User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 168
  2. Negative: 36 out of 168

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    2
    I know I have played and completed this game I cannot remember a thing about it, it only earns a 2 because It must have been engaging enough to play through to the end. Overall the only thing I can say is that it's not as memorable as COD 2 or Modern Warfare, the gameplay is same old just without anything that stands out like in the previously mentioned COD titles.
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    its a good game
    it was fun to play it
    it has a good gameplay and still better
    than modern warfare. i think that the original trilogy
    is better than modern warfare
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    My score is based on the single player campaign only. This COD slipped through the cracks and I have just played for the first time in 2013, but I would have scored a five in 2006 as well. Terrible A.I. with allies blocking my path forward, enemies spawning in front of me I crouched and watched this for minutes (fascinating, like a mass exodus in star trek) annoying save points, the list goes on. After COD 2 this is definitely a step in the wrong direction. I have been retro buying early shooters to keep, but this one is OUTA HERE Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    It's gameplay and graphics may not be as revolutionary as Infinity Ward's predecessor, but Treyarch's "Call Of Duty" still represents a memorable WWII shooter that rings a high-note in the franchise's narrative track record.
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    An overall decent FPS, that brings little more to the genre than more beautiful graphics and the grappling encounters. Worth getting if you like WWII shooters.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    This game sucked the tanks are too overpowered the maps sucked ppl can drop shot with their eyes closed this game sucked it was aweful it sucked dont get it
  7. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    It's horrible in my oppinon and I can tell you. The campaign's crap as hell and needed work. And the multiplayer was was even worse with messed up combat and broken guns. Campaign 4/10 Multiplayer 2/10 COD 3 4.2/10
  8. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    An OK game. Brings little new to the table. Has some very fun objectives and has some interesting characters, but they were largely forgettable. Graphics are OK, nothing special, but the game still hold very smooth and fun gameplay that can be enjoyed for long periods of time
  9. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    This game has an obvious difference from other call of duty games. The intensity in the campaign story and gameplay is not as good as the other call of duty games. The dialogue is so boring and does not hold my attention. The ragdoll physics are funny.. you'll go to melee a kraut and often times they will launch into the air like a 10 pound ragdoll. The gameplay overall is not bad, but I liked call of duty 2 better overall even with the not as good graphics. Collapse
  10. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    I was originally going to give this a higher score, but before I could finish the campaign (I was on the last chapter/level) the game glitched on me and erased all my data, which sucks because the campaign was actually kind of awesome, granted it started off slow and suffered from awful cutscenes with horrible writing, crappy voice acting, and unlikeable characters, and some repetitive mini games, and you can still find multiplayer matches online, and the multiplayer is the most unique in the series featuring large open maps with emphasis on character classes and vehicles, and I would personally like to see the series try this style of multiplayer again, it may renew peoples faith in the series after MW3, so it's a great game, but receives this score because of all the glitches I encountered like my data being erased, it freezing up on me, and several others, so it's a good game hindered by bugs and glitches. Expand
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    average campaign but good multyplayer,quit fun with a full team playing capture the flag!with tanks and jeeps this the funnest call of duty i've played.
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    Nickels? Really? Who would call their child Nickels? I'm come on! That name wrecked the game play for me and I couldn't focus to killing anything because that guy's name was Nickels. And how can you have a good arm if your name is Nickels? I don't like that name very much.
  13. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    Story: 3
    Characters: 5
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 6
    Soundtrack: 5
    Audio: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 6
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 6.8/10 = C+
  14. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Treyarch made big mistake in putting a number for a franchise that is not even of them, normally destroying the projects of Infinity Ward ( because IW never made a third installment if you've have seen). Usually when they announced World at War , that seemed to be their real CoD version . Apart from those mistakes, CoD3 plays nice enough , great intensity , good pace , and fine multiplayer awards the players satisfaction. I just don't want them to put their wrecking hands on another developers franchise. Take it or leave it. Expand
  15. Jul 17, 2011
    5
    Don't Get Me Wrong, The Multiplayer is amazing in Call Of Duty 3, but it really bugs me how after Call Of Duty 2: Big Red One, the greatest campaign ever made by Treyarch, that the campaign in Call Of Duty 3 absolutely SUCKS. The script written for the whole thing is terrible, and the gameplay feels rushed. It's like they completely copied and pasted the Big Red One Engine and away you go. It also pisses me off how they bragged about how Call Of Duty 3 was the most historically accurate CoD game there is. Well, it is, but who gives a **** Did I also mention the famous "in your face" action? When the German puts his gun in your face and you have to wrestle? Yes, if you haven't mastered the art of tapping a button repeatedly, you are screwed. And You're not the only one. It probably takes about a whole minute before you win the fight. That "in your face" thing is crap and for a game where time is crutial, a waste of precious time. Expand
  16. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty 3 is probably the best COD game I have played, and still remains that way. MP was very well balanced, with some of the best maps in the series. Once COD 4 came out, the series seemed to take a dive for the worse. The class based system, and vehicular gameplay trumps the close quarter combat, run and gun style of the newer COD games.
  17. Sep 21, 2010
    5
    Review9 10 I have not played this game for a while, and now that i've said that it makes me want to go and take a look at the game. But COD3 was overall a pretty fun game, the campaign was not that long but most COD games campaign only last 6 hours any way. The multiplayer was ok and i'm not a fan of vehichles in war games except for battlefield because the maps are so big and the game types require vehichles. Back to cod3, it didn't have a great multiplayer and that is one of the reasons that it brings it's score down, but the other reason is the graphics. THERE WAS NOT ANY GRAPHICS DIFFERENCE AT ALL BETWEEN COD2 AND COD3. Because of those two reasons i give the game a 5.5 Expand
  18. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    Decent game all and all but there are some major problems that hold this game back. For example, all of the quick time events are really repetitive never really that interesting. Once again, this shooter is good but brings nothing new to the table.
  19. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This game has an obvious difference from other call of duty games. The intensity in the campaign story and gameplay is not as good as the other call of duty games. The dialogue is so boring and does not hold my attention. The ragdoll physics are funny.. you'll go to melee a kraut and often times they will launch into the air like a 10 pound ragdoll. The gameplay overall is not bad, but I liked call of duty 2 better overall even with the not as good graphics. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. While the [single-player] combat is still brilliant and it looks a lot better, the unskippable cutscenes, unvaried locations, irritating characters and mini-games all really grate. However, adding in the much improved multiplayer with a variety of cool vehicles, Treyarch has really rounded off Infinity Ward's vision. [Dec 2006, p.90]
  2. The scope for large online battles and some great fun action in the single-player mode make this a worthwhile purchase. Fans of "Call of Duty 2" will really have a lot of fun with it. But Call of Duty 3 could have and should have, been better than this.
  3. 85
    Treyarch and Activision have done an great job with COD3 and created an experience that is at once much the same, but also better, than its predecessor.