User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 198

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    An OK game. Brings little new to the table. Has some very fun objectives and has some interesting characters, but they were largely forgettable. Graphics are OK, nothing special, but the game still hold very smooth and fun gameplay that can be enjoyed for long periods of time
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    An overall decent FPS, that brings little more to the genre than more beautiful graphics and the grappling encounters. Worth getting if you like WWII shooters.
  3. TomG
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    THE best game ever. Lifelife graphics, realism, intense, other words i dont know. Not getting this should be a felony of the highest degree.
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    It's gameplay and graphics may not be as revolutionary as Infinity Ward's predecessor, but Treyarch's "Call Of Duty" still represents a memorable WWII shooter that rings a high-note in the franchise's narrative track record.
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    its a good game
    it was fun to play it
    it has a good gameplay and still better
    than modern warfare. i think that the original trilogy
    is better than modern warfare
  6. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 3 is probably the best COD game I have played, and still remains that way. MP was very well balanced, with some of the best maps in the series. Once COD 4 came out, the series seemed to take a dive for the worse. The class based system, and vehicular gameplay trumps the close quarter combat, run and gun style of the newer COD games.
  7. AlejandroR.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Call of Duty 3 is an excellent game. The single player mode with 14 levels is great, and the achievements to go along with it are entertaining to complete. This game probably has better graphics than any other XBOX 360 game. The reason why I did not give it a ten is because it doesnt have small levels for you and a friend to play split screen. I played my brother in this and it took about Call of Duty 3 is an excellent game. The single player mode with 14 levels is great, and the achievements to go along with it are entertaining to complete. This game probably has better graphics than any other XBOX 360 game. The reason why I did not give it a ten is because it doesnt have small levels for you and a friend to play split screen. I played my brother in this and it took about 10 minutes just to find him in the stage. But still, this game is one of the best XBOX 360 games yet. Expand
  8. samjames
    Jun 22, 2008
    8
    a good solid shooter that delivers everything you'd expect. if you wanna test yourself BIGTIME, finish this game on vetran. i have finished just about every major fps on the market, including Halo 1,2,3 all Call of dutys (this one most recently) Half lifes, metroid primes, rainbow sixs, ghost recons, far crys, unreal tournement s and brothers in arms out there on the hardesta good solid shooter that delivers everything you'd expect. if you wanna test yourself BIGTIME, finish this game on vetran. i have finished just about every major fps on the market, including Halo 1,2,3 all Call of dutys (this one most recently) Half lifes, metroid primes, rainbow sixs, ghost recons, far crys, unreal tournement s and brothers in arms out there on the hardest difficulty, and THIS is the hardest of them all. impossibly hard. just try it and you will see. the game is really a 7, but i gave it and 8 cos i like the challenge Expand
  9. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Easily the best online 360 game right now. The 7 classes are in perfect balance, 9 maps are all great. In a game mode called "WAR" the action gets VERY intense compared to other online games around, and people are forced in teamwork. Single player, not so good. It has great moments and graphics, and really annoying moments and ugly graphics here and there. (The magically glowing Lee Easily the best online 360 game right now. The 7 classes are in perfect balance, 9 maps are all great. In a game mode called "WAR" the action gets VERY intense compared to other online games around, and people are forced in teamwork. Single player, not so good. It has great moments and graphics, and really annoying moments and ugly graphics here and there. (The magically glowing Lee Enfield, anyone) As a rule, civilian homes look like crap indoors, all outdoor locations look great. Also, it´s much more restricted than COD2, very corridor-like. Yes you can select routes occasionally: go via corridor 1 or corridor 2. Gameplay is not as polished as in COD2. You get sometimes stuck in small boxes on the floor, you cannot jump over fence, you try to shoot behind a tree, but hit a invisible tree and bulletholes float in the air. Sometimes it feels like the enemy can shoot you, even when they don´t see you. NPC´s animations and movements are twitchier than before. Plus, you cannot skip the long cutscenes, yes, you have to watch them every frickin time you get back to the game! For single player, I still prefer COD2, eventhough COD3 has some improved graphics. Online, it rocks and none of the crticism apply for online play. Expand
  10. JG
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    COD3 is a very magnificent game in the making. The graphics and multiplayer are even better than COD2, but doesn't have the same gameplay as COD2 which was disapointing
  11. FraserD.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Killer title. Cool touches in the single player gam,e - like the next gen grass and solid AI. Amazing mulitplay. You have to check out the new "War" mode in multiplay.!!
  12. CarcasGalactic
