayer is kick-ass awesome aswell. Very rrare in the Call Of Duty series a GREAT CAMPAIGN and GREAT MULTIPLAYER. Only two other in the Call Of Duty titles achieve this. Well done, Infinity Ward! Expand
  2. BlakeG.
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    The best World War II game for console by far. I have played a lot of games since COD2 and none have even come close. Nothing was as fun as online play! Always has been, always will be, the BEST Xbox 360 game I have ever played
  3. EmoryD
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    This was a great game, in my opinion i think it was better than call of duty 3. I say it has descent graphics for Xbox360. It is also pretty challenging on veteran.(well duh!!!) Good FPS game i recommend all fans of shooter games gets themselves a copy!
  4. OliverH
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    Quite possibly the best WW2 game of all time. it excels in every way in the single player, but a lack of online player support lets it down and it just falls short of the 10 mark from me. Go online today and you will still find a few players on there. Graphically this game is ace, it has stood the test of time well and is still a visual treat in my opinion. A must buy!
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    For a FPS that was made in 2005 this holds up extremely well, the campaign is epic and one of the best in the series, and the graphics look great for a game that came out in 2005, and the sound design is still top notch and fantastic, and if you've played a recent Call of Duty game you'll have no problem playing this as the controls are identical, the only thing different from this andFor a FPS that was made in 2005 this holds up extremely well, the campaign is epic and one of the best in the series, and the graphics look great for a game that came out in 2005, and the sound design is still top notch and fantastic, and if you've played a recent Call of Duty game you'll have no problem playing this as the controls are identical, the only thing different from this and newer Call of Duty games is that there isn't a sprint option and there isn't a knife but you do have a riffle butt so melee attacks aren't a one hit kill, and you will still be able to find a multiplayer match every now and then, and the multiplayer is still fun but flawed, I like the fact that you can change classes in the middle of a match which is cool, but the fact that you can change teams in the middle of a match so if your team is losing you can just jump on the others is a huge flaw, but obviously you'll just play a newer Call of Duty for your multiplayer fix, but it's still cool to play a match or two just to see how far it's come from then, the best part about this is the fantastic campaign which is action packed and will keep you coming back, honestly I have to say I loved this and that it's the best World War 2 FPS I've ever played, and this is a must play for Call of Duty, World War 2, or FPS fans, or just people who like to play fantastic games, I highly recommend. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite shooter ever. Great play and feel. Perfects controls. Completely balanced. Good graphics for it's time. THIS is the game that started the COD franchise. Single player was definitely fun and made me feel like I was in a war. It was excitement and full of emotion. Multiplayer was the best multiplayer experience I've ever had on a game. No BS perks and killstreaks like theThis is my favorite shooter ever. Great play and feel. Perfects controls. Completely balanced. Good graphics for it's time. THIS is the game that started the COD franchise. Single player was definitely fun and made me feel like I was in a war. It was excitement and full of emotion. Multiplayer was the best multiplayer experience I've ever had on a game. No BS perks and killstreaks like the newer CODs. Just a man and his gun. (And a grenade or launcher or to). Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    For a game that is like six years old, this i what is Call of Duty in one hundred percent . Adrenaline and non stop action is what you expect. The single player is enough to satisfy every one, in fact even better than all the short campaigns of the latest entries. Have a problem with Multiplayer? don't complain because is as addictive as ever.
  8. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    I've wanted this game since 2007 but now that I've finally got round to playing 7 years after its release, I can confirm that it is a great game. It comes as no surprise that it was once the most played game on Xbox LIVE. Controls are solid, sensitivity options are good, iron sights have perfect balance between zoom and field of view. Guns are satisfying and have nice weighty recoil.I've wanted this game since 2007 but now that I've finally got round to playing 7 years after its release, I can confirm that it is a great game. It comes as no surprise that it was once the most played game on Xbox LIVE. Controls are solid, sensitivity options are good, iron sights have perfect balance between zoom and field of view. Guns are satisfying and have nice weighty recoil. Graphics are better than World at War in terms of facial detail and environments and lighting. Multiplayer is very simple because you just pick the weapons available to your team. Very balanced between bolt actions, rifles and SMGs. Headshots are insta-kill too. This game also has 4 player split-screen and system link for LAN parties. The campaign is long but fairly decent. It lacks the immersion and movie-like feel of CoD4 or MW2, but for the time I can imagine it was solid. The 13 achievements totalling 1000G can all be gotten by completing the campaign on Veteran difficulty, which again is not too hard but not easy like MW2 and MW3. Checkpoints are frequent enough to help you too. However, the game can save at awkward points leading to your death over and over so you have to bear that in mind before running in. Smoke often leads to frame rate drops, and is frequently used in the campaign, but given that it runs at a smooth 60 FPS it's not too much of an issue. Overall a great game which really set down the foundations for the most revolutionary shooter of this generation;- Call of Duty 4. Expand
  9. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Cod 2 is one of the best Cod's ever made. Campaign is just fantastic. Multiplayer is good to. Just a great Cod. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Cod 2 8.9/10
  10. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    As one of the early Xbox 360 games, Call of Duty 2 was alot of fun and had nice graphics. COD2 is probably one of my most favorite WW2 based games of all times and it is alot of fun, shooter fans def. check it out.