    Aug 27, 2006
    9
    HELLO. you cares if the game isn't out. I went and reserved it the other day at game stop and got the demo disk. As far as i can tell its going to be asome. YOU GET TO BE CANADIANS!!! Is there anything that could be more fun!!! GO ACTIVITION!!! Your rigfht on top next to bungie as far as im concerned
  13. JohnW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    Great game, awesome graphics, gameplay is unbelievable....definitely worth the $59.99......The only thing is that there should have been a co-op mode and the multiplayer (local) has no AI's, so its pretty boring.
  14. gingerman
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    any person who gives this game a grade less than 10 is either blind, deaf or dumb or play viva pinata or something. how can you say anything bad about this game?...it is such a giant leap from COD2 that the idiotic reviews gave me a headache. how is this any similar to the past COD games if this is the only one that uses true physics?...rag doll effects?...dynamic lighting and weather any person who gives this game a grade less than 10 is either blind, deaf or dumb or play viva pinata or something. how can you say anything bad about this game?...it is such a giant leap from COD2 that the idiotic reviews gave me a headache. how is this any similar to the past COD games if this is the only one that uses true physics?...rag doll effects?...dynamic lighting and weather effects?...are you people insane?...you spoiled, squirel brained scruffy nerf hurters!!!!!...show me a better war game, ever...i dare you. just the graphics alone can beat any game in its path, so go home idiots and play pinata if you dont agree. Expand
  15. Bobpants
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    i pwn noobs in this game my gamer tag is brenbob
  16. MarkT.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    I am giving this a 10 because I really enjoyed the single player, which was truly intense (I will happily take cinematic over sandbox for a change) and the multiplayer is still in my xbox 3 months after getting it. New multiplayer maps are great; and the miltiplayer gameply is still very active and very fun. Much better than GoW mp in my book.
  17. Serge
    Jul 25, 2007
    8
    Single campaign was a drag. A.I. was pretty much retarded. The plot was gay. Well, I only buy games for multiplayer that's why I gave it an 8. Never played COD 2 and COD 1. So it's a new thing for me. Lots of players, lots of well balanced weapons. Large maps. Graphics could have been better. German heavy assault has too much recoil. I think this game deserved higher score than Single campaign was a drag. A.I. was pretty much retarded. The plot was gay. Well, I only buy games for multiplayer that's why I gave it an 8. Never played COD 2 and COD 1. So it's a new thing for me. Lots of players, lots of well balanced weapons. Large maps. Graphics could have been better. German heavy assault has too much recoil. I think this game deserved higher score than Gears of War. Expand
  18. LeroyH.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Graphics are off the freaking chain! Super intenese! Multiplayer is a blast!
  19. GeraldI.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Truly Spectacular! Best in the series!
  20. JeffA.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    I bought Gears of war and now have a hunger for truly next gen graphics. Call of Duty 3 fills that hunger for lifelike next gen graphics. Every blade of grass is rendered, the rain coming down actually will give you a chill, the weapons have amazing detail as do the characters. The soft environment is totally destructable. A German soldier threw a grenade which landed by a tire sending it I bought Gears of war and now have a hunger for truly next gen graphics. Call of Duty 3 fills that hunger for lifelike next gen graphics. Every blade of grass is rendered, the rain coming down actually will give you a chill, the weapons have amazing detail as do the characters. The soft environment is totally destructable. A German soldier threw a grenade which landed by a tire sending it flying and killing me instantly. This game is total chaos. Treyarch totally captured vthe brutality of war. Call of Duty 3 is the WWII shooter you have been waiting for. A chaotic, gripping, suspenseful look at the life and death of a soldier in WWII. Expand
  21. RedXIII
    Nov 12, 2006
    8
    This game is nothing new in the Call of Duty series, sure the graphics are updated, but the only difference I see from COD2 is the online play (which is having major issues right now), I have played some of the online games and that is why this game is getting an 8. 24 people battling at the same time, high five! but the ranked matches are not working yet for some reason. But the single This game is nothing new in the Call of Duty series, sure the graphics are updated, but the only difference I see from COD2 is the online play (which is having major issues right now), I have played some of the online games and that is why this game is getting an 8. 24 people battling at the same time, high five! but the ranked matches are not working yet for some reason. But the single player campaign is easy if your put it on easy, I play it on veteran and it is anything but short and easy, sometimes frustratingly hard, but still a whole lot of fun even if it is a rehash of COD2, this game is really good if your a fan of the call of duty franchise or your first call of duty game, the online is definitly worth the purchase. Expand