  11. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The second greatest COD ever made the story was good the guns were good the maps were fun it was a great game but there was no sprinting and the game gets a tad clunky at times
  12. Jan 21, 2015
    6
    This game was fun in all, but a little boring at times. Play all of the other Call Of Duty's before this

    PROS
    -Nice Gameplay

    CONS
    -Poor Graphics
    -Hard gameplay
    -weak story
  13. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Apparently these people don't realize that this is a pretty early xbox 360 game. It is a very solid shooter with solid graphics and gameplay. The missions are fun and it keeps you busy after you beat the campaign with a solid multiplayer mode.
  14. TonyG.
    Dec 22, 2005
    5
    5/10: Not too impressed: GOOD POINT: 1. Fully immersive, convincing environment, possibly the best I've ever seen BAD POINTS: 1. Not a very polished FPS. It may simulate the chaos of battle, but your enemies are anonymous and all game progress is just helter skelter. You can advance through many parts by simply running forward, which will cause your friendly troops to move up and 5/10: Not too impressed: GOOD POINT: 1. Fully immersive, convincing environment, possibly the best I've ever seen BAD POINTS: 1. Not a very polished FPS. It may simulate the chaos of battle, but your enemies are anonymous and all game progress is just helter skelter. You can advance through many parts by simply running forward, which will cause your friendly troops to move up and kill everything in the area. 2. The interface is not playtested enough. It's hard to tell what weapon you're picking up. Several weapons do the same thing. OVERALL: Fun immersive experience that needs to forget about ambience and work on game mechanics. Stick to Halo 2. Collapse
  15. Andrew
    Dec 5, 2005
    0
    ive got a copy of this on the PC and the 360 version is terrible. for a consol that is supposed to be the next gen in home entertainment this is just a rip of, yes the frame rate is smooth but it just looks so empty and bland and some of the effects like the heat haze are just embarrasing. i feel so ashamed. so far there has not been one decent game released on this hyped up consol. i ive got a copy of this on the PC and the 360 version is terrible. for a consol that is supposed to be the next gen in home entertainment this is just a rip of, yes the frame rate is smooth but it just looks so empty and bland and some of the effects like the heat haze are just embarrasing. i feel so ashamed. so far there has not been one decent game released on this hyped up consol. i will be selling my 360 on ebay in time for xmas so some mug can give me £700 for it ,at least i will be getting some enjoyment from selling it,more than ive got from its games. Expand
  16. Alex
    Apr 1, 2006
    5
    i don't really know about this one. its a good and well-done game, but its really not that fun once you consider its all been done a thousand times before. its just another look alike in a LONG line of WWII shooters. the only thing keeping me interested in this game is the 150 points that you get once you beat it. after that comes and goes, i'm done with this title.
  17. AlexD
    May 24, 2008
    1
    Perhaps good for it's time, CoD2 is now quite a tedious, repetitive and boring experience. The visuals are no longer appealing. The sound is dated as you'd expect. The AI is terrible, especially the friendly AI. The level design is boring and bland. On the 360 this game also suffers from horrendous framerate problems, even when there is little going on. All in all, a very Perhaps good for it's time, CoD2 is now quite a tedious, repetitive and boring experience. The visuals are no longer appealing. The sound is dated as you'd expect. The AI is terrible, especially the friendly AI. The level design is boring and bland. On the 360 this game also suffers from horrendous framerate problems, even when there is little going on. All in all, a very sub-mediocre and mindless experience. Undoubtedly one of the worst shooters on 360. Expand
  18. Peter
    Nov 21, 2005
    3
    Admittedly, I played this on a 360 demobooth in Game in the UK. However, since we often buy games based on demobooth action I feel that the following points are valid. MS UK or GAME UK have made a bbig mistake demoing the 360 with this game.. the graphics are very poor. Half-Life 2 has equally good if not better graphics. For example the textures are very poor. On items like crates insteadAdmittedly, I played this on a 360 demobooth in Game in the UK. However, since we often buy games based on demobooth action I feel that the following points are valid. MS UK or GAME UK have made a bbig mistake demoing the 360 with this game.. the graphics are very poor. Half-Life 2 has equally good if not better graphics. For example the textures are very poor. On items like crates instead of being able to see contents through the wooden slats, you get annoying white lines. On the level that was on the 360 I was playing (it looked like either Italian theatre or North African Theatre of war) there was a German Horch truck. When the avatar got within 1 foot of it, it was apparent how poor the textures were with no depth or definition. Considering that Halo 1 had fantastically detailed textures this is appalling. Additionally, when your squad are running through you and through sand bags one has to question the collision detection routines. This may be acceptable to the children and simple minded customers of the PS2, but since MS target market is supposedly a higher age and mentality segment it's not accpetable. If I want this poor quality of game I'mnot about to spend a total of £320 to play something that has moved consoles backwards. MS has made a big mistake by firstly not getting production levels sorted out for the obvious Christmas rush but they have released pathetic games for pathetic people. I'm glad I forgot to put my deposit down. I'm going to wait now instead of buying before Christmas and see what the PS3 does and I can guarantee that many customers will do the same. PS I have 4 kids and 4 Xboxes, so MS have missed out big time! Expand
  19. KONGBALLS
    Aug 11, 2006
    6
    There are some positives & negatives in this game. Positives: beautiful graphics, intelligent NPCs, and great gameplay. Negatives: soldiers will follow you(even higher ranked soldiers), no squad based commands, because you'll be needing them when clearing out a house or bunker, enemies have unlimited numbers in houses & bunkers (unless you want suicide and clear it out yourself), There are some positives & negatives in this game. Positives: beautiful graphics, intelligent NPCs, and great gameplay. Negatives: soldiers will follow you(even higher ranked soldiers), no squad based commands, because you'll be needing them when clearing out a house or bunker, enemies have unlimited numbers in houses & bunkers (unless you want suicide and clear it out yourself), shooting enemies 3 times w/ a tommy or MP40 WILL NOT KILL THEM, enemies have no fear (even when a barrage of bullets are being fired at them, you move too slow, some cinematic scenes take away the realism of the game, frag grenades sometimes last to short or long, and last but not least, the enemies are mostley shooting at me andnot my comrades, they treat them very different. If you had the patience to read this, than I congradulate you for agreeing or not agreeing to my opinion, I just hope this changes your mind because it did for me. Expand
  20. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  21. KellyH
    Mar 12, 2009
    1
    Worst AI EVER!! Friendly AI is completely useless. Enemy AI is omniscient. So completely BS that I will never buy another game in the CoD series.
  22. PaulF.
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Call me fruity 2 this game is fantastic on the PC but this version is £30 more exspencive and is far less detailed, be warned microsoft have sold you a cheap consol knowing that you will pay an extra £20 for its games that are no more than old xbox games with new textures. i feel like a complete and utter plonka for queing up for my 360 at least i only waisted £210 on Call me fruity 2 this game is fantastic on the PC but this version is £30 more exspencive and is far less detailed, be warned microsoft have sold you a cheap consol knowing that you will pay an extra £20 for its games that are no more than old xbox games with new textures. i feel like a complete and utter plonka for queing up for my 360 at least i only waisted £210 on the damed thing. Expand
  23. Pete
    Dec 19, 2005
    2
    over priced for whats on offer, if your lucky to have a good pc then save your self $30 and get the pc version because its better in graphics sound and playability.
  24. xoboxgod
    Dec 21, 2005
    3
    just goes to show you that as there was not any other major launch title this game takes up the slack. i bet if halo 3 was the launch title then this game would have got a more relistic low score, this game is worth £24.99( same price as the PC version) not £49.99 smell the coffie people microsoft has sold you a cheap consol hoping that they can get away with chargingjust goes to show you that as there was not any other major launch title this game takes up the slack. i bet if halo 3 was the launch title then this game would have got a more relistic low score, this game is worth £24.99( same price as the PC version) not £49.99 smell the coffie people microsoft has sold you a cheap consol hoping that they can get away with charging £49.99 for all games regardless if they have put the developent in or not. Expand
  25. J.K.
    Nov 7, 2007
    1
    This game has horrible framerate, when the screen gets filled with enemies the screen becomes very jerky can't stand playing it.
  26. JeffB.
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    I was pretty amazed at the grahpics and was equally impressed with the game play. I am very pleased with this game and definatly feel that it is a must have title for the XBOX 360.
  27. Carcas
    Jan 2, 2006
    8
    The game is above all great but the Explostion graphics and the horrible on line playbring it down from a ten game yo a eight. The campains are the best you will ever see.
  28. RobertS.
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    I waited in a 5 hour line at 3 in the morning to purchase the 360, why? Simply so I could play call of duty 2. I have not been disapointed either. This is by far my favorite FPS. Before this game I played Rainbow Six 3 and Halo 2 just like every other FPS gamer and was satisfied. The single player in this game tops both of them by a mile in my opinion. The only thing keeping me from I waited in a 5 hour line at 3 in the morning to purchase the 360, why? Simply so I could play call of duty 2. I have not been disapointed either. This is by far my favorite FPS. Before this game I played Rainbow Six 3 and Halo 2 just like every other FPS gamer and was satisfied. The single player in this game tops both of them by a mile in my opinion. The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the lag on multiplayer. Expand
  29. DavidW.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    An amazing World War 2 game with so much care and detail. This is a must buy in my books!