  22. KeironG.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    WAR! its fantastic. And so is this game, can't recommend this game more, ten times better than call of duty 2 in multiplayer anyway, only grumble i have about the game is the fact you cant skip the movies, when you reload checkpoints you have to go through the opening movie for that section whether you like it or not! Aside from that its fantastic, the classes add no end to WAR! its fantastic. And so is this game, can't recommend this game more, ten times better than call of duty 2 in multiplayer anyway, only grumble i have about the game is the fact you cant skip the movies, when you reload checkpoints you have to go through the opening movie for that section whether you like it or not! Aside from that its fantastic, the classes add no end to multiplayer, as does the fact the more you kill the more grenades/smoke grenades you get, not to mention the better your class based abilities become, try the air strike on 3 pips and watch your enemies fall lol. Expand
  23. BrettS.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Wow, finally a came worth buying. As I've mentioned in other reviews I've written, I only rent 360 games because the majority of them are a big dissapointment. But from the minute I turned on COD3 I was hooked and ran out the very next day and bought a copy. Online, this game is visually stunning with intense game play and for the player match option you are not strapped with Wow, finally a came worth buying. As I've mentioned in other reviews I've written, I only rent 360 games because the majority of them are a big dissapointment. But from the minute I turned on COD3 I was hooked and ran out the very next day and bought a copy. Online, this game is visually stunning with intense game play and for the player match option you are not strapped with having to wait in a lobby for some guy to stop chatting with his friends before you can play. Nothing is more aggrevating than listening to a buch of people yapping, when all you want to do is play. The online user interface is a lot like Battlefield 2, which is nice and easy. There are I think at least 10 maps to choose from and a huge variety of different types of games to play on each map. You also get 6 different characters to choose from. you also get to hear pre-recorderd comments from enemy players. I didn't find the game controls to be cumbersome. The campaign is fun, but keeping true to COD, it does get repetitive after awhile, but it is a first person shooter set in wwii. All in all I think Treyarch really out did themselves with the online games, and did a great job with the campagin. Expand
  24. McBain17
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    I love this game, it might be because I've always passed on the CoD games until now, but I'll admit I'm hooked. This game has great grahics, is intense, and delivers a realizim missing from most shooters. I think if you take into consideration that these battles took place it makes it that much more gripping. the game is deep in MP mode and has definite replay value. I I love this game, it might be because I've always passed on the CoD games until now, but I'll admit I'm hooked. This game has great grahics, is intense, and delivers a realizim missing from most shooters. I think if you take into consideration that these battles took place it makes it that much more gripping. the game is deep in MP mode and has definite replay value. I highly suggest this for any FPS fans. Expand
  25. WittleP.
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Awesome graphics.....The guns on both sides are not even. Online play is fun!
  26. Millsy
    Nov 13, 2006
    8
    ok... 1. It's fantastic online provided you look for a non-ranked match - otherwaise you'll be looking for ages. 2. Yes, it can be slightly annoying that there'll be bits of ground that you think you'll be able to walk/jump over - only to find you can't.. 3. One good improvement. I couldn't stand COD2 - it was VERY linear. Not that complete "GTA style" free ok... 1. It's fantastic online provided you look for a non-ranked match - otherwaise you'll be looking for ages. 2. Yes, it can be slightly annoying that there'll be bits of ground that you think you'll be able to walk/jump over - only to find you can't.. 3. One good improvement. I couldn't stand COD2 - it was VERY linear. Not that complete "GTA style" free roaming is a must.. COD3 lets you try different ways to attack in the single player mode, so it gives the illusion that it's not just "corridoor, shoot, corridoor, shoot"! I'm giving it 8 because have had such a laugh on multiplayer - people actually talk to each other and have fun with this... not like Battlefieild 2 where you should be playing a "team" game but nobody talks.... You'll have a lot of fun with this! Expand
  27. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Treyarch made big mistake in putting a number for a franchise that is not even of them, normally destroying the projects of Infinity Ward ( because IW never made a third installment if you've have seen). Usually when they announced World at War , that seemed to be their real CoD version . Apart from those mistakes, CoD3 plays nice enough , great intensity , good pace , and fine multiplayerTreyarch made big mistake in putting a number for a franchise that is not even of them, normally destroying the projects of Infinity Ward ( because IW never made a third installment if you've have seen). Usually when they announced World at War , that seemed to be their real CoD version . Apart from those mistakes, CoD3 plays nice enough , great intensity , good pace , and fine multiplayer awards the players satisfaction. I just don't want them to put their wrecking hands on another developers franchise. Take it or leave it. Expand
  28. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    The FPS in relation to Call of Duty 2 has a lot of similarities, bringing little changes in quality and gameplay, but it's still as it's predecessor a very enjoyable game.