  30. SamL.
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    The first time I came muzzle to muzzle with a german soldier, I literally ducked when he shot. This game is intense and immersive. Things can get out of control quickly. Especially in the russian campaign when you have to fend off 4 waves of german infantry from a window. The sound is fantastic, even though I do not use surround. I imagine it must be great with it. Online play is a major The first time I came muzzle to muzzle with a german soldier, I literally ducked when he shot. This game is intense and immersive. Things can get out of control quickly. Especially in the russian campaign when you have to fend off 4 waves of german infantry from a window. The sound is fantastic, even though I do not use surround. I imagine it must be great with it. Online play is a major plus. It is just as fun as Halo 2. The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 10 is the aiming system. It needs some work. Bottom line: If you have a 360, you need to have this game. Period. Expand
  31. Shane
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    lets get one thing straight i have this on my pc with a pentium 3.2 and 1 gig of ram and a ati 256 video card and this game on the 360 plays smoother and looks just as good and if you have a hd tv it is outstanding. the game play is linear but never gets old liike other games like this and dont listen to anybody that says the ai is horrible they are smarter then most first person lets get one thing straight i have this on my pc with a pentium 3.2 and 1 gig of ram and a ati 256 video card and this game on the 360 plays smoother and looks just as good and if you have a hd tv it is outstanding. the game play is linear but never gets old liike other games like this and dont listen to anybody that says the ai is horrible they are smarter then most first person shooters. anybody that gives this game below a 8 is jealous bevcause they dont have a 360 or they just love pc gaming this is a must buy. Expand
  32. MiguelG.
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    I find odd, how can someone give a 2 to a game like this... man your credibility just went down. Anyway, the game's great, it's really the first real "next-gen" game (much better than PDZ). This is a console game, not a PC game, and in my point of view there are numerous vantages that justify the price, the one I love best is: "just insert the DVD, sit back on the sofa, and I find odd, how can someone give a 2 to a game like this... man your credibility just went down. Anyway, the game's great, it's really the first real "next-gen" game (much better than PDZ). This is a console game, not a PC game, and in my point of view there are numerous vantages that justify the price, the one I love best is: "just insert the DVD, sit back on the sofa, and watch the huge screen, and listen to those woderfull 5.1 soundsystem, and do not worry, you're playing the full experience, don't need to go look for that - other - videoboard, or whatever"!. Why 9 and not 10 ? could/should be longer. Expand
  33. Ron
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    This game is game is GREAT!!! Graphics and Gameplay are Excellent! This is a must buy game. Don't rent it! It is one of those games that you will play once, and go back to play it again!
  34. CiaranG.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    Fantastic stuff. The campaign modes are amazing and thrilling. The graphics and general presentation are top-notch. The campaign mode couldn't be any better, if you ask me. There's just the right amount of everything. Some parts are easy enough but fun enough not to get you annoyed and other parts are challenging but not as hard as to frustrate you. Online play is also Fantastic stuff. The campaign modes are amazing and thrilling. The graphics and general presentation are top-notch. The campaign mode couldn't be any better, if you ask me. There's just the right amount of everything. Some parts are easy enough but fun enough not to get you annoyed and other parts are challenging but not as hard as to frustrate you. Online play is also brilliant. One of my favourite games for online play. Sometimes you'll experience lag or the game will end all of a sudden but it hasn't ruined much of the experience at all. I haven't tried the new patch that fixes this but it will make things all the better! Expand
  35. Balthamos
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    If you enjoyed the original CoD series, then you will be happy with this latest installment. The gameplay is solid and the single player will keep you busy for a while. However, I am disappointed with multiplayer aspect. It is based more on a strategy and is completely different from the PC version. The battles usually are small and there is a limit of only 8 people per game. I loved the If you enjoyed the original CoD series, then you will be happy with this latest installment. The gameplay is solid and the single player will keep you busy for a while. However, I am disappointed with multiplayer aspect. It is based more on a strategy and is completely different from the PC version. The battles usually are small and there is a limit of only 8 people per game. I loved the multiplayer in the PC version, but this one just doesn't step up to par. Expand
  36. Eric
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    This game is awesome. With all the terrible WWII games clogging the pipes in gaming, this game is definitely a must-buy. The graphics are amazing, (look at the smoke in the screenshots) and if played on the right difficulty, the AI is incredibly smart (on both the axis and allies sides). An intense and challenging game. The only problem is that the online multiplayer play is alright, just This game is awesome. With all the terrible WWII games clogging the pipes in gaming, this game is definitely a must-buy. The graphics are amazing, (look at the smoke in the screenshots) and if played on the right difficulty, the AI is incredibly smart (on both the axis and allies sides). An intense and challenging game. The only problem is that the online multiplayer play is alright, just not amazing like the single-player campaign. Expand
  37. Jig
    Jul 30, 2006
    7
    Great game, but the multiplayer was a dissapointment. No vehicles, small maps, and basically no new innovations for the FPS genre so that it will actually seem like a step backwards from the COD 1 mulitplayer. Save your money for Call of Duty 3, hopefully they will have listened to the complaints many people had in regards to online play.
  38. MichaelR.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Its the greatest war game ever made.The graphics and the AI were great.The game is intense from start to finish.Its very difficult and very fun to play in Hard mode.The level design have great details.
  39. bryanMccann
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    this was a pritty good game for one of the first games to come out on the 360. its controls are great and graphics not that bad even without hd. but then came that crap of a game Call of duty 3 I would not even recomend even righting it. i hope 4 is way better then 3 it looks like it will.
  40. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Good game. New games simply leave it in the dust however. But, this will remain an Xbox/ps3 classic for years to come.
  41. RickR.
    Jan 8, 2008
    7
    While probably good for it's time this game is quickly showing it's age when stacked up against newer games. The fragmented story and respawning enemies turn what should have been an exhilarating interactive trip through history into a chore.
  42. PekkaK.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best FPS on X360. Still, 2008, it remains to be the best. Even Call of Duty 4 doesn't match its greatness. Multiplayer sucks though, 8 players per match is not enough.
  43. agsg
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    wow awesome
  44. CathalH.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    This is hands down the best world war 2 shooter ever! Xbox 360 is made better by having this gem on lauch. Buy this game!
  45. JaredM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome!
  46. WillT.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Wow! Is this the greatest World War 2 shooter ever? Without a doubt! Buy it. Play it. Love it.
  47. DariusT.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This is the most realistic game ever.
  48. DustinP.
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Call of Duty 2 is one of the best and realistic war games of all time!
  49. RyanG.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Extremely good graphics. Portrays WWII perfectly. Very exciting to play. Online play is unbeatable.
  50. JoeC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Very immersive, amazing graphics, timeless story line, incredible online play, stole me away from the PC Version of the same game.
  51. DeschS.
    Mar 17, 2006
    8
    Very immersive, audio is really clear and realistic. Graphics are good but i was hoping it will be better(if only normal mapping was used on large scale like Perfect Dark Zero). Aggressiveness enemy AI is what i enjoyed the most, you have to be very carefull not to let the enemy flank or rear you.
  52. SpencerH.
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    An excelent all around Game.
  53. MattC.
    May 14, 2006
    10
    I purchased a 360 with COD2, PGR3 and Perfect Dark Zero on the first day it was out. Call of Duty 2 was the only one that actually made me think that I was playing on a new console. The graphics are excellent, enemy AI is like nothing I've ever seen before, and online play blows away even Counter-Strike. This is defintely THE game for the XBOX 360 so far, can't wait till COD3 I purchased a 360 with COD2, PGR3 and Perfect Dark Zero on the first day it was out. Call of Duty 2 was the only one that actually made me think that I was playing on a new console. The graphics are excellent, enemy AI is like nothing I've ever seen before, and online play blows away even Counter-Strike. This is defintely THE game for the XBOX 360 so far, can't wait till COD3 comes out in the fall. Expand
  54. ScottC.
    Jun 18, 2006
    9
    Extremely brilliant on this particular console, especially using xbox live. The main game is alright too but I think that the best part of the game is playing online.
  55. [Anonymous]
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    When I got my 360 in Jan I didn't bother with CoD@ even though everyone rated it. But eventually I bought it cheap and now I wish I had got it straight away. Single-player is fun and intense with a good checkpoint system that never really annoys. Multiplayer (it might have been bad before) is also very good, with enough game modes and maps (additional through marketplace) to keep it When I got my 360 in Jan I didn't bother with CoD@ even though everyone rated it. But eventually I bought it cheap and now I wish I had got it straight away. Single-player is fun and intense with a good checkpoint system that never really annoys. Multiplayer (it might have been bad before) is also very good, with enough game modes and maps (additional through marketplace) to keep it from getting too samey. It has great graphics and audio, controls that never frustrate, and the levels are generally well-structured. The first campaign is the worst for me, but the next two are superb and leaves you with the desire to get CoD3 this autumn. Expand
  56. NateC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Best first person game in this generation and best World War II game. I got the game in February 2007 and went through it in about a week. You just can't stop playing it. My first game for the 360 was Call of Duty 3 so obviously the graphics on Call of Duty 2 didn't amaze me as much as others. The game is intense, exciting, and rewarding. Oh and of course the ability to fight in Best first person game in this generation and best World War II game. I got the game in February 2007 and went through it in about a week. You just can't stop playing it. My first game for the 360 was Call of Duty 3 so obviously the graphics on Call of Duty 2 didn't amaze me as much as others. The game is intense, exciting, and rewarding. Oh and of course the ability to fight in Stalingrad and at Pointe du Hoc. Expand
  57. MikeV.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Great game, best WWII shooter ever. Will probably stay the best WWII shooter for a while.
  58. willl.
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    Whoa. 2008 and this game is AMAZING. I played COD4 first, then this - both on Xbox 360. And it still stacks up against COD4. COD 2 is a longer game and just as intense. Rare that a game could make you FEEL sorry for the enemy... as one was crawling away before I shot him in the back. That's realism!