    (please note that during this review i will be comparing COD 3 with COD 2 and NOT COD 2: Big Red One. COD 2: Big Red One is in my opinion one of the best I have ever played in the franchise and i strongly recommend to
    The FPS in relation to Call of Duty 2 has a lot of similarities, bringing little changes in quality and gameplay, but it's still as it's predecessor a very enjoyable game.

    (please note that during this review i will be comparing COD 3 with COD 2 and NOT COD 2: Big Red One. COD 2: Big Red One is in my opinion one of the best I have ever played in the franchise and i strongly recommend to at least try it once.In this case, think of COD 3 as a younger cousin to COD 2: Big Red One with less story, with regenerative health and harder enemies.)
    The singleplayer campaign is solid, containing some interesting stories of your fellow teammates even though you will mostly not pay attention because of the immersion.

    Through it you will be playing as either Private Nichols (American) or as Sergeant Doyle (British), each with their own set of weaponry, stages and obviously objectives.
    And the multiplayer was one of the first to include specific class selection instead of the ability to choose custom weaponry or abilities, balancing out the OP presets on the previous game, as well as making the return of vehicular combat in maps (like tanks and even in some cases motorcycles).

    In relation to platforms:
    X360 and PS3: The X360 and PS3 version like every single other version had multiplayer advantages in relation to COD 2, however the factors that would mostly differenciate them would be the quality and the max. aumount of players in 1 battle possible. And the X360 and PS3 version excelled at both of them in relation to other platforms, as it is able to allow triple the aumount of players COD 2 would be able to (COD 3 able up to 24 max. and COD 2 able up to 8 max), allowing a better experience.

    PS2 and old Xbox: The PS2 version would allow up to 16 players, however due to performance issues it would be achieved rarely, setting the bar at about 10-12 players max. and a minor quality difference in graphics.The Xbox had similar issues, yet the performance issues weren't as bad as in the PS2, setting the bar for an extra 1-2 players without severe problems.

    Wii: The Wii version had no multiplayer at all which is a bit of shame, so i can not say anything about it sadly.

    I gave this a 8/10 because even though it's not THE best FPS game it's still a fun and enjoyable game despite everything.
    However, due to the lack of nowadays anyone playing classic COD's on the new consoles multiplayer is extremely rare unless you have a couple of friends to play with, but if possible i suggest you try it.
    Expand
  29. Apr 1, 2015
    8
    The single player is great but not as great as cod or cod 2,however the multiplayer was awesome great maps,vehicles,spawns,guns ect
    I whish this would also be on pc
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. While the [single-player] combat is still brilliant and it looks a lot better, the unskippable cutscenes, unvaried locations, irritating characters and mini-games all really grate. However, adding in the much improved multiplayer with a variety of cool vehicles, Treyarch has really rounded off Infinity Ward's vision. [Dec 2006, p.90]
  2. The scope for large online battles and some great fun action in the single-player mode make this a worthwhile purchase. Fans of "Call of Duty 2" will really have a lot of fun with it. But Call of Duty 3 could have and should have, been better than this.
  3. 85
    Treyarch and Activision have done an great job with COD3 and created an experience that is at once much the same, but also better, than its predecessor.