  59. PimpPlayer
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    Best WAR game so far in this decade, By the way the 360 ROCKS!
  60. AndyM.
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    The best game on market now!
  61. RedRose
    Nov 26, 2005
    7
    Do any of you actually read EDGE?
    If not, go and buy yourself a copy. You are all blowing this game way out of proportion. Calm down. We are not talking about the second coming here. Good graphics, unoriginal gameplay. If you are after intelligent gameplay, you will be disappointed with this game. If you are after originality, you will be disappointed with this game. It is about time
    Do any of you actually read EDGE?
    If not, go and buy yourself a copy. You are all blowing this game way out of proportion. Calm down. We are not talking about the second coming here. Good graphics, unoriginal gameplay. If you are after intelligent gameplay, you will be disappointed with this game. If you are after originality, you will be disappointed with this game. It is about time some of you jumped off the "graphics & linear gameplay" bandwagon and demanded that developers pushed the gaming envelope more.
    Gratuitous - bang bang - you're dead gameplay is so last decade and by salivating (metaphorically, of course) over games like this; you are sending out the wrong message to developers.
    I think that the euphoria of having a new console is clouding some judgment here, or sorry to say it, the reviewers are clearly all under the age of 14 and are not familiar yet with the concept of intelligent gameplay.
    And if you are going to write a review can you kindly take the time to write more than "wow, awesome". .
    Expand
  62. BrentH.
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    awesome, wish i could give it a 9.5, but its hard to committ to the 10 on anygame.
  63. AdamL.
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    Most Realistic War Game I have ever seen. It really unleashes the high points of the 360 like halo 2 did for Xbox. Shows how Microsoft can choose a good lauch game when they see one!
  64. Matt
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    Can't recommend it highly enough. Thoroughly immersive, stunniing to look at, great computer AI, pretty much everything you could want from a period first-person shooter. But what's with all this Xbox 360 bashing? True, if you haven't got a high-definition TV, you're a bit screwed, but "not one decent game"? Andrew, have you actually played Dead Or Alive 4, Project Can't recommend it highly enough. Thoroughly immersive, stunniing to look at, great computer AI, pretty much everything you could want from a period first-person shooter. But what's with all this Xbox 360 bashing? True, if you haven't got a high-definition TV, you're a bit screwed, but "not one decent game"? Andrew, have you actually played Dead Or Alive 4, Project Gotham 3, Perfect Dark Zero, Kameo and Quake 4? It may not be as 'next-gen' as people were hoping, but it's certainly eating hours from my working week! Expand
  65. MikeS.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    The stunning visuals and audio compelles you inside the realism of what ww2 was like !
  66. MattP.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    The best game by far on a poor launch line-up. I got this and Perfect Dark Zero on lauch, The AI and immersive gameplay make Call of Duty so much better. Buy this game!
  67. GarryP.
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    The 360 version is as good if not better than the PC version! If you buy a 360 make sure to get this. It is the best game on the console by quite some distance.
  68. EsbenP.
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    The visuals are stunning and give you lots of WOW effects. The best part of the game are dramatically good. I missed more magnificent scene, but the ones which were, were awsome! the critics have also requested a better physical engine, that's right, they need to improve on that point.
  69. YorY.
    Dec 21, 2005
    8
    The graphics are good, some of the particle effects are better than on the PC version. This is a great game, and so far the only game I have found worth byuing for the x360. However, the framerate does suffer in places, there are significant slowdowns when much happens onscreen (in 720p). I seriously doubt this is because the 260 lacks the nessecary power. Rather the game has been rushed The graphics are good, some of the particle effects are better than on the PC version. This is a great game, and so far the only game I have found worth byuing for the x360. However, the framerate does suffer in places, there are significant slowdowns when much happens onscreen (in 720p). I seriously doubt this is because the 260 lacks the nessecary power. Rather the game has been rushed to lauch, and developers still need to come to terms with the hardware. Had the framerate been perfect it would deserve a 9. Expand
  70. NeilV.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    A truly enjoyable gaming experience. Incredible graphics and sound, very immersive in every way. I've caught myself ducking many times when engaged in a fierce firefight. The X Box Live experience with COD2 is quite amazing. GET THIS GAME. I have spent 2 hours with PDZ and roughly 30 hours with COD2 since the launch, if you want to compare the two.
  71. JessH.
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    awesome game? Yes! I havent been able to pull myself away from it. I loved the first COD on pc, and this one betters itself on every front. Very excellent!
  72. RedXIII
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    Wow this is the best first person shooter I have every played the single player campaign is just amazing, graphics awesome, many difficulty levels, from rookie to veteran suitable for all skills, sound is awesome, the quotes whenever you get killed are a nice touch. overall almost perfect FPS, except the online play sucks that is the only reason stopping it from getting a 10, hopefully Wow this is the best first person shooter I have every played the single player campaign is just amazing, graphics awesome, many difficulty levels, from rookie to veteran suitable for all skills, sound is awesome, the quotes whenever you get killed are a nice touch. overall almost perfect FPS, except the online play sucks that is the only reason stopping it from getting a 10, hopefully they fix it in COD3. Go buy this game. Expand
  73. SergeantP.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    I've lost sleep because of this game. The multiplayer mode in Xbox Live has kept me glued to the console. This is a game that will stay in your console for a long time.
  74. Daz
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    If only the online play was better, this would be the halo of the 360. Every new console needs a must buy game and i guess this is it for the 360. The realism in this game cannot easily be put into words. Sometimes while in the thick of things i have thought "what the hell do i do now" and i suppose soldiers must get that feeling sometimes in real war. The smoke effects in this game are If only the online play was better, this would be the halo of the 360. Every new console needs a must buy game and i guess this is it for the 360. The realism in this game cannot easily be put into words. Sometimes while in the thick of things i have thought "what the hell do i do now" and i suppose soldiers must get that feeling sometimes in real war. The smoke effects in this game are amazing and need to be seen to be believed. I wonder what this game must be like on a hd tele with surround sound. I ahven't got either but it must really rock if you have that setup. The only disappointing thing is the online play which i found to be VERY laggy in all of the games i've played so far. If EA could get that sorted this game would be unbeatable. Expand
  75. T.W.
    Feb 12, 2006
    9
    This game will simpily make your jaw drop.. The holy S...T factor is amazing. I would have given COD2 a 10 if it was not for its horrible online mode.
  76. AnthonyT.
    Feb 15, 2006
    7
    I've never played the PC version, nor do I plan to. The game is a good addition to the long list of WWII games and honestly is one of the better ones. There are several aspects that make it good. The diversity of weapons is good, but not good enough. Ammo is not transferrable between scoped and unscoped versions of the same rifle. You pretty much have to resort to the SMG throughout I've never played the PC version, nor do I plan to. The game is a good addition to the long list of WWII games and honestly is one of the better ones. There are several aspects that make it good. The diversity of weapons is good, but not good enough. Ammo is not transferrable between scoped and unscoped versions of the same rifle. You pretty much have to resort to the SMG throughout the entire game. Your squadmates are as stupid as dead whale and somehow you always get new ones when they die. On the good side, the new scope system and scope variety is very good. The load times are blisteringly fast and the enemy AI is resonably intelligent. The game doesn't resort to impossibly hard enemies as the game gets harder, but does expect one man to take out an entire platoon. The portions of the game were the enemy is endless is completely ridiculous. Pretty much, if you know anything about WWII, the game is enjoyable, but definitely not the best out there. Expand
  77. DAZ
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    I believe i may have reviewed this game before but that was a long while ago and i thought i would write again now i have played it more (40+ hours i believe) I'm quite a casual gamer. I buy games, play them for a while and then usually get bored with them. NOT call of duty 2 though. I first started playing through the campaign on Normal difficulty and got about half way through I believe i may have reviewed this game before but that was a long while ago and i thought i would write again now i have played it more (40+ hours i believe) I'm quite a casual gamer. I buy games, play them for a while and then usually get bored with them. NOT call of duty 2 though. I first started playing through the campaign on Normal difficulty and got about half way through finding it quite easy. Then i went back to the beginning (before finishing it) and started it on 'hardened'. This was more of a challenge and took me a while. Once i'd completed it i just HAD to go back and do it all again on 'veteran' difficulty which was REALLY hard. At one point it took me over 2 hours to reach the next checkpoint. But i did it! And i finished it!! And all of this from a gamer who usually gets bored with games!! Do yourself a big favour. Ask yourself this "do i like first person shooters?". If you answer yes, you HAVE to buy this game. I've been playing games since 1984 and the ZX spectrum and i believe that call of duty 2 is one of the finest games i have ever played. Add to this the fact that Activision have put a patch out for the online play so that it is now much less laggy and this is the ultimate game in my eyes. Expand
  78. TylerG.
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    Awesome Game. Great Graphics. Even better sound and gameplay. All this game need to be a perfect 10 is a lower price.
  79. JoeyG.
    Sep 26, 2008
    7
    While the graphics and gameplay seemed other-worldy when it was launched, they just do not stack up against current titles. That being said, the story works. The action is intense and rewarding on Veteran Difficulty, much more so than on Normal. The sense of accomplishment is immense, IF you can make it to the end without losing your mind.
  80. VP
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    Best game, in a very weak XBOX 360 lineup. Graphics are amazing endless amount of campaign missions and menus are easy to navigate through. Buy this before any other game on the 360.
  81. RonnieC.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    It sounds corny, but this game is so real that at one point I actually froze up with fear, my mind panicing as I was pinned down by Germans in a bombed out building. I was actually afraid for my life as people were screaming and my buddies were getting shot right beside me. I've never had a game do that before, and I've been playing shooting games since Duck Hunt.
  82. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Call of Duty 2 is a very addictive game, if you like these WW2 weapons more than all those modern high-tech stuff this game is great, The rifle only servers in the multiplayer can keep you going for ages.

    I've been playing this game since 2005 and have played over 4000 hours now.
  83. May 13, 2012
    9
    This game is really really really really good. I think this is good and excellent graphics. But the bad thing is that the price is too low. It needs to get higher. Because it is better than the oh so famous and stupid MW3. Thank you for your time.
  84. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Still the best Second World War first person shooter I have ever played!
    Unfortunately, although the graphics in Call of Duty 3 were superficially better, it was glitchy and the game play was not as good.
  85. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Awe-inspiring visuals and sound, brilliantly high-octane gameplay, and a beautiful sense of simplicity highlight "Call Of Duty 2," Infinity Ward's perfect farewell to the WWII shooter genre.
  86. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    Meh, single player was alright. Its multiplayer is probably the 2nd best in terms of CoD games so far, hillariously. It only lacks the multiplayer rpg features of cod4.
  87. AWG
    Jul 27, 2013
    9
    A 2006 FPS that still looks and sounds beautiful in 2013? That's enough to describe how awesome the second installment of the Call of Duty saga was, and still is. Vasiliiiiiii!!!!
  88. Sep 14, 2014
    8
    Don't get me wrong, this is a fairly good game. It's not quite what I understand the later CoD games are (the first 2 are the only ones I've played), in terms of a cinematic presentation. However, what it does, it does well: provides a very solid and enjoyable, albeit derivative, campaign of running various linear missions during World War II. The graphics are fairly good, though someDon't get me wrong, this is a fairly good game. It's not quite what I understand the later CoD games are (the first 2 are the only ones I've played), in terms of a cinematic presentation. However, what it does, it does well: provides a very solid and enjoyable, albeit derivative, campaign of running various linear missions during World War II. The graphics are fairly good, though some textures are a little low res. However, it's a fairly fun game, and though there's not too much variety, it's fun nonetheless. Expand
  89. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    The sequel in the series Call Of Duty is far better than my expectations. With 3 separate campaigns (Russian, British and American) and over 30 missions in total, outstanding variety of weapons for you to select, and enemy AIs being a lot more brilliant fighting with strategies, I' sure you certainly will not be disappointed.
  90. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    This game has stood the test of time, I still think back to the Normandy beach landing and making my way through the trenches 8 years on. This was truly the last great Call of Duty with an immersive single player campaign. The Normandy beach landing was COD at it's best and is the best setting to show off there skills of an action packed scene of bullets and explosions, this was gaming'sThis game has stood the test of time, I still think back to the Normandy beach landing and making my way through the trenches 8 years on. This was truly the last great Call of Duty with an immersive single player campaign. The Normandy beach landing was COD at it's best and is the best setting to show off there skills of an action packed scene of bullets and explosions, this was gaming's Saving Private Ryan. If your after a great WWII game this is the best and most memorable I have played. Expand
  91. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    If you've already played the first game, then you know what to expect with this game. First off, the campaign once features 3 playable factions, Marines, UK, and Soviet Union. Also, unlike the first one, you no longer have a health bar, your health regenerates instead, making a little bit easier than the first. Overall, a great campaign. The mulitplayer on the other hand is pretty much theIf you've already played the first game, then you know what to expect with this game. First off, the campaign once features 3 playable factions, Marines, UK, and Soviet Union. Also, unlike the first one, you no longer have a health bar, your health regenerates instead, making a little bit easier than the first. Overall, a great campaign. The mulitplayer on the other hand is pretty much the same as the first, except your teammates can't kill you and there is one less mode then the first. But the game runs at a consistent 60 FPS, and has major improvement and much better graphics than the first. Overall, superb game, 9.5/10. Expand
  92. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    This game is the best Call of Duty of all time. It's especially well done for the time it came out. It really paints a picture in your head of what the brutal, intense World War II was like. It has stunning visuals, stunning gameplay, and overall wonderful graphics. If your'e a Gamer Score hound like me, pick this game up, but be warned… This game has the hardest veteran campaign in theThis game is the best Call of Duty of all time. It's especially well done for the time it came out. It really paints a picture in your head of what the brutal, intense World War II was like. It has stunning visuals, stunning gameplay, and overall wonderful graphics. If your'e a Gamer Score hound like me, pick this game up, but be warned… This game has the hardest veteran campaign in the whole franchise, but poses a great fun challenge. You will pull your hair out, and yell at your TV at some point believe me. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. The definitive, most universally appealing WWII title ever made. It's not that the game does anything more or less than its digital brothers in arms, far from it, but instead it strips the genre down to the bare essentials and this turns it into one of the most pure shooters we've seen for some time.
  2. 100
    A freakin' work of art. It is, without a doubt, the best-looking console game to date, and the most psychotically intense World War II shooter to boot.
  3. Almost everything that makes the PC version one of the year's best shooters remains intact on the Xbox 360 version of the game, which looks just as good and actually runs smoother than all but the most beastly of gaming PCs